Cooking Tips & Recipe

Annelise and Sop

Yesterday I was very tired so get the maid to do the muffin.Oil was cut down to half and ended up same problem...hard on top and inside uncook...She make the plain version.

Later, I want to try putting in banana and bake it myself...Do you all think by setting the oven using the fan function will help the heat to go around more evenly then just the oven itself?Thanks....

Maybe I lower the temp to 150 with fan on?Thanks...Oh yes, do I double the ingredients if I want to make double portion?Eg, oil double also?

Hi Joy, I'm not the baking expert lah, just that I bake often so I learn from trial and error
I didn't know that some ovens can disable the fan function. Mine the fan will auto switch on whenever I bake. Since your heat source is from the top, then you should place the rack lower so that the top doesn't cook too fast. You should also preheat the oven for about 20 mins to half an hour so that the heat distribution is more even. 150 deg is a bit low, maybe try 170 deg first and if the muffin still not done, then lower to 150 deg for the last 10 mins?

Yes, you have to double all the ingredients. Good luck, hope it turns out well!

Hi Annelise

Thanks. Maid used 150 deg throughout and the middle rack, still top hard and uncook...If put 170 deg, it will burn even more right?Did try to put the lowest rack, also ended up same problem...

Oh yes, do we need to use a mixer when we make muffin...I highly suspect my oven need overhaul...hahahaha

Hey Soph,

I'm still bfing my bb, plus porridge or mashed potatoes now. When I had dd1, the nurses at the polyclinic encouraged semi solids at 4 months, but recently, when ds went for jabs, we were asked to feed semi solids starting from 6 months.

My ds also wakes up 2-3 times at night! Sometimes, i give FM for the last feed, I find that it's still the same

My dds were on bottle FM for the last feed for about 3 yrs, then they started using training cups, so far their teeth is quite alright.

Hope my 5 cents worth helps, .. I know it's not easy coping. Every sat and sun, I'll have some time on my own for a few hrs, while hb takes care of the 3. YOu take care ;) It's a passing phase and it'll soon be over..

Hey anne, the bk is called "you4 nao3 kai1 fa1",it's a chinese bk, there's also one on left brain.. If you go to popular tampines during the weekdays, the lady at the service counter will help u find the book.. She wears glasses and is quite helpful. During weekends, they r quite busy.. There's another English bk called the "Absolute Genius" Right brain IQ by Lino Teratani, it's quite a good bk too..

Hey ladies, I just cooked jap sweet potatoes, potatoes, beef and fish for my bb, then blended the combi, very yummy!

And also stewing apples in the slow cooker, first peel and cut the apples, add some water to the apples and cook for a few hrs.. The apple juice is good for the bigger children as well as babies.. Mash up the cooked apples, you have apple sauce for bb's dessert..

Sop, Annelise
Wan to check with u, me bake muffin yday. But the muffin come out 'oh lu lu' lei.
Initially, I follow Sop's recipe put for 20min n 175 degrees, center of muffin nt ready yet so i put for abt another 10 min. Everything ok but out kind of dark brown lei.

Hi Joy, electric mixer is not nec - I use a small whisk. Yeah, guess it's better to get the oven checked out

Hi Choc, thanks for the titles - will hunt for them so tt dd1 has something to do during the June hols. She's always complaining of being bored! Wah, didi is pretty adventurous with food - what a yummy variety you've cooked for him!

Hi Vincent, I've only read the Pregnancy & Confinement Cookbook by Ng Siong Mui. It's a great book to get. Happy cooking!

Hi Cecelia, I haven't tried Sop's recipe, so I'm not too sure. The recipe I use is slightly different cos' it's for cupcakes but the steps are the same. Just that I use 1/4 cup more flour, 1 more egg and 1/4 cup more sugar. Are your muffin cups very big? I usually use the ones that are about 4 cm in diameter. Maybe next time if you find that the inside is not quite cooked you could put a piece of foil to lightly cover the tops so that they don't burn?

ariesan,
We do take eggs (except my dd who is allergic). My muffins have eggs lah, cause if I use egg replacer, it taste different.

Can share your recipe? TIA!

Hi Cecelia,
Could it be that your oven is too hot that's why it came out dark on the outside but still uncooked inside?

Sorry for this late reply on the muffin cos I'm at my mum's during the day now, no computer there...

Choc,
Thanks for info and enouragement... heee, guess I was just looking for easy way out to skip the night feeds. Eh, your ds' food sounds yummy!

Hubby just went Taiwan for a month, and I thought of going to stay with my mum, but guess what? My little princess decided she didn't like sleeping in a strange environment and refused to sleep from 9pm to 1:30am no matter how we coax her. In the end, packed everything and went home... so now just going to mum's place in the daytime.

I think at this rate my princess is torturing me, I'll stop at 1 kid... even though I had hoped for 2 or 3 kids, but really no energy leh.. old liao.

hi sophie,
Dun be so disheartened. It will get better as time pass. I also had a hard time when my DD is younger, but now I hope for a 2nd one. So jia you!!

Sop,

That's why I peifu those mummies who have 2/3 and looking after on their own. How to manage???

Sop

Hang in there...this is a process of child upbringing...Most of us been through it...it will past...just enjoy all the little moment with her...when you look back...you will smile...

Just came back from Alberta yesterday in the nite.

Sop, hang in there, it will pass. I am longing for #2 now as ds is getting bigger and wants to have more playmates.

Thanks for the enouragement

Today went out shopping at Orchard with my mum & sisters cos we all need to get dresses for my bro's wedding, but didn't manage to get one for myself cos not that much time to look around while bf half the time.

But still, it's very enjoyable going out with family as there're lots of them to help me take care of baby... I'm quite thankful that at least my baby is willing to sit in her stroller.

Joy,
Peifu you lah... looking after your 2 kids by yourself... yep, nowadays when I wake up int he night to bf, I tell myself that this special moment is just between her and me

Cecelia,
Forgot to ask you, is your oven the built-in type or the tabletop type? I know some tabletop types are hotter than built-in ones, like when I use my friend's Tefal tabletop one to make kueh lapid, we actually have to leave the door slightly ajar so the cake won't burn.

Pris,
What did you do in ALberta? What's it like?
I think my brother "bought" some land in ALberta thru' those landbanking companies.

Hope you'll have a Made-in-Canada #2 soon

Sop, we went there for a two week holiday on our own after our short trip to Seattle with friends.

We went to many towns there sightseeing, tracking etc. A lovely place and it is still very cold now and so places will still snowing when we were there.

Visited the rockies, many other mountains and lots of lakes and also brought ds to a few educational sites like the Dinosaur Parks and Tyrell Museum.

Lots of places to sort before posting as we used a couple of cameras.

Alberta is very big so lots of town and cities in the province and there are lots of farm around. And you can travel for 1-3 hours just looking at farm, horses, cows etc.

Here's some photos for our Seattle trip to see the Tulip Festival and Oyster Farm, did not do much sight-seeing as we were with friends who are more interested in shopping.

Photos taken by dh and friends (just sharing a few as there are so many)

790024.jpg

790025.jpg

790026.jpg

790027.jpg

Photos taken by Kai
790028.jpg

790029.jpg

Oyster Farm
790030.jpg

790031.jpg

Long time no chat! Been very busy at work.

Need some advice from all of you...do you think is safe to leave the maid alone with the babies at home? Cos my MIL does not want the maid in her house as she feels very uncomfortable. My parents stay too far away so I can't afford the time to drive to and fro every day. Thot of getting baby sitter to look after 2 babies in future but the fees will be high! Sigh...

KrisJoy
Actually, not advisable to leave maid alone with babies. U never know what they are up to and babies are too young to tell you if the maid did something to them.
Why dun u tell u MIL that the maid will help her do housework while she play with the babies? Old people are more resistant to maids, esp if communication is a prob. My sis has a maid at home but other than cleaning and washing, her MIL who is staying with her refuses to let her do anything with regards to her son or any cooking at all.

Wow ! Prisc, Very nice pictures ! drool* drool
YUMMY! OYSTERS!

Hey Soph, the reason for me to bf at night and not make FM is bcos I'm too lazy to get up to make FM, hehe.. This little boy is really diff from my girls too.. he's more fussy ! I have to sit up to rock this one to sleep in the middle of the night sometimes, just to stop him from suckling..if not, he'll scream until my ang wakes up !

Anything you need to know, just pop your questions here, we are all more than willing to help u if not, lend you our ears ;) You'll soon be full of experience and you will be very steady liao !

Hi Pris,
So "siok"!

Dear all I have a question, why is it that whenever I bake a sponge cake if I double the size (2sets of ingredients), I will have problem folding in the flour? It will have flour lumps, end up my sponge cake become a flop!
Can you all advise? TIA!

hi Joy,
Thanks for the mail!

Prisc,
I didn't know got so many things to do in Alberta! I love walking and trekking in the mountains and near lakes... so serene!

Krisjoy,
I think the girls are right - not safe to leave 2 young babies with maid alone... if you really have to do that, at least wait till baby can talk?
My friend left her baby with her Indo maid last time, then later found out her Indo maid has been soliciting Bangledesh construction workers nearby while my friend is out at work! Baby is too young so cannot tell her what he's been doing the whole day too.

How about infant care? Would it be cheaper than 2 babysitters? Not the best solution as some pple don't like infant care...

Choc,
Thanks for advice!
Hmm... your boy so fussy huh? I thought girls normally more fussy.

Yesterday I was nice and called MIL, asked if she wants to see baby and if she wants, I'll bring baby to see her since hubby is in Taiwan for a month.
My MIL replied that she is very busy this week, ask me how is baby.
Told her baby is rejecting bottle and strange environment, and she quickly said that baby take after me, so stubborn and fussy!
Made me fuming mad.... so I told her more like take after her other son cos when her younger son don't get what he wants, he used to cry till he faints.
Think she got shocked that I talked back at her

Muffin and Sophie,
Thanks for the advice! I am planning to leave the elder one with baby sitter and younger one with maid. My sister has an Indo maid whom we can trust. She is willing to transfer to me but her maid is not very experienced with babies so we have to train her. I am still considering lor.

Sohpie,
Your MIL must be speechless! :p Can you cope without your hubby for a month? If not, why not move to your mom's month temporarily?

Krisjoy,
Heee... I think my MIL probably was, and quickly changed the subject and avoided talking more about her younger son's behaviour.

I tried moving to my mum's place leh - carted all baby's and my stuff there the night before hubby left, then baby could not sleep from 9:30pm to 1:30am, no matter how we coax her or I latch her.
The minute she closes her eyes, she opens them again and started looking around.
In the end, had to call hubby to come fetch me at 2am to go home.
When in car and I told baby we're going home, she fell asleep.
Then when reached home, she roused a bit and looked around the room, then saw it's her familiar cot and my room, she fell asleep immed.
Jialat, how to take baby go travelling like that?
To think that 3 weeks ago, we stayed at my mum's place for 2 weeks leh... and now she decided she doesn't wanna sleep there anymore!

Sop

Your baby maybe is in the process of recognising place. Maybe next time you can keep your baby FAMILAR by bringing her pillow or favourite item...

Sophie,
Wow, your baby can recognise her own cot ;p Agree with Joy, maybe bring her pillow along. Or you can let her sleep with you on the same bed at your mom's place?

My gal now needs me to accompany her till she falls asleep. Then we'll transfer her to her cot in her own room.

Sop's mom:
Abt your MIL comments, I get that alot from the auntie too. Whenever the baby cry she will said he is like me, and the older one is like his dad..

Actually she is not much better than me, bad temper and inpatience too.
Now i didn't put baby there, if i still put there and she dare to say that comments in front of me, i will just tell her, the baby just like u and me!

wow so fast your baby recognize place liao..

krisjoy, i leave my baby with maid at home since that incident... the aunt feed my 5months old baby with adult food.
I think it is really depend on the maid, if she can be trusted, why not?
But kind of strange for your PIL (sorry hope u dun find it offensive), rather dun want to see a stranger then leaving the grandchild with the maid. Cos my aunt dun feel uncomfortable we leave baby with maid.. but in my heart i m not comofortable to leave my baby with her.

My maid train the baby without pacifier, and now even better no need sarong also.
But the baby need someone to sleep beside him leh..

Hi Pris, nice photo and yummy oyster!! Did your DS try the raw oyster?

annelise, wow nice ballon Sculpture! hehe i tried that b4, aiyoh.. all burst leh.. guess i am just too chor-loh on this. My maid manage to make one doggy for DS.

Little cat, yeap,my boy ate the raw oyster. And today he had salmon and tuna sashimi, and he likes it haahaa.

Sop, ds was alittle like that too when he was young but we kept bringing him out and allow him to sleep at different places and after awhile, he is able to sleep all over the place. Ds does not need a pacifier and no sarong too.

Now that he is bigger, he knows that he can stay over at my mum, in-laws or even my aunt and cousins' place, so when he is tired when we were in Singapore, he would just sleep as we have told him these are our family.

Lots of thing to do in Alberta, it all depends on which town you are in. Banff, Jasper, Calgary, etc are all in Alberta. We went to the rockies, Sulphur Mountain etc in Banff and lots of lakes like emerald lake, lake louise, etc and then brought ds to columbia icefield to see the glacier,

Krisjoy, it depends on how trustworthy the maid is. I can't comment much as I do not have a maid.

Hey Soph, your MIL macham not easy to get along with leh ! My MIL is also sometimes like that..When she and the conf nanny were together in the last time, she kept comparing her std with the nanny's .. I really buay tahan ..

My boy is also beginning to recognise people and places.. come june, when my hb will be away for a wk, I'll be staying with my mum.. think will be jia lat also

Made potato, carrot soup with pork ribs today and added some celery and tomatoes, the soup was very "sweet"

Joy, Krisjoy,
Yeah, I think I'll try packing baby's musical mobile when I go to my mum's place next time, see if she can sleep there. She can sleep there in the daytime, but come nighttime, she seems to want to find her "nest".

Krisjoy, At my mum's place, I actually latch and slept with baby on the same bed, but somehow she seems to know it's a different house.

Pris,
Calgary... that's right... I think that's where my bro "bought" the land thru landbanking company in SG... taht's why I thought Alberta only got oil
Didn't know got nice mountains and lakes!

LittleCat,
You're really lucky to have such a good maid, can train your ds somemore! *envy*
My sis' recent new maid got sent back cos she refused to do any work, just kept standing there looking at my sis while my sis do the chores.
Then when my mum helped to wash the dishes cos the maid was taking so long with other chores, the maid asked my mum how come never clean the stove too?!!

LittleCat, Choc,
I think our MILs and LittleCat's auntie all the same... all not easy to get along.
When I was pregnant, I already knew MIL was disappointed it's a girl and not a boy.
Recently my mum told me that MIL said something like that to her at baby's first mth celebration... so bad right?
MIL keep saying she is very westernised and modern, yet prefers boys to girls... I think I won't bother to bring baby to see her lah.

Sop,
I c. That means your dd is really smart! She knows how to differentiate places

Littlecat,
Sigh. My MIL is very old liao so maybe she is so resistent to having a stranger in her house. This resistence could be stronger than seeing her granddaughter being alone with a maid at home.

Pris,
Your ds is so handsome! I think he already looks like a Japanese!

MIA for awhile... went to phuket 2 weeks ago and is great although is hot hot hot but is very fun, now my skin is still so dark but I prefer peh peh type hee.... My dss is crazy for the pool and beach, we went there 3 days only and when my ds1 knew that we're leaving for the next day, he cries and wanted to stay longer and don't want to come back home, OMG!! The massage is cheap and good, for 1hr45min massage and 15mins herbal massage cost only S$30. Seafood in phuket is quite good but not cheap.Over there, we had seafood, thai steamboat and thai food.

sop,
I remembered when having my ds1, I'm super tired and he's not easy to take care so I tell myself 1 is enough. When he's older,about 2 yrs old, everything gets better and at that point of time then I decided to have one more baby. So don't give up hor....
Little sophie so clever...can recognise places to sleep, my nephew is 7-8months now and he cried very badly almost every night and for hours, don't know why, so poor thing...

krisjoy,
my another nephew was taken care by the maid when he is 4 months old till now and he's turning 2 this month, so far so good... no complains from my sis at all, but again...must have a good maid to take care of baby.

Last night I made a simple fast claypot rice for dinner, I put some chicken wings, chicken meat, mushroom and 1 packet of HomeGourmet(can't rmr the brand) claypot spice. Throw everything into the rice cooker and is ready. Surprisingly it taste quite good. But I think must marinate the chicken to have a better taste of it. I also put some chinese sauasge and chai sim veggie. Also made some belachan chilli for the rice and is so spicy, is because my maid is using chilli padi hee...

Sop
yeah thank god i have a good maid this time. She even toilet train my baby, so most of the time he is diaper free.

haha your sis's maid, classic man!

yeah lor why so westernised alrdy stil so much peference.

yeah my aunt-in-law not easy to get along. imagine just an auntie alrdy like that, if is his mom, i won't marry him!

krisjoy, ic... it really depend on maid, but since the maid u have seen and sort of know her, i think should be ok? cos my maid is totally stranger. I monitor her during my 3 months confinement and talk to her frequently to find out how she is. When she talk she always refer to the kids she use to take care, from there u can see she really like kids.
We always joke tat she is the god-mother to my baby. She cook porridge hor must make sure everyday diff flavor one, like today, heng-chye, tomorrow the tiny french beans, another day carrot, then potato, then peas...

My ds1 told the auntie yesterday, he is her bao-bei, dad & mom's bao-bei is didi...
sigh.... end up i so scare have to repeat few time to him b4 bed that he & didi are our bao bei..

littlecat, wah...your maid toliet train your baby!! So expert!! I don't know how to train my ds1, only when he grow older and automatic he'll go by himself after a few times i told him to go toliet without peeing in his diaper. I'm actually very impatient person and don't like the mess, so I ask my maid to train my ds2 but she's lazy i think...impatience like me waiting at the potty for them to pee...

How i wish my maid is like yours...also can save diaper$$

LittleCat,
Woah, you maid really pampers your ds hor? Everyday different flavoured porridge... and so smart, can toilet train him so early!

Oh dear, your ds1 feeling insecure issit? Yeah must keep repeating, and maybe one of these days, take a day off, just spend the day on outing with ds1?
(Altho I think you did that with him at Botanic Gardens before hor?)

Krisjoy,
My mum also wonders how come kids nowadays can so fast recognise places and people... she says kids last time "gong gong" one... only recognise things at 6-7mths. So I told her that's cos she never start talking to me in the womb

Nancy,
Just did the 5am feed, then cannot sleep liao, so log on to read stuff

Yeah, the maid is quite classic... eat more and bigger sized than any other pple, but no strength to even move the coffee table to mop under it! Then very clumsy, knocks into everything and wake the babies when mopping floor *faintz*

annlee,
Long time no see!
Hey, your claypot rice sounds good... just what I need cos I am cooking one-pot dish nowadays for both lunch and dinner... shall try it!

Eh, you like being peh peh hah? I just ordered the Whitening Treatment from Vitasence leh... let u knwo if it's good!
I think Krisjoy used it before and said not bad right?

Sop
Agree with littlecat n nancy. Your SIL did the right thing sending her back. I hate it when they act blur n to think she has the guts to tell ur mom to clean the stove!!! I hv never encounter such maids before. I had one weird on before, she wasnt bad only thing is that she dun talk much. You can give her instructions and halfway, she would juz turn n do her stuff. But she does her job well and has initiative so we kept her for 4 years. Only my BIL cant stand her, he was scolding her till he was red in the face, but she juz gave him the 'blank' look and walk off halfway thru the scolding. That was classic as my BIL is known for his super bad temper.

annlee,
Glad that u enjoyed your trip! Hey, your claypot rice sounds very good leh. I thot of trying it out sometime next week. Need to add dark soya sauce? If I need to buy bottled sambal chilli, u know of any good brand?

Littlecat,
I am really impressed with your maid leh. Is she Indonesian? Sounds like she has a lot of initiative. How did you choose her? Any specific criteria?

Sop,
Yeah, these days the kids are much brighter. Guess is the folic acid and AHA etc that makes them so smart ;p I've tried Vitasence whitening essence before. It is quite good, not oily. Do you know now we did to order at least 2 items before they deliver for free? I've since changed the brand of my cleanser. I bought from a colleague who is doing MLM. So far quite good lah..

Sop, now we scare she will pamper him too much next time i can't cook like this if she is gone! :p

Krisjoy, it is really luck.
I ask fren for agency to recomend, but at the end i choose this without any recommendation.
When i check her bio data, only mentioned she has experience with young kids, but didn't mention baby. Then we base on she is the eldest dd, the look is ok, no experience in SG or MY, we dun want ex sg cos scare they too smart. But the last deciding point was later the agent updated her bio data with experience in hospital as an assitance nurse in maternity ward.
THen turn out to be she taking care of the ex employment kids, both from baby till toddler. So she has plenty of experience. Then with experience in hospital so she quite use to carrying baby esp new born.

She told me the two baby she look after last time, one 7 months already without diapers, another one slight late which is 8months!
wah piang, my ds1 is like 4yo still on diaper when sleeping...... and now every nite 12-1am must wake him up to go toilet if not will flood...

She learn quite fast too, i ask the CL to teach her how to cook, now my hb prefer her cooking alrady and i am also happily outsource it to her :D
She know quite alot of thing but sometime pai seh dare not say. so it's quite different from some where they said they know alot but actually know nothing.

She know how to massage, simple sewing, cooking (indonesia & chinese), with hospital experience she is quite hygenie by nature and also knowledge on some kids problem, best still she even write novel while she is at home last time. and that day she told me her book got published!!

I think the most important is her attitude willing to learn, got initiative, and love kids this is very important.

She is Indonesia, only thing is her english no good. I encourage her to learn english cos also to her benefit, if next time i become sahm no need maid, she can work with other singapore family that only speak english.

cupcake,
Hee... I can imagine an employer scolding the maid and the maid just walk off like that... your poor BIL!

Eh, my sis also had a weirdo maid before - sent her back after 2 days. The maid doesn't talk much, her eyes just follows my sis whatever my sis does. Then my sis ask if she's got sanitary pads, if not my sis buy for her. She said she has and then the next day my sis found her panty all stained with blood hanging in the toilet!

Krisjoy,
Yeah, I just saw the 2 items delivery footnote. But it's ok for me, cos I normally order at least 2 cleansers at one go.
I also just started using the Cell Renewal Serum, not bad leh... better than those grainy scrubs. And I haven't been for a facial since I was 7 mths pregnant!

Eh, MLM products cannot mention in the forum issit? Hee.. I kaypoh to know which brand it is...

LittleCat,
Woah, your maid is really good leh!
But I think you better spend your weekends learning cooking from her, else next time when she's gone, your ds sure will have difficult time adjusting!

I just got a private Lactation Consultant to come to my place to help me clear my lumpy breast just now. I have been massaging my breasts wrongly that's why breasts all bruised and milk still stuck inside. Now 1 breast cleared liao... so happy. The other breast just waiting for my princess to wake up later to help clear it

And actually my baby doesn't have to feed that long - just that sometimes my ducts get blocked and then she comfort sucks. So the LC also taught me how to do breast compression to get milk out so baby got motivation to suck. She said can go shopping and no need to get stuck at home like now... think I must get over this and start going out more!