Dr L C Cheng ( TMC)

Hi Liz,

Seems like u & i the same problem now...havent started the IUI.

Btw, what problem do u hv now? How abt ur hubby?

Gal
I got PCOS. hubby is ok although there are some issues with the shape but Dr Cheng says quantity makes up for the quality. But Dr Cheng wants him to collect a few samples of his sperm for testing to ensure that it is ok. I have been through 5 rounds of clomid liao. Still no good news. Also very guai. listen to Dr Cheng's advice but sigh... guess no baby luck on my side.

So now seriously considering SO-IUI. But have to go for the tests first. IVF is the next option so would like to find out more from P Leong.

Thanks P Leong!!!

Hi Liz, ya now still on ML, going back ear Dec. Given that yr job sucks, no motivation etc. if financially you are able to get by w.o a job, it may not be a bad idea to quit. On the other hand, if u dun work and u may get further obsessed abt ttc, u may get even more stress leh..everyday think and think...

Gal, now that u mention chinese sinseh, before I embarked on step 2 SO-IUI, cos afraid of injections, Dr Cheng did recommend us to a chinese sinseh at Chinatown area, lady Dr. Me damn 'chia-lat' also, chinese herbs also cannot 'ta-hang'but btw jabs and bitter drugs, I went and see the chinese sinseh.

But guess what, she refer us back to Dr Cheng to do a comprehensive study for lao gong and lao po b4 to understand the issues - modern sinseh combine western and chinese treatment..so it's back to drawing blood etc etc..I GAVE UP after 1 visit. Bear in mind chinese treatment is to 'tiao' your body so it will take a while to see results.

My hb does hv low sperm count also, but for IVF, out of the millions, they only need a few gd ones to inseminate into the embroyo..he didn't need to go for male fertility treatment.

I know at times we all get frustrated and sad nothing happens, let's take baby steps and eliminate the issues. Luckily I see both ur hb supportive, cos going for sperm tests according to my hb also very stressful ..ha ha..

Oh Gal, my friend told me last time, to put pillow below to raise urself up when u finish your 'task' and don't get up of the bed..well obviously it didn't work for me but no harm for you to try ^o^

P Leong, congrats on your baby! Must be exciting! If you undertake your second attempt next year Nov, your bbs will be 2 years apart? Ke ke...

As for me, I am now in my 2ww of soiui. This is my 4th soiui, after 2 failed clomids, and 1 successful soiui (the first one). I hope I strike no. 2 this round.

Thistle...thks for your wishes..well, after the 'ttc' issues, now tackling with motherhood issues which is entirely a different episode...I HOPE U CAN STRIKE this round too ! ALL the best...and bring us good news soon to boost all the ladies morale !

Hi Liz,

Now, i dun understand what is the meaning of PCOS? Pls advise. Heehee....What is the difference between SO-IUI?

For ur case since u've tried to go through 5 rounds of clomid & still no gd news, u got to go for SO-IUI liao. Luckily for my case, Dr Cheng said that i can go IVF straight away but he asked us to try ourselves naturally cos we always tried to hv sex at the wrong timing & thats why due to this reason, we r not having any babies now. Heehee....Yday went back to Dr Cheng & was told that my result was very good.
Now, it is my hubby's sperms count low problem only. He wants him to re-test 2 to 3 times to double check again whether what the reasons causes. He said that we got no problem of trying IVF & got 30% of the chances which means that quite high lor. He wants me to check next coming mth for my ovluation result again & report back to him as well.

Hi P Leong,

Actually regarding abt the chinese sinseh, Dr Cheng didnt recommended us to her. It was my hubby's colleagues who recommended us 1st b4 that we went to see Dr Cheng for my blood test. From here, we got to knw Dr Cheng lor. I'm curious on how come Dr Cheng recommended u to see chinese sinseh? How come? Do u mean that cos u r afraid of injections & that's why u went to see that chinese sinseh? Actually, chinese medicine is usually to "tiao" our body only to make us stronger. i do believe in that. So does my hubby too. Ever since, we took chinese medicine, we feel that our body is much more stronger nowadays but the problem is, i hate to brew medicine & got to wait for 1-2 hr's time. It is like wasting alot of time at home....But no choice aso.

As what u've mentioned abt ur hubby aso got low sperms count problem, we aso asked Dr Cheng abt this whether most of the patients that he had seen is women's problems or man's problems. Guess what he said? It's man's problems - low sperms count. He said that usually women dun hv problem unless she got blockage of tubes. Luckily, my hubby is quite supportive & wanna to re-test his sperms count problem.

Actually & usually after we finished our 'task', i will put a pillow below to raise myself up & didn't get up of the bed until half to 45 mins..So far, it didnt work well for me leh...haizz....We do aso tell our chinese sinseh abt this method but she said that we dun ned to do all these type of things & sure that the sperms will flow into the virgina. She mentioned that to ask us to do this 'task' during the night time when we r gtg to bed cos we won't get up until the next morning mah. Heehee...

Dear gals,

I have complications during my first preggy and terminated my preggy during my 5th month. me thinking of seeing Dr Cheng after all the good review. Can anyone give me his contact number?

I am thinking of seeing him for some advice before i try again..thanks!

Hi Nickel,

What do u mean by u hv complications during ur 1st preggy & terminated ur preggy during ur 5th mth?

Btw, u can call his clinic at 6252 7766.

HI gal,

thanks for the contact..will call him soon..

my bb was found to have fluid in his lungs and tummy during the detail scan on the 5th month. my gynae told me that there is no chance for the bb to live, that y we had to terminate the preggy during my 5th month..me had an induced labour in july and did a confinement..

me thinking of changing a gynae and seek for his advice before i try again..me thinking of next year lor..

u oso planning for a bb now?

Hi Nickel,

ic...so sad...How cum ur gynae waited until on the 5th mth den found ur baby to hv fluid in his lungs??? They cant checked at earlier stage? Btw, how old r u now? Is this ur 1st trying of baby? Who is ur previous gynae who tot u of this matter?

Yup, we r planning to hv a baby now. Hopefully can success.

Hi Gal, it was one of those conversations we had during consultation and he said, he hv patients who seen chinese sinseh and came back to him preg..so he said it's still a success tory..my hb ask for contact loh.

My mum use to brew herbs, there's this type of electic special pot, u just put in the herbs and the required water, it will 'beep' when it's ready, no need to watch fire, but sorry hor..I dunno where to get this. Maybe u can ask the sinseh so u can save time.

Gal
PCOS is polycystic ovarian syndrome. it means that there are many cysts on the ovaries. SO-IUI and IUI differs in the sense that IUI only inject sperm into the uterus but SO-IUI involves injections to stimulate the ovaries to produce more eggs. Guess Dr Cheng didn't suggest IVF immediately due to my age and DH sperm count still considered ok. Btw, I'm 28 and DH 30.

As for the medicine pot, you can get it at most Chinese medical shop. will cost around $120.

Hi P Leong,

Presently, im using those type of electrical special pot to brew herbs & the required water & the electrical pot actually will 'beep' when it's ready. No ned to watch over the fire. Heehee...I've bought this special pot for $120. One thing which i dun like is, sometimes i really cannot judge the timing of the 'beep' sound cos sometimes the boiling timing is different from my herbs between my hubby & mine.

Hi Liz,

Not all the chinese medical hall shops will sell this "special" pot.

Wow...ur age still young leh...actually, u can still try naturally 1st. Heehee...

gal
oops! just happen that the few chinese medicine hall I went to sell it. :p

already tried naturaly previously but still nothing and I impatient lah. :p

Liz,

Hahaha...i thk u r similar to me now aso...cannot wait liao...feel very impatient now...every mth, im hopping to get pregrant but always no news aso.

Gal
lol... same same... very miserable leh!!! Btw, I didn't trace back the msgs. What are your plans now? going for IUI too?

Liz,

ic...i aso dunnno leh...My plan now...i thk my hubby wanna to try naturally 1st lor. What to do? Dr Cheng asked him to go back for his sperms test again tis week but dun thk he wanna go back again. He said that wanna try again lor...haizz...If really try naturally for a few mths & time cannot, den we will go straight away for IVF which Dr Cheng asked us to do so.

How abt u? Still gg to see Dr Cheng nowadays yet?

Gal
going to see Dr Cheng next mon to do HSG to see if can proceed with SO-IUI or not. Anyway, should ask your DH to go for the test so that can confirm if the test is accurate or not. My DH going for another one next month.

Liz,

What do u mean by "should ask your DH"?? So now, u r prepare to go for SO-IUI liao? Which date r u gg to see Dr Cheng again?

Gal
paisei. I mean should persuade your DH to go for the SA test again. Sometimes. one test might not be accurate enough. That's why Dr Cheng request for a few samples of SA test from my DH to determine if he is really ok.

Ya. I'm prepared to go for SO-IUI liao. Can't wait to try actually.
I am going to see Dr Cheng on 3rd Dec. Why leh? you going also?

MIA for awhile, quite depressed
DH's SA not very good, low sperm count
so cannot go straight to SO-IUI
doctor says have to do SA again, to confirm
touchwood, if really low, have to go straight to IVF liao

worried
you ok? Don't think too much. If have to go IVF, have to go IVF. At least there is still a glimpse of hope. No choice. these are the pains that we have to go through to have a baby. Wait for your DH SA test again. Maybe things are not so bad. Just remember Man proposes, God opposes. So it might just be part of God's plan. A journey which we have to undertake.

Don't be mistaken, I am not Christian. but just believe that there is a higher power up there.

In addition, this will make us appreciate our baby more.

liz

thanx, i m ok
just feeling rather down lor. now on 4th cycle of clomid, while waiting for DH to do another SA. dr cheng no need to do hsg test now, coz if sperm low count, must do ivf, tube blocked also nvm one. so have to wait for the next SA before i can decide on wat to do. getting abit tired over ttc for these few mths, making me very stressed. my DH was also saying, we are spending so much to see dr cheng, if really preggy, must give all the best things to our baby, and we will treasure our baby every more

Worried
can understand how you feel. I feel that way too. Just trying to perk myself up these few days.
Take a short break. go for holiday. I'm not on clomid this cycle so I feel better mentally. Hope I still feel this way when i start on my SO-IUI. Anyway, still in your 4th cycle right? maybe strike liao then no need to think abt IVF already.

liz

that was wat i've been praying for. cant imagine if IVF also failed then how....
does clomid make us feel frustrated and bad-tempered? i realised this cycle, i cannot control my temper...

Worried
I also can't imagine. stress leh. For me, I feel that clomid does make me feel that way. btw, which part of the cycle are you at now? the 2ww? Good luck!

Hi Liz,

No wonder lah...Dr Cheng asked my hubby to re-test his sperms test a few times to make sure that he got low sperms count. Haizz....

No lah...I wont be gtg to see Dr Cheng liao again but maybe yes for another 1 more time due to my hubby ned to retake his sperms test again & aso asked me to check on my next ovluation result lor.

liz

i m praying hard too! thanx!
so u going for your hsg on monday rite?
do share your experience, coz if, if, my DH's 2nd SA is good, then can go for SO-IUI. anyway, where's babymouse? like so long never see her post liao

worried
Ya. going for HSG on Mon. Can't wait to start on the SO-IUI. Will sure update.

bbmouse
on leave. studying for exams.

Hi worried, liz

Check out this website to learn about how diet can affect dad-to-be
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/preconception/dadstobe/

"quote: Extremely important, since nutrition has a direct impact on the potency of your sperm. Research shows that poor eating habits and heavy drinking, for instance, can lower the quality and quantity of sperm, making conception more difficult. And since infertility is nearly as much a man's issue as a woman's, 32 per cent of infertility problems can be traced to men, a healthy diet now will boost your chances of conceiving a child. You can rekindle your love affair with fast food after your partner's pregnancy is confirmed.
Unquote "

Happy reading !

Liz

went to see dr cheng yesterday. supposed to be CD12, went to check follicle size, if ok, he will give me hcg injection to release the egg. but...yesterday the biggest one is only 7mm. which is 3x smaller than my normal size. was so sad though. i thot it could be becoz i've been sick these 2 mths, cough and flu, which is affecting the clomid. but dr cheng ask to go back next week again to check. he says give it around 5 more days to see if it grows. but i doubt so, coz my temp is normally 35.7-35.9 around O time, but this cycle, temp is quite high, always 36-36.4, which is quite high. dr says i might be too stressed over ttc, tats why fall sick and immunity level low...
i guess he will give me medicine to induce menses should he find my follicle not growing by next week. though i dun pin much hopes, i think pray that it will grow ps...dun want to waste this cycle

hi worried....
Dun be sad k? Like wat Liz mentioned, God has a time for everything... who knows u might strike this cycle .. You must be too stressed over the ttc... there's alot of success stories whereby the couple took a break and striked naturally

Hi Liz
How was the hsg test? Everything ok?

Hi gals.. just to share.. perhaps you all might want to try gnc Megaman pills for DH. Dr Adrian advised us to take it to improve sperm quality. Me and Ceraine (fellow ttc friend) DH been taking it religiously and both striked. And also preseed. We both used it on the cycle we striked.
Hope this will help

Roxy,

Since u said that this Megaman pills is to take it to improve sperm quality but if sperms r not good, den how? Sperms got good & bad qualities as well.

Hi roxyz

thanx. i guessed i m really too stressed these few months. coz i was hoping to strike by year end. now, its already dec liao, and no more chance, tats why feel even more depressed. esp when those ppl around u dun understand, then keep asking why dun want to have baby yet....
i will ask me DH whether he wants to try it. but i guess this cycle really wasted liao. today temp is 36.5, which is too high for CD15. going to see dr cheng tomorrow, will ask him whether we can go straight for IVF on next cycle.

Hi Liz

How are you? Hope everything is alright
i think i wont have a chance to go for hsg liao, me and DH discussed liao, if tomorrow go see dr cheng, the follicle is still too small, we will go straight for IVF next month

Worried
don't be too gan cheong. the last time Dr cheng also said my folicle too small. but after 1 week. it grew to a size that was ok and I O that month. So don't think too much okie. the more stress you are the worst it gets. So take care! Cheer up! Cheer up!!!

Gals
Thanks for asking. the HSG was ok. Dr Cheng says the x-ray was a "textbook" image (i.e perfect). DH sperm count also improve tremendously.
Did ask Dr Cheng if how come everything is ok. Still fail after 5 cycles of clomid. he said that maybe because clomid not suitable for me. although it helped me ovulate but the quality of egg not so good. so SO-IUI suppose to help me produce more and better quality eggs. Another reason would be that DH's sperm damn bad at "navigation" :p

With regards to the HSG, the insertion was a bit uncomfortable and you will feel a bit of menstrual cramp during the procedure. they will ask you to turn left and right to get scan. other than that, it is ok.

worried, stay positive. Initially my aim was to get pregnant by year end too and if dun have,i will do IUI. Each time AF came, I will also be super depressed.
It's good if you and DH have spoke about IVF and decided to go for it. It's very likely you might get twins to "compensate" you and this time next year, you will already be holding your precious in your hands. But please do not stress yourself too with IVF coz I think stress will affect implantation. Cheer up!!!

Liz, glad to hear that everything is ok for you. So you are going for SO-IUI this cycle. Hope you strike and get your Xmas pressie!!

Hi gal, not sure, but perhaps coz sperm is no good, hence the supplement will improve their quality? Anyway, no harm trying and can just take it as an additional health supplement for DH and it's not expensive too..

Roxy,

My hubby dun anyhow take any health supplement cos it is quite a heaty product & aso got to drink lots of water. However when he always try to take health supplement, he will get ulers. Haizz...So, it is very hard for him to eat any supplement but Dr Cheng advised him to take folid acid same as me. Heehee...So, both of us r still taking now every morning. Besides this, Dr Cheng aso advised him to take vitamin C which is 1000mg.

roxy
I can wait to start my SO-IUI in Feb. How? seems like such a long wait leh... btw how are you feeling now? at work or still resting at home.