Cooking Tips & Recipe

sophie, van G, ann lee
thanks for the welcome
Will be learning from you guys cuz i knew nuts about cooking hee...doyou all share ur recipes somewhere??

Annelise
hehehe, my gal luvs to play with muffin, but ends up poking her eyes and nose. Luckily, muffin is v mild tempered. Did I mention that I luv ur little pony cake, kawaii neh!!! Think I will move the oven over this weekend.

Van
Your cupcakes looks yummy!! Issit easy to do? Can I have the recipe? I was thinking of baking some cakes so that my hubby can munch on them on his way to work as an alternative to eating peanut butter bread.

Hallo all,

Husband has been coming back early so haven't been posting much at night.

Annlee,

Go for reputed brands.Mine's the big built-in kind from EF.

need some advice. Now I am having maid woes. To cut the story short, my maid is with me for abt 2 months now. She got familiarised with job scope but there is still room for improvements. After working for awhile, I realised that she is allergic to many household chemicals, like floor cleaner, pigeon bottle cleaner etc. She also have hives. I was thinking all these can be prevented. So i change cleaners and ask her to change her soap. It became better, but recently due to the haze, I also realised that she is asthmatic....and after seeing doctor, the doctor advise her to go home (indo) and rest and that she shd not be working in Sin. But she beg me to let her stay. I am in a dilema now.

cupcake, human nature will get soft hearted easily... I'm also feeling bad that your maid is improving and good and because of some certain problem on her health, coming here to earn money to support her family and ... haiz.. but is still better to listen to doc advise and send her back, moreover you're having a dog at home, it might worsen her asthma. She's here to help you but in long term or even now she might giving you more problem instead of helping you. And I don't think she's in good health to work as a maid although she might not have a choice but to work as one.

krisjoy, yes.. the mushroom dish taste good to me hee...

I think there's quite a few branch of phoon huat right? There's one near my house.

cupcake,
I agree with annlee. In the long run, it may not be practical to keep her bcos of all these 'problems'. U may end up doing some chores yourself and it defeats the purpose of hiring a maid lor. Talk to your agent and let them know. But if you want to change maid, may need to wait till Nov after the Ramandan.

van, yr muffin looks 'yummylicious'!
can u posted the recipe pls!

annlee, my husband scare that i will be '3 min hotness', so got a cheapo akira brand oven to trial first so far so good with the oven.

Just came back from my detailed scan... baby is doing well

Finally remembered to ask doc my EDD! 21 Feb 2007

Amelia,
Good that your hubby coming home early nowadays

Can spend some time in your "two-person" world!

cupcake,
Yeah, I also agree with Krisjoy and annlee... not just cos you'll end up doing the work, but in case the environment is doing her health harm. *sigh* not easy to come across a good maid and yet have to send her back cos of health problems... and feel sorry for her too, cos they just want to earn that bit of money to send home every month!

LittleCat,
** Good luck with your maid! **

Beside Poon Huat, there is some shops at GEylang serai or Joo Chiat sells many bakery stuff. They hv good range there too.

cupcake, yeah agreed with the rest, if she is really not fit to work, doesn't make sense to let her stay here. not that we hard hearted, but no choice also.
my previous maid got problem with detergent etc, so i got to buy glove for her, other then she is ok. but yours seems to be quite serious leh...
but also poor thing for her... sigh...

For muslim maid got to wait, since it is closed to their holiday.

zzzcookiemonster, hehe your hb know u well. it's a good idea too.
Annlee, may be you can buy the akira brand?
i think akira still quite ok though, it is japanese brand.
i saw some brand at carrefor, think is from china the price is very affortable.
I bought one juice extractor there, i think <30 only. so far still 'extracting' juices leh :D

sophie, that's great! so CNY baby

can see the gender yet?

thanks, i need more luck!
now after hearing cupcake story, i got worry liao...

Jurong west market also got one shop (i thot it was poon huat, but the name not the same). they sell all kind of baking material, utensil, even party pack for kids.

Cupcake,
yr maid conditions seems quite bad.
my current maid, got her gloves for washing and 'fishmonger' type of boots for washing clothes, as she is sensitive to detergent.
But if u sending her back for her own good. make sure the agent really send her back to indonesia and not send to work for others.

Little cat, heee... partly only, and the main reason is i have got an extra 'niao' husband. initially he says when i can upgrade when i cook him enough things with the oven. but know he thinks that the oven is great at the cost.
actually i am very happy with this cheapo oven also.
training and getting the maid to familiarise with the routine is the most headache part. Wish u lots of luck with maid.
My mil changed 6maids in 2 years (she also picky).
Can i know what brand of juice extractor u using?

Sophie,
Glad to hear that baby is doing well.If you baby choose to come out earlier,he/she might even be Valentine's baby?!

cupcake,
agree with the rest, better send her back.If you have to break the news to her before the agent comes and pick her up,try to arrange someone to look after your kid,or let your kid stay around with someone else,just in case the maid got too emotional or worse, too hysterical.Heard and read too many such stories.

I will post the recipe when I have time.For something easy to make, and easy to munch, you can also try the Rock Bun I posted earlier.It's easy,quick to make and you can make into convenient bite size.

cookiemonster,
No problem,will type and post the recipe when I have time.

LittleCat,
Do you intend to have a basic timetable for your maid to follow?It's good since both you and hb are working,no one to supervise her at home. Hopefully your maid can pick up some cooking skills and taking care of baby when your confinement lady is around,minus the "bad" habits.

LittleCat,
Yep, CNY baby

Doc says he knew the gender from the last few visits liao, but have not told us.
Hubby doesn't wanna know gender, so today we told gynae not to tell us

Don't worry before your "worries" are due! There are so many things to worry about maids, so why give yourself unnecessary stress

Btw, I checked out the cheap maternity shop at Toa Payoh which is a branch of the one you mentioned at Beauty World. The bottoms are not that bad, quite affordable at $25 each, so when I get bigger, I'll go there and buy the pants then just mix with my tops... anyway black pants or capris cannot tell much difference for wearing a few months.

Van,
Valentine's Baby? Hee... then next time poor thing, he/she will get combined Birthday cum Valentine's present!

Sophie,

I happened to passby People Park centre, there are shops above the hawker centre also hv very nice preggie clothes. Too bad i already give birth otherwise i would hv buy them.

So hard to find clothes when preggie bcos my bust and tummy so huge.

Sophie,

Haha yah, we normally have "2 person world" during weekends,not so bad when he works late on weekdays.After 4 to 5 years of this, I sort of gotten used to it.

I'll be very curious about the gender of my baby if I were you!There's no way I can tahan till birth.

Van,

What scrapbooking software are you using?

I like your dinner pics, very "wen(1) xin(1)! I haven't tried making soups using watercress, must try one of these days.I also like the way your banana cakes turn out..So sweet, your dd wanted to bake the cake with you.
Where do you normally get your baking supplies.Aiyah I said I wanted to get baking supplies, till now still haven't got around doing it.

I've tried Snapfish.com and Multiply.com.Snapfish deletes users accounts if they don't pay, and Multiply loads very slowly.When I surf friends' albums on Multiply, I usually give up by the 3rd or 4th picture.Try a couple of hosting sites and see which one you like best.

Amelia,
I am using Scrapbook Factory Deluxe.Have downloaded a few other trial software, found them not as good.Read reviews and the "ranking" before I decided on this one.

If you are getting Canon Digital Camera, the Photorecord software (not sure if they still have it with the latest models) is very good.I have been using it for 3 years before I bought the Scrapbook software.

I usually get my baking supplies from Phoon Huat or Giant.

Thanks for you reviews of the two sites. I haven't got time to explore these two sites yet,too many things on hands,my to-do list is getting longer and longer. I am worried about the Paid Version of Flickr too,what if I subscribed for a year, uploaded lots of picts then for some reason I didn't pay up on time to renew,will my picts be gone?

Have you tried baking anything so far? May be can ask Carole and we have a baking session.I used to do that with my ex-colleagues.

If you are going to make watercress soup, do remember to boil the pork ribs with the stems for the flavour first,when you are almost ready to serve, then discard the roots and put in the leaves to boil again. My cousin just dump everything in to boil, though the soup is Ru4 Wei4,the vege turns out too awful...that's what she described.

Sophie,
Haha, my ROM date is also on Valentines Day, so only have 1 gift instead of two!

twinkle,
The People's Park place - issit the same building as the place where they sell fabrics?

Amelia,
I am also curious, but not fair for me to find out and hubby don't know... wait I accidentally say it out then very "sao xing" for him

Van,
Only 1 gift? hee... never mind, if that gift is a BIG one, also can!

zzzcookiemonster, thanks need lots of those luck
and this time round i dare dare get one never get out of their country type... sigh dun know if is a smart or stupid move lor...

ok i will check the brand name tonite, cos is at my auntie's house.
hehe your hb like mine lah... he also like tat type one.

Sophie, aiyoh your hb can tahan so long..
but hor, if your gynae said like that i can guess the gender liao :p got logic one not anyhow guess..
Yeah $25 really a good buy lor, once u match with the top nobody can tell.

van i do have a timetable and also a long list of rules and guideline.. very KS :p

wow u two so romantic ROM at V day. isn't it very crowded on such special day?

Hi cupcake, yeah Muffin looks very patient and has a good temperament! How old is your dd? She's got beautiful eyes and I love her chubby cheeks! Is your maid's asthma very bad? If it's quite bad then like the others have said, it's better for her to go back to Indo.

Hi sp, no lah, not a lot of work - fun &amp; quite easy to make! Choose a design that is not too complicated and doesn't need too many colours - I only used 3 colours - pink, blue &amp; dark pink.

Hi Van, I bought Wilton's black icing - PH didn't have them so I bought from BIY. I squeezed some out and put into the PH disposable piping bag and cut a very small hole. For paper, I used the Glad bake paper - it is really non-stick and peeled off effortlessly! I used toothpicks and cotton buds to help clean up any smudges.

Hi Sophie, wow you really can tahan the suspense! Good for for you cos' that makes the delivery even more exciting! Anyway, my mil was in denial when I told her the sex for both my dds after the detailed scan! Even after delivery, she still can ask me whether it's a girl or a boy! *faint*

Gtg, girls up from their naptime. Catch y'all tomorrow

starz,
Don't mind me kaypoh - I went to peep into Nov thread cos saw your name as the "last" posting person under the general topic section, and saw you would like to do maternity shots?
This one is pretty good - her maternity shots look lovely and artistic!
http://www.isabelledelcourt.com/#

LittleCat,
Guess you won't be telling me the logic

LittleCat,
haha! Now that you mentioned,I know Sophie's baby gender liaoz.
535635.gif

Annelise,
Thanks.So got to get the Wilton's icing from BIY first.Good that can use Glad Baking paper, cos I always have this in stock. I think I sure Seven hands Eight Legs when doing it. Cos the last time I pipe Churros for frying,also quite messy.

Annelise

Agreed, very exciting during delivery if yet to know the gender....For me, I cannot hang on the supsend esp come to second kid...infact, both I am equally curious about the gender....

Little Cat,
have tried all sorts of maid, without any experience, with experience in their home country, with experience in singapore, married with children, single etc. think all by luck.
heee... now that u mention the logic thing... guess know sophie's baby gender ;)

hehehe... i also know sophie's baby's gender liaoz.. hahahahaha....

sophie,
thanks! i took a quick peep.. very artistic.. but at e same time, give me impression very ex.. i'll call tmr n ask...

gtg too.. hubby bringing me out for dinner... after 2 days at home, a dinner "outside" making me very happy... hahahaha....
kao_byebye.gif

haha, the whole world seems to know my baby's gender except me and hubby

Van,
I didn't know watercress soup is made that way. I always throw in everything - no wonder my leaves are disintegrated by the time I drink it. Now I know...

Hee, my sis wanna make a bet of $100 that it's a boy, cos she says my hairy tummy + darker armpits + fleshy nose means high chance it's a boy.
I am tempted to take up the bet, cos I think it's a girl

Eh, you girls so fun, all stay in CCK, can come together to bake! *envy*

Annelise,
How come your MIL like that? I think girls are cute... closer to mommy and can dress up... can do all the baking stuff together too!

sp!
I wanna tell you I take my hat off you!
I tried using toaster oven to bake just 2 scones yesterday cos lazy to turn on my big oven... the scones got burnt outside and inside still gooey, even though I used foil etc.
Not easy man... dunno how you did it!

littlecat, zcookiemonster, amelia

Thanks for recommending the oven! Akira sounds good, maybe get one cheap one to try out first as I might leave it one side to collect dust hee..

sophie, hee... your hairy tummy, darker armpit and fleshy nose sounds so familiar... exactly like me when preggie. So the gender guess shld be.....

Thank goodness the day is over!!! I had sent the maid back to the agent. Turns out that she had been feverish, giddy and breathless the past few days. She didnt dare to tell me that she was sick and I let her look after my gal while i run some errands...so lucky nothing happen to my daughter. She didnt want to see doctor but I insisted my MIL bring her. I think she scared that I will send her back. She told the doc that she had some health prob when back in indo. After much thinking and advise from my family, I think I better let her go. I am afraid that she will faint or fall down the stairs or even worse drop my kid. Juz 3 weeks ago, she sprained her feet while getting up from cleaning the flr. She might already had this prob and couldnt stand up properly causing the injury.I have also chosen a new maid, there is no indo due to puasa so I had to choose a filipino. She is a transfer maid I saw and interviewed at the agency. Will try out 2moro, hope everything turns out well then I will juz have to tahan for 4 days as compared to 2 weeks for a new maid before I get her.

zzzcookiemonster
wah 6 maids!!! eh need to attend class liao rite?? I train one oredi super big headache n her english is ok type. Cannot imagine training another one whose english is poor!!!

Sophie, if ur gynea says that then I will also know the sex liao.

Just visited the loo, yucks!Toilet is my best friend these days.

Sophie,

I re-read what your gynae said to you, and I'm pretty sure of your bb's gender hehe.

Going to Zzzzz now.Hope I don't wake up to visit my best friend again!!

Good morning all!

annlee,
I am using Baby Belling oven. Good thing is that the temperature control is very consistent. This was recommended by one of the baking teacher. Bad thing is that the door is made of metal instead of glass so u can't see the baking process. Must wait for at least 20 mins before u can open the oven door.

cupcake,
glad that u made the decision fast. My sister is also trying out a transfer maid. If it turns out well, she will keep her. If not, then wait for new maid to come and replace her.

Amelia,
Are you feeling better?

Sophie,
Did u have fun with the detailed scan? I enjoyed mine cos can see more of bb's organs and I have a VCD of all the scanned pics. But I have only seen it once cos all the pics are almost the same after a while ;p Btw, I have very dark armpits so I am very self-conscious when I wear sleeveless blouse. Dare not raise my arms in case others freaked out!

cupcake, krisjoy

Can try out maid? You mean we can try out transfer maid and if we don't think is good, we can return to agency with no condition??

Amelia, oh no... not recover? Has been quite sometimes already? Are you ok?

krisjoy, where can I find Baby Belling oven?

oops sophie, i didn't know they all so good in guessing hor?
anyway just pretend u never hear from us lah!kekeke! important is baby healthy, mommy &amp; daddy happy!!

cupcake, not all transfer maid are bad, hope this one works well for u.

zzzcookiemonster, i check the juice extractor brand is Morries. i got it from carrefour, u can check there.

btw just found out i have piles :'( jia lat.
starz, like that may be can get one week MC liao hor?

Hi Sophie, yeah my mil very zhong nan qing nu - she always gets very envious whenever so-and-so's daughter or dil gives birth to a boy. Hee, I also know your baby's sex

Hi cupcake, glad to know your dilemna is over! Hope the new arrangement works out for you. If this trfr maid is good, can you keep her?

Hi Amelia, you haven't recovered from your upset tummy? How about trying some lactobacillus? Guardian sells "Lacteol Forte" in sachets and it works by restoring the good bacteria in the intestines. Hope you get better soon!

Hi KrisJoy, oh Baby Belling is good! I wanted to get one but my oven was built-in already when I bought my place so no choice have to use it. The plus point is my kids love to squat in the kitchen and watch the cakes rise in the oven!

Ok, gotta go - dd1 not feeling well so skipped school today - need to go entertain her.

Amelia, still not fully recovered yet?
just heard the news many student got the stomach flu leh.. better take care. did u see diff doc?

Remember the voting that I hope you mums that helps to vote...thanks for those who have voted him...he came in first in the toddler category..big thank you for those who have voted for him....

Happy latern festival today...cheers

Hee, all of you girls so good with guessing with just one hint from LittleCat!

Amelia,
What happened to your tummy? How come nowadays always got diarrhoea? Have you seen the doctor?

Krisjoy,
I heard Baby Belling is one of the best ovens around!
Yep, I had a lot of fun with detailed scan cos gynae was almost like giving a lecture to me and hubby - telling us this is the heart with the different part (left right atriums and left right ventricles) then showed us the wall in between these 4 parts where they will check for holes etc... We saw baby moving its mouth like pouting, and gynae "played back" that part - hubby knew it was a playback, but I didn't at first, so was say how cute it was till I started wondering how come the baby kept moving in same manner, then realised gynae was playing a trick on me!

Yours got VCD? Is yours a 4D scan?

Hmm... I also regretted buying a few tube maternity tops now... armpits is dark, but hope it won't go any darker.

LittleCat,
How did you find out you got piles? What are the symptoms?
I've been having constipation no matter how much fibre I eat, so am worried about piles too.

sophie,
now visiting gynae is the most exciting part!

my gyane also very good, with the normal 2D scanning he can tell so much thing!

the piles thing, at first i just feel like something is there, like a bit 'tight' there.
later it start to surface i think is like 2 days kind of thing. when u use your hand u can feel something is there, abit pain and itchy.
I ask my hb to check and he confirm it is the piles.
cos he got that b4. this type is outside one.
he said later will have bleeding then after awhile it will dry out.
Thinking of going to see doc to see anything to apply...

joy747, congrats! Your bb so cute of course get No 1.

sophie, didn't got 4D scan now.. at my time only 3D. Wah... also got VCD so good!

Hi Hi,

Sorry for intruding cos just become a SAHM and needs lots of tips on cooking.

Really captivated by the cakes I saw on this site. Can tell me if you gals pick up the skills from books or from teachers. If from cooking class, can tell me where? Really want to learn baking...

littlecat, the way you describe I think I got piles at preggie too.... same like you, feel abit pain and feel something is there and also bleed. I remember at the last stage my constipation is quite bad so while forcing out, my nose bleed and there bleed too... so up and down bleed kekeke... that time I'm so shocked!

Also remember after giving birth on the second day, if no poo poo must be honest and tell nurse or gynae, they'll also ask you. If no poo poo they'll give you something to let it out. I wanted to get out of the hospital asap and told them I poo poo already(but I didn't) and ends up suffer at home constipation, real bad!

LittleCat,
Yep, I agree with you - the good gynaes can do wonders with 2D, if the machine is sharp.
In fact, he said the detailed scan is 2D, cos only 2D can see "through" everything, but 3D cannot.

Re. Pile... die! Think I also have something like that! After my last "prelude to labour" 2 days ago, I had a big lump of thing there, on the outside! Then quickly lie down on my sides so I don't give it more pressure by sitting or standing. Then afetr a night's sleep, it went back in. Is it the same?

What I read about piles:
- try to use bidet/shower hose after you poo cos lesser friction and abrasion
- Take Vit C and bioflavonoids for the manufacture of collagen to heal and strengthen tissue
- Olive oil can help provide the much-needed lubricant needed in bowel - take one tabelspoon daily

I tried the olive oil when my constipation is bad... it makes pooping easier cos the oil make the poo softer... I take the Extra Virgin Olive oil.

Krisjoy,
What do you meant by "must wait for 20 min before you can open the oven door".After the baking is done, still have to wait for 20min?

cupcake,
Hope your new maid turns out to be faster.

joy747,

Congratulations! Your baby derserves it!
536455.gif

Can I check with you,is there a Weng Wah outlet in HKIA? cos I remembered your mentioned that your hb went to the other side to buy while his colleague waited for him...

Have told my hb to buy Weng Wah's egg roll back when he goes HK this month, but he's not good at hunting for stuff...

You sure you didn't put on weight from eating lots of egg rolls? Or you cut down on other food while eating egg rolls? I am already feeling guilty eating most of the Kee Wah egg rolls+moon cake these few days.

LittleCat,
Chose ROM date on Valentines date not becos romantic.We wanted to ROM around Christmas, called up and was told it's fully booked, then the lady told us next HOT date is valentines date, so we thought quite a good idea,went there early, 3 mths in advance to queue for the date. Q is all the way to the car park, not too bad.

Seems like constipation is a common problem during pregnancy and/or after birth.I had very bad constipation after giving birth too, gynae asked hb to go pharmacy to buy laxatives for me.