Cooking Tips & Recipe

hi all good morning!
yesterday had a bad dream...

today on half day, planning to go makan with hb, b4 he go US for a week.

early in the morning step into office so many 'un-important' thing to do... sian...

van - the buffet queen, any good recommendation?
i know u have a long long list b4, any worth going one for weekday lunch?

morning ladies....

wah... alot of things to catch up on... cabbage lah, canned stew pork lah... hokkien dishes.. facial products.. where i start?????
kao_confused.gif
hehehe...

littlecat,
i saw ur son's photo before liaoz lah... i wan to see u in photo.. u so shy one meh???

later i go post my photo in the yahoo group okay.. dont say never share liaoz ar... BUT i post my bridal photo hor... hehehe.. now fat n ugly liaoz, dont dare to show face liaoz...

canned stew pork bee hoon:
wah.. now then i know this recipe not "exclusive" to my mum.. i always tot she so good, i love this type of fried bee hoon.. everytime she cook this, i can take 2 BIG BOWLS.. compared to my 1/4 miserable small bowl of white rice normally...

other Hokkien dishes i can remember, cos my dad's side grandparents are 100% hokkien.. but both pass away long time ago liaoz...
Pig Stomach Soup (with button mushroom n alot of white pepper - my FAV!!!)
Deep fried Meat Balls
Chilli Pork (3-layer pork)
Stew 3-layer Pork w mushrooms, tau hu n tau pok
MIL's recipes:
Ngoh Hiang
"Ti Bun Hiam" (spicy cucumber w dried shrimp)

facial products:
wah... u all very knowledgable leh.. i tink when it comes to product, i'm quite "low-maintenance".. but over the years, i spent alot on doctor's medication / procedures to reduce my acne scars from last time liaoz.. nowadays only "luxury" is going for facial also... i never dared to anyhow buy n try facial products no matter how "branded".. cos i hv reli sensitive skin n prone to acne.. so always stick to Loreal 'sensitive' range...

littlecat,
tell ur bad dream to someone lor...
i always tell someone about my bad dreams / nightmares cos i believe if u tell abt ur dream, it will never come true... so good dreams i keep to myself...

little cat,
enjoy yr romantic lunch with hb today, hehe

krisjoy,
any idea 1kg of rice is equal to how many cups? I don't hv weighing scale at home.

annlee,
organic is so ex hor, can't afford to 100% organic, hehe.

hv u used organic toothpaste b4? It also hardly any foam one, hehe.

sp,
You made chocolate cake on a working day?!
I really admire you... so what time did you have to wake up this morning?

Actually I stopped going for facial since preggie, cos my beautician has this "heater" thing on the bed at the lower back area. Heard some scary stories about not putting warm thing there when preggie. And even though I tell her I don't want the heater, by the time she switches it off, it still takes a while to cool down. So thought of restocking on some good and cheap facial products to substitute for not going for facials during these 9 mths

LittleCat,
starz is right... tell someone about your bad dreams... somehow I also feel better after saying it out.

Krisjoy,
Yeah, I'm quite surprised with Vitasence too, cos Great World City Guardian and Watsons are very big. I didn't see any empty boxes either. Asked the sales assistant and she just looked blur! So now I hunted down J8 & Great World liao... guess I have to go to each mall by itself and try my luck *sigh*

annlee,
Yep, I tried that Jap restaurant before. The sushi are very nicely presented and interesting looking, comes in all sorts of sizes yeah? The fish on the outside area where you can buy takeway (raw salmon or grilled eel types) are also very fresh. I also like the House of Sundanese Food upstairs... their grilled seabass with some sambal is nice. They also have this salad with raw cabbage, raw beans topped with crackers... also very nice!

Yeah, I guess if your veges are also from Fireflies, then no need to go all the way to Great World. I was there cos last night hubby wanted to eat nasi padang again. But after so many consecutive weeks of eating the same nasi padang, I think both of us are finally tried of it for the time being!

As for the foaming part, I think you're probably right in that the more chemicals there are, the more foam it produces, cos SLS is mainly used for foaming. Just tried my shamnpoo last night - it's amazingly quite clean even though it's meant for sensitive scalp!

ok i can post one lah CNY one hehe...
eh let's say everyone post one lah ?

this van hor always 'expose' her dd in all the photo except herself also :p

ooi sp, u 'wake up' so early today :D :D
not so busy today? seldom see u this time, miss u liao.. haha
no romantic lah, wait go there to fihgt --- for the the food.

i like the canned stew pork bee hoon also. i will eat with chilli padi+minced garlic... 2 bowls still not enough!!!

abt bad dream, like that one meh? so i tell u gals lah.. i dreamt that i bleed, so i thot is time to give birth, then i tried to call the gyane, i check my handphone, can't find his name.. then i panic.. my hb not around also...and worst still the environment is at my malaysia old kampung house (not even exist now)... scary!

Hi Amelia, Sophie & all car lovers,
I have a Pedigree cat but I never join the cat contest before. Just curous, what kind of things they look at in the competition?

shoooo.... we help you shoooo your bad dream away, LittleCat.... don't think so much about it! It won't come back again!

hi cat_tail,
You also have a Pedigree cat? Boy or girl? What kind of cat is it?

Actually, I didn't check out the contest, cos my cats are longkang cats that I picked up from the street and cofeeshop... don't think these contests admit streetcats
so I normally don't bother to check.

little meow meow, what's your bad dream?

sp, yah... organic is so ex. Think better not to be 100% organic cos the kids might not able to take outside food as their body is so clean.

Never try organic toothpaste, should change to organic hor, toothpaste contains lotsa SLS.

Sophie,
It's a Smokey British Shorthair but she's super timid. I have been to a few of the local cat shows but really dun understand wat is those ribbons mean..haha..

sp, annlee,
I also agree totally organic is very expensive and not very practical in Asia yet. Plus, when it comes to even variety of veges, there isn't enough of the organic kind.

sp,
I heard from friends that organic is getting popular in KL too?

cat_tail,
I think my friend also have a British Shorthair... hmmm on second thoughts, maybe a Burmese. I lent her my cat book so got no pictures to refer to now
My smaller longkang cat is also very timid... she'll hide behind the shelves in the storeroom when visitors come. And when we brought her to the vet, she got so scared till all the red veins in her ears were visible, and she was trembling away! My bigger cat is the opposite - a total manja social butterfly, like a dog almost

Actually I also don't know what the ribbons mean as I've only seen these shows on TV... maybe Amelia is more familiar.

hehehe.... okay, i post liaoz... 2 bridal photos.. see whether i can find my "chuen jia fu" with my god-daughter or not.. if can i post later..
now i wait n see ar...

ya lor.. y not everyone post one n see.. after that, maybe 1mth later we all remove after everyone see liaoz lor... then we can all "put a face to e name" mah....

littlecat,
i think another symptom towards later in pregnancy is weird dreams.. i read in "wat to expect when expecting" one... so dont worry.. i got more ridiculous dreams before...
*sshhhh*.... dream of ex-bfs a few times before too.... unexplaninable!!!!!!

sp,
sorry i dunno how to estimate cos i use weighing scale one..What about Van? Do you know 1 kg equals to how many cups huh?

Sophie,
U can try the Watsons at Taka. I bought some items there before. Vitasence always has promotions one. U can check their website for any updates. The last time i ordered was through online wif a 30% discount and it was delivered to my house without courier cost. So it is cheaper than Watsons lor..

Littlecat,
No worries, just a dream...all will be well

Krisjoy,
Wow, 30% discount? That's very substantial! I checked online yesterday for their promos, but I think I just missed the N-Day promo, so maybe now just wait patiently for the next promo

sp,
Let me go dig out my weighing scale later and convert for you.

sp,
I measured - dunno what kind of cups you have so I did these 2.

For 1kg of rice:

1. Using the small rice cup that you get when you buy rice cooker - it's 6.5 cups

2. Using the measuring cup for liquids - it's 4 and 2/3 cups

If you want to measure them in the measuring cups for dry stuff (the kind we use for flour), let me know and I'll convert for you.

sophie, organic food is very popular in KL in fact for many years already. I'm get to know more about organic food from my kl friend and she feed her baby total organic food. In KL theres many organic shop and their vegs is cheaper than ours.

My hb used to suggest bringing in organic food to sg and do a small biz but not possible leh... cos singaporean not many in organic, market so small and so expensive. So gave up the idea.

Hello gals...
My son sleeping on his own liao
Come in to breath... hahaha... dun worry, I dun have smelly breath... :p Yesterday, very siong till I angry with my son... I carried him almost the whole day. Then can only start cutting vege and cook dinner from 8.30pm when my hubby home. Hungry woman also angry woman.. lol...

Van,
Do you know how to cook "hum cha"? hee... I love to eat "hum cha". I only found good ones in JB, but dunno where to eat in Singapore.

Krisjoy,
The canned stew pork chops, cook with cabbage or "bai cai" is very tasty. Add shallots and garlic for it to be more tasty. I used to cook that, but not anymore... cos I cut out canned food already for better health

Van,
Do you wanna consider a showerhead that can remove chlorine from her hair and body after your dd swim? Then no need hair detangler liao...

Amelia,
I think "seok cai" is hokkien.

sophie,
kekeke... I thought of be an organic food wholesaler before, but no time for it... It's good business. You are really good in these organic products. Next time must "qing jiao" you...

Re: shaving bb's hair.
I "bu she de" to shave at 1 month. I went to the CCF CanHope and was persuaded to let my baby shave there for charity
He was the youngest shavee and came out in chinese papers... Got surrounded by lots of photographers during the shave... lol...

Re: facial
I dunno if you gals will believe it.. I have not been to a facial before in my life... lol...

Starz, sophie,
Oh nite mare must say out one ah?
There's once I had a really bad dream leh... I dreamt my son fell from the balcony downstairs... then his face bloated and eyes big big stare at me lying on the floor... aiyo... I dun wanna describe liao... very scary le...
Ok I say out liao...

Sophie,
I think organic vegetables is not really organic in Singapore and Malaysia. I read about the requirements of the farm for "organic". But that was the American standard. One of the criteria is no roads within 1km radius of the farm...

annlee,
I think lots of people in Singapore into organic food already. I know quite a number... hmm.. expensive products, rich people buy lor... :p

I am going shopping tomolo. I need to buy a wok. I burnt my wok.. lol... Any suggestions? Teflon wok can cause cancer rite? I dun wan a very big one cos I am only cooking for 2 or 3 people now.

Lyn,
I am also looking for a wok to buy for my new house. Was wondering to get non-stick or the normal kind...

Mummies, any suggestions?

Sophie and annlee,
Do u know if it is necessary to start bb on organic food? Cos i m afraid they may have tummy upset once they revert back to normal food.

Krisjoy,
I think non-stick ones are usually Teflon ones... Dunno got those non-stick kind, but not Teflon... I havent been shopping at those wok sections for quite some time already... I want a small small one... cos my kitchen running out of space...

I might be going shopping later also
but can only go Taka...

lyn,
Say out your nightmare liao, don't have to worry so much anymore!
Somehow I find that it feels better after saying it out!

Yeah, I was also into organic food in US. One of the other criteria is that the soil must not have used any fertilizer for the past 5 years, as some fertilizer contains a toxic substance called DDT which can remain in the soil for years.

Re. woks, I am also gonna buy one. The anodized ones that Van is using sounds pretty good, so I'll probably get one of those.

annlee,
I think a friend of mine did exactly that. He is Malaysian but married a Singaporean wife. He opened an organic outlet in Malaysia, and then also bring in organic produce from Malaysia to SG, not sure if wholesale to the outlets in SG. But dunno if he is still in business, cos that was many years ago, and organic stuff not so popular then.

Krisjoy,
Oh, I was making porridge for my lunch, and thought that I might as well do the rice conversion at the same time.

I think annlee will be in a better position to tell you about the baby organic food, cos she's got 2 sons already
I saw alot of organic baby food in jars at Carrefour, and was wondering the same thing as you.

The only promo going on for Vitasence website now is to buy $250 & above and then join their club... but for a 1st-time user, $250 is a HUGE sum of money, so I'll probably just wait. Hopefully got another promo like yours then I'll buy it. On second thoughts, they should do trial size starter kits, then more compelling for first-timers to try out.

KrisJoy,
You can disagree with me hor... In my opinion, our body system is very smart. If we eat anything not good, it will try to clear and sometimes with tummy ache... We can continue to intake the "not so good" food or ingredients. Our body will "accept" them after some time, and will not try to clear them anymore. It's whether one wants his body to get used to the "not so good" ingredients, or the body to clear them immediately when ingested. Many people got different types of food/ingredients classified under "not so good"
. Another side is to "train" our body to clear the "not so good" food/ingredients by itself by ingesting more. I do believe in the former more...

sophie,

Sometimes the "scene" in my nite mare came back to me.. and make my hair stand and worried leh... But I try to keep positive and dun think about it... not easy now cos it's quite "fresh"...

Which brand is the anodized wok? Can get from Taka or Robinsons?

Petalsence shampoo and body wash is only $11.45 for 250ml. Is it expensive? I thought it is ok...

lyn,
Van uses the Tiger brand wok, very good but more expensive, but lasted her for many years already (I think 5 yrs already right, Van?).
My brother recently bought another brand one from Taka, only $55, cos he didn't want to buy such an expensive one just to bring overseas for 1 year. He claims it's good - uses very little oil only, does not have any non-stick coating so don't have to worry about teflon or stuff scraping off, and he uses a metal spatula on it even. He says cannot remember the brand... something like Sumi-something.

$11.45 for 250ml is not expensive really. Where can I find Petalsence to look at their products? I can't seem to find them online leh. Which country is this product from?

sophie,
Oh... ok.. later I go Taka see see... $55 not expensive... kekeke.. I hope I dun burnt my wok again.. lol...

The ingredients are from France. Made in Singapore. Later I PM you...

lyn,
Tell me more about the showerhead that remove chlorine please?! Where to get? How much? Cash and Carry self-installed?

What is "hum cha" and "Seok Cai"?
491375.gif

Sophie,Lyn

Ya, my Tiger anodised wok lasted 5 yrs+ already.Still in good shape.

I think the anodised wok currently having promtion counter at Tangs might be better, cos they don't have screws inside the wok,whereas mine has.Not sure about the cost though. They are having promotion now,think cheaper if buy together with the Xue3 Di2 Zi3.

annlee,
Just bought GAIA from Taka baby fair,chose the body wash for free gift. They are going to have promotion in Guardian next month. The girl gave me a card for 15% off for the promotion. Did you get that?

lyn,
Advanced thanks for PM

Van,
You really very detailed... even look at the screws? But you have a point - no screws probably easier to clean and won't get the stuff accumulated in the grooves.

Hi Lyn,
I also share the same sentiments as u..cos I'm afraid once baby get used to organic food, it may be difficult to switch back later..

Van,
I may be going Taka later too..need to take a look at GAIA products. Thot of buying some to try out on bb...btw, what is an 'anodised' wok?

sophie,
thanks very much for measuring the rice for me, u r so kind and thoughtful!
kiss.gif

oh, yes, there are many organic shops in KL. Many supermarkets also have their own organic section, hehe.

last nite supposed to make the choc cake one, but fell asleep b4 I could do it, so got up at 5 this morning to do it lor. that's the power of greedy hor... hahaha...

van,
thanks very much for the chart, u r really good at looking for info!

little cat,
yr nitemare so scary, good to say it out and let s all shoo-shoo it away forever!

lyn,
yr nitemare very horrible lah, when did it happen, how come still "fresh" in yr head? I think I was abt 9 when I had a nitemare where ppl came into office and slashed my neck & I died... that one I can never forget

lyn,
re: body system
I think if we want to be more flexible we may hv no choice but to "train" our body to take in "not so good" stuff, otherwise when go overseas or less developed countries/ places hard to find "edible" food. that said, I also think it's bad to accumulate poisons in our bodies... but I think only, I still can't stop eating bad foods. today I eating choc cake, instant noodles, fish keropok... bad bad bad... oops...

sophie,
re: wok
that's an amazing wok, no teflon yet non-stick, what material is it?

sp,
me also taking in lotsa junk food! cos now i get hungry easily so always finding excuses to pig out ;p i heard that the famous durian puffs at joo chiat has opened an outlet at suntec (outside carrefour). so will buy some to try if i happen to be there

u r very hardworking leh, waking up at 5am to bake

Hi mummies, need some advise from u all.....

Me headache now, my 2 boys almost recover from cough and flu, guess what.... now my elder son having CHICKEN POX. Just seen a doctor. Anything to take note of eg: food or what must he eat? Should I bring my younger son for Chicken pox vaccination to prevent it?? Any comments?

Annlee,
Sorry to hear that your son is down with chicken pox..When I had it many years ago, i remembered must drink cooling stuff like water chestnut with sugarcane. This is to reduce the heatiness that is trapped in the intestines. Heard that chicken pox also affect intestines. Also cannot bathe, can only use towel to clean up. Cannot eat chicken and eggs and anything with black sauce. Heard that this will aggravate the scars...

If you do not want your younger son to contract it, then you can bring him to a GP to consult if he should get vaccination...

Krisjoy, Cat_tail and Sophie,

Sally(American DSH) is also adopted, but from states.My hub and I don't believe in buying cats.
Yes, Sally is the very jealous type.Am going to ask multiple cat owners there on integrating cat number 2 into my home.

There're different categories in pedigree contests..kitten category is one of them..there's another junior category.The pedigree contest on 3rd september is for kittens.

Annlee,

Have you asked for zovarax(spelling?) for your elder son?It helps to suppress the outbreak and definitely bring your second son for vaccination.

Van,

Regarding wha to do in your spare time, is there anything that interest you?Like dress-making or shoe beading?

lyn,
Thanks for the PM. I'll take a look at it.

sp,
I really "pei fu" you, can wake up so early, even though it's for the greed of food

The amazing wok is an "anodised wok", something which Van and a few mummies here use and have good reviews about it.

annlee,
I had my chickenpox at the age of 15. It was so serious that the doctor scolded me for not going to see him early, and he gave me Zovirax (the virus medication Amelia mentioned) to try and stop it - a bit late cos I had blisters in my ears and throats and almost the whole face, cannot see my face already. Zovirax was a bit expensive at that time - I remember the doctor told me it costs $150 for that 1 box, but highly recommended I take it, and he was nice to offer me instalments to pay it. Now so many years later, probably cheaper.

Things my mum didn't allow me to eat: chicken, eggs, black sauce, seafood cos dirty, beef cos will cause more pus, no beans, no Chinese medicine, only basic liang cha allowed. I couldn't eat all these for another 2 weeks after my chickenpox finished - actually when I went back to school, everyone thought I still had chickenpox and avoided me cos mine was so serious. So for 4 weeks, I basically ate threadfin porridge everyday. Now when my mum cooks it, I don't touch the porridge at all!

To heal the scars after that, my grandma gave me a pot of aloe vera plant, and I slice thin pcs of it every night and "paste" onto my scars when I sleep. In the morning, it'll just dry up like a thin paper and I'll tear it off. No more scars after a few months of doing that. At that time, no money to buy aloe vera gel, so used the plant instead.

Hope your son gets better!

Thanks for the advised!!

krisjoy, i will cook the water chestnut and sugarcane for him.

Amelia, the doctor prescribe zovirax for my son. Must i bring my son for vaccination or just let him have it?

sophie, wah... your chicken pox is bad, on your whole face, now a bit worried don't know will i get it. Now so old liao if i get it and on my whole face ... i faint man...

Why no beans? I gave my son some toufu for dinner.

Now very moody and just now my hb standing behind me looking what i type to you mummies, so angry with him!

sophie, what is threadfin? Might wanna cook for my son for porriage. Thanks for the regards!

Annlee,

I suggest both you and your son go for vaccinations loh...better for everyone.

Threadfin is Ngoh He in hokkien or Wu Yu in chinese.Fresh tasting and not fishy at all.It's a kind of fish lotsa mommies use when making porridge for their kids.I made fish congee using threadfin last weekend because i don't like fishy smells that other fishes give.

annlee,
Yeah, my chickenpox was so bad that I infected my 2 brothers and 1 sister with it, and that sis already had chickenpox once when she was a toddler... so basically she got it a second time thru' me. Later on, I also went on to infect a few of the classmates who laughed at me when I went back to school - the same boys who told me to go home cos they say I was still having the pox. Maybe this is retribution for them

Yep, threadfin is the one that Amelia said. In Cantonese, it's ma you yu. A bit expensive - a small piece cost $4-5, and at that time I still didn't appreciate my mum always cooking fish porridge for me. She said no beans cos it's a old wive's tale that chickenpox in chinese is "shui dou", so no dou (beans). Not sure about tofu tho'.. shd be OK?

Why angry with hubby? Maybe he standing behind you giving you support? Don't give yourself more stress by getting upset with him... conserve your energy for yourself and your sons!

Amelia,
Yeah, not easy to phase in another cat.
- When I brought my 2nd cat home, I had to buy those cage and section off the 2nd cat near the storeroom area. Very poor thing when you hear her meow, but no choice, else the resident cat will go after her.
- Then you have to keep talking to the resident cat by telling her how much you love her and give her reassurance. Mine actually ran out of the flat when I came home, and she never used to do that... she's obviously upset and feeling insecure. Never manja me anymore, and ignored me when I talked to her. Spent all the time looking out of the window like she's gonna jump down!
- At the beginning, the resident cat will not want to go near the new cat in the caged area, so you can try and put her food nearer to the outside of the cage day by day, while feeding the new cat within the cage.
- Cats are curious by nature. After awhile, the resident cat will slowly go and kaypoh around the cage area, then you can feed the new cat outside the cage and give them 1 hr of playtime together everyday. I played cheat by rubbing food on the forehead of the new cat, so the resident cat associate the new cat with food and therefore happiness.
- I took about 1 to 1.5 weeks to phase my new cat in, and now they're good friends. Maybe you can try it next time.

Oops... sorry gals, digress so much on phasing in cats!

annlee,
Krisjoy is right - I didn't bathe/shower for about 2 weeks. Cos my mum said the blisters may bursting and cause scars under the shower + soap, so only use warm towel to wipe/dab myself a few times a day.

annlee,
Sorry to hear that your elder son got chicken pox.It's very tough when young children got it! very hard to stop them from scratching. After my dd's contracted Impetigo, I knew I must get her Chicken Pox vaccination,can't imagine her getting almost as bad as Chicken pox.

It's good if you could get your younger son chicken pox vaccination, at least don't have to worry about it whenever people around him got it.

I had chicken pox when I was 20+,working and studying part-time at night,not so tough since aldults can control the urge to scratch and control diet.

My mum made barley drink, dried sugar cane(Zhu2 Zhe2) water chestnut drink, chrysantemum tea and bought young coconut juice for me.

I stil bathed everyday, just take care not to break the blister,and I didn't rub soap on the blisters.

On the advice of some relatives, she didn't allow me to take chicken,egg,beans,soya sauce...

Everyday eat lean pork and steam threadfin/Ikan Kurau/Wu3 Yu2,sometimes with rice sometimes with beehoon, until I was so sick of these.By the second week, I couldn't stand it anymore, when my mum is not at home, I asked my then boyfriend(now husband) to TaBao Hor Fun and other Ho Liao for me!
491883.gif

But after the two week MC, all my work clothes cannot fit me, no skirt to wear to work,all too loose.Luckily that time I had a few pieces of wrap skirt, just adjust the button, and tie it tightly.

...hmm...no scar or marks left from the chicken pox, despite secretly eating all the ho liao!
491884.gif

WHY were you angry with hb when he stood behind and look at your typing? Taking care of sick child is already very stressful, and the constant worry that the other members will contract it.Don't stress yourself too much. Take Care huh!

Amelia,
I like the idea of making clothes for myself and dd, but don't think I have the patience leh...during Home Economics lesson, sewing is my weakness...

Sophie,
Your chicken pox sounds really bad. I was always worrying about getting chicken pox just before/during Exam time when I was still schooling and later when I took up part-time courses.That's why I always suggest to mothers to get their children the vaccination.

LittleCat,
Was rushing out this morning, missed out your post.So where did you go for romantic makan with hb ?

Van,
Having chickenpox at 20+ is also bad right? Cos some old folks say the older you get it, the worse the outbreak, and more easily get scars cos our skin not so young anymore.
But you lucky girl! Eat all the ho liao in secret still no scars

Last time never heard of chickenpox vaccination, so no choice, die die also have to have it once in a lifetime. Now so good, can prevent it. Yeah, mine was a bad case cos I didn't see doctor in the first few days it erupted, thinking chickenpox is "normal", and must let it come out. Then until my mum got a shock at the extent, and then by the time I saw the doc, he was quite upset with me.

Hey, you are right - sewing needs a lot of patience and must have the interest to sustain through. How about other stuff? Like your strength is in cooking, so how about baking to sell to friends who like your food? My mum used to sell her pandan cakes cos my sis' colleagues like it, and ordered it thru my sis.

Sophie,
Yes, I have heard of that theory too.Also read that for some adults, they may have high fever and worse condition when they had chicken pox.Some even got admitted to hospital.

I actually went to see our Company doctor when I spotted the fist few "dots", but the lousy company doctor said it's not chicken pox.The next day, I went to a GP near my house, and confirmed it's Chicken Pox!

For your info, actually I did work out the Cost per Cake everytime I bake a new type of cake,to see whether it's worth to buy or bake myself.
491900.gif
Actually it's not that worthwhile to bake and sell, if we are using all the expensive ingredients, as compared to those commercial grade ingredients. I tend to bake more of those cakes that are not sold in bakery, like yogurt cake, sour cream coffee cake,banana chiffon cake...

When is your hb coming back from Taipei?

Van,
You are the accountant here! Working out the cost per cake even! But yeah, if it's not worthwhile, then no point wasting time - I'd rather cook/bake for myself and family members.

Your company doctor so lousy? Cos if those blisters are not chickenpox, then what does he think they are?

Hubby back from Taipei already
This time, he only went for 3 days. He tried to look for Yoropen for me, but cannot find in the few stationery shops he went to. I actually went to their website to see where the shops near his hotel are, but I cannot handle the Chinese, plus my browser had some problem with the ActiveX function.

Now eating frozen spaghetti - no microwave so I steamed it and maybe cos of that, not al dente at all. But no choice... hungry, so everything taste decently good at this moment

Sophie,
hehehe...I am really Certified Public Accountant..non-practising (So you know why I calculated Cost Per Cake liaoz?)...now worse, non-working Accountant.

My hb also didn't buy the Yoropen,the hotel he stayed doesn't have much shops/malls nearby,also too busy to shop around.

My Company Doctor is really lousy,he was our company doctor becos he is "Related".Imagine our company is in Bt Timah, yet our Company Doctor is in Bt Merah? When I asked him to refer me to see specialist for my backache, he scolded me for wasting company's money,I was so pissed. When I finally got referral letter from other GP,went through the various tests at Tan Tock Seng Hospital, and confirmed that I have ankylosing spondylitis!

Eating spaghetti at this hour? very fattening! I just had a cup of Nestum cereal...should be less fattening right?

I am browsing Yahoo auctions now.Thought of getting 2nd hand Korean Dramas VCDs.Usually only watched once, think may be can consider getting 2nd hand ones?!

annlee,
Just realised Van and I were talking about adult chickenpox when you are worried about getting it yourself. Don't worry so much OK?

Most importantly, you must maintain healthy with a good immune system now, and not get too heaty. Cos I remembered eating loads of chocolate and then getting sore throat the few days before my chickenpox broke out. So my immune system was probably low then I got the chickenpox virus.

I think fish porridge will be good for your ds. My mum fed me so much fish porridge that I was sick of it, but on hindsight, the protein from the fish probably helped in my healing of scars too.