Cooking Tips & Recipe

Thanks Sophie. Will take a look when I am in that area...

Lyn and Sophie, I did not change my shampoo leh, is it necessary huh? I still use the normal shampoo. SLS is found in toothpaste too...

hi ladies....

Van,
ur soup reli looks good leh.... so we can actually put those "dun zhong" into the thermal pot, fill the thermal pot partially with water, n cook the same way ar...

now i'm tempted too liaoz... but it seems abit ex hor... littlecat n van how much u paid for urs???

today my turn to be very sleepy...
the little fella inside dont want to sleep at all lastnite.. i was tossing n turning thru out entire nite... plus now outside so dark n rainy.. *yawn*...
kao_sleep.gif

Hi Starz,

Yes, agree with u...the rainny weather makes it very conducive to sleep ;p Plus after lunch all the more feel like sleeping. Tomorrow on leave so can sleep in late a bit..hehehe..

Nowadays my tummy always itch in the middle of the nite, despite applying stretchmark cream. Once I start to scratch, cannot stop ;p

hehehe.... so we both "hog" this site for awhile lah...

u finish buying ur baby stuff already??? u also due in november rite... boy or girl ar??? our nov mtb thread quite quiet hor...

wat u working as???
hehehe.. paiseh so many qns... i very sleepy lah.. need something to interest me to stay awake...

hello! u two are right we are the 'pai-mia' one ... :'(

starz, i paid $155 for the tiger thermal pot during sales at taka, so got another 10% i think. jialat, i must be damn old i can't remember everything liao.. must be the work!!

eh u so eng, ask u more quesiton lah.. how u know your hb? what is the age gap ? about 10 right? cos u told me he is monkey and u not yet 30...

then another question for all, do u find wider age gap is better? me and hb same age, we like to 'fight' alot...

no prob lah..yes, i am due in nov wif a bb gal ;p
i have not logged on to the nov mtb thread for a while...did u?

i am now left with bb cot and the little stuff to buy...pram and car seat given my friend and sister. bb clothes and breast pump also given by another sister..it is a good thing to have others ahead so that we can have hands-me-down and advice :D

i am working as an accountant..usually busy around beginning of the every month loh..

U leh?

Littlecat, i also kaypoh and join in lah...my hb is 5 years my senior...so far ok lah, we also behave like kids at times but if we happen to hv arguments, he will give in to me cos he can't stand people not talking to him..hahaha...

krisjoy, haha that's a good one, give him cold war he will scare..
my hb sometime also very insensitive, when i really angry i just keep quiet. then he will realized something is wrong and start to 'behave'.

me lagi worst didn't get anything yet. i just start to ask around my fren if anyone got baby cot.. hehe try to save $$ no choice leh..
clothes wise i think i have enough.
Just need to get diapers, wet tissue, detergent, washing powder, big item like cot.
car seat we bought last time now with my SIL. and timing just right,his boy will turn one in Dec, so by nov i can pass the kid car seat to her and she return the infant car seat to me, both save $$.
now i headache is the rooms. we only have 2 rooms. later when have maid + CL dun know how to sleep... then u can't say now go get another house...

littlecat, did u try the marketplace 'items to sell' thread? i think i saw 2 bb cots waiting to sell if you dun mind pre-owned one..

i just bought my house bcos of bb..currently staying wif MIL and SIL and no more space for bb...same problem as u. but have to wait till next year b4 we can move in lor.

i will be doing my confinement in my mom's place..so bb, me and CL all squeeze into one room..no choice leh, cos my CL does not like dog and I dun want to put my dog in somewhere else...

Still here..

Normally I will take about 60 to 90 mins to boil soups, not that long.Think I will get the chinese porcelain Zhong to double-boil over stove first, then get the Tiger Thermal pot when I'm at least pregnant.$155 bucks is ok..but 200 bucks is a bit steep.

I hear American ginseng can also relieve stress and anxiety, reduce heat and give energy.Maybe we should be getting that instead of Lingzhi?

haiz... me today reli "unlucky" ar.. so many crisis at work... think i very long time no so stress liaoz... n i worried my boy also stress cos he kicking non-stop today leh... how ar????

littlecat,
just now was eng lah.. but busy for awhile.. now i need to relax liaoz.. if not too tensed up...
i met my hubby at a disco at Mohammed Sultan Rd abt 5yrs ago... but that place closed down liaoz..
our age gap 9yrs...
personally, all my ex-bfs all abt the same age or 1-2 yrs older than me only... i married the one 9yrs older... wat u think leh???

i think one of the thing is, i'm mature for my age, so with my hubby now, he got alot more experiences / knowledge that can "share" with me.. n i learn alot of things from him thru our conversations/discussions/arguments... i like that lor...
the other thing is, he's divorced.. so been thru once already, he's very tolerant towards my tempers (only during preggie time).. n before i pg, i used to "fu shi" him very well.. character-wise we complement each other quite well lor....

krisjoy,
i still pop there... once in awhile then got activity... but these few days i've been prompting some topics there... not so quiet today lor... i think everyone dont know wat to say liaoz after 7mths... hehehehe....

i'm in the retail industry.. doing brand management... so from budget.. buying..sales.. operations.. staff management.. everything "bao ga liao"... busy ar, thru out the year one.. but the crazy period is of cos GSS time, n Christmas time...

speaking of baby things hor.. "alot" of people say want to pass me things.. but until now still havent pass me anything... so i very confused also, pai seh to ask.. but dont dare to buy....

hi starz, Krisjoy, LittleCat,
Yep, I was sleeping just now, but not totally cos "ho mia" lah. Been getting a bit more pains at the pubic area (like sharp shooting pain), plus yesterday my back was numb. My friend says it's probably womb expanding, but for me, first pregnancy that's gone so far into nearly end of first tri, so can't really differentiate the pains. Any pains I get, I associate with my previous bad experience. Plus these few days hubby away in Taiwan, so a bit scared. So my favourite solution is -> ESCAPE by sleeping. Sleep liao cannot feel anything. Sometimes if lucky, wake up pain also gone

So cute, listening to all your stories about how you guys meet hubbies etc... plus age gap

sp,
Where are you? Haven't seen you for awhile?
Today I made a linguine ala sp style
Yep, I used the Campbell's Cream of Mushroom like what you did and added in more mushrooms and veges. Quite nice - taste like a pasta I ate at Delifrance Bistro before. Maybe they also use Campbell!

sophie,
join in n share share lor... hehehe....

take good care of urself hor.. ur hubby away, r u staying with in-laws or parents?? i think those pains abit like "cramps" were quite common in the beginning... i used to feel as if menses cramps too... used to worry me too as its my 1st time... but asked gynae abt it, n he assured me its normal.. unless there is bleeding then hv to quickly go see him liaoz...

littlecat n krisjoy,
Oi! u two "bluff" me tell my life story liaoz.. both disappear ar.. u two havent tell ur "love story" yet leh....

amelia,
i'm not 100% sure lah, but this info for when you are pregnant, i think pregnant cannot take ginseng leh... forgot who told me or where i heard/read from liaoz... but i been "avoiding" it lor.. even drink chicken essence also take the plain one instead of the one with ginseng i usually take.....

Starz, very interesting to read how u all met leh..sometimes it is really 'fate' that 2 people got married lor...cos of all boyfriends we chose our husbands..hahaha..btw, did you attend any antenatal classes? i dun think i will be signing up cos my CL told me she will teach me most of the things like how to breastfeed and bathe bb..partly also bcos very lazy to attend classes lah..

Sophie, just hang in there..usually after 1st trimester you will feel so much better like i did
I feel that the 2nd trimester is the most enjoying. Can shop for a long time and dun really feel tired. Now that I am coming to my 7th mth of pregnancy, I am beginning to feel the weight coming through. Suffering from backache and feel tired easily lor..

krisjoy,
ya, i'm attending the TMC antenatal class.. but havent start.. 2 Sept then start... its abit late, bcos earlier hubby undecided whether to take or not....
my mum will be doing confinement for me... i going bcos i want my hubby to learn how to take care of baby also... go for lessons then he got no excuse to say he dont know how to do liaoz....
my girlfrens "warn" me one.. cos her hubby hopeless with taking care of her son.....

eh, u havent share ur love story leh....

starz,
I got my Tiger 5.2L at $188. Offer Price and further 10% discount for taka member.

HB on leave today, so he's been hogging the PC and study room,no chance for me to use,plus broad brand also got problem,think need to change to Singtel instead of StarHub liao.

Just redeemed my first shopping voucher for doing online survey.Signed up a new one.

Sophie,annlee,carole,

I refer you gals for the new online survey site...hope you don't mind...you all can also win prizes and redeem gifts mah..
488630.gif

Sophie,
after 1st trimester, should have less of the cramps liao...at least for me it's like that. but then last trimester got backache leh...sign!

Amelia,
The TOTO kiosk that you told me near Yew Tee got someone strike first prize! Too bad! Not me leh, should have listened to your "advice" and Chiong there to buy, then may be I am one of the lucky 8 this round hor?! haha!

Starz,

Hello! Yes I think when preggie, it's best to avoid chinese herbs unless prescribed by a good TCM physician.

I thought of making the chicken essence with black chicken leh..but think buying bottled ones more cost effective?

Sophie,

I prefer staying alone instead of moving back to mother's place when hubby is travelling.My favourite past time is watching ghost or murder movies at night b4 sleeping..shiok hahhaah!!

amelia,
u super brave ar... i am super timid one.. after watching "the ring" last time, never dared to watch another ghost/scary movie liaoz.. somemore alone...

thanks van.. starhub broadband got problem ar..??? i also subscribe to that at home leh.. but hardly use lah...

hehe.. time for me to prepare to go home liaoz....
ta ta for now....

starz,
Don't feel connned about telling your life story, cos yours very interesting... hubby 9 yrs older than you

Me staying by myself just for these few days, cos my very pregnant sis already staying with my mum, so my mum's place got no extra room. My in-laws very happening... now probably in some Genting casino liao
Plus someone needs to feed my cats, so if it's just for a few days, I should be ok. Mentally, just feel a bit scared and worried about baby that's all. Thanks for the reassurance about the pains

Amelia,
starz is right - no ginseng or danggui if pregnant, esp. first tri, cos it causes too much blood circulation. Korean ginseng or Gao Li Sheng is the worst of all, so don't touch that ok?

Krisjoy, starz,
I heard antenatal classes quite fun - they also teach hubby how to massage the mummy's body which aches due to the extra weight. Normally at which month do people go for antenatal classes?

Krisjoy, you delivering at TMC?

Van,
Thanks for the referral. I also used to do a lot of online surveys and redeemed vouchers before, but recently a bit slack on it cos no patience to sit for 20min esp if the survey is badly structured with confusing questions. I see if they are the same. If not the same, I can also refer you to my sites
So far, I redeemed $20 Taka vouchers + $10 Tangs vouchers already

Amelia,
You like horror shows? heh, I'm like starz - if you put me into a theatre, I'll be seeing my palms the whole time! I think the last horror show I watched was The Sixth Sense!

Try the black chicken essence! Very yummy! Check out this lady's blog. Her most recent posting is Black Chicken Essence, but what is most useful are the pictures http://ellenaguan.blogspot.com/
But she uses a lot of herbs like danggui etc which can be quite heaty. I was afraid of heatiness, so made mine with only black chicken, red dates and woldfberries... very yummy! But I made using pot and stove, not slow cooker.

Amelia,
You want to PM me your email address? I only refer those email address in my address book...cos convenient mah! I can refer three local sites now that I am still log in.... but must let you know, some sites I will GAIN points for referral if you sign up.

amelia, wow didn't know u so daring one.. aiyoh me hor after got married scare to sleep alone liao... this weekend hb going US, next whole week i will be alone. I think i want to bring my son home lah, if not wait i scare...

Sophie, yes the sleeping does help, so rest more

for me 1st trimester is the merlion time, i always go sleep then it is ok.

i heard ginseng will promote blood circulation, too much no good for pg.

krisjoy i dun mind the 2nd one, will check thru if i really can't get from my fren.

starz, we were trying to help u remember those good time then u won't feel sleepy mah... now u awake liao?!

Amelia,
I see whether the sites are the same as what Van referred.
If they're the same, I let Van refer you.
If not the same, then I refer you guys

Sophie,

Red dates is neutral and not heaty right?

Am going to try TCM for my condition.Have to at least supress it b4 getting pregnant..my case quite mafan.

What did you use to concoct your TCM meds previously?Pot and stove?

Amelia,
Red Dates is heaty. Wolfberries are neutral.
That's why my gynae says cannot even touch red date drink this time round.

I just used my Visions pot over stove to concoct my medicine. About 2 hours over very low heat to simmer 4 ricebowls of water into half a rice bowl. I open the lid a little to "evaporate" the concoction, to imitate the kind of "liang cha" pot with a spout that grandma uses. Cos the spout if to evaporate the water over low heat.

starz, sophie, haha we are same same... no horror movie for me!
i find when grow older more kia-see. Last time still can watch leh... but will have nightmare and yi-shen-yi-gui... why torture ourselves leh..

btw sophie, did your sis water retention get better after the brown rice water ?

Amelia of cos the home cook one better lah.. but more le-cheh.
I like Sophie method put the stainless steel rack to double boil.

Annelise, how r u ? how's your dd ?

where is moo-moo and our italian mama (SP) ?
Sp, eh u go italy to learn the real thing is it? :D

and my sister choc, where r u?

Amelia,
OK. Will do it tonight.
Paiseh to say - heh, I am addicted to the Korean dramas, so am going to watch now... haha, never thought I would be an addict. Last time when woking, used to think only aunties like my mum get addicted...
Talk to you guys tonight!

LittleCat,
My mum dun wanna make it for my sis, cos she said too heaty, and my sis is due on 1 Sep for C-section, but she is already very HUGE that she is on maternity leave now.

I also very sian to sleep alone these few days, but no choice....

sophie/van, yes i heard remove the seed is less heaty..
for the wolfberries, i heard is heaty too..
i remember one of the drink they make is wolfberries drinks, but the chinese doc say better to put some chrysantenum to balance the heaty and cooling thing..

haha need someone to go Chinese medical course and update us liao.

okie got to go, chat again tomolo!

Sophie, i am delivering at Gleneagles..but I heard the antenatal class conducted by Mdm Wong at TMC is good as she is very experienced and patient.

Starz, me and my hb are ex-collegues and that's how we met..typical office romance ;p

Amelia, how i wish i have your guts man..i dare not watch horror movies when i am alone otherwise i will start imaging things..

Van, this is what my MIL did too..she always removes the seeds from the red dates so that it is not too heaty..i hv been drinking her cantonese soups since preggy cos they are not too cooling or heaty lor..the usual stuff like lotus roots, old cucumber and ben curd skin soups...

hi Van, LittleCat,
Yeah, I remembered seedless red dates are less heaty, heh, but by the time I remember and wanted to add on to my earlier posting, my Korean drama started liao, and this auntie has to rush off to watch it
Didn't know wolfberries were heaty... cos my grandma told me they're neutral.

Heh, Van, maybe you really should attend that NUS course on TCM! But big and long commitment....

Amelia,
Like the gals say, use seedless red dates, not as heaty as the "with-seed" type. Eh, but if you are seeing TCM, better to ask him/her if it's ok to take this kind of tonic soup. Cos in the first 2 mths of my TCM medication, the doc does not allow me to take any kind of tonic soup or even chicken essence as it interferes with his prescription, and hence he is unable to diagnose my state properly and formulate his prescription in future. Only much later when he knows what kind of body constitution I have then he allowed me to eat such tonic soup and will advice me to skip his medication if drinking tonic soup or if too heaty... and if you ask, he'll tell you the symptoms of heatiness to look out for so you can adjust the soup/medication yourself. So better ask TCM if you're going to be seeing one.

Krisjoy,
I also heard alot about this Mdm Wong... and my friend says the TMC antenatal classes are very fun, so I guess you would be having a good time

I also love soups. My mum makes soup everyday - old cucumber, watercress and lotus roots are also my favourites!

Van,
I signed up for the survey liao - hope you get your referral points soon! Eh, I just realised I don't have your email address to refer you to the other 2 survey sites. I PM you, then you just do a reply to me can?
Only if you want to join these other 2 survey sites... otherwise no obligations to reply me!

Amelia,
I've already referred you to the 2 survey sites - they're not the same as Van's... so more opportunity for us to do surveys and redeem vouchers!

Hi Sophie, I did not sign up for the antenatal course but if you want to sign up later at TMC, suggest u do it earlier as Mdm Wong is very popular..so kiasu a bit lah ;p

Wow really nobody likes horror movies in this thread...so sayang..I actually have a good movie to recommend.

Van,

Thanks for the emails...will join later.

That kiosk is very lucky one!..Hubby struck 4D a few times...but we always bet small..that's our personal philosophy.
There's another very lucky kiosk that my hub was telling me about.Will let you know which one.

Is there a cantonese soup book I can get?

Sophie,
Thanks...will sign up those sites later.

Ok, then I'll just use my Tanyu claypot or get a chinese porcelain Zhong to do the job.There's a TCM clinic in clementi mentioned in the TCM thread that I am interested in paying a visit.Will get more info from him regarding what to eat.

Amelia,
Heh, please don't tell me any details hor! I beg you... somemore sleep alone at night, scared leh!

Krisjoy,
Thanks. I'll go check out TMc & Mt. A antenatal classes

Amelia,
Tanyu is good. My mum uses that to cook the TCM medication for my BIL. She says claypot better cos it retains heat better and heat is more well-distributed too.

sophie,
i'm sure everyone's love story is interesting one mah... 9yrs nowadays is no big deal liaoz..
abt baby worries u dont worry.. anytime just come in here n ask lor... so many experienced mummies n mtbs here.. think u get answers n assurances very quickly...
abt the antenatal class.. i also abit "regret" so late then join.. otherwise can enjoy hubby massage for me more...

but now also no complain liaoz lah... he apply stretchmark cream for me everynite le.... hehehe..

littlecat,
share ur story also mah.... how u met ur hubby??? u mention around the same age.. childhood or school-time sweethearts ar???

hehehe... i not "old" liaoz then scare of watching scary movies one.. i all the while scaredy-cat one... hehehe.. young time dont even dare to go toilet at night cos scare of the dark...

Amelia,
what "case" are you, why u say muz use TCM to suppress before getting preggers???

krisjoy,
ya, i purposely chose Mrs Wong's class, thats y have to wait till Sept then start e class... its actually quite late for me liaoz.. e rest of e Nov mtbs already started the class in june / july... i also dont know wat to expect... but whatever it is, its still good for my hubby lor... i reli worried he'll be a "hands-off" dad.. n only know how to play... i reli want him to be involved in every aspect, otherwise i worry one day i may resent him for not helping with baby...

sophie,
sorry i forgot, which hospital u plan to go to ar??? if TMC, then can sign up for the First Born Incentive.. n u get discounts for the antenatal class too...

starz,
I'll probably be going to Mt. Alvernia Hospital cos my gynae only delivers at Gleneagles or Mt. A. Mt. A is alot closer to my home and I like the "cosiness" there. Saw online they've got antenatal classes too, but I very paiseh to ask the clinic nurse. Wait she think I so kan cheong and kiasu, so thought waiting till 24 wks, cos that's when the online brochure says to attend the classes.

Van,
Woah, your hazelnut cookies look delicious! I feel hungry to woke up to drink Horlicks and surf net, and now the sight of your cookies make me hungrier!
Heh, your hubby should hog the computer more often then we get to see more pictures of these gorgeous food!
They look good enough to sell for CNY - do you do that?
Share with us how to bake it? Can I substitute with cashew nuts? Cos I got 1 pack of them lying around...

Eh, but no comments on the Chinese cutout - my Chinese is so bad I cannot understand half of it... now still trying to read simple Chinese papers to brush up the language

Sophie,
I made the cookies at night,after my dd finished her dinner.

I think can substitute with almond but may be not cashew nut,unless you can grind cashew nut till powdery form? I used ground hazelnut in the dough.This is the first time I made this cookie,the texture is sort of powdery/nutty,very different from any other type of cookies I've made so far.

I don't bake to sell for CNY, partly becos before CNY a lot of extra work to do, like spring cleaning,shopping, really no time to bake.Another reason is becos there are so many types of cookies on sale for CNY,and it's not too expensive, so I would just buy.

Will post the recipe tomorrow.

There is something very interesting about the soup tips'article, that's why I posted it up to gather views and comments.

Van,
I think you're right, cashew nuts probably not so easy to grind, and its texture is much thicker and creamier than almond or hazelnut, so may affect the overall texture of the cookie. Will probably ask my friend for a cashew nut cookie recipe to use up the nuts, the kind they always sell during CNY.

OK, cannot surf anymore liao... see more food, my stomach keep growling. Better go sleep so I can forget the hunger too. Seeya tomorrow!