Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hee... hello gals... I seldom log in... Getting rather busy wor... I just come in and saw Van's paging liao.. hahaha... I got sixth sense ah...

van,
How's Tokyo?
How's your dd on the first day of school? Is she adapting well?

lyn,
haha! So my PAGING in BOLD and BIG letters helps huh!

Busy with your work,and teaching alloysius is it?

Tokyo is fun, except that it's cold and day time is very short. Wish I could go again,and go during Summer/Late Spring/Early Autumn...I'll bring a big,empty suitcase for shopping..hahaha! And packed my trip with more sight seeing,must
explore beyond Tokyo!

My dd's is adapting well.So far no complain other than the bully issue I mentioned earlier. Spelling and Ting Xie are only for phonics and Hanyu Pinyin which are what she's already learnt in pre-school.

van,
thanks for the recipe. i will go buy it today. so just marinate the chicken with the sauce and then grill right? that's simple and fuss-free! thanks!

Lani,
Yep, just marinate.I usually marinate it over-night in fridge.For thicker chop/fillet, I cut a few slit on the thick flesh, or use knife to poke some holes so the the marinade can penetrate through.

Hey girls,

I am getting a new handphone and retiring my old sony ericsson this weekend.Any recs?Hopefully within 300plus with plan since i lose hps often.

Van,

They teach Hanyu Pinyin in primary 1 now?I remember it used to be primary 3 or 4.Pretty stressful to be a kid these days huh, but I'm sure your dd is coping well.

Hi Mommies & Van,
Apologise, long time never check this thread. :p
Hardly cook for the weekdays cos I am too bz. So my whole family will just settle our simple dinner by tingkat.

Ambrosial,
I am a die-hard Nokia Symbian OS handphone fans.Wanted to get Nokia N73,but thought the Singtel Voucher I had couldn't wait for N73's launch,so got a N70 instead. Shortly after that,they launched N73 in Singapore.
652083.gif

Very happy with this phone,no complain at all, though my nephew and niece commented that it looks bulky.

I have another new,never used Sony Ericsson K608i, given free when I upgrade to 3G.Not sure if it's good?!

Saw pages and pages of SIMPLY Hanyu Pinyin in Primary 1 books and assessment books.Even my hb got worried that my dd will rely too much on it. Friends also commented that when they cover the Hanyu Pinyin, their kids can't read the stories at all.

cat_tail,
Saw your photo at Yahoo Group while browsing LittleCat's didi's photos, so thinking of you.... Where you ordered the tingkat from? Good? Don't feel "sianz" eating?

cookie, i thot u say going to post, was waiting haha...
eh my cooking abit 'impromptu' one, here's my recepi:

*Bake Pork chop*
Pork chop (4, get those with some fats type)
Terriyaki sauce (abt 2-3 tablespoon)
Light soya sauce (abt 2 tablespoon)
salt & black pepper
some brown sugar (left over one, just dump it in and it taste good)

- marinate & put in the fridge, remember to turn after about 1-2 hours.
- set the oven temperature around 170.
- use aluminium foil, put the pork chop in the middle, cover the foil, no need too tight, just make sure meat don't expose to heat, if not chor-tar before it is cooked. Bake for about 25min or till it is cooked. Open the foil let it bake for another 5-10min. For me i change to grill mode just to brown it.

Collect the souce from the baking, put it in a pan, thickening it with corn flour. Use this as the pork chop sauce.

*Bake mushroom*
- white button mushroom
- butter, salt & pepper

Put mushroom on a pcs of foil, put some butter, salt & pepper, bake for about 10-15 min. Eat it when it is hot.

hehe you are most welcome to see the demo and tasting.

Van, question if u stir in honey, isn't it very sticky when u eat?

No problem on the karung guni, the most is i get the cleaner to help me get rid of it.

My ds only attend half day. i heard those who stay full day, will attend the phonics around 5pm. but hor it is chargeable leh, have to pay on top of the child care fee.
The teacher did say they will teach phonics in K1, but since my son didn't attend the basic, scare he can't catch up.
Anyway the CC one quite cheap only $85 good to let him attend some classes and know some friends.

Then while he attending the class we can go library. It is a good place to go. They have lots of kids books, VCD, CD collection.

Ambrosial, i sign up plan so i will get the cheapest and most value for money type :p
Me using Nokia.

Van,

My hub wants me to get a Nokia too, so I'm deciding between N70(bulky but I can live with it), N72(pink), N73 and N80.The email function in these sets will be quite useful.Any suggestions?

Re: Chinese
I don't get what MOE is trying to do.The chinese standard then and now is so different.Recognising the chinese characters is more important than Hanyu Pinyin, isn't it.I know in taiwan, Hanyu Pinyin doesn't exist.

LittleCat,

Haha ok...which nokia model are you using?

Ambrosial,
I like N73.Sua Ku me didn't notice N72 (Pink?sounds sweet! I'll go check it out.).Don't buy N80.Everybody who owns it complained that it "EATS" lots of battery,battery drain up pretty fast.

I didn't use the email function much.Can't seem to get the setting works properly.But I use the Yahoo!Go function very often,can read my emails on the go,and post photos up easily,also synchronise the address book effortlessly.

Best of all,I can transfer all my old data smoothly.Including data on my Handy Expense software.(Used on symbian OS, for tracking/recording expenses).

MOE now stress on reading and speaking.Cut down so much on writing that even my dd's school decided that they are not going to follow MOE's syllabus, will let the children do more writing than MOE's requirement.If not by Primary 3, they won't be able to cope with Chinese Comosition. I totally agree with this! Have been "drilling" Ber on recognising and writing Chinese characters.

LittleCat,
Yeap, adding honey will make it a bit sticky,bu tI didn't add a lot. You onlly add sugar syrup? Not sticky?

Forgot to mention,I dissolved some butter in wok before adding the raw pop corn.

I watched Last episode of kdrama My Girl on Youtube last night...so nice ending!

Ambrosial,
Don't laugh hor, the model # is Nokia 6151.
cos not many people using this antic liao...
I heard most using the 7 series type ..
http://europe.nokia.com/A4158140

But hor got one known defect on the switch, i kena twice when i press down the thing stuck.. got to go back to change.
Other than tat, i like it becos is user friendly, also i like the Dictionary function.

Before this i used the Motorola, same thing i paid like $20+ with some citibank points blah blah... after use for about a year, still can sell it to those neighbourhood 2nd hand store at i like $90, amazing.

Van, the syrup i make will harden when it is cold. Just like those selling outside.

Here's how i make :
Use a wok, heat up some oil, put in sugar (1/2 a bowl, depends on how many pop corn), stir till the sugar melted. Put in the pop corn, stir quickly try to get all pop corn coat with the syrup. Cos once cold it will stick to the corn.

Van, but honey stick on your finger leh...

Today i bake Chocolate cake, try the recepi from allrecipes.com

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolate-Cake-II/Detail.aspx

It looks easy to cook, plus it can help me to get rid of my cocoa powder.. hehe!

cookie, u will like this, just stir and mix.

*Chocolate Cake

INGREDIENTS
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups white sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup hot, strong coffee
DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9x13 inch pan.
In a large bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, and baking soda. Add the oil, milk, eggs, and vanilla, mix until smooth. Stir in the hot coffee last. Spread evenly into the prepared pan.
Bake in the preheated oven for 25 to 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

Van,
Ya.. I noe but the whole family is working so I am quite dead tired to cook anything when we are home. Been trying a few tingkats & more or less we are going to switch back to Select which is so far the best among all.

wow so many receipes.... i m drooling liao.

I hope i can cook some nice dishes tis week when i m around. I hv been cooking for a wk b4 i went away so DH dun need to buy food and entertaining my DS every nite.

My last trip went to India. aiyo b4 i went i already fully prepared in term of env, food etc and i even pack half of my luggage full of food. hahaha very KS hor.

The place is so dirty and even walk for 10 mins, my face is black when i cleanse. Very dirty and dusty. When i step out of the airport and find my pick up..hee... my colleagues and i were laughing away bcos the driver put our luggage on top of the bus just like in those movies.

food wise ok lah but 2nd day i already sick of it liao cos i m not a fan for indian food. No doubt the stuff there are cheap such as sari etc can be tailor at S$20.

u will see cow everywhere , in the middle of the road, junction , typically everywhere.

Also the place we stay very dirty, i even need to scrub my basin the night i arrived , otherwise i will puke when i brush my teeth. bedsheet got stains and smell, my god !!!! lots of more happenings.

Hello Van...
Aiyo.. just now reply liao rush off to attend to Aloysius... He's getting very active lately. Gotta bath him twice a day now. He's learning to stand and wanna climb liao... He creeped over all barriers and fell from bed last week again.
Great to hear that your dd is adapting well in school

Sophie,
How's pregnancy going on? Shopped a lot already? Take good care...

Ok I gotta go again... Gotta do my work.

Take care gals...

Hello gals !

It's been raining on and off.. clothes can't dry

Cookie, is your pui pui still on hunger strike aft seeing the weather ? My little didi has now acquired the art of sucking his bolster cover when he's about to sleep!

My dd1 has malay taste buds.. dd2 is the daring one who takes off didi's clothes and smothers him almost to death.. and this one loves to eat see hum and zhu zhu.. U planning for no.2 ? hehe..

Eh cat, acidophilus is the good bacteria for our guts.. the same ones you find in yakult, just that the capsule form is more concentrated.. When i have indigestion and lots of burping, I pop 2 in and also drink manuka honey umf 20 for stomach problems..

Think for kids, better take the priscription from doc, either wise drink yakult or eat yoghurt, the concentration level for the acidophilus quite high in capsule, manuka honey should be ok

Thanks for the recipes, is the choc cake black and soft ? My dd loves or lu lu kind.. got photo boh ?Going to save your recipe and wait for one of these afternoons to bake it ..

Yo prisc, your ds' snowman is so real... this is a very good experience, did u record the process ?

Hey gals, any of you have the metal multi tier steamer that is sold in Tangs ? Thought of investing in one since my dishes are either steamed or oven toasted.

Last week, I marinated a whole chicken with the LKK chicken marinade , then cooked the chicken with garlic and ginger, it turned out quite nice and "pang", like si yao gai..

Hey ambroise,van.. I agree with u .. dunno what's the rational behind the hanyu pinyin, kids are very dependent on it .. my dd is one of them. With pin yin, she reads very fast, without it, she struggles..

twinkle-starry (starry)

which hotel did you stay?So bad?

I agreed with you the sari is cheap and good...I did think of buying but I am not fleshy enough to carry it as you need a bit of san chang ba to look good for the waist....

Van,

N72 pink looks very sweet, but quite exp for a non 3G phone.I need my handphone to have a loud ring tone and be able to record missed calls clearly.My current sony ericsson is pretty hopeless in both aspects.

My friend is coming over soon and she uses N70, will take a look at hers.Is N70 hardy?I throw my unprotected handphone all over the place.

LittleCat,

My sony ericsson has no 3G, even more antique!

Van,Choc,
Chinese...
They're allowing dictionaries for chinese composition exams, so they probably think with Hanyu Pinyin knowledge, kids should be able to pick out characters in the dictionary.Strange thinking.

Twinkle,

I'm a clean freak!Sure to go bonkers in India!

I took photo from the beginning to the end. Dh was at work so alone with him could not video.

It is snowing again and we are going for snow walk on a mountain with dh's professor next Sat.

I took photo from the beginning to the end. Dh was at work so alone with him could not video.

It is snowing again and we are going for snow walk on a mountain with dh's professor next Sat.

twinkle, sounded scary, dun think i will ever go there liao...

lyn, oh no, hope Aloysius is ok. For me last time when my elder one still young, we sleep on the floor with mattress so no chance of him fell of the bed.

choc, oh didn't know they sell in capsule also.
yeah my didi recently due to diarrhea also take the acidophilus, the kids one in banana flavour. He likes it so much after finish feeding the medicine he cry cos he want more..

The Chocolate cake, think your hb will like this, cos it is soft, moist and oh lu lu also

See below, i like it becos it is not very rich type. but my hb dun like he said need to have what chocolate fudge lah dun know what lah...

653053.jpg

choc, share with us how u cook the LKK marinated chicken, just boil it or?
I like the crystal jade kitchen si-you-kai. recently got offer at Jurong Point $10 each, take away only.

Ambrosial, then u can consider the model i am using. Got camera (1.3 megapixel), vide & radio. I think now should be even cheaper.

This morning breakfast, minced meat with century egg porridge.
I cook the stock yesterday, then boil the stock with rice put in the thermal pot.
This morning, put on the stove, boil it, stir in minced meat and century egg, put some salt to taste, done.

Tonight will be baking chicken. Planning to keep the breast meat for tomorrow breakfast, chicken sandwich.

Now really like SHAM, got to plan what to cook for breakfast, lunch & dinner.

Good morning gals!

Wow, so many yummy food pics!

Joy,
I saw your posting about your inconsiderate neighbour's daughter's bf - I'd be very sian if I were you!
Maybe I'd hint to them "You know I almost knock into your car this morning cos it was parked so close to my gate... I'm not a very good driver, so it'll be such a shame if you car gets scratched..." Then see if they scared or not... hopefully theirs is a brand new car and they will be more kan cheong lah.

twinkle,
Your trip to India sounds very happening leh! It's always been my dream to backpack India, but I didn't manage to make it there... nearest I went to was Nepal!
Hope one day to see all those things that you described

Choc,
How old are your dd1 & dd2?
I noticed that kids with 2 yrs or lesser age gap tend to be closer.
My 2nd sis who is 2 yrs older than me was very close to me, like a surrogate mother when I was young. Oldest sis who is 4 yrs older than me bochap me & always fought with me.
So if this theory is true, then have to plan for No. 2 soon

Van,
I didn't know kids start hanyu pinyin so early now?
I'm a victim of Hanyu Pinyin - I cannot read & write Chinese well without the help of Hanyu Pinyin, so my Chinese composition used to be full of Hanyu Pinyin... always gets maximum marks deducted for that

LittleCat,
Woah, you're really a SAHM now - even cooked breakfast?!

Enjoying it enough to quit your job and be SAHM for a few years?

Choc,
I like both yr dd. The food they like i also like. Inadditon to yr dd2 favourite, me also love gong gong and la la.
Didi has got new hobby now.
Recently pui pui putting everything into his mouth. And to our surprise on monday, the maid told us that pui pui drank 150ml drink twice. very very happy. Maybe he learnt the difference between rain and night.

Littlecat,
yr orr lulu cake look very nice and inviting leh.
Its the moist type that i like. ;)
so many things to cook.
So Good, everytime i come in this thread will get inspirations on what to cook. ;)

Sophie

That is a good one. I have actually written the driver a note, telling him that he makes my parking tough and also I am unable to open my autogate when that happened....guess what, he replied saying he can do that provided they are not blocking their own entrance...I gave up already....

Have busy and juz scanning through the post.

Joy747
I really hate inconsiderate neighbours!!!! My neighbour likeS to nail things at home late at nite!!!

Littlecat
ur cake so tempting!!!! got coffee so more.

Sophie
You due v soon rite?? Its so nice to see ur baby soon
I cant forget the moment I set my eyes on my gal!!!

cupcake

What to do, some people are just being so inconsiderate...so, we just make sure we are not like them...

Hey mummies...Making any pineapple tarts for chinese new year?Anyone also has got good recipie to share?My maid used to make the tarts for her ex employer but she does not have the recipe with her now....

sophie
My HB said can let me stay at home for 2 years with the maid leh. He now 'big boss' leh, sit there and wait for people to serve.

For me once become SAHM that's it, face will turn yellow also.

cookie, hehe hope u like it, try it this weekend lah, it is really easy to make.

cupcake, hehe i just took another pcs to eat! jialat like that can not fit my old clothes liao.. another 2 weeks going back to work.

sophie, remember to take picture and video clip hor

choc, anymore hum party ? i didn't take any hum for long time leh...

I love the ho lu lu chocolate cake haaaa....

Here's what we have for yesterday evening dinner...

Crispy Sesame Prawn

654414.jpg

Vietnamese Rice Paper Spring Roll
654415.jpg

Herbal Chicken Soup
654416.jpg

And a very simple fried rice
654417.jpg

And a very simple salad with vingerette dressing...

joy, just inform him if his car got scratch or knock from your gate it is his problem

Put a sign on your gate and park at your own risk!

And keep that note, incase, got accident, show police that note, it is their own doing.

So inconsiderate...

cupcake,
Yep, I should be due on 8 Feb

Can't wait to see my princess, but at the same time, I like the feeling of having her moving and kicking inside me... it's like our time is so private... just her and me, no hubby and relatives!
I told that to my hubby - he said I am selfish, don't wanna share baby

LittleCat,
Yep, hopefully hubby won't forget to take a video with our new camera. I recently bought the Canon Ixus 850 - very cool with good anti-shake function, and can even edit pictures and videos on the camera itself. Now making hubby practise using it!

Eh, yeah, ever since I left my job, hubby also expects homecooked meals more often
Men!

Prisc,
Wow, your Vietnamese Spring Roll looks good!
I always have a problem with the rice paper wrapper cos when I sprinkle water on it, some parts get more wet then kenna hole.
Any tips for doing this?

Sophie, I dip the whole piece into water and then take it out and place it on the chopping board for 3 to 5 sec before wrapping.

I am trying and praying for a baby this year haahaa....miss those day bb kick haahaa.

Priscilla

You food really looks yummy....quite a lot of food, do you all get to finish all in a day?

I have already given up on this new neighbour...they are the only ah lian neighbour around....house looks quite modern concept but almost everyday you can hear her sing karoka and weekend majong....

All the best for your baby plan....

Prisc,
Thanks for rice paper wrapper tips - one more question if you don't mind: do you use hot or cold water to dip in?

<font color="ff0000">** Baby Dust to you &amp; all who are TTC-ing here! **</font>

lyn,
Sorry I missed your posting earlier.
Hope your ds is OK now? Wow, your ds really very active at only 6 mths old!
My pregnancy is going well, thanks. Saw from the other thread that coral has also given birth - so happy for her

Pris, wow luv your dinner!
envy your hb and ds leh

eh share with us the recipe esp the Crispy Sesame Prawn. cos my hb luv prawns...

Sophie, make sure he got plenty of practice leh

Yeah me too miss the time when he is inside. Another thing i like is during breastfeed only u and baby

yah lor, hb wants us to cook good food, expect to have breakfast, dinner, except never ask for lunch, heng...
Then after giving birth expect us to lose all the weight and go back to pak-tor time... xiao!
cookies hor ?

Joy, very sian stay next to such neighbour hor. That is one of the fear we have when we looking for a new place.

Priscilla,

I've read your blog and read your post. I must say you can cook very well. Plus I'm very impressed at the way you train your son to vaccuum the floor and assist you in your baking. Hope you will be blessed with a baby soon!

Cat...I just added the recipe to my blog. There is also the wasibi prawn (Tung Lok recipe) as well as Tempura Shrimp (prawn) with Wasibi Mayo (Japanese Style), no pictures for these as I did not take the last time until dh told me to keep a record of all the food we eat.

My Blog Link

Sophie, I used hot boiling water.

Joy...sad to stay near a lian or beng. I used to have such neighbour too very inconsiderate. As for the food, we finish in one day, we do not keep food overnite unless those recipes that taste better the next day, then I will cook after dinner and let it cool and keep in the fridge and warm up the next day to consume.

Java...thanks. We are trying and hoping for a little girl haahaa...ds wants a meimei and a didi. Dh is only keen to have another and close shop. My ideal was 4 children haahaa....

Sophie,

I wanted to get Canon Ixus 850 too, but we recently won Canon Ixux 60 in a lucky draw, so will make do with it for the time being.

Good morning mummies!!

Joy747
I see some of my neighbours put their dustbin in front of their gate so that no one will park and block their way. But very leh chei, and very obvious they argue with neighbour regarding parking problem. Lucky my neighbour who shares the parking entrance is very nice.

Woah Pris, u made all these as dinner for 3? very peifu you. Can handle all the household chore, homeschool your boy and cook such delicious food. Your hubby and son very lucky leh!!!

Hey pris, yah..you really can fix so many dishes !The spring rolls look very yummy.. there's a viet restaurant along siglap called Le Viet, just beside Lemon Grass thai restaurant, they serve very authentic viet dishes, esp the pho..

Hey cat, I marinated the chicken with LKK chicken marinade overnight..
then, fry ginger and garlic in oil until fragrant, pour in the excess marinade from the chicken and bring to boil..

Add the whole chicken in and bathe the chicken with the sauce, turn the chicken every 20 mins, but making sure the skin doesn't peel off..
and the trick is not to cover the chicken(says my friend), so I use a wok.. when the sauce dries up a little, add some hot water in.. think should dilute the sauce when cooking the chicken

Can also use the sauce to make kon loh mee.

your choc cake very nice leh.. Ate zhu zhu last weekend.. only ate hum in laksa.. but didn't gei hum..

Soph, my dd1 is 6 and dd2 is 4.. dd1 will always pretend to be mother and sad to say.. dd2 always wants to be a pet .. dog !

Hey cupcake, did u try telling your neighbour about the din they make ? I had a neighbour who will always hang her wet clothes out to drip.. I buay tahan , wrote an anonymous letter to her .. then they stopped doing that..hehe..

Hey cookie, your pui pui kan kai liao ! Is he taking any solids ?

Eh ambroise, the meow pic very cute !

LittleCat,
Bf also can have such feelings? Hee... OK, I'll try my best to bf!
Have bought an Avent manual pump and friend passed me a Medela Mini Electric, so I hope can succeed.
How's your bf coming along?
Did Joyful Parenting reply your queries?

Ambrosial,
Wow, you won an Ixus? Then no need to spend money to buy the 850... anyway technology moves so quickly nowadays, I'm sure there will be newer models soon and with better function!
Heee... is that Sally, as in, you animated her?

Choc,
Le Viet? Ok, I'm gonna try it out soon.
My previous favourite Viet restaurant at Dhoby Ghaut called Song Tran has been a disappointment the last 2 times I went.
I ordered their Bun, which is their thick white vermicelli, but both times they used chor beehoon!

I wonder if they cannot get the supply of Bun in Singapore meh?

heee... I think at age 4, all kids wants to be some animal. My friend's 4-yr-old daughter says she wants to eat A LOT OF FOOD and grow to be a big brown dog! Haha, wonder if this is the "confidence teaching" that they impart to kids in nurseries... that you can be anything you want once you set your mind on it?

LittleCat,
Your oh-lu-lu choc cake looks good! Is the texture like Lana Cake?

So are you seriously thinking of become SAHM?

Sophie,
You mean you wrote the hanyu pinyin in place of Chinese words in your compo? Hope Ber won't do that! Notice that even the Instructions for Chinese Workbook such as "match the pair","Fill in the blanks" also have ONLY Hanyu Pin Yin!

Don't know what's wrong with putting in the Chinese charcacters next to the Hanyu Piyin? As they see them often, they will get used to it and start to recognise the words what?!

Lyn,
My dd fell from bed twice before, luckily I put pillow around her bed, so she fell onto the pillow after she pushed the pillow down.

Ambrosial,
Have you decided on which handphone to get? N72 may not be worth it since it's not a 3G.

There is 1 more note re: N70,the camera's shutter speed is slow. So after pressing down the button, still have to hold on to the camera, and don't move the camera away from the object. You may want to check out whether N73 has this problem?

How you find your Canon Ixus? My current Sony cybershot T9 though cute and compact, the performance is still not as good as Canon. I cannot seem to take good night scene with this camera. Any tips?

Your animated cat pict is very cute! Is that Sally?

Joy,
It's really headache to have such inconsiderate neighbour. Must think of a way to teach him a good lesson!

I have pineapple tart recipe but it's not tested,if you want I can scan and email to you.

My cousin made pineapple tarts every CNY, but her recipes all aga-aga type,also find that she's not always keen to share her "secret" recipes, so not going to ask her.

Pris,
Your food looks delicious.You, dh and ds can finish ALL the dishes?Looks a lot to me.

Going out now... need to go Post office.

choc...I have the pho recipe in my blog too. Pho alot of work haahaa...will only make when there are more people like in Singapore...

When we want to eat Pho, we go to the Vietnamese restaurant here in Vancouver and other vietnamese dish, I make at home.

Cupcake...different variety of food is nice to all. Cook with love, decorated with care, make one with appetite. haahaa...it is quite fun doing and testing out different dishes. Household chores quite ok with ds helping me with laundry, vacuuming etc.

Van...we finish all since we do not keep over night food except special dishes that required to keep overnite that I will cook after dinner and cool them before keeping in the fridge and reheat the next day.

My mum sending me the home-made pineapple tarts from home haahaa....my aunt and her are baking. But we can share this recipe as it is instructed by my grand, so it is passed from one generation to the next. I love it since it melts in the mouth. Can't wait for it to arrive since I am too lazy to buy pineapple here to remove the skin myself and then cook the pineapple. So it is a blessing to have them to send me.

Van,
Yep, my Chinese compo is full of alphabetical Hanyu Pinyin, and I am good at my Hanyu Pinyin.

I think there is a maximum number of marks the teacher will deduct for this, and I always hit the limit

I think maybe some kids learn to recognise the words, but some, like me, end up being dependent on Hanyu Pinyin.
Plus, I can roughly recognise the words, but writing the word from scratch is a different issue.

Haha, I see you're still searching for Lana cake recipe!
Let me know if you find it *drool*

Prisc,
*Envy you* I'm sure Vancouver has lots of nice Vietnamese restaurants, which Singapore still lacks!
Take some pics of your mum's pineapple tarts and show us!