Cooking Tips & Recipe

Krisjoy,
I always crave for chwee kueh and chee cheong fun for breakfast leh, but those will not allow me to visit my "throne" often enough

For the popiah, yep, parking is the usual problem cos very limited parallel parking there. We parked at Joo Chiat Terrace which is an adjacent street just behind the popiah place. If coming by PIE and exiting Eunos, then the Joo Chiat Rd will "split up" i.e. you will reach units 300+ first. Don't park anywhere near there, cos have to walk very far. Make sure you loop around to the smaller unit numbers near 97 then park, don't have to walk so far. Not sure if they open at night leh... I wonder if you can find the tel number on directory and call up? If they are closed, then at worst do Glory?

Choc!
Haven't seen you for a long time!
How come you eating porridge everyday? So sure lose weight?
Think no one given birth yet leh... next to pop are starz, Krisjoy and LittleCat... not sure of their order though

Joy,
You stay around Joo Chiat? Woah, envy leh.. so much good food there!
Yesterday, other than the popiah, I saw Glory on East Coast Rd, plus another famous durian puff called Puteri Mas, plus a few pretty good bak kut teh... **drool**
Heard that there is a good yong tau foo near Siglap Centre too?
Plus that area is so quaint - makes me feel like I'm in Malacca!

LittleCat,
How's your maid?

hi sister hum, not yet, not yet, waiting for you to give tips leh...

aiyoh i here pain there pain, sleeping turning also must be very careful.. my inside one kick me, the outside one sometime sleep half also give me 'Mr Lee's 3 legs"!
eh why eat porridge? after heavy confinement need something light?

my maid is here already. She is quite ok, not that 'wood'...
now go home very shiok, everything clean clean...

yesterday teach her how to cook. steam the century egg with doufu, bake chicken (those ready type), fried brocolli.
my hb like never eat at home for ages, so happy.
cos we dun consider his aunt's cooking healthy. and frankly abit sick of her fried eggs, hot dog, hot dog soup(can u imagine?), cabbage soup, cabbage chap-chye, cabbage curry, roasted duck from hawker center then fried again with oil...

LittleCat,
Glad to know your maid is up to your standards!
Now can start training her to cook healthily for your family!
Eh... hot dog soup?
First time I heard of it... even the angmohs who invented hot dogs don't eat them in soups right?

Van, sophie
Hmmmm...yap, good food in Joo chiat...I sian already.......I stayed in Joo Chiat walk actually....

Katong laksa, siglap fried yong taufu, famous kaya near church,famous bao etc...too bad, me not really a food lover..

Oh yes, van, just checked with hubby regarding where is wing wah in Hk airport, its actually near gate 20 and 21...hope this helps....

Van,

How to sign up for Phoon Huat classes? Last time they will give me info and form at their outlet when i went there to purchase some stuff. Not been there for quite sometime liao.

LittleCat,
Hot dog soup? can't imagine! Your aunty reminds me of my friend's stepmother who helps to look after my friend's elder daughter.Always cook hot dog, luncheon meat,nuggets,fish cake/ball for the girl.So the girls only asked for and will only eat such stuff when eating out.

Glad to know that you are happy with your new maid!

Joy747,
Thanks for the info. Will let my hb know the gate no.,hopefully he has time to go and buy for me.

Twinkle-starry,

I signed up from their website,but haven't received confirmation from them yet.I used to sign up at their outlet too.

http://www.phoonhuat.com/b_demo.htm

2 maidless days n I wanna pengsan oredi. Luckily my new maid will be coming tomorrow. I wonder how u mothers cope. Need to keep an eye on the small one while doing chores is really no joke!!! Quite pissed with the men in my family (I stay with my in laws and a BIL). Juz eat n go, dun even wash their own cups!!! i think too many years with maids liao....

I vaguely remember that someone ask me abt trial maid? I took a transfer maid (desperate) and the agency let me try her for one day. She came at 1 and left at abt 5. We talked abt wat she is supposed to do, some rules and regulations. I ask her to help me mop flr and iron some clothes. She is quite ok, different from my previous one that juz keep saying 'yes mdm'.

Littlecat
shiok rite, to have things done for u when u reached home. Lucky ur not so wood, mine will do exactly wat I told her NOT to do immediately after she said "yes mdm" to my instructions.

Amelia,
I don't remember having constipation during pregnancy, not even during the period I took Frisomum.Only had bad constipation after giving birth.

539952.jpg

sophie/van
yeah lor amazing hor soup got hotdog!
real dog may be taste better..ahem just KIDDING!
van u r right she sometime also cook luncheon meat and fish ball, those ready made Yong tao fu in the soup..
Annlee, the agency is at bukit timah, called Everest. first time trying. cos after viewing so many, we find that as long as the price is reasonable, the stuff is helpful, the quality of the maid really base on your luck. So we just settle with this.
cupcake are they all "teochoew" man? keke..
eh i know how u feel, they used to have maid so too pampered. once without maid they also not 'zi-tong' i hate it!
one of my fren's brother also. she hired maid meant for her own family, but the maid will go to the mother's house to help. but the brother plus the gilffren, will wait for the maid to come to their house to do cleaning! aiyoh teruk!

just hope she stay that way cos only few days wait say too early...:p
so far i observe she seems to be ok, example i ask her to pack the baby's toy, ask her to seperate those for younger age and older age. and she know to pack those cloth type of books, the mobile, and avoid those soft toy etc...

where is starz ? must be too busy after the 3 days MC...

Cupcake,
sigh.. talk abt maid...i can write a book on maids.
actually 3 of them under my sil's name and 3 under mine. actually 2 of them cannot tahan my mil and resigned. one caught stealing so sent her back.
this current one i find her quite okie.
inorder to let her have some 'fresh air' fm my mil, i bring her when i go out like to my mother's place or to my own place during weekend.

little cat,
thanks for the info. will go carrefour take a look this weekend.
glad that yr maid is good.
its really nice to go back to a house that is spick and span after a long day at work hor.
my husband and his family also super pampered by maid and my mil. they dun even bring their plates/cups to kitchen after finish their meals/drinks.
was so pissed off with my husband...

annelise,
my in-laws also champion.
they told me they want grandson, don't want granddaughter. was angry and refused to tell anyone abt baby gender. and purposely told my in laws 'more than likely a baby girl' although we know baby boy. in the begining they say to brew tonics and birdnest for me when they knew i was preggy, but after they got to know 'more then likely a girl', no tonics or birdnest'.
thanks for the pineapple cupcake recipe.

van,
yr soup looks very delicious!
when u are free, can u pls post the banana muffin receipe? or i can just subsititue with banana for the pineapple cupcake recipe annelise posted?

choc,
the wonderwoman mum! take good care of yrself and give yrself a treat/break whenever necessary okie.

re : piles.
i got them during child birth, cos push too hard
hope that it will go away.

zzzcookiemonster , no prob

btw i found the same brand also selling at Giant leh, may be u can check also. the one i saw at IMM Giant.
i think for the fruits extractor is selling at $24.90 something like that.

Is there such thing as hotdog soup???!!! Must b v salty leh.

Yeah lor, no maid shd zi tong abit...but no lor. My BIL especially, he likes to snack in the middle of the nite, eg maggi mee etc. Din even wash up after. I was like " Do I look like a maid to u???" He is so free, looking for job now, can jolly well wash his own plates n cups rite?

Piles
I think I had it the worst. I operated on my piles (6 months preg) cos it was causing me so much pain that I cant sit. It came back after a month!!! This time, I juz applied cream and it subsided. I ate lots of fruits and veg during my pregnancy but still got them. Dun know is it becos my baby pushed down on it or becos I drink Anmum - choc flavour (2x a day).

zzzcookiemonster, next time u do the other way round, like knowing is girl but tell her is a boy :p

didn't know nowaday they still like that.. my auntie like girl, may be my boy already given her enough headache..
her reactive abit disappointed when knowing is another boy... but it is ok for me, since she is not the real MIL just an AIL.
Anyway i cook my own tonic too.

abt maid thing yeah i think need to bring her out for a break...
the auntie ask us to bring her to her place so to get her familiar, but i very scare she spoilt market. like giving her too much 'freedom' and teach the wrong thing.
cos at the end we are the one who suffer leh..

cupcake, wow need to operate? must be very serious...
i find mine like abit subside liao, so just pray hard it won't grow back.

just now my lower back very pain, thot i am going to get contraction soon.. but after awhile ok liao..
may be read too much of the posting and also book about labouring haha!

cookiemonster,

Eh this boy/girl thing is pissing me off!Girls are as equally intelligent as boys.If my inlaws etc dare to pull a stunt like this, I will definitely ban them from seeing my child.

LittleCat,

So heartwarming, return to clean home and nice homecooked meals.Glad you hear your maid is alright.

Van,

Thanks for finding and posting that information.Think frisomum is slightly better than anmum.At least it doesn't cause constipation.

Bad constipation after giving birth?Is it because of the heatiness from confinement food?

cupcake,

Most men in our country are brought up to leave housework to women.Ask your BIL to give you salary for doing his dishes;)

Little cat,
thanks for yr info abt giant also carry it.
think will go giant which is nearer.
hahaha... yr idea good leh.
but me cannot do it... otherwise they will think i 'gian' the tonics.
better ask my mother to brew for me. now have got own house, better to brew myself when back home.

amelia,
ya lor. girls are equally good, if not better.
they also kept saying alot of back things abt having daughter and good things abt son.
i could not stand it anymore and talked back to my fil, told me 'i cannot gtee give birth to son, better ask his other dil to bear him grandson'... actually the evil twin in me wanted to tell him 'if u want boys, go give birth yrself'. but that will mean disrespectful to the elders.

Carole,
now that see your post....skipping lunch today anyway,cos took heavy breakfast this morning.

Amelia,
I supsect the constipation was partly becos of the heaty confinement food and party becos ate lost of pork during the first week of confinement,when before giving birth I hardly eat any pork.

coookiemonster,

Banana Butter Cake

(A)250g butter (I used 125g butter+125g margarine)
230g sugar

(B)5 eggs (55g size)
300g Flour
1/2 tbsp milk powder
1 tsp baking powder

(C)200g very ripen banana
pinch of salt

1) Pre-heat oven to 180C
2) Grease and line pan with paper
3) Cream (A) until light & fluffy.(Over-cream will cause the cake to be too hard)
4) Add (B),one at a time and cream till light & smooth
5) Fold in sieved (C) and mix well.
6) Mash the banana, mix with salt. Add into the above mixture and mix till well incorporated.

Yield: Approx 15 muffin cups/ 1 big (9 1/2" L) loaf.

annlee,

Sweet Potato Fa Gao/Huat Kueh

(A)
50g Flour
50ml water
1 tsp dry yeast

Batter:
200g sifted plain flour
2 tsp double actions baking powder
200g sweet potato
120ml coconut milk
40ml water
140g brown sugar
1 egg

1) Mix (A) and set aside for 1/2 hour.
2) Peel,cut sweet potato into small pieces and steam.
3) For batter: sift floru with double-action bakign powder. Put steamed sweet potato,coconut milk,water,brown sugar and egg in mixer and mix well.

4) Remove from mixer,fold in flour,bakingpowder and (A) by hand till well blended.

5) Line aluminium cups with paper cups.Pour batter into cups till 90% full and set aside for 15minutes to prooft.

6) Put cups into steamer and steam over high heat for 15 minutes.

** Can use bamboo steaming rack lined with transparent paper(Bo1 Li2 Zhi3) to make a bigger cake, but will take longer time.

VAN

You are very much a baking person huh?

At times, I wish to start backing, but at the end , worried no one will eat and go to waste....how you usually finish all the cakes?

hi ladies....

i'm here... ya, back at work n playing "Catch-up" again..
but e "good thing" is, finally "THEY" realise that i'm due soon.. n start to "back-off" abit. if not, i'll still be receiving new projects etc etc....

catch up with u girls later!

Hello ladies, thanks for asking.. today haven't peng san yet..

just saw the "hot dog soup" by meow, haha.. couldn't stop laughing !

Eh meow, good huh, got maid liao.. know of some indo maids who can cook spicy dishes very well..

You bought your herbs for conf liao boh ? I have been drinking dom every night.. dom in ice, can zzz very well..

Hey van, thanks for the banana cake recipe ? Was thinking about making some this morning.. but hope I have 2 more pairs of hands..

Eh soph, eating porridge everyday cos my dds find it easier to eat plus the dishes that go with porridge easier to prepare.. Ready fried ikan bilis, steam fish , veg and sometimes, can pickled lettuce.

see ya soon

Van: u got juicer???? can i borrow like this for now and return later evening?? pls.. making honeydew sage no juicer.. haiz

Carole,
That's one of the good points for staying near each other! Too bad next month you will not be in CCK liaoz!

Joy747,
Like my cousin who bake very often, we eat very little of what we baked. When I was working, I brought 2/3 of what I baked to office for my colleague,1/3 for my hb and I. Now that I am SAHM, usually I give half to my relatives in Bt Panjang, 1/4 to my neighbour then balance 1/4 for my family.

Choc,
Glad to see you back! You can mobilise your eldest dd to help, then you will have 1 extra pair of hands.That's what I did.

My dd also like to eat porridge.Usually cook sweet potato porridge.She loves eating it with braised peanuts,egg and fish.Sometimes I add some pork floss/fish floss for her.

starz,
Thought you give birth early liaoz...so now you can relax a bit, just handover to the person taking over your job is it?

Van,
Me too! Usually after baking, i only eat one piece to see if the results are satisfactory. The rest I will distribute to colleagues..hehehe..

Today went to gynae for checkup. He has given me 1 week MC cos my water retention is back again
Feet and legs swollen..

Van: whahaha.. ya ya ya.. dun remind me lahz.. actually rather sad leaving this plc.. cos very convenient.

today my dessert SUPER Nice.. esp. after using Van's Blender.. ekkekee

Recipe - honeyDew Sago
Ingredients
1 honeydew melon (approx 1kg)
175g sago, soaked
1 pack coconut cream
1/2 tsp salt or to taste

Syrup:
150g castor sugar
125ml water
23 screw pine leaves, shredded and knotted

Method
1. Remove the skin from the honeydew melon
2. halve then scoop out the seeds.
3. Shape the honeydew melon into small round balls using a metal scoop.
4. Put any remaining melon into an electric blender and process until liquidised.
5. Pour the juice into a jug and chill in the refrigerator.

Sago & Coconut milk
1. cook sago in a pot of boiling water until transparent.
2. Pour the cooked sago into a sieve then place under running tap water. Drain well in a fine sieve.
3. Squeeze thick coconut milk from the grated coconut, add salt to taste and set aside.

Combine sago, chilled honeydew juice and thick coconut milk in a bowl. Add syrup to taste. Place the honeydew melon balls into individual bowls and add ice shavings or ice-cubes before serving.

To prepare the syrup, place sugar, water and screw pine leaves in a saucepan. Boil until sugar melts. Strain the syrup before use.

KrisJoy,

wow how come 1 week MC for water retention?

BTW how many weeks are u at now?

I'm ard 20 wks and ankles and fingers starts to get puffy..

Krisjoy,
Did the doctor say what causes water retention?
Have you tried LittleCat's rememdy of brown rice water?
Take care and rest well with your feet up!

Carole,
Thanks for the dessert recipe.
Where you moving to? Anywhere near the rest of us?

Sophie,
Good mornig! Yesteday didn't come in huh? Annlee also MIA yesterday.

Krisjoy,
Did the gynae give you anything to reduce the water-retention? I remembered my gynae did give me something.

You can also try taking food and fruits that help to get rid of water-retention, like winter-melon soup,green bean soup,barley.water-melon....

Carole,
No picture of your yummy dessert to show and make us drool huh? Thanks for the recipe!

I can't imagine moving out of my place too...so convenient, everything is just across the small road...

But your new place is quite near to Jurong Point, which is also very convenient.

Van,
Hee, yesterday went for lunch with friends then stayed out shopping...

Had dim sum at Wah Loke - my review:
- "Zhar Leong" (you tiao wrapped with chee cheong fun) is not good. You tiao is soggy, chee cheong fun wrapping broken, only served with soy sauce, no peanut sauce. Verdict: for this typical HK dish, Imperial Treasure is the best.
- Char Siew bao was not bad, though I think the one at Imperial was better.
- Char Siew Bo Lo Bao is very good; crispy on the outside, and the inside filling good and tender but not fatty
- Steamed Carrot cake comes in a glass bowl... HK style, so good that we ordered another helping!
- Lotus leaf rice (zhen zhu gai) is good, better than Imperial's
- the usual har kau and siew mai are the usual...
- Jiu Yim Deepfried Whitebait fish (with chilli flakses and salt) is pretty good

Krisjoy,
I just read online that sleeping on left side will help!

hi ladies...

sorry no time to play "catch up on the posts" here liaoz... hehehe...

sophie,
wah, u become our official food reviewer liaoz.. so professional.. so tempted to go n try e popiah store now..

choc,
ur confinement over liaoz, n CL left already?? coping with 3 not easy le.. do they all sleep/nap at e same time? u take DOM with ice ar.. can one ar?? i tried taking DOM before i preggers, but cannot tahan the "heat" after drinking n stopped... now wondering how to tahan drinking it during confinement...
kao_confused.gif

Krisjoy,
u never drink enough water huh??? muz drink more water to avoid water retention.... sometimes i dont feel like drinking also must "force"..
but also good lah, can rest at home rite...
u handover ur work already??? now our EDD seems closer n closer liaoz hor... honestly, i cannot wait for him to come out liaoz... cos i think my bb's too big, my tummy is "hard" permanently cos i think no more "space" inside liaoz...

talk later...

sunsweet,
I am now 34 weeks. Water retention starts after I hit 3rd trimester...U oredi have it?

Sophie and Van,
Thanks for the advice!
I have red bean soup once a week but guess maybe not enuff. My gynae did not prescribe any medication leh. He just advised me to alleviate my feet to above heart level. My boss not very happy that I am on MC again. He asked why my gynae gave me hospitalisation leave when I am not hospitalised...

Sophie,
Did u try the porridge at Wah Loke? Is it the one at Carlton hotel?

Starz,
I actually drink quite a lot of water leh...Currently still handing over my work to the contract staff. Tomorrow going back office for a while otherwise temp will have nothing to do for the rest of the week. I hope I can deliver from 38 weeks onwards and not too late cos tummy very heavy and it's tiring. Yesterday went for checkup and bb is 2.78kg at 34 weeks. Her head is slightly bigger and is the size of a 38 weeks bb. My weight gain to date is 11.6kg. Gunae can feel the contractions on my tummy yesterday. But he said these are premature contractions...

this is my last night dinner, Pork w veg ( celery, carrots and golden mushroom)

one w sauce or the other w/o

541350.jpg

541351.jpg

some part are a bit more brownish , i still not very good at controlling the fire. I turn my gas to the smallest and fire still so big

starz,
Hee... this foodie loves to review stuff!

Have you gotten a photographer to take belly/preggie pics yet?

Krisjoy,
Yep, I tried the porridge at Wah Loke - at Carlton Hotel. Century Egg porridge not bad, quite smooth.
Don't take what your boss says to heart. You should not get stressed right now.
Wow, your baby is growing very well considering your weight gain is not a lot!

twinkle,
Your pork with vege looks delicious!
I only had plain porridge with vege & chay poh omelette for dinner last night, cos after last week's constipation, don't think I can down any more meat.
Did you use any special kind of pork that is thin enough to wrap?
And how did you "glue" them tight before frying?
What marinate did you use?
Hee... you might as well give us the recipe!

annlee,
Never see you for a long time?

LittleCat,
Your constipation/piles better?
I discovered a fantastic remedy! Figs!
I read in one of my "indian" juicing book that figs are good for pregnancy as it is very nutritious, plus the little seeds in it helps the bowels move more easily. They recommended soaking it for easier digestion. Actually, I sometimes soak my dried prunes too.
I bought my pack from Cold Storage - from the cold chiller section where they put dried apricots, dates etc. Only about $3 per pack in those styrofoam base + cling wrap.
Then every night, I'll put 3 pcs in a bowl of water covered in fridge, and in the morning, I eat the figs with my cereal, yoghurt and apricots + other fresh fruits + a glass of warm water.
And so far these 3 days, it's been smooth and soft so hopefully no more "abrasion" on my poor bum

Check out fig's fibre content on the Internet if you still need more fibre!

Extracted from http://www.californiafigs.com/nutrition/index.html
Figs are high in fiber, providing 20% of the Daily Value --- more dietary fiber per serving than any other common dried or fresh fruit.

Krisjoy

I think you have a very healthy weight gain...just rest well to prevent baby out early...I walked too much during my 8 and half months in beijing and end up delivering 2.99 kg baby at 37.5 weeks.My weight gain was 7 kg....I tried eating a lot during last trimenster as hoping more will be given to baby...but no help...

hi again...

krisjoy,
hehehe.. i fully understand how u feel. imagine i put on 20kg.. always super tired n sleepy recently.. but come to nite time, lie on e bed.. eyes big big stare at hubby until he snore..

when finally manage to fall asleep rite, get woken up again cos i need to turn.. *haiz*.. also wish my bb is heavy n healthy enuf to come out soon...
my gynae refuses to update me on bb's weight n size liaoz.. every visit now he just tell me everything normal & average..

starry,
i like e presentation.... hehehe.. machiam restaurant standard leh... ya ya, share recipe leh...

sophie,
ya, just called just now n confirmed.. i using Yew Kwang photography (from this website's featured photographer list).. e price n package seems most suitable lor.. going for e shooting next saturday.. so got time to go one more facial & mani pedi before tat.. hehehehe...

did u mention ur constipation problem to ur gynae during checkups??? see u always complaining abt this problem, y not highlight to ur gynae n see wat suggestions he/she has???

Hello gals...
Long time no "see"...

Have been busy, but not cooking very interesting dishes... Everyday I blend my "wu gu mi" and brown rice to cook. Then add sweet corn, vege, walnuts, almond nuts, lotus root, red dates, shou wu, wolfberries, to cook and eat
Rather nutritious, I think, but not interesting...

Anyone got any tips of preparing cereals for babies??

Sohpie,
Constipation ah? Have you tried eat dragonfruit to see if it helps?

starz,
Wah.. you going to Yew Kwang photography ah... kekeke... share share your pictures with us after that ok? He's a very good photographer.. I like his style.

gals,

This dish is very simple.

The pork i used is wu hua meat. But u can also tell the butcher u wan to use for porkchop.

Pork
slice the pork , not too thin.
Hammer the pork thinly and as u hammer try to drag to the outer to create a bigger pc.

Marinate
Just oyster sauce, sesame oil, soya sauce , pepper and teriyaki sauce (optional)

Veg
Carrot cut into thick stripe
Celery cut into thick stripe
Golden mushroom, wash and dry

Wrapping
Before wrapping put corn flour into the pork and mix thoroughly
Spread the pork neatly on a plate or chopping board, put in veg and roll tightly.
you can secure with a toothpick or just put the roll in the frying pan w heated oil. make sure the end is facing down.

Sauce,
i mixed bottled teriyaki sauce into a thick gravy.

i include the teriyaki sauce when i marinate bcos i m planning to hv teriyaki gravy.

Lyn,

i used ready made cereal bcos i dun wan it to cook as IFC dun cook cereal. So i got to use ready made but add puree into it for my boy. Soon i will be adding ikan iblis liao.

twinkle,
Thanks for the recipe! Does not look that difficult, but end result is very pretty.

lyn,
Dragonfruit is part of my daily diet, but I think it's the iron in prenatal vits + calcium pills that contributes to my constipation problem. I've stopped the pills for 4 days, and everything is almost back to normal.

starz,
Hee... I wanted to tell gynae about my bowel problems leh, but each time I see the baby move during scan, I will forget after that. Even though I put a post-it sticker in my card!

Don't worry so much about baby weight - my gynae is also not the kind who tells me baby weight cos really, different babies grow at different rate. Sometimes knowing can make some of us more stressed too. My sis' baby was estimated at 2.2kg at around 31 weeks, then when she gave birth at 35-36th week, baby was 2.99kg. So don't worry!

I checked out Yew Kwang's website... pictures are not bad!

Sophie,

i also like u b4 i put stick on in my appt card. Maybe u shld give the ?? to the gynae 1st once u get into the room

everytime he ask me any problem, i will say no problem so eager to see bb

sophie: shifting to jurong west ext. nearer to jurong pt.
iheard from my neighbour abt 3 bus stops away.. keke.. i dun usually take bus.. kekeke

Good Morning All!

Twinkle Starry,
Look sooooo yummy and nice presentation.1st look at the pict without reading I thought it's a food review of a restaurant dish...

Was at Ck Tangs Basement the other day and saw the asparagus wrapped with meat slices,so tempted to try then see your dish!

Taka Sales
<font color="aa00aa">Taka having sales! This Fri to Sun additional 10% for members.Saw Tiger Thermal Pot selling at $209 with a free 20cm stainless steel inner pot.</font>

If I am going down, I will check with the promoter whether it's alright to use a much smaller inner pot in the 5.2L external pot.Will be much easier to cook smaller portion,especially dessert likes green bean soup,red bean soup and braised peanuts/pumpkin etc.

I have been using thermal pot to cook green bean and red bean soup these few days.It's so easy and save electricity and gas.Previously got to cook long hours in slow cooker for red bean soup.

twinkle, lyn,
Yeah, keep forgetting... hee, maybe it's just preggie brain! Yesterday I wanted to go to my mum's plc in Yishun, then took train from wrong side - and all the time still wondering how come train so crowded and no one gave up seat for me even though I was holding a Pregnancy magazine prominently! Only realised it was wrong side after 2 stops at Toa Payoh!

Carole,
Woah, so envious of you guys... all stay around Jurong area so can do gatherings more easily!

Van,
Can also help check how much is the 20cm smaller pot if can use smaller pot in larger outer pot? Thanks!

Anyone been to Vivocity yet? Looks quite HUGE from the papers - and Tangs Vivocity having 12% rebate this Fri &amp; Sat.