Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hi, does anyone knows where to get lentils? Is it the same as Chana Dhall? I can only find Chana Dhall in NTUC which looks similar to lentils. Wonder if they are the same thing? Thanks.

Here you go my pics:
767178.jpg

Hi Kim,
you can try NTUC the section selling the Organic or the section selling dried grains (beans etc.).

Otherwise you might have to try the Organic shops, they have many different types.

Do you have any recipe to share on how to cook cordyseps. What to be added and must cook for how long? Tot of cooking some to bu bu sheng zi but don't know how to cook :p

Nancy
Thanks! I will try it out

Mikko,
My MIL usually cook cordyceps with chicken and just boil the soup for a few hours. Though is simple, it taste good leh ;p I also eat the cordyceps..

hi gals!
Long time never come in. 4th day with baby alone at home and I'm tired out... so much so that i forgot to close my fridge door this afternoon and my EBM spoilt

Will catch up on the postings when I am free.

mikko,
For cordyceps, my sinseh's recipe for "bu" during my pregnancy in 3rd trimester is cordyceps + pao sheng + red dates + wolfberries + pork, then double boil for 3hrs.
Drink the soup and eat the meat.
Then you can strain the cordyceps and paosheng, keep in fridge, then the next day add some new red dates and wolfberries and meat, and half the amount of water and double-boil again for another 3 hrs.
2nd dosage is of course less potent cos we're re-using the paosheng and cordyceps, but still got some effect since cordyceps is so expensive!

I tried cordyceps cos LittleCat took it and her baby's first cries are LOUD, and guess what? My baby is super loud for a 2.5kg little thing too

Miss all of you. Internet was down over the few blocks of apartments over here.

Just return from Seattle after a short trip there to see tulip festivals and will be MIA for another 2 weeks as we are heading to Calgary to see Rocky Mountain.

Have taken somemore photos on food but yet to have time to post.

Congrats to Krisjoy and Starz!

Cupcake, like you, we are also trying for #2. Thinking we should relax and enjoy the process and do not get stress up! Hope to hear your good news and mine too.

Hi everybody !

Hey nancy, your vege dumplings look very good leh.. Did you buy the dumplings or made it yourself ? What didya put inside ? I always love ku chye kueh

Hey Anne, thanks for wanting to help me bbsit didi while baking but this little one has been very sticky and is quite a light sleeper.. guess the only time I can bake is late at night !

Hey talking about assessment bks,I share your interest! I just bought one book in chinese(tho I can't read chinese well), it's about training the left and right brain for kids from 4 to 10. It's has interesting activities for kids to work on like patterns ,shapes and logical sequencing.

I also bought a cheesecake bk by Catherine Lau, hehe.. yet to try out the recipes, but my friend told me its quite good..

Hey lyn, I had cabbage and lentils at Muthu's curry last sunday, was quite nice, now that i remembered, they also had spinach with lentils and cumin, dunno what other ingredients they added..

Wah Prisc, nice to hear from you.. with all these nature walks , it's really a lifely classroom for ds! Enjoy your stay there!Absorb as much fresh air as possible there ..

Hi ariesan and choc06,
I used frozen dumplings available at vegetarian suppliers. Sorry didn't reply earlier as I was attending a online course on teaching the right brain and had to complete the summary to send to the instructor.

Pris, thanks for your wishes!

Sophie,
Did not hear from u for a while..really miss u leh ;p How's your little princess doing? U get used to the routine oredi? My gal is now coming to 6 months and they sleep lesser now. Last nite she slept at around midnite so daddy and mummy have panda eyes today!

Starz,
How are you doing? How is Ayden now? U started him with cereals oredi? I tried giving them to my gal but she does not like it..so sad

Choc,
I also love ku-chye kueh. I used to buy them from East Coast Road. Can't remember the shop name though..I will pan-fry them back home..

Nancy,
U so on har.... which uni online study u are attending?

Hv u ever bought frozen dumplings from NTUC? Any good brands which u can recommend? I bought a brand called seawaves but find it the filing is only abit.

Krisjoy n Choc,
The dumpling from international building, 2nd floor oso selling good dumpling.

hi ladies....

krisjoy,
im still e same.. "fighting" not to vomit everyday... putting up with SUPER WEIRD cravings... (like craving for salted vege tat we eat wif porridge)...
A is okay, getting to b reli active n noisy... i started him on cereals when he was 5mths old.. since then hv introduced apple, carrots, pumpkin, potato... so far, he's quite ok with all these, he love e butternut squash pumpkin e best (cos quite sweet)... mayb u can try some of these on ur girl, or else, wait a few days b4 u try to give her cereals again...

cecelia,
i bought frozen vege dumplings from NTUC b4, but cannot remember e brand, packaging is blue/green with pic of e dumpling... but not good too, no matter how "short" a duration i put it in e soup, e skin juz breaks open n all e fillings falls out.....

Hi everyone. Been busy with my tamagotchi and playing with my dds' Hama beads. Here's a pic of one of our creations:

775400.jpg

It's quite fun - helps to keep them occupied the whole afternoon!

Hi sophie, yeah it's tough coping alone with bb initially - but it'll get easier as both of you establish a routine together!

Hi choc, the assessment book sounds interesting! You bought it from Popular? What's the title? My dd1 used to be a light sleeper too! I remember having to run all the way to the backyard whenever I needed to sneeze or cough! My friend's mil used to make really yummy koo chye bao - she used to bring an extra one for me to the office for my breakfast.

Hi gohong, I just took a look at your yummy blog again! Happy Birthday to you! Your inlaws are so nice to buy you a cake and celebrate your bday with you! They must dote on you a lot!

annelise - thanks..the relationship between me and my inlaws are ok lah..we had our bad time too..so now i guess it should be the good time for us..

cupcake,
You mean the potato salad?
I cannot find it in the Yahoo DB too, but let me try to recall... it shd be:
- potatoes boiled and cut into cubes
- a bit of small onions chopped finely
- hard boiled egg, mashed roughly with fork
- bacon bits
- Jap Mayo

-> Mix all the ingredients together and you get a potato salad... remember must use Jap mayo cos the angmoh mayo more sourish, not so creamy and nice.

** For myself, I don't like theo store-bought bacon bits, so I will buy back bacon (less fats), cut then into small pcs and then fry them to add into salad... I find this more tasty.
I also add frozen green peas (boiled) for a bit of color and to force kiddies to eat their greens

Joy,
This one is ver good and super easy to make:

Banana Walnut Muffins

To sift together as (A):
1 cup plain flour
1/3 tsp salt
1/3 tsp bicarbonate soda

1/2 cup oil (corn oil will be good)
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
3 bananas, roughly mashed
1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celcius.
2. Stir oil and sugar together
3. Beat in egg. Mixture will turn gluey.
4. Mix in (A)
5. Stir in vanilla essence, bananas and walnuts
6. Fill muffin cups up to 3/4 full
7. Bake in preheated oven at 180 degrees Celcius for 20mins.

Tip:
- Use ang bak bananas and make sure they are very ripe so muffins will smell more fragrant
- To ripen bananas, put the bunch in a plastic bag and tie it up. Ripening bananas give out ethylene which makes fruits ripen faster. To speed up the process even faster, put an apple in it as apple emit even more ethylene.
- Using 2.5 muffin cup, you should yield about 7 muffins with one recipe
- I only "roughly" mash the bananas i.e. I leave about half of the quantity in "lumps". This makes the muffin nicer as you get these little sweet surprises in your muffins.

hi lyn & other mommies who TBF,
Can I check with you some silly questions on bf?

1. You totally latch on right? So your ds did not take bottle at all? Then how you feed watery semi solids like mi(3) hu(2) at 4mths+ ?

2. Did you try to feed ds bottle and did he reject it? How you convince him to take bottle?

3. If ds totally TBF, does your ds sleep thru the night? And if so, when? Cos my baby still wakes up every 2-3 hrs in the night to feed, and I heard from my aunt that her dentist say that bf in the night causes cavities (her boy got 11 cavities and spent $2k filling them).

My baby is already rejecting the bottle filled with EBM, and I haven't been out to cut my hair or go out at all, so very sian, although it's is enjoyable being with baby but still need my own time once in a while.

And cos my baby doesn't sleep thru the night yet and still bf in the night, I am also afraid of cavities plus I read that older babies need to sleep longer for brain development, so very tempted to give her 1 FM feed in the evening leh. But my baby doesn't take FM very well, gives her wind and indigestion problems.

Krisjoy,
My little princess is doing fine, very strong-willed leh... we cannot talk about her over her head. She seems to understand and will protest!
Everyone mistakes her for a boy too

Annelise,
Yeah, I just realised how important routine is, and just started implementing it this week. Hope it's not too late!

Sop,
Not every bb who is nite bf will hv cavities lar...
(so far din heard any except now u mention ur aunt's case). BF's bb need more time to intro them to bottle. My frend's son who is tbf ok with bottle ebm when my frend nt around.

Joy,
Can. I think I have it somewhere that can replace with apples etc, and I think Annelise made something similar using pineapples before, but not sure if Annelise used this recipe.
I'll go dig out my recipe file and post the instructions for the apple one.

Cecelia,
Thx. Funny thing is my baby is not ok with bottle if someone else feeds her. But if I latch her on for 1 or 2 mins, then give her the bottle myself explaining to her that sometimes it's good to take Mommy's milk in the bottle e.g. if Mommy sick and cannot latch her, then she will be OK.
That's why I feel like I got no life leh... hair is in a mess, have not gone for facial for ages... still wearing maternity bottoms cos no time to buy new clothes and still cannot fit into my pre-pregnancy bottoms yet

Sop
Thanks for taking the trouble....It will be good if I can have the recipe for apple muffin instead...thanks again

Where is Annelise?Have not seen her post for quite a while...

Sophie, ur question not silly lah.

1. You totally latch on right? So your ds did not take bottle at all? Then how you feed watery semi solids like mi(3) hu(2) at 4mths+ ?

I dun really understand this question. Y do u feed ur gal mi hu? Other than BM ur dd does not need water or anything else. But if u want to feed her water, can use spoon. Or dropper, but will take ages.

2. Did you try to feed ds bottle and did he reject it? How you convince him to take bottle?

I think it depends on baby. I rem when I went to cut my hair for 1st month celebration, my CL manage to feed my gal EBM using bottle. But my niece totally reject bottles when she was young and my MIL fed her using spoon. Different temperaments.

3. If ds totally TBF, does your ds sleep thru the night? And if so, when? Cos my baby still wakes up every 2-3 hrs in the night to feed, and I heard from my aunt that her dentist say that bf in the night causes cavities (her boy got 11 cavities and spent $2k filling them).

My gal wakes up in the nite to feed till she was 14 months n eating more solids. I had no life also till recently. But ren abit more lah, it will pass. Ask ur mom or MIL to jaga abit, or bring baby out with another person. Roughly gauge the timing so that u can BF b4 or after haircut or facial.

Cavity thing is new, I never hear of BF baby having them before. My pd ever said that its a bad habit to sleep while drinking milk from bottle as it encourages cavities but never mention abt BF. U can start to clean her gums using a wet cloth daily to develop good dental habits.

Hv u read Gina Ford's book? Her methods seems to work for some babies, maybe u wanna try?

I hv a question also. I used a pack of beef from supermarket to stir fry with brocolli. Dunno y, but I find that the beef smell v strong. And its not as soft as those I ate at those zhi char store. I actually tried a few times, at 1st I thot I overcooked the meat so I reduce the cooking time but still the same. Something is juz not rite. Does anyone know wat mi4 jue2 does those stall use? I bought those clearly indicated for stir fry or shd I buy those for sukiyaki?

Sophie
In that the case ur princess is not tat type of v stuborn lor nt like my frend's ds nt taking anything from the bottle AT ALL only when mother is not at home then he will taking from bottle. She still ok with bottle when u explain to her the reason. Have u ever out from house n MIL/mum jaga ur dd? U try dat n c what is ur dd's reaction. If she is ok with grandparent then u can have ur ME time once in a while.

Sophie,
oso wan to thx u for the muffin recipe. Intend to do muffin with son this weekend so he can bring to school on monday.

Joy,
Here you go...
If you want to make apple muffins, replace bananas with 2 big apples (not the fuji kind of big, but the normal kind of apples), roughly chopped up. Then add a pinch of cinammon or allspice. If you find it a bit dry, can add a 1 or 2 tbsp of milk.

If you just want a muffin without any fruit, replace the fruit with half a cup of milk.

Cecelia,
No prob on the muffin recipe. This is a really easy and yummy recipe, but I personally prefer the banana one cos more pang.

I haven't gone out with Mum/MIL leh... MIL is retired but busy travelling now after helping me out for first 6 weeks. Think she scared leh, cos she never offered to help me after that
She kept saying my baby very impatient and fierce, keep wanting to be carried etc
Mum has to look after my sis' 7.5mth old boy, so most weekdays I am cooped up at home alone with baby cos hubby also works till very late and travels alot. I only bring baby downstairs for walks, haven't even venture out as far as supermarket cos I don't know how to handle baby plus groceries if she cries. Think I should start to go out further soon.

cupcake,
I asked about the mi hu cos my friend said at 4 mths can start to feed semi-solids, and her mum feeds her 4mth-old baby very diluited mi hu mixed with milk thru the bottle, and can last the baby longer than just ebm.
If baby can last longer, that means I will have more time to myself, so I was looking forward to that.

Sophie,
Sometimes u can go to ur mum plc during weekdays lor to change envi. Me after my confi hang out at my mum plc. I take it as jalan jalan. Mood will be betta lor
as dun like the feeling of coping at home all the time.

Sophie,

I take it that mi hu is rice cereal? Sorry but I thot its the water from cooking porridge. Although some old people recommend adding cereal to milk n feed using bottles but PD usually discourage that cos it might cos choking. Anyway not too good to start semi solids so early to not tax their digestive system. IMO.

I agree with cecelia, u can ask ur hubby to drop u off at mom's place before work. Take it as jalan jalan lor. Then u can talk to ur mom abit, play with nephew etc. Mood will b better.

Sop

Looks like your muffin has no butter required, right?
Is bicarbonate soda, baking powder?

If we are making the plain muffin, do we still need to add cinammon?Thanks

cupcake,
Hee... my hubby cycles to work... cannot ask him "drop me off"

Joy,
Yep, no butter cos this recipe uses corn oil.
If you want to use butter, may have to change amount thru trial and error cos butter has a different consistency compared to the oil.

Bicarbonate of soda is baking soda, not baking powder. I think baking powder is baking soda + cream of tartar plus something else... normally makes it rise more, but for muffin we don't need it to rise so much.

If make plain muffin, no need cinammon. The vanilla essence taste will be good enough. Cinammon will taste a bit weird without apple I think.

Post us a pic of your muffins, Cecelia & Joy!

How do u make agar agar?
I got some agar agar mould. I wanna make those agar agar cake alike agar agar.

Anyone can teach here?

Cecelia,
Eh, I am not sure about olive oil leh... I know they use corn oil cos taste better, and also corn oil has a low heating point, so it's more suitable for baking/light cooking rather than frying.
(If you use corn oil for frying, you will notice it foams)

And since olive oil has a higher heating point than corn oil, the heating point should not be a factor, but whether the consistency is ok and if taste good.

Eh... if you do try, maybe can let us know?

Joy,
Have fun with your muffins!

Sop

Me also thinking of using olive oil but not sure how the consistency would be like...

I have a problem with my oven, suspect uneven heat distribution....At times, my maid bake the cake, and ended up top very hard, and inside still uncook...any idea what is the cause...I sure hope the problem lies somewhere else and not the oven....Just imagine, she can bake muffin for half an hour, top is like biscuit already and inside still uncook, follow the instruction of temp....

Joy,
Woah, your oven sounds quite extreme leh... I have not encountered anything like that.
Maybe the baking experts Van, Annelise or Choc can help?

Hi everyone, been busy over my latest craze this week - balloon twisting! It's really fun and I highly reccommend the balloons from Party With Us at Centrepoint cos' they're so much more flexible and elastic compared to those purchased from supermarkets and toy shops. It's fun for birthday parties
Here's one I made for dd1 yesterday:

779879.jpg

Hi cupcake, I think the beef at zhu chao stalls are tenderised using meat tenderisers that's why the texture is so different. I don't exactly know what brand of tenderiser they use but maybe you can try marinating the beef with some cornflour and prior to stir-frying, deep fry the beef slices in hot oil for a couple of seconds to seal in the juices? For the smell, maybe can stir fry with lots of ginger and spring onion?

Hi Cecelia, thanks
I got the pattern from Flickr.com If you're interested, I can mail you the link.

Hi Sophie, yeah I used pineapples the last time - recipe is the same but it turned out a bit too sweet. For apples, besides using cinnamon, can also incorporate some brown sugar into butter using the rubbing-in method and sprinkle on top of the cake mixture before baking - gives a nice aroma and taste!

Hi Joy, does your oven have a knob where you can adjust the heat source - whether it's top only, bottom only and top and bottom together? If it does, make sure that the setting for both top and bottom is chosen. The other possibility is the size of the cake tin. I always try to follow the size of the cake tin according to the recipe. Once I doubled a cake recipe and used a deep glass bowl to bake. After the stipulated time, the top is hard and the inside is still uncooked. In the end, I baked it for more than one and a half hours and it was finally done! Does she put the baking tray in the middle part of the oven? Or perhaps the muffin cups were placed too close to each other? Should leave a space of about 2 to 3 cm between each cup to ensure even heat distribution. Other than these, I can't think of any thing else. Last resort, have to get the oven people to come and check your oven to see if there's anything wrong with the temp calibration.

Gotta go - need to cook dinner. Catch up with you gals later

Hi hong, for agar agar, the Rose brand agar powder is very good - esp if you like agar to be nice and firm. Just follow the instructions on the package. If you want to make the layered type with coconut milk, then you need to use about 750 ml of water to make the agar then add about 250ml of coconut milk to the agar mixture and turn down to low heat. Other variations I've seen are using evaporated milk instead of coconut milk, using part sugar and part gula melaka. but I like it with coconut milk best! Btw, what do you mean by cake-like agar agar?

Annelise

I think you are a baking expert....I will take note of all the things you have said....This time round, I will bake the muffin myself....My oven is from the top...thanks so much for your input...will let you know...

Sop
Thanks...baking kurus are here to help liao...