Cooking Tips & Recipe

sophie, the way they make their herbs really sound logic to me. A lot of ppl eating the wrong way like eating black vinegar or sesame oil chicken or tang kwai chicken soup immediately after giving birth. But I was told from them is wrong and shld take them on the 3-4 weeks of confinement. The Taiwan show i've seen also saying the correct way of eating confinement food and is exactly what peiling did. If you're interested you might want them to fax or email you the details of what is the correct herbs or food to eat during confinement. Do you know taiwanese host xiao S, she is also doing the same way of confinement. But you must read the details then understand what im saying..

Starz,
That's a nice and unique name for your boy
For me, I'll get some si-fu to name by bb.

choc, oh i didn't know zoe tay did that...
i dun have such high profile fren lah... although we are same age..

sophie, our two poor sisters..!

starz, aiyah we are same period if not i can copy some recepi for u.. cos the previous time i forgot most of it liao...
Only remember she cook the black fungus with pork, & with lots of ginger & wine kind of soup and eat with beehoon, kway teow etc... for breakfast.
Lunch/dinner : sometime is the steam chicken with wine, pan fried chicken in tumeric powder, ginger chicken wine (cantonese style), some 'permitted' vege etc...
At nite will have double boil black chicken soups in DOM. Super sweet.
My auntie version is the ang-zho chicken, her favarite. (ang-zho is the left over rice that they use to make the wine).

Hey, i like the name! aiyoh u all so fast one!
My hb.. ok just like his normal style is to wait till last minute (maintin his consistancy), of cos still nothing done yet lah.
Even my elder boy will bring the book and tell us, pick a name for di-di!

Just went to the maid agency, they said better get the maid early to let her familiar with the environment etc.. so i keep staring at my HB. and he use his 'hum' eyes to pretend dun know!

sophie, peiling will courier the herbs for you. I'm taking their 30 days rejuvenate soup and specially pack red dates tea from them. If you're interested, i can recommend you some of their products worth buying. Btw, their herb soup is quite ex if you don't mind to pay few hundreds dollar for it. But still worth it cos we need to get our health back.

krisjoy, my second confinement, i ordered 20 bottles of rice wine. Really need a lot if you use on food without adding water and bath with it. But i didn't use all the 20 bottles cos i find it too strong for me on food.

twinkle, yes... I've mentioned to joy that she can do 'xiao zhuo yue' (little confinement) herbs from peiling. This is for those that confinement is not doing well or want to strengthen the health. Call them and they were tell you about the herbs for it.

Annlee,
My SIL's sister used up all the 20 bottles! Maybe bcos she is Hakka so they really like the taste lor..I only ordered 2 bottles as I am using other types of alcohol as well..

krisjoy, the rice wine i used is to substitute water. I used DOM, mao kai chao, red wine for soup. 2 bottles of rice wine enough for you?

Talking about names for baby... before my second pregnancy, my hb wants to name Lara if is a girl as he's watching Lara croft Tomb Raider, faint... and he's serious about it

thanks starry for e websites.. i already saved all e info in a file, n when i got time go thru at home... now at work cannot too "guo fen".. hehehe....

joy,
i actually also scared cannot get back to pre-pg shape.. cos i used to be slim.. but reli no determination to control my diet during pg.. now too late liaoz, wait for after delivery then see how lor.. hopefully with breastfeeding n massage will help ALOT lor... hehehe...

Joy n krisjoy,
i also intend to let si-fu name my bb.. but only for chinese name.. i still havent get e si-fu details from my girlfren leh... hehehehe...

littlecat,
ur elder boy so cute... will ask u to pick name for di-di... then not so bad wat, e sibling rivalry...
aiyah... u somemore EDD later than me rite??? if not, at least still can copy from u then... hehehe..

annlee,
wats good to recommend from e peiling website?? i later then go see see look look...

starz, go for their 30 days herbal package for confinement. If you called and they ask you to buy more stuff, ask me first don't buy first.

annlee,
hehehe.. u not e only one with "nightmare" names... my hubby initially dont even want to "reconsider".. already fixed tat boy will be named "Beckham"... since e day i know him he told me that... luckily finally i managed to change his mind.. keep telling him, if skully his boy cant kick a ball at all or dont like soccer, then kena teased like mad..
thanks.. i go home then check e website..

Choc,
Heh, I was also hoping for twins, but I think not so easy... somemore my brothers are identical twins, meaning they are clones from one egg and one sperm!

Oh, do give your 2nd one more attention - when I didn't get enough attention at home and got bullied by my uncle at home, I went to school and bully my partner leh! But of course, this partner is now one of my good friends

Eh, 4 kids? Means you have one more round to go

starz,
Ayden is a nice name - pronounced the same way as Carrie Bradshaw's ex-bf in Sex and the City issit?
That actor quite cute, even with his receding hairline!

Heh, my mum already told me cannot move marital bed, cannot leave scissors on bed, cannot cut anything on bed liao! So no chance to move it. Think I will just make do with a cot - see whether I can squeeze cot into my room for 1st 3 mths, then after that move it to baby's own room.

LittleCat,
Just went to Kiddy Palace. Their cots are all around $299-319 inclu mattress, so not much difference from Robinsons I think. Plus salesgirls not very friendly... and definitely not preggie-friendly leh... they don't realy "siam" the pregnant ladies, so I feel a bit vulnerable there with them fixing up cribs and changing stroller displays.

annlee,
Woah, a few hundred bucks for the herbal soup?
I read up on the first 7 days confinement recipes - seems like only need the Peiling Herbal Health Formula sachet plus the Rejuvenation Soup. But need to think about it, cos MIL is not pro-chinese herbs, cos she thinks durign breastfeeding, cannot anyhow take herbs. She's more westernised kind, and plus she is staying with me during confinement, so I'm not sure if I dare to buy it now in case she don't let me eat... I'll discuss with my hubby first.

Thanks Sophie for the update.
U start wearing your maternity cloth liao?
if not they bo-chap u one!
like when we taking MRT/bus, last time i am wearing M cloth, and it took the lady about 20min to realized i am PG and let me sit.

If is the same price as Robison then no point...
i got this from my SIL
http://www.mykidsparadise.com/index.htm
according to her is about $40-$50 cheaper than Robinson/john little.
But my hb say too little woh..:'(
Then another fren say the Baby's HyperStore at Bukit Kaki cheaper. can get at 100+ ??
will be on leave this friday going to check it out. will update you gals.

starz, he still dun know the 'bau' (smell) yet!
He thot the di-di is always so quah in mummy stomach mah...
When i ask him about his cousin, now about 9 months, he said dun like him, cos he cry alot.
That day the auntie give him 2 soft toys to choose, one is a baby, one is a girl. He pick the girl. i ask him why? he said cos the other one is a baby.
Seems like he doesn't like baby...

wow 20 bottles! is the rice wine same as the 'huang jiu' ?

sophie, not the 7 days feminine prog, that one is 'xiao zhuo yue' and is cheaper.
You need 30 days herbal confinement package. Now they compressed their product to make it easily to consume and they say is better than before.

sophie, I'm the same thinking as you during first preggie, worried my MIL will against this and that, that's why leave everything to her and end up me suffered. You MIL is more westernize, think she might not agreed with all these. But don't mind me telling you, the body is yours leh... must think for your body and not worry about her... sorry to say that, now hope your hb will support you with that. The herbal stuff will not interfered with breastfeeding.

The herbal cost around $700-$800 and you don't have to buy anymore herbs for soup from outside anymore.

sophie, I bought vitascience cleanser. Is good!
At first when rinsing with water, i find my face still oily like not clean and after that i realise it get rid of all the oil on the face without feeling tight. My hb like it too... he just told me that cleanser is good... noon till now his skin is not that oily compare using others which make his face oily now.

Thanks sophie and krisjoy for vitascience!

annlee,
Glad that you like the product. They have amino acids in the cleanser and i guess it is this ingredients that makes it work...

LittleCat,
Thanks for the website.
And thanks in advance for helping to check out Baby's Hyperstore!
Btw, they say Baby Kingdom is near Baby Hyperstore, but not sure about pricing. Maybe if you cannot get anything at Hyperstore, can check otu Kingdom.

annlee,
I didn't see the 30-day package. Maybe cos the navigational menu giving me headache... I keep clicking on it but it either disappears or does not click... heh, maybe I am not web-savvy at all!
Will note the importance of "tiao-ing" my body back. Cos I am also a believer of TCM, but just don't wanna clash with MIL head-on

Vitasence is not bad yeah? Once your hubby's pox marks gone and skin stabilise, can try the pore clarifying essence later then?
btw, even without using the pore clarifying essence, I notice my big zits "ripens" veyr fast now... the white colored "head" comes out just after 2 days, compared to last time when it takes a long time!

sophie,
i didnt watch Sex n e city leh... hehehe.. "sua ku" hor... heard all abt it, but didnt subscribe to HBO nor manage to get my hands on vcd.. so up till now still hv not watched a single episode. Ayden we pronounced it as "A" "Den"(lamp in chinese) lor...

abt baby cot hor...
i already bought e "Regina cot".. its available in kiddy palace, but my girlfren in e furniture bizness, so she help me get... still havent deliver, so dont know how good. But i chose it cos e highest "level" is higher than e other cots lor... so i dont have to bend much (i think my mum shorter than me abit, dont hv to bend at all) can put baby into cot...
i went Baby Kingdom & Baby Hypermart at kaki bukit too... e same item would be e same price lah.. just dat they hv other "brand"/variety so got lower price-point stuff..

littlecat n sophie...
actually i find dat wearing maternity clothes also doesnt help at all leh. i'm reli VERY "huge" now.. tummy very very obvious (at 42inches).. and look like i'm due anytime somemore. last week hubby drove e car, so i had to take MRT to meet him somewhere... NOBODY gave up any seat for me. e people who were sitting in e seats meant for preggies n elderly were all young people..
ULTIMATE thing: someone actually got up from one of these seats to alight e train.. a "young" woman (between late-20s to mid-30s) actually quickly hurry hurry n sat down (she was standing further away from e seat than me)!!!!!! can u believe that?????
after this, i told hubby if he sell away e car, no chance of baby #2 liaoz... i'm so disappointed with singaporeans....

sophie, you're using the pore clarifying essence? If so, is it good? Their products quietly sitting one side, but quite expensive hor... if is good then worth buying

oh yes sophie, my son is medicine contains alittle of steriod and is improving. I know steriod is no good but what can i do? A bit sianz when they told me steriod is in the cream.

starz, so bad hor... those people don't give you the seat. When im pregnant and take mrt, when no seats, i will look at the ppl with seat for quite sometime and automaticatly they stand up and the seat is mine kekeke.. maybe i give the ke lian look to them

starz,
Yep, Carrie's ex-bf's name is also pronounced the same way, but spelt as Aiden. Tall, handsome man... hehe, you should get hold of the DVD, then during confinement, when bored, can watch. I love to watch it cos the clothes and shoes are soooo pretty, and gives me more motivation to get fit and dress up nicely

Oh, I saw the "Regina cot". Was eyeing the LuckyBaby Savannah Cot too!

No one gave up seat for you?!? This is atrocious! Actually I know what you mean when young chaps snatch the seats. I once gave up my seat to a preggie lady before, but cos she was quite a distance away from me, I had to walk over to her to tap her shoulder. Then a young guy sat down on my seat. I walked back to him and asked him to get up cos the seat was not meant for him! Think he was quite embarrassed. If I was there with you, I'd have asked the young girl "Shouldn't you let the pregnant lady sit instead?"

LittleCat,
I started wearing maternity pants liao, but tops can still fit into my pre-preggie ones, and no one seem to notice I am pregnant - maybe they just think I am fat
So I walk around slowly, and with hand on my tummy to block the kids! heh, my friend says I can "act" very well.

annlee,
Nope, I'm not using it yet, but read the user reviews online, and feel tempted to buy... Krisjoy, you're using it right?

annlee,
Abit of steroid is OK lah, else very difficult to go away, esp. for kids, very uncomfortable.
Actually a friend told me certain herbs in TCM also contains steroids, but the "natural" kind of steroids. That's why when I was taking TCM, my appetite very good, cos my friend says steroids improves appetite too.

Sophie and annlee,
Yes, I am using the pore clarifying lotion. It is brown in colour and just need to use a bit. Supposed to clear your pores of whiteheads and backheads. I used to have lots of whiteheads cos I use 2-way cake foundation but now most of my whiteheads are gone
I read about Vitasence in a magazine otherwise would not have noticed them in Watsons..hehehe...

Starz,
A lot of pregnant ladies also face the same problem of people not giving up their seats. On 2 occassions, it is those who are older ones giving up their seats for me. The younger ones and guys either pretend to sleep or just stare blankly ahead...they dun feel embarass at all...

Krisjoy,
Does the pore clarifying lotion make the pores smaller and less visible?

Joy,
Vitasence is a skincare product created and manufactured locally in Singapore. Krisjoy has found their products good, and I tried some items, also found it not bad. annlee is the latest person to try it. You can find out more info at http://www.vitasence.com/cs_cart/index.php

Hello gals...
Long time never come in here... Have been busy
I might be going to UK in November

Sophie,
I tried stir-frying the aloe vera with your recipe... kekeke... I think I dun like the taste of aloe vera... It gave me a weird after taste.

Starz, littlecat, sophie,
I also gotta stand in MRT sometimes even in my last month of pregnancy, especially if I was travelling in the afternoon with lots of students and housewives... I even get "uncles" staring at me from top to down and up... ***faintz*** There's once that I was standing just in front of the seat for the disabled/preggie/old, occupied by a upper primary student, with his mum beside. Both his mum and him can just stare at me in my big tummy, and continue sitting... And I avoid taking MRT during peak hours cos I get pushed from behind too... hmm... Singaporeans nowadays not like our time lor... I was surprised too...
Do take good care and hold properly to the handles if no seat...
Worse if some young people lean against the pole.. and cannot hold... I met that before though...

Joy747, I've just started vitascience cleanser and is good! Gotta check with the vitascience ambassador here!

sophie, don't say you're not web savvy... i'm the one... so green horn, just know how to download picture

krisjoy, I also wanna know more about pore clarifying essence. Do they dries up the sebum on the skin cos my hb squeeze his skin and all the pus will just creamy burst out... and does the product dries them?

I see...Thanks for letting me know the difference between DOM and Yomeishu.My hub was telling me Martell could also be used during confinement which is better for us since we already have a few unopened bottles at home(can't remember how many)...we got them from the airport's DFS..it's cheaper.But I think DOM and Yomeishu are more nourishing because of the chinese herbs infused in it?

Will check out Neo Garden when my time comes..prefer my hub to be able to enjoy the same food during confinement.My mom volunteered to prepare all our meals but I don't know if she's that familiar with confinement food too;she's pretty westernised as well.I may have to get the Ng Siong Mui book for her.

Sophie,

My mom is like your MIL...she discourages the use of too much chinese herbs..maybe because she's working for the pharmacy.

The sewing instructor you mentioned is teaching fashion design as well.Available courses by her now are dress-making intermediate and fashion design.I wonder if I should wait for her dress-making elementary or try other instructors..what do you think?Also, we have to purchase a serger right?

Annlee,

The 7 days Rejuvenation Menu makes a lot of sense.

Sophie,
I feel that the pore clarifying lotion does not make the pores look less visible. It's function is to clean up any clogged pores..I read from a magazine that the only way to make pores look less visible is to use a whitening product. Cos by lightening your skin, the pores will not cast shadows onto skin thus creating the impression that they glow and hence look smoother.

annlee,
Hmm, don't think they will dry up the skin leh..I think the acne lotion is supposed to do this lor..Would suggest that u post the questions on their website and their beauty consultants will respond to your queries. I've done that before...hope this helps!

Ladies.

i made bak kut teh last night. i use the ready packed herbs "Claypot" brand. I find not very fragnant leh.

Which brand is good huh?

Sophie

Thanks for sharing...

KrisJoy

Agreed, whitening pdt can help to make the pores less visible.I am still looking around for a good, whitening cum sunblock foundation.

Good day all

Amelia,
Difference between DOM and Yomeishu is also the herb contents. DOM contains danggui while Yomeishu doesn't. I know my gynae has once told me that if we are still bleeding (e.g. after pregnancy or op), we should not take DOM as danggui causes more blood circulation and hence bleeding will be heavier. So I'm not sure if still having the lochia discharge after pregnancy, can we take DOM or should wait till after discharge clears. I'll ask gynae next time and let you know!

As for sewing, I called up to ask before, if got totally no experience in dressmaking, they recommend the Basic dressmaking, whereas even the Elementary Fashion Design is meant for people who already knows how to cut patterns. Basic Dressmaking sounds "basic", but she actually teaches us to make A-line skirt, draw patterns for circular, semi-circular, pleated skirts out of which we make one, and then a blouse. And we're also taught basic things like how to sew a normal zip and invisible zip. What is a serger?

Krisjoy,
Thanks for your review. I just posted a question asking if 2 bottles of cleanser is considered 2 products out of 4 for Offer 1, and they say yes, so I may just stock up using this Offer, then next time get the 20% off permanently plus they deliver to our house. Not a bad deal yeah?

twinkle,
I've never made bak kut teh before. Maybe wait for Van to reply you cos her bak kut teh looked very good the last time.

Wonder how Van's dd is... hope she is doing OK.

Hey ladies, yah.. agree with you all! When I was on the MRT with my dds, standing, everybody just pretended to be looking elsewhere and not give up seats ! Terrible hor !My friend actually stared at a passenger under the "giving up seat" sign, but got no response from the person..

sure,Starz, will gladly share Cl's recipe with you.. my CL says that aft 12 days then can take all the bu stuff.. the first 12 days is to cleanse the womb from blood clots, so can take more black fungus.

-black fungus fry with green veg ,with steam fish , with chicken and chinese rice wine, pork, kidney and liver.( Fry ginger with sesame oil before frying the meat)..
My baby had jaundice also, so before I eat all these food, I either feed bb first or express milk out )

Pig's stomach with white pepper seeds- Grind a handful of pepper seeds coarsely(tie them up in a muslin cloth) . Boil with half chicken, pig's stomach and pepper seeds, can also add tung kwei and dang shen ( makes the soup sweeter).. The longer you leave the pepper seeds in the soup, the spicier it becomes.. Can also add some XO ..

CL says it's better to consume DOM as it is and not to boil..

For breakfast, I'll eat wholemeal bread with cheese or oats. (Oats good for slimming .. hehe)

Yah, like what Amelia mentioned, the Ng Siong Mui cook book is good, for pre natal as well as post.. but some recipes quite leiche, so I'll just simplify them..

Hey twinkle starry, try the orange packaging bak kut teh, my ang loves that.. I forgot the actual brand liao.. I think also, the longer you soak the powder, the tastier it becomes.. did u add garlic ? I added black soy sauce to it too.. I tried the claypot brand, and put 2 pkts for about 400-500 gms bak kut, taste ok.

van, how's your dd ?

lyn,
You're going to UK in Nov? Bringing Aloysius & hubby along?

Joy,
I told my sis about you putting on 7kg during pregnancy, and she asked what you do when you're hungry and baby kicks you? Cos she said towards the end in last tri, she got hungry very easily and baby will kick till she ate something leh.

Amelia,
Yeah, my MIL is like your mum, more Westernised. In fact, she's already "hinted" to me not to try anything funny like homebirth, waterbirth or hynobirthing methods... and to breastfeed for at least 6 mths!

Sophie,
That's really a good deal!

Ya agree - for Bak Kut Teh, need to check with Van si-fu. Hope her dd is fine...

My SIL also told me that during preggie, we are not supposed to eat dang-gui cos it will promote blood circulation at the womb and we do not want that right now...

Hi everyone. I have been having fever on and off for the last 5 days. Feel terribly achy and my bones ache like mad. Dr thinks it could be dengue but my blood test was ok. Will need to test again if I don't get better by tomorrow

Hi Choc, welcome back! You sound like you're enjoying your confinement and eating all the yummy food! How're are the girls adjusting to life in the East and having a new baby brother?

Hi Joy, what a coincidence, I used to stay in Eastpoint Green too! We moved out after dd2 came along cos' our place was too small.

Hi Van, I'm so sorry to hear that your dd had to go for an op. Hope she gets well really soon. You take care too, ya?

Sorry, I gotta go - feeling too tired and lethargic to sit at the PC. Will catch up with y'all later.

Sophie,

I heard Danggui also shouldnt be taken during period.

Better not try homebirth or waterbirth or anything like that.I saw a documentary about this american lady trying the homebirth method and her baby was a breeched case... a little too dramatic..thank god she managed to give birth but it was after much pain and difficulty.

Serger is a machine that sews overlocking stitches on the sides of cloth to prevent the threads from running.

I prefer making bags, pouches, purses etc but CCs are not offering courses like these.Wonder if I should really sign up for dress making for sewing basics or learn through bag making craft books...

Annelise,
You take care of yourself... flu bug going around now.

Amelia,
No need to buy overlocking machine - very expensive and bulky! The classroom normally has 1 overlocking machine; you just need to go earlier before class starts so you can use it.
Spotlight has lots of craft books or magazines on bags if you don't mind learning from books.
btw, when you learn how to "fix" in those round magnetic closure, can teach me? I've always been intrigued as to how they fix that thing in.

don't know why double-posting...

this morning cooked pumpkin rice, I think I never cook long enough, the pumpkin a bit hard and the rice also dry and hard. Any tips? I really want to cook nice food but evertime sure something happen...

Annelise
Have a speedy recovery....

When did you move out of eastpoint?I was there from 1999 to2003 and moved to east coast after that. Did you sell the unit?We are still renting it out...which tower were you staying....I was in tower 2a and i still got lots of friends there....

Hi anne,
Sorry to hear about you being sick.. My ang was also sick with high fever for about 5 days, before national day..

Dr John at the Blk 400+ thought he was having dengue.. Very bad bout of fever, with no cough, just aches and very weak.. exactly what you've described. Drink lots and lots and lots of fluid hor, and redoxon. Aft the lab test, it was neg for dengue, his fever then subsided.. A doc friend told us it's influenza virus..

I guess I have to "enjoy" this confinement if this is my last bb.. I have to take care of 3 small and 1 old..
The girls were very excited with their new toy, coughing and sneezing into his face everytime ! Now, they r getting sian of him liaoz !

annelise, u take good care!

hi lyn, i was thinking of moo-moo lyn yestrday haha!

i scare to take public transport too.. but i was 'fortunate' the recent 2x got people offer me seat. I just walk to those not pretending to sleep type.

sophie, no problem, let me know if u have other item u want to look at? i can check the price for u. me target on the cot and see if there is other thing..

hey starz, so the Baby Kingdom is next door or next building?
So the cheaper version is becos of diff brand?
Actually i dun mind, as long as it is durable.
Unless i like choc prepare to give birth to 4 lah :D
But age problem really can't.

btw my 43 sister is pg too. she is staying in KL, malaysia.
she is now worry if she should take the aminocentesis test. cos the gynae scare her. aiyoh so diff in malaysia and here.
eh SP, i heard from my sis, the aminocentesis test is not that common in malaysia is it true?

here is like over 35 people start to do. In my office those above 35 woman all did the test.

choc, last or 2nd last confinement, still enjoy it!! u deserve it

i am now looking forward to my confinement days, no need to work and got people serve u lor...
Ok ok, forget about the engorgement and other problem first...

Came back home from hospital,wanted to fax hospital's Proof of documents to her SP & DR school for deferment of course, then realised that I left the document at the ward! Faint!

sp,choc,sophie,krisjoy,annelise,Littlecat,annlee,starz,lyn,amelia,twinkle starry,joy747 and all,thanks for asking and the well wishes.My dd is still on drips of glucose,morphine and anitbiotics, can't drink and eat yet,but able to sit on bed to pass urine into potty, which is a good improvemnet.