Dr Joycelyn Wong from KKH

hi rnjt,

it is not up to the gynae in fact... it is up to the hospital.

So far, my friends who opt for 4 bedded are being upgraded to 2 bedded in TMC

regarding her $598 package? does it include detail ultrascan of the fetal development at week 16 and 30 ?

Hi rnjt,
I only know need to do details scan on 20 weeks. Don't think any doctor will include the details scan in the package, because only the details scan already cost around $100 (at TMC). and this scan is not done by the gynea.

The package only include consultation, normal scan and urine check.

Hi rnjt,

The $598 is just an Antenatal package. I paid another $388 (exluding GST) for the OSCAR+FA Package P6 recommended to me.

cos my current gynae package is abt $950 and includes 2 details scans, vitamins & a postnatal visit after delivery...so i m trying to compare the package...For Dr wong, her package doesn't include vitamins and postnatal visit ( which costs abt $100) at hospital right ?

anyway, i have make an appt with Dr Wong in 2 weeks' time.hope i have make the right choice...since she is highly recommended by you all..

Yep Dr Wong is a nice person and easy to talk to. She was featured in a one page spread in Young Parents magazine this month.

After reading all the postive remarks about Dr Wong, I've already booked an appointment with her

Hi rnjt,

i think i also have the same gynae as you. I was there on saturday and heard that they have increased the pre-natal package to 1200, and the delivery charges alone also increased to $1600, was quite shock cause her old package price was already quite high.. how many weeks are you pregnant now? I m already in my 12 weeks and had just done my NT scan but did not do the blood test. Thinking of doing the blood test on week 16 and also thinking of changing gynae but dont know if it's too late now. Am thinking of seeing dr wong too.. can let me know you experience with her and whether they can still accept someone that is already 12 weeks? i dont think can get back our history records from our previous gynae hor?

my gynae was dr wong. i find that she is very nice and very caring. her skills is good too at least for me.

i had natural birth and was able to walk by 3pm the same day i delivered (in morning). her stitching skills good for me.

Hi sunflower,
I think 12 weeks still not too late, one of her package is start from 16 wk. Actually not many record need to get from yr previous gynea as well, if you have those blood report then you can bring it along.

hi wanli, thanks. i'm still in a dilemma because i stayed in sengkang area and abit inconvenient to go all the way to thomson but then her bedok clinic is still nearest to me compared to the other two doctors stationed at ACJ. Also prefered a female doc to a male doc.. hmm use these 2 weeks to consider lor cause if i do the Triple test also must be done in 16 weeks.

It's at bedok mrt station, Bedok MRT Medical Clinic but she only there on friday evenings, 6pm to 9pm.. U can check at her namecard. It's written there.

Hi Sunflower,
, actually I stay quite far from TMC as well, I stay at pasir ris but I really like Dr. Wong, she is so patient and friendly.

Yah, you are right. I also prefer female gynea, I feel really shy to let a male doctor todo varginal check for me :p

Don't worry so much, you will not regret to see Dr wong. my fren also change to her on 12 wk after I highly recommended.

Anyway, I still prefer to go TMC instead of bedok

hi wanli,

u stay at pasir ris? i stay at sengkang..hee i thot bedok quite near to pasir ris? do u normally go on weekdays cos it seems sat is always very packed. does she gives mc readily? Do you know how much is her pre-natal package and how much is her delivery charges for normal delivery? Did u do any oscar test or triple test with her? and does she gives u back the ultrasound photos? i would like to keep those photos if possible.. hee sorry ask so many questions, thks.

Hi Sunflower,
Yah, I stay at Pasir Ris. At first I visited her at bedok but the facilities at bedok not as complete as TMC. When you at 20wk, you need todo a details scan which you must goto TMC.

At TMC, Dr. Wong clinic has a big LCD TV, where you can see yr baby clearly during the scan

Normally I will go on Saturday. Ya, it is quite alot of people on weekend. but she is still very patient to answer every question we ask, that's why we don't mind to wait. If you go on weekday, you can actually request her to give you MC, as long as yr company is ok with that.

If I'm not remember wrongly, the package price is $500+, depend whether you start from 12 weeks or 16 weeks. I forgot the delivery charge, she told me all these during my first visit :p. I'm now on my 3rd trimester.

Ya, I take only triplet test because we are not the high risk grp. Don't worry about all these tests, when you visit her, she will explain to you all the test in details.

Of course, she will give back all the ultrasound photos to you
. In fact she not stingy at this, you can always ask her to print you more if you want.

hi sunflower,

perhaps i can help wanli on the delivery charge. Dr Wong charges start at about $1800 for normal delivery. If its C-sec, i recall its starts about $3,300

i like dr wong very much. in fact i told my hubby i miss her. hahaha. told him must quickly get pregnant with second one so that i can visit dr wong again.

Yes, I miss her too! My hubby is really impressed by her too, very professional and humane when handling my emergency c-section. She consoled me knowing that I very much wanted natural birth. Visited me at the ward after delivery at about 12 am when my operation ended at about 9 pm, thought she went home. She's great!

Hi Wanli, thanks for the information. I have already called up to make an appointment to see her on my 16 weeks on 30 Jun.. hopefully will feel comfortable with her and can sign up the package then, dont want to source for others liao... Im also afraid of taking too much MCs, thats why thought that can go to her bedok clinic. Anyway now almost 3 months, should be quite stable and no need to see doc so often bah. So when will you give birth, are u taking the 4 bed or 2 bed? Other than the detail scan at 20 weeks, will u be having another detail scan at last trimester to measure the baby body size? May I know how old are you now? Im 30 years old, wonder whether am I in the high or low risk group heehee

Hi jan, may i know if the $1800 to $3300 delivery charges include hospital bills (for the stays in hospital) as well? really glad to hear so many gd comments about her.. hee

Roughly how much did you all spend in cash after all the medisave deductions? I'm really quite confuse.

Hi sunflower,
Ya, once u reach 16wk, then u only need to see the gynea once in a mth. I have booked 4 beded because Dr wong said can always upgrade to 2 beded at last min. After the 20 wk details scan, every visit Dr will measure the size and weight of the baby in order to make sure the baby growing well. I don't think will have another details scan as details scan need to pay extra charge and is not done by Dr. Wong. I'm 30 yrs old as well

So are you going to TMC or bedok? Don't worry, you will like her

I'm currently seeing Dr Wong and just recently we discussed about her delivery charges. Its $738 for normal delivery. $500 extra for epidural. But I'm taking the hospital package which includes her delivery charges and her daily visit after delivery in the ward (about 2 days). The package also includes 2 days hospital stay, labour ward, nursery and even the PD for the baby. Its about $2K for all except epidural. I think its pretty reasonable.

Jan,

I think $1800 includes professional fees and hospital stay for 4-bedded and natural birth. I just asked the staff on tuesday.

Wanli, so how is ur baby? My baby is stablized already... And in fact, doctor wong had told me that I am expecting a boy. Will be doing my 20 weeks fetal assessment in 2 weeks time. Have u been to her bedok clinic? It is very near my home though. Maybe next time i can go there. Keke!!

Sunflower, I signed up her atenatal package from 12 weeks onwards so she charge me $598 for that. If u signed up during ur 16 weeks, she charge u abt $498. I agree with Wanli, she is never stingy abt those ultrasound scan photos. Each Visit I go, I get abt 3 to 8 pics. Haha!!! Moreover I remember, during my 11 wk preggie, i had bleeding in the middle of the night, she responded to my call and immediately rush down to TMC and open her clinic and diagnosed for me. My hubby and I love her very much, she is very responsible and skillful. If not, I guess I would have lost my baby. As for her fees wise, jaci is right. It is $1800 includes professional fees and hospital stay for 4 -bedded, natural birth. Most of the time, TMC will upgrade u to the 2 bedded ward. =)

Hi GingerCat,
Glad to know that everything is ok for you
. My baby is doing fine. After my 20 weeks, I usually went to TMC instead of bedok. Since bedok also not so near to my house.

So fast, you already going to yr 20wk soon. hahhaa...after you clear yr details scan then you can start shopping for baby stuff already

You are right, Dr Wong very care about her patients

just like to check with u gals whether dr joycelyn wong will do a scan every visit? coz i heard some doc dun do a scan everytime.

Hi bestwishes,
Yes, she does with no extra charge. That was y i looked forward to every vist. Then I can see me baby

Hi wanli,
I'm going to TMC to see her first
So roughly when will you be giving birth?

Thanks for all the information on the prices, seems like there are many different packages available for Dr Wong unlike my old gynae which is fixed, so good more choices haha. So happy that the prices are reasonable and so much good comments about her.

Hi sunflower,
My EDD is on 3Aug, but feel like it will pop early :p. I can share with you after that

Hi bestwishes,
The scan is included in the package
. This is the only way we can see our baby every mth, how can the doctor missed it, hahhha.

Hi Wanli, must be really excited hor, only 2 months plus to go.. hee, ya looking forward to hear your delivery story after you pop

I've seen her.She've spent around 20-25mins with me. Very patient and detailed in her explanation. It's an v pleasant experience!She even called me personally to inform me about the triple results.
Her assistants were v pleasant and helpful too. Thank you for the recommendation

hi wanli, dont know if you're reading this.. but just to update..i saw Dr Wong on friday, really happy with her service. She's really professional, friendly and nice. We spent almost an hour for the consultation and she explained alot to us. I like the TV screen too, can see bb very clearly and no need to bend my head and she also gave me lots of photos.. so happy. So in the end i signed up the package with her on that day..hee. Only thing i dislike is the waiting time, even though i went on a weekday and at my appointed time, still gotta wait aro 45mins... hee maybe too many patients.

Though her normal delivery is $738 but I was charged $1142. I think it is because she break the water bag for me and came twice to the devlivery ward..to break the water bag and then for the actual delivery. Well, I am not sure as I dare not ask for the breakdown. I think it is good for u to ask beforehand.

Hi sunflower,
Glad to know that you like her service
. Yah...I also feel that nowaday the waiting time getting longer, but I can understand loh because myself also every time spend at least half an hr inside her room. :p .....got too many questions and she is very patient to answer my question.

HI jaci,
Are you just delivered by Dr Wong? Care to share yr experience? hmmm...I think I'm going to deliver within thse few weeks....

hi sunflower

how come u wait for 45mins? i only wait for 10-15mins, also weekday. My appointment @ 12pm on that day.

Hi Wanli, how u going to deliver your bb? heard that drinking cocconut few weeks before delivery is good for delivery, maybe u can try..

Hi Bestwishes, you were there on friday too? my appointment is 12:45pm.. and they sort of mix up my appt, so I waited until around 1:30pm..

Hi Jacl, did u use any epidural? hmm, so your price for the the delivery and hospital exceeded the standard for the (delivery & hospital) package lor? I didnt ask for her delivery price, only saw that it is a package which included 2 nights hospital stay leh.. & need to add extra for epidural.. hee

Hi sunflower,
Ya, i heard that too
, now start drinking coconut once per week...not dare to drink too much, afraid too cooling.

I asked Dr Wong before, epidural need another $500+

Hi Jaci,

I think $738 is her delivery charges yes but the extras could be her charges for ward visits after you delivered. Its about $100 per visit. I was informed of that. Usually she would visit twice but if you stayed longer maybe that could be the added cost.

I think the days when you have to wait slightly longer are those where she had some patients in labour. Even so when its your turn to see her in her clinic, she never made you feel rushed.

Wanli, are u excited abt ur arrival of baby? Yah, drink some coconut water... it will be good for baby and delivery. I have 3 more months to go before my baby arrive. Have you book the hospital wards already? I tried booking mine but then, its like never received anything from Thomson Medical yet... I actually book the package offered by Dr Wong. The $1900 package which includes her delivery and ward visiting charges.

Hi sunflower and bestwishes, my waiting time for her consultation is abt an hour or more. So now, my hubby insisted that I should get the earliest appt, cos he hates waiting...

Hi GingerCat,
Yah...very exciting now
, can't wait to see my baby. Doctor said I may deliver these 2 weeks. Wah...so fast, only 3 more mths to go. Still can remember the first time you are asking Dr Wong infor here.

By the way, what is this $1900 package? why the price is so expensive? What is included in the package? For the booking of hospital ward, you can actually book with Dr Wong also. I book with her when I'm 30wks and I received the letter from TMC after 3 weeks.

Hi Wanli,

Wah... I remember the other time I was asking abt Dr Wong info here. Keke!! Now I am in my 6 mths plus already... fast leh. Will u be using epidural for ur delivery? I was planning not too... but dunno if i can tahan or not.

This $1900 package is offered by Dr Wong's clinic. Her Delivery and ward visitin fees together with 3 days 2 nite stays in TMC ( 4 bedded ). Actually I book liao thru hazel but had been a month plus and have not received anything from TMC. Maybe i booked too early liao. Lolz

Hi GingerCat,
I think I will take epidural :p ..... I believe I can not tahan the pain.....because on and off now I have some crampy feeling when contraction come, I already feel it is quite painful although still bearable but I heard people said the real labour is far more painful than this.....Of course if u can tahan the pain then it is better don't take

hahaha..yah, it is really a bit early to book the bed. Actually when u near 30wks Dr wong will ask you on this