Dr HO from Mt Alvernia

Etelle? u give birth lau?? haha.. yr tues message sound like u are abt to go into labour...

if u dont reply for the next few days, we will know u have delivered!

mum88 im bfeeding now leh....ya, cant get preg within 3-5mths....

i nv prepare any birth plan...
i nv had induce b4..so i dono...

im seeing DR tan frm kinder clinic also @ mt a, 2nd level, but located @ other side...

Etelle, u give birth already?
hehe...

thks Jeslyn..

think Etelle give birth lau..

will wait for her to come back and share her labour story with us..

i am giving birth soon too.. scary! but excited too.. cant wait to see my baby!

yalo, mum88, i also tink she give birth le, cos no news...
take care...whre u staying huh? near MAH?

Dear Jeslyn,
I stay in the West side, but choose MtA cos i like that place and i trust Dr Ho. He devlier my nephew and niece.

how abour yrself? how are yr 2 darlings? Regine should be about 2months old now?

for the hep B, i was thinking of asking the nurse can i dont inject cos i am planning for the 2nd baby asap.. hee hee.. not young lau...

Hi Blur Green,
the nurse was telling me best not to conceive 3-5 mths after injection? i suppose should be 3-5 mths after Jan?

Hi mum88

I also dont know. I took my 1st dose in Jul 05, then 2nd dose in aug 05 and 3rd dose in Jan 06.
I remember the nurse tell me that after the first and 2nd dose i cannot get preg else i wont be able to take the 3rd dose and i got to take all over again.

Any one can check for me when can i concieve?
Btw you mention that the nurse say cannot conceive 3-5 mths after injection is refering to which dose? is it after that 3rd dose?

Dear ladies
i have given birth on the 8th Feb 2006. Water bag burst and show at 330am on that day and then admit hospital. Only delivered out at 639pm on the same day.Dr Ho is wonderful. He is also encouraging, so assuring and so calm and steady when he is performing the delivery. Even though my baby is 3.67kg but he still let me carry it through with a natural delivery. The mid wife was thinking i should be gng for c section cuz tummy big but i still end up with natural. Thanks to Dr Ho. I dun want to go through c section.

Hi jeslyn
yeah i saved the cord blood leh. yeah a bit expensive but think of it as a form of insurance for the baby lor. Cuz i am a thalaseemia minor carrier so storing it is necessary in my case to what i think. I also took the Hep B injection leh. 3 dosage think should be every jab is one month apart right??? Not sure...oh so within now until i finished my 3rd jabs cannot get pregnant or will not be able to get pregnant??? Never mind maybe for me until baby 1 year then i will consider to give birth or not though i also not young going to 29 this year liaoz.

blur green
i took my 1st jab when i dischged frm hosp, in dec05. i completed mine already...i expedite it..

aft 3rd dose, 3 mths later then can get preg....

mum88 i oso stay west leh, u stay where?
hee...he help my aunty delivered 3 bb & help my other aunty delivered 1 bb & also my cousin's bb was delivered by him too...
tat's y i choose him...im glad to ve him as my gynae, cos i feel tat his skill is good & also stitches reli not pain @ all...

if u planning for bb no2 u can expedite the jab...1 mth each, if not its 1 mth 1 mth then 3 mth...

yes, regine is 2mths old +

Jeslyn
we can request for it to be done month by month instead of having the last jab at 3 months? Wondering if the jab will cause rashes??? or epidural will causes rashes realised my body has got rashes leh...little little redo dots forming at my thighs wondering what causes it

I raised two hands to agree with you his stitches really not pain. He is a good gynae so assured in his hands leh. WIll definitely go back to him for 2nd baby

dear etelle,
CONGRATS!!!

whoa!! 15hrs of labour!! did u use the epidural?
yr baby is heavy... u must have a tough delivery!

dear Jeslyn,
i stay in bt batok. how abt u?

i am planning for 2nd baby asap cos old lau.. hee hee.. i am older than both of u.. i am 32 this year..

just to confirm.. so i can still take the jab while breastfeeding, if expedite, then i can get pregnant after 3mths.

my msn is [email protected]
but i wont be able to msn u 2 for the next few days.. cos i am checking in hosp tomm. Dr Ho want induce my baby..

looking forward to chat more with u 2 when i am back!

dear etelle,
CONGRATS!!!

whoa!! 15hrs of labour!! did u use the epidural?
yr baby is heavy... u must have a tough delivery!

dear Jeslyn,
i stay in bt batok. how abt u?

i am planning for 2nd baby asap cos old lau.. hee hee.. i am older than both of u.. i am 32 this year..

just to confirm.. so i can still take the jab while breastfeeding, if expedite, then i can get pregnant after 3mths.

my msn is [email protected]
but i wont be able to msn u 2 for the next few days.. cos i am checking in hosp tomm. Dr Ho want induce my baby..

looking forward to chat more with u 2 when i am back!

ya Etelle, 4got to say congrats to u...hee....post ur bb pic here...let us ve a look..

no rashes, but arm will b abit aching lo..

Anyone can tell me is his clinic at Mt A only? Whats his package like? Expecting my 1st one and see alot of good comments here and consider using him....

hi doggy
i think that is his only clinic at Mt A
i took up the package and pay $600
But do note that u have to pay extran $100 for detailed scan when pregnant at 20 weeks

hi doggy,

Dr Ho is really good.He is very experienced and his stitches really heal very fast. you wont even need any painkiller after delivery.

His nurses are very warm & helpful too! I like them alot. They give very helpful advise.

there are some other charges that the package $600 does not cover, but i think other gynaes' packages also like this

mumm88
you very good
Brave lady. I used epidural so lousy right...but i was admitted around 4am. Then hor Dr Ho said if i want a good anesthetist my timing is good sure can get but must make decision then. If i stagger further may not be able to get. Then he told me a good anesthetist is equally as important. So i said yes to epidural Just like that but i glad i took it cuz labour was 14 hours leh...hee hee if not don't know i would be screaming like crazy or not....

Doggie
his clinic should be only Mt A cuz all the time he is there leh...hee hee :p His package yeah mine also $600. I just delivered this year so the price should be quite recent i think. No qualms at all about using him really, i was half doubting when they said about his painless stitch but after going through it indeed my stitches are painles..afetr delivery urine also no pain leh....hee hee

dear Etelle,

I think i am silly.. haha.. my labour also about 13 hrs. but i endure 8hrs of pain without any painkiller (ultimate hate the laughing gas!!). in the end, the pain too much and too long. I give up and took epidural. u are right. a gd anesthetist very very important. the one recommended by Dr Ho is very good! I was shivering so badly but the Doc was so steady, he did it so fast that the relief from the epidural came immediately.

I confirm going to take epidural immediately for my 2nd child. i cant takan the pain the 2nd time.. *gurp* hahahahaha..

mum88
u abit waste money ah ha ha 8 hrs of pain then take epidural hee hee :p just kidding...should have taken it form the start....like me...but then actually u r a real woman cuz u endured labour pain and experienced it not like me never experienced but i would rather not though...yeah thank God we have Dr Ho....good gynae...good anesthetist and also follwed by Dr Ho intro good pediatrician hee hee :p For my 2nd child i also opt for epidural immediately...hee hee dun want to endure any pain hee hee :p

thanks Etelle,

oic. i hv read from other tread that Dr Terence Tan from Mt A is good and patient and his clinic is always crowded. must wait quite long? how abt his charges? is it exp?

Hi Shalan
it depends leh. I went that day for my appointment on a thursday at 4pm one. Not many people leh. Waited a short while only but if it's on Monday which his clinic is uaually crowded ah can wait like more than 30 mins leh. His consultation is $50. It's worth it when you see him. You will know. He is like a friend than a doctor...no airs and treat baby very good hee hee

hi micky
you can call up the clinic and ask but i think the package still same price and think it starts at 28 weeks if i am not wrong. call them lor the nurses very friendly one..63538833

Etelle,

huh? The package only start at 28wks? I called the nurse this morning but they said they wont brief over the phone.

Micky,
The package starts on the 4th month (which is 16 wks)... I remembered the nurses mentioned about it... Surprisingly, they didn't tell u over the phone. When I queried over the phone, she was very kind to explain the package detailed etc. Guess you must call them very early in the morning, around 8a.m+

Hope the info helps...

i be going for epi c-section on the 10 may. feeling very scare now cos heard the administering of the epidural can be quite painful. any one with experience? i know dr ho is good with stitches for natural birth, how abt c-section? any pain? thks

hi milo66
remember me? i joined your gymboree spree

i had epi c-section as well. When the doc is administering the epidural, I don feel pain at all cos the contractions pain is far worse than that.
It is perfectly fine. The doctor that Dr Ho recommends for epidural is great. You will just have it without realising it.

As for pain after c-section, i don feel much pain at all. In fact, I did not take any painkillers after my c-section. I could even get off the bed and walk after the 2nd day

Congrats and relax. Everything will be fine

hi joleena,

yup remember u
so u were also under dr ho..

thks for ur assurance.. definitely felt better knowing that. read at the c-section thread that so many mummies are in pain after that and my pain threshold is very low, thus worried.

how old is ur bb now? cant wait to see my boy soon

milo
the anesthetiist who adminster epidural is Dr Dickie tay. He is very good..the pain is like needle poke lor not pain la....Dr Ho is good in stitching rehardless of natural or c section. No worries u in good hands
my threshold of pain is also super low but then i can tahan and feel the whole process is alright la

Micky
should be 16 wks hee hee i forget liao....got to call n ask....r u using dr ho? or still thinking??

hi milo66
i bet you cant wait to deliver right?

don worry. i have very low pain threshold as well. and i even get off the bed the next day to walk to the canteen downstairs haha..and got scolded for walking too much

Hiz

I am oso considering going to Dr Ho clinic.

Can i check and confirm a few stuffs here...appreciate all your kind advice -

Dr Ho antenatal package of $600 starts from 16th week and does not include the per visit supplements/vitamin and the 3D ultrasound scan charges? So we have to pay additional abt $80 to $100 per visit for these 2 items?

And Dr Ho's delivery charges have increased to $1000 for normal delivery?

Many thanks for your kind advice!

Hi Irene
His package covers the normal urine test, the scan and consultation leh. So only pay for supplements/ vitamins leh....

I just gave birth in Feb and the delivery in $1050 inclusive of GST. So i don't think it's an increase leh it has been that price

He is a great doctor who has a group of great nurses. No worries you be in good hands

hi etelle,

Dr Ho's clnic in Mt A? I am considering to see him too if my #2 comes along.

Anyone can share the charges for c-sect with Dr Ho?

Hi Etelle

Thanks for your information.

So u meant that the scan, including the printout, is included in the package already?

Can i know the cost of staying in a one-bedded, normal delivery with epidural?

Hi Etelle,

Can share his opening hours? Average waiting time?
I am trying to find a gd gynae that's opened on Sat/one of the wkday evenings.

Hi , saw all your comments about Dr. Ho. I recently had a miscarriage(5mths 1 week) and could not locate my gynae as his clinic was closed. is it normal that we just rush to hospital each time there's tummy pain ? pretty upset and my gynae was referred by my hubby sis-in-law. just wondering if it's difficult to reach dr. ho during NON operating hours of his clinic ? I was rushed to mt A but everything was too late. Still upset and wondering if I should go back to same gynae or change to another... my hubby wanted me to go back to the gynae as he have my history... maybe some of you can tell me your opinion. By the way I paid 250 average per visit to my gynae from 5th - 15th week. almost once a week I went back for a jab to keep the baby. when i sign on the package 1200 , they collected 600 but subsequently everything month I only go back once. Is this normal or have i overpaid ? I thought my gynae was good but a bit shaken after my miscarriage.

Hi irene
yeah the scan including print out is in the package. I had mine normal with epidural one bedded is 290 per day and epidural is 300 paid to the anesthetost and Dr Ho's dleivery fee for mine (feb 06) was 1k + 50 gst.

Quek
maybe you would like to call the clinic 63538833 to find out.He opens on saturday but weekdays only until 430pm or 5pm.

Bells
for Dr Ho's clinic if you cannot contact after operating hours. I only know if we are about to deliver then anything we can call Mt A then they will call Dr Ho on my behalf. So maybe you can call the clinic and ask too about this infor. Like in case of emergency how to contact Dr Ho.
Package price is usually once a month but as it gets nearer to delivery date it would be more frequent. As you have to jab also...maybe the price is higher...

etelle,
thanks for the info. is Dr. Ho pro natural birth or c-section? I am really scared now.. better do my homework now on gynae before I rush into a recommended on last round... sigh. Any of you have gynaes who can handle emergency well ?

bellbell,
My hubby's colleague had to contact Dr Ho after his clinic's operating hrs, so she called his emergency number and left a message. He got back to her soon after. ALternatively, if u really have any emergency, you can jus go to Mt A emergency dept and they'll get Dr Ho for u.