Cooking Tips & Recipe

starz,
In all my gynae visits, I never asked about baby's weight... kekeke... I think as long as baby still active inside, should be fine
the estimation not very accurate one.
I did not use Yew Kwang before. I wanted him to take wedding pictures, but he was booked... I think he's good.. I like his style

Littlecat,
Thank you for the recommendation. Do you know if Gerber or Nestle has samples??
Yes, first week, Aloysius only drink 30ml. Sometimes when supply was low, I gotta feed hourly. My nipples were very very sore, but I still persevere
cos if dun latch, milk will not come in.
I realise these few days I got lots and lots of milk. I eat brown rice with five grains rice plus walnut and almond nut. I also eat oatmeal. I think these food will really increase milk supply
. I read about five grains can increase milk supply, and it did. I also eat brown rice during my whole confinement
. Brown rice has nutrients that is good for baby's brain development, so I eat a lot with other vegetables
I did not drink any fish soup nor eat fish
. I am not sure how true it is, but I read that eating too much meat will decrease milk supply. I eat very little meat one...
I realise drinking hot milo or horlick will help too. Sometimes I will add oatmeal into my horlick and milo
Remember, the breast milk will not increase overnite. For me, after frequent latching, it takes 2 to 3 days to see the sudden increase.
The key to breast feeding is perseverance
I think for first-timer, our nipples not being used so much before, they are very tender and will hurt.

Starz,
There's a possibility that baby will get bad jaundice if dehydrated. I supplement with Friso-soy from day 1 for about 2 weeks only
. First 3 days 100% FM. Then slowly reduce FM and two weeks later, total breast feeding already.
My friend's experience at TMC is that she was told not to supplement by the PDs and nurses, cos going to TBF, and told not to feed water. Then her gal gotta be admitted with very bad jaundice, and the PD and nurse at TMC then asked her how come never feed water or supplement... You see, before anything happened, she was told cannot feed formula nor water. When something happened, she was asked how come never feed. So I chose to supplement with FM lor.. cos I also dun wanna be stressed about milk supply. Cos more stress will cause milk supply to go low...

hmm.. ultimately, there are many ways to succeed in TBF. Find a way that you believe and comfortable in, and stick with it
There will be lots of comments and suggestions everywhere.. You need to know what you want before giving birth, else with new baby around, plus the cries and lots of other pressure, then stress, and not easy to make the "right" decisions.

starz,
In all my gynae visits, I never asked about baby's weight... kekeke... I think as long as baby still active inside, should be fine
the estimation not very accurate one.
I did not use Yew Kwang before. I wanted him to take wedding pictures, but he was booked... I think he's good.. I like his style

Littlecat,
Thank you for the recommendation. Do you know if Gerber or Nestle has samples??
Yes, first week, Aloysius only drink 30ml. Sometimes when supply was low, I gotta feed hourly. My nipples were very very sore, but I still persevere
cos if dun latch, milk will not come in.
I realise these few days I got lots and lots of milk. I eat brown rice with five grains rice plus walnut and almond nut. I also eat oatmeal. I think these food will really increase milk supply
. I read about five grains can increase milk supply, and it did. I also eat brown rice during my whole confinement
. Brown rice has nutrients that is good for baby's brain development, so I eat a lot with other vegetables
I did not drink any fish soup nor eat fish
. I am not sure how true it is, but I read that eating too much meat will decrease milk supply. I eat very little meat one...
I realise drinking hot milo or horlick will help too. Sometimes I will add oatmeal into my horlick and milo
Remember, the breast milk will not increase overnite. For me, after frequent latching, it takes 2 to 3 days to see the sudden increase.
The key to breast feeding is perseverance
I think for first-timer, our nipples not being used so much before, they are very tender and will hurt.

Starz,
There's a possibility that baby will get bad jaundice if dehydrated. I supplement with Friso-soy from day 1 for about 2 weeks only
. First 3 days 100% FM. Then slowly reduce FM and two weeks later, total breast feeding already.
My friend's experience at TMC is that she was told not to supplement by the PDs and nurses, cos going to TBF, and told not to feed water. Then her gal gotta be admitted with very bad jaundice, and the PD and nurse at TMC then asked her how come never feed water or supplement... You see, before anything happened, she was told cannot feed formula nor water. When something happened, she was asked how come never feed. So I chose to supplement with FM lor.. cos I also dun wanna be stressed about milk supply. Cos more stress will cause milk supply to go low...

hmm.. ultimately, there are many ways to succeed in TBF. Find a way that you believe and comfortable in, and stick with it
There will be lots of comments and suggestions everywhere.. You need to know what you want before giving birth, else with new baby around, plus the cries and lots of other pressure, then stress, and not easy to make the "right" decisions.

I learnt something very useful from a book (I forgot the name already) :p.

When baby cries, and you do not know why, just pause a while and have a few deep breath to relax

When baby is in pain, the cries are sudden outburst, very loud one...

When baby is hungry, the cries will be like coughing coughing in the beginning, then if not attended, will burst into loud cry.

When diaper is soiled, baby will keep fidgeting and cry...

I learnt something very useful from a book (I forgot the name already) :p.

When baby cries, and you do not know why, just pause a while and have a few deep breath to relax

When baby is in pain, the cries are sudden outburst, very loud one...

When baby is hungry, the cries will be like coughing coughing in the beginning, then if not attended, will burst into loud cry.

When diaper is soiled, baby will keep fidgeting and cry...

starz,
That's a good idea... narrating my day to my baby!

So far, I've only been telling baby to grow well and then come out play with the cats!

Yes, I read about this Mrs. Wong. My friend who has just delivered at TMC gave me 3 books written by her - on childbirth, breastfeeding and childcare. Very informative!
But yeah, my gynae at Mt. A, so will be going there instead.

Oh, so you're also not pro-epidural? I think if your pain threshold is high, should be OK.
Cos I think Joy also didn't use epidural.
You let me know after you have given birth OK? Cos I have not decided yet.... *scared*

annlee,
I see my sis try to pump every time, but not much milk comes out leh.
I read about some psychological effects i.e. if baby sleeps with mummy, then the body automatically produces some hormones which will help lactation. And cos my sis goes home and leave the baby at my mum's place every night during the first month, I wonder if that had an effect on drying out the breastmilk faster.

starz,
That's a good idea... narrating my day to my baby!

So far, I've only been telling baby to grow well and then come out play with the cats!

Yes, I read about this Mrs. Wong. My friend who has just delivered at TMC gave me 3 books written by her - on childbirth, breastfeeding and childcare. Very informative!
But yeah, my gynae at Mt. A, so will be going there instead.

Oh, so you're also not pro-epidural? I think if your pain threshold is high, should be OK.
Cos I think Joy also didn't use epidural.
You let me know after you have given birth OK? Cos I have not decided yet.... *scared*

annlee,
I see my sis try to pump every time, but not much milk comes out leh.
I read about some psychological effects i.e. if baby sleeps with mummy, then the body automatically produces some hormones which will help lactation. And cos my sis goes home and leave the baby at my mum's place every night during the first month, I wonder if that had an effect on drying out the breastmilk faster.

lyn,
ur advice on BF really very practical n realistic.. definitely give me something to think abt.. thanks for sharing...

abt ur postnatal diet hor... u didn't go thru confinement period ar?? didnt eat those vinegar pig trotters, papaya w fish soup.. etc etc...??
i'm thinking of replacing white rice w brown rice during my confinement, cos i wan to slim down faster... didnt know its so good for boosting milk supply also... can share how u cook ur brown rice with five grains rice plus walnut and almond nut????
i only have abt 2 mths to direct BF my baby.. cos after tat going back to work liaoz... recently been trying to ask a colleague how she manage with work n BF.. cos her bb now 1years old liaoz, n she's still breastfeeding....

sophie,
hehehe.. once u start, u will get used to talking to him liaoz.. i only stop when in e office.. otherwise, driving, at home.. i'm almost constantly talking to him... if not, i'll be singing baby songs.. but only keep repeating 3 songs over n over again... his daddy only allowed 2 songs.. cos dont want him to get "information overload"... heheheh...

i still dont know how high my pain threshold is... after birth liaoz then let u know lah...

lyn,
ur advice on BF really very practical n realistic.. definitely give me something to think abt.. thanks for sharing...

abt ur postnatal diet hor... u didn't go thru confinement period ar?? didnt eat those vinegar pig trotters, papaya w fish soup.. etc etc...??
i'm thinking of replacing white rice w brown rice during my confinement, cos i wan to slim down faster... didnt know its so good for boosting milk supply also... can share how u cook ur brown rice with five grains rice plus walnut and almond nut????
i only have abt 2 mths to direct BF my baby.. cos after tat going back to work liaoz... recently been trying to ask a colleague how she manage with work n BF.. cos her bb now 1years old liaoz, n she's still breastfeeding....

sophie,
hehehe.. once u start, u will get used to talking to him liaoz.. i only stop when in e office.. otherwise, driving, at home.. i'm almost constantly talking to him... if not, i'll be singing baby songs.. but only keep repeating 3 songs over n over again... his daddy only allowed 2 songs.. cos dont want him to get "information overload"... heheheh...

i still dont know how high my pain threshold is... after birth liaoz then let u know lah...

little cat,

i tong until almost 3mths infact 2.5mths only as went back to work . I supplement w FM also since MS is so little and cannot match his intake. But still give him BM twice a day.

Sophie,
i opp w u, when i swim tummy soft, come out of water, tummy hard until hb got to help me /frag me out of it.

little cat,

i tong until almost 3mths infact 2.5mths only as went back to work . I supplement w FM also since MS is so little and cannot match his intake. But still give him BM twice a day.

Sophie,
i opp w u, when i swim tummy soft, come out of water, tummy hard until hb got to help me /frag me out of it.

sophie, in the beginning, will not have much milk if trying to pump out so must latch to increase milk flow.
oh yes.... it really got psychological effect and is true. For me, I remember at that time I'm pumping out milk every night and I'm watching Full house but if i watch and pump in the same time, my milk will be very little but if i'm not watching the show and concentrate expressing my milk, i will get lotsa milk. I don't believe it and tried many times and always the same thing happened. So when you want to have more milk, must concentrate...imagine you're loaded with milk and your baby is having them or think of the sea, full of milk not seawater... hee.... all these i read from a book during preggie time.

oh yes, I'm watching this korea drama "Green Rose" very nice show, highly recommend! The previous snow white I'm watching, i don't like it unless you want love love story, pretty normal type of love story.

What you gals cooking tonight? I'm cooking petai, must cleanse my kidney so going to eat petai tonight.

sophie, in the beginning, will not have much milk if trying to pump out so must latch to increase milk flow.
oh yes.... it really got psychological effect and is true. For me, I remember at that time I'm pumping out milk every night and I'm watching Full house but if i watch and pump in the same time, my milk will be very little but if i'm not watching the show and concentrate expressing my milk, i will get lotsa milk. I don't believe it and tried many times and always the same thing happened. So when you want to have more milk, must concentrate...imagine you're loaded with milk and your baby is having them or think of the sea, full of milk not seawater... hee.... all these i read from a book during preggie time.

oh yes, I'm watching this korea drama "Green Rose" very nice show, highly recommend! The previous snow white I'm watching, i don't like it unless you want love love story, pretty normal type of love story.

What you gals cooking tonight? I'm cooking petai, must cleanse my kidney so going to eat petai tonight.

Sophie,
I read from somewhere that baby can actually suck about 1oz more than if we pump. There are also people who TBF, but when pump, no milk comes out...

starz,
Just read up on it and decide what you wanna follow
Then by the time, will not kalang kabok.. And know what to expect...
I went through confinement. I did not take vinegar pig trotters. Only ate the vinegar once and I started bleeding more, so I did not eat. I eat mostly vegetables such as broccoli, kailan, cauliflower, "heng chye", "puay leng". I drink lotus root with black bean soup daily

I get very hungry very fast during my confinement, which I think it's becos of the brown rice and breastfeeding..
For the brown rice with five grains, I dun think my way will suit you for confinement, cos it's porridge
I soak brown rice and five grains for a few hours. Then throw in sweetcorn, broccoli, wolfberries, red dates, lily bulb to boil with the brown rice and five grains. To cook faster, after soaking, I blend them. Oh yes, I add black sesame too
hee... just throw everything I wanna "bu"
Before I eat, I add walnut and almond nut
hee... very "bu" bowl of porridge.
For the brown rice for confinement, for some variation, you can add some dried longans when cooking the brown rice. Then your rice will taste sweet... If you dun like sweet, then dun put..

annlee,
Petai can cleanse the kidney ah... My hubby dare not eat petai... hee.. I dun like the smell when in the toilet so seldom eat :p
Tonite I think I will be eating out. My parents are here with their maid
But I cannot communicate with the maid to tell her what I want her to clean
Now she ironing the clothes very slowly.. cos got nothing much for her to do already...

Sophie,
I read from somewhere that baby can actually suck about 1oz more than if we pump. There are also people who TBF, but when pump, no milk comes out...

starz,
Just read up on it and decide what you wanna follow
Then by the time, will not kalang kabok.. And know what to expect...
I went through confinement. I did not take vinegar pig trotters. Only ate the vinegar once and I started bleeding more, so I did not eat. I eat mostly vegetables such as broccoli, kailan, cauliflower, "heng chye", "puay leng". I drink lotus root with black bean soup daily

I get very hungry very fast during my confinement, which I think it's becos of the brown rice and breastfeeding..
For the brown rice with five grains, I dun think my way will suit you for confinement, cos it's porridge
I soak brown rice and five grains for a few hours. Then throw in sweetcorn, broccoli, wolfberries, red dates, lily bulb to boil with the brown rice and five grains. To cook faster, after soaking, I blend them. Oh yes, I add black sesame too
hee... just throw everything I wanna "bu"
Before I eat, I add walnut and almond nut
hee... very "bu" bowl of porridge.
For the brown rice for confinement, for some variation, you can add some dried longans when cooking the brown rice. Then your rice will taste sweet... If you dun like sweet, then dun put..

annlee,
Petai can cleanse the kidney ah... My hubby dare not eat petai... hee.. I dun like the smell when in the toilet so seldom eat :p
Tonite I think I will be eating out. My parents are here with their maid
But I cannot communicate with the maid to tell her what I want her to clean
Now she ironing the clothes very slowly.. cos got nothing much for her to do already...

Wah.. so many posts !
Got time to just browse thru your posts while the 3 are sleeping ..

lyn, normally I'll just drink dom aft I bf.. the dom really knocked me out ! Good sleep..
Very fast hor, your bb going to start semi-solids, I can't remember what to give liao ..

Wah.. your diet really good ar ! Really "por"

yo cat, your bb coming out soon.. so exciting ! TBF is good, I also not giving FM.. at night, I'll just latch the bb on, a lazy way not to wake up to make milk..

Do well for our confinement hor.. I told myself if no.3 was the last one, I better "por" well.. but by the end of the third week of confinement, got sore throat liao..

you getting korean ginseng ?

Eh soph, how many weeks is your bb now ? What you are experiencing about the soft and hard feeling might be the tightening of the tummy muscles.. When I was about 5 months, went swimming too, aft that, experienced some tightening.. so I told gynae about it, she says it's braxton hicks contractions.. she asked me not to overdo it.. but I really love to swim.. now must wait for didi to be 5 months old ..

starz, when you due?

Thought I'm the only one with piles aft giving birth, now, mine is quite painful.. trying to eat more fruits these days..

Has anyone tried making pumpkin soup before ? My friend told me to boil it with nan xing bei xing and with pork ribs, it supposedly will help to strengthen the lungs..
I'm boiling it for no. 2 who is coughing again..

Wah.. so many posts !
Got time to just browse thru your posts while the 3 are sleeping ..

lyn, normally I'll just drink dom aft I bf.. the dom really knocked me out ! Good sleep..
Very fast hor, your bb going to start semi-solids, I can't remember what to give liao ..

Wah.. your diet really good ar ! Really "por"

yo cat, your bb coming out soon.. so exciting ! TBF is good, I also not giving FM.. at night, I'll just latch the bb on, a lazy way not to wake up to make milk..

Do well for our confinement hor.. I told myself if no.3 was the last one, I better "por" well.. but by the end of the third week of confinement, got sore throat liao..

you getting korean ginseng ?

Eh soph, how many weeks is your bb now ? What you are experiencing about the soft and hard feeling might be the tightening of the tummy muscles.. When I was about 5 months, went swimming too, aft that, experienced some tightening.. so I told gynae about it, she says it's braxton hicks contractions.. she asked me not to overdo it.. but I really love to swim.. now must wait for didi to be 5 months old ..

starz, when you due?

Thought I'm the only one with piles aft giving birth, now, mine is quite painful.. trying to eat more fruits these days..

Has anyone tried making pumpkin soup before ? My friend told me to boil it with nan xing bei xing and with pork ribs, it supposedly will help to strengthen the lungs..
I'm boiling it for no. 2 who is coughing again..

lyn,
hehehe.. i just saved ur recipe for e porridge into file... porridge also suitable for confinement mah.. e cookbook i bought (taiwan version) got quite a number of porridge.. only thing is, sometimes dont understand their ingredients.. cos name maybe different.. or something not available here..

choc,
my EDD suppose to be 7 Nov...
but i think my boy will "break out" of his "house" before tat... today another day of "suffering" his "practising free-kicks"...

dom can drink with ice ar???

hehehe... i'm going out to Taka liaoz.. so can tell Van in advance need her help to buy or not...
tomorrow on leave.. sleep enuf liaoz then i come chit chat...

ta ta for now....
kao_byebye.gif

lyn,
hehehe.. i just saved ur recipe for e porridge into file... porridge also suitable for confinement mah.. e cookbook i bought (taiwan version) got quite a number of porridge.. only thing is, sometimes dont understand their ingredients.. cos name maybe different.. or something not available here..

choc,
my EDD suppose to be 7 Nov...
but i think my boy will "break out" of his "house" before tat... today another day of "suffering" his "practising free-kicks"...

dom can drink with ice ar???

hehehe... i'm going out to Taka liaoz.. so can tell Van in advance need her help to buy or not...
tomorrow on leave.. sleep enuf liaoz then i come chit chat...

ta ta for now....
kao_byebye.gif

litle cat: wan to try my honeydew sago? can can can.. i shift liao i organise one weekend gathering at my plc, and we all do pot luck! aimai?

lyn, no... i am shifting to the terrace opp. NTU. jurong pt? i hardly go, i prefer wet markets actually. I heard frm my new neighbour, that her mum can help me to get fish & vege without gng to market... kekek so i will go market less and stay home to lok for better recipe.

lyn, i love to have fish, so i will try to have fish to keep my milk supply in. i am still BF.. kekek. actually BF mummies cant take brocoli, as this will lead to colic.
thats why till now i hardly touch brocoli & cabbage.

litle cat: wan to try my honeydew sago? can can can.. i shift liao i organise one weekend gathering at my plc, and we all do pot luck! aimai?

lyn, no... i am shifting to the terrace opp. NTU. jurong pt? i hardly go, i prefer wet markets actually. I heard frm my new neighbour, that her mum can help me to get fish & vege without gng to market... kekek so i will go market less and stay home to lok for better recipe.

lyn, i love to have fish, so i will try to have fish to keep my milk supply in. i am still BF.. kekek. actually BF mummies cant take brocoli, as this will lead to colic.
thats why till now i hardly touch brocoli & cabbage.

cupcake, annlee, lyn, twinkle-starry,choc, sophie,
thanks for the BF info!

Will remember the tips and follow. i know must be very tough if already very tired got to wake up 1-2 hour to feed again.. since it is really good for the baby, must be a wei-da mama!

how about the pump? is it true with electrical pump is better to pupmp out?
i have a manual one, pump till 'pek-chek'..
if pump out and keep, what is the best way ? i heard store in the fridge, then keep how many days, then rules to warm up.. like very chim leh...

starz/van, fish is not meat? oh.. too bad!

sophie, i also think when tighten could be the baby stress. my own experience is sometime when showering water too cold, i will have that feeling, only awhile.

lyn you are a really healthy gal! thanks for all the tips to boast milk supply, shall try that!

wow annlee, didn't know got psychological effect, wow must watch all the baby show while pumping liao!

annlee, how u cook your petai? with prawn sambal? the week to pick up maid suppose to go bu-yeah-tian for petai again, but was late, leave office at 7pm then got to pick her at 8pm, so didn't eat.

choc, my auntie say the same... she said if this is your last one must 'bu' properly.
no leh didn't get korean ginseng, is it good?
wow sore throat, is it due to too much XO and ginseng ?
about the piles, do u need to do anything to remove it or just eating more fiber will do?

carole, eh u serious or not? i stay jurong east leh really very near for me to go to your house..kekeke!
wow so fast u already build good rapo with your new neighbor, good idea!

starz, just to add on the epidural thing, i heard the same story too, so wasted on the money lor..

sohpie, how much weight u gain so far?

cupcake, annlee, lyn, twinkle-starry,choc, sophie,
thanks for the BF info!

Will remember the tips and follow. i know must be very tough if already very tired got to wake up 1-2 hour to feed again.. since it is really good for the baby, must be a wei-da mama!

how about the pump? is it true with electrical pump is better to pupmp out?
i have a manual one, pump till 'pek-chek'..
if pump out and keep, what is the best way ? i heard store in the fridge, then keep how many days, then rules to warm up.. like very chim leh...

starz/van, fish is not meat? oh.. too bad!

sophie, i also think when tighten could be the baby stress. my own experience is sometime when showering water too cold, i will have that feeling, only awhile.

lyn you are a really healthy gal! thanks for all the tips to boast milk supply, shall try that!

wow annlee, didn't know got psychological effect, wow must watch all the baby show while pumping liao!

annlee, how u cook your petai? with prawn sambal? the week to pick up maid suppose to go bu-yeah-tian for petai again, but was late, leave office at 7pm then got to pick her at 8pm, so didn't eat.

choc, my auntie say the same... she said if this is your last one must 'bu' properly.
no leh didn't get korean ginseng, is it good?
wow sore throat, is it due to too much XO and ginseng ?
about the piles, do u need to do anything to remove it or just eating more fiber will do?

carole, eh u serious or not? i stay jurong east leh really very near for me to go to your house..kekeke!
wow so fast u already build good rapo with your new neighbor, good idea!

starz, just to add on the epidural thing, i heard the same story too, so wasted on the money lor..

sohpie, how much weight u gain so far?

littlecat, cannot watch show while pumping, must concentrate on that area while pumping the milk out and think of all the milk go to bb or think you have plenty to give.

Not sure about manual pump... but think hand will ache after all the pumping manually right

I like prawn sambal or ha bi hiam petai too... but tonight I'm cooking my mum's type... stir fry with onion, meat, petai, dark soy sauce, soy sauce, sugar, water,lime.Can also add some chilli if you like. This petai quite appetitsing.

lyn, I like your porriage... super healthy with the 5 grains rice, black sesame etc... my confinement also eat 5 grains rice but i don't like it but now i intend to mix with brown or white rice so it will not be that coarse for my son. It also good to eat all the healthy food as you're bf so your bb also bu too..

littlecat, cannot watch show while pumping, must concentrate on that area while pumping the milk out and think of all the milk go to bb or think you have plenty to give.

Not sure about manual pump... but think hand will ache after all the pumping manually right

I like prawn sambal or ha bi hiam petai too... but tonight I'm cooking my mum's type... stir fry with onion, meat, petai, dark soy sauce, soy sauce, sugar, water,lime.Can also add some chilli if you like. This petai quite appetitsing.

lyn, I like your porriage... super healthy with the 5 grains rice, black sesame etc... my confinement also eat 5 grains rice but i don't like it but now i intend to mix with brown or white rice so it will not be that coarse for my son. It also good to eat all the healthy food as you're bf so your bb also bu too..

joy 747: no lah 99 yrs only...

llittlecat: kekkee.. must build repo lahz. if nt how to survive in a new environment manz.. cant be asking me to face my maid 24hrs a day and 7 days a wk right??

Van: do u remember the cake i ordered at clarisse party? i ordered another one!!! whahhahaha but this time is a 1kg D24 Durian TWEETY BIRD!!

542657.jpg

joy 747: no lah 99 yrs only...

llittlecat: kekkee.. must build repo lahz. if nt how to survive in a new environment manz.. cant be asking me to face my maid 24hrs a day and 7 days a wk right??

Van: do u remember the cake i ordered at clarisse party? i ordered another one!!! whahhahaha but this time is a 1kg D24 Durian TWEETY BIRD!!

542657.jpg

Thanks for the info on hard tummy during swimming! Now a bit scared of swimming *sigh*

Carole,
Your tweety bird D24 durian cakes looks yummy! How much did it cost and where did you order it from?

Choc,
I'm 21 weeks today
Very happy whenever I feel baby's kicks.
Braxton hicks contractions at 21 weeks is a bit serious right? If those tightening of tummy is really Braxton Hicks....

Regarding pumpkin soup, yep, my soup book says it "tonifies cells, promotes cell activity, moistens intestines and lungs. When weather turns cold, consume this soup for tonifying the respiratory system and regulating energy".

twinkle,
Hee, yours is probably a water baby, or maybe your baby likes the cold... like what LittleCat says, it could be cos of the cold water that's why tummy went hard. What is "frag"?

annlee,
I love petai beans with sambal! Hee, but I agree pee smells after that, cos of the kidney cleansing effect.

lyn,
Thanks for the info on the brown rice and wu gu mi for bf - they're really useful!

LittleCat,
Don't worry, you will be a wei-da mama for sure!

Here's an excerpt from TMC book on storage of breastmilk (BM):
- BM can be kept at temp of 25 degrees C for up to 4hrs and in fridge at 4 degrees C for 48hrs
- BM can also be kept in a 2-door freezer for 2 mths and in a deep freezer at -20 degrees C for 6 mths
- Milk can be thawed in 2 ways:
(1) Warm the expressed milk in a cup fo warm water or baby milk warmer (Milk cannot be stored again once it has been warmed). Do not heat the milk over a stove or in a microwave
(2) Thaw the milk in cold running tap water for 10mins or more. Pour out the amount required & put remainder in fridge which can be stored for the next 12-24hrs. Always check the milk by smelling and tasting before you feed baby. Ensure it has not gone sour.

Notes:
- 2 or 3 weeks before you return to work, try to accumulate enough expressed milk for 6 to 8 feeds per day. Label the bottles, write the date of expression on each bottle and place in the coldest part of refrigerator or freezer.

LittleCat,
Do you want to borrow the TMC breastfeeding book from me? I got it from a friend whose baby is already 6 mths old. Cos I won't need it yet.
If you paiseh to hold it long, can always borrow and photocopy the necessary pages you want? It's only 52 pages in total.

I gained 2 kg so far - maybe cos 1st trimester nauseousness was bad, so didn't eat much for dinner. But now appetite very good; scared I exceed gynae's limit of 2kg per month!

Thanks for the info on hard tummy during swimming! Now a bit scared of swimming *sigh*

Carole,
Your tweety bird D24 durian cakes looks yummy! How much did it cost and where did you order it from?

Choc,
I'm 21 weeks today
Very happy whenever I feel baby's kicks.
Braxton hicks contractions at 21 weeks is a bit serious right? If those tightening of tummy is really Braxton Hicks....

Regarding pumpkin soup, yep, my soup book says it "tonifies cells, promotes cell activity, moistens intestines and lungs. When weather turns cold, consume this soup for tonifying the respiratory system and regulating energy".

twinkle,
Hee, yours is probably a water baby, or maybe your baby likes the cold... like what LittleCat says, it could be cos of the cold water that's why tummy went hard. What is "frag"?

annlee,
I love petai beans with sambal! Hee, but I agree pee smells after that, cos of the kidney cleansing effect.

lyn,
Thanks for the info on the brown rice and wu gu mi for bf - they're really useful!

LittleCat,
Don't worry, you will be a wei-da mama for sure!

Here's an excerpt from TMC book on storage of breastmilk (BM):
- BM can be kept at temp of 25 degrees C for up to 4hrs and in fridge at 4 degrees C for 48hrs
- BM can also be kept in a 2-door freezer for 2 mths and in a deep freezer at -20 degrees C for 6 mths
- Milk can be thawed in 2 ways:
(1) Warm the expressed milk in a cup fo warm water or baby milk warmer (Milk cannot be stored again once it has been warmed). Do not heat the milk over a stove or in a microwave
(2) Thaw the milk in cold running tap water for 10mins or more. Pour out the amount required & put remainder in fridge which can be stored for the next 12-24hrs. Always check the milk by smelling and tasting before you feed baby. Ensure it has not gone sour.

Notes:
- 2 or 3 weeks before you return to work, try to accumulate enough expressed milk for 6 to 8 feeds per day. Label the bottles, write the date of expression on each bottle and place in the coldest part of refrigerator or freezer.

LittleCat,
Do you want to borrow the TMC breastfeeding book from me? I got it from a friend whose baby is already 6 mths old. Cos I won't need it yet.
If you paiseh to hold it long, can always borrow and photocopy the necessary pages you want? It's only 52 pages in total.

I gained 2 kg so far - maybe cos 1st trimester nauseousness was bad, so didn't eat much for dinner. But now appetite very good; scared I exceed gynae's limit of 2kg per month!

sophie: frm strawberry shortcake bakery. $50 for durian, normal fillings like mango/peach is $40/kg, + $10/kg for durian.... yummy.. not heavy at all..

Carole,
Thanks for info. I just kaypoh-ed on the web, and saw some of their cake displays on e-shop.com.sg
Even hubby agrees the 3-dimensional cakes like the McQueen car looks quite impressive!
Will bookmark this bakery

Carole,
Thanks for info. I just kaypoh-ed on the web, and saw some of their cake displays on e-shop.com.sg
Even hubby agrees the 3-dimensional cakes like the McQueen car looks quite impressive!
Will bookmark this bakery

Annlee,
I also love petai with sambal. But now BF, can only read abt u guys eating

Littlecat,
To me, i feel electric pump better. Cos we working very tired very day. Electric pump dun need to press till hands also cramp.
During pregnancy, my breast was very lumpy. TMC Mrs Wong told me i may not have much milk. So ask me don't buy pump yet. Wait till after delivery, she will check again.
After delivery she massaged and checked and told me can buy, but i may not have enough to tbf.
I waited till the 4th day when i was engorged and was my husband chiong to buy.
True enough, my milk was barley enough to tbf. And by the 4th week, at times supplement was required.
After back to work is even worse. only enough for abt 3-4 feed each day. Cos office environment do not allow pumping. Evening once reach home, will latch on baby. and pump out whatever remaining when he sleeps. midnight will latch direct. Like choc don't need to wake up to make milk. Morning before work pump out remaining again.
Electric pump good also cos evening, will be engorged, and hands will be free to massage and press the breast to ensure the breast fully emptied.
I have mrs wong books, if u don't mind i can pass to u.

Choc,
I also told myself i want to bu when stop tbf. During confinement i never bu and always washing things. now aching all over.

Lynn,
yr porridge sounds yummy and healthy.

Carole,
you shifting to westwood or yunnan area?

Sophie,
me try to tahan without epi for abt 8hours.
cos when admitted, gynae said might need csection cos baby position still very high but water bad already broke. after 8hours of waiting, gynae advise can do natural but will be a long labour and ask me to take epi. i quickly opt for it.
Actually, during the vaginal examination to check how much u are diluted can roughly tell if u can tahan the pain. and fm then, the midwife and gynae will hint whether u need epi. but again that is just basis on what my friends and i experienced. u can talk to yr gynae abt it also.

Annlee,
I also love petai with sambal. But now BF, can only read abt u guys eating

Littlecat,
To me, i feel electric pump better. Cos we working very tired very day. Electric pump dun need to press till hands also cramp.
During pregnancy, my breast was very lumpy. TMC Mrs Wong told me i may not have much milk. So ask me don't buy pump yet. Wait till after delivery, she will check again.
After delivery she massaged and checked and told me can buy, but i may not have enough to tbf.
I waited till the 4th day when i was engorged and was my husband chiong to buy.
True enough, my milk was barley enough to tbf. And by the 4th week, at times supplement was required.
After back to work is even worse. only enough for abt 3-4 feed each day. Cos office environment do not allow pumping. Evening once reach home, will latch on baby. and pump out whatever remaining when he sleeps. midnight will latch direct. Like choc don't need to wake up to make milk. Morning before work pump out remaining again.
Electric pump good also cos evening, will be engorged, and hands will be free to massage and press the breast to ensure the breast fully emptied.
I have mrs wong books, if u don't mind i can pass to u.

Choc,
I also told myself i want to bu when stop tbf. During confinement i never bu and always washing things. now aching all over.

Lynn,
yr porridge sounds yummy and healthy.

Carole,
you shifting to westwood or yunnan area?

Sophie,
me try to tahan without epi for abt 8hours.
cos when admitted, gynae said might need csection cos baby position still very high but water bad already broke. after 8hours of waiting, gynae advise can do natural but will be a long labour and ask me to take epi. i quickly opt for it.
Actually, during the vaginal examination to check how much u are diluted can roughly tell if u can tahan the pain. and fm then, the midwife and gynae will hint whether u need epi. but again that is just basis on what my friends and i experienced. u can talk to yr gynae abt it also.

carole, you mean the tweety bird D24 durian cake is $50 per kg? That's cheap! I remember bought my ds D24 durian cake at emicake cost about $100+ design not much to select too

Good morning everyone!
Hmm.... I guess some girls went shopping today!
I had a very sad dream this morning, so vivid that I woke up with my tummy tight and taut, then had to tell baby to relax cos it's just a dream! Weird that the dream actually affected the baby...

cookiemonster,
I thought if want epi must write in some "birth plan" which is a letter? But if so flexible can last minute ask for epi, also pretty good.
So during the 8 hours, what did it feel like? Sharp intense pain, or crampy pain, or constipation pain?
I tried asking my mum - she said can only remember "very painful" with my first sis, then with me, no pain at all, like pooping

annlee,
A 1kg durian cake at emicake cost so much?!?

Good morning everyone!
Hmm.... I guess some girls went shopping today!
I had a very sad dream this morning, so vivid that I woke up with my tummy tight and taut, then had to tell baby to relax cos it's just a dream! Weird that the dream actually affected the baby...

cookiemonster,
I thought if want epi must write in some "birth plan" which is a letter? But if so flexible can last minute ask for epi, also pretty good.
So during the 8 hours, what did it feel like? Sharp intense pain, or crampy pain, or constipation pain?
I tried asking my mum - she said can only remember "very painful" with my first sis, then with me, no pain at all, like pooping

annlee,
A 1kg durian cake at emicake cost so much?!?