Cooking Tips & Recipe

Choc,

i did put garlic and black sauce. but i put only 1 pkt like the instruction on the pkt leh. Maybe tat why too blend not enough fragnant.

i know the orange pkt one. Now NTUC got offer and sell in a big pack like 4pkts in it. I did not buy that bcos i thought try out 1st and see edible or not. ha ha ha

Van,

So sorry to hear about your dd...I was thinking of both of you when you didnt post yesterday....But I am also sure she's in good hands and will recover soon since GlenE has the best doctors around.

choc,
yr girls so funny with yr newborn, hehehe...

glad u r enjoying yr confinement! way to go...

Annelise,

I think it may be the weather causing the fever...drink more fluids and stay indoors..rest well too.

Sophie,

Thanks for your advise.

Ok, will update you on the magnetic snaps.I might do a step by step tutorial on this when I have the time.

Van,
glad to hear yr dd can sit up and is getting better.

little cat,
Msia amnio is very ex leh, doesn't matter u go govt hospital or private, last time I asked my gynae he said it's RM1400-1700, that amt of money enough for u to normal birth in private hospital leh.

yr sis very brave, preggie at 43! if she scared can go for amnio lah, but is she prepared to do anything "drastic" in case bad news (touchwood)? if she will keep her baby no matter what results, then it's up to her whether she wants to find out now or later...

Van,
Glad to know your dd is recovering.
Did the doctor give any reason for the intestinal block?

LittleCat,
I agree with sp - your sis so brave! Is this her first pregnancy?
If you say amnio is not so common in Malaysia, then maybe not so "safe" to do amnio in Malaysia? Cos that means the doctor got less experience and practice doing it right?
If your sis really wants to do it, maybe can ask her to take a week leave, come to SG to do it and stay with you to recover during the week? I have seen Malaysian and Indonesian patients at my gynae's clinics being "referred" to him for tests/second opinion, so it probably can be done.

Annelise,
Take good care of yourself and hv a speedy recovery!

Van,
Relieved to hear tat your dd is improving. You take gd care of urself too!

van, glad to hear everything is fine, u take care! have some rest too!

twinkle-starry, I just cook the bak ku teh last saturday, i used the A1 brand, quite good.
could it be too much water?
like choc, i put garlic and dark sauce, also some oyster sauce, and one can of button mushroom.
It taste good.

sp, yeah she told me about that price too. In singapore is about 700 so convert to ringgit almost the same.
her first boy is 9 years old liao. actually she wanted 2nd one, but mis-carriage twice after that.

We share the same view is, if is not a normal child she dun want to see him/her suffer. esp parents will pass away earlier than them, after that who look after them?
so if she has such thought i believe she is prepared if the result is positive.

the things that worry her, the first gynae said the risk is 2%, there are chances the fluid didn't replennish & risk of infection.
then she seek for 2nd opinion, the gynae said is 1%.
Worst still lots of her relative call her tell her not to do. And most of them hor is only hear rumours about the risk , no scientific proof type etc....

u know sometime people 'care' by telling the wrong info and cause people panic...sigh..

little cat,
gynae can only agak-agak tell u the risk whether 1% or 2%, if yr sis is prepared to take the risk, she can go for amnio.

agree with sophie, she may wanna consider do the amnio in S'pore.

as for the relatives, well, they just concerned in case something happened to the bb due to amnio procedure yr sis will be heartbroken lor. so can understand why they advise against it.

actually being preggie and giving birth is already a "risk", anything can happen, to add another 1-2% risk hmm is it worth it or not only the mummy can decide.

Little Cat,

could be more water... the instruction on the pkt no gd lah. it say 1500ml water with 1kg of pork ribs and i did the same. i think next time i will put less water or additional pkt.

Preggie at 43!!!! wow so brave leh. for me 35yr i will think twice liao.

LittleCat,
I read in books/web that the risk is 2%, but most doctors will say it's 1%.

Before she decides to do the amnio with a certain doctor, I think it's reasonable to ask the doctor his/her own experience with amnio e.g. how many he has done and what his own success rate is... afterall 2% are from books, 1% is probably industry standard. The really good and experienced doctors will be able to tell you that his/her own rate is lesser than 1%, although some may not tell even if their own rate is lesser than 1%, maybe don't want to give too much false hopes.

I agree with sp too... that pregnancy itself is already a risk, so even 1% to me is a high risk too, so might as well get an experienced doctor to do it.

sorry double-posting again, yesterday and today internet siao-siao...

sophie,
how u feeling nowadays, got more hungry than usual, got cravings or not, hehehee......

sophie/sp, yes i did ask her to come to singapore. but abit lechek for her. she is not working but husband is working and son is schooling, quite difficult for them too.

Sophie, she has the same worry as u, since it's not that common, those gynae might not have enough experience to do it, so it make her feel even worst...

just saw her sms she will do it on tuesday. just hope everything is fine.

LittleCat,
Oh, since she's already made the appointment for next Tue, then tell her not to worry so much and just do it.

sp,
Not more hungry leh... hubby away in China for 1.5weeks will only be back on Fri, so I think I am abit sian to eat alone. Don't even want to wake up in the morning to eat breakfast... sometimes I wish can just put a drip in, then no need to think of food!
How are you doing yourself? Now that your kid coming 1 yr old, can plans for 2nd one or not?

littlecat, my friend is from KL, she's 38 that time and gynae told her to go for amnio test but she don't want cos she's afraid of the pain! Luckily everything go smoothly for her.

van, glad to hear that your dd is fine. Roughly tell us what happen when free ok.

twinkle, about the bak ku teh, i used A1 brand.

u all are so great. my 1st attempt failed. hee.... i will try again.

these days i seldom cooks as i hv night conference call and by the time i bring back my darling i hv to be on the call liao.

i will try to cook at least twice a week otherwise i dun know what to eat outside leh

Eh twinkle,
I also made a boo boo with bak kut teh before.. yah.. A1 brand is good like what the other ladies said.. My uncle adds cut dang shen in as well.. he says it's sweeter

sp, you think my gals are funny, hehe.. wait till u see my bb with see hum tongue..

van, glad that your girl's ok.. you also take care.. know it's not easy going in and out of hospital.. don't overtire yourself

Hey annlee, I also thought of bringing no 2 for the pneum and rota jabs.. cos she's always down.. but will def bring bb for these 2 jabs but they don't have it in the polyclinic

Yo cat, from the 11-14 weeks, during the normal scan, my gynae did a rough NT scan for me, it's to measure the neck and the spine ratio(if I'm not wrong),and can roughly estimate chances of abnormality in bb.. agree with u, doing these tests can be fearful ..

now I eat and sleep.. aft CL leaves,I mati liaoz ! I forgot all about how to deal with engorgement when I came back from hosp, now got to re learn everything..

Aiyoh joy, your boy so handsome and fair ! What did you eat when you were preggy ?

hi ladies...

very bz in e morning.. only got time to peep, no time to post... hehehe..

Van,
relief to know dat ur dd is better.. with ur knowledge, i'm sure she'll recover soon...
don't get too stressed liaoz hor.. anytime drop by here to de-stress abit lor..

choc,
thank u for sharing ur recipes... i already copy down liaoz.. i havent got time to go n find e cookbook u all mentioned... will i be able to find it at Popular? or got to go to a "bigger" bookstore then can find??

annelise,
we all think recently weather not good.. alot of people falling sick.. try to take more water, n rest well... i also just recover from flu n cough during e weekend only...

littlecat,
baby kingdom n hypermart are in 2 seperate "industrial" building.. just a few units apart only..
but be careful when u r there hor.. make sure hubby "shield" u.. cos they have ALOT of things there, quite "crowded" by stocks liaoz.. then weekend also have more people.. now tat we r so "big" liaoz... = need to be extra careful..

try n reassure ur sis abt her pregnancy lor.. nowadays i think reli very common to have older n older MTBs.. no worries lah, medicine also so advance liaoz...

abt inconsiderate people on public transport:
*haiz*... every mummy here also got bad experience on public transport.. how to be a gracious society... i don't have e "guts" to tell someone off leh... look at e fella also no use, most of them skin so thick also wont feel pai-seh one... i will just avoid taking public transport for e meantime..

sophie,
hehehe... i cannot bear to buy e VCD nor DVD leh.. find it too expensive liaoz...

i getting very "ngiao" nowadays.. very tempted to buy e Vitasence products.. but still cannot bring myself to buy it yet.. cos now i'm using $6 facial cleanser.. suddenly ask me to spend $50 on e cleanser abit difficult lor...

joy,
ur boy so handsome... n look abit like "ang moh" also leh.... (hope u dont mind my "language" hor)... u n hubby both chinese or?????

Joy,
Your boy has a very 'eurasian' look..so handsome

Re: Amnio test
I asked my gynae if I shld do this test but he said bcos I am 34YO, there is no need and he feels that it's not worth to take the risk as amnio test can cause miscarriages...So now I can only hope that bb is ok...

Choc06 and starz

thanks for compliments....

No worri about your ang mo language.starz...My hubby who was in London,not in time to welcome him when I gave birth to aedann asked me, are you sure you get the right baby...I think you know why....

Choc06, the trick is lots of toufu, tomato and tao huey....looks at nice baby pic and compliments beautiful kids....

Oh yes, besides doing amino test, one can also go for genatic scan which is equally good...

Krisjoy,I think aedann will be bursting with happiness if he knows that all the aunties here have said so much good things about him...thanks on behalf of him....

choc,
take photo of ur boy n show us leh... hehehe.. if u can capture a shot with his see hum tongue better still... hehehehehe....

abt engorgement hor... i'm not experience lah, but i peep into other mummies' thread, they said use (1) hot towel to massage ur breast before feeding/expressing... (2) use cold-cabbage...
i'm actually quite curious.. one hot one cold, but both suppose to "fulfil" e same function....

joy,
tao huey can eat ar?? i dont dare to eat cos my mum say got "shi gao" inside...
hehehe... i didnt look at any nice baby pictures leh... cos used to "hearsay" whoever u look e most at, baby will turn out looking like that person... i know its nonsense lah... hehehe.. just didnt get to buy any baby pictures to see... everynite just look at my bridal photo n my hubby.. hoping my boy look like him.....

starz

I think moderate tauhuay is okay.Me and another friend who takes tauhuay together often and her princess also looks like tauhuay xiaojie....

I stared at a baby poster quite often and he looks quite like the pic...maybe you can take a look here as attached
514280.jpg

starz, dun use cold cabbage if u want to continue BF. cos cold cabbage suppose to stop the milk flow this is what i heard.
The hot towel is good to make the milk flow.
dun worry u will love and hate it! cos during that time u can be cup C or D (happy right?) but on the other hand, pain like hell...

Joy, agreed with the rest he got eurosian looks, handsome boy!
aiyoh you hb so bad one... but inside his heart he happy lah got such cute and handsome boy

starz, the baby kingdom n hypermart can see from outside lah hor? i am going on friday, so i guess not so crowded?
yeah u r right i always ask my hb to be the shield... i ask him to walk outside and i walk insdie. cos some people just dun care when they walk. and some inconsiderate imagine they stand in the middle of the walk way to talk?
u know the walk way between wisma to taka? i very scare to walk there.

choc, u bought your digital cam liao buay?
must practice few more time then can catch one leh

Eh cat, bought the cam liao.. but haven't capture the see hum moment! When he sleeps, then the hum tongue will appear..

starz, yah.. cold cabbage will relief the sore br, but some say will cut down supply.. must lie down and use hot, very hot towel to massage the lumps away.. the malay massage lady also helped me to massage the lumps, I find that quite effective..no blocked ducts aft that.. the last time when I had no 2, i had some stubborn, painful lumps and ended up having an infection.. got to go GP aft that..

oh yes choc, I've called polyclinic and check with the vaccine and you're right they don't have it. Thought I can pay lessen from there.

Bak Kut Teh is my hub's fav! I like to eat with mui cai and pig's legs.

Twinkle,

I normally add just enough water to cover all the ingredients, lid on and boil.It's much richer and sweeter this way..I don't follow the instructions on packet.

Starz,

You can also buy the book online at popular.com.sg

Joy,

Your boy looks eurasian!So cute!

Joy,
Your boy indeed look like the one in the pic ;p

Amelia,
Where do you normally go for Bak Kut Teh? Heard that the one at Rangoon Rd is very popular. Recently even more popular due to the 'not willing to extend operating hours' saga..hehehe..I normally go to the one at Havelock Road but I find their food quite ex lor..

Littlecat,
I went to both Hypermart and BB Kingdom last month. Both their services are so so only. Maybe becos I went on a Sat, there were quite a lot of pple so they dun really bother to serve us..The baby cots are not cheap though. So I din get anything there. But hope you can find something

Krisjoy,

We used to go the one at Bugis..Think it's near Raffles Hospital or something like that, but they've since shifted a couple of years back.We're still trying to find their new location haha!Their Bak Kut Teh has 2 versions, black(hokkien) and white(teochew)...mui cai and pig's legs are superb.For now, we're making our own with hard boiled eggs, pigs livers and Tau Pok.

Rangoon Rd's Bak Kut Teh must queue?Haven't heard about the saga...what is it all about?

How much is the one at Havelock charging?

Amelia, how do you do your mui cai ? I like it too.. and also in kwey chap.. Sometimes, I add tau pok in the bak kut teh soup too.. and also buy you cha kwey to dip in the chilli black sauce

annlee, think only private GPs have and maybe about 150 bucks or so ? yah.. hopefully polyclinics will start having them and charge lesser!

My CL says for the vinegar pig's trotters, the ginger soaked in the vinegar is very crunchy and nice if it's not fried in sesame oil.. my mum fries them in sesame oil and they taste a bit like potatoes..

Choc,

I don't know how to make mui cai at all.Usually, if I crave for it, I will buy instead.Anyone knows the recipe?

Your CL makes good vinegar trotters?Can "steal" her skills since she's such a great cook.

Van,
Wish speedy recovery for yor gal.

Joy,
Your ds really look like the pic!! He's so sweet.

Re: Bak Ku Teh
I try the Bugis one, so so leh. My fav one is at Joo Chiat! The soup is damn good & I like their "Bak Lai".

Van,
It must have been stressful and worry days for you lately... Remember to eat well too
and drink more water... Hope your dd will recover soon... I read already I also "sim tia" leh... So poor thing, have to go on morphine drip some more...

Littlecat,
hahaha.. moo moooo... I havent got much time to come in here lately. I am "pia-ing" my work to go to the UK
Yesterday brought my boy to KKH.. aiyo.. not gonna go KKH anymore... waste my time waiting and waiting... Then never do my work yesterday.. so guilty leh..

hmm.. I never trusted healthcare across the immigration... :p I hear too many stories and experienced it in my family... so now, my parents usually go to Mt E...

If your sis will not abort even the test results no good (touchwood), then dun go for it.. Cos amnio test very expensive and give preggie more stress... which is no good for the well-being of baby... I do read on "tai jiao"
and believe in the miracles of "tai jiao"...

Sophie,
I will want to bring Aloysius with me to the UK
kekeke... I am dreaming of showing him around London and the British countryside. I will definitely rent a car when I go with Aloysius. It will either my mum or my hubby go with me...

amelia, the bak hu teh near Raffles Hospital is it at a HDB and empty land now. My hb likes the kwap chap and they also selling bak ku teh if not wrong.

Little cat,Annlee.Amelia, cat tail

Thanks all....

I thought mui cai is different from the one that supposed to eat with bu kut teh , right...its supposed to call cai buay right?Mui cai is a delicacy for hakka isn;t it....Correct me if I am wrong...
Littlecat
My friend gave birth same time as me and she was 43 then and she did not go for any test...baby is fine...so really up to individual...

I heard Joo chiat also got a very popular ba kut teh store...