Cooking Tips & Recipe

van,
nice to hear from you! glad that your dd had a wonderful b'day! hope you enjoy your hols, and merry x'mas to you too. hope to see you back here in rainy/sunny/rainy s'pore very soon!

Van....Glad that you and Berenice are having fun. Hope that the weather is fine over in Tokyo, Kyoto just pick up yesterday and was sunny for the past 2 days.

sophie, pris
no the gynae din use suction, he pushed my tummy from the top so that bb's head can come out. think i dunno how to push and end up pushing for quite long and still no result.

sophie
yeah u r right. those big chinese pear. just peel the skin and boil together with the almonds. hmm, i dun really use any specific proportion. i add both the bitter and sweet almonds.

SY...my gynae, Dr Kek, she taught me how to push as well as guide me when to push and when not to. She does not encourage C-section and she is pro-natural birth and pro-bfding.

Van,
Enjoy your trip!
And Merry X'mas to all! ^_^

SY,
During delivery, I had been pushing for 1 hour and baby's head still cannot be crowned. So midwife pushed my tummy and gynae used sunction. After that, baby just slipped out easily...I had epidural hence can't feel the urge to push...

Van,
Good to hear from you and glad to know your dd had a wonderful birthday!
OK, will go check out this toxicity of bei xin ren.
For my gynae, he doesn't give this kind of talk himself, but I heard about the reasons for when and when not to push during my antenatal class.

SY,
Thanks for instructions.
I called my mum and she said she used to double-boil the whole pear just by cutting off the top and scooping some pulp out. Then put the pulp back into the pear, add the almonds and add chuan bei powder. But this concoction is more for loosening and getting rid of the phelgm. My hubby's phlegm is more or less gone, but he's a bit breathless due to the cold weather (he used to have childhood asthma), so I think I will not make this pear thing now, cos pear can be quite liang.

annlee,
The panda is cute

Prisc,
I went to kaypoh the SAHM thread, and saw pics of your ds vacuuming the house... very cute!

Your pudding also looks yummylicious!

kris
hee, i also push for very long. is it cos of epidural so we dunno how to push? my gynae actually reduced the dosage abt an hour before i push so that i have some feeling

sophie,
wow, your mum's one sounds really nice...since your hb recovering then maybe just drink more water and rest more? this weather is really terrible i think. that day on the train, i got pple coughing left right and centre....including myself..haha

maybe u can make some longan red date drink for him? my mum says it helps coughs.

Sophia...that is part of his homeschooling at home.I believe that education should be all areas in the home, intellect, moral, physical and will definitely touch on sex education when he is older. I do alot of brain stimulation with him too. And also in arts and music.

The pudding, I am using the ready mix available in supermarket and Phoon Huat.

As for cough, cordyceps are is very good. According to the chinese physician that ds goes for tuina and now attending to my fil who suffered strokes(he is recovering very well through therpy and chinese acupuncture) that do not wash the cordyceps, just boil with ingredient for soup but do not drink the base or just boil with water as tea and do not drink the base. Washing, will cause the cordycerps to lose some of its important elements. When we were in Singapore recently, ds still went for his tuina.

SY, I have epidural too but could still feel part of the contraction. My gynae is a very experience, she is a mother of 4. She has been very assuring throughout all my check-ups and very patient in answering all our doubts. Believe the final labour, she explained to me how to push and guide me along when to push and when not to.

Annlee....my ds loves tha panda and he has a huge panda waiting for him to return in Vancouver from a friend who went to China for a trip.

Hi Priscilla

Agreed with you, tuina is good for young children. Aedann goes weekly as it is very near my house.

I did ask my yi si about cordyceps, which I heard the many goods abt it but she is not really for it as she feels that it will make the kid hyperactive...so I just leave it...

Good to know that we do not have to wash cordyceps, but what about the hygiene aspect, since there are many people handling it?

Van
Bet you must be enjoying your trip...Oh yes, i mean SQ671.

Anyone keen on Chicco car (2nd hand) was asking on behalf of a friend then but the owner only reply today? She is selling at $50. And my friend bought hers liao. If interested, please email her privately and let her know I told you since she is waiting for my reply.

Her contact: Karen Lim Siew Lin <[email protected]

623665.jpg

here's the picture that Sophia mentioned,

Puddings
623706.jpg

623707.jpg

Help to bake and chop garlic

623708.jpg

623709.jpg

Help to vacuum floor while I mop

623710.jpg

623711.jpg

Doing his art work
623712.jpg

623713.jpg

These are part of my homeschooling and he also did a gift for his dad on fathers' day.

pris,
u r amazing mummy, Kai En is so capable and knows how to do so many things at home. home-schooling is really wonderful...

SP and SY....homeschooling is great. Enjoy it very much. In fact, Kai will be going to MMI preschool in January for 2 to 2.5 hours daily, I would say more for peer interaction and socialising. I will still continue with my homeschooling. We have a great time bonding during homeschooling.

I teach everything under the sun. English, Maths, Science, Chinese, and more. But needs lots of time to plan which I do when he sleep. I also invest in resources like GD cards - English, Maths dots and I make others cards on my own.

Lots of field trips and hands onto. We did some planting when we were in Vancouver when we have a yard outside our place. Weekly trip to library to borrow books, reading on internet children phonics sites and online children storybook sites. I also supplement with VCDs.

Pris,
yr photos on yr website very nice! How i wish i could bring baby for holidays.
Thanks for yr recipes and looking forward to more!
When i saw Kai's photos, felt he looks 'guai' and mature type of boy. And yr photos on this thread shows it all. He is indeed very mature. U are really a capable mother and wife.

Hi cookiemonster...dh and I are moving against the current flow. As both of us are not comfortable to have a maid so training the youngster to help in housework is a way to lessen our burden and load.

When training my boy from young, I do face alot of opposition especially from mil. But I persist on since we are staying on our own and since it is my child and I decide how he should be brought up. When a child does not behave, mil will always say the mother never teach, so I made an effort to really teach ds.

Like other children, Kai can be also equally mischievous. When discipline is concerned, lots of hard work and I do not give up when he wails and cries, I am still very firm and it works and he does not give me too much problems.

All of us are capable wives and mummies. I am still learning to be a better half. For me, I take every problem we face as an opportunity and it make life easier too.

hi ladies....

long time no log in.. *paiseh*..

so many of u from Aussie Uni ar.. never find any class / school mates here???

Joy,
hehehe.. overall how was e HK trip??? did u manage to buy anything at all, or no??? any nice pics to share???

sophie,
hope u've completely recovered liaoz...
i manage to get some clothes for ayden.. but nothing for now, mostly to keep for next time as no point buying too much "newborn size" clothins...
eh, my 2cents worth of advise ar.. dont buy e stroller n car-seat first.. if possible, borrow first to "test" if ur princess is willing to sit in it or not.. sometimes they "refuse" to sit in it.. then wasted...
hehehe... my pt of view, no need to revise e notes on breathing techniques lah.. thru' out labour, i only use deep breathing only... everything else forgotten liaoz...

Krisjoy,
how r u coping now??? u started using e nanny already???

Pris...
really envy ur lifestyle leh.. get to experience life in different countries.. n be a SAHM-cum-teacher to ur little boy... he'll definitely b a very filial son to u next time... i think being exposed to these different cultures will b an advantage for him in future too....

hehehe... u also Hello Kitty fan??? ur pudding look so tempting.. i am drooling liaoz...

eh... u mean a real panda or a panda stuff toy ar????

Van,
nice to know Ber had a great bday celebration!! share some pics when u r back hor... enjoy e rest of ur Hols!!!

ok... as promised.. this is ayden's "botak" photo... juz shaved last sunday.. i'll post somemore photos in our yahoo group.. esp e one with his daddy, as daddy also shaved bald to "accompany" his son...

624000.jpg

i'm also "celebrating" Xmas early tomorrow... we r not christians, but juz wanted to eat turkey.. hehehe.. my very very 1st time preparing e Xmas turkey.. if no "accident" (
) will post e pic here to share after.....

Happy Holidays everyone and have a VERY MERRY XMAS!!!

Hello all! Sorry I've been busy so haven't got the chance to post.

Starz,

Your boy is looking very cute!!
Good luck with your turkey.It takes quite a while to roast compared to chicken.

Van,

Happy birthday to Berenice! I am sure she's having a good time with the family!

For Turkey, there is a pop on the bird, do not remove, when it pop mean turkey is ready. I love to stuff turkey with glutinous rice, after cooking can eat the yumnmy rice.

Starz, bb very cute. The packing and shifting can be crazy haahaa....when return to Vancouver, we gotten another apartment, this time I ask for a smaller one as ds is going to preschool so might not have as much time to clean as before. And also have to shift our furniture and stuff from storage back. Lots of packing and repacking when on the move. A stuffed toy panda.

I will probably buy HK stuff for a dd, if I am lucky to get a dd for #2. Ds loves cartoon characters so to make it more funny could not find thomas the tank engine mould here.

I bought some disney cookies cutter and a mini panda cake tray to bake back in Vancouver.

hello everyone!

wow, lots to catch up so many post..
these few weeks hb clearing his leave, so most of the time went out so didn't login.
also my hb was warded due to heart palpitation, stayed at NUH for 2 nites, done all the test but result is ok. dun know what happen... worry..

van, glad to know your guys enjoying yourselves there

Pris, wow your 'jia-jiao' very good leh! i agreed we should train them to help the household chores.. i find some fren house got maid, their kids dun even know how to wear shoes and socks although already 3+..

starz, wow nice photo! haha your hb very wei-da leh shave to company ayden!

sophie, take good care!
hey i think sister choc go eat hum liao lah...
kekeke...

me very 'guai' never eat chilli after i gave birth till now. 2 months liao.

ok got to go, later bring my baby for regular check up plus injection. He is 2 months today.

Merry X'mas &amp; Happy new year to all!!!

Little Cat, baby 2 months already, that's fast!

Must teach ds, if not, they will just not touch household chores, I do not intend to get maid.

Starz,your bb very cute and your hb very wei-da.

Blessed Christmas and a wonderful 2007.

If you all don't see me around, I am busy packing and clearing the place as we are going off to Osaka before we fly back to Vancouver so will have no more internet connection. See all again when I am back in Vancouver.

Hello ladies....
Merry Christmas to you all and your families
Wish you all health and happiness

I am rather busy lately... Will catch up the posts when I have more time ok?
Take good care...

Priscilla,
Welcome back
Long time no "see"...

van,
how's your trip? Hope you and dd enjoyed it

littlecat,
Oh dear... hope your hubby will get well soon. Take good care wor... It must have been rather stressful to you... hugs hugs...

starz,
Ayden is so cute botak...

Prisc,
Wah... You homeschool Kai... He looks very disciplined. Must learn from you
Where do you get the resources for flashcards? can share share? I am also thinking of home schooling, but gotta settle my own stuffs first before I can 100% concentrate

What do you do to stimulate Kai's brain? I also wanna learn...

Van,
Glad that you and dd and your hubby enjoyed in Tokyo Disneyland..

Sophie,
Hope you are doing well in your pregnancy
Take good care...

Gotta go... catch up again...

pris
wow, really impress with what u do with your boy. he is really very guai to help with the household chores.

starz
your bb very cute!! and your hb so cute, he actually shave his hair too.

merry xmas!!

Finally manage to pack all our luggage to bring over Vancouver. And the next thing is to clean the apartment to get it ready for inspection before we leave.

Lyn, long time no "see". Very busy homeschooling my boy.

SY, every mummy can do what I am doing.

Lyn, I am using GD flashcards (English, Maths dot), I made amy own chinese flashcards and also the knowledge Bit cards on my own. I invest in alot of resources - Chinese Vocabulary Builder Vcds, Han Zi Gong, Oxford Gogo's adventures with English, Preschool Powers, Magic Schoolbus, Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends, Jayjay the Jetplane (I brought the christian series) just to name some.

I also invest in books - for phonics (Dora the Explorer readinf kit), Books on Nursery rythme, Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends, Jayjay The Jet planes, Bob the builder as well as other boys that we find interesting and relating to the topics that I am teaching ds.

I invest in the right brain training Kits and also Logico Learning Systems to stimulate his thinking etc.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">A Belated Merry Xmas to all and may all our dreams come true in 2007!</font></font>

Pris
what is Jayjay the jet planes? never heard before. do u get your materials online?

the only thing is a lot of time is needed. i try my best to spend my time with my boy but sometimes really so tired after work.

i have the GD cards as well but really quite lazy.

do u play music for him often?

<font color="0000ff">starz,</font>
Thanks for the tips on car seat.
After looking around, I think I will buy an infant car seat that can double up as a carrier, like the Capella kind... not that expensive at about $100.
Cos on those weeks that my hubby is travelling and if I were to drive, then I will definitely need the infant car seat to put baby in, else no one will be carrying her.
Friends say this kind can last up to maximum 9mths, then after that I'll look for those older child car seats.

As for stroller, I'll borrow from my sis first, like what you advised

Hee, Ayden looks very different without hair hor? Still very cute, esp. with his tongue sticking out

How did your turkey go?

<font color="0000ff">Prisc,</font>
Thanks for info on cordyceps... that reminds me, I've still got a pack in my fridge, will make it soon!

Woah, your homeschooling is very comprehensive!
At what age did you start using the GD flashcards?

Have fun in Osaka and a safe trip back to Vancouver!

<font color="0000ff">lyn,</font>
I'm doing fine - this Thurs gynae appointment again so I'll be seeing how baby is doing

May 2007 be good for your business!

sophie
i got a convertible car seat. think it can last quite some time. probably till abt 18 months? i started to let my boy seat in it when he was quite young. think abt a month. so now he has no problems sitting in it. in fact, in the first few months, he fell asleep very easily in the car seat. must train them to seat in the car seat from young. just my 2 cents worth...

Van
Welcome back...looking forward to hear more about your Japan Trip....But of course, you have to prepare for your gal P1 stuff first....hear from you....
Oh yes, can anyone please enlighten me the word like Ds, Dd...I know s is son and d is daughter, but what is D infront?Thanks

SY,
My hubby looked at the convertible car seats - the really comfy ones cost more than $400, so it's out of our budget. The ones around $100+ are not so comfy for infants, so he thinks

Plus his friend said that the infant carrier car seat is good when baby falls asleep and you don't want to wake her up carrying her from point to point, so we thought of getting the carrier type at around $90 first.
Thought of going to Baby Hypermart this weekend to check out these items.

Joy,
the "d" in front stands for "dear", if I am not wrong

ds = dear son
dd = dear daughter
dh = dear hubby

Hello gals,
I am back! Still VERY VERY busy unpacking,sorting,cleaning up the house after 7days of absence,loads and loads of laundry to be done yet the weather is so bad.... Yesterday still rushed out to buy belated X'mas presents for my neighbours,cos couldn't find suitable ones for them in Japan..

I tried to upload some photos to the Yahoo Group but kept having SEND ERROR...so may have to send you gals a link to my yahoo album instead,after I finished uploading.

Surprisingly I didn't get lots of HK stuff.A lot of the stuff I saw in Japan's websites can't be found there.As those are mainly licensed products, they are not available in Puroland or Sanrio's store at Ginza.

I should have spent more time tracking down the stores that sell those before I left for Tokyo.

Joy,
ya,got to go her school to get her school uniform later.This Sat is her Orientation.It's all so late becos her school is changing to new uniform,and they are only ready these few days.

The D infront also stands for darling.

Lani,
You have mail!

hi ladies...

been back at work liaoz.. so abit more "busy"..

anywayz, pictures of e turkey i grilled for Christmas celebration at my hse with my sis-in-laws...
hehehe... it looks very nice in e microwave due to e orange light hor...
627945.jpg

627946.jpg

thanks for e compliments on ayden... am missing him terribly altho i'm only working half days.. hb not "wei-da" lah.. he always wanted to shave bald.. but nv reli got to do it. now tat got ayden also shaving bald, tats y he decided to..

littlecat,
hope ur hb is feeling ok liaoz... if stil worry, better go to another doc to get a 2nd opinion hor.. to set ur heart at ease..
why cannot eat chilli??? i'm eating chilli leh.. but not as much as last time lah... ayden very used to "eating" chilli inside my tummy liaoz..

Pris,
have a good n safe trip back...

Van,
take ur time lah... juz rem to share ur photos can liaoz...

ttfn...
kao_byebye.gif

Starz,
yr ayden like choc's didi. sticking out tounge.
sure will miss yr ayden terribly the first few days at work and can't wait to rush home hor.
yr turkey sure very yummy.

Van,
glad u had a good trip and looking forward to seeing those nice nice photos.

Our internet connections gone haywire, heard fm IR guys its due to Taiwan earthquake affecting the region. So maybe u can try to load yr photos again.

Littlecat,
Hope yr husband feeling better now. Maybe ike starz suggestion, go for 2nd opinion.
U must take good care of yrself too, cos 2 got to take care of yr 2 little fellows. Remember to eat wel and rest more.

Pris,
Have fun in osaka and a good trip back Vanccouver.

SY,
Me also hope to spend more time with baby after work. But will be so tired sometimes, so hope he sleeps earlier. After that will feel guilty not spending enough time with him.

Finally manage to pack all of our luggage and tomorrow and all the cleaning. Will wait for inspection tomorrow as well as dh to come back from his last day at work before we head off to the hotel in Osaka in the evening as we need to vacant the company apartment.

Lyn, Jayjay the Jet Plane like Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends also teaches values and moral education. They have dvds and books available like Thomas the Jet Plane. Ds loves it as it is cartoon animation and much easier to comprehend.

Van, it is raining cats and dogs here in Japan yesterday. It supposed you have gotten good weather when you were in Tokyo as over at Kyoto we have a week of sunshine.

Will see all of you when I return back to Vancouver online.

More recipes has been added to my blog.

Van,
Welcome back! Hope u have enjoyed your trip ;p

Starz,
Your turkey sure looks good! Surprised that u can spare time to cook ^_^ Hope I will be able to do so too!

Sophie,
U shld be excited that ur EDD is getting nearer right?

Thanks for the enlightment...was wondering why D, as used to say girl or boy or kid....maybe this is a new jargon to me...

Hope everyone had a great xmas and a wonderful New Year that is coming up....

Van,
Welcome back!

starz,
Your turkey looks good!
How long and at what temperature did you put in oven?
I'm so afraid of roasting turkey cos I'm afraid the outside will be chao tar but inside not cooked cos it's such a big bird.
And yours look good cos it looks like you didn't even score the fatty thighs to cook that part easier!

LittleCat,
Missed your posting about your hubby earlier... how is he now? Hope he is better?

Krisjoy,
Yep, I am getting excited, but at today's gynae appointment at 32 weeks, baby is still in a head-up position and has not turned. Gynae said to check in 2 weeks time and be prepared for C-section cos if baby don't turn by 34 weeks, very slim chance for baby to turn as it gets bigger

A little disappointed, but just tell myself that as long as baby is healthy and safe, it shouldn't matter even if it's C-section.

Van,
welcome back. how was japan? must be quite fun...was the weather rainy in japan? sg was really bad.

sophie
yah the convertible ones are quite ex esp the comfy ones....hmm,yah the good thing abt those infant carrier is that u cna jsut carry them out of the car without disturbing them. last time we used to have a hard time carrying my boy out when he fell asleep!

starz
the turkey looks good!! din have any turkey this xmas...

zzzcookiemonster
yeah i feel the same way too. soemtimes so tired and wish my bb will sleep earlier but then want to spend the time with him. so weekends i really try to spend all my time with him no matter how tired i m. hb will go take his afternoon naps and i will just try to bring bb downstairs for walks.

pris
see u back in vancouver!! have a good flight

sophie
i know what u mean abt being disappointed. it happened to my fren too. she was quite disappointed that she had to go for c-section cos bb's head din turn but at the end of it, she told me she felt it was actually a good choice. cos she din feel tired from all the pushing and her wound was really easy to take care. plus she wore this binder so she din feel much pain. in fact, she said she may still go for c-section cos it was pretty fuss free.

Starz,
Your turkey looks really good! How long did you take to roast it? Did you need to wrap the turkey up with some foil during the "process"?

You must be missing ayden a lot when you are at work?

Now is durian season again, guess I can bake your durian cake pretty soon...once dd starts her P1.

Pris
The weather was good when we were in Tokyo_Only drizzled for a short while when dd and I visited Asakusa and Imperial Palace. But the weather on Christmas day was quite bad, a lot of passenger,including myself threw up on plane during our trip back.DD also felt quite sick,but luckily she didn't throw up.In the end too sick to eat the turkey meals that they served on board.

LittleCat,
Sorry, I missed out the posting regarding your hb's palpitation as well.How's he now? Did he go for second opinion?

Sophie,

Not to worry too much,or dissappointed about C-section,as long as both you and baby are doing fine.

Meanwhile may be just follow Starz's method, keep talking to your girl girl,and see if she finally listen to you and turn her head down?

My ex-colleague prepared for natural birth, was in labour and suffer the labour pain in delivery suite for hours then was told that got to do a C-section. But her recovery from C-section was a breeze, and she decided to have C-section for her two subsequent births.

SY,
It's been raining non-stop since we are back in Singapore.Was it already like that before Christmas?

Worst thing is my Washer spoilt again.After I spent $270 dollars to repair it exactly 1 month ago, now they are telling me the motor is spoilt. It cost another S$200+ to repair the motor, and got to wait for 1 month for the motor part to arrive,and they can loan me a set temporarily!

I was really furious, and wanted to buy a new washer instead, but thinking of the S$200+ I just spent really SIM-TIA!

If I repair,don't know whether there will be anymore big surprise for me after the motor is changed,like the next big component such as drum is spoilt?
629305.gif

Now in dilemma,whether to repair or just $600-700+ to get a new washer instead. But I told myself if I decided to get a new wahser, it's not going to be from Mayer anymore!

Which brand of washer are you gals using? How long have you been using it? Previously in another thread,someone recommended Fisher &amp; Paykel Brand,is any one of you using that? I prefer front loading washer,but checked online Fisher's are top loader.