Dr HO from Mt Alvernia

krissie,

if I remember correctly, he left sometime like 10 or 11 Dec and back on 26th Dec. dun rely on the dates of the scan, not accurate one lah! blaf blaf only, hahaha

1st child will be early? think so you know cos my 1st one also arrived early without induction, 37 weeks and subsequently the others either overdue or needed induction. Most of my friends, although not all, also have the same experience, 1st one earlier than the others, so you must get ready early lor.

One thing good about 1st pregnancy is that the doctors and nurses will pay more attention to you and I believe your friends and relatives too, if there is anything, I think they will be more than willing to help you, else, I believe this forum can help too cos there are many experience mummies who are more than willing to offer you good opinions and suggestions, am I right gals?

so hey, stay cool and relax man, enjoy your pregnancy, it doesn't help, and will not help, to worry too much cos you will affect yourself and your precious little angel. Furthermore, you are in the good hands of Dr Ho.

do take care and I wish you all the best

Huh dr. ho goin on leave in dec05???? Oh no, im due in dec... what if he is not around to deliver for me!!! So scary & sad...

Aiyo Yvonne,

Relax lah, dun be scared, I am sure if you tell him your worries and insisted that he delivered your baby, he will arrange. He is very understanding.

Take care ok?

Mummy Bs
Thanks for your advice. So, he's not that against inducing. Was it very painful for inducing? I heard it's more painful. Is that true? I really hope that he can deliver for me.. will discuss with him again.

Yvonne
I think you can discuss with him during your next visit loh.

Hi krissie,

yap, induction is more painful but with epidural, it won't be any much difference.

I find that Dr Ho is very assuring and very ready to care for us....so i think everything also can discuss.....
My edd is 11 Feb so he should be around but when he go on elave does he inform his patient before hand???

Mummy Bs
Thanks. For the induction? how long was the labour? My friend says it's not too good to have epi for too long. She had it for 18hrs, which she said was too long.

krissie,

the length of labour really depend on individuals, it is unpredictable, I had my eldest with 12 hours of labour pain, without epi, and my 2nd one lasted only 3 hours, without epi too. But my no. 3's labour was 15 hours!!! longer than no. 1. For my no. 4, dr ho inserted pessary to soften the cervic 1st and then induced me when I started to feel it coming. It lasted about 6 hours. So you see, it is really unpredictable. Whether it is good or not I am not so sure, you have to check with Dr Ho but I do have a friend who had epidural for almost 24 hours - she had a big baby and refused to go for C-section, ans she is doing fine.

Etelle,
the doctor will administer induction through drip to encourage early labour, that is, to cause your uterus to contract and cervic to open, the dr will burst the water bag, if it does not burst automatically, when you are about 5 cm dilated if I remember it correctly.

Hi Mummy Bs
Does Dr Ho encourage natural birth or not? It seems like one lady in the forum commented Dr Ho is pro intervention and not pro natural birth. You have been through with him so many times so trust you more hee hee Thanks

I am with Dr Ho as well and my EDD is 9 Dec. I went for my detailed scan last week and asked him about his holis plan for Dec. He say no plans yet. So just wondering how come he told some of you that he is going away from 10 or 11 Dec? I am a bit puzzled.

HI jag
oh good to hear that....oooh if he doens't go for holidays would be go during other months. I am delivering in Feb 06 leh...

Etelle,

is it? not that i know of, in fact, my sister in law insisted on c-section but he kept on denying her request, wanted her to try natural first, it was through her insistence that he perform a c-sect much later cos her baby refused to "come out".

having said the above, there are many cases where a gynae has to intervene in the labour, for example, if the baby is in distress, mother has high diabetis or high blood pressure or early malfunction of the placenta etc .... "every pregnancy is different" is what he use to tell me, so he will access every mum to be differently

yah that's what another girl on the mouth alvernia hospital thread was telling but from what i know Dr Ho from the 1-2 visits...i thin k he do what's best for the mother and child. So no worries hee hee must trust our gynae and the hands that annoint him.

Mummy Bs
Wah.. you're so brave. No epi for both times.. really admire you.
Thanks for sharing.. I hope mine will not too long.

Jag
When I saw him during the 1st session, he said he might be going away in Dec, but he said shld be back by Christmas. I asked the nurse, she said he'll usually go tour in Nov / Dec. She said usuall 2 - 3 weeks. Since he told you that, maybe he has changed his plans. Anyway, I've signed up for the package. Will ask him again at 30+ weeks before having to pay for the delivery. The 10-11 Dec date was given by Mummy Bs when she was preg last year.

Mmmmm maybe he hasn't make his plans yet ah....well well well certainly hope that he will not go on holidays hee hee :p then all of us can be delivered by him hee hee

Etelle,

for your info, I think you are quite safe cos if he is to go for a trip, it will be during school holidays cos he has 3 kids in school!

yup, I told them liao.. only pple like me in Dec are affected.
Once school term starts it's very safe. He also told my hb that his kids needs to go school.

Hi, those who signed up a package with Dr Ho, what are antenatal visits like after that? Every four weeks until week 28, then three weeks until week XX? Then two weeks and one week...? Also, does he do a growth scan in the 30-something week? What about the Strep B test? Thank you!

Youpi
The frequency is like what you have mentioned, but, I can't rem which week onwards would increase the frequency. Have not heard of the other 2 tests. Maybe you can call to ask the nurse.

Not sure if this is the latest but managed to dig out the one I received last year According to the list, the antenal package costs $600 for a singleton pregnancy and has to be paid in full upon confirmation at 16th week. This sum is non-refundable. This package covers the following: -

- all scheduled antenal consultations
- routine urine tests for sugar and protein
- weight and blood pressure measurements
- ultrasound scans except the screening scan which is performed at 20th week of pregnancy

The followings items and services are not included in the package:-

- all unscheduled consultations
- vitamins and medications
- investigation, lab blood and urine tests. viginal swab test at for Strep B at week 34 etc
- hospital and postnatal consultations

Delivery fees (payable at week 30):-
Normal - $$800
Assisted - $1100
C-section - $1600

Delivery fees does not include the doctor's daily visits during hospital stay. I remember paying S$100 for every visit from him.

All the above does not include hospital charges, paediatrician fees and anaesthetist fees.

A surcharge of S$1000 if patients wanted to select the date and time of the delivery.

Hope the above helps.

Thanks. Are the items in the package similar with other gynaes? I've just started looking for my gynae, so v blur in these things. Any other hidden costs that I need to be aware of?

Hi chenoa,

everyone gynae charges differently, my previous gynae charged cheaper but i decided to change due the reason stated in this thread earlier on. is this your 1st pregnancy?? choose one that you are comfortable with, hidden costs? other than those stated above, dun remember any others, Dr Ho's charges are quite transparent as far as I know.

hi chenoa,

me experience? no lah, I am just here to share what I know and learn what I dun know through interaction with the other mothers in this forum.

there are so much to learn about motherhood and I am still learning on a daily basis. Every child is special and different and I have to learn to cope with each one of them differently.

You take care and all the best to your pregnancy.

ps - gone through my baby's picture and saw a photo taken with Dr Ho in dec 05 after my delivery, if you are interested, can mail his picture to you if it could make you feel more comfortable hahaha!

mummy_bs
im also due in dec05.
but can i know how do u no that he's going oversea during that period?

hi JeslynLuvRenee,

When making appointment lor, the nurse told me that he will be away between that period so I "kan chiong" and seek his further advice.

So your baby 8 months like mine liao right? is it baby Renee? when did you deliver? delivered by he himself???

The delivery charges had increase from $800 to 1k for normal delivery. my wife with Dr Ho too due next mth. The antenatal package remains at $600.
Till now he still schedule mthly visit to him leh never shorten the visits. maybe after the next visits on 15/10 he might shorten the visiting schedule.

is it necessary for the doctor to visit after delievery ? what is the normal frequency of doctor visit ?

Hi Billy
i thought when nearer to delivery date gynae will meet even closer between each visits leh as for visiting after delivery, think he will go on the first day subsequent visit will be chargeable at $200 per visit right?

Am not sure abt the frequency and charges of visit.

you are saying that the first day visit is not chargeable ?

very expensive leh for $200/visit.Hope no complications.

Hi Billy
eh nope first day visit think it's $100 whether it is included in the $1k we paid or not that i'm not sure but i don't think so. Everything be fine. Dun worrie. Wish your wife a Smooth delivery
Yah $200 is expensive so hopefully dun need him around lor.

Dr Ho HK helped me to deliver a cute boy 5 years ago, he is experience and he sew perfect stitches (natural birth), no scar at all! looks like he did not increase his price list, still the same 5 years ago.

Billy
the actual is on the day afetr delivery is $200 then subsequent is $100.......You should have received the brochure and the assistant from Dr Ho's clinic should have explained the details to you already right?

yes got it from them. so he will definately come on the day after the delivery ?

if that's the case, die die also need to pay that $200 liao.

Billy,

it really depends on the anaestheic. When my water burst, i asked for epidural and it was so numb that i dunt even know if i pushed. luckily Dr Ho assist me to get my boy out... and basically i was so numb that there was no feeling even when he stitch. We were even joking and talking with the nurses when he was doing the stitches. ....
By the way, his charges is already consider reasonable....

Hi adel
Really ah went all numb and can joke somemore ah hee hee ;p wow sounds so encouraging hee he :p goody good

hi etella

maybe i am those relax type so .... i even ensure i have a hearty meal before i deliver if not no "strength" to push & joke! Dr Ho is good and he ensure that everythings goes well from day 1 till the baby is born....
U r delivering next year rite? so how's your baby? did he wave to you when dr ho did the scanning? I remember my boy waved his little hands twice when dr ho is doing scanning.....so cute!

HI adel
nope baby didn't wave ha ha :p By the way Dr Ho's scan is 2d or 3d ah? seems 3d to me.....

And cna i asked is it his practise to ask us to shave clean our pte part before our delivery??Or he doesn't consider that whetehr u ahve pubic hair or not during delivery it doesn't affect him? Pls enlighten.

just wondering...how do I make an appt wif Dr Ho if I found myself preggie using an off the shelf pregnancy test kit? Can I just call Mt Alvernia straight n make an appt or should I get a referral letter? I'm rather 'blur'... thanks..