Cup cakes for birthday

just completed some oatmeal crunch bar (KoKo Crunch and Coffee flavour; Honey Stars and Strawberry flavouur) for a party later... as 'finger' food or to nibble over a chat...

2000528.jpg
2000529.jpg

meow
nice cookies. Me just cooked Kimchi Chigae and ha ha passed my hb's choosy taste bud. So happy.

Spring cleaning report for today. Kitchen and Store room Checked.

Next on list would be study cum play room. Maybe tomorrow.

CL
Must be very tired on spring cleaning? My house recently just changed all the aircons n lightings. Then today just bought the paint n want to re-paint the whole house. So our christmas day program is painting, hehe!

Eileen
not tired. Quite happy. tempted to move on to the next room now ha ha.

Peng
Great video. Especially for me to learn. Thanks to teaching me Kimchi Chigae hee hee today passed my hb's round

hope everyone doing well.

Yew yen,
I've a contact for catering, call me or sms me if you need

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">icelim</font></font>
CONGRATS !
if u have crave for indonesian style rendang, curry (not using paste or ready-use paste, all are fresh ingredients) or anything, let me know, you can get it on sunday, 28Dec, i've party @home, i can cook for u
tho i v rare to post my dishes, my cooking is quite ok, will not make u puke :p
you can come and pick it up if u want

pls call or sms as i will not login till next year.

me drawn with year end closing :'(
many long due fruits got no chance to share.

wish everyone a blessed christmas and a very happy new year.
2002702.jpg

HAND MOLD edible figurine with MMF:
2002703.jpg

Finally made the macs after so long... luckily I heed your advise to get ulike... the ground almond really coarse... and to my surprise, my macs got feet but they are out of shape ones :p The batter is very runny... at first I tried to use the baking paper as a piping bag, then too diff... in the end, I no patience, use spoon... so all funny shape... don't laugh hor...

2004298.jpg
2004299.jpg

I baked all at the same time. The smooth surface one is on the top tray, then the ugly one at the bottom... after I removed the top one, I placed the ugly one at the top and baked for a while more... in the end, the smooth one too hard, and the ugly one just nice... so what did I do wrong? How do I make it smooth and texture just nice?
2004300.jpg
2004301.jpg

that day I also use my sec school sponge cake recipe to make earl grey cake... finally my cake not as hard as cookies liao... thanks to the cake mixer :p last time no cake mixer, I took short cut... the cake raised up nicely and soft but dry... dunno why... is it supposed to be like that for sponge cake? Then I did another stupid thing again... I used 100% unsweetened chocolate to make granche, it's just nice for the macs but very, very bitter for the cake...
2004302.jpg
2004303.jpg

I wanna make the macs again... can advise what I did wrong? Is the mac batter supposed to be runny? And also when you gals made a few diff mac favor, do you perform step 1 till end for chocolate favor and perform step 1 till end for another favor? Got short cut way? Thanks!

CL,
thks! nope i din say out la.. old liao keep low profile... is the young mummies here me not young liao..

Pink,
thks! Me not in spicy stuff. thks for ur offer.

peng,
wow, that's a nice christmas pressie! hehe, he's hinting to you to bake/make more desserts for him ah? keke...

snowbelle,
congrats in ur mac feet! i also tried to do a batch last wk, failed... some macs got tiny and it's really tiny feet, some dun hv... haiz... and worse of all, all the macs stuck to my baking sheet... hmm, i dunno if i used the right paper or not... i might hv grabbed the wrong kind of paper from my drawer...

will macs be stuck to baking sheet? else, what kind of 'paper' do you use?

plim,
my macs are easy to remove from the paper. I used Glad baking paper coz I read from this thread that it is easy to remove using that.

Now I a bit hooked on baking macs... but need to slim down leh... like that very diff...

snowbelle,
thanks for that! i just bought Glad baking paper over the wkend, so when i get the chance to bake mac again, will see if easy to remove or not...
actually, after tasting the macs i baked, i decided tasting it once is enough! too sweet, not my type, but can continue to try to bake :p

oh, by the way, how do u make choc ganache?

plim,
I also find it too sweet but when eat together with my bitter choc ganache, just nice!

I found the recipe from the net, can't remember where liao... I anyhow estimate the qty one when making it... I boiled about half cup of thickened cream then pour over my 200g choc, and keep stirring... actually not sure the end result correct or not, but can eat lah... hahaa :p

Hi Mummies, today i experiment with the drinking almond powder, the batter very runny and spread alot but still got feet coming out..

Almond macs with Lemon Curd
2006432.jpg

peng, how did the macs taste like? i super busy lately, no chance to try with my pwder again...scared failed waste my time
ya the powder dissolves easily in water, so the batter will sure be runny. think gotta reduce the whites if using this powder.

Plim, u try using the almond powder? thats the one u got for me from Taiwan the other time.
oh ya the baking paper i recommended the other time is GLAD. very good, really non-stick. but provided ur macs are baked well, otherwise will still stick.

snowbelle, the batter looks way too runny.u try not to fold the batter for too long. jus briefly mix them, cos Macs batter gets more runny as u fold. and for the tartlette recipe,actually i find them ok,not very sweet. i love them with salty caramel

Mischa's Mum...the taste of almond is very strong, like eating 'xin ren dou fu' :D hmmm dun think i will use this type of powder in future cos this one more ex then the normal ground almond leh..today just try out for fun cos my sil at my place wanting me to show her how to make macs.

MM,
actually i finished all the almond powder liao... only recently my mum passed me back a half-finished tin (but a few days after expiry liao), but smell still ok :p may use tat to experiment tml ... hehe

yalor, so sad, my 1st batch of macs stuck to the paper SO much that even after i lift them off, paper still stuck onto it! how do u know if the macs are baked well? mine felt a little chewy, is tat the right texture?

tarlette recipe is the very complicated one right? no courage to try tat!

plim, no its not complicated at all. but it has the most success rate.

see next week u hv time off or nt..can either bake at ur pl or my pl...hehehe oh btw u bake with ur microwave oven?

peng, ya agree the powder is more exp. but i hv like 2 tins untouched so tot of trying it. actually i hate the almond smell. but surprisingly the ground almond doesnt smell the same..tats why i like macs.

MM,
ya, was just going thru the posts again, i actually followed tartlette's recipe... lol, din even realise tat...
ya, these 2 wks i hv some time off and working from home some days... hehe... tml might try to bake some...
yes, i use the convection function in my microwave to bake...

Mischa's Mummy,
I think you are right... I did fold many times... coz I scared I didn't mix properly... hmmm... salty caramel sounds interesting... you use that as the filling? How to make that? If we want to make other mac favor, we can only use powder type? Those favor essence can or not?

kendy,
oh, so fold many times will crack ah? my choco ones crack lor... i was wondering if too hot or wat...

ya, i also wan to know the answer to snowbelle's qn... on the flavoring, can use those wilton coloring? else, wat other coloring can we use?

fatmum
SIS is pure icing sugar. PH brand got add in starch. For royal icing cannot use PH brand, it will melt when piping. Not sure about making macs.

Peng,
Ur videos are v useful to me. Always cant figure out how the batter looks in light n fluffy. Now i know the looksss. Thks v much. A great guide for me.

Dearie_e,
thks! Cant rest much leh... with 2 naughty gals around make me screaming at them whole day. Think the bb inside can hear me screaming n think this mummy v fierce.

Eileen,
Oh...Nrn tot that icing sugar got 2 types. Tot tat icing sufgar is powder form sugar.

icelim,
me same same like you. Didn't know there 2 types of icing sugar. Thought it pure sugar and they just grind it into powder.

Peng, next time u make Macs again. Can give me some to try a not?

report on progress on mac:
just finished baking one batch... got feet... but hor, dunno whether i under or over bake cos, the top part can see that it turn brownish already liao, and the inside, when i 'scrap' it up, seems sticky and most of it stick to the paper and silpat mat leh... is this under or over baked?
i am using microwave convection function and lowest temp i can go is 150 degrees, i bake at ard 12-13 mins... sufficient or not ah? anyone can advise?

Dearie...ok :D

plim..yesterday i bake tat batch, cos i pipe quite small so i use 160 deg for 10mins then reduce to 130 for another 10mins come out just nice..how come ur convect oven lowest is 150deg? my one can go low till 60 deg

peng,
i also dunno why leh, i press, the 1st temp given is already 150 lor... super sian, been using it for years already liao, never had the need to adjust it to anything lower than 150 so never explore my oven too :p
mayb i hv to go dig out the manual and see liao... mine's a Panasonic, wat's urs?

*DUH*
me so blur! *kok head*
i just went out to try and keep pressing and once it reaches the max temp 230, it goes back down to 100... *lol*
hehe, now i know how to use liao... keke

but hor, how do u all know if the macs are ready or not? touching the casing seems hard liao, but underneath all soft soft like that... correct or not?

icelim,
I think cannot scold too much. Later the bb inside come out become chilli padi.. When I preg. with my boy, nag &amp; nag at my gal, now my boy very short temper leh..

plim..my oven is sharp..after bake i see if is still stuck to the baking paper, if yes means the base not cook yet so i pop in n bake again :p my trial n error experiment..yesterday my batch of choc macs too crispy, overbake using 1 temp throughout but using 2 temp for the almond macs turns out good

Eileen,
Wow ....the cake looks so pro .... really tempt me to sign-up for course 2, heehee....

Wishing everyone a merry christmas and happy 2009.

Thanks for all your nice comment! Actually the cake not so pretty la, I use a lot of flowers to cover it, hehe!

Cookiepie
it is quite fun to pipe the basket but very tiring.

Wish all a Merrry Christmas!