Cup cakes for birthday

Shers,
Lovely fruit tarts you have made,
such an inspiration..
Great job!!

I guess cupcake is quite "hot" in the market.
Easier to consume, no mess and no fuss in cutting and distribution.
Best of all, you can personalised each and every cupcakes to make it unique and special in itz own way or follow a theme on the occassion.
Each will choose their personal favourite and enjoy the cupcakes. Nice and cute cupcakes are too good not to eat..

Eron,
Thank you for your compliment..
Yellow sunflower will stand out if using darker background icing (like pic)..
Try making it too ya..

Shers,
it means after mixing the milk and egg, Strain it through a sieve. hope this clarifies.
me egg tarts lover too but have just bake normal egg tarts a couple of times hve been wanting to try Portuguese Egg Tart with the crispy crust

jj
thanks for your encouragement, will try after CNY, now too busi.

Xiau Ling/Icelim
yes, that is the one that we normally plant during CNY and it really taste very nice after deep fry. I heard from my SIL that her parent in m'sia fry it fresh with some meat and veg and it taste yummy too.

sweetie_hamster, Shers
How do u gals mould the crush of the tarts?

Shers
Early monring c your tarts made me
kao_drool.gif

Cup cake is trendy in Singapore now. Already out in US

augustmum
hahaha... I use my fingers to grease the tray. So u use brush to grease the tray, dry wif tissue than apply icing sugar wif fingers? Will the icing sugar blend in tog wif the oil on the tray? Donuts not sticking to tray definitely save a lot of time on cleaning
To me choc taste better when chilled

jj
U hv a nice new hse during CNY

Do u do smth to the peak of the cup cake or juz leave it n do the deco?
If u decorate the cup cake the next day, do u keep the cup cake in the fridge?
The box u made v nice wif border somemore. Is it ready made box or u made the box yourself?

Shers

Nice fruit tarts. Do you use peach for ur fruit tarts.
This is the cupcakes recipe that I manage to find from the previous thread.

Vanilla Cupcakes

Ingredients:
2 cups sifted all purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar (I use 3/4 cup-don't like too sweet; or may reduce to 1/2 cup)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup milk
2 x eggs
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:-
In large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Using electric mixer on low speed, mix in butter, milk, eggs and vanilla; beat on high speed until smooth, about 2 minutes.
Spoon into 12 paper-lined or greased muffin cups, filling about three-quarters full. Bake in centre of 375?F (190?C) oven until cake tester inserted in centre comes out clean, about 18 minutes. Transfer to rack; let cool completely. (Make-ahead: Store in airtight container for up to 1 day or freeze for up to 2 weeks.) Variation: Chocolate Cupcakes - Reduce flour to 1 cup and baking powder to 1/2 tsp. Add 1/2 cup cocoa powder and 1 tsp baking soda to dry ingredients. Sift before adding butter and wet ingredients

Fold is a technique used when combining a light and airy ingredient into a heavier ingredient or mixture in such a way as each ingredient maintains its original volume. Start by placing one quarter of the lighter mixture on top of the heavier mixture.

I tried many times before to adjust the height of the cupcake so that it doesn't rise up too much, else put the batter slightly above half full depending on the recipe.

Something to share with you if your cupcake rise too much and you wanna create differently. Try this from Martha Stewart.
I did this sometime back. Slice the peak off and decorate it on top. I used mini M&M's for the deco. Here is my "bug and butterfly"

1177373.jpg
1177374.jpg

If leave it over night before doing frosting the next day, place the cupcakes in air tight container room temperature will do.

Ready made box bought (can get it in SKP or PH).
For the border I used paper ribbon.

nikonnet1,
My cupcakes made that day was chocolate flavour.
Oops, didn't take a shot of it when cut into half and show you the inside.
All fully consumed.
Will show you the next time ya..

I'm back !!... missed this thread so so so much...
finally can login

but hor..... totally lost liao.... can't catch up.... haven't really read thru all the posting, too much liao..

HAPPY BELATED NEW YEAR 2008
Wish you & your family good health and a prosperous New Year!!

niko, js'mum, xiau ling, hwee, hammie, angel, shook, michelle, and other mommies (sorry can't list down all, only remember those who is very "lor so"
) who smsed, e-mailed, called me juz for asking me to takecare of my self during my MAD Financial year end closing, BIG THANK YOU!
without all of your encourage word, i might open the window and jump down liao... ha ha ha!

Js'mum,
your turn to MIA???
handle 4kids, big house, 2 maids, your own biz, AND family biz is not easy, i think you wish 1 day = 72 hours ??? ha ha ha!!!
ok ok.... not bullying you lah.... help you instead okie?

i can design / create a simple and easy accounting program for you using microsoft excel. actually microsoft access is better, but affraid you not really familiar with it.
nvrm, ms excel is powerful enuf, i will use Visual Basic Application and macro to design it for you, let's discuss it when we meet.

nikonnet1,
Thanks. Close up pics of my fondant creation.
I attended Shermay's Cooking School, under chef Joycelyn Shu.

1177438.jpg

hi waty young mama,
yeah i think i spell wrongly your name, yes yes, those cuppies & lapis cake was meant to wish you selamat hari raya....
our family have a good relationship with our neighbour, so when hari raya (either haji or idil fitri), i no need to cook, they will supply us ketupat, lontong, sambal goreng, rendang etc.... hm... hungry liao...
then i made some cuppies & lapis cake for them...

hope everything fine with you, long time never see you login? muz be buzy with your lovely kid.
takecare ya? do drop us a tips, info etc on this thread...

JJ,
you are most welcome, glad you can make it...
your cuppies looks lovely...

jj, very lovely your fondant. your penguin won't topple huh? so worry for him. Hehe..
i wonder how butter cream and fondant work with your cup cake. Fondant not suppose to put in fridge whilst butter cream needs to be in fridge. So where you put your cake huh?

pink mummy, good that you are back. So many ppl has questions flying around. First msg after your MIA is suaning ppl lor so, sigh..

Keppel land marketing dept had xmas auction party, it's fund raising for charity, and my cuppies won S$150 !! they purchase from me less than S$30

1177493.jpg

i think the santa and the 3D xmas tree made the bidding price up

1177494.jpg

1177495.jpg

1177496.jpg

niko my dear,
so you feel tat you are the one lor so ?? ha ha ha!!

your princess so cute.... becareful 8 yrs later you will have lot's of phone call.. ha ha ha!!
then your house number will always in buzy tone, can't get thru at all.

hwee,
yes yes i'm back, strawberry chiffon? yes yes i wan, can keep it till next tuesday?
today me work frm home, then 2moro will be v busy, no time for lunch out... then next monday booked by niko

JJ,
thks! happy for you oso, new year in new house..
wanna join us in the CNY gathering?

Made this last nite, missed baking so much!

the below is EGG WHITE choco pandan lapis cake.
no egg yolk at all....1st attempt..
1177533.jpg

1177534.jpg

below is the lapis cake, but not indonesian style... oso 1st attempt..
taste more suitable for singaporean, cos not as wet as indonesian style.
1177535.jpg

1177536.jpg

Wahpiangz, the charity money grows together with your xmas tree ar.. Like the 3D look ler, very professional man!

wow, so creative! donut can make xmas tree look also. impressed!

Hammie, Dearie, etc, anybody wants to join lunch next monday? I think Catika also MIA long time liao.

CNY is coming !! i'm really in the CNY mood liao

can't wait for 5 Feb, balik kampong for one week.

sorry to use this thread to post the below CNY clothes, coz i wanted to offer it to our baking khaki, if no one interested, then i'll open new thread

so... any one interested ?
let me know, it's FOC, worn one time only.
1177548.jpg

worn once, this is for boy, made it for my boy coz outside can't get CNY costume for infant, tat time my boy ard 3 or 4 mths old..
interested, let me know
1177549.jpg

1177550.jpg

niko,
ha ha ha! since when? since i decided can't hire you as my photographer lor... too ex...

then i die die try my best lah...!
but hor, no matter i tried, only improved abit

nvrmd, practice makes perfect...

btw, thnks for your complement!
i'm happy for keppel land oso, 'cos it's for charity mah....

yes yes, catika, where are you?
hope everything fine with you.
let us know if u wanna join us for lunch.

pink, i wan the more recent cny clothings (meaning bigger sizes) for boi lei....cannot find anything for my boi lei... he he he....

think open new thread better....sure got many other kakis around.

Nikonnet1,
Penguin ok won't topple as I made wide legs for him (hahaha! just like "Happy Feet")
I placed my fondant only towards the end of everything, when ready to go.

I tried putting the finished fondant in fridge for a short while before and itz relatively ok!

Js'mum,
Potluck before CNY :-

Date: 20th Jan 2008, Sunday, 2-6pm
Venue: (1) Function Room @ Eden (Tampines)
Food: Pls indicate your speciality

1) n2inpink
2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
8) mdl
9) hwee
10) nikonnet
11) caramum: None, but can I bring fried bee hoon / fried rice?

Js'mum,

1) n2inpink (1 + 2) bring: rendang chicken, spinach and ham frittata, assorted sushi (simple one), risoles (indonesian finger food), onde onde
2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
8) mdl
9) hwee
10) nikonnet
11) caramum

can some one pls bring fried bee hoon?

caramum,
im olden day mummy
i think i'm the oldest among all of you

hwee,
will dig dig dig cabinet again
trust me, boy very troublesome one, if u buy outside CNY costume, they won't wear, they said itchi etc.

hwee,
u always love#1 lah.... dun dare wor....
on lah, next week exchange wif lapis cake.

wanted to open new thread to clear my CNY costume collections, but hor, wanna give privilage to baking khaki mah....

think caramum forgot to mention, can do accounts too...

I finally got my oven liao!! Now trying to decide wat to bake but as a novice, wat is the easiest to start with huh? I very scared my baking skills like my yucky cooking... sob...
Help help!!

pink,
U sew these 2 suits???? Wow ur hands are super multi-task leh. Just like caramum said can cook, bake, sew and one more talent count money... hahaha....

jj,
ur penguin is cute n sownman is sweet looking. cant bare to eat them leh...

niko,
Me wana join u all for lunch IF hammie gg too... Hammie....can u make it?

n2inpink,
Thank you..
Nice spread there-cupcakes, donuts and yummy lapis..
Your lapis looks so captivating and good too.

Thanks for the invitation to the CNY gathering. I would love to be there but will confirm at a later date.

You are truly wonder mom, can sew somemore. Incredible!! Your kids are real lucky.

Ice Lim,
Thanks.. I can't bear to eat it too.
Spend quite sometime making it (coz I'm new in fondant), eating it only seconds away..
But then again, do to eat lo.. hehehe!

Glad people likes it.

Shers (shers),
nice fruit tarts...

eileen,
nice "fruits", you muz be very busy now

keep it up....

js'mum,
your oreo cupcake & marble cupcake is perfectly alright....
taste is very good, unless my tounge and my sense of food spoil liao

perhaps next round you can reduce the level of your oreo cupcakes so tat will not over flow and raise too high.

Snowyin (snowyin),
thks for your kind word, me study account mah, so have to know account lei, if not, my daddy will kill me leh... pay so much for uni then i dunno how to do :p

congrats for your new oven!!
perhaps can try simple sponge cake first? will post the recipes within one hour....
it's quite fail proof, can boast your baking spirit mah...

pink, that's why me asking you la! boys are so troublesome! :p hee hee....

ok, i will try out more chiffon flavours for you. so far my choc and orange and today strawberry no problem. wanna try cheese?

1) n2inpink (1 + 2) bring: rendang chicken, spinach and ham frittata, assorted sushi (simple one), risoles (indonesian finger food), onde onde
2) Js'Mum (1 + 2)
3) angel
4) xiau ling
5) sweetie_hamster
6) Eron (1 + 3)
7) Dearie_e
8) mdl
9) hwee (2+2) will bring desserts (let me know wat you all like)
10) nikonnet
11) caramum

ice lim (icelim),
hehehe! thks for your kind word, see u on monday
hope hammie can make it.
look for fat lady okie?
hammie & niko are skinny, i looks very fat beside them.... SIGH!!!

I used my fingers to press down the tart pastry. But i greased the tray because mine is not those non-stick tray.

I used kiwi, strawberry and longan. These are what i found in supermarket. Cant find other suitable fruits.

I will try out egg tarts and cupcakes this sat and sun..

me bringing my 6th month gal for swimming class this sunday. Not sure whether she likes ornot.. heheh.. hopefully can do 'bare' cupcake for a start on sunday.

Thanks mummies for sharing the receipts!

Yesterday i went to popular and i bought a receipt book on muffins (alot of favours) and teacakes. Will try out one of the days..

Hi Moody,

what do i need to make ahead?

(Make-ahead: Store in airtight container for up to 1 day or freeze for up to 2 weeks.)

And which method i need to use folding?

Fold is a technique used when combining a light and airy ingredient into a heavier ingredient or mixture in such a way as each ingredient maintains its original volume. Start by placing one quarter of the lighter mixture on top of the heavier mixture.

n2inpink,

i love your cupcakes.. all so nice and looks yummy!! yr lapis cake also.. u r such a good baker! Can share on the receipts?

hi shers,
thks for your kind word.
sure, will upload the lapis recipes...
need to translate it to english first
coz the egg white lapis cake is in Bahasa indonesia..

will try to post the recipes by friday so tat you all who is interested can give it a try tis weekend.

pink
WELCOME BACK!
and pls dun tell lies to icelim leh...she seen me before..where got slim??????? dun make me happy k...hee hee. If u say i slim..wait till u see icelim.

icelim
yes i can join for lunch next monday, we can go together
1177765.gif