Cooking Tips & Recipe

SY, Van,
Thanks for the consolation on baby being breech.
Actually, I have kept my pregnancy hormones pretty much under control so far, but dunno why when today I found out I have to do C-section without being able to try natural birth first, I came home and cried buckets alone!
Probably pregnancy hormones going haywire finally!
Now feeling better after crying, but still have to keep telling myself it's nobody's fault... it's just a situation that baby and I are in, and as long as baby is safe and healthy, I should be thankful.

For washer, I am using Bosch front-loader with a Bosch dryer stacked on top.
It has served me well so far - I especially like the "Delicate" mode where I put my underwired bras in a washing net and throw in at that mode, and my bras never go out of shape. My more delicate clothes with sequins or embroidery, when washed the same way with net and Delicate mode, also does not fray.
So you can see what a lazy person I am... I do not handwash clothes at all

There are mixed reviews about this washer from a friend though.
- Because it has a sensor that senses the weight of the dry load initially it puts only enough water (to save water) in it, and she says there was once when her clothes came out with a clump of soap powder stuck in it. I never had that problem before.
- Then she said her unit, which is only 8 mths old, starts to vibrate a lot when spinning dry! I also never have that problem even though my unit is already 3 yrs old!
So she said it could be cos her maid spoilt it by putting a king-sized quilt in it to wash, which I think it's not supposed to, cos the cotton in the quilt becomes super heavy when damp, and could have overloaded the machine.

Van,
it has been raining a lot since last week!! in fact it was very very bad.

for washer, i m using sharp i think. can't really remember. it's the one with no holes. not too bad. it's top load though.

sophie
pat pat, it's ok. there's still time for bb to turn. must talk to your gal every night to ask her to turn.

Van,

Hello!! Sad to hear you didnt get much Hello Kitty.

For washer and dryer, I am using Brandt front load 2 in 1.Serving me well for close to 2 years.

Sophie,

I will probably opt elective c-section when my turn comes.I don't like not knowing when I'm going to deliver.
You're doing epi c-section? I think it's about the same as normal delivery minus labour pain?

Starz,

Nice turkey!
Christmas celebration was also at my place, but I store-bought everything.

Good morning gals!

Cannot sleep well last night, maybe too depressed yesterday. Trying not to be too uspet, cos I remember starz says that baby can sense the mood.
Plus, I keep psycho-ing myself that C-sect is not so bad lah... afterall, so many women went through it.

SY, Van,
Yep, I'm talking to baby every night to ask her to turn.
Then of course kaypoh me went to google a search and ask "why breech babies", then some reasons were amnio fluid, placenta position and even congenital problems!
Gynae ruled out the first 2, saying they are normal, so now paranoid me is scared of the last! *sigh* I'm really quite a stressed monkey!
Now trying to calm myself down and not think too much.
Will distract myself with the sales going on.

Ambrosial,
I also did a store-bought Xmas gathering at my place. Got the same turkey from Olio Dome as last year, but this year's one is not so tender, so don't think I will order from them again.
I've still got a huge turkey thigh in my freezer after all the aunties shoved them to me, telling me to make turkey porridge out of it... but I'm quite tired of turkey right now, so I think I will leave it in my freezer for awhile

Haha, you really like certainty! And yes, for people who like certainty, C-section is good cos it's scheduled.
Think I will do epi C-sect. Gynae's advice is that if not scared of all the needles, clanging of surgical utensils and operating theatre and lights, epi is OK. If scared, better take GA.
I don't think I wanna do GA cos kenna knocked out, cannot see baby immediately, so will try epi.
Anyway, gynae said if do epi, and last minute get panic attack, he can still knock me out with GA.
So I told hubby he can keep talking to me continuously to distract me!

I don't think epi C-sect is really painless leh - it's painless during the procedure, but recovery is MUCH longer and more painful according to friends.

Sophie

Rleax, don't be sad....there is still time for the baby head to turn down...You may not have to go thr the c section at the end of the day....

sophie,
dun think too much abt it. u still got a few more weeks. these things work both ways. sometimes bb turn head down too early also can turn head up last min. so u won't know until nearer the due date.

actually nowadays i think c-section not that painful. i got 2 frens who went for it and they recover very fast. must remeber to get the binder

Sophie,

C-sect is the safest and the least traumatic way to deliver, so why not?
Recovery is quick these days;maybe about a week or so.Think epi c-sect won't be too bad with your hub around.Vagina birth is also very scary leh and imagine peeing and pooing with stitches down south.

As for my store-bought Xmas dinner, I bought 2 chickens from cold storage instead of turkey.Very moist and tender!I got so high from eating that I forgot to take food pics.You took any?

hi ladies...

year end alwayz very bz.. now more so wif ayden ard... but its all worth it..

cookiemonster...
actually ayden sticking out tongue learn from me leh.... hehehe... i "met" my hb over the pool table by sticking out my tongue at him everytime i beat him at e game...

thank u very much for all e compliments on my turkey...
yes, i had to wrap e turkey in foil for e 1st round of roasting... actually there r instructions on e label on e turkey to tell u how long / wat temp to roast it at.. but cos mine is a microwave-cum-oven, dont hv e option to select temperature for roasting... end up, i roast 1.5hrs @ 230degrees (with foil)... then take out, used e "bake" function @ 150degrees for another abt 1hr without e foil... funnily, e "pop" button didnt come out leh...
i used teriyaki marinate n italian herbs to marinate overnite... then used e marinate to "cook" potatos, carrots, mushrooms, sausage "underneath" e turkey... in e baking pan u see in e microwave pic...
theres also alot of turkey leftover... end up, my mum used e gravy, shredded e turkey meat, n fried with shitake mushrooms... very very nice!!!!!

krisjoy,
i had my mum's help with ayden.. tats y can cook.. i only "in-charge" of e turkey.. e other dishes tat nite were prepared by my mum, n bought by my sisters-in-law...
how's your princess??? n how r u???

sophie,
cheer up! its still way too early to know for sure.... n like everyone says, c-section may very well be a blessing in disguise... as u dont hv to suffer e pain of e episiotomy wound... plus mine got infection... u definitely dont wan to go thru tat.... it doesnt matter how ur baby arrive, as long as she arrives safe n sound n healthy, i'm sure tats all tat matters... *hugz*... n most importantly, HAPPY MUMMY = HAPPY BABY...

Van,
paiseh.. me also using top load washing machine.. so cant help...
they reli do serve turkey meal on e flight ar??? SQ???

ok ladies... if i dont get to drop by again this weekend... HAPPY NEW YEAR IN ADVANCE!!!!! May all your wishes (n resolutions if any) come through... n all enjoy good health n happiness....
for me, tomorrow hb say bringing all of us to Mt Faber for my b-day dinner... so hopefully no rain tomorrow else cannot go...

Nitez nitez all...!!!!!

Hi mummies....

Am new here... SAHM with a 14mths gal. I enjoy cooking and baking too...

Sophie,
My gal is also a breech baby. I was worried and paranoid abt it initially.I tried talking to her but she jus didn't turn at all. In the end, I opt for a full GA.I was awake after 1.5hrs my gal was delivered ( so I dun get to see her first). I can get down on the bed and walk pretty steady on the 2nd day...and discharge on the 3rd day... cos' my gynea say he got no reason to keep me in the hospital. Ha ha...
So not to worry.... remember to bring along ur binder.. I think tat is useful.

Happen to chance upon this thread.

I am currently a SAHM and if time permits, I would also whip up some dishes for DH.

Just wondering if any mummies know how to cook those fish soup / seafood soup that can be easily found at hawker centre or coffeshops?

gohong,
i know those fish soup normally the base is ikan bilis (anchovies). if you want a quick and easy way just buy the maggi ikan bilis stock granules, and add in the ingredients for the soup (eg. fish, seafood, fish balls, tofu, veges, etc) and boil.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Wishing you a Great 2007 filled with Love, Peace and Happiness!</font></font>

Ambrosial,
I also forgot to take pics of the turkey - Too busy attacking the food!

starz,
Sorry to hear that you had infection on your episiotomy wound. Hope it has healed now.
Thanks for consolation.
Over the last 2 days, I have come to terms with it already - like you say, most importantly is a healthy baby

Hi Sandy,
Welcome to this thread!
There are normally more postings in this thread, but I think cos it's the holiday season now, so everyone is busy shopping/going out with kids etc.
Soon, you'll see more recipes and pictures here as we exchange cooking tips

Wow, you got discharged after 3 days for C-section? Most of my friends took about 4 to 5 days and said very painful... cannot walk or carry baby much, that's why I think I got scared of going under the knife. Plus, my gynae is not pro-VBAC at all (Vaginal Birth After C-section), so that got me worried about more C-sections to come if I wanted more kids!
Like what I told starz, I came to terms with it finally... so am just looking forward to baby joining us, whichever way she decides to come out

Heee... the shopping over the holidays also helped distract me from the depression!

Joy,
Thanks for the consolation

I'm still talking to baby and hoping, but just get prepared for C-section too.

Gohong,
My mum uses fish bones to make the soup stock. Fish bones when cooked long, gives that murky milky look which is quite sweet.
She makes the soup stock first, then when we are ready to eat, she adds in the prawns/fish slices/veges/meat etc.
If eating with noodles, noodles are boiled in separate boiling water so as not to "contaminate" the soup esp. with that yellow-noodle taste.

Wish you all to a wonderful New Year 2007! Lots of happiness, good times and good cheer!

Sandy and gohong WELCOME!!

pris, what do you think of Logico Learning Systems? I'm not sure on how it works? Thinking of getting them. Is yours the chinese or English version?

sophie, my ds1 is also breech baby. Would like to know why are you depress when you know going for C-sect? Is it because of the pain? Although i prefer natural delivery but then C-sect is not as complicated as normal one. The only thing about c-sect is the pain I get.
Share with you some of my experience from both of my C-sect. You'll not feel any pain during C-sect having epidural anaesthetice but once it wears off, you will slowly feel the pain. My first C-sect, the pain is bearable and pain last for a week but my second one is real painful and i told my hb that im not going to get pregnant anymore. Maybe is because my second C-sect, my gyne got to cut away my old scar and that's why is so painful. My hb saw everything during my op. He says our human flesh is the same as pig kekeke....he saw my gynae cutting away my old scar which look like 3 layer pork. The pain last me for 2 weeks but then not everyone is the same. My sister don't feel that painful and the pain goes off less than a week. oh yes...you got to bring binder along as what the rest says.

Happy New Year to all too! May all your dreams and wishes be fulfilled and many happy returns!

Sophie,
My sister was in labour for 18 hours and had epidural. However, she is still not dilated and baby was already distressed. So she ended up going thru' C-section. She said she rather do C-section directly and will opt for it when she has a second baby. So not to worry. The healing may take a bit longer but you will forget about it as you will be so busy with your baby

Starz,
Din realise u had an infection with the wound earlier. What happened? Are you ok now? Are u still beastfeeding now that u r back to work?

I am fine, coping well with baby. My dd takes a bit longer to sleep at nite. On the average, she only sleeps around 12 midnite or later. But she can last through the nite without feed for 6-8 hours. So far have been bringing out her on all weekends to get her familiarise with crowd and noise..

Hi Lani and Sophie,

Thanks for your advice..

Today my mil bought very yummy soon kueh from amoy street..taste very nice despite being cold..forgot to take pics though..

By the way, anybody got recipe for soon kueh?

hi ladies...

welcome Gohong &amp; Sandy...
kao_welcome2.gif

hehe.. actually we talk abt everything under e sun in this thread...

Sophie,
well, good tat u came to terms with it... enjoy ur holidays now, rest more, shop more, eat watever u wana eat now.. coz when bb arrives... no time to sleep, no way u can shop in peace.. n every meal is now a "speed contest"... but i'm stil enjoying every moment, n loving it...

Krisjoy,
e wound plus infection had healed.. it was due to me keep "running to n fro" to TMC as Ayden was admitted for jaundice, no proper care, tats y infection...
i'm still trying my best to breastfeed.. i'm pumping out 1 days' milk supply out in advance.. so my mum can feed ayden breastmilk when i'm at work lor..
hehehe... me too bringing ayden out these few weekends..

ok ladies... Have a GREAT NEW YEAR AHEAD!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR AND MAY ALL YOUR WISHES N RESOLUTIONS COME TRUE!!!

Happy New Year to Everyone!
Hope 2007 will be a better year than 2006 for everybody.

Sophie,
Not to worry abt csec. My colleague who delivered in Dec 2006 was up and abt taking care of her baby 3days after the csec. And she told me its not so painful after all.
My episitomy wound on the other hand took 3 weeks to heal and I was on pain killers for 2 weeks. Rest well and enjoy the time baby is still in yr tummy. Its such a special feeling and others will not be able to feel it, not even yr dh. Its the only time whereby u can carry yr baby where ever u go. ;)

Van,
Glad that the weather was good in Japan while u were there and yr trip was enjoyable. The photos will sure turn out very nice and looking forward to seeing photos. ;)
Am using LG frontload washer and dryer. Its a gift fm my brother. He told me he got me this model cos the salesperson advise its a good buy in terms of cost vs performance.

Pris,
Thanks for the recipe fm yr website.
heee... will try to cook some one of these days.

SY,
how's the feeling like when u have got to leave baby with yr mother for the first time?
I need to go for biz trip soon, and i am wondering how baby and me will cope. my dh says not to worry abt baby. At most baby will cry abit and fuss abit, and baby will adapt to changes well. When I am back, baby will just think that I went to work as normal.

Ambrosial,
Hee... my sister also got 2 chicken fm cold storage to my place for xmas instead of turkey. ;)

Sandy and Gohong,
Welcome! ;)

annlee, cookiemonster,
I think I freaked out at C-section cos of stories I heard, and also because of expectations. I've always hoped to try normal delivery, so when the gynae dropped the bomb on me to get ready for C-section, I just got a bit shocked. Plus my friends who went thru' C-sections all told me how painful recovery is etc, so that got me more scared I think.
Now OK liao... after hearing all the "less painful" stories from you gals, I feel much better.
I'll probably schedule the C-section as late as possible, then hope for baby to do a final somersault

Cos nurse said if baby turns at last minute before C-section date, they can still cancel the op theatre booking.

Van,
I saw your dd's pic at Mt. Fuji! Hee, she looks like a little Eskimo in that pink jacket.
Is this the shade of pink she was looking for when buying winter clothes? I also like this pink! I bought lots of baby stuff in this shade of pink

Ambrosial,
I also saw Sally sleeping on your CPU pic... she looks like she lost weight? Or maybe it's the angle?
My cats have been putting on weight since you recommended Science Diet Ocean Fish

But they really love the stinky fishy smell, so I'll probably stick to this flavour for awhile!

Gohong,
I don't have recipe for soon kueh, but I like the soon kueh at Alexander Village Block 127

Krisjoy,
I remember you saying Porta Porta was good. I went to try it last weekend... had the squid ink pasta, not bad!
The squid ink rice ball is not available everyday, so we didn't get to try it.

What are you girls cooking tonight?
I am cooking my leftover turkey drumstick in soup with winter melon...

happy new year!!

sophie
dun worry too much. my fren also told me it's not really painful and in fact like what the rest say, c-section easier to take care of.

zzzcookiemonster
hee, the first time i left my bb at my mum's place i cried...cos i missed him so much. silly right... i got a 3G phone and my dad has one too so we did video call to look at him. after i saw my bb, i cried.

actually at my mum'es place he din really fussed a lot. in fact, he was better behaved at night. last time he used to wake up 3-4 times a night but after staying at my mum's for a while he kicked that habit. as long as he din see me, he won't need me.

sophie
turkey + wintermelon? sounds interesting.

i m running out of ideas to cook stuff for dinner. always want something easy to prepare.

got any easy and quick recipes to share? runing out of ideas for dinner.

Happy New Year!

Sophie,
Actually, I schedule my C-section on the 37th wk, but hor... my gal still pop 1 day earlier cos my water bag burst..... luckily DH took leave tat day.

Me too... running out of ideas on what to cook. As for tonight, am cooking wintermelon + minced pork soup and "claypot" chicken rice in my rice cooker. Can't figure out how to cook with claypot manz...

Any ideas how to cook lady's finger, other than sambal??

SY,

It's actually putting the marinated chicken, mushroom, veg into the rice cooker and cook.

Marinated the chicken with oyster sauce, dark sauce, ginger, garlic, sugar, seasame oil and pepper. Stir fry the marinated chicken with washed rice and cook in the rice cooker. Bingo!

Of cos' this way of cooking is very different from wat we eat outside....meant for lazy people like me... hee hee

SY,
Yeah, cooking my leftover turkey in soup so I don't waste it. My MIL insisted that I keep it in my freezer so I will eat more meat!
Also, I read that wintermelon soup can help water retention in preggies, so thought of using the turkey to make the soup stock.
It does smell a little like jin(1) hua(2) huo(2) tui(3) (Chinese Ham), but the soup itself is a bit murky-looking, altho tasty.

Sandy,
I also like to cook "claypot chicken" in rice cooker... this is good for lazy pple like us

But I normally wait till the rice is half-cooked, then add in the chicken so some parts of the rice is still white and some darkened by the marinate. I also add in mushrooms sometimes

Hi Sophie,
U have a good memory!
Yes, I like Porta Porta for its food and ambience. Now with baby, it is quite difficult to go there to have a quite dinner, unless I get someone to babysit for a while ;p

Sandy,
I have this Lady's fingers recipe from Food &amp; Travel magazine. Hope you'll like it:

Hot Miso Lady's Fingers
Ingredients:
300g lady's fingers
1 tbsp Japanese miso paste
1 tbsp chilli sauce
1 tsp oil

Method
1) Cut lady's fingers into 1-cm slices
2) Heat up oil in a frying pan until sizzling
3) Add lady's fingers and toss over high heat until surfaces are sealed
4) Add miso paste and chille sauce and continue to stir-fry rapidly
5) Plate and serve

sandy
hee, not lazy lah..call ourselves busy pple.

sophie,
thanks for the link. will check it out! oh i din know wintermelon can help water retention. is your retention very bad?

Krisjoy,
Haha, when it comes to makan, my memory-killing preggie hormones has no fight for my brain cells!

I read The Sunday Times review about a place called Astons Specialty where the wagyu steak costs only $38.90 *drool* I wanna go try it some day!

The hot miso lady's fingers look good! Will try it one of these days.
Are you back at work already?

SY,
Yep, I read in those prenatal/postnatal recipe books that wintermelon is good for water retention.
I think I have just a little water retention - my ankle bone is less obvious now
so just trying to prevent them from turning into pig's trotters!

krisjoy, the lady's finger receipe looks good. Can use any of the chilli sauce? I've seen your little princess...very sweet, look more like you.

sophie, turkey soup...how's the soup? Was thinking of bringing back the left over turkey at my mum's place to make turkey porriage for the next day but my hb don't want it haiz....

Didn't know that winter melon is good for water retention, just had the soup yesterday.... ok will drink more.

Van, have seen the picture of your dd at mt fuji...the snow looks thick and I like your dd pink jacket. So is on the 5th station....do you know the station that sells sourveir? I remember when I was there, they're selling cans of mt fuji air,weird....or maybe the air on mt fuji is very clean/fresh and precious hee...

Mad rush these two days,other then prepare dd for Primary,cook lunch,keep nagging her to bathe and eat faster, still got to attend talks in her school in the afternoon.

I got a Electrolux washer for $799 in the end. Didn't want to spend too much cos I noticed that front load washer just won't last as long as top load one. Anything that has Quick Wash &amp; Delicate Wash and variable rpm will be good for me

Sophie,
ya, that's her favourite shade of pink. She didn't want jacket in darker pink. I can forsee that you will have lots of pink in the house till may be your dd is teenange.My teenage niece hates pink.

annlee,
The two places we went to that sell souvenir are at tourist information centre and 5th station. Didn't stop at other stations in between, cos the weather is so good that the drive headed straight up to 5th station. Didn't notice any cans of Mt Fuji air.The Japanese just have lots of creative, innovative ideas,and pay so much attention into details.

My dd is very impressed with their toilets. First question she asked about Japan is "Where are all their toilets so clean?" Also got to explain to her the sprays in the toilet bowl and why the need for the fake flush sound..

Foodwise, she's happy eating ramen,soba and udon with fried prawns,teriyaki not much headache compared to when she's in Bangkok.

Krisjoy,
When are you going back to work? The email address that is linked to your PM is your work email right?

cookiemonster,
Didn't manage to upload other photos to the yahoo group,always got error message when trying to upload.

635985.gif
Welcome Gohong and Sandy!

sophie
the link that you gave me cannot work leh....

hee u r so funny...memory killing preggie hormones...sigh even now i think my memory still not as good as before....

Van,
how come u dun wan a top load one since it can last longer?

japan sounds so fun..makes me look feel like going there! yah heard the toilets are really wonderful....

my fren was telling me that quality of life there is very good. they really have a lot of creative ideas to improve life

annlee,
The turkey soup is quite yummy but yet not overly salty. Hubby says it's quite nice although got a smokey "turkey" taste

I've still got another half a turkey drumstick in my freezer - will probably make a porridge out of that.

Not sure where to buy Chinese ham leh. I would also like to try it.
Any mommies here know?

SY,
The FoodNo1.com link cannot work? Hmm... I just tried it and it worked leh.
How about this main link?
http://www.foodno1.com/

Van,
Wow, Japan sounds really nice!
I've never been to Japan before, cos those places I've been to are mostly the rough-it-out cheap backpacking places.
I guess when the baby comes along, I will end up going to more "civilised and hygienic" places, so I can definitely keep Japan in mind.

How's your Electrolux washer so far?
SY, for me, I like front-loading cos it saves space... I use the top of washer to stack my dryer. Plus I find front-loading more water-saving plus more delicate on clothes.

Hello ladies, long time no yak ! Happy blessed new year to all of you !!!

Been busy after my penang trip and also with the christmas and new yr.. My hb baked turkey for the first time using an oven bag, marinated with champagne.. the skin was crispy but the drums were a little dry..

Hey soph, i am also looking for chinese ham.. the last time I got mine was from shanghai.. not sure whether they sell in Hock Hua.. will be trying to look for it.. chinese ham is great in soups !
How's your little one progressing ? One more month to go only ..

Hey van, how's your dd's first day of sch ? Also busy with mine , preparing lunch and getting her ready to sch..

Hey cookie, how is your ah pui ? Has been raining for few weeks liao.. his feeding ok boh ?

starz, your botak very cute leh.. Mine didn't shave botak, yet people thought I shaved him !His hair didn't grow an inch !

Hey ladies, what have you all been cooking ?

hi ladies....

been very busy.. coz started going back to work liaoz.. half days, but seem like stil no time for anything else like tat...

choc, thanks for e compliment on behalf of ayden..

temporarily no time to cook / bake liaoz... got time to sleep can laugh liaoz...

take care ladies... chat again soon..!!!
kao_byebye.gif

sophie,choc, I'm looking for chinese ham too... my fren told me can get from cold storage so I went there have a look it and bought one and don't taste good at all, think I bought the wrong one hee... so can get in shanghai...how about beijing? My hb is going there soon so probably he can get one back

van, think most kids like noodles. My ds1 love udon and can eat and eat not sianz one.

About the toliet in Japan, I remember in Mt fuji, there's using foam instead of water to flush the toliet bowl...very innovative as no supply of water up in the mountain.

sophie, I'm thinking of backpacking to places like nepal but only can do it when the kids grown up.....at that time im old already....not sure whether can take it kekeke

van, do let us know about your washing machine. My samsung one not good at all, some of my t-shirt collar is tore cos of using the machine.

What are you ladies cooking tonight? I'm cooking assam pedas, think will get the paste from prima.

Good morning gals!

Choc,
My little angel has still not turned head-down yet, so I am feeling lots of thumping kicks on my rectal area!
I am getting a bit scared of the delivery, but at the same time excited to meet her. Then also, I wonder if I will miss the feeling of baby moving inside me... it's such a magical feeling!

annlee,
You're still young! By the time your kids are grown up, you will be at most 50?
I saw a German couple at the age of 50+ backpacking in Nepal and Tibet, so don't worry so much! If anything, they're fitter than some of us youngsters

I don't feel like cooking tonight - feel very tired now that I am in 3rd trimester... always breathless although I didn't do much...
Let me know which paste you use from Prima and if it's good for the assam pedas!

sophie,
thanks for the link again. will try it

i din know that front loading use less water....

starz
u working half day? do u used to work half day? i have been thinking abt it but dunno how to convince my boss and i think my job nature not suitable.

This is the home made black pepper chicken that hubby made..

637520.jpg

The skin was abit dry as hubby did not baste the skin with the marinade during baking..

Good Morning gals!

So nice to see so many yummy-looking food pictures again in this thread! Thanks gohong for sharing!

I cooked lunch everyday just for my dd,hb in Thailand now and have been attending parents' talks in her school so no time to cook dinner and take pictures.

SY,
I chose front loading washer for the same reasons as Sophie.Gentler handling of clohtes,space savings, use less water..in that order.

I own a Japan Made Top loader for 8 years, so long that I always wish for it to break down sooner. It tangled up all the clothes while washing and spinning,that's why I love front loader,and never go back for top loader.Not sure if technology now has changed,and top loader is now gentler on clothes?

Sophie,
My Jin Hua Huo Tui also from Shanghai. Heard that Chinatown sells, but don't know which shop.

So far I am quite satisfied with my washer, but the delicate wash doesn't look very very gentle. Yet to try your method of washing underwired bra using delicate program,but did try spinning it with reduced rpm at 500rpm,seems quite alright.

1st trimester and 3rd trimester are usually the toughest. It might be quite hard to sleep well at night as the tummy getting bigger,and the baby stretching at night. Just 1 more month to bear, then you will able to meet your little princess!

annlee,
ya,the tour guide kept telling us to use the toilet at the tourist information at the foot of the mountain, cos there is no water supply at 5th station, so toilets there may be very dirty.

Choc,
Champagne turkey sounds interesting! What else did your hb add to the marinade?

My dd is adapting well in the school.For two days she ate and drank the same thing in school during recess.Just like her dad, she can eat the same thing every day and won't feel "sianz". Her Pri 4 buddy speaks Mandarin to her, so I can sense that she is not quite comfortable.

Did your dd's school organise any talks for parents.Did you sign her up for any CCA in school? What do you prepare for her lunch?

My dd is starting 1-to-1 piano lesson this week, cos there isn't enough students to start JXC class,got to wait till Apr,when another batch of JMC students graduate.

Sophie,

Sally is still the same or probably a bit heavier...it's probably the angle of the pic.

Science Diet Ocean Fish will also be her staple from now on.
Am now thinking of giving her treats from Cats Prefer Chef.

Gohong
the soups look yummy. gives me motivation to do something for hb this weekend.

Van
i din know that front load is gentler. now i dun use my washing machine much actually. but i did find that it is not that gentle on clothes so mostly do handwash or else my clothes get ruin quite fast.

Sophie and Van,
I am starting work on 31 Jan.

Van,
Yes, my PM is linked to my office email. Have PMed you my personal email. I saw those shoulder ham in Shanghai and the shape looks like a racket

annlee,
Thanks for your compliments
My dd looks slightly different now. I guess their looks will keep changing ;p

Gohong,
Wow, so many pics of yummy food!
Heh, the pics made me crave for soup, so I decided to cook tonight - lotus root soup and fried cabbage rice.

Choc,
This preggie missed your champagne turkey posting earlier.
Yes, like Van said, do share with us the recipe for the champagne turkey.
One more question too -> what is oven bag? I've never seen oven bags at NTUC before... where can I get them?

Van,
I also wonder if those HongKong Street shops that sell lots of sea cucumber types sells jinhua huotui. You cooked with it before? Did it taste just like ham?

Yep, just about one more month to go and I'll see my princess

Have gotten everything liao - now just waiting for my mom to help sew some extra bedsheets and then I wash them.
Let me know if your washer is good for bras!

Ambrosial,
Cats Prefer Chef? Hmm... I must go check out this brand then!
So far my cats are just happy with salmon jerky and catnip/milk drops. They also like this brand called "Seduction" which is good for hairballs.

SY,
Woah, you handwash the clothes yourself and still gotta work and look after baby?
I used to handwash my clothes long ago too, but I find that even though handwash is gentler on the fabric, the clothes goes out-of-shape/bigger faster when I drip dry them cos the weight of the water actually pulls the fabric down when hung, and the bra elastic gets loosened this way too.
Must wait till it's really dry (like spun dry type) then can hang to reduce this water weight, so very leychey to wait, and sometimes if I forgot about them in the bathroom, they'll smell then I gotta rewash again.
I guess that's why some clothes care label says "Lay flat to dry" so they don't go out of shape with the weight of water.
So I normally use the Delicate Mode on my front-loader to wash and spin, then take out to hang dry. Good enough for my delicates, and I like front-loader cos they even have Wool Mode, like when we go travelling with woolly clothes.
The only bad thing about front-loader is that you cannot choose only wash and rinse, cos the door is locked so water won't gush out when you accidentally open the door

Krisjoy,
Do post up more updated pics of your baby if you have time