Cooking Tips & Recipe

Pris,
Thanks for info. I didn't know about it... will eat it in moderation

LittleCat,
Eh, KL trip is quite a long one for a baby leh... no wonder he gets cranky.
Heh, post a pic of your sis baby leh! I wanna a see an angmoh lookalike baby!

Joy,
I'm surprised it's your own mum who does the comparison, cos I thought own mommies should be more sensitive.
I know my mum is very attached to my nephew cos she is the main caregiver, but she won't do any comparison in front of me.

Yeah, best is ignore what people say.

annlee,
Remember the organic website I gave you and then I told you their ordering/delivery service is so horrid that I cancelled my order?
I went to their shop, Nature's Glory at Tan Boon Liat Bldg at Outram... wow, it's quite a bog shop and surprisingly quite a lot of customers for a shop situated in an industrial building!
Bought my brown rice cake (mochi) which is said to increase nutrient content of breastmilk

cookiemonster,sop

Thanks for your concern! My leg recovered, only left small tiny scar.

littlecat,
yeah...they did compensate my medical fee and give me some chicken essence,cracker biscuit,condense milk,orange and apple. Those stuff are exactly what I got from my auntie when I'm doing my confinement, hee...

About the KL trip, I'm thinking of bringing my dss to KL before by those big coach but worry my ds2 will cry and wanna run about inside the coach which takes about 5-6 hour to reach there leh... so drop the idea lor..

sop,
I have read somewhere about there's one organic shop at Tan Boon Liat Bldg. So must have lotsa stuffs over there. How is your brown rice mochi, nice?

Check with you... remember the website you gave me abt fish oil... what do you think of this http://www.luckyvitamin.com/088395015700.html, is not cod liver oil, so shld be ok right?

As for the comparison, some not even compare...some complain...complain my ds so naughty lor... I agreed they're naughty but my hb will also defends by saying if they don't jump,run and make noise then something wrongs with the kid hee...

krisjoy, sop, annlee,

yeah really not easy with baby plus my elder one also like monkey..

annlee, ic, important is no side effect, make sure recover well.

Sop, we didn't take picture leh.. so next time lah.. but may be only when see it in person u will have that feeling. Her eye is like super big and also bright.
And hor her cry also super powderfull, just like my boy! :D

Yeah pris, tell us more about the frozen fish, thot of trying this weekend after reading Sop recipe.

Btw sop, did u wrap will foil or just like that?

annlee, this is what my aunt will say "if they don't jump,run and make noise then something wrongs with the kid".. but i really do feel pai seh when bring him out. He just don't listen and don't behave, like purposely do it to show u.. sigh...
My hb is hoping if i stay at home full time can discpline him.. but i also worry i will get heart attack...

annlee,
I checked out your URL on fish oil. It doesn't really say if it's from liver or from fish body, but then the ingredients says it does not contain Vit D, so should be safe?

Eh, my brown rice mochi is quite good! I baked it, and then dipped it in soy sauce + ginger juice, and wrapped it up with seaweed, and ate it for breakfast. Quite a good and quick fix when I don't have much time to prepare breakfast cos after bathing baby, she wants to nurse and be put back to sleep again. Maybe when I have time, I'll make a red bean sauce to eat it sweet-style with my mochi, but not sure if the red beans will make my baby gassy?

The shop has quite a lot of stuff... you should go! They seem pretty busy with delivery orders too. I bought lots of seaweed cos it's supposed to be good for mommies after delivery, and it's my greens when I don't have time to go out to buy veges

heee... in this age, still got pple eat condensed milk?
It does sound like a confinement pack!

LittleCat,
Never mind, next time you go, take pic!
Eh, your sis also ate cordyceps when preggie issit?

For the fish, I baked it open, not covered. Cos if covered, it won't be grilled crisp on the skin.

Heee... running/active and crying kids are OK lah... when pple ask me why my baby is crying, I also answer that it's normal for babies to cry mah... it's their only form of communication!

hi annlee,

yr dss naughty meh. i dun think so lor. they even greet and chit chat with me leh

after seeing sop recipe, i feel like making the fish too. Must try to squeeze time to do this, sound so delicious

I have read in the parenting magazine here in Vancouver, that we should not be consuming too much frozen fish as it has a higher content of mercury which is harmful to us. And it is specially so for pregnant, nursing and young child and it is always better to get the fresh fish.

So sorry, MIA and only can drop by now and then since we have guests and also summer so alot of activities with friends here.

Hello gals...
Long time no see
How are you gals doing?
I have been very busy with my work and DS. We went to Western Australia, then when back, went for a week of classes at Julia Gabriel, then his birthday party... very busy...
Going to KL for 2 weeks in July

Sop,
Which brand of seaweed do you eat? Got sugar and salt added one? I wanna get those without sugar and salt kind, do you know if there's any?

twinkle,
Talk to baby to ask baby to shift the placenta up
It might work
Take good care...

zzzcookie...
I am starting to wean off
A is taking goats' milk from milk bottle now
I have tried changing lots of different teats and he just refused. I changed back to the first teat that newborn use, and he's now drinking from bottle. Think maybe my milk flow also that speed, so he dun like the milk flow to be too fast

Krisjoy,
Rest well and take good care

Prisc,
I also read about mercury in deep sea fishes.

Littlecat,
HOw's the journey to KL?
Your helper is really good...

Hi Lyn,

ya that time i talk to my bb lor, tks god it went up.

Hey how is the JG class? I heard very good huh but location very far fm me.

twinkle,
That's good
Your baby very "guai", will listen to mama

I went to the holiday program. Not bad. They play with messy stuffs which I dun think will let DS play at home. kekeke... I am lazy to clear up the mess. Housework already cannot finish, how to let DS play with messy things... But location at Evans Road no good for me. Next time, if wanna go, will go to the one at Forum. Cab fare to and fro already can be as much as the course fees.
U thinking of sending ds to JG? I have thought of it, but it's the time commitment involved that I am not ready to give now...

lyn,

the location not good for me. if hb dun send us i also need to take cab. I agreed time commitment very impt. currently he is in GUG and ending his sessions liao. me not signing up again bcos timing no good and he keep want to sleep. Anyway now i can practice what he learn at home, maybe will sent him when he is abit older. He went to ifc so at least he hv some fun there too.

hi lyn,
Was wondering how come you MIA!
Hee, but I still peep into the Miracle Baby thread once in a while to see the rest of the girls' postings... like croal, hama & droopy.. so I sort of knew you were away.
Wow, KL in July got sale right? Good time to go!

For seaweed, I buy from the Korean marts or from organic shops... mostly wakame cos a Korean auntie I know told me that they eat wakame after childbirth to "bu" the body and good for bf cos very high in calcium. The Korean ones and organic ones got no salt leh.

Pris, lyn,
I also read about mercury in deep sea fishes, but I thought Pris' posting specifically refer "frozen" fish.
But I read that normally the bigger fishes contain more mercury cos they are carnivores and live in the waters longer, hence accumulate more mercury, such as king mackerel, tuna.
But the smaller ones like anchovies and sardines are ok, that's why when buying fish oil, better to buy those extracted from these fishes if not sure whether there is a good process to extract out mercury in place.
Anyway, the saba from NTUC are the small ones, plus I only eat it once in a while. And now that I make it myself, I no longer eat saba at the Korean stalls at foodcourts, which I am sure uses frozen fish too... so it kind of net off

annlee,
Have you done your Hilde Hemmes detox?
How's it going?

LittleCat,
Did you make the saba fish?
The Korean auntie told me that using wok taste different from grill... she says put fish in flat wok skin side down with just a bit of oil then cover wok for few mins. Once golden brown, turn to the other side and do the same. Then pat away oil on paper towels. She says they use flat woks, so for our kind of woks, may have to cut fish in half.
I've yet to try it cos she just told me yesterday... but will try this coming week.

twinkle,
How is GUG like? Are the timing rigid?
I am thinking whether to send DS to half day or full day Montessori when second one come along. So now gotta get him used to going to school, but I cannot commit the time now.

Sop,
Oh, I see.. Wakame is very high in calcium. Higher than famous cow's milk. I put wakame into DS porridge. How do you cook the wakame seaweed to eat? It also has lots of anti-oxidants... kekeke.. anti-aging wor... But I am too lazy to cook this for myself. Only eats DS left over porridge. You got any simple recipes?
How is it going with looking after baby plus housework plus cooking? I kinda cannot cope already...

We went to Western Australia for tour
So MIA for a while... Before that, very busy preparing, then after that, busy unpacking and washing.
Oh, July is mega sale ah? Good good... kekeke... I will be staying in a hotel right in the city center
Going for a course and hopefully got time to shop.

lyn,
Yeah, I think July is mega sale period, cos their sale is always after GSS. I also feel like going, but not sure if my baby can take such a long ride.

How come you cannot cope? Business getting busy? Or is it busier when baby is older?

For me, baby plus housework is siong! I don't even have time to go toilet, so always constipated. Plus my baby is very windy (prob lactose intolerant according to PD), so she can't sleep long... always need to wake up and be burped, even though I have burped her after every feed.
And every morning, she'll wake up at 5am to fart nonstop... luckily now she got used to her cot and will just lie in there to talk to her mobile and fart away

Now also got a part-time auntie who comes in to help clean the flat once a week.

My simple recipe for wakame is what my friend says is a belated confinement

- Marinate some meat (pork, fish or chicken) with sesame oil, white pepper and a bit of soy sauce
- Soak wakame in water
- Fry some shredded ginger with a bit of oil
- Add meat in and stir-fry till cooked
- Add wakame and water and boil for 5 mins

If I eat it as a "stew" with rice, I put less water. If I eat with mee sua, I put more water as soup.
For fish, sliced red garoupa is very yummy cos its meat is succulent, so does not disintegrate easily when stir-fried.

Sometimes I am lazy, I will layer some seaweed in a dish, then put a marinated chicken thigh on top and then topped it up with grated ginger & just steam it.

Hi....
been MIA for sometimes liao... Bz with work n kids. Hope everyone are fine.

Sophie,
Understand ur situation. Me too hv to cope with gal, son, cooking n housework this week starting from last saturday. Imagine for few day only constipation liao. Cant imagine if long term dun noe how

Cecelia,
I thought you were doing this all along? How come only starting from last Sat?
Did you use to have a maid?

Yeah, the result from lack of time is always constipation and then followed by piles *touchwood*

I wonder how our parents use to do it hor?

Hi Sop,

Where can i get the wakame seaweed from? and do i have to soak it b4 cooking together with the porridge for my 9 mth old son?

hi Shay,
Yeah, you must soak the wakame seaweed first... just a few mins and you will see it expand.
It normally expands up to 15 times, so just soak a small quantity.

I normally get mine from the Jap section at NTUC Junction 8... or at this organic place http://www.natures-glory.com/sub_organics.asp?CatSID=25&currentPage=2
But the organic store one comes in BIG pieces so I don't think it's so suitable for babies, and I find it more slimy too.
The NTUC J8 Jap section one (at the Meidi-ya section) is in smaller pieces, although you may need to cut further. It costs about $4.50 onwards, depending on the brand.
I don't find it salty cos I think not much salt leh... and I'm the kind who don't even use salt in my cooking.

Can such young babies really chew the seaweed?

lyn,
Just curious, where do you get your wakame from that it contains salt & sugar?
You're not referring to the toasted kind, nori, right?

Lyn,
GUG has many timing but weekend slots are fully booked most of the time. the one we managed to get is 4-5.30pm on Sat. I heard weekday sessions are different fm weekend and include additional activities.

For our sessions which is under 18mths, we do handicraft, sing, dance w music, puppet show, story telling, and alittle of phonetics. DS enjoys it and last wk is our last session. i think we will continue again when he is abt 20mths.

Hi Sop and rest of mummies

Can I know anyone know how to make bake potato as in whole potato wrapped in aluminium foil and put inside the oven type?Any idea what is the temperature and duration of it...thanks a lot cos my gal is crazy over it....

sop,
I think the fish oil shld be make of mackerel and sardine. It didn't stated vit D so shld be fine hor...

I haven't start Hilde Hemmes detox yet but wanted to do my little confinement cos my hb just bought a box of 21 days feminine rejuvenate formula from peiling in KL for me. So the first week is detox and will try out this first.

About wakame, when in my Japan trip, the tour guide recommend me this and mentioned that is very good for hair growth. And recently, I've watched a taiwanese show saying that wakame or seaweed and black sesame is actually very good to eat during confinement or anytime for woman. Suppose to be good for our hair, blood circulation etc... can't remember hee...

twinkle,
aiyo....my dss so naughty...oh...did they really chit chat with you?? I only saw my younger son trying to beat you...omg...he's in his terrible 2 now, super naughty!!

Joyful,
I read from another thread that your dd is studying at Tan Nan School, how is the School now? Wanted to enrol my son to the School and was thinking of joining alumni to get a better chance to get into the school.

littlecat,
Did your ds1 complaining leg pain? My ds1 was complaining every night and wanted me to massage using pounding to make him sleep. Have check with doctor and says might be growth pain.

Joy,
Baked potato is also one of my fav, but I hardly make them cos it takes sooooo long to bake them in the oven.
A shortcut I use is to boil the potato first then bake them so it cooks faster... it's cheating, I know
, and prob not so dry as the real baked potato, but saves my electricity!
Here's an article on the perfect baked potato...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/database/theperfectbakedpotat_67837.shtml

annlee,
Wow, you got the peiling stuff! Next time I have a 2nd kid and do my confinement, must also get it plus definitely get a confinement nanny...
Yeah, seaweed is good for hair... my grandma eats it in soups, and she's still got a headful of hair at 86 years old!

Krisjoy,
I went to try the Hong Kong Tea House at Katong (old Joo Chiat police station) last weekend... food is very good, very much like those in HK, esp. the noodles and roast meat.
Waiters are from mainland Chinese, a bit rude, and didn't tell me that my order is out of stock, so I ended up waiting forever for my never-to-come bor lor bao.
It's 24hrs, so anytime you have your preggie craving for food, should go there!

Krisjoy & starz,
Do you know if you are having princes or princesses yet?

hi all!

Sop, i didn't try the saba leh.. ok you let me know if using wok taste better

My ds2 was having flu and can't sleep well, then the maid also fall sick, didn't really cook much last weekend.
Then father's day we went to eat at vivo No Signboard.

pai seh how does wakame looks like ?
i only know the traditional chinese type of seaweed and those jap snacks type.

annlee, my ds1 didn't complain leg pain leh..
u mean like when they jump too much or ?
may be monitor for awhile, i think even growth pain it won't be long right? but sometime kids can't really tell exactly which part pain..

i have been eating salad for lunch and fruits for breakfast, weekday only.Any yummy and healthy salad receipi to share?
So far, a mix of the following:
vege-lettuce, tomato, jap cucumber, steam brocolli, brussell sprouts
protein : can tuna/steam chicken breast/hard boil egg
so far didn't put any dressing.
any healthy dressong to recommend?

Littlecat
I heard can use yogurt instead.

I find balsamic dressing not so fattening...you may check it out...or those Japanese salad dressing also not bad...I mean the sour type.

COLESLAW
Anyone has got nice recipe for the above..thanks...

SOP
Thanks again and I have sent you an email

Sop,
Normally me took care of gal n son only on weekend + hubby help out. For weekday, me only take care of son as gal at MIL place. Cos last whole week MIL go holiday so therefore need to pao ka liao for 1 week.
Maid? ..... me lor

Littlecat,
U r in dieting process har? Best dun put dressing as i read in the book that on the shelve dressing contain lots of sugar. Its either go without it or make ur own.

Sop,
Business getting very busy also. A lot of things to do. I bring A to the toilet with me! hahaha... I just installed a gate at my toilet door. Nowadays, I will close the room door, close the gate when I am in toilet or having shower. Else cannot shower in peace. There's once he pulled the shower curtain when I was having a shower and the rod and curtain fell on him.

I still like sesame oil now. kekeke... Sometimes I will just steam vegetables and add sesame oil and soya sauce. Very simple food. You are very creative in cooking healthy food...

I also goes to Junction 8 NTUC for the seaweed... I think it's just raw seaweed rite? I did not see any salt in the ingredient list.

My DS no need to chew the seaweed. Boil till like mashed up.
I wanna get those normal titbits kind of seaweed that do not have salt and sugar. The wakame I got does not contain salt and sugar...

Goat's milk is more nutritious. And smaller clusters of nutrients, so baby can absorb easily. It's closest to breast milk. Most importantly, so far I know goats only eat grass, and not so much of growth hormones. Modern cows not only eat grass. I am very careful when it comes to food with hormones for DS.

Shay,
I soak the wakame seaweed with the porridge.

twinkle,
Can your DS do handicrafts now?

Joy,
I will boil the potato first, then wrap and put into oven. Else very very long to bake in the oven.

annlee,
Yes, black sesame is very good for us

Littlecat,
Wah... so healthy... good good...
dressing are not so healthy, unless DIY. Can use olive oil with soya sauce and some sesame oil. kekeke... I find no dressing taste better, so most of the times, i eat salad without dressing.

hi gals, thanks for all the tips.. think i will go without dressing, since i can take the taste.
I like the steam brocolli and the brussel sprouts taste.

Lyn, is the black sesame same as white except being fried ?or they are a diff kind?

Sop, saw your link on the seaweed liao .. ok must try go get and let my ds2.

any more healthy recipe ?

hi gals, thanks for all the tips.. think i will go without dressing, since i can take the taste.
I like the steam brocolli and the brussel sprouts taste.

Lyn, is the black sesame same as white except being fried ?or they are a diff kind?

Sop, saw your link on the seaweed liao .. ok must try go get and let my ds2.

any more healthy recipe ?

Lyn,
i must help when he do handicraft lah, but he can paint on his own except i hv to accept the mess all over his face and hand

Ann,
yr DSS are chatting with me and shake hand somemore. very guai leh

littlecat,
no...not jump too much, doc says at his age must be growth pain, bone growing lor...so was thinking whether your ds has this prob since they're at the same age.

sop,
forgotten to tell you that I went to Dian Xiao Er at vivocity, we order the tang gui duck, dong po pork and crocodile soup. The food is very good.M hb don't want to try it but iforced him to the restaurant and he says is good too. Told him about the restaurant that you gals recommend at seletar, will drag him there one of these days.

twinkle,
saw your ds picture, very cute! look like you

annlee,

tks leh, cute huh u dun know his disguise tactic hor. now he is climbing everywhere liao. grow up so fast and i hv not even njoy enough at each stage yet.

Sophie's Mum,
Don't worry abt other's comments, they are not worth worrying abt. Give princess Sophie some time to adapt. She has only be out in this world for 4months plus, vs the 9+months in yr tummy. In no time, she will be running around and pestering you to bring her out.

And thanks Van and you for the mackerel recipe too

Annlee,
Glad that the scar is small. Hee.. the gift fm Sheong Shiong really like confinement gift.
Do let us know if the Little confinement fm Peiling is good. I need one too, thinking to do it after i stop bf.

Lyn,
That's a good start. A is taking goat milk well. Probably he likes goat milk better as compared to cow's milk.

Cecelia,
Must be hard work for u this week.

Pris,
Yr days are always filled with fun activities. Little Kai must be enjoying as well.

Twinkle-Starry,
Have u found a new job that requires less traveling? Yr ds must have enjoyed all the handicraft work. ;)

Krisjoy and Starz,
Hope both of you coping well with work, baby and pregnancy.

Littlecat,
how abt squeezing some lemon or orange juice over the salad? Think should be quite refeshing

Annlee,
Can share with me the good makan place at Seletar? Thx in adv.

Littlecat,
Sesame got 2 types, white n black. According to my frend, she said the black sesame is more nutritious.

Sop,
Can the children below 1yrs eat wakame? Tempting to gv to my gal when she recover from her flu.

My gal caught new type of flu virus which cause infection to her ear and heavy congested on the middle respiratory.

Gal cant sleep n eat well due to this and within 1 week lose 0.2kg. Am really pray hard that body respond to the medicine prescribe <haiz...>

Hi gals, to share with you isetan Scotts having their Hokkaido fair. I manage to browse n try on their dry wakame seaweed, dry scallop, various of beans.

Sop,
I try the wakame just now, it has no taste lei. Bought some of that, intend to try on ur wakame recipe over the weekend.

littlecat,
Black and white sesame seeds are different. I use them raw, not toasted. After toasting, it's heaty.

zzzcookie,
Are you still breastfeeding? Long time never see your pui pui and littlecat boys... Is your pui pui walking?

Cecelia,
Eh, just the wakame itself has not much taste, but I find the Korean ones have a "deeper" flavour, like the sea.

Not sure about babies eating wakame leh, cos I also thought it's quite "stringy". Maybe lyn can advise us since she feeds her ds wakame?

What kind of beans did you buy from the fair? I miss eating beans! But baby is super windy, so I'm not allowed to eat beans too.

Hope your gal is better!

LittleCat,
Heee... no more "healthy" recipes liao... now all I eat is heng chye and simple meats everyday cos cannot eat lots of things.

For salad dressing, I think cookiemonster's suggestion is good.. I like lime juice mixed with meat juice (if using meat for salad) over my salad.

annlee,
Glad your hubby likes Dian Xiao Er... heee, tell him we foodies don't really go too far wrong with food!
Must try the Seletar Hills Restaurant!!!

hey cookiemonster,

me still finding leh but i m serving my last month liao. i think mostly i will take contract job or temp lor. at least less stress and can spent time w my ds. We just went sentosa on last friday. he enjoy it and we hv great fun.

little cat,

i luv his rosy cheeks and i cannot help noticing his beautiful skin. What a gorgeous bb u hv over there.

sophie, cecilia,
I boiled the wakame seaweed with my DS porridge till it's "nua nua" and can feed him...

twinkle,
I went to Sentosa yesterday
My DS was scared on the cable car. Think he's scared of height...

littlecat,
Wah... your boy very handsome with rosy cheeks leh... What does he eat everyday?

lyn,

hee we drove in. Wanted to take the express in but scared ds need aircon and sleep so we drove in. In the evening, we also tried the tram, express and bus so he can experience it. Cable car hmm.... i myself scared leh.

Thanks Starry & Lyn!
haha could be due to his complextion is fair once weather warm will see his cheeks rosy...

he has been eating my maid special porridge cook with love and patience. She even ask me to buy different variety of vege so she can cook different type for him everyday.. alamak.. good life than me..

he seems to love vege more than meat though.
We try giving him fish, his leg grow something guess is allergy? so we stop now.

Lyn, your ds enjoy himself at sentosa?
Thinking of going one day, is it better to drive or take tram?

any idea the Islander got any discount ah?

zzzcookiemonster,
I'm on my 3rd day of Little confinement. For 7 days, strictly on confinement food and not suppose to bath but I dunno bath how many times liao...can't take it for such a hot weather but the water temp must be high. I did not wash my hair for 2 days cos Peiling mentioned is important as it'll clog the blood in our womb?? anyway, I just followed. But think can only tahan for another 2 days or more hee...

cecelia,
The seletar hill restarant recommended by sophie and krisjoy.The address: Seletar Hill Restaurant,
16 Jalan Selaseh S'pore 808440, Tel:64830348. They served Szechuan and hunan food. Have not been there but soon...hee..

littlecat
aiyo...your pui pui very big and handsome liao...

twinkle,
Then where did you park? Parking is very limited there leh...

littlecat,
Wah... your maid really dotes on him hor? So good... What type of fish did you feed him?

We went to Sentosa for a wedding dinner, so did not go to many places. Only the siloso beach and Rasa sayang resort. Locals got discount till 30 June
I think taking a cable car will be a very different experience for kids. The most discount goes to employee of PSA.

lyn,
oh so u r one of those who attend the wedding huh. i saw the signboard at Beach station.

there are 3 carparks where we can park and only Beach carpark is charge at $1.05 per entry. for us hor hee comfort of my ds we basically went to those places where there is carpark nearby like dolphine lagoon and underwater world. then we park at beach carpark for the rest of the day. Other attractions we took tram and buses and the reason why i park at beach carpark bcos the Song of the sea is there and after that can go home liao

Little cat,
for islander, there are discounts for some attractions and also free bus ride and express train into Sentosa.