Cup cakes for birthday

thanks.. i'm gonna try some baking this weekend holiday.. hopefully.

Can anyone enlightened me if i silpat mate and silicon non stick mat the same :p
Can i use the silicon non stick mat for making macaroon...

Juz finished fatmum's recipe of the mango mousse cake... ONE mango can do wonders... pardon the poor HP camera's colour... the colour is much more orangey-brighter!

frosting of the cake is difficult as mango puree has got fibres...and bits and pieces... can see in the pic...

the jelly part, I halved fatmum's recipe and my pan was not 'tall' enough... so I gotto build skyscraper for my pan... "surround system"... hahahaha... it works!

2333922.jpg
2333923.jpg

2333924.jpg
2333925.jpg

2333926.jpg
2333927.jpg

2333928.jpg
2333929.jpg

Eliz,
I wanna faint now ... I always wanted to buy from this website but convinced myself it is too troublesome so that i wun have to spend $$.
Die ... now have to resist from the temptation

Bluey
Its a HK siao paradise hor!! The other characters are so cute too!! hahaha..
I'm buying ALOT myself.. tsk tsk.. Doubt i'll make $ from this spree. hahahaa..

Hi, want to check. Have anyone tried making Silk Meringue Buttercream before? I made a batch today and seems pretty soft.. Don't know if can make it for piping.

Eh.. CakeDIY.. haha.. i also always wanted to get something from there.. hehe.. nvm i'm going HK in July.. Will go there and buy..

Cat,
great job there!

I baked another 2 mango mousse cake. Simply used the same receipe and split the batter and make 1 big 1 small.
The bigger one is for my eldest sister. Her birthday is tml. She jst post to take pic and yet to cut the cake hee.... Hope she likes it.

2341429.jpg

a gift for friendS:
2342621.jpg

2342622.jpg

2342623.jpg

My fav dish
2342624.jpg

my dd bday cakes, she insisted to hv both agar agar and icecream cake:
2342625.jpg

2342626.jpg

a very simple bday celebration:
2342627.jpg

my fav warm chocolate cake with chocolate sauce:
2342628.jpg

2342629.jpg

2342630.jpg

u can get the skirt mould at KL bakery mart, i went there early march, more pic at fb, here too troublesome, need to resize the pic etc, so post one only :p
2342631.jpg

hi lil cupcake, i've replied your e-mail, hope u understand my MMF method

hi, jus finished my cupcakes.. chocolate fudge cupcakes. very chocolate-ty..
2342904.jpg

2342905.jpg

but as the above, my cupcake sink slantedly..
y izit so?
can somebody help me pls..

TIA>

Hi All Baking Mommies

I am new to baking as persuaded my hubby to get an oven when we shifted into our new place last year.

I tried baking cupcakes over the last weekend. I need advice why the cakes sink in the middle after being take out from oven.

Initially, I cream the butter and castor sugar first. Thereafter I add in the mashed bananas, followed by flour (with baking soda and baking powder) and lastly the sour milk (fresh milk mixed with lemon juice).

When I add in the mashed bananas and the rest, should I be using the mixer or should I just manually mix myself? Does it make a difference?

Mum said I mix the flour too long, is it true?

My 2nd attempt turn out that the cupcakes are abit oily, probably too much butter. But both attempts, the cakes sink in the middle

ixo,
u oso like petai? hahaha! not many ppl like it wor...
i always cook it with sambal and seafood as i loves seafood !
see one day... we meet up and hv petai eating competition? hahahaha!
i always try to control my carbo intake, but for petai, no control liao.... can eat 3 bowls of rice! :p

winniebear & ktkt,
u both new comer in tis thread? welcome on board.
cupcakes sink... hv many reason, if you dun mind, perhaps can post the recipe here? baking time, temperature etc play apart as well. if you hv pic, after and before baking, will be v helpful oso. tho i'm not pro in baking, juz an amateur, perhaps i can help to see what happen

ktkt,
from the pic, i feel like your cupcakes surface not dry enuf, have u eat it? is it too moist and bit wet in the middle? maybe baking time not enuf? i'm guessing only, i need to see the recipe and judge frm the ingredients...
juz my two cents worth comment

winniebear,
to me, hand mix would be better.
actually u can use mixer to mix it, but u muz know how to control the speed etc....

today i'm meeting my ex-coll to hv lunch. she is v crazy abt HK and chocolate, so i made triple chocolate cake with a simple kitty deco for her.
claudia, i know u r read only member here, happy belated bday
c u later
2344097.jpg

lee tai : i got my recipe from wilton.com

there's alot there. can try. but as u can c, my first attempt not very successful..

n2inpink : this is the recipe i took from wilton. lee tai, u can see from here.

Ingredients:

* 2 cups all-purpose flour unsifted
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 3/4 cup butter or margarine room temperature
* 2 cups sugar
* 3 eggs
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* 1 1/2 cups milk
* 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate melted

Makes: About 24 standard cupcakes. Each cupcake serves 1.

instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Combine flour, baking powder, soda and salt. In large bowl, cream butter and sugar with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and vanilla; beat thoroughly. Add flour mixture to creamed mixture alternately with milk, beating well after each addition. Add melted chocolate and beat thoroughly. Pour into prepared pan. Bake 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan on rack; remove and cool completely before decorating.

but there is one thing. i agar agar the butter because it is not at room temperature when i bake the cake. and i add more chocolate, i forgot how much.
baked the mini cupcake at 180 degree for 10 minutes.

i tried the cake, it is dry inside, just the top is moist. but i baked one tray on lower middle rack and one on the upper middle rack. the upper middle one looks dryer, but still a little moist.

hope u can help me with it.. Thanks

Hi n2inpink

recipe of lemon cupcakes which I got from one of SMH mommies many months ago:-

1 cup self-raising Flour
1 tsp baking powder
125g butter
0.5 cup castor sugar
2 eggs
1 tbsp lemon juice

- Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius
- Put in all the ingredients into the cake mixer and mix at medium speed for about 2-3 mins until light and fluffy.
- Spoon mixture evenly into prepared paper cases.
- Baked in preheated oven for 15-18 minutes until light golden and a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
- Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

However I didn't mix all the ingredients together.
I cream the butter and sugar first. Thereafter add in the eggs one by one. Lastly the self raising flour together with the baking powder (already sifted) and the lemon juice.
I put the tray on the middle rack.
I took out the cupcakes after about 20 mins and when it cool, the centre sink which makes me disappointed. Overall the taste is good just that don't understand why it sink.

Btw, what is the estimate for 1 cup?

pink,

can give the address of that KL bakery mart? I may be going there in june. the bakery mart seems to have alot of barang. thanks ah!

pink, u are most welcome!!! Ya..pls give the address to maruolin, then i can tongbang her to
buy the agar agar skirt tin too..keke....

maruolin, u hear that...so dun forget me huh..hehe..

Any Mummies here have simple cookies recipe that can share?Tried to make but turn out not very nice wor, even my boy refuse to eat.lol
Please help~~~~

Eron,

sure I won't forget you. but pink has not given me the addy. we got to wait patiently. anyway, june is 2 months down the road, so not so hurry yet.

hello all,
no wonder i keep sneezing... got paging lar..keke!
maruolin, eron & mdl, thks for bring it up here, if not, i might be too busy (read: lazy) to reply one by one e-mail.
believe it or not, i got more than 15 enquiries abt KL bakery mart, via sms or e-mail.

here is the KL Bakerymart info:
the bakery mart name is: Bake with Yen.
the one i visited is at Lorong Haji Taib Satu.
attached photos taken at that shop.

they have 2 sizes. mine is the big size, it's MYR23.00

http://www.bakewithyen.com/contact.html

Bake With Yen (KL) Sdn Bhd
No. 30 & 32, Persiaran Puteri Satu
Bandar Puteri, 47100 Puchong,
Selangor Darul Ehsan
(Opposite GIANT Hypermarket, Bandar Puteri)
Tel: 03 - 8060 1828
Fax: 03 - 8061 0828

Outlets:

Petaling Jaya
6, Jalan SS 24 / 13
47301 Petaling Jaya
Tel: 03 – 7804 9361

Chow Kit - Jalan Raja Laut
29 & 33, Lorong Haji Taib Satu
50350 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03 - 2692 7623
Fax: 03 - 2694 5668

Taman Tun Dr Ismail
TS123 - TS125, Pasar Besar TTDI
60000 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03 - 7727 6073

tis is how the mould looks like:
2354488.jpg

2354489.jpg

ktkt,
u sure the recipe call 2cups of sugar? icing sugar or fine/castor sugar?
if castor/fine sugar, 2cups = 500gr leh...
to me, bit too much :p

your recipe methods sounds ok, if the cupcakes sink only 10%, then shd be ok.
are those cupcakes slanted in same direction? or diff? seems like your oven temperature not really even. did u open the oven door many times before you take out the cupcakes? that can cause oven temperature change drasticly.
for a very chocolat-ey cupcakes, baking time shd be 12-15 mnts, depend on the size of the cupcake.

winniebear,
too bad u didn't take the cupcakes photo, so now only can judge by using the recipe

what is the size of your cupcakes? 4cm or 6cm diameter? size really matter for baking time.
if u using those texas muffin tray, then 20mnts is not enuf.
perhaps try one more time, using same method again, but pay attention to the baking time or oven temperature.
usually, cake will sink too much if it's not well bake.
beside bake this cupcakes, have u done other cake? is the temperature u are using same with the recipe stated? how abt the result? good?
if i remember correctly, your oven is the new one right? perhaps you still need to familiar your self with it. slowly, you will know how your oven "behave".
hope the above info helps

takecare!

xiau ling,
yum yum..... lu skarang mana boleh makan petai... hehehehe!

lil cupcakes,
i've re-sent e-mail to you liao... pls check your spam folder as well? sms me if you have doubt.

maruolin,
u most welcome....
other mommies hv to thank u instead.... hahaha!
without your request, i might not be as fast as juz now :p
takecare & selamat hari jadi !

pink, thanks! just wondering... do they selling baking chocolate as well?

<font color="ff0000">angel</font>, the baking chocolate that i bot from you the other time, is it from Yen as well? ... if they sell baking choco as well, it's really SEDAP!!

too busy these few days to post anything... my mango mousse cake after setting turns out well except the cake i find it too hard/coarse... think i over mix *sigh*... the inside:

2355778.jpg

Baked Swiss Roll today, 11x14, so divide it into two halves... made mango mousse (again) and chcolate ganache roll... the cake is SO SOFT and SEDAP!!
THANKS EILEEN!!

2355790.jpg
2355791.jpg

2355792.jpg
2355793.jpg

pink,

thanks for analysing it for me..
i oso feel that the sugar is too much, a bit too sweet. and my oven is not the very good kind so maybe the heat is not evenly distributed. will try again another time and c how izit..

anyway, wad oven r u using?

cat, u most welcome.
yes BWY sell everything! the store i visited (Lorong Haji Taib Satu) , 5 or 6 times sunlik.
baking chocolate would be in this section:
2356227.jpg

hi ktkt,
i'm using build-in-oven, ariston, can put in ard 60pcs cupcakes with 6cm diameter

you haven't see my shifu oven.... will faint!
her oven is 8 times mine... hahaha! it's commercial oven liao... like those use in bakery.
ah yes, u can visit her blogspot, plenty recipe available. don't get hooked okie? haha!
www.auntyyochana.blogspot.com
enjoy!

Hi Kendy,
How are you? I have rum &amp; raisins to clear but too busy to bake. Can you share your R&amp;R ice-cream recipe? Thanks a million.