Cooking Tips & Recipe

LittleCat,
Don't have to worry about your son bringing back the fishes...They won't last long.(Sori, sounds cruel but it's true).We brought dd to Qian Hu Fish Farm and Animal Resort many times, and she always brought back some fishes, usually they will die within a few days.

Sophie,
Even without taking the budget airlines, there were a few times, we didn't take same flight as hb or took same flight but didn't get to sit together,as I usually redeem air tickets using his frequent flyer miles. Quite troublesome indeed.

LittleCat,
Glad you like avocadoes! It is one of the top 10 "power foods" for pregnant and lactating women!

Eh, you guessed correctly, my hubby bought the durians in those styrofoam box lah, cos I think he's too lazy to handle the shells. Heh, I don't mind the smell on my hands... maybe I'm a naturally "filthy" girl
in fact, I like to keep sniffing the leftover durian smell on my hands! I know about the drinking salt water on shells; used to do it when we were young! I think it actually helps reduce "heatiness".

Thanks for all your advice on prune juice. Hope this constipation problem will resolve itself soon!

Van,
You mean those fishes your dd brought back cannot be cooked and eaten? I thought they were like small fishes from fish farm which can be fried and eaten! Was also wondering how come LittleCat not keen on her ds to bring back fish for his meow mummy to cook...

Sophie,
The fishes are those small little fishes from drain. If she is bringing small fishes that can be eaten I would be very happy!

I read in a few articles, if you are prone to constipation,or already having constipation, it's best not to take too much bananas! Forgot the explanations given.

eeeks.... fishes from drain?!

Heh, maybe teachers should bring kids to go fishing for edible fishes, more practical!

hmm... will note the bananas advice and probably stop after today. I think it could also be the lack of exercises that's contributing to the constipated state. Will probably try adding some flaxmeal or wheat bran to my cereals in the morning then.

hi again,

choc,
thanks for the advice on sharing.. hehe, its reli difficult to "agar agar" the qty, somemore i only cook once a week.. so been "giving away" all the excess raw food i bought.. its costing me more to cook than to eat out..

sophie,
u r very right, chinese mthod of cooking very "tedious".. the recipe for the soup is as below, i hope u can understand the "hanyu pinyin" i hv to use, if not let me know, i try n scan the book in...

black fungus, tofu n silver fish soup:

soup stock:
pork big bone (i told pork seller i want $10 worth), ikan bilis 120g, 1 tblspoon vinegar (optional, i didnt use), water 3000cc (i use 3litre), "chai yu pian"(this is japanese ingredient), dried sea kelp
boil n simmer all the above for approx 2-3hrs. after which, soup stock can keep in a container in fridge to be used for a number of times. (throw away the rest of the ingredients)

black fungus (recipe put 50g, but i realised WAY TOO MUCH) recommend use abt 10g, then soak in water n it "expands" tremendously. shred.
tofu (1 pc) cut into small pieces
silver fish (no qty indicated, i use 1 small "fist-ful")
spring onion 1 stalk
stock (can use between 500 - 1000ml)

heat up the soup stock, add in black fungus, tofu, silver fish n simmer for abt 1hr (the longer the better if u hv the time, up to 3hrs max. monitor n use the lowest heat possible so it won't "dry up" too much)
abt 10mins before add in spring onion, n its ready.

this soup is suppose to help reduce cramps, and helps constipation.

i've been getting cramps on and off recently.. but constipation been suffering from it since the first few months... i tried prune juice (but reli hated the taste), taking 2-3types of fruits daily, taking more vege.. but doesn't help much. end up, i've been asking gynae for medication to help with the problem... otherwise i feel terrible... always tell my hubby i feel like "full of shit"... heheh..
hope its not too much info...

sophie,
forgot to add, the steam fish turned out pretty okay.. not much "water" in the dish after steaming (unlike steaming in a wok, where we end up with ALOT of water). the fish was not dry at all... n it took approx 5mins...

thanks for the link to maternity clothes, will take a look...

littlecat,
i been craving for durians constantly leh... i know cannot eat too much.. but cannot help the craving leh.. only "consolation" is, hubby too busy to buy for me recently.. so the frequency i eat now is abt once in 2-3weeks... how much weight u put on in total??? i reli getting quite "worried".. but already controlling to the limit liaoz.. cannot control further already leh...

<font color="119911">Can fruits cause pregnancy constipation?

Constipation during pregnancy is a common problem. It is often caused by a general slowing of the digestive tract. Hormones released during pregnancy slow down the digestive tract causing stools to become hard and difficult to pass.

If you suffer from constipation during your pregnancy talk with your health care practitioner, he or she will have some helpful suggestions to alleviate your symptoms of constipation. He or she may even prescribe a stool softener, if the problem is particularly bothersome. Constipation can be very uncomfortable causing pain and bloating, and may even lead to hemorrhoids, another common pregnancy nuisance.

Generally, constipation can be helped by drinking plenty of water and other fluids, including hot soups or broth, prune juice and hot teas. This is especially important if you are increasing your fiber intake to help with constipation. Exercise can also help avoid constipation. Often, women are told to eat plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables when suffering from constipation, but typically, you should avoid apples, applesauce and bananas, as these can make the problem worse. Other foods that can cause constipation include chocolate, cheese, eggs, and rice.</font>

http://www.thelaboroflove.com/articles/can-fruits-cause-pregnancy-constipation/

Starz,
Did you use special microwave steaming rack/cookware for steaming the fish? And did you use pre-set steam fish function?

I do find that sometimes it can be more expensive to cook at home then eat out.I told hb about this, and he said at least we know that the food handling is safe and clean when we cook at home.

sophie, u really think they will bring 'ikan bilis' home? hehe how we wish hor van...
those fish u dare not eat also lah...

anyway if he really bring will ask him to leave it at the auntie's house. the auntie ever bought a few for him b4, and it last longer than a week! we were surprise.

I prefer to eat from the shell luckily my hb dun mind to open the durian, he also think after remove from the shell, not 'fresh'...haha..

over the weekend i also try another dish, oven bake macoroni.
Cook the macoroni as usual, then pan fried the minced meat,mushroom,tomato with garlic. put some tomato sauce (pasta souce) and stir in the macoroni.
Put the cook macoroni in a pot, put cheese on top, bake/grill till the top cheese is melted.
Is a lazy version of the bake rice. It taste good except i didn't thicken the sauce so it doesn't looks like the original one.
I saw the bake rice recepi is to add the flour to thicken it. how to do that any idea ?

Sophi, I tried the basil sauce, i bought from NTUC. i tried stir on my pasta and it taste so good!!
will try to prepare that for my lunch tomorrow.
U won't believe this, we have been having spagathhi for last 3 weekends !

<font color="aa00aa">Constipation in Second Trimester
by Nancy Sullivan, CNM, MS, FACNM

Q. I know constipation is a side effect of pregnancy but no one seems to offer any real advice for dealing with it. I've read that I should drink lots of water and eat small meals and other, similar advice. Unfortunately, none of it helps. I know I'm not supposed to take laxatives, but I read that Metamucil and other "fiber supplements" are okay. So I've been taking a daily spoonful for about two months (I'm 24 weeks pregnant), which has helped a lot. However, a friend just told me she thinks that's dangerous. Help!

A. Metamucil is fine, just not very delicious. Here are some things to try:

prunes, prune juice, dried figs, dates, apricots
whole grains, oatmeal, oat bran (you can sprinkle this in just about anything)
lots of water
Here are some things to avoid:

cheese, rice, bananas (the only fruit that is constipating; all the others are the opposite)
You are right; avoid laxatives. Anything that is a "bulk former" or a "stool softener" is OK to try.
If you are taking an iron supplement and don't absolutely need it, stop taking it. It makes constipation worse. If you do need it, try Floradix, a herbal iron supplement that isn't constipating. You can find it in some natural food stores. </font>

This is interesting and something new:

Baby tooth care while your pregnant
At the sixth week of pregnancy, baby teeth are beginning to form. Permanent teeth begin to form about the twelfth week. Certain drugs taken during pregnancy can dramatically and permanently alter your baby's teeth. The most common culprit is Tetracycline, an antibiotic. This causes discoloration and defects in the enamel of your baby's teeth if taken during the last three months of pregnancy, and is a defect which will even be seen in the permanent teeth. Be very careful with any drugs you take during pregnancy. Never take drugs from old prescriptions

Yah..yah.. good ... give a list of the good food outlets esp nasi padang

Thanks ann, will try out the ones at katong.. not very familiar with the east.. esp food ! Going to give birth liao, but doc says let bb grow more than 2.5 kg.. MIL expects bb to be 3.5.. faintz..My 2 bbs never went beyong 3.1..

Hey soph, I also read that if too much honey will not help constipation.. maybe a little papaya, not too much.. and don't force too hard when doing biz hor.. eat more spinach.. less nasi padang.. leave the nasi padang to me.
Got contractions on and off now liao.. if everything's fine, doc says let bb come out naturally.. my previous 2 were induced

Eh van, I very tham jiak also, must see what good food you all sharing.. think with CL around and 2 gals to sch.. I must come into this forum and kpo abit.. hehe

My ang will be bringing no. 1 for music, and he will sure mati, cos, now getting more chim liao.. my no. 1 is struggling with playing "country dance" and the teacher says the test will be in dec. What song is your dd at ?

Hey starz, get what you mean.. easier to buy than cook right ? Maybe you can boil soup using the thermal cooker or slow cooker.. soup turns out tasty also

Eh cat, will eat durians, but recently didn't see any over here.. I already put on 15 kg liao ! Heehee.. ashamed to say, most went to me..

starz
in total i put on about 8kg as of this morning latest weight.
but my tummy very huge leh.. when someone ask me when deliver, i say early nov, they are like can not believe...

may be becos i have thick waist so once grow can not see my waist, only the tummy..
but u r taller, should be ok for your height. But if u really concern can ask the gynae.

It is true cook at home more costly, but hor much more healthier!

yesterday lunch we went out to eat, then i 'ge-kiang' thot my son recently didn't couth so order 2 scopes of ice cream to share.
alamak at nite cough till i can't sleep. this morning i m like zombie!!

sophie, im rememeber on my 1st trimester i had constipation and my gynae told me to drink prune juice but i vomit out, might be my heartburn causing it. I'm having constipation during my first week of confinement, i ate oatmeal for breakfast, alot of veggies for lunch and dinner and it really solve my problem.

Littlecat, that tiger air promotion can only travel on late sept, think 7th month is over.

choc, hehe finally see you online at the 'normal' hour liao.. eh dun anyhow run stay at home lah...
did u go eat more seafood or other 'forbidden' food during this time b4 the 1 month confinement?
i have a fren eat lots of seafood b4 she gone for cesearan. She very solid one, pick date and time somemore.
nevermind lah after we all give birth, we will change our thread to 'Cooking healthy food &amp; stay slim - tips &amp; recipe'.

yah lor.... but haven't confirm going or not.
you mean your friend pick date and time for caesearan?

Van,
my microwave is from Panasonic. got steam function, convection bake, grill... i dont know wats the model number, ya,steam fish use the auto menu function.. i used the "microwavable dish" with cover to steam the fish lor..

choc,
i've been thinking abt the slow cooker... just havent decided whether to "invest" in it or not yet.. cos already bought alot of electrical appliances for my kitchen.. i'm in my mum's generation, not familiar with "thermal cooker" yet, altho saw alot of u comparing the brands previously.

the thing is, i can always go back my mum's place for home-cooked food (my mum place is just 50 steps away). so it doesnt quite make sense for me to be cooking.. but i like to cook.. keep telling hubby to "jia you" n make me a housewife, so can cook dinner for him everyday.. hehehe...

littlecat,
i know exactly what u mean.. my colleagues everyday see me, everyday ask when i'm due... i assume its also cos my tummy quite big.. but the "funny" thing is, my waist-line still "visible" leh, can see lor... hehehe.. now tummy is reli "boy-shape" (i.e. "pointed" one)
but the reli scary thing is, i hv another colleague due within the next 2 weeks, my tummy is slightly bigger than hers...
but it also happened that we r in the fashion line, n she have been controlling her diet for fear of losing her figure after baby... so..... *shrug*...

Eh cat, yesterday I had fried see hum ! I told my husband I need to detox.. his eyes rolled up !
Can't run around liao..always got the urge to go toilet!

Eh starz, the thermal cooker is good, can save electricity.. Maybe you can try baking pasta (cat's bake macaroni),or one pot dishes in small portions. I always can't manage a few dishes, cos will end up tapaoing the next day.
When's your edd ?

annlee, yes my this fren plan everything 'swee swee'...
both kids also plan the date to go for cesearan. I must say she is really a good planner.
she plan to have two and the gap is not so far away. So...after her maternity leave she went back to work, straight away she conceive with 2nd one. so the first and 2nd is like one year gap chun-chun.. impressed hor?

starz, really? yours is bigger than hers?
haha i tell u i dare not meet the other 2 PG woman in my office, one will due in Oct and one around our time in Nov. but hor, i am the one with biggest tummy... pai seh!
some even so funny ask me confirm is not twins hor?
i reminded her there is something called "Ultra sound" scanning machine, if it can not detect then i pensang liao...

littlecat, i delivered my two boys all on caeseran and also choose the date but the time cannot be exact but master say is best in the morning and gave us a certain time for it. I got no choice but to go for caesaran so might as well pick a good date for them, it might not be true whether is good for them but no harm choosing a date since is caeseran.

Choc,
my dd is playing Marionett Dance and Little Tea Pot now.This term's new teacher didn't finished teaching a new song before proceeding to a new song.She hasn't learned Country Dance yet.Got test in Dec? The teacher didn't tell us.I am still not quite use to the new teacher's style yet, prefer previous teacher,where she would ask the children to play the songs one by one.Does your dd's teacher do that?

Starz,
I bought some microwave steaming plastic cookeare, comes in a cover(with hole), a rack and a tray which can pour some water in.This cookware supposed to make the steamed food moist.I used to steam corn,broccoli,potato in this.Have never tried using microwave to steam fish before.

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>River Valley</TD><TD>Sambal Belachan</TD><TD>Open and crowded on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour</td></tr></table>

choc,
my EDD is 7-11.. hehe, 7th Nov..
i learnt abt all the benefits of the thermal cooker from u all liaoz, but undecided abt the brand and the capacity to get... cos when i cook, its either for 2 person, or for 12 persons.. so difficult to decide which capacity to get lah..

littlecat,
ya lor... so scary right, i 6mths bigger than 9mths tummy.. i already immune to the comments i've received liaoz... my mum's fren who saw me actually told my mum, "wah, ur daughter double in size since she pregnant liaoz"... can u believe that..???

Van,
i think i got the same plastic cookware, but i didn't put the fish on the "tray", but just put into the "base dish"... the fish got some "moisture" on its own, plus i put abit of light soya sauce, sesame oil, n cooking wine, so there is abit of "gravy" when the fish is cooked n not dry at all lor...

Hello! I made soup last night and intend to cook tonight as well....Will log in later tonight.

Starz,

Bo chap what others say!Some people can be very insensitive!What's most impt is the health of your baby.Give birth then go on a healthy diet.

van, the lucky plaza Cipta Rasa Cafe not really a Nasi Padang. More like normal malays food...
What's good huh... hmm.. the boss very friendly haha... that's was once we forgot to pay and we leave the place, then one of us suddenly realized and walk back to pay. The Encik there just smile and say no problem, no problem...

how about my hb's fav Ramen Ramen ? haha... i think i should ask for comission from them liao..

Starz, dun cry dun cry... it just becos u used to be very slim... my fren put on 18kg and she can slim back also. Now she still looks so slim and pretty, i am sure u will

annlee, ic ic. agreed if no choice have to cesearan then might as well choose a date hor ;)
for my this fren she just opt for it.
actually for my case abit similar in a way cos i induce, so the date is choosen in a way, but actual time is really depends on him liao.

Thanks a million for all the advice and "cutouts" from webpages on constipation! I only started eating bananas this last weekend, and no wonder, my constipation was worse, although I drink a ton of water every day! So bananas and apples are the culprits... will start to eat more oats and prunes etc.

Van,
I've heard about tetracycline too, and it apparently will affect adults if adults are on it for too long. I was on this antibiotic when I was much younger, cos my acne problem was really bad, and the doctor didn't tell me any side effects. It was only later that I found out it greys all bones (inclu teeth), and cannot go under the sun, else may get pigmentation. But by then too late liao, I was already on it for 1 yr +, then got so angry that I refused to eat anymore antibiotics for my skin.

starz, LittleCat,
Don't worry about weight. Going on diet should be the last thing on a pregnant lady's mind! Just concentrate on eating healthily during and after pregnancy, and I'm sure you will be able to lose your baby weight after that. I call the excess weight "Scars of Motherhood", just like stretch marks... it's just part and parcel of motherhood, so don't worry about what people say.

LittleCat,
Heh, when you guys talk about fish, I thought they bring back those nasi lemak ikan kuning mah... then very good for frying
cos my niece brought back goat's milk from some farm, so I assume all the stuff they bring back can be eaten!

You really Italian mama now leh! Spaghetti for 3 weekends! What brand is your basil sauce? or is it pesto sauce? I love pesto, but cannot tahan the smell for the time being now.

starz,
The soup looks good, but I may modify it a bit. Black fungus is a "bad memory" food for me, so I no longer eat it now.

Thanks for the review on the steam mode on your microwave. It is defintely a good multi-functional appliance.

Hi Van,
Regarding the food table... eh, paiseh, maybe my rattling about it got everyone confused? The first 2 are actually the same shop along Zion Road (opp Great World).

I found a blog on this shop which also explains that nasi padang is originally from Sumatra (need to scroll down a bit):
http://joonelovesfood.blogspot.com/2005_12_01_joonelovesfood_archive.html

A rival nasi padang shop called Mayang Sari opened next to it about a year ago, but it closed down within a few months, so we don't have to worry about walking into the wrong shop.
Just to clarify a bit too - this orginal Nasi Padang shop is next to a Chinese/HK cafe called Tong Shui which have very bad reviews from my friends.

Choc,
Can I kaypoh a bit? How come your previous 2 are induced? Is it true that inducing is less painful?

Heh, you also must wait till after confinement to eat nadi padang... got belachan in chilli so better wait till everything healed then eat that!

Sophie,
Still up?

A few years ago when a friend visited me, my then nanny said my friend must have taken too much antibiotics when she was a kid,can tell from the color of her teeth.So it's really true! I think my dd was prescribed this antibiotics before as it sounds really familiar.

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Zion Rd Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng</TD><TD>? </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Malay Rice</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peranakan</TD><TD>Peramakan 92 Joo Chiat Rd</TD><TD>Fish Maw Soup/beef rendang/Chap chye</TD><TD>Closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zi Yean Seafood</TD><TD>Stirlng Road</TD><TD>Kam Heong Chicken/Crispy beancurd</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bu Ye Tian Yu Tou Lu</TD><TD>Cheong Chin Nam Road</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ramen Ramen</TD><TD>Rail Mall</TD><TD>"Ramen Ramen"Ramen</TD><TD> ? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Alexandra Blk 123</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Bt Merah Lane 1 in a coffee shop</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">I haven't browsed through all the previous postings regaridng recommendation yet. If any of you want to add on to the list,please write in the above format/sequence,separated by commas,I will append to the table by cutting from your write-ups.</font>

Amelia,

May be you didn't add enough?

I seldom add scallop to porridge.Only when dd was a baby, did add some to her porridge.

Personally I think using chicken stock to cook porridge give better taste.

I still remembered when I brought her porridge out during some gathering, the moment I opened the food jar, my relatives said the porridge smell so good.

But adding scallop to Lotus Root soup or Fen Ge Soup is very nice.

Hi Van,
Yep, up till late last night. Nauseousness was pretty bad so couldn't really sleep; could almost feel the sourish foam coming up from my stomach. But I try and look on the bright side - told hubby I feel a bit more "secure" with these nauseousness cos gynae says it means baby is growing cos it's the body reacting with HCG level, and this symptom is especially useful and indicative for those with m/c before. So I was "happily" retching away last night

Here're some foodie contributions for a start
The 2nd and 3rd ones are 2 of my favourite eating places, whereas I've yet to try the 1st one, but saw it on TV... so yummy...

- Ayam Penyet, 67 Beach Rd NTUC Income Beach Junction #B1-01/02, Ayam Penyet Indonesian Style/Sambal Chilli recommended by Channel 8, Mon- Fri 11am-9pm &amp; Sat/Sun 12noon- 10pm

- Kim Dae Mun Korean Food, Le Meridien Foodcourt, Grilled Mackerel (juicy)/Bulgogi Chicken/Soon Dubu/High fibre &amp; nutritious "Brown/Purple" Rice, Remark: Brown Rice runs out by lunchtime

- Vegetarian "Zai" Beehoon, Telok Blangah Crescent Hawker Centre, Best Zai Beehoon around with yummy "luo han zai" on 1st &amp; 15th of lunar mth/not oily/lovely chili, Stall is in-between a lor mee and soy bean drink stall &amp; opens as early as 6:30am on 1st &amp; 15th lunar mth

Sophie, you take care! we know how u feel... they said stronger MS is good, so just bear with it for a while

eh u still not bad leh can think of food. last time when i have MS i can't even think of food, any food stuff came to mind, make me feel sick...
But now different liao, everyday think of food

for me also induce, cos doc said baby is big liao, scare if he pass motion inside.
The benefit of having induce (my opinion) everything is plan, u dun have to worry, suddenly waterbag burst lah, too rush to chiong to hostpital lah... but of cos if no other complication it is still better to go thru the normal, where u have the 'show' then contraction etc... b4 u go. U can check with gynae which way u more comfortable.
Some also claim now doctor want easy job (could also mean earn more?) just opt for the easier one, like plan a date to induce. No last minutes rush...

Has any one of your seen/heard/own this?
Saw this outside market today.

Korean magic hot plate,can roast,fried without sticking to the hotplate,use very little/no oil.

Can cover when frying fish,so the oil won't splash out,and your kitchen won't be filled with oily fishy smell.

When frying fish can choose to have Outside-crisy-insdie-tender, or Nasi Lemak Ikan Kuning style of crispiness.

Can be used for stir frying ,steaming fish(don't need to add water?!)

Saw the promoter frying french toast,no need to add oil.

Sounds good? Costs $168.

476888.jpg

476889.jpg

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Zion Rd Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng</TD><TD>? </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Malay Rice</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peranakan</TD><TD>Peramakan 92 Joo Chiat Rd</TD><TD>Fish Maw Soup/beef rendang/Chap chye</TD><TD>Closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zi Yean Seafood</TD><TD>Stirlng Road</TD><TD>Kam Heong Chicken/Crispy beancurd</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bu Ye Tian Yu Tou Lu</TD><TD>Cheong Chin Nam Road</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ramen Ramen</TD><TD>Rail Mall</TD><TD>"Ramen Ramen"Ramen</TD><TD> ? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Alexandra Blk 123</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Bt Merah Lane 1 in a coffee shop</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ayam Penyet</TD><TD> 67 Beach Rd NTUC Income Beach Junction #B1-01/02</TD><TD> Ayam Penyet Indonesian Style/Sambal Chilli recommended by Channel 8</TD><TD> Mon- Fri 11am-9pm &amp; Sat/Sun 12noon- 10pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Dae Mun Korean Food</TD><TD> Le Meridien Foodcourt</TD><TD> Grilled Mackerel (juicy)/Bulgogi Chicken/Soon Dubu/High fibre &amp; nutritious "Brown/Purple" Rice</TD><TD> Remark: Brown Rice runs out by lunchtime </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian "Zai" Beehoon</TD><TD> Telok Blangah Crescent Hawker Centre</TD><TD> Best Zai Beehoon around with yummy "luo han zai" on 1st &amp; 15th of lunar mth/not oily/lovely chili</TD><TD> Stall is in-between a lor mee and soy bean drink stall &amp; opens as early as 6:30am on 1st &amp; 15th lunar mth</td></tr></table>

something to share :

For those who like to drink cold water, this article is applicable to you. It is nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal. However, the cold water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed. It will slow down the digestion.

Once this "sludge" reacted with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food. It will line the intestine.

Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer.
It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal.

van, i've seen the korea hot plate before outside Bencoolen building, the lady was frying something with it. Did not ask for the hotplate at that time as im interested in their korea pot, i remember is not cheap so i give up getting one.

Littlecat, wah........ drink cold water will also lead to cancer, lucky i prefer warm one.
My sister told me sip alittle hot water every half an hr helps on slimming.

van, you went to hk recently and do you know any good food stuff that can bring back to sg. Any mommies can recommend?

Van,
The Korean hotplate looks good! But very expensive! Heh, when I am better one of these days, I will thick-skinnedly ask my Korean neighbour how to cook Korean food then share with you guys. By 6am every morning, she is already up and about cooking Korean breakfast which is like our main meal... rice and dishes. I always smell it from my bedroom when I wake up to go toilet... cannot imagine myself doing that!

LittleCat,
Thanks for sharing the info on the inducing. I never really thought about inducing cos I thought the only difference is natural or C-section. Kind of forgot that under the "natural" category, there is also inducing. Will ask gynae when in last tri; now ask him he'll prob think I kiasu, ask this kind of things so early

You cannot think of food in 1st tri? Means you didn't put on much weight at all? Gynae not worried?

The cold and hot water water theory sounds interesting. Must cut down on my cold water consumption then, esp when the digestive system is already so sluggish during pregnancy!

annlee,
For makan stuff like in office, I like to buy their pineapple cakes (plus other flavours) which are individually packed. Quite pretty and yummy for office pple.

I also used to go to their "wet market" to buy scallops and dried oysters for my mum. When I told my mum the price, she says it's cheaper than in SG, but that was about 5 yrs ago, not sure about now.

Of course the other things to "bring" back will be all the individual shopping stuff! Lui Yun Kai (Ladies Street) at night has lots of carts at night selling imitation Hello Kitty or other cartoon character stuff, so can buy those for kids. There's a huge shopping mall that just opened in Mongkok area, but the last year when I went, they were not opened yet as the shops were only just moving in.

For makan
, must eat roast goose. I've tried a few which the locals said are good, but I still prefer Yung Kee at Lan Kwai Fong although it's more touristy. Reason being the food are nicely presented and not so oily as the ones my local friends recommended. More expensive but worth it. Their century eggs served as a starter (they automatically give) is also lovely... outside is hard but the inside of the yolk is nice and runny!
For afternoon snacks, round the corner near Ben &amp; Jerry's is a small "cha chan teng" which has very yummy pork chop and a "spinach rice". Spinach rice is quite nice where they chop the veges and fry it with the rice. Then for dessert, must order the hashima with rock sugar - lots of hashima in it for only arounf $6-8 a bowl.
If you are eating dim sum, must go try "City Hall" Tai Hui Tong at near the Star Ferr Terminal on HK side. They don't take reservations, so must go there and take number to queue. One interesting dish is fried fresh milk which is like a marshmallow.

OOps... talk about food, I go rattling on and on again...
That's it for now!

sophie, maybe your korean neighbour cook alot of food and pack it inside the fridge, cos i watched the korean drama they took the food out from the fridge and take the amount they want and then put the remaining back to the fridge then heat it up. Korean food got alot of dishes right and if your neighbour can cook so many dishes in the morning, then really got to salute her....hee...

annlee,
Heh, I never thought about it, that she pack the food inside the fridge... cos it always smells so heavenly in the morning. They use those dark Korean claypot to cook their rice; woah, the smell is simply superb!

Hehe, before I got confined to home, I already started building relationship with her by offering her my banana muffins
so next time easier to ask her to teach me how to cook!

btw, you going to HK?

Hello gals...
Sorry, I have not been logging in lately... been busy with baby
Last week, carry till my hand blue black... Then cut vegetables, my hands were shivering...

hmm... talking about babies... I am thinking of number 2 in 2007 or 2009

sophie, i wanted to ask about the roast goose and thank you so much for mentioning it. Do you think can buy the roast goose back to sg? And at Yung kee in Lan kwai fong, if ask the conceige do you think they will know the place.
I bought dried scallops for my boss before and say is cheap getting from there.

Aiyo, you mentioned so many good food and shopping in hk i feel like going leh.....but i can't only can tabao back

hi lyn!
Good to see you! Eh, you not bad, carry until hand blue black still can think about number 2 right now?

How come so siong need to carry baby so long? Eh, pardon me for my ignorance, but I thought babies mostly sleep so can just leave him in his cot to sleep?