Dr L C Cheng ( TMC)

Oh my, thanks worried. the fee is so costly. if i show it to my hubby, wonder how he will react... sometime i was so depressed and feel the help from government is insufficient, especially when they keep emphasizing more baby, more babies please. BUT how to, for us who has difficulty to concieve and longing for one

Gillian

actually i thot i can go for so-iui, but now i m going straight to ivf, the cost is like times three! abit heartache, but if really can get preggy, then i think all the money is worth it. even if i did not go for so-iui or ivf, i still spend alot during these few months seeing dr cheng. so if i ever get preggy, the baby will be very "expensive" and precious to me.

dr cheng says normally ppl will pay cash for their iui and so-iui. coz its not worth it to use medisave. they will still deduct $6000 even if the procedure only costs $3000.

Liz

where are you?
so long never see u post msgs liao
hope things are ok for u

i m feeling better nowadays, maybe becoz no need to worry abt the ttc, just just have to wait patiently for the menses to come for these 2 mths and start on my ivf journey!

worried
thanks for your info and thanks for asking. paisei. a bit busy yesterday.
Am feeling ok as this round also not on clomid so not actively ttc-ing... ha ha.. enjoying the holidays.

Hi worried and Liz...
Both of you are so wei da to decide to go for IVF. All mummies are so wei da! I'm sure all the anxiety and painful jabs will be worth it when you all carry bb in your hands.
Keep us updated of your progress k and hope everything goes well and we hope to hear 2 BFP next CNY (our CNY present

Btw, right after IVF, no BD please.. I read this somewhere over the internet. And please treat yourself as pregnant already and be very careful.
So far, I only know 1 gal who was hospitalised due to ovaries over-stimulated from the injection and she put on 7kg coz was so bloated. But she told me hers is very very rare case, so not to worry so much. Perhaps can go to the IVF support group for queries?

Good luck!!

roxy
no lah. I not wei da. worried is the one going for IVF. I'm going for SO-IUI. :p just happen that our treatment will be around the same time.

Opps Liz, paiseh... got mixed up. But I also find SO-IUI very wei da too.. to me, all mummies are wei da creatures who will sacrifice anything for their children. Just the labour pain and 10ths mth of child-bearing is proof enough

roxyz

with your good luck, me and liz will get BFP soon! have been praying hard everyday, ever since i made the decision to go for ivf. i think so-iui is equally tedious, as so-iui and ivf both have to go thru lots of jabs, but i believe we can do it! all the want is to get preggy, so i think all the pain will be worth it!

liz

try not to think on the negative side. although success rates for IVF is not high too, i still pin hopes. coz if IVF really fails, there is no more hope for me. just trying to keep a positive mindset now. for you, just try to relax yourself, since we need not worry abt ttc for the time being. just prepare yourself for the coming so-iui. everything should be fine, we r still young

Liz, like wat worried79 said, keep a positive mindset. Must stay relaxed and happy to aid implantation k?

Im sure both your SO-IU and worried's IVF will succeed de!! Dun give up and stay positive. Continue praying everyday and Im sure your prayers will be heard

Thanks worried and roxy!!!

Stress loh. feeling rather guilty that I'm the one with the problem. worried that I can't give my DH a baby leh. he really love kids

Hi worried..yep back to work, MIL and maid handling bb. Gd news is now I've started my vacation till 2 Jan !

On yr Q about after ET the rest period, initially I didn't know about that too, in fact, I just 'drop the bomb' on my boss (male by the way) that I need to be off for 2 wks as I am undergoing IVF. I feel that after so much pain i.e the jabs and everything, I SHOULD REST at home as TFC suggested. If u not comfy telling yr boss, you estimated the date, and apply leave if you can to minimize stress, movements etc.

On jabs, I think we same-same, there's once I went for blood test, quite hilarious, as usual I turn my head away and it took the nurse very long..poking poking quite pain. After a while, the nurse said, I think u better lie down, I said it's ok, I am not giddy, then she said no u better lie and I complied. Once laid down, she came again with the needle and tray, I was like WHY..she said just now nothing came out, i need to draw again...FAINT !!

But as day passes, I found myself a little more brave for jabs/blood test etc..

U appt this week started ? Is everything on track ? once yr menses finish, u can start the program alreadi...have faith !

Hi P Leong

Thanx for your reply.
Can only start the jabs in Jan 08. Now inducing menses, after tat, on CD 5, have to take another medicine, then wait for next brand new menses to start all the jabs.

I am still thinking of wat reasons to give...I am not really comfortable telling my boss abt my IVF, coz I am sure if I tell her, the very next day, the whole office will know abt it. Probably I will cook up a reason, say need to go for small surgery...or maybe by then I can think of a better reason.

Should be going for my counselling in one or two weeks time. My menses should be here by today or tomorrow.

That time Dr Cheng estimate my egg collection period will be during the CNY. I was like...quite unforgettable hor, to collect eggs during CNY. Haha. And the nurse told me not to worry, most likely they will be opened during the CNY period coz Dr Cheng is a robot!

liz

I am not too sure too. I guess have to watch a video on IVF, and someone will be there to explain the process, costs etc to us. That is to prepare us mentally and financially. Nurse told me it takes around an hour.

hi worried, if not comfy, just say surgery that's fine, not sure if yr HR files your MC, if so, they will see the MC from TFC. For me, we keep our own records, only random audit.

On the other hand, since it's CNY period, u can say u go vacation and use ur own leave instead.

For the counselling, u r right abt watching video on the process and then they will hv to explain the implications of IVF (tat u understand the risks of multiple births), of course incl the process and costings. This is a requirement although I hv another friend who went and do IVF with Dr Cheng skipped this step somehow, they missed that out as she's been seeing him from WC Cheng Asso.

Initially, they will continue to deduct from medisave for 1st 6K, thereafter, u pay at each visit for whatever medications/jabs u consume.

We pay quite a bit appro 7-8K..in fact, started a file to remind my son the hardship papa/mama gone true. Again, it's money well spent !

Hi P Leong

Regarding the counselling part, who will take to me? The nurses or someone else? Coz I remember Rebecca told me counselling is in the afternoon.

The MC will state TFC not TMC? Previously I was given 1 day MC, but they give me the normal TMC one, so not so bad. I dun quite want to take my own 2 weeks leave leh, thats why dun mind taking the MC, if its stated as TMC, and I can cook up with a reason.

Your 7-8K is amount after the deduction from Medisave, and including the jabs? I was telling my DH, all our bonuses will be spent on the upcoming IVF! But like u said, if really have a bb, all the money is well-spent!

**So sorry for these long messages. Alot of questions in my mind**

worried, the video is watched by yrself/hubby in the room. Once finished, then perhaps the nurse(I had samsiah)explaining the details to you. Not sure if this have changed since a yr ago. The MC part I think better check with them again, mine is in office, cannot verify for u.

Yes, the costing is after medisave incl jabs etc, I even jotted down each visit costing..ha ha.(13~14 K - 6K medisave)

Keep yr questions coming..but am sure Dr Cheng will be the expertise at the end of the day.

Merry x'mas in advance to ALL ladies on this thread.

Thanks again P Leong!

Merry Christmas to everyone too!
Have a very nice holiday & all the best for the coming 2008!

Hi everyone...Happy New Year...may your baby dreams be fulfilled in 2008 ! Wishing ALL GOOD Health, luck and lots of love !

Happy New Year! Hope the year 2008 will be a lucky year for all of us here! Esp those who r ttc-ing!!

Anyway, I will be going for my IVF Counselling next week. Hope everything is alright, and I can be mentally prepared for everything. Abit excited and scared now. When my menses come, I will have to start all the injections liao.

worried, also your hubby must be confident to do the jabs..u must trust him to do it right..I still remember (cos I veri afraid of jabs), I had to use pillow to cover up my face whilst he find the right spot to jab !

P Leong

huh? but the nurse will teach him right? i also quite scare to take jabs..so hopefully he can do it right. The jabs will start from my next menses?

Worried
dunno. menses should come on 16 Jan but my O a bit weird this cycle. Guess should be starting on the 17 or 18 Jan. Of course i still hope that I strike this cycle. :p

worried, they will teach him how to do it and see if he 'PASS'...otherwise, got to go down and show the nurse until they feel that he can do it right. Else the nurse got to do it for you.

P Leong,

Huh? which means i have to go down everyday?
The price of the jabs is so high! I was telling DH yesterday, he better jab for me properly, coz one jab is very ex, cannot waste it! Anyway, the whole IVF is really very expensive....see the price want to faint liao

Liz

Rebecca just passed me alot of papers yesterday.
They have a package $4000plus, which includes scans, visits to see Dr Cheng & some other things. And all the jabs, blood tests etc are not included. So she highlighted to us the amounts not inclusive in the package one, i have not added it up. but she was saying in total, will be around $13-$15000.

having some prob at work. thot of resigning in a few months time, when my bond is over. but, was thinking, if i resign, and ivf is successful, then have to wait till at least a year later then can find a new job....

worried
wah... very expensive leh. think I better save up just in case.

erm.. got to think carefully abt the job thing.

try not to be too bothered abt the job issues. focus your energy on your ivf. from what you have posted, don't think you want to stop work? just think of work now as providing you the means of paying for IVF and the money will come in useful when the baby arrives. If you look at things differently, maybe things might be better

My personal view is that if you really want to quit cause you can't tahan anymore, then quit after your IVF is successful. At least it is a valid reason and looks better for you.

My 2 cents worth as I also don't know what is the exact issue.
all the best!!! Good luck!!!

Anyway, the waiting game is killing me. ha ha ha... from the looks of things, might not get a BFP and menses might not report. really screwed up cycle. :p

liz

thanx. actually, my DH was also saying, only quit if IVF is successful, or when i have successfully given birth. i really dun know wat to do now

i was on study bond, which ends this april. and got to know that my big boss wants to transfer me to another section, which is really irrelevant to whatever i've studied. and i m really not keen to go to that section. so, i m just preparing for the worst. if my big boss ask me for my opinion, at least i will have a chance to give my views. but till now, he never ask me anything....i knew all these fr my immediate boss.
very fan also becoz of the IVF. if really no job, how to cope wif the ex jabs....

Worried
I also same situation as you. not bonded but quite sick of my job.
I was also very fan the past few months but xiang tong le so feel much better these days. :p Understand that you are not keen to do something which is irrelevant but now got to think of the big picture. Must be contented that at least now got job = got money to help you to achieve your ultimate dream --> BABY. So don't fan, just go through the motion of working. Think abt job/career only after your IVF success and/or baby born. if not, you will be more fan if got no job and go through expensive IVF. Try out the new scope first. Who knows? Maybe it's part of God's plan

Liz

Yah. Money is the big issue now. So, I guess just have to take whatever is given first. Was thinking, if IVF successful, then at least suffer for one more year in new section, then decide whether want to leave or not...now just want to prepare myself for my IVF. Need to really calculate how much it will cost me....that day see the price already want to faint.
i think i really need to prepare myself mentally for the upcoming IVF. must be prepared for failures, which i m not sure if i can take it. have to read up more on ivf and think positively now.

Worried
the suffering will be worth it. All the best for the upcoming IVF. So when are you going down again? I'm also worried abt the SO-IUI. like you said, must be prepared for failures.

liz

i should be going down in 1-2 weeks time, when my menses report. then all the jabs will begin! abit excited and scared. they r a number of possibilities that will happen to make IVF unsuccessful one. even if i m young, the successful rate is only 30-40%. now scare if the sperm and egg won't join together to form embroyo, or if implantation dun take place successfully. these are the things that are decided by God, and there is nothing we can do.
I hope your SO-IUI will be successful! We are almost going thru the same procedure, except tat i have to go thru more steps.
Just hope everything will turn out fine. there is nothing we can do about certain things. hope our body will "zhen qi" and do us proud!

hi worried, i can understand the money issue. For me, my hubby and i just started saving few months back after clearing all those wedding and renovation loan. when my hubby was updating his personal bankbook the day before, i told him that one cycle of IVF w/o medisave subsidy will cost all his personal saving to $0. his eye opened real wide when he heard what i said... its true, if success, its really worth the money, but fail.... hai...

i think my O came super early this month and next mense will crash with my hubby reservist. so probably i can only see Dr LC Cheng on my CD 1 mense in feb.. but still hoping this cycle will be a miracle and a best gift from god for this coming chinese new year

by the way ladies, do u think my O is on CD9 or CD13? i feel it should be CD13 but FF put on CD9

1189759.jpg

Gillian

yep, money is the big issue here. u also thinking of going for IVF?
lucky for us is, we were married 2 years ago, so from then till now, have a little savings. but if really successful, will need more money in the future. so have to do some planning. DH will be paying for the IVF, but i guess i will help to pay little bit also, if not, too heavy for him

Worried,

I will listen to dr cheng's advise first after a cycle checkup. But most probably i will start with IUI or SO-IUI and see how's our luck. And if its not succeefully, then i will go ahead with the IVF. Unless Dr Cheng said that we are not suited to have IUI and should start with IVF, then no choice, got to listen to him

So which stage of IVF are u in right now?

worried, u r right..if not jab properly (e.g the medicine didn't go in completely) u sayang that jab, I remembered 1 jab alone cost like $400!

Also if you respond positively, then dun need so many jabs.

On your job, I would say 'Ren-ren-ren' and see the outcome of your IVF, the most ideal is only resign after birth at least u get paid m.leave for 3 mths and some coverage on hospital bill.

I am not trying to add more burden to your costs calculation but I had emerg-C section , my hospital bill came up to 12K, only 5 k from medisave, so fork up cash for the rest. Can claim from Company insurance for maternity 1.5K. So if you can i think it's better to work through your pregnancy and consider the others later.

Take care ...

P Leong
The IVF jab is so expensive!!! think I can only afford 1 kid (if i get any). :p
Thanks for the kind wishes!

Guess I will really have to sit down with DH and plan carefully. It's gonna to be a lot of money at stake if we need to go IVF.

Worried
I should be going down next week regardless of if my menses report or not. I think I will need to get med to induce if it does not report. my lp is 15 days so should be reporting on 16 Jan. but till now still no sign. think got bad ovulation this cycle. haiz... was hoping to start soon but my cycle extremely long. till today should be CD 50 plus liao...

I had seen Dr Cheng last year.He asked me to go home decide whether should i go to unblock my tube or IVF.And my hubby sperm rate is low.We decide to go for IVF but hvnt told Dr Cheng yet.I thought of waiting for my mense to come so that he can hv my blood test on CD2.But my mense has not come for 2 months.should i make an appointment with him to tell him my decision or continue waiting for my mense to come?Any advise?

P Leong/Liz

I guess I really have to just "ren" lor. really hope can be successful, at least a burden off me. i m trying not to think of those negative thoughts. i m worrying of all those possibilities that might make IVF fail....
P Leong, i think will try not to waste money from now onwards. guess we will still have to fork up with alot of cash.

Gillian

i've yet to start my IVF, should start by end of this month.

sad
if you are going to see dr cheng at level 5, i think last apptmt is 11 something, coz he have to go to level one in the noon.

worried, now that you've decided, save aside the cash and don't worry on the costs..u know when I started on the program, sometimes, u pay & pay until u 'mah(2)' immune to the amount that goes out of our pocket...just concentrate on the treatment and followups. Imagine, yr baby /babies will be the fruit of your pain both financially and emotionally.