Dr Caroline Khi from TMC

TG
Dr Khi have 3 kids oredi

agree with Mrs Chew on cost savings.
when i see her on a saturday w/o appt coz i had a fall. she din charge me sat consultation rate when she see how distress i was.

and when i went to see her for after delivery due to my bad water retention. she din charge me ultra sound as she was concern whether my womb hv shrunk back anot

CAN someone advice whether dr khi also treat infertility after checkup. eg if i need to go IUI or IVF will she be the person or i have to go to another specialist?

hi gals. i just met up Dr Khi and she is quite patient with me. i explain to her abt my husband situation of pre mature ejaculation and telling her tat im trying for a baby and ask for her ideas and she mention to me that IVI, IUI and IVF. and she say IVI i can do anytime after describing the process.

when i share with my fren, my fren look quite surprise asking me why Dr Khi so fast or seemt o hurry me into IVI instead of asking me to try to conceive naturally.

she say most gyane would want couple to try to conceive naturally for a yr if cant then seek assisted conception. but she find that my gynae not that good and seem to her that she is like trying to ask me to spend alot of $.

i dont know.. do anybody has any experience or feedback.
personally i feel she is very gentle and patient and offer me a few options to go abt conceiving cos i did share with her i intend to start family plannig end of this year and i will try wit my hubby next few months again.

hi wish-to-be-mum,

dr khi is my gynae.. initially i look for her for prenatal checkup and later i am able to conceive naturally. personnally i dun find her trying to ask me to spend a lot of $$. in fact, sometimes she provides me with ideas of how to save money.. if you have any doubts, why not you check with her. i'm sure she will be glad to give you more information.

hi clara.

are u still using dr Khi as your gynae when u conceive? i find that she is quite good and esp when she listen to me attentively while jotting down the notes and at the same time maintain eye contact with me.

personally i feel im ok with her. but i guess some other people will give me those negative feedback abt her that make me quite unsure..

eg. i told my fren that dr khi did ask me whether i want to purchase the ovulation kit and then check my ovulation and at the same time dr khi did ask my hubby wanna to do a sperm test. my fren was quite surprise and she say that most of the time usually only the gal will do all the test and if subsequently still cant concieve then will send the hubby in to check. she sounded quite surprise that my gynae actually ask my hubby to do sperm test without even knowing whether i have prob concieving..

well i also quite confuse at that time so i did what dr khi suggested. i did blood test and my hubby also test his blood test but my hubby not comfortable to do sperm test then..

hi wish-to-be-mum,

yes. dr khi is my gynae and she delivered my gal 2 months ago...

i guess it is normal for guys not comfortable to do sperm test.. but in order to find out the real source of problem, i think the test is inevitable...

good luck! hope to hear your good news real soon!

Just found out that I am preggie few days ago, decided to make an appt to see Dr Khi next Mon for my 1st appt...Frm all the above reviews, really glad that I have made a rite choice =)..

Anyone can briefly advice me, what is normally done duirng the 1st visit to see her? Tks.

Just to caution some of the ' recommended' gynae r smart and surf the forum as wel. Take 'raving' comments wif a pinch of salt. If more than 1 bad experience from verified identities in SMH community who r active in meetups and outings, there may b ome true in what they write. No hard feelings. I still don't like Khi honestly based solely on my personal experience with her and I have no reasons to since I am not her competitor or whatsoever. hmmmmmm........

you cannot please everyone all the time. My friend has a gynae who is pro natural, no inducing birth, no C section unless overdue etc...maybe this suits some people who are worried about the gynae "rushing" people to deliver to their convenience...some unscrupulous gynae will do that so that they can go on holiday!! but i found Dr Khi to be very open, if u are scared of pain, she will recommend epidural, but she doesnt impose that on u. if u want to choose to deliver on a certain date, she don mind inducing for u, but she will check whether ur baby is already engaged and the cervix is ripe for inducing. My overall experience with her has been very very pleasant.
She was patient to listen to all my worries and even when i broke down with post natal blues, i cried in front of her and she consoled me. I could see she was almost tearing too. despite her own pregnancy she worked so hard and stayed long to listen to me patiently. she came to work after 2 weeks of her own delivery. I am sure her own body is also going thorugh hormonal imbalance and she might be exhausted from the nightfeeds and milk pumping and post natal blues...but she was in the hospital before me at midnight when i check in for delivery. Always coming to check on how i was doing and she stayed in the hospital from 12midnight to 6am because i deliver at 5 am. What i wanted from a doctor, i found in her....someone who is empathetic, willing to listen to the patients' requests. My friend's gynae also tried to impose on her not to take epidural because she is so pro natural. So to each its own...depend on what kind of treatment u want. So if u r a pro natural u may find that Dr Khi is quite "laxed" when it comes to using medical intervention.

Oh not to mention i was having bad constipation and vomitting...she was quite ok with giving me medicine to over those just in case i really cannot tahan... whereas my other friend's gynae said no. if i was denied all the medication, i think i really will go into depression. but my vomitting was really bad, thorughout my pregnancy.

so pls choose a gyane according to what kind of treatment u want to have.

Anyway, I am new but just have to spill the beans here to share my own experience with Dr Khi. At that time she was in KKH ( my 1st kid). No good, kept pushing the package to me and face turn bad when My husband said will consider. At that time, I was not sure to take govt or private. In the end the bad aftermath of Dr Caroline Khi 'c consultation, my hubby decided we should go with another private gynae.

Overall, my one and only experience with her was terrible. Khi did not bother about my pregnancy and to me that is importatnt since I am a first-time mum back then and spotting. She seems very concern over choosing her package.......kind og mercenary I guess the feel I had back then.

Again, I am not sure if she has changed since going into private practice but still I have quite a number of friends who went with the initial 1st consultation comment she is overated else fake.....again this is purely hearsay from others.

Like pepper said, you cannot please everyone since everyone is different but for me, my focus was on spotting problems and not on signing her package back then and I found her to be very pushy.

I do not overturn the fact that people do change over time and maybe she now knows mums-to-be like sensitive doctor and change? Hard to say.

My gynae is Dr Khi. I've seen her twice and my experience with her has been more than perfect. I was with another gynae before I decided to switch to her. Heard many positive comments from friends about her.

She is not money-minded and not pushy like what has been said. I enquired about the package on my second visit. She gave me a discount cos I only started my package in 4th mth. If you start in 3rd mth, it will be $598. Start in 5th mth, it will be $498. By right, I should be paying S598 unless I start the following mth, but she only charged me $548 without me having to ask at all.

She recommends only the necessary products but when I said no, she is okay about it. A very friendly, cheerful and patient lady.

Hi. My baby was just delivered by Dr Khi in Sept 07. Our experience with her has been excellent throughout

Like what honeybunn said, she is a gracious, friendly and patient lady. We felt very comfortable with her from the start. I like that she always take time to talk to you during the consultations and not rush through. Once, we did not have any questions to ask her so she took the initiative to run through with us a list of baby stuff that we need to get. Even gave us her personal recommendations on some of the products as she has 3 kids herself. I thot that was a very personal touch

Didn't find Dr Khi money minded at all. She didn't charge me for an unscheduled appointment even though it is not in the package. In fact, Dr Khi was trying to help us save money when I had to be induced. She allowed me to stay in her clinic practically the whole day while waiting for my contractions rather than be admitted and be charged an additional day in the labour ward.

Most importantly, the delivery was very smooth. I have a small tear during delivery and even the nurses commented that Dr Khi's stitches were beautifully done.

My personal thots is that it has been a long time since she was in KKH and we should judge her only by her 'actions' at present and not what she had said or done years ago. MTBs should visit her and decided for themselves

I will definitely have my second child with Dr Khi.

can i check the package $ 598 ,does it include vitamins?

Hows the hospt bill like? how much cash have to pay in the end?

wonder if Dr Khi delivers only in TMC??
or can request her to other hospital like MtA, will there be any additional changes

Freedom, it only includes scans and consultation.
Not inclusive of vitamiins etc.

I went thru caesarean. After minus off medisave, i gotta pay almost 4k in cash. But i had some complications... Maybe tats y gotta forked out quite a lot of cash.

Anyway, if u wanna ask any questions with rgd to delivery fees etc, can just email her straight.
[email protected] HTHs

Hi Freedom,

I have checked with the clinic, package $598 starts from week 20, it only include consultation + ultrasound (not sure with print out anot) + urine test.

She will give the print out if u inform b4 the scan. She explain that they usually only give in the beginin, when the baby still can b "sqeeze" in a print. When bb bcomes bigger, can only scan part of the bb at a time, so no point in givin. =)so in the later stages, if u ask for it, will also only hv the head or wherever part of hte body u request lor.

Hello mummies and mum-to-be
please visit this blog on "Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in Singapore" to give your comments on all registered gynaes.

We hope this blog would be useful to all preggy moms who are hunting for the right gynae for their pregnancy, and also to all other women seeking treatment and advise on fertility and women-related issues.

Thanks in advance for your help!!
http://sggynae.blogspot.com/

Anyone got recent experience with Dr Khi? Would you mind sharing your views and comments & the package details such as costs & what is included.

Thanks lots!

Just wondering if anyone has got updated comments on Dr Khi?

Such as details of her antenatal package price, what is included etc? And her delivery fees?

hi jul_04,

i just delivered by Dr Khi in oct-c-section. She was very good at her stitching (commented by my massage lady). She was very assuring before the surgery.

the antenatal package that i took up on the 3rd month was i think $698 (didn't have the receipt with me, returned to TMC for medisave claiming). The doctor charges was $1125 (medisave)+$1229 (non-medisave). I stayed an extra day (4days) to accompany my baby who was on treatment for jaundice.

U can PM me if u wanna ask me anything cos' i may not come in to this thread.

hello honeycolver.

so the antenatal package will only start when im 12 weeks onwards? and for the pacakge what the # of consultations/visit or is it unlimited all the way to delviery? and the package what does it include? like scan, blood test or anything?

so the total delivery is another separate charges of $2354?

please advice.

the package only starts from week 20 onwards and unlimited in terms of consultation.
it includes ultrascan + urine test
medication will be separate charge

she is professional, dont feel she pro which side but depends on each indiv

thanks! sghlynn. when u mean unlimited consultation meaning if within a month im not feelign well, i can just pop in to visit her without paying additional charges?

wish-to-be-mum,

i just delivered thru dr. khi on 15th Jan.

the package starts from 12th week onwards and i paid $698. includes scanning, urine test and consultation at every scheduled visits. those unscheduled visits (e.g. if u are sick and see her), u will need to pay extra, on ad-hoc basis. the $698 does not include any medication/supplements.

as what sghlynn says, she is neither pro which side, be it c-sec or natural, but she will comply to your needs & preferences, e.g. if u wanna c-sec,she will comply. if u want natural, she will also comply. depend on what u want, she will try to accomodate.

Hi wish-to-be-mum,

sorry, have not replied your answer as i dun come to this thread.

my antenatal package also starts at week 12..it's inclucive of the scans and urine test. Blood test is charged separately.

I think dr khi's is more pro natural. but for my case it was because of emergency, she has to do a c-section.

Yes, the delivery charges are not inclusive. Once delivered, there will a separate follow-up consultation, no more package.

funne: yea she's only at tmc now..

does anyone knw if she's under FBI? her nurses say no, but parentcraft says yes..

i just need to check- can dr khi deliver at mt a?
i saw a reply earlier she delivers at all private hospital but when i call her clinic- her nurse said no... strangely...

can only advise on this?

I also visited her. Although she's a nice lady but professionally, I felt that the advises she gave not that comprehensive cos she did not request my hubby to do some necessary checkups before putting me to clomid which I thought should be the 2nd last resort.

Hi , anyone take Hospital lization leave from dr. Khi?
My due date is around augest 2012. but I have to do OT a lot everyday, cannot make it...is there any possible to get HL from June?

Yoiko, i requested for 2 weeks' HL from Dr Khi b4 and she was all right to give. But if u're asking for a few months, gotta check with her.