Cooking Tips & Recipe

Amelia,
Regarding typing in Chinese, for Windows, need to go Control Panel>Regional and Language Options to add Chinese language.But yours is a MAC right? not sure about MAC.

cupcake,
I just fry the Dou Su using small fire.You can also add chopped garlic to the Dou Sou to make it more fragrant,but need to put garlic in wok first,fry for a while,then add Dou Su.

joy747,
You are going to Isetan again tomorrow huh? I am quite interested to get the thermal pot if it's at current promotion price of $69,if it's at $118 then it's toooooo expensive liao,not worth it.Just need to check out whether 1.5L is too small.

A lot of people actually called thermal pot magic pot or magic thermal pot.

Went to watch the show Deep Sea at Omni Theatre today.

It's a very nice show,highly recommended,even for kids from pre-schooler onwards. Those who love watching documentary program will love this show. It's narrated by Johny Depp and Kate Winslet!

We wanted to watch another show Roving Mars right before Deep Sea, but hb couldn't make it,will probably watch it this weekend or next week.

amelia, I wanted to add oyster sauce you mentioned before and remember that my son don't like his food to be 'or lu lu' so to make him eat his dinner i must make his rice colorful or light if not he will reject it, he's very troublesome one. Thanks for your suggestion on dark sauce.

sophie, I like to make my soup ru wei so i don't need to put any salt etc.. to the soup.

No I did not put brown rice on cabbage rice cos out of stock hee.., good idea to put brown rice, ok will try next round.
Don't be sianz not to eat belachan cos when I'm pregnant also wanted to eat but control myself although once in a while is ok.... will not put the pic of belachan anymore to tempt you ok..

heh the serikaya looks thick... they must be putting alot of ingred inside... looks yummy! I bought the XO kaya at NTUC also look thick, quite nice.

Was having mee siam for breakfast cos influence by sophie and van hee..... the malay store mee siam is getting lousier... bee hoon very coarse.

van, did your dd enjoy the show?? Must be right? Is good to bring kids to Science centre... not sure how's the place now. Btw, how much did you pay for it?

annlee,
yumm...Mee Siam for breakfast sounds nice! I wanted to make Mee Siam again soon...but not with Hai's Mee Siam paste again!

My dd enjoy the show very much, but also kept talking non-stop..."What's this? What's that? Why?..So funny....I can feel the chair moving...."

I think your DS1 will enjoy it too!

If I didn't remember wrongly tickets for 2 adults and 1 child is $25.After NTUC Link card discount is $22.50.

Re: Kaya

I've made them when I missed this coconut-egg jam when I was in Aussie.

10 eggs
1 small ptk of coconut milk (1 coconut size)
Icing sugar - to taste - Roughly abt 500g
Pandan Leave - 6-8 leaves - wash, hand-shred into long pieces and tie into a bundle.

Method:
Prepare 2 pots. 1 Big, 1 Small.
Small pot to be able to fit in the big pot to double boil and stir the kaya.

Start to boil some water in the big pot. Note fill less then 1/2 a pot of water so when the small pots goes in the big pot water does not overflow in to the kaya mixture.

Make a caramel with 1/2 a pkt of sugar. This gives it a nice brownish clour.

Beat eggs and sugar (amt up to individual) till disslove in a bowl.

Once caramel is done, remove from flame and place the small pot into the big pot with boiling water. Slowly add in the egg mixture and throw the pandan leaves in the pot.

Lower the flame and just keep the boiling water warm.

Keep stiring with a pair of chopstick from the side and bottom of the pot. The pandan leaves will act as a stirer and help to clear the cooked mixture from the sides and bottom of the pot.

How fine the kaya turns out to be depends on the control of the heat as well how well u sitr the mixture.

Kaya is cook once the mixture curds.

Ideally the kaya is to be kept for abt 1 -2 weeks in the fridge.

Enjoy with your toast / crackers

van, oh....you're making mee siam. Remember to take pic as your food always make us drool...

Why not Hai's paste? No good?

The tickets for three of you at $22.50 is worth it! Then I can consider bringing my boys there.

oh good that your dd enjoy it. So the chair can moved!! I remembered about 14 or 15 yrs ago, I went to Universal Studio and there's this place like omni threatre, the show that i'm watching think is back to future, was watching the show with many mices 'looking' running towards us and suddenly my chair moved and can feel that hundreds of mices running behind me.... all the people and me screamed and jump out of the chair, is so funny and quite frightening...

annlee,
Hai's paste doesn't taste "authentic" ,it calls for adding coconut milk, and it doesn't have the tau cheo taste that Mee Siam usually has.

The Omni theatre isn't as frightening as those 3D Movies. Just feel that you are travelling in the deep sea.

I remembered screaming when watching 3D movie in Paris Disneyland as well, felt like lots of mice running towards us under our chair.Probably it's the same show as the one you watched?

The HK disneyland one is even better, can smell the food, feel the breeze and drizzle of water droplets on us!

We are also planning to watch the Magix 4D show in Sentosa soon,should also be very interesting like the one in HK Disneyland.

<font color="119911">Sentosa 4D Magix
20% discount on admission tickets (Family Card Members).
Be part of this mind-blowing movie experience that makes you feel like youre directly in the scene at South-East Asias largest 4-dimensional theatre. Using synchronised special environmental effects built into the seats, feel wind blowing in your face, smell rain in the air, hear and feel water rushing your way and be tossed about in your seats as all your senses are engaged in the action onscreen!</font>

ha.... van, think we're watching the same show. Also experienced the water droplets but we will not get totally wet, is quite fun. Actually I can't remember is at Universal studio or Disney hee... at that time i prefered Univeral studio. More interesting! Oh... you've been to Paris Disneyland... I've been there too, not because I wanted to go, is on the itinerary... the only one I never been to is HK and Disney World. Don't think will go unless my boys wants to go Disney in future

So quiet today....everybody goes for SALE is it? Seems like all the department stores having sale. Too bad...I can't go, cos don't want to bring DD to crowded,enclosed place yet.

Still busy re-installing programs...

annlee,

It's quite unlikely that your boys will say No to Disneyland...

Hee... just came back from the sales at Seiyu J8. Quite good sales for kids' and baby stuff - non-sales items got 20% off and sales items got additional 15% off. I bought a black tube bra to wear under V-necked blouses... some cheap brand called Impressions, $13.90 and less 30% off too. Also got the bra padding to slip into my tube top bralets.

Van, annlee,
The Deep Sea show sounds good, but the last time I watched a mountain-climbing movie at Science Centre, I came out with a migraine!

I also watched the short 3D clip (Terminator if I am not wrong) at Universal Studios before... yep, got raindrops and water... and Shrek has people grabbing my ankles, quite fun!

Van,
You try the Prima mee siam some day and tell us your verdict!

Amelia,
I had kaya toast for supper last night too! But limit myself to half a slice of bread cos really not hungry, just greedy. Went to sleep thinking about the Amosco eclairs and swiss rolls cos Krisjoy was saying they're good

Sunsweet,
Thanks for the recipe. I'll copy and paste it into the Yahoo Group database.

Hello everybody!

Anyone know how to cook Thai style olive rice?

i just had the rice at wisma foodcourt. the restaurant in the foodcourt is called "Waan Waan".

choc did u pay extra for the maid coming to your house?

Van, which department stores having sales?
aiyoh me so suo-gu, work in orchard also dun know...

only saw the Aussino having sales, the bedsheet not bad, i think is $7.95 now (normal offer is $9.90).

Van,
Hee.... I saw your dd in her mortarboard outfit! Very cute and very serious-looking, like a real graduate

LittleCat,
You changed from Italian mama to Thai girl now?

Tomorrow night Suntec got late night shopping extravaganza from 9pm to 1am....

LittleCat,
I read in newspaper Taka,JL,Seiyu,Isetan all having sales leh! I will probably go Isetan next week, but got some Taka and Robinson vouchers to use.

Sophie,
Today is Wisma late night shopping right?

ya...she looks very serious in that outfit,and she was seriously telling me last night that she thought she was smiling what.
529106.gif

Van,
Yes, you're right - I just checked Wisma website, they have late night shopping on every last Fri of the month.
I think Tangs also have the same thing. But don't think I'll be going - hubby needs to work late tonight! Plus also a bit "dangerous" to go to overly-crowded places.

Robinsons no sales? I like their Centrepoint branch... got nice younger-looking clothes plus BIG baby dept upstairs.

Hee, I think your dd probably didn't realise it. But serious also very cute... like a "little adult"!

Hmm.... the night before last, I had a dream.
Dreamt that gynae told me baby is a boy.
Then I woke up and noticed that my nose is rounder and fleshier!
Today a friend also commented on my nose

Sophie u r right, changing to Thai liao kekeke!
this PG really lots of changes. from jap food to italian food then sandwich then now thai food (but so far only found this one nice)!
last time quite consistent.
Taka also? aiyoh we went to buy mooncake didn't check taka got sales or not.

if they have the avent &amp; pigeion 20%, must go get those items liao...
cos i check so many places, their price is fixed, only with this type of discount then really considered good buy.

eh not true one leh, me pg with boy but nose still the same...

sophie,
yr dream so cute, eh, how come wake up nose also change shape?

re: Nikon camera
sorry I can't remember who asked me about my camera model. I forgot what model already and went to dpreview to find out. it's an old model no more in the market, Nikon Coolpix 4200. anyway, a user said to reduce shutter lag should change single auto focus to continuous auto focus. Hmm, I must go home to check it out.

krisjoy, sunsweet,
thanks for posting the kaya recipes! wah, really a lot of work hor, need a lot of patience which I lack, oops.

van, saw the photo liao she really looks serious kekeke...
but some of them just dun smile while taking picture.
my son is opposite so many pattern!
even when taking passport also try to put 'victory' sign...

LittleCat,
I saw Seiyu got Avent and Pigeon... all 20% off.
E.g. of what I remembered - a bottle of Pigeon baby detergent (700ml) + refill pack (700ml) selling at about $20. Then after 15% discount, about $17.50.

Seiyu toys also got sales... same thing, 20% off regular and 15% off sales items.

sp,
Yeah... I'm so afraid my nose will balloon!
Did your nose expand when you had your ds?

I am having food poisoning!..went to the loo many times today.Bleaahhhh

Van,

Your dd is looking cute in her graduation outfit! MMI's backdrop is very professional...nice pic!

LittleCat,

Yeah you're son is so hilarious when taking pics, full of pattern pattern poses!ahahahhaha..victory sign during passport picture taking

Van,

Will figure out the chinese settings, thanks.

Sophie,

You had a good dinner last night?I had junk food, just some soft boiled eggs, hotdogs and very very sugary foods.

Sorry for asking dumb questions..
Are there websites with info on luteal phase(??) and 2ww(??) you're talking about?Where did you know all these?

Sophie,
About the nose becoming bigger...saw some of my colleagues really have bigger nose when they expect boy...,but some still the same.

Some also say mummy becomes uglier means boy, prettier means girl...but not true!

LittleCat,
your son is very cute, taking passport photo also do victory sign! Did you bring him to studio or those instant photo kiosk?

Amelia,
oh no...what did you eat? so are you MC at home or still at work?

Last night my hb was telling me he missed the Zi Char at Clementi, then I replied, oh, the one i had food poisoning after eating is it? very Sao3 Xing4 right? but he's quick to add that he didn't have it even though we ate the same thing.

sophie, oh then can buy leh! but won't go seiyu so far lah..
later i go check if Taka got or not.

Amelia what did u eat? take care, drink more fluid.
yeah he is full of pattern type aiyoh till i sometime feel pai seh...

Van and LittleCat,

Dont worry, I'm at home.My tummy started feeling weird last night. I cannot pinpoint what I ate, since I eat so many food items per day:p I think it's probably one of the small items I tabao from coffeeshop lah..

Hawker and coffeeshop food is really dirty, but very difficult to resist.

Van, your hubby has an iron stomach.Like you, I'll surely kenna one.

going off to rest...bye!

Amelia,
How come got food poisoning? Is it all the junkfood or light salmonella poisoning from the eggs?
Don't take oily stuff today and drink lots of fluids to replenish the loss of water!

My dinner was bland cabbage soup, that's why went to bed dreaming of Amosco's eclairs!

Eh, the luteal phase and 2ww thingy... I read them, but I read so much I cannot remember whether they are from websites or from books... paiseh

I only remember that time m/c, and a book says shorter luteal phase slightly higher chance of m/c. Some docs believe Vit B6 helps to extend luteal phase, and since B6 is just a water-soluble vitamin, I popped one pill a day.
But don't worry about all this - my first gynae says m/c is just random, and I am just unlucky! So best thing is, don't worry so much - conceive liao then say. Once you get a positive on urine test, just rest well and listen to your body.

Some websites from my TTC folder:
http://www.gettingpregnant.co.uk/diet.htm
http://www.twoweekwait.com/

There were probably other sites like the standard babycenter and ivillage, but I go into those randomly and do not bookmark them. I like the twoweekwait.com site cos it's about real women talking about their experience. I also read the founder's blog regularly now - she is expecting a boy after 2 m/cs I think.

Sorry to digress from food, gals...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LittleCat,
Can sign your boy up for modelling liao!

Van,
About my nose *sigh*... cos my nose already very round and button-like, so scared it will "explode"! Never mind... must look on bright side - can buy more face powder in different shades to hide the fatty nose!

sophie, seiyu having 20% off for pigeon...that's good as I'm waiting for pigeon on sales to top up some pigeon snack for my ds2.

When I'm having my ds1, nose growing bigger, broader... also don't look good...no 'nu ren wei'and abit rough. Having my ds2 looks normal but nose still big and not that rough. Maybe didn't notice much of my 2nd preggie cos I suffered alot during the 1st and 2nd trimester lor...

amelia, better be careful of what you eat. Me never learn lesson last time went to oasis to have taiwan porriage ordered hum and got food poisoning, so bad until ended in hospital, doc used a very thick needle and poke on my front wrist, injecting medi and drip, very evry painful.... 2nd time, same restaurant, same hum, and same hospital again... haiz... 2nd time then learn my lesson.

You take care!!

van, yah... your dd look abit serious but good leh.. people see will think she look very pro... the photo is very nice taken,nice background too.

littlecat, I can't view your ds picture leh... can't find that gentleboy

Sophie,
I brought the eclairs and swiss rolls to my mom's house last nite and all of them said they are good! Will order more next time ;p Have recommended my friend and she also likes them

Btw, did you see any receiving blanket on sales? Think I'll drop by Orchard tomorrow to buy it...

Amelia,
Are you feeling better? I notice that when I take chilli, I will run to the loo so now I avoid it for the time being. Strange, last time i can take a lot of chillies and nothing happen..

hey Van, yes this is the one!!! thanks !!
so those are chinese olive, salty type right?
the one they fried just the rice, then at the side with some chicken, $5.50 per plate leh.. expensive hor?

Amelia u take a good rest!

sophie, can not lah model, in front of us he many pattern, in front of stranger sometime he go hide..

annlee, i thot of posting some, so remove then no time to post.. will post some from my mobile one, only managed to download last week.
want to change my mobile, so must download all photo first...

annlee,
I like your dinner leh...looks nice
btw, what did you cook your lotus root soup with? Thot I saw some other ingredients in it...

Talking about thai food, I had thai food 2 weeks ago at this place in bencoolen called lemon3. We ordered their set lunch at $9++ very worth as it include 2 types of free flow tom yam soup and soup of the day. Also include thai dessert buffet. Their dessert not much of variety but is yummy... can compare abit to Thanyin dessert at Amara but of course thanyin is better and more variety.
The rice serve for my set lunch at lemon3 is olive rice. Their tom yam is nice too...

krisjoy, thanks! Actually I put alot of japalum in my lotus soup. There's lotus root, fresh huai shan, dang sheng, dried cuttlefish, red dates, wolfberries, pork bone meat, alittle white ikan bilis and ginger.

Re: Photos

cupcake,
your golden retriever looks so cute as a puppy! can melt anyone's heart..

Littlecat,
Your ds is very handsome..he is quite fair hor?

sp,
Your son looks very adorable...all of you must have enjoyed the trip

Van,
I like your dd when she was 3 days old..can see the transformation now that she is older. I also like her at the Taka makeover ;p How come your pic is not there huh?

another "catching up" exercise for me here.. if it gets too long, pls pardon me ar...

annlee,
bb not doing boxing i think no more space for him.. can only feel him moving all e time.. like now, he's been moving non-stop near my rib-cage area for almost half an hr liaoz.. very uncomfortable but bo pianz...
korean show ar... my colleagues trying very hard to influence me too leh.. but no time to indulge now liaoz.. got time only, want to sleep...

cookiemonster,
hehehe.. my tummy now is 43inches liaoz.. n i put on total 19kg with 1 more month to go.. so "qiao" u also seeing Dr Kee?? i see him at TMC, agree tat he's very nice n assuring gynae, i've never had a single moment of "worry" from him.. always "scare myself" only.. eh, can ask u, how u lost 25kg after delivery ar?? i need to consolidate e info for myself leh... hehehe..

amelia
wah, ur memory very good leh,can remember my gynae.. the vitamins are not prescribed by him one. i only saw Dr Kee after testing positive not before. i just simply decided to start taking folic acid n obimin BEFORE trying to get pregnant, cos i've been smoking for so long mah... wanted to "build up" my system first lor..
u tried OTO trimax before??
pls dont anyhow eat today liaoz hor.. for food poisoning, usually doc advise taking plain porridge, toast bread WITHOUT diary products.. go see doctor if still not well n get an injection lor.. it helps faster..

choc,
aiya, nowadays never take new photos, then share older photos lor... wedding photo also can.
cos tats when women at most beautiful, sure not paiseh to share one..

how u coping these 2 days without CL?
she so nice to ur girls... if me sure "on tap" liaoz..

sophie,
wah.. made in saigon baby... hehe.. here alot of "overseas production" hor..
im havin a boy also leh, n alot of pple comment my nose bigger, n my looks like more "chor lor" lor... so sad.. indirectly telling me i look ugly lah...

krisjoy,
i only tried e swiss roll cos tat time eclairs OOS.. agree tat its very nice, e cake is so "light", n e cream is not too sweet.. i want to try eclairs n the "profiteroles" ar..but hardly anybody organise BP for my area (hougang)...

cupcake,
muffin is so cute!! i love golden retrievers, but i would only buy one if i stay in landed property with space for him/her to run around whole day... mine is only a small mix maltese, but sometimes already feel like he doesnt have enough space to run around in... like so poor thing...

oh ya, thank u all for your comments n review on digital cameras... i will go shopping for it again when hubby is free... but now i know to stick to "traditional camera brands"...

annlee,
Pigeon sells snacks for eating? How come pregnant with your ds2 suffer durign 1st &amp; 2nd tri?
I always pass by Lemon Tree in my bus last time, but never got to try. Will go try it next time!

Krisjoy,
What is receiving blankets? I ony saw some flannel kind - only about $10+ and comes in blue or pink. Don't expect Carter brand one though

I think I must set some "alarm" for the eclairs so I can place my order next time. I see that most orders are filled up within 1 or 2 days, and I'm always too late!

LittleCat,
Your ds also can also make hum mouth very well!
Yeah, he is quite fair - prob takes after the mummy!

starz, annlee, sp,
About nose... my sis is now betting me $100 baby is a boy

She also just had a boy, and her features seemed to have changed too... but after giving birth, she is now my good old sis look again.

Starz,
About one more month to go only right? Must "ren(3)"... after that will look like your pretty self again!

Have a good weekend, everyone!

Hello, meatball+potato+porkbelly with tomato sauce for dinner.
529395.jpg

The meatball don't look very rounded cos is fried by my maid earlier as i'm watching my korean show.So is not that nice

annlee,
Yummy Yummy, that looks so good with rice....

LittleCat,
The one you had also salty olives(very salty??)? I remembered those that I ate not really salty leh. $5.50 not too expensive if it's freshly fried,but if already fried a big pot/plate then scoop up when customer order that type then it's expensive.

littlecat, think your ds is around my ds age as they like to make similar funny face hee...

sophie, oh yes... pigeons sells snack for bb and pre cooked food too but I will not buy those pre cooked food unless travel with my ds2 for convenient. Their snacks is nice.

What I suffered on my 2nd preggie.... morning sickness lor.... very very bad... vomit, heartburn and bad headache. I can have these 3 things for all day long and lying on the bed ... ended around the fourth month and got another problem to suffer again. My lower part, vaginal area is painful, difficult to walk and my heartburn is still around... occasionally headache... you see, I suffer the different pain after one another and the pain only go away until I gave birth

Thanks van, so happy praised by sifu like you.

Gtg... going to bath my boys and feed them.. chat later

Hi everyone, sorry just a quick post from me - busy cleaning up the hosue cos' my in-laws visiting this weekend.

Mmm...annlee, my stomach rumbling already! My hb ta bao dinner tonight - still have to wait another hour before I get to makan!

Hi Sophie, receiving blankets have a small "envelope" in one corner that acts as a hood for baby's head. Very useful especially when going to paed office for monthly checkup and jabs. I am buying a dress from this lady who brings in US labels kids' clothes - saw her selling very cute Carter's receiving blankets for S$12 only - maybe you wanna take a look. The link to her site is http://www.kidz-inc.net/Infants/Accesories/

Sorry, gotta go - way behind schedule - will catch up again when I've viewed all the new pics on Yahoo Group.

annlee,
Your stew looks nice! Like Van, I also love this sort of gravy dish with rice!
Hee, but I don't believe you put in pork belly... you eat pork belly meh? So much fats leh. or did you trim away all the fats?

Woah, your 2nd pregnancy very poor thing... now I am all the more thankful that I don't suffer as much in 2nd trimester!

Annelise,
Thanks for the pic of the receiving blanket.

Krisjoy,
In that case, the blankets at Seiyu on sale are not the "receiving" kind... more like just a flat blanket. Not sure if Seiyu sells Carters brand.

sophie, I can easily eat two bowls of rice with that gravy when preggie.

hee.... you're so smart I don't eat the pork belly. I don't put porkbelly in this dish, i put it this time because bought too much of pork belly for cabbage rice so I add the left over pork belly on the dish. Cabbage rice pork belly I really trim off the fats.