Cooking Tips & Recipe

cookie,
glad that we have the same sentiments ;p

Sophie,
The shops are located outside of Carrefour, need to turn in and you can see them. Quite a lot of makan shops..

Starz,
Now my tummy starts to feel funny, like having menses..a pulling sensation. Dunno if it's normal. Will only see my gynae on the 10th. But I feel extremely tired to shop nowadays. Feet is feeling the weight and need to sit down for a while before continuing to shop..

Annelise,
Your cake looks so yummy!!! I hope that I can build up enough confidence and skill to bake my gal's next birthday cake! Got one year hehehe.

Krisjoy
are u due soon? My tummy 'dropped' quite low when its abt time to give birth. Fatigue is quite common towards the last semester.

Thanks for all your comments on muffin... she is a dear to my family.

cat_tail, annlee, cookiemonster,
Thanks for info on stroller.
Checked out the web - the Maclarens look very good... will take my hubby to go Robinsons to "test" it out. He tried the Peg Perego last Sat, but even for a man, he had to put down his "imagination" baby before using 2 hands to close the stroller. I was hoping to find a stroller where I can hold baby with one hand and close with the other.

Krisjoy,
Thanks - I'll check out the makan shops next time I am at Suntec!

While trying to upload photos, realised that a few months of my photos are gone when my PC crashed...including my Dd's 5th birthday Celebration Photos! There may be more missing, just that I have yet to discover! So upset!
531936.gif

Starz,
I remembered the morning I started having contraction,I woke up feeling like I am going to the loo, but went in a few times still nothing....didn't suspect until I see some blood stains.I was closed to two weeks before my due date.After suspecting that I may be having contractions, still could go visit Dr Kee at Thomson Medical Centre, went for hair cut at Taka and friends picked me up from Taka to have lunch at Ah Yi Bao4 Yu2,then they sent me to hospital...

The week before my contract, bb was very very active inside until can't sleep well at night.My friend was telling me that I may be due soon when I told them that bb seems super active during that time.

cookiemonster,
so your gynae is also Dr Kee! At times my dd is quite "Dong Shi",compared to some other kids of her age, but she is very stubborn....but what to do...she got the stubborn genes from her equally stubborn and strong-headed dad and mum.

LittleCat,
Bu Ye Tian at Bt Timah is one of our regular Sunday eat-out venue. I like their San1 Bei1 Ji1.

Joy747,
I went to Isetan just now.Wanted to get the $69 Thermos Thermal pot as a gift for my friend,but it's selling at $118 now! I thought $69 is the offer price, member get additional 10%,so it's not???

Just looked at the newsletter again.Think it's the $69 is different from the one I saw today. So Private Sales items are not available for Public Sale is it?

Sophie,

I also like you , i wanted smthg i can close the pram while i carry bb. so end up we bought 2 prams. 1 is lucky bb which is easy for me to handle but not that stable so cannot hang things hor. the other is Graco bulky and steady so we used that on wkends or where hubby is around.

Joy747,
Thanks! I went to Isetan Scotts just now,saw only the one without long carrying handles at $118.May be the one with long carrying handle is sold out.

annlee,
Yaya, tat old Lian auntie!! Kekeke.. my first yu tou lu is there, so can't compare. But their fried rice is damn good.

Sophie,
If u want to open the stroller with 1 hand, then Maclaren is out & it can be quite heavy oso.

Van,
Oh dear. Can bring the crashed harddisk to Sim Lim to retrieve the photos?

Sophie,
I am big built, and can't close maclaren with one hand and baby the other.

Van,
hee.. yr gynae also dr kee.
He was actually recommended by my husband's friend. u really 'ga rang' leh... still can go taka cut hair and eat ah yi bao yu.
after my water bag broke, i only managed to make my husband detour to macdonalds to take big breakfast and drink large coke before admitting to hospital.
What u said abt baby more active before labour is pretty true.
Was at 37 weeks when baby very very active prior water bag broke.
hee.... yr daughter have both parents genes

krisjoy,
ya, same same.. i want to shop also no energy liaoz.. my tummy sensation not "pulling" kind leh.. its really like e whole tummy very very tight / tense.. some of e Nov MTBs say might be braxton hicks contractions.. i seeing my gynae this fri.. so ask him then lor...
kao_confused.gif

Van,
huh.. baby very active means due soon ar... last week or so my boy have been very very active leh.. keep wriggling/ squirming/ stretching.. hehehehe.. but i dont wan him to come out yet.. still got 5 weeks to go...
u very "can" leh.. still can go eat abalone before going to deliver.. hehehehe... i think i will be panicking liaoz...

ok liaoz... i'm going to take a nap liaoz.. otherwise waste my leave.. hehehe... ta ta for now..
kao_sleep.gif

cupcake,
My EDD is 19th Nov so still have about 1.5 months to go...but already feeling the strain
Rashes have spreaded to lower calves.

sophie, I've been to the snack makan shop krisjoy mentioned. Is near carrefour. Saw that Don pie and looks famous as many review outside their shop. I think I know the soya bean store as I bought their almond soya bean milk for my son before.

starz, I ask my SIL about the feeling of contraction before... she says is like having very bad stomache or bad diahorrea kinda pain. My heart also beat very fast and tummy also super tight when preggie..... better check with gynae.

cat tail, that's also my first yu tou lu so I don't know about others, don't know how to compare also...btw, is Blk 21, not 18 hee... cos just came back from my mum's place.

I gave bith at 37.5 weeks.Hubby was in London then.I went for usual check up at 12pm on the very day.Doctor said I have to call my hubby to come back immediately from London...I did call him.After check up, I went to kinderland to pick my gal, climb four level of stair case at 2pm and bring her to buy music book at parkway and go to yuguo to buy chinese medicine for her and drive to cafel cartel to eat my fish and chips at 4pm.Reach home at 4.30pm and water bag burst...pain like hell...bleeding all over the house and I was enduring the pain, packing my bag.....At 5.30pm, mum send me to mt e and reach there at 6.00pm and I gave birth at 6.15pm and hubby only managed to operate the earliest flight and reach singapore at 10 am next day...that is my story.....

oh no joy747, you're so poor thing... the pain you mentioned.. and still pack your bag. Your hb must be feeliing bad of all the pain you've gone thru... luckily he managed to get a flight and arrive the next day

Joy747,
I stay in CCK, worry that if I travel all the way to Parkway then no stock there,siong leh, and sales item cannot reserve...

If you are going tomorrow, can you check out stock status for me.I PM you my handphone no.,if have stock you let me know then I make a trip there,cos I also want to check out the store Howard Storage World, saw it in one of Oct's
magazines,seems like they have very interesting storage boxes/containers.Can? Thanks!

Your birth story very siong,that time your mum stayed with you?...if hb is overseas I think I will also panic.But guess will also stand by some back-up plan,like my ex-colleague was joking among themselve, who will be responsible for sending me to Gleneagles, which is the fastest route from my office in case I gv birth earlier.

cat_tail,
My hb is supposed to be my PC doctor, if he couldn't recover it and I bring it to Sim Lim,may be he won't feel good...haha!

Just for sharing, I remembered the memory card in my digital camera crashed, and I managed to recover some of the photos from some freeware downloaded from net.

Van,
You "can" man!
Contractions still go cut hair?! You must be a very well-groomed MTB!
Oh man... that's my biggest nightmare - lost pictures! I think can try cat-tail's suggestion... go SIm Lim ask those geeks to try for you.
Haha... if you do this, you cannot let your PC-doctor find out! Just like if we seek other doctors for 2nd opinion, we won't tell our own doctors!

cat_tail, cookiemonster,
Maclaren cannot close with one hand? *sigh* Think I either have to start training my arms with weights now or spend money on an Aprica. I saw Aprica ones - just press something and it snaps shut... very light too. I'm just very suspicious of the small wheels... wondering whether it'll get stuck in pot holes and drain coverings.

starry,
We tried Graco last Sat too. I like the stability of it, but hubby broke into a sweat just closing and opening it, so I guess it's out

A lot of friends have 2 strollers like you for the same purposes, but I was just wondering if I can cut down to 1, that's why started this "market survey" so early.

starz,
I know what you mean by "it's all worth it". I had one of my worst bouts of constipation yesterday even though I ate lots of fruits and veges and drank at least 2-3 litres of water everyday + prunes + prune juice. I call it a "prelude to labour"... if you also suffer from constipation, you can let me know if it's really a "prelude to labour"

After everything was over, and tummy aches all gone and today I felt baby kicks again, I had the same "it's all worth it" feeling

Krisjoy,
The rash spread?! You think changing to milder soap or those hypoallergic soap like Cetaphil will help, or cos it's preggies rashes, nothing can help at all?

Joy,
Water bag burst will be painful and got blood?
Hmm.. sounds scary... but you also another strong mummy... all that pain, can still pack bag?! I may call ambulance liao!

starz,
I saw this pricelist from one of the BP purchase website for Amosco products - quite detailed!

Mini Eclairs (1 Carton $38.12)
12 trays per carton,12 pieces per tray,$3.18 per tray

Mini Profiteroles (1 Carton $41.60)
4 bags per carton,60~80 pieces per bag,$10.40 per bag

Mini Swiss Roll (1 Carton $67.92)
4 boxes per carton,42 pieces per box,$16.98 per box

Another BP says FOC delivery if $100 & above.

Van

No problem...I can check the stock status for you if I am there tomolo. You can send your hp number to my email at [email protected]
Yap, howard has interesting things but I do not find their price as reasonable as IKEA.

Mum not staying with me at all...I was alone with my girl. So has to mobilise mum to send me to hospital.All those people whom promised to help has got something on or down with sickness....sigh....

Sophie
I think I have forgotten there is such thing as amulance or taxi and I still want to delay in going to hospital if not cos my mum rushed me,she thought I am going to give birth in the car and hubby thought I gave birth at home when I sms him baby was out...he was still stuck in heathrow airport as aircraft spoilt....

Annlee
Will never want to go through the pain anymore...its beyond words...imagine, pack half way and the pain came and I have to stop everything and wait for the pain to stop and I was having pain all the way in the car and I told myself might need epidural this time if the pain was the begining....luckily its the end of it...so no epidural needed....Though hubby back next day but never got a chance to welcome the son....

My dinner for tonight - Fish Papillote with Potato Salad... my lazy Meditarranean-style fish

532248.jpg

Papillote fresh from the oven

532249.jpg

Papillote served at table

sophie, don't tell me you make your dinner.... it looks so good...exactly like those in the restaurant..

joy747, no epidural.... you're damn power man...

annlee,
Yep, I made it... it's really just baked dory in a bag with lots of veges

Super easy for a lazy cook like me!

Had Beef Fried Rice at Asian Kitchen last Saturday.

Today trying to replicate the dish....with a little twist...

532443.jpg

The restuarant has a MUST-TRY drink Red Bean Paste Tea Milk...also very nice,will try to make it at home.

hi ladies...

sophie,
wah... ur fish look so tempting.. reli envy u got e energy n "mood" to cook... u using e baking sheet/paper to wrap e fish? e "fluids" wont soak thru e paper???
well, i've been told tat labour is exactly like suffering from constipation.. hahaha.. will let you know if its exactly e same after i go thru with it...
maybe u can try drinking 1 vitagen/yakult a day.. plus eat plain yogurt.. my constipation got better recently cos hubby forcing me to drink yakult everyday..
thank u for e pricelist...!!!

joy,
u r such a strong mummy...

actually, all e mummies here all so "wei da".. give me so much more motivation to be a great mummy too...

krisjoy,
hang on in there!!! its e "final countdown" liaoz..!!! i'm already feeling tat i will miss my ayden's movements inside my tummy very soon liaoz...

Van,
Where is Asian Kitchen? The Red Bean Paste Tea Milk sounds good.

Arghhhhh, I see your fried rice and make me miss eating onions! Have not been taking onions cos of gas... the fried rice must be very yummy with all that coloring! My fried rice always end up a bit "white-looking"?

starz,
Yep, I use baking/parchment paper - very waterproof.
OK, remember to tell me if my "prelude to labour" is right

I ordered 2 boxes of eclairs to try liao! Hopefully all the orders go through and we can get the eclairs by this Fri

Sophie,
Asian Kitchen is at Shenton Way's Republic Plaza Basement.

Their fried rice has Beef,egg,onion,green vege and carrot, can taste sambal chilli.

My version has beef,onion,cabbage and carrot.I added a little meat curry powder to marinate the beef for a twist. The color of rice came from sambal chilli+ hae bee hiam+a little light soya sauce.My hb said my replica is successful.He ordered pork chop fried rice(which is also nice),but tried my beef fried rice.

Marinade for beef is dark soya sauce,pepper,a little sesame oil.About 5 to 10 minute before cooking, I added a little bit of curry powder,then corn flour.

I think the red bean paste tea milk is very easy to make, as long as can get the red bean paste/Hong2 Dou4 Sa1 right.

starz,
Yor tummy very tight? Be careful wor, it may be contraction!! The night before I deliver, my tummy is very tight too. Lucky next morn was my regular checkup, or else I dun even know I am in contraction. Heehee...

Joy747,
That was close!! I was having a cold sweat when I read your birth story.

annlee,
Which blk your mom stayed?

Van,
Like what Sophie says, dun let your hubby knows & secretly bring to Sim Lim to rescue your photos..wahaha..which is imp? Yuor hubby's pride or the pics??

Sophie,
Aprica can be very exp leh!
YUm yum.....look at the Papillote!!! U r really good in Meditarranean dishes.

van, joy747,
wah, yr pre-birth stories are amazing! contractions started already still can do so many things, hehehe.

sophie,
wah, yr fish looks really good, like restaurant indeed! recipe pls!

van,
hope u able to recover yr lost photos! I also very scared of losing photos. I'll accumulate till 700MB then ask my bro to burn into CD, and also select the best shots to print out to keep.

yr fried rice looks delicious, mmm.

krisjoy, starz,
3rd tri I also felt tired, cannot shop long, must find seat to rest for a while then continue.

krisjoy,
u poor thing got to live with rashes! really cannot do anything at all?

Van
Nice fried rice...

Starz...yaps...all mummies are great

SP and cattail...no choice ,has to be independent as the situation is as such....

SP
I done so many errands as I too daring liao...thought not so soon, and can wait till next day...worst still, doctor said there is already contraction at 12pm and I asked him is he sure and why I have got no pain....real pain set in after water bag burst...can call toh long....

Van + Sophie,
I just finish my heavy breakfast and felt hungry again after looking yr post.
Greedy me.
Sophie, can pls let us have the recipe pls.
Van, can pls teach how to make the red bean paste. I am a big fan of red bean paste.

Joy, u really power leh.

Sophie,

not lazy way but creative lah. Very smart way indeed and look yummy.

Van,
yr beef fried rice look like those i had in HK restaurant, saliva dripping liao. But hubby dun take beef so i never cook beef at home.

van, nice fried rice... ok will let my hb know and try out there during lunch time. The red bean sounds good, I like anything with red beans yummy!!

sophie, what is the bowl of food next to papillote? your papillote looks very healthy, can steam instead of bake?

cat tail, Can't remember exactly the Blk no cos they shifted in about 2 yrs ago ... shld be 39, next to ex-old airport rd hawker centre.Also next to the yu tou lu. How about you? Maybe we're neighbours huh...

cat_tail,sophie,sp,

Guess what? I recovered most of the lost photos from Sep05 to Jan06 from my old Canon camera's memory card. Have been using Sony since Feb06 this year, so the old memory card is still intact! HENG Ah! Learned my lesson now...going to backup onto portable disk+ CD+ leave the memory card as it is.
532747.gif

cookiemonster,
I will try using my thermal pot to make red bean paste.Will post it up if it's successful.
532748.gif

Double Post... AGAIN! always have this problem...File required to complete locked by another process...return and click post message will result in Double post!

Van,
Yeah, how to make red bean paste?
I'm glad you got you recovered your pics, but your memory card must have quite BIG storage for you to have kept the pictures in there?
Hee... other than disk + CD, I still don't trust computers and storage devices, so once in a while, I'll choose those pics I like and print them at one go.
Nowadays if just print 1 or 2 pics (e.g. my food pics to put in my baby journal), the Kodak kiosk is quite convenient.

Thanks for tips on fried rice too. Last night went to sleep dreaming about char siew rice
Shall have that for lunch later.

cookiemonster, sp,
I first saw "papillote" on a cookshow when staying in US years ago, and decided to try it this time.
There is no hard and fast rules to papillote - basically the concept means "bake in a bag".
You can put anything you want in it, but frying the vegetables up with olive oil and a bit of salt will get the flavours out first. Just fry for 2 mins cos vege will continue cooking in bag.
Then put an elongated pc of parchment paper on table, brush the whole thing with olive oil.
On one side of the paper, layer a bit of vege, put your fish on it, top up with more vege and drizzle with olive oil, then fold half and wrap like curry puff. The sealing must be tight else air will come out, like you see the one on the right, which "lao hong" I think

For fish, bake for 12-15mins in 220 degree C oven.
For chicken, bake for 25-30 mins in 220 degree C oven.
Serve in bag - just use scissors to cut open the top like an envelope.
Nice thing is all the vege flavours are inside the fish and bag... nothing is escaped.

For this one, I use garlic, yellow squash (zucchini), green peppers, red peppers, french beans and tomatoes. And I just marinate fish with black pepper, olive oil and a bit of lemon juice.
For a more Meditarranean style, you can add chopped black olives.

Tip: Choose fish that is thin so easier to cook. But if using one big thick fish, just score the body with a few slits so it cooks easier.

annlee,
I think using steamer may not give same effect, cos the bag is supposed to puff up while in the oven so the food can cook in its own flavours. I think steaming may produce too much moisture and bag may not puff up. But you can use almunimium foil instead! Foil will not puff up in steamer, but the food inside will cook in its own flavours too.

The bowl next to papillote is red-skinned potato salad ala Van style
Need some carbos else I'll be very depressed!

van,
I'm so happy to hear that u hv found yr photos!

sophie,
thanks for the papillote recipe! it's really interesting to cook like this, delicious, clean and nice presentation!

may I ask u, parchment paper, baking paper, tracing paper, are they the same?

sp,
I think parchment paper and baking paper is the same, but not sure about tracing paper.
I couldn't find the "loose" kind, so bought Glad Bake Wrap this time - feels a bit more waxy and waterproof.

Van,
Heng ah! I would be gone crazy f I lost all my baby's photos too..wahaha..

Sophie,
Thanks for the recipe! It really look simple to cook!!

Last night's dinner pics look good! Feeling so hungry now!

Sophie,

I used to bake fish or chicken using parchment paper.Now I just use the casserole with lid.Works great when cooking big portions.

Van,

Your beef fried rice looks very delicious!Did you use minced beef or beef slices?

Hosting your pics at Flickr and burning into CDs is safe.If you want to upload large number of pics onto Flickr, have to pay 24.99USD per year.Pretty worth it.

Amelia,
A casserole dish is a good idea too, but don't forget, I am the lazy cook

Less dishes to wash if use paper

hi ladies...
today on n off kena "scared" by my little boy (keep having contractions n extra movements, n aching of pelvic & vaginal area...) so didnt pop in here to kaypoh until now...

amelia n van,
i actually have another 2 sites to share, cos my friends are using these sites.. www.snapfish.com and www.multiply.com...
i'm using multiply for myself too... not only can "save" photos there, can save video files, write blogs.. etc etc...
i also tot of wat if the site "close down", or if some pranksters hack into e site n wreck havoc with my pictures... but i guess its a small chance since mine is all very "family oriented" photos...

i also back-up all photos in CDroms too...

okay, going home liaoz... ta ta...
kao_byebye.gif

starz,
Take care and rest more... my sis was also feeling like that towards the end of her pregnancy, and her doc advised her to take her maternity leave earlier to rest.

I tried your constipation remedy of taking Yakult today, in addition to all my fibre... it works!

Will try plain yoghurt some other day!

Sophie,
The red bean paste used in the Ice Tea Milk is not as smooth as those Red Bean paste dessert, can see still see some of the beans, but I believe the method of cooking should be the same.

533702.jpg

Amelia,
I bought beef slices for the pork rice, but I cut into smaller strips,to re-create Asian Kitchen's style.

Bought the beef slices for supermarket at Isetan Scotts, too big packet,end up eating beef for dinner tonight again.Stir fry Broccoli with beef slices.

hb saw the photos I uploaded to flickr, and is worrying about security issues..