Divorce Lawyers

graciie21

Im filing for divorce very soon.

Initally my DOS was done at LegalAid, but Im intending to get a private lawyer to handle my case.

He left us when my son was barely 6weeks old and 6months into the marriage. It happened when I notice someone was inside our room and he refuse to let me go in. I wasnt 100% cause I couldnt see it with my own eyes. But later on, i had photos of him w girls overseas and he travel to vietnam very often and hp bills are all very high.

I have a court order for maintainence for the son.

In the divorce I will be asking for:
1. Sole Custody, control and care
2. Change the child surname to follow mine
3. Maintainence for the son
4. Deny visitation right/access to the child (in this 2yrs+, he seen the child less than 5times and do not even ask about him. simply pay money tts all) Reason doing so? I felt that he have never been part of the child's life, and given a chance shouldnt the child be given a fresh start and why must he come into his life and paint his life with a shadow that daddy do not want him.

I know Singapore law usually give the custody to the mum, especially if the child have never been living with the dad. FYI, even his side of the family, no one bother to ask about the child despite we all living in the same estate.

But my concern are very much about denying his rights to the child. Being a mum I wan to be v protective of my only son. A young mummy at 21, just completed her confinement and have to deal with the husband infidelity and caring for the 6weeks old child and pulling herself up and find a job so she can provide better for the child?

Seriously. He do not deserve it. Although i dont hate him, i forgive him for everything. Everything im doing is in the best interest of the child.

Considering we are young. Im now 24 and his 25. He & I might remarry next time. If i remarry, I know im not entitled to maintainence for the child anymore if I were to change the surname.

On top of that. If he remarry and start afresh. Im sure he do not want his past to come back n haunt him everytime and disturb his family either.

Everyone deserved a 2nd chance to start afresh.
Im very positive about the future that's why I think ahead.

Please let me know hwo your feel about my points, and if any mummy faces similar background with me and have met lawyers who are confident of this case.

hi katelyn .

me too is in a mid of divoice.
but i not too sure weather u can get deny access anot.
cos no matter what he is still their father.
my case same in child part same as ur. he hardy see kids. and dun even bother. but our marriage is long like 6 years. he leave us 2-3 years ago

if the guy never fight for ur kid. high change u will get sole custody .
care and control mostly is mummy will get it .
but if he fight mostly likly will be joint custody . but u must have a very strong reason la.

cos judge is fair to both side.
if u wan maintance fee for kid .
it also hard to block him seeing ur son.
cos he pay maintance ( i mean if he pays )

i also have the feeling that since my ex leave us y dun just leave us completely . and dun enter my sons picture. cos my 2nd wan is 2 years old( i can say he dun even know he had a father .

maintance from my ex ( no promiss hard to tell as he last time is a deep gamble ) but i rather he leave us and dun enter into me and my 2 kid picture,.

cos i believe he now out side already had GF

Hi ..I am sorry to hear of your plight. I am personally supportive of you getting a private lawyer as I heard from my divorcing friends that they were constantly asked to settle settle settle. At least private lawyers get paid, even if they settle for you they will try to get the best for you.

To XOXO_loves,

Unless there are very serious unreasonable behaviours like torture, serious family violence or adultery. Else the chances will be very low.

Need help urgently to find a lawyer to do my divorce. Basically my husband went to his lawyers today n filed divorce based on unreasonable behavior he wan divorce. But now he wanna fight for custody of baby 11mths old.

Hi Jenny,

I am a good father, I rush home everyday to look after my children when my ex-wife goes out every night until wee hours. She also committed adultery and we divorced based on that. Even with that, my lawyer said the possibility of my having the care and control of my children are nearly impossible because the court will think that children below the age of 10 should normally go to the mother unless the mother abuse or give up the children.

So, do you think you should even worry?

What unreasonable behaviour is he filing?

hi, james
is it confirm below 7 or 10 child custody go mother on their care and control. I`m so worry that i will not able to had my child custody.

my dad is a lawyer but im not sure of fees. if anyone is keen can PM me for contact.

Custody may be won, if the mother is financially very weak as well. In this case the mother may use child maintenance for her maintenance, so custody can be obtained by father. If mother is alcoholic, or drug-addict, of course father can win.

I am married to a passive aggressive man for 19yrs but only realised such term back then in 2008. My divorce has been on going for the last 11/2yrs because my husband drags the case. I wanted to ask those who has lawyer friends as sometimes I find lawyer does not try his best because divorce seems to be the norm now and afterall it's 'family affairs'. I can't pay well and my case was a complicated one. If there is any lawyer that is reading this , please give me some light. My husband revoked his 2nd Affidavit as he claimed the expenses he submitted was a wrong one. This expenses consists of 3 bank accounts and all expenses were of another family with at least 3 kids, purchase of private properties, etc. He is contesting our 5rm matrimonial home stating he needs to sell it because he needed the CPF to buy another house. Our divorce is based on unreasonable behaviours. His resubmitted Affidavit supposely to be the 'expenses' again is again under the same bank accounts except that the new one only reflect a recent one month statement instead of a period from 2005 to 2012. My lawyer said it could be his lawyer's mistake of attaching another client's expenses. To me, I was wondering, first time, mistake acceptable but 2nd time, won't the court be questionable? My lawyer still doesn't show me the confident that I can win my case. I asked for the 5rm as I do not have a place to house my son now 14yrs. The dad doesn't bother where he is going to live. He wanted joint custody but not the care and control. My son also does not want to live with him. The worse scenario is because we were business partners before our child came. I have drained off our savings because we put this savings into his CPF to pay our mortgage loan for the flat. On papers, the house is financed by him with partial cash from both of us. It accumulated to $145K excl interest. I have stayed home to look after our son, home schooled him till PSLE. Gave up my I.T biz so it is impossible for me to return to I.T Trade and being in the technology industry, I am not an administrative person either so to look for executive jobs at the age of 50 is impossible unless I find an angel employer. To return to biz, I need time and I am financially drained because of my 11/2yrs divorce proceeds. Initially, because of my PPO, we have a court counsel who made him pay his share of the flat and expenses because he refused to move out. This yr, he refused to pay again and I went to demand for maintenance. Is it true that our Singapore Family Court will demand sale of the flat because it is a 5rm irregardless of whether I being the child care and control has no means to rent or buy another HDB. I have no stable income at the moment for bank to give me a loan. HDB already said they can't loan me as we enjoyed 2x concessionary rates. A 3rm flat is so expensive now.For the sake of my teen's emotional recovery , I am willing to forego all maintenance if court can retain the flat for my child. His father is bent on selling even though he is financially capable of buying another flat or to stay with his widowed mother living in a 4rm flat. He to get even with me at the expense of the child's needs and welfare. Anyone can let me know about revoking Affidavit and making same mistakes twice. I heard lawyer will never admit their mistakes because it is true, the defendant needs to read carefully before signing on the dotted line. If the expenses is not his but the mistakes of his lawyer, what is the outcome?

Hello Joanne,

I am moved when I read this is the 19-years marriage that is breaking. I am not a lawyer, but can say few words about your case.

1. Due to your long years of marriage, you are entitled for a share of his CPF money.

2. You are eligible for a good sum of maintenance for yourself

3. You can get about 400-700 dollars of maintenance for your grown up son. I am paying for my 2 years old son, 500.

4. Since your son is going to be with you, you can get the flat transferred to your name. You may have to pay a minority share of the flat's current valuation price to him.

5. Let him amend his affidavit. However his new list of expenses can be scrutinized well by your lawyer.

6. You said you paid money to his CPF to finance the flat. This is unbelievable, as why you have to pay to his CPF to finance it. You should have proof for these payments.

Since you had stopped working, your indirect contribution to the family is very high, and as such your higher share of matrimonial flat, and your maintenance is guaranteed.

Hello Joanne,

I am moved when I read this is the 19-years marriage that is breaking. I am not a lawyer, but can say few words about your case.

1. Due to your long years of marriage, you are entitled for a share of his CPF money.

2. You are eligible for a good sum of maintenance for yourself

3. You can get about 400-700 dollars of maintenance for your grown up son. I am paying for my 2 years old son, 500.

4. Since your son is going to be with you, you can get the flat transferred to your name. You may have to pay a minority share of the flat's current valuation price to him.

5. Let him amend his affidavit. However his new list of expenses can be scrutinized well by your lawyer.

6. You said you paid money to his CPF to finance the flat. This is unbelievable, as why you have to pay to his CPF to finance it. You should have proof for these payments.

Since you had stopped working, your indirect contribution to the family is very high, and as such your higher share of matrimonial flat, and your maintenance is guaranteed.

Only 400-700 maintenace for a teenage kid? That sounds very very low. If kid is staying with you, reasonable to ask for some housing installment & car expenses as well?

What do you think is the fair amount?

You have to remember, a child is the responsibilities of both parents, not only one parent. In this world where both parents are working, you cannot expect only the guy pays for child maintenance.

For housing instalment and car expenses, frankly speaking, that is your own expenses. You cannot expect your ex-husband to be paying for you. It's covered in YOUR alimony.

just an advice for those couples who want to file for divorce but are married below 3 years. even prostitution will not be taken as reason and lawyers will have to fight for your case. so unless your husband is agreeable to the divorce (even so the decision is left to the court), if not the chance of divoring within 3 years of marriage is small..

Can I check if I am working but all along my hb had been maintaining ALL the expenses including giving me a monthly allowance, will I still be able to maintain the current lifestyle or am I now expected to contribute to the maintenance of the children as well? He had agreed to commitment of adultery and will not contest with me on the alimony.

Im filing for divorce very soon.

Initally my DOS was done at LegalAid, but Im intending to get a private lawyer to handle my case.

He left us when my son was barely 6weeks old and 6months into the marriage. It happened when I notice someone was inside our room and he refuse to let me go in. I wasnt 100% cause I couldnt see it with my own eyes. But later on, i had photos of him w girls overseas and he travel to vietnam very often and hp bills are all very high.

I have a court order for maintainence for the son.

In the divorce I will be asking for:
1. Sole Custody, control and care
2. Change the child surname to follow mine
3. Maintainence for the son
4. Deny visitation right/access to the child (in this 2yrs+, he seen the child less than 5times and do not even ask about him. simply pay money tts all) Reason doing so? I felt that he have never been part of the child's life, and given a chance shouldnt the child be given a fresh start and why must he come into his life and paint his life with a shadow that daddy do not want him.

I know Singapore law usually give the custody to the mum, especially if the child have never been living with the dad. FYI, even his side of the family, no one bother to ask about the child despite we all living in the same estate.

But my concern are very much about denying his rights to the child. Being a mum I wan to be v protective of my only son. A young mummy at 21, just completed her confinement and have to deal with the husband infidelity and caring for the 6weeks old child and pulling herself up and find a job so she can provide better for the child?

Seriously. He do not deserve it. Although i dont hate him, i forgive him for everything. Everything im doing is in the best interest of the child.

Considering we are young. Im now 24 and his 25. He & I might remarry next time. If i remarry, I know im not entitled to maintainence for the child anymore if I were to change the surname.

On top of that. If he remarry and start afresh. Im sure he do not want his past to come back n haunt him everytime and disturb his family either.

Everyone deserved a 2nd chance to start afresh.
Im very positive about the future that's why I think ahead.

Please let me know hwo your feel about my points, and if any mummy faces similar background with me and have met lawyers who are confident of this case.
Hi graciie21.. i have some questions to check w u.. can pls pm me?

Any one has lawyer to intro. My current lawyer doesn't seem to be answering my calls and replying to my emails. Its a Urgent case as im suppose to get married in June which is next month. Good and fast lawyers would be my answer. My case has been dragging for a long time as I was in and out of jobs mostly contractual jobs which doesn't pay well and I have to help out in my family expenses and dad's medical fees. I've since paid everything in full but the lawyer just cant be bothered to even attend to me. Im really desperate now.