Cooking Tips & Recipe

LittleCat,
Wow, your maid is very informative hor? Even knows that citrus fruits like tomato is no good when got phlegm.
She's quite funny - give your ds the pacifier to "test" him out

starz,

I'm beginning to get used to a baby now. I'm still staying at home cos it's just more convenient as someone has to feed the cats everyday.
But I'm starting to take baby out more often so she can get used to shopping malls etc. She still can't sleep in her stroller when in malls, but at least can sleep if someone familiar carries her.

Cecelia,
Thanks! I'll let you know when my multi-vits run out, but currently not very diligent in taking it

annlee,
Yeah, Usana items are not cheap, but they're ver good.
If I was not wrong, their fish oil was under one of the recommended brands for having "no mercury". The other brands were Nordic and Shaklee.
I also like their multi-vit cos it does not contain iron, so does not make me constipated

Starz,
u started travelling already?
u still bf? and A latches on at night when u are not travelling right? Then he is ok with bottles at night when u are not at home? Can share what u do pls.
So far. I try to postpone all the travelling. Sigh... can only travel if able to be back on same day. i.e. go hongkong 1st flight, then rush for meeting then take last flight back. Cos baby refuse bottle in the night, he snatched the bottle and threw it on the floor. But have gradually wean off the feed after dinner. Now headache for the night feeds. Cos he simply refused to be bottle feed.

Annlee,
did Sheng Siong pay for yr medical expenses n the end? They are terrible.

Sophie's Mum,
Glad that u are coping well, and bring the baby out more often to enjoy.

Pris,
Thanks for sharing yr website with me.

annlee, reply u liao

LittleCat, ds will split out his pacifier after he deep sleep and we only give him when he want to sleep. i guess i hv to be firm now dun give him liao .

sophie, u bring girl girl go gai gai very good leh. soon u will be able to handle her very well liao.

Where is Van huh? long time din see her post liao

sop,
yes...nordic and shakee both are good. Have just order nordic DHA softgel and their cod liver oil from the spree and I think the price shld be very good compare to retail price.

Mommies here if interested to get nordia fish oil for your kids or yourself can go and have alook at the spree, they're having one right now from pinkmonster.

zzzcookiemonster,
yes...they promise to pay the expenses, will get from them tmr. Haiz...they're terrible and I'm unlucky. Now still hurt alittle when I walk although is a small wound.

B2B3M4, thanks for the list.
eh brinjal can huh? i only know the skin is no good...hehe i like brinjal so if can better can buy more.
For toufu, is it safe, scare of the 'shi-kao'or not ?

starz
thanks for the list. hehe now i got more options liao..

so the PD list got use pork ? cos some say pork no good leh.. my maid use chicken feet. i think some can not take it, but just for the 'stock' or the taste.
When can introduce fish? just wonder can we use fish bone to get the stock for baby?

Ikan bilis can be very salty, think got to buy those better quality not so much salty type.

btw my baby can't take carrot leh every time take, got 'pimples' coming out, but 1 day it will gone.

aiyoh my thum jia one, finish eating, make ltos of noise, till the maid show him empty bowl then he satisfied.

She will feed him cereal in the morning then afternoon the porridge.

Fruits wise so far he has tried apple and pear, didn't try plum yet, isn't it sour ? or must get the right type?

i bought the bottle fruits for him also. want him to try diff taste and also incase sometime we travel can subsitute with bottle baby food & no need to cook.

About the show, the 'rubber band' theory quite true.. sometime just need to let go...
I like yestrday one they talk about how man can not lies and how woman can tell lies better...

Sop, yeah the maid quite knowledgeble, paiseh she is my guru when come to taking care of baby/kids.

twinkle-starry, yeah have to be firmed. Better stop them early if not later even more difficult to get rid of the pacifier.

Annlee, make sure do a thorough checkup and make sure they pay for the bill.

sop,

I think you have bought Mini Eclairs or Mini Profiteroles from Amosco. Is it nice? I'm thinking of getting some.

littlecat,
you mentioned about channel 8 show and I went to watch it on wed for last 15mins abt the woman can lies better...so funny and quite true huh... miss the show yesterday.

annlee,
I didn't get to eat my mini eclairs cos the organiser cancelled the orders last minute... haha, maybe that's why my baby always drools now, no mini eclairs and no mao shan wang (hubby says scared constipated) when preggie

Still got BP on eclairs going on? I don't see them that often now cos the organiser of BP has to pay $25 right?

btw, I read somewhere it's OK to eat fish oil, but fish liver oil not so recommended cos liver is where the body gets rid of toxins, so not so good.

twinkle,
I think Van is very busy with her dd's exams etc... hope she'll be in soon!
Miss her pictures of food too!

muffin,
oic...then will be quite messy if my sons eat them. Have you try their mini pizza? Was thinking of getting some for my ds snacks.

sop,
yeah...they're having BP on eclairs and other items. I'm not sure about the $25 fee leh...

oh...so cod liver oil no good?? Have just bought one bottle, aiyoh...shld have consult you first. And what is mao shan wang?

annlee,
mao shan wang is a type of durian... cannot remember its english name...

I think cod liver oil in moderation should be ok lah... I can't remember where I read about Cod Liver Oil, but I think it's in one of my detox or alternative therapy books - it's got to do with cod liver oil containing Vit D which in excess can be toxic for our bodies... don't think taking a pill a day will be toxic!
Check out this link - scroll to bottom:
http://www.mercola.com/forms/faq/carlsons.htm#12

oh, i just saw the BP on eclairs. Too bad the locations are not convenient for me, plus hubby is away so leychey for me to bring baby along to pick it up. You ordering?

evening ladies....

littlecat,
owe u tis list for a few days liaoz...

food least likely to cause allergic reaction
rice, pear, prune, carrot, apple, pork

food which are usually tolerated well, but occassionally cause allergic, to be introduced after e 6th mth
barley, apricot, beef, wheat, fish, plum, spinach, cabbage, oat, banana, chicken, peach, broccoli, lamb, turnip, potato, cherry, corn (and corn oil)

food which are most likely to cause allergic reaction, to be introduced from e 9th mth
berries (strawberry n raspberry), cow's milk, legumes (soyabeans and beans)

egg yolk (to be introduced between 9-10mths)

food which are highly allergenic, to be introduced after 12 mths
seafood (e.g. prawns, crabs, dried and fresh scallops), peanuts, egg white

hope it helps!!!

sophie,
well, good tat u r going out at least... n u r a better mummy than me u know, i've never been "allowed" to bring ayden out alone yet! cos either my mum / hb wil definitely be around, n now tat im preggy again, i dont even dare hope they'll let me bring A out alone...

mayb u can learn how to use a sling / bb carrier, so tat when lil sophie wans to nap outside, u dont hv to carry her til ur arms break...

cookiemonster,
yupz, i've travelled once so far... but no longer bf since A turned 5.5mths... cos been having quite bad dizzy spells (to e extent i dont dare to even move for fear of completely blacking-out).. so been "forced" to stop..
for ayden, since day 4 or 5, he's been introduced to botles cos he was admitted for jaundice mah.. n i express BM to send to him then. but cos he's is breastmilk jaundice, so PD rec supplementing with forumla to bring it down faster, so he's even been drinking formula since then. his jaundice lasted 1mth, n after tat, i didnt bother to try to switch him back to full BM, perhaps it cos e last bottle b4 sleep is always formula, he's been sleeping from 10pm to 7am since 1mth...
sorry tat im not able to help much... how abt trying to feed him when he's almost asleep? cos i've got friends who can only feed their bb only when bb is almost asleep, otherwise, e bb wont feed from e bottle too... how old is ur ds now? can introduce e sippy cup yet?

littlecat,
yupz, PD list got pork.. n my mum been using it n fish to cook A's porridge for e past week. she doesnt wana use chicken yet, as e "old folks" always think that chicken wil cause cough... plus its more oily.. so wil postpone chicken for awhile... my mum been using "ngor" fish to cook A's porridge, forgotten why, but not so scare ngor fish wil hv small bones.. or something like tat.. can use juz fish bone, but PLEASE buy e small "pouch" to contain e fish bone, cos reli scare small pieces of bones might break off n mixed into e porridge... actually, GC is abt 7mths liaoz rite? can eat fish meat liaoz mah... since he's a big eater..
to make ikan bilis powder, my mum said, to buy those normal ikan bilis WITH bone (for e calcium in e bone mah..) wash & soak a few times to remove e "salt", until satisfactory.. then sun dry it... or fry dry (without oil).. then grind it into powder form.. can make abit more, to be used within 1mth...
i let ayden try those red skin plum (inside yellow colour one)... only eat e meat, cos usually its e skin tats more sour... he likes it so far, had given him tat for 3 days n he's not sick of it yet... very rare!!! i'm introducing fresh fruits now, cos he doesnt like steam apple/pear mashed up.. so i juz bite a super tiny piece of watever fruit im eating to feed him.. n let him suck on e fruit itself...

experienced mummies, i need help...
i've been feeding A cereals from 5mths start, til now he's abt 6.5mths.. he's progressed to porridge. e thing is, he's stil eating very very little, like 1-2 tablespoon of porridge nowadays.. only very occassionally he'll take more, like half a small bowl... but he'll completely skip 1 milk feed when we feed him cereal/porridge no matter how little he takes.. so im kinda worried he's not eating enough... PD visit not til another 2 weeks later, so would like to hv some advise from u all here...

another problem is, i really really dont want to "spoil" A to be those kid tat e grandparent / parent hv to "run after" him during mealtime, so ideally, between me n mum, we've been feeding him when he's in e stroller (n juz introduced e high chair)... but nowadays he REFUSE to sit in it for more than 5-10mins... he'll start fussing n crying like very "ke lian" like tat.. so no choice my mum wld usually carry him out... n he'll continue eating while being carried, but juz not in e seat... any idea how to overcome tis?? we've already tried all sort of toys/games/ sing song to try n keep him in his seat liaoz....

We are down with flu! I am so dead now!

Annlee,
I actually baked a vegan (no egg, no milk) Banana Bread yesterday, when I get better, I will post the pic up.

starz,
Thanks for the list

It's really helpful!

Nancy,
Do take care... flu bug going around now. I think Van is also down with it.
Look forward to your pic and recipe!
I'm on a no egg, no dairy diet cos of breastfeeding now, so it'll be nice to make a vegan banana bread if I can find the time

annlee,
Are you still into some organic stuff?
Here's an online organic store with LOTS of foods! They have a shop too.
I just ordered some items from them

Not cheap but very useful when I don't go out grocery shopping that much with baby alone and hubby overseas.
http://www.natures-glory.com/sub_organics.asp

evening ladies...

sophie,
no prob...

why do you hv to be on a no egg, no dairy diet bcos of bf-ing?? is it causing any allergies to ur lil sophie???

starz,
My baby is super windy leh... tummy is constantly round and bloated even though she is taking wind-drops that PD gave.
PD says have to watch my diet cos whatever I eat that causes wind in myself will cause wind for her, so I have cut out all citrus fruits, strawberries, kiwifruit, tomato, dairy products, eggs, coconut (i.e. no curry), spicy foods, cabbage.
Basically I am down to eating green veges, meat and rice... I even eat rice for my breakfast now cos the commercially made breads contain skimmed milk powder.

Didn't know bf got so many restrictions... don't get me mistaken, I still enjoy bf, but just that during antenatal class, nurse said everything can eat, then now once I start bf, got problems and it seems like lots of things cannot eat.
But no regrets bf-g lah... will still bf even though I've got all these restrictions

sop,

Thanks for the website on cod liver oil, very informative! Will give my ds alternate days and reduce the amount.

I did not order the eclair bcos of the location too and organiser says going to have a spree near my place so now I'll wait.

I'm still giving my sons organic food but not totally organic...only organic millet, rice,carrot, heng chai,pumpkin and miso paste. The online organic grocery looks good...I think the baby rice cereal is cheaper than NTUC.

You remember telling me about the organic cafe on the 4th level at Fortune Centre... I was buying pumpkin at the cafe and saw MTV VJ/model Nadia.... she's having lunch at the cafe and she is pretty!!

Nancy,
aiyoh....take care or yourself huh...when recover then post the pic...banana bread sounds interesting,I'm suaku in pastry, only knows banana choc cake.

Just had ayam penyet at beach road, not bad... also had their Javanese black iced tea, nice too...alot of recommendation poster from the TV show outside the cafe. Any mommies who like Indonesian food might wanna try there.

annlee,
Woah, Nadia eats organic too

Heh, maybe that's why she looks so good... no toxins in her body cos of organic food!

For baby cereal, is it the Healthy Times one? I got nothing more to buy to top up to $50 so that delivery is cheaper at $5, so I bought a pack of the Healthy Times Brown Rice Cereal to standby when baby turns 6 mths.

The ayam penyet - is it the one opposite Shaw, next to the ma la hu guo? It's sort of a basement shop? I ate there once, the sambal is pretty good, but hubby finds it super heaty, so never went back again.

Annlee, sop,
I tried ayam penyet at lucky plaze 1st floor. Not bad, like most their gado gado. Beach road oso got har... try it this sat.

sop,
yes...Nadia she's peh peh type,pretty! Ya hor...maybe no toxic from her body.

The baby cereal is not Healthy Times but this brand is also good. The one I mentioned is BELLAMY'S http://www.natures-glory.com/sub_organics_details.asp?ProductSID=2536&CatSID=90

yes...that ayam penyet is the one opp shaw. Agreed that ayam penyet is heaty...my hb didn't dare to try it and order soto ayam but not so nice hee... their avocado juice is nice too..

cecelia,
your name is exactly the same like my childhood friend, hers also cecelia Tan

The ayam penyet at beach road also serve gado gado but din try it cos my hb complain heaty and I can't finish the whole plate by myself.

muffin,
Not sure what is the penyet but they fried the chicken and flatten it and put lotsa small crispy frying thingy on top of the chicken, sounds sinful huh...

muffin,
i think ayam penyet is indonesian deep fried chicken fillet with coated batter but served dry, not the wet wet ayam panggang type... yet, annlee is right, they flatten it..

annlee,
yeah, i tred their avocado juice also... nice!
ok, next time i'll order this cereal!
WOah, Nadia so peh? hee, i'm still trying to whiten my face for my bro's wedding next sat!

hi there

Just drop in to put the sushi mixture for the rice for B2. Since I am making today as ds has requested for Japanese food for lunch and dinner.

Sushi Rice
Ingredient:
3 cups of rice
1/3 cup of rice vinegar(Japanese rice vinegar)
1 tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp of salt.

Only...have to go...need to sort out all the alberta trip photos. Will drop by when everything is done and when I have the time since ds is starting his summer hols soon.

annlee,
I just added in the Bellamy Baby Rice to my order! Cos the lady only just called me today (I placed order on Sunday!)... when I ask her hwo come website says 1 days after order is placed they will call, then they call so late, she told me they are very busy! Really lame excuse... how to do business like that?
Then she told em will let me know final amount on delivery date which is Thru... so I asked isn't the invoice amt final? She said it's not cos fresh items like veges cost more than the $2 that they put on website... but they never indicate on website leh... so I cancelled my vege order and replaced with the Bellamy Baby Rice you recommended... all dried foodstuff, so confirmed fixed price.

Ordering from them is really quite leychey... the netx time I wanna get stuff, will go to their shop instead.

starz,
Is your ds still eating his porridge?
You cook your porridge normally, as in boil?

I checked with my mum - she double boils the porridge for my nephew. Same like you, she puts in a pc of pork in a rice bowl of water, double boil about 20min till flavour comes out, then add in the rice, fish, chopped veges and double boils till rice turns into porridge.
I told a friend this, she tried it and said it's good - her dd ate up the whole big bowl... she says porridge is sweeter this way.
Plus double boiling means porridge don't stick to bottom of pot, not so difficult to clean too.

annlee,

i bought a packet of organic millet and dun know how to cook leh. got receipe?

Sophie, u can try earth best cereals, ds took this cereal until he is 7mths. Now occasionally i also give him. i find more pang than HT when i dun hv time to make him dinner.bad mummy

twinkle,
Where do they sell Earth Best? I don't see it in NTUC?

Today the organic online store called and said quite a few of my items are not available! And after deducting all the unavailable items, I have to pay $10 delivery charge cos below $50... ridiculous! So I cancelled my order... so won't be getting my rice cereal and baby rice afterall.
Luckily I am not starving at home waiting for them to deliver my groceries *sigh* Think better stick to Cold Storage or NTUC online!

Sorry I MIA-ed for quite a while as I was having bleeding and need to bed rest for more than a week. Have been back to work this week.

Starz,
How have you been? My gal currently only likes cereal. She still does not know how to eat porridge. But she is not taking a lot too, unlike other babies who can finish half a bowl.

Sop,
I let my gal tried Healthly Times cereal but she does not like it. So I switched to Nestle and she loves it! I'll try to mix both in future to see if she likes them ;p Btw, I went back to that restaurant in Yio Chu Kang (can't remember the name) on Mother's Day. Good thing is they did not bank in on that and increase price. Definitely worth going back again ;p

krisjoy,
for nestle cereal, if i am not wrong, i think there's sugar n some milk added. Depending on ur belief, some mothers do not wan to introduce such sweet stuff to babies at such a young age.

krisjoy,
hope u r better liao. try to rest more.

sop, i got it at organic shop like brown rice paradise, Vitakids etc...

krisjoy,
what happen to you? How come bleeding?

twinkle,
For the millet, I throw all the ingredient to make porriage for my boys
but remember to soak the millet for 2 hrs so don't have to cook for so long to get it soften. If your ds don't like it, can mix with rice together to make porriage,hths!

sop,
so troublesome getting from them...better stick to cold storage or NTUC.

B2,
Thanks for the advice. I also read that Nestle contains glucose but my gal does not like the organic cereal leh..So I have no choice but to give her other brands..

Twinkle,
Thanks for your concern

annlee,
My placenta is low so more prone to bleeding. Need to refrain from carrying baby and heavy things for the time being. I will need to do the amnio test in June since I am over 35 yrs old this pregnancy.

krisjoy,
dun worry sometime placenta will move along with the pregnancy stages. I also kena stay in bed and bleed b4. by right other preggie placenta already move up and mine still there. one day suddenly when i m in my 7.5mths, it went up and things are ok.

And pls dun squat hor

Twinkle,
My 1st pregnancy oso kena bleeding. But during mid-term, it moved up so I can have normal delivery. Hope this one is the same ;p

hi hi ladies....

sophie,
oic... then u'll hv to rule out bananas & papayas as well.. cos heard from my hb's doctor (hb hv piles), tat these fruits causes wind too...
thanks for e info on double boiling bb's porridge.. but wont e porridge become "nua" if do this??? cos ayden doesnt like "nua" food.. he likes his porridge grainy... n so far, e only food tat makes him open his mouth "wide wide" is pumpkin.. jap pumpkin & butternut squash...

krisjoy,
hi... im ok, juz tired n cranky... hehehe...

oh dear, hope u r feeling better liaoz... how to refrain from carrying bb??? my mum also tell me not to carry him so much.. but i "bu she de" leh.. it seems so unfair to ayden... plus now my hb juz had an op, so he cant help me take care of A at all...
ayden also doesnt eat much.. nowadays only 2-3tbs of porridge... i dont force him to eat cos he stil only 6.5mths... e other babies tat i "interact" with all older than ayden... plus ayden v stubborn, cant force 1.. so let him be lor...

starz,
No, double-boiled porridge is less nua than normal boiled ones cos it's not direct heat. You can control it by not cooking it too long too.
Try it, it's apparently much sweeter than normal boiled porridge!

OK, then I'll have to skip my daily papayas as well, cos I've been eating it to prevent constipation.

Krisjoy,
Do take care and rest well!

twinkle,
Thanks... I'll check it out at organic shops when I have the time. Baby is only 15weeks now, so there's still lots of time before I start her on semi solids at 6 mths.

krisjoy,
my 1st and 2nd preggie placenta is low too, just be sure not to take heavy things, tired yourself and rest more. Take care and hope you're getting better.

starz,
ha...my MIL also keep telling me not be carry my ds1 too much when staying at her house and says bb will be spoil and prefer to be carry all the times... so my hb told her if don't carry now then must wait until bb grows up then carry meh... we also bu she de, must always carry and hugs...

Starz,
Thanks for yr advise. Have just managed to give baby bottled milk at 8+pm feed. But he still need to latch before sleeping. Think habit like SP's son already.
U still feeling the giddness often? Cordecepys helps quite a fair bit. I used to be like u. Even sitting on chair, I feel giddy. I took quite regulary for a while and can feel the difference. Maybe u can double boil some and drink it for u and yr baby also.
For feeding A, maybe u try to entice A will may challenging things during feeding like asking him to pick up some pieces of food on his high chair while trying to feed him? Dunno if it will help.

Krisjoy,
Hope yr bleeding better now. And must really try to avoid heavy things.

Annlee,
How's yr wound fm the Sheng Shiong accident? Hope better now.

Sop's mum,
Hee... any more outings with Prince Sophie?

Littlecat,
GC took over pui pui title already.
My pui pui no longer pui pui now.
Sigh... he lost some weight. Cos still drinking abt 150ml milk fm bottle at 12months. Sometimes cannot finish. Headache. Don't worry abt gc weight now. Think baby's rate of growth will slow down once they are more mobile

Choc,
Now i finally understand what u mean by not worrying when my baby was pui pui when younger.
Like yr two dds, my pui pui also feels lighter now. How's the children doing? U must be busy trying to keep them occupied now.

hi girls,
How're your weekends?

My brother just got married last Sat, so we brought lil' Sophie to the tea ceremony and then the banquet at night.
It was such a nightmare, cos there're too many people at the banquet, and every relative wants to play with her and some talk so loud in her face!
Plus she didn't sleep much during the day so she was really tired, and in the end, I had to latch her continuously with nappy covering her face at the banquet to let her have some naptime.
Then there's an uncle who asked me "Why is your baby so grouchy?"... so I told him she's only 4 mths old leh, needs about 16hrs sleep each day and it's already been a long day for her!
I know he's comparing my baby with my 9mth old nephew who was smiling to everyone... but even by the mid of the banquet, my nephew was tired and cranky too cos I think such events are just too much for little babies.
To make things worse, he fell sick the next day cos I think there're lots of sick/recovering pple in that ballroom.
I guess there'll be more comparison to come in future!

Krisjoy,
Hope you're feeling better?

annlee,
Yeah, how's your wound? Got scar or not?

cookiemonster,
Heee... the banquet was the latest outing lor... I think it's very siong to disrupt baby's routine all the time, cos after that, my baby had difficulty sleeping even the next day.

starz,
cookiemonster is right about cordyceps... it's really good, works for me too... but very expensive!

Recipe Tip from Van:

- Buy the frozen mackerel from NTUC, rub a bit of ginger juice on it and grill.
- I added a bit of soy sauce + sesame oil to it too, and some grated ginger.
- I used toaster oven to grill... took only 15mins.

Verdict: My hubby thought it was a fresh and not frozen mackerel! And it's much better than those sold in korean stalls in foodcourts cos it's so tender and oily (good fish oil) and crisp on the outside.

Sop

Agreed that there will be more comparison in the future ,am surprised that remarks about your baby crankines come from an uncle rather than aunt

My mum also kept comparing my 22 mths old boy with her 32mths old granddaugher, saying how smart and how clever she is....

Not only that , she will say my 8 years old gal do not like to address people....when people tell her off her 32 month old smart grand daugher
also sama sama,. she will say aiya, she got mood one...seee

Anyway, they can say what they say, what matter is what we as parents think...good day...

Thanks! I am better now. Going for my amnio test this Friday.

Sop,
I agree with Joy. The comparison between babies and kids are endless and it can come from friends, relatives, colleagues, etc...As long as we know our babies are alright is ok for us :p

Sop your grill mackerel make me drool... cos cat love fish mah.. keke!

i can imagine, so noisy and lack of sleep..
i went back to KL last weekend, aiyoh my boy also cry & cry, till everyone thot something wrong with him.. but imagine lack of sleep during the trip up as he get too excited refuse to sleep in the car... then when sleep there is a totally new place thus he get cranky and make lots of noise...

finally i got to see my niece, she is so pretty, eye big big, i disturb my sis did u get the wrong baby from the ang moh next door? she said no, cos her hb watching them taking her out during cesearan.. haha!

Krisjoy, all the best and have a good rest after the test.

Annlee, how u feeling and did u get the claim from them?

Check with you gals, do u have any post natal massage lady to recommend?
you can PM me, i have a fren asking.. tia!

Read some where that we should not be consuming too much frozen fish stole in the supermarkets as they may have a higher content of mercury from a parenting article here.

Littlecat,
Thanks. So you survived the trip with your boy!
Not easy to travel with a toddler right?

Pris,
Thanks for the info. This only applies to frozen fish right?