Dr L C Foong from Gleneagles

happy,
I am given a copy of the SA report from the lab,except that my gynae didnt go thru with me the various fields, and chances.

ceraine,

well, i hope u can succeed in the next iui and need not have to seek a 2nd opinion. but, if you need to, u can try dr foong.

good luck!!

Hi mommies, sorry to interupt. I'm not Dr Foong's patient but am considering to deliver in GlenE this Aug. However I passed by the hospital and realised there is a construction going on next to it.

Did you hear any noise when you go for your dr visit at GlenE? Am afraid it will be noisy during my stay there.

Hi happy freedom

Yes i think i got the right person but maybe you forgot cos it is a long time.
The thread is posted by you on 14 May 2008 at 5.25pm under the heading
Temperory Holding place- Looking for Mathematics tuition teacher....Urgent
Sorry for interputing your chat with ur friends. It is just that I have tried contacting people from that thread with no sucess. Since u are active on this thread , i thot i could give it a try....so sorry for any inconvenience caused to you...

am new here..newly wed, tryn to get conceive for the last 5mths but no good news yet.. Have been recommended by a fren tat Dr Foong is good.. Understand that his clinic is at Gleneagles.. However both my hubby & myself prefer to Mount Alvernia. Was wondering if anyone can advice if Dr Foong does delivery or consultation at Mount A as well.. thks...

hi pokemon,

sorry. i don't have the contact...

hi josephine,

consultation is only in his clinic in gleneagles. but i think he does deliver in mt a.

it would be better for you to deliver in the hospital he is in as he will be able to reach you sooner...

No no, not missing, just busy :0

Pokemon, I think if you are natural, Dr F only delivers at GE now. Unless you are a scheduled C section, then you can so call choose your preferred hospital. He did mention that sometimes becos of traffic jam & etc, its not as feasible to deliver elsewhere.

GE has not newly renovated maternity wards with plasma TV & contemporary type of furniture. You can request for those rooms.

happy,

busy busy.. alot of things to rush before i go on hols this thurs mah... got to take care of a "lao" baby in office 1st...

Hi Josephine

Congrats to being a newly wed, I am sure you are enjoying your new life.

I think 5 mths is still too soon to see gynae. Dr FOong is gynae with a specialisation in fertility treatment. Thus, if you are not like many of us (who have major fertility issues), then you may not need to see him cos of higher costs & waiting.

But he is a great gynae. I think you dun worry so much abt hospital first. Get pregnant first & if you really like Mt Alvernia or any other hospital, you can always shop for a gynae there then.

I'm shopping for a gynae for checkup since hubby and I have been trying for more than 1 year but no news.....

Can share what are some of the checks need to do by Dr. Foong huh? How much normally for 1st consultation? And how much is he pkg huh?

hi curl..
thks for the advice.. will definitely consider thoroughly before I make any decision.. But 1 of the main reason why I plan to seek a doc at tis early stage is becos I'm under high BP medication due to my weight. Though my menses are regular, there may be other issues which needs doc's advice. No worries.. my current intention to see a doc is to hav pre conception tests...
Do you hav any other recommendations for this perhaps ???

Happy,

I am going to Shanghai again. hheheheee...
for 10 days... visit my SIL and for my MIL to see her 3 grandkids there..
So tired before the trip...

Happy/Curl/Jadefeet

I am still here...
, but is relly tired loh, rushing everyday to finish the work and hope can go back early. Every day almost sleep with my boy from 9:30 p.m. till 7:00 a.m. Still feel tired. May be I am getting older, not energetic as my 1st pregnancy.

Last week went checkup, bb is a bit small and my wieght didn't gain much. Dr asked me to eat more, rest more... Last round I gain 22kg, but now not even half of it. Sigh.

jadefeet,

wow! lucky woman! so you r going to shop shop shop again. you like go for holiday every alternate mth..hee..

koala,

how much weight have you gain so far? 22kg was full term right? don't worry so much abt the weight gain. you still have 3 more mths to go. eat healthy will do. if you over eat, you might have problem getting rid of the extra kilos after birth.

Happy,
I want to go for massage everyday!!! Need a good break.. this trip, I have 3 "babysitter" hence can enjoy myself more.
Not too much of shopping, more like R&R loh

Yeah, hubby is now planning to go Sydney in Aug to visit cousin... *faint* i dun have that many days of leave as he does... but he has a point, must go when we have free accomodation, if not very expensive to rent service aprt.

Koala,
Normal pregnancy putting on 12kg is enough, last time we both put on so much, not good for ourselves, so hard to lose it n bad for our joints...
BB will put on weight towards the last month, now its durian season, try to eat some durian if you can... i remembered i ate only 2 seeds and immediately BB weight moves up.

jadefeet,

wah. u really hao ming!
i also need a good massage.

u can also do medi and pedicure. heard it's very very cheap there.

may i know for the ER...is it very painful after u wake up? the egg is retrieve via the vaginal or lap? any wounds? im gng to see dr f next week on my day 21 for suppression... heard need abt 2 weeks then start the stimulation... hmm... 2 weeks seems v long... in all...need abt a mth for all the injections... before heading for the ET...

How's everyone? Never log in for long.

Koala,
Congrats!!! Take care yaa...

How many kgs have you gain so far?

Baby, jadefeet, bluegal, wanbb,
How you all doing???

Me no changes le... Supposed to start my ivf with dr f this mth.. Bu in the end change my mind to do it next cycle.. Prob becos still nt prepared yet.. Din knw much abt the ivf thing yet.. ScAred ah..

Hi Baby,

I am also under Dr. F and I am planning to start my IVF next week when my menses come. Although anxious and scared like you, I can't wait to start..as age is catching up and time is running out.

HI babe79,
Take it ez. Like a lot of other mentioned, is a stressful process? Just well prepare (mentally). All the best.

HI dream,
Good luck. YOu already started all the injection etc and going to retrieve the eggs in coming cycle?

Hi Vinwee,

I haven't started injection yet. Waiting for my AF to do BT and hopefully, start on the same day. Depending BT on results, would most likely do short protocole.

May I know which stage are you in? or are you a "graduate" from Dr. Foong? Did you do the long or short protocole?

dream
Got short and long protocol?wats the diff? Cos dr f tell me to do BT on day 2 or 3 of period.. No need to see him on tat day then book appt on day 21 to see him and start the injections to supress hormones for 2 weeks or so.. Isnt this the normal procedure for ivf?

hi baby
yes there are 2 protocols. The one you mention is the long protocols which is most often used. I also thought I would have to go thru that but most likely will go for the short one where there is no supression of hormones. Ivf with short protocols starts on day 1 of your menses (rather than d 21). Decision is made by dr f based on BT results and may be age. May be you are much younger than me! Anyway when are you expecting to start? For me I just can't wait to start!

Hi Dream,

I am not in any stage with Dr. Foong, just seeing him to do check up etc. Got miiscarriage once and he is my gynae to do my D & C.

dream
i dint know got two protocols... i wish i can start right away wout having to spend 2 weeks for hormones suppression.... last cycle suppose to start but bcos of busy schedule so change to next cycle...now waiting for period to cum to do BT again.... last BT dr f call me to tell me my hormones level is great... and say need abt 2 weeks to suppress....hmm... i tot good BT results is no need for suppression... so i duno le....

baby,
your protocole is the "normal" one and the one that is used by most doctors. so, don't worry about it. Dr would assess which protocole is better based on your BT results. Anyway, Dr. F's comments about your BT results are pretty positive. Do you know what is your FSH level? This usually helps to determine how well you will respond to the injection and quality of eggs. May I know what is your age? Are you on Birth Control Pills now? When are you expected your menses? Do you also need to do ICSI? IVF comes with lots of anxiety/stress but it also brings us closer to our goal. So, be positive and look forward to your IVF.

Vinwee,
nope, haven't started yet. AF playing tricks on me and I am still waiting for them to report! Really stressed...and it is only the beginning of the journey...

dream
I do not knw my fsh.. Dr nvr tell me.. Im 30 this yr.. Nvr had birth control pill.. Im expecting my period in a few days time i thk.. I dont knw whether i doing icis nt cos dr nvr say.. We got to decide before the ET? More exp? Ya i once totally reject thr idea of ivf but nw im gng for it aft 4 failed iuis.. Hmm.. Nvr see this cuming.. Tot iui shb let me conceive.. Im so worried abt the side effects of ivf of all the injections.. Bloatedness.. Swollen ovaries.. Put on weight etc.. Sigh..

baby,
I just started so let me know if you need more info. For ICSI, it depends on your hubby's sperm quality. FSH results would help Dr. to determine the dosage for puregon. Otherwise, I understand how you feel. What are the main reasons for not being able to conceive? Anyway, you are still young so the chances are higher for you. So, be positive!

Dream
U start on puregon aldy? Hw old r u? Reason for ivf?

Dr din knw y i din conceive.. I O on my own every mth but slightly on the late side but even with clomid n injections.. I mgt to O earlier but nt sucessful even with iui.. Hb sperms varies.. Dr say mayb my egg shell too thick.. So i really duno.. U doing with dr f?

If i need icis due to thick egg shell.. Do i need to decide before ET? Cos only aft ER will i knw if the egg n sperm can fertilise on their own or nt.. If cant, can do icis?

Is this yr first ivf? The stimulation easy to tolerate? V bloated n uncomfortable? Did dr say hw many eggs he hope u to hv?

Baby,
YOu started your injection or still waiting for your menses report?

Ya... read thru the forum and knowing that stomach will be bloated. Try to eat more protein stuff (suggested by someone here who did IVF). Or check with Dr. F see is that anyway to reduce the bloatedness? Just take it easy and relax (it's hard but try).

Btw, any idea where is the rest? HOw's wanbb, jadefeet etc?

Dream,
Hope everything going smoothly. Is this your first trial in IVF?

Dream-I have booked to do IVF with KK in May/June, if really delay a lot I am thinking to change to other Dr. Can you tell me how much is the first consultation fee? As I really have all the report, will the doctor ask for BT again?

Hi Baby and Vinwee,
Started puregon on Saturday and yes, doing with Dr. F after reading this forum! Will have my first scan tomorrow. I am older than you (37 years). So far, I feel really tired and exhausted. Very difficult to concentrate at work! I was very scared of injections and was thinking of going back to Dr's office...but, as they close on sundays and PH, had no choice but to do it on our own. My hubby is doing the jabs and it is actually much better than expected! As for IVF, problems are both on our sides...For ICSI, I think Dr/embryologist would decide for you. If Dr F did not suggest, I guess you don't need ICSI. Dr. F told us clearly that we would need ICSI.

For the bloatedness, most people will ask to eat egg whites. As I am only at my 4th injections, don't feel the bloatedness yet.

Boon Boon,
can't exactly recall the fees but the first one is much higher. I would think it should be close to 200-300 (including scan, consultation and BT). First consultation is usually more expensive. Just bring along all your reports. You may ask the nurse when you call for appointments.

dream
Is this yr first ivf? Wat is yr dosage of puregon daily? I had puregon for my iui for 3 days.. 75iu each time.. Dr hope to get me two eggs together with clomid but in e end the other egg did nt grow so only 1 egg.. I aldy feel so bloated with i had the 3 injections when i did iui.. So i cant imagine daily higher dose.. But no choice.. Just hope i can succeed with my first try..

Dream, are u seeing any tcm? Cos i heard increase chance for ivf cum tcm accupucture. I tot of trying the one at paragon eu yan san..

Boon boon
Dr r first consultaion is $150 exclude scans n BT. I did nt do any BT.. I only had BT for my pre ivf visit..

Dream & baby-Thanks for your info. I will consider whether I should visit him to proceed with IVF treatment. The reason why I chose KK is because Dr Loh did a small surgery for me last month so I feel it maybe better for him to do the ET for me :>

Hi Baby,
This is my 2nd IVF but first one under Dr. F. First one did many years ago with another private clinic. So, at least, I know what to expect but each clinic has different practice/procedure. I can't remember what was my dosage/medicine for my last one as I just followed instructions! Right now, my daily dosage is high 375 iu of puregon and 20 units for suprefact. I feel really exhausted every day. For bloatedness, it is not too bad but my pants are really tight! Feel very uncomfortable so I guess, medicines start to take effect. When did you start feeling bloated when you had IUI?

I was doing accupuncture for weight loss over the last 3 months but as they specialised in weight loss and not fertility, I stopped.

Heard from the other threads, that a lot of persons are seeing Dr. Zhou for accupuncture. Try to check the other thread as well (matters of heart, IVF/ICSI support group). They give lots of information and you will also get lots of support there. Most people do accupuncture together with IVF but I thought that will give me too much stress...

dreAm
Yr first ivf succeed? Tat time iui i feel quite bloated thruout the process.. Dr say its normal.. I heard ivf injections will hv side effecf of puttin on weight.. Did dr f say hw many egg he hope to achieve? Did he say the estimated cost for yr ivf? He told me its abt 12k to 14k.. So exp hor.. Hmm.. I knw kk is much cheaper plus can use govt subsidy but i hate to chg dr nw.. And i knw the wait at kk is v long so i stick w dr f..

baby,
Dr estimated my fees to higher at over SGD15k. I think the main difference is the costs of puregon since my dosage is high at 375. I need one box per day which costs me more than 400! Cost wise, it is true that it is much cheaper to go to KKIVF or govt hospitals but I also decided to stick to Dr. F. I think rapport is important and it seems that he has good success rates as well. I need to feel comfortable with Dr. He is also friendly and takes time to discuss issues. He would usually call me back as soon as he receives results of BT. IVF is also such a stressful experience and I try to minimize it. So, for yesterday, I managed to squeeze my appointment at lunch time (less disruption for my work). Most likely, we will only do one cycle with Dr. F because of the costs, stress and my age. I hope it would be worth it for both of us! Have your AF/menses reported?

baby,
seems I have not answered all your questions. when I first started, he also said he would like to get 15 to 20 eggs. When I first started with pureon, I really felt very exhausted so you may want to time your puregon injections in the evening (so that you can sleep right after). Mine is in the morning so it was difficult at first to concentrate at work. But now, it is getting better. Body is getting used to it, I guess. About bloatedness, I feel that my pants are tight. I am not sure about the weight gain. I may have put on 0.5 kg or 1 kg because I try to eat more protein to improve the egg quality. Eating also a lot of eggs white as it is supposed to reduce bloatedness. Taking chicken essence as well. So, I don't think the medicine is the reason for my weight gain but more the things I eat to try to improve the egg quality. Not really sure whether it works but no harm trying!

dream
thanks for all the info... btw the cost of the ivf is one time payment or pay as and when u get the medicine? cos i tot can claim from medisave for 6k right?

ya i agree.. must feel comfortable with the dr.. dr f is nice and approachable.. im still waiting for my af to report le... suppose to come liao but still no sign of it.. i scare my af report tml..cos sat is a holiday... then i can have my BT on my day 2 or 3... earliest is on mon which is my day 4 liao... so i got to call clinic to check if my af really report tml...

i hope u can succeed on this try!! i hope i can too!... the whole process is certainly v stressful... both emotionally and physically.. somemore i have to go for the normal long protocol..with hormones suppression for 2 weeks... then start the stimulation for another 2 weeks.... so long...sigh.