Cooking Tips & Recipe

Sophie,
yr bb so lovely!
Dun worry abt weight lost now. Recover well first. And also u did not put on much weight during pregnancy, will be easy to lose also.

Saw following article which think very meaningful and will like to share with all mothers.

My Previous Life
By Gayle Sorensen Stringer

In my previous life, before I was reincarnated as a mother of three, I wore clothes that fit and matched. I wore makeup and curled my hair every day. I had my eyebrows waxed and my nails done. But no one gave me graham cracker kisses. No one ever told me how pretty I look in sweats.
In my previous life, I read Time magazine and the newspaper. My repartee of regular television viewing transcended Arthur and The Magic School Bus, and I devoured all the bestselling novels. But no one asked me to read The Velveteen Rabbit at bedtime. No one ever requested The Little Engine that Could.
In my previous life, I had a career and friends who were more than three feet tall. People asked for my opinions and entrusted me with important projects and confidential information. I had conversations where not once was mentioned snacks or potties or play dates. But no one asked me my favorite color or why the sky is so blue. No one ever wanted me to sing.
In my previous life, I had a life. I frequented aerobics classes, restaurants and the theater. I hosted parties where the themes had nothing to do with Star Wars or Winnie-the-Pooh. I shopped for myself and slept late on weekends. But no one made me Valentine cards. No one ever gave me dandelion bouquets.
In my previous life, I traveled, and my destinations did not hinge on theme parks or swimming pools or nap schedules. The Mayan ruins of the Yucatan, snorkeling in the Caribbean, museum hopping in Italy, Kabuki Theater in Japan . . . these were my playgrounds. I was the queen of the road and my destiny. But no one asked me to push the swing higher. No one ever invited me to splash in puddles or roll in the snow.
In my previous life, I held my emotions in check. I did not stomp my feet or grit my teeth. I could not easily be diminished to tears or tirades. I considered my demeanor as laid-back and easygoing. But, no one made me care enough to cry. No one ever just loved me, anyway.
In my previous life, I was free. I could carve my own path and follow my dreams. Nothing stood in my way. But the path was unsure and the vision blurred. No one ever gave me purpose enough to soar. Now, I endlessly rearrange piles of laundry, crumbs and toys. I am pulled and tugged, hassled and harassed, stepped on and sat upon, and desperate for some solitude. I am jean-clad and juice-stained, bleary-eyed and graying, underpaid and overwhelmed. And, sometimes I wonder who I am and what I've become. Then, one of my children shouts, "Mommy, I need you!" and it is perfectly clear.
I am the center of the Universe. I am MOM.

======

Tomorrow Valentine's day.
Wishing Everyone A Romantic Valentine's day!

Krisjoy, LittleCat and Nancy,

I always shop at the last minute heeee
Last year's reunion dinner, i got all the ingredients and cooked that very afternoon..talk about living on the edge heee

Will shop at the places you girls recommend..

Sophie,

Your dd has nice and thick hair!! I can picture her in My Melody and Little Twin Stars hairbands and clips!

Can someone tell this swa ku
kao_embarrassed.gif
here how to see Sophie's pics?

Prisc,
Thanks. Then I will not take the risk!

Mummies, any good recomendation of what I sent my friend in US? Not books as most of the book are from there, so how???

Here's what we have for dinner yesterday,

Fresh Shiitake Mushroom, Carrot and Xiao Bai Cai
693738.jpg

Sweet and Sour Prawns
693739.jpg

Skillet Sheperd's Pie (Beef)
693740.jpg

Sophie...bb is cute and wow lovely hair. Continue to tbf bb!

little cat... will type in another time for the sugee cookies, I recalled the ingredients by memory so did not type methods.

annlee,krisjoy :
sigh..yeah just ignore them and sometime i try to avoid going to pantry if got many people there..

Hi Sop, welcome back to the thread!

Did you tape her first cry?
That's good try to total breastfeed as much as possible.
Saw the photo, eh got big eye and sharp nose leh, sure will be a xiao mei ren next time :D

My D2's thigh is like lotus root, he got spare tyre also.. like mini michelin...

Ambrosial, actualy that is the smart way

For us sometime no choice got to pay more & feel like kena robbed.

thanks pris, will wait for the recepi.

Nancy, you need to be added to the Yahoo group to see the photo, i think only Annelise got the rights?

Nancy,

I'll get her something dainty and beautiful that's only available in asia.If she works, a complete set of office stationery from Muji(simple elegance) or Paperchase(cute prints) will be nice.If she's a sahm, you can send asian cookbooks, asian chopsticks with rests etc.

LittleCat,

We can't please everyone.I get comments on my weight daily, don't worry.
They say things like..
"I buy you macdonalds lah...upsize lah"
"You look so fragile that when i touch you, i may break you"
Even chicken rice uncle asks me whether want to add rice or not.

Long as I'm healthy and happy, i don't really bother much.

Hi Sophie
Congrats on the delivery of your little princess!! She is so cute!!! Has very big nice eyes and thick hair!!!

Anyone has problem with changing new notes? No more new notes in all the banks near my house,

Any ideas that can get from Raffles place?

I'm so concussed that I just realised I did not thank you guys for all your well-wishes in my previous posting.
<font color="ff0000">Thanks for all your Well Wishes and Happy Valentine's Day!</font>

With all the frequent plus night feedings, my hubby commented that he didn't realise this was what he signed up for

But I can see his heart just melt whenever the baby cries and he rushes to pick the baby up.

Going to surf the net for tips on bf with my precious 2-hr break now!

Krisjoy,
Don't feel bad about not bf-g! Bottle-feeding can be a joy too - it's just a matter of choice that's all! Most importantly, we do it with love and the baby can feel the vibes

I am still trying out TBF, not sure if I will have enough supply too, cos most girls I read in the forum pump out milk, but I got nothing to pump other than what I give to baby, so we'll see how it goes.

Hi Sophie,
Good that you are trying to TBF. I myself is still BPing my girl at seventeen months (I only give her in the morning and at night) other times she does not drink milk (except for her breakfast cereal I put FM). Its better to latch on direct (not that I am saying pumping is no good its just a matter of circumstances) as it creates stronger bonding between you and your dd (or that's how I feel)Don't need to stress yourself about the supply, if need be you can take fenugreek supplements or nettle supplements. Another thing drink a lot of milk, it really helps. Take care.

Hi Sophie

You need to get into a routine first and as demand increase, supply will increase and after feeding it is also good to use the pump to stimulate the breast to produce more. It is already if after feeding, you can pump a little by little.

Hi Prisc, Nancy,
Thanks for the advice - I'll try to use the pump. The other day I tried using it, it dodn't work cos I didn't know how to use it

Today was just terrible - baby feeds for only 10mins then falls asleep at my breast, then wants milk again an hour later but for only 10mins again... same pattern throughout the day.
Wondering if she is stressed cos we brought her for jaundice test today, got pricked and then the car ride home was a bit bumpy.

Nancy,
Our Yahoo Group URL is http://groups.yahoo.com/group/spmctr/
Need Annelise to authorise your membership.
We store lots of recipes and cooking tips in there, plus some pics of course

Thanks Sophie. Try waking dd the moment she doze off, unwrap her (if she feels too comfortable she will doze off) or whatever...

Annelise,
Can you add me into the yahoo group please?

hi ladies...

Sophie,
Welcome Back!!! n CONGRATULATIONS of seeing little princess sophie...!! she's sooooo adorable.. heart-shape face n rosy cheeks... next time sure a beauty like mummy...
wats her name???
on bf-ing.. e most impt thing is NOT to stress over it, and DONT DOUBT ur efforts / supply... rest well, drink more fluids.. latch on demand... i think rest more impt.. if u got time, then start pumping out after every session to stimulate ur supply..
e first few days wil b like dat, as bb tat young dont need to drink too much, n they juz wan to sleep.... even now, ayden stil hv tendency to sleep during bf-ing... if not then he's playing "peek-a-boo" with me while biting my nipple... *ouch*..

littlecat,
juz saw updated didi photos too... wah.. can sit by himself liaoz... look so strong n stable le.. me envy.. my ayden still a small humpty dumpty.. cant sit yet.. cant flip n neck not strong enuf too...
think he'll develop other skills first, i.e. talking cos he blabbling non-stop nowadays....

pris,
reli admire u... take care + homeschool kai, n ur household.. n yet can produce such wonderful meals almost everyday.... u r reli a "super-mom/wife"...

cookiemonster,
e article is sooo true.. n so touching.. i read until got goosepimples liaoz...

nancy,
wow!!! 17mths n still going strong on bf-ing.. reli admirable leh!!!!! juz curious, wont milk supply drop after sometime??? or if we continue bf-ing n pumping, it wil continue to come??? u r SAHM???

this yr i'm super bz preparing for CNY cos i'll b hosting it at my plc for my hb's family... expecting chaos when 10 families come together...
but it does save us e hassle of travelling everywhere with ayden...

Hope everyone had a wonderful valentine's day! n "gong xi fa cai" in advance!!!

Sophie,
Saw your gals' photos liao
She looks very like u! Does she? And she has got big eyes! ;p U rest well and u'll soon discover your baby's sleeping and feeding patterns :D

annlee,
U can try the POSB branch at Goldhill Plaza. It is usually very quite in the morning and I changed my notes there in less than 5 mins..

Starz,
Long time no hear! Ayden is babbling a lot these days? Same as my gal ;p And we keep teasing that she will be very talkative next time..hehehe..We have not tried putting her on a sitting position yet...hmm..maybe should try it and see how ;p

hi morning ladies....

Krisjoy,
hi hi... hehehe.. me nowadays dont cook/bake liaoz, paiseh to keep coming here n talk abt my pride n joy mah...
yupz, as long as he's not too sleepy & cranky, he loves to chit chat with us... n his voice is so "si wen" now lor.. like a gently boy like tat... hopefully nex time he wil continue to talk so gently.... but hor, his cries hor... wah.. neighbours can hear one ar....

ur girl girl shd be even more "sweet" n "manja" when she talking rite?????

krisjoy, thanks for the infor! Now start to worry about the notes, my hb will try and change for me.

starz, 10 families coming to ur house for dinner!!! WOW...your house must be super pack. Must be very busy preparing all the food.

sop, can try lying down side way on the bed feeding baby. Baby will fall asleep on ur bed and in the same time you can rest and take a nap with her but must be careful on ur breast not to press on her face.

Has always been reading this thread but hardly have time to post.

Re: Fresh milk vs formula
Do u know that formula actually DO NOT contain milk. Esp the ones drank by babies below one. Its diff vitamins n minerals put tog to make it like BM. so if u ask me if fresh milk powder is it better than formula, i think that's for sure. U seldom see milk powder comes with DHA, added vitamins bla, bla.. but take a look at Pediasure, u will be surprised to know that it is not from milk!

Re: Losing weight after post delivery
There's no such thing as deadline to lose weight. But what experts find out is that u will have a better chance of losing all those pregnancy weight if u lose them in the first 6 months. subsequently, it has a higher chance of sticking with u.
But not to worry, for my 1st dd, i did not manage to lose the last 2kg of preg weight after 1yr. for my 2nd dd, trying to struggle with 1 tod, 1 bb n housework plus owrk. now i slimmer (or shld be skinner) than b4.. Dun envy, my BMI is only 17. n my mum got worried n wanted my dd to wean off TBF.
Best way to lose weight?? Try to exercise with baby, take walks n stroll. (I carry dd n run around in the house when i m on maternity leave!!! Ha, ha...) Try not to cut down on food esp if u r TBF, the baby needs the nutrients too. Eat right, protein, carbo, veg.. but avoid the fattening stuff. The more u try to diet, the more have a tendency to binge. but if u eat a proper meal, chances r, u won;t feel hungry n the more u won't feel the need to binge. (Binging is the time that one is most likely to give in to unhealthy food). So during confinement, i continue to eat eggs, chicken n rice. but avoid chicken skin, chips etc

Sophie,
dun get all worried abt BF.. just rememb wat ever amt u give the baby, it will benefit. just relax. breastfeeding is not as simple as what alot of mummies perceive, it only gets easy when the supply comes in n ur baby is good at suckling. one must really perserve on... And u will usually see the rewards after a month.

Ambrosial,
When i go buy chicken rice they will auto reduce rice cos can't bear to see me grow fatter.. haha
!
starz, yeah he can sit for quite sometime, but we try not to let him sit too long also.
dun worry soon ayden will be like him.
Recently may be due to different environment at the auntie's house, he kind of like drinking less and sometime take longer time to feed.. sigh..

eh u solid leh host for 10 families, must be very tiring also..

Sop, try to lie down more cos the back need more rest.
Eh u enjoying your confinement food?

Wishing all Happy Chinese New Year and Gong Xi Fa Cai !

Will be MIA for sometime now as
1) Organise the reunion for families not going back home during the festival seasons to meet for dinner together.
2) Need to back up data and photos on my pc
3) Trying to update my blog, creating a blog especially for ds
4) Homeschool - Kai wants more stuff
5) More guests coming - now from Australia

Here's what we have for lunch and dinner yesterday. As today was Valentine's Day here, Kai has a party in school, dh met me for lunch at the mall and we had dinner at downtown restaurant.

Lunch - Baked creamy salmon, mixed vegetables pasta with cheddar cheese
695881.jpg

Dinner - Pizza make by Kai (Process on how Kai and I make the pizza from scratch, can be found in my blog soon)

In the midst of making
695882.jpg

Before baking
695883.jpg

After baking (Roast Beef, capsicum, Onion and Shiitake Mushroom Pizza)
695884.jpg

Taking this opportunity to wish all a Blessed Chinese New Year and a great year a head with many good returns!

Ambrosial, Little Cat...just do not be bothered by what other comment. It is better to stay healthy and that your bbs need the fat from your body to make the milk for them!

Pris,
Yr food looks so inviting always.
Kai is indeed very lovely right, always helping out with the chores.

Littlecat,
Pui Pui club chairman is here. Be happy, brush aside those comments not worth remembering.

Starz,
I found it very true and think its great to share.
Heee... Ambrosial, u feel like that for yr cats too?

Sophie,
Yr husband is right. Rest as much as u can okie. Yr body will need all the rest inorder to cope with the demanding care of baby also. Hee... But know its very tempting to carry baby and come to this thread.

Happy New Year!!!
kao_kiss.gif

Prisc,

Pizza looks great!

Cookiemonster,

I'm sure it's not the same with having kids, but I'm indeed a more caring, patient and happier person after having a cat.

B2B3M4,

No lah, we're a friendly bunch...
We probably had difficulties typing out your nick??

B2B3M4,
Nothing of that sort, I think everyone is just busy with CNY, you know shopping, marketing and cleaning...
Anyway, Xin Nian Kuai Le!

To all,
Gong Xi Fa Cai, Xin Nian Kuai Le, Si Si Ru yi!

Nancy and Ambrosial,
Thanks for noticing me..
Think i'm just too sensitive. Was very busy at work when i type that posting. Then no one say anything....
Dun worry. I'm ok

In fact, feel a bit dumb after posting that message.

hi hi all...

stealing abit of time to post now ayden is napping...

B2B3M4,
no lah.. u r definitely welcome... juz we all too bz liaoz.... this thread q quiet these few days too mah.....

wishing all e dear kakis here...
GONG XI FA CAI!!! CAI YUAN GUANG JING!!! SI SI RU YI!!! May everything be smooth sailing and prosperous for all in the new year!!!!! keep e good food coming!!! n BABY DUST to all those trying for a little golden piglet!!

B2,
Can I call you B2? Easier to type out like what Ambrosial says... I keep getting your alphabets and numbers mixed up

Don't feel that way about us... like the girls say, we are a friendly bunch, just that now everyone is busy with CNY and this thread is a little quiet.
Sometimes we get so busy and thread move quite fast taht we also miss some postings.
Thanks for your advice on bf - you are right, it's not as easy as it sounds!

Ambrosial,
Sorry I miss your posting on hairclips for baby earlier. Heee, yes, I'll be buying some hairclips for baby soon! So happy that baby got quite a fair bit of hair

I can just imagine you next time if you have a dd - sure decked out in sweet pink HK stuff from hair to clothes to shoes!

starz,
Heh, my dd's name is Sophie.
Surprised? Haha, Van was surprised cos she thought Sophie was my name, but it's actually not my name. It's a name I would like to have for my baby girl if I have a girl

LittleCat,
Yep, I'm enjoying the confinement food that my mum makes for me.
My MIL really doesn't know how to cook confinement food, cos that day she asked my hubby how to cook mee sua

Then when she sees me eating the kidneys and pig trotter vinegar that my mum cooked for me, she kept asking me "Do you really eat the kidneys?" and "Do you really drink the vinegar?".... haha, makes me feel like some freak from outer space!
Then she asked if I was going to freeze the leftover pig trotter vinegar, and I said no, just boil and leave it overnight, won't spoil one... you should see the shocked look on her face, like she thinks I will get some food poisoning!

To all the girls here:
<font color="ff0000">Gong Xi Fa Cai, Wan Shi Ru Yi!!</font>

Sophie,

Heheheheh they're having a BP on hair clips, they even have kitty hair clips, and it's pretty cute!!

I tried to deck Sally in HK for CNY, but she's unappreciative.Looks like I have to pin my hopes on my future dd.

hi ladies...

sophie,
yupz surprised! tot sophie was yr name too....

e Tan family wishes all a happy prosperous n super "shun li" new year... all red red machiam angbao hoping to bring luck to everyone...

698095.jpg

Sophie's mom, u really confuse us liao..
So u mean we have been 'talking' to your dd all the while ?? hehe she will be a good cook in no time!
Glad tat u enjoy the confinement food

hehe i can imagine how your MIL's reaction like, haha!!!

Starz, wow nice 'quan-jia-fu'!
Post more photo at yahoo leh...

Started work first day, breakfst, oat meal and sandwich as breakfast, hope can tahan till lunch. Try to eat some light and healthy food after CNY.

Any more healthy eating tips?

Hi mummies, I've been lurking for some time, but never really joined in cause couldnt keep up with the fast moving pace here haha. Hope you guys dont mind me intruding. I'm a sahm to my nearly 2.5yr old daughter and I love reading this thread cause I love the happy chatter going on here.

lil cat, I am also trying to stick to a healthier diet these days (for health reasons for me, not so much for weight-loss). For me, I try to avoid highly processed food, whole grains (brown rice, wholemeal bread) if possible, cut down on sugar and eliminate transfat. We also try to buy organic food whenever possible. All these sounds pretty good in words but truth is, I dont really get to do these all the time (sometimes simply not convenient, sometimes no discipline :p ), so I try my best lor, there are good n bad days for sure.

I am hoping to start baking with my daughter soon, so would like to buy a stan-alone oven(no space for built-in). Is rowenta a good brand? I heard that stand-alone ovens arent as good as those built-in types when it comes to baking cookies/cakes, I wonder if its true, does anyone know? Any tips for me when it comes to picking an oven? Any reply will be greatly appreciated

Sophie,
So this is your gal's name! :p Anyway will continue calling u by this nick name...How's things for you? So far ok? Managing your dd well?

Starz,
Ayden's hair grew back quite fast ya! I remembered seeing his botak head in the Yahoo's photo and now he has quite a lot of hair liao ;p

B2 and Berry,
Welcome!

B2, thanks for the info. Sorry din have time to reply you cos it's touch and go for me for last few days. Busy with house visiting and no time to post.

Berry,
I am using Baby Belling oven. Conventional kind, not so nice looking but can perform quite well. I heard that Delonghi is not bad. They always have demo at Tangs basement and maybe you can take a look there. Hope this helps!

Hi everybody..

How have you all been? Hope everybody had a wonderful CNY 07..

This is the spread that my mum prepared for our CNY 07 reunion lunch..There's fried chicken wings, ngoh hiang, pig stomach & button mushrooms soup, stir-fried mixed veggie, stir-fried prawns with sweet and sour sauce and my mum's specialty - ayam buah keluak..

699975.jpg

My gers enjoying their reunion lunch

699976.jpg

699977.jpg

Berry,

The stand-alone oven you're getting, should preferably have a max temperature of at least 250 to 300C, and you've to check your home wiring to prevent circuit tripping.
Go for more established brands if possible.

Gohong,

Your gal looks so sweet!!

ambrosial, oh yar i nearly forgot about the max temp setting, thanks! What do u mean by checking my home wiring to make sure it wont trip? How can I do that?

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!!!!

hehe Sophie u got us all fooled!!! All of us thot thats your name! Sophie is a beautiful name.

Gohong
Looks like quite a spread your mum prepared. Must be v yummy. Your DD v cute, how old is she?