Cooking Tips & Recipe

my block power down own due 2 svc of electricity board.very siong!can't do anything n my whole fridge of stuff will undergo spring cleaning!

Forgot about this shut-down thing and bt more meat today,even bought a chocolate cake for hb's birthday.

Luckily can bring back to the cake shop and tompang in their fridge.

using my hp 2 post this msg

Van,
I was just doing some research on the net on yoghurt and if it causes gas, then came across this interesting article on arthritis and fish oil. I remember you mentioned you used to have arthritis when you were pregnant. Do you still get it now? You may already know about fish oil and arthritis, but here is the article if you would like to read it:
http://www.arthritis.org/resources/arthritistoday/1999_archives/1999_07_08explorations.asp

sp,
heh, the potato patties don't look too appetizing, but the yoghurt dip is really refreshing, especially in this hot weather!

You go to work at 6:50am and still can attempt to make breakfast? *hands down to you* Such a "wei da" mummy!

sophie,
ur baked hash brown look so delish... share recipe?? i want to try to cook again this weekend...

hopefully no more drama with my oven... hehehe..

sp,
wah... u leave so early still can cook ar? wat time u wake up?? i definitely cannot make it one... i'm not a morning person, n will laze in bed until the last possible minute...
y not u try the "salad version"?? then can prepare tonight n put in the fridge for tomorrow...

wat i do for my pasta salad is:
boil n drain pasta first, run under cold water n set-aside (don't let pasta become too soft).
briefly boil cut-up carrots, potatos, small mushroom, drain n set-aside too.
meat-wise can either use ham, or canned tuna (flavour is up to you to choose)
optional items : celery, bell-pepper, corn, kidney bean.. or simply add whatever u like.

mix everything together... add in "japanese mayonaise" OR salad cream n stir well.. put a little at a time, stop according to ur own "taste"..
Optional - squeeze in abit of lemon juice..
NOTE: if using canned tuna, if you add in the "oil", then pls use lesser mayonaise / salad cream..
sorry ar, my recipes all not very "healthy" type..

annelise, i also envious of ur "assets" leh... even now preggie liaoz, still only a C cup...

starz,
I love Jap mayo! This cold pasta is a good idea for cooking ahead of time.

Here's the recipe... really simple for a side dish or a snack:

Baked Hash Brown
Potatoes
Onions, chopped (optional)
Spring Onions (optional)
Cooked Bacon, cut into bits (optional)
Salt
Ground Black Pepper
Olive oil
Paprika (optional)

1. Roughly grate the potatoes (i.e. use the larger grater) and then squeeze the moisture out of them. You can use a muslin bag, or in my case cos I don't have a musline bag, I just squeeze using my hands. Grated potatoes has to be as dry as possible so that your baked hash brown will come out crispy.

2. Season with olive oil, salt and pepper and add all the other optional ingredients if you are using them. In my case, I only used potato, olive oil, paprika, pepper and salt.

3. Grease your tray/foil with oil well. Take a few spoonfuls and shape them into a ball with your palms. Then flatten them and put them on tray.

4. Bake them in oven till golden brown(I use oven toaster). Try not to turn them till they are well cooked, otherwise you will find that they will break up and the bottom sticks to the pan. My little oven toaster didn't burn the bottom of the hash browns, so I didn't have to turn them at all. As long as the pan is well-greased, plus the mixture has olive oil, it shouldn't stick too much.

Cucumber-Yoghurt Dip
Cucumber
Natural unsweetened yoghurt
Mustard seeds (optional)
Mint (optional)

1. Peel, deseed and slice cucumber thinly.

2. Heat a little oil in a pan and put in mustard seeds. There are 2 kinds of mustard seeds - yellow and black. Yellow one is lighter in flavour whereas black ones are very strong, mostly used in Indian cooking. I use yellow ones. Once the oil heats up, the mustard seeds will start to "pop" and "fly" around, so get ready your pan cover! Once they start popping, you can take pan away from fire else seeds will burn. Mustard seeds is optional, but I like it cos it gives a nutty flavour.

3. Scoop the seeds (without oil) and mix with cucumber and add yoghurt. You can add a little chopped mint (I didn't cos NTUC was out of stock). Mix all these together and you get the yoghurt dip.

I got this recipe from an Indian friend who taught me how to cook mustard seeds. The indian name for this dip is Raita; they normally eat this with rice and curry. Baiscally, raita just means yogurt dip... you can add whatever you like, such as onions, apples etc.

If you leave the raita out in room temperature for a while, don't be surprised if it turns a bit watery. The cucumber will give off water. Due to our humidity, the longer you leave the yoghurt out, the more sour it gets (also normal). So if I am making it ahead, I normally keep it chilled in fridge.

Sophie,
Thanks for the link re: fish oil for arthritis,It's something new to me.Probably because I only read up on my specific type of arthritis, which is ankylosing spondylitis, and the side effects of those medicine that I took.

I remember throughout my pregnancy, I only wear those normal over-size T-shirts and maternity tights at home.After giving birth,still can continue to wear those T-shirts. But I spent a lot more on materinity work-wear.

A few Simple Tops and Maternity Pants with adjustable waist band should be able to last your throughout the pregnancy.

Noticed your baked/roast stuff always look very "golden brown" crispy... yum yum.
The Yogurt dip looks interesting and refreshing!

Amelia,
The article about double-boiling was published on newspaper many years ago.I don't think it's stored anywhere online.The experiment was done by a group of students from Chemical Process Technology.

Annelise,
I didn't know that Pasir Ris has Gallop stable for pony riding!It sounds interesting.Yesterday my dd's school brought them to Pasir Ris Kids Kampong,which is already new to me.This Pony Riding sounds good.Probably becos I am the West-side-people,hardly explore Pasir Ris/Tampines/Changi area.

34DD Bust Size? I really envy your asset!Are you still DD now?

Littlecat,
The only Dim Sum I ever made is steam black beans pork ribs and Chicken feet/Feng Zhao (Can these consider Dim Sum?
kao_confused.gif
. What Dim Sum are you making?

Sp,
You seem like always trying out new recipes,especially experiementing with your toaster oven. I almost forgotten that your are working,thought you are SAHM.

cupcake,
Glad to see you back.How old is your dd now? I used to confine my dd within the living room by with safety gate, while I cook in the kitchen when she's toddler.But she still fell off from our arm chair a few times,made me so guilty.

Van,
You've got electricity!

Yeah, I'm digging out all my "fat" clothes and T-shirts to wear. Those few pieces I bought from Marketplace in forum and motherhood.com will probably last me till early 3rd trimester if I don't put on too much weight.

Heh, my stuff always looks "golden brown" cos this Burn Queen is always on the verge of burning her stuff

To all the gals here,
Thanks a million for all the great tips on shopping for maternity wear/undies and how to shop online to save $$! Really appreciate these info!

Gonna log off now for dinner then wait for "Child of Our Time" on Arts Central tonight at 10pm. It's a great programme for MTBs and mummies if you have not seen it yet!

Sophie,

Looks nice and crispy as though u deep fried them!
We have the same corelle set
I have 3 sets in total.

The last episode ended 2 weeks ago on Hallmark Channel.

Van,

Power down is my worst nightmare!Imagine all the "leow" have to throw!

Amelia,
Hallmark was screening Child of Our Time too? I didn't know that, cos I never surf past Channel 16, the Discovery Travel & Living. But if occasionally AXN has some Swimsuit Illustrated Model stuff, I'll tune into that just to watch the babes

You've got 3 full sets of Corelle? I only have the plain white set. The one with blue design which contains the yoghurt is an odd dish which I just during 20% off NTUC homeware cos I like that size. I love Corelle! Only recently changed to Corelle cos it's so much lighter; during my m/c, I had trouble even washing the dishes and putting them up on the rack cos my old ones given by my MIL were the country crockery type, very heavy.

Sophie,

Yup Child of Our Time was on Hallmark Channel.
I watch Swimsuit Illustrated sometimes and the new Real World Austin.

I bought all 3 full sets for cheap from states.2 different sets of Pure White and 1 set of Secret Garden(blue floral design).

Amelia,
After the last Major Black-out, there was write-up that food can be kept in fridge for maximum 2 hrs if there is black-out.This time my power down is 2 1/2 hr! Siong!
kao_angry.gif

Sophie,
You like Jap Mayo? Have you tried making potato salad with Jap Mayo,egg and bacon bits? That's my pot luck dish,if I have to attend pot luck party,but don't have time before the party to cook other stuff.As this can be made the night before.

You raised an interesting point about vinegar and bones/teeth.Must go and look up more info about this.

I will probably try out this Zhu Jiao Chu Recipe,not sure if it's nice.If anyone of you has recipe from your mum,aunt,CL,granny....please let me know.

I am very tempted to use my Tiger thermal pot to cook this,so that I don't have to simmer it for 2 hours, but worrying that the vinegar may spoil the pot.What do you gals think?

Pig's Trotter in Black Vinegar(Zhu Jiao Chu)

1kg trotter
200g young ginger,peeled and cut into bite size
300g old ginger,leave skin on, flattened
750ml Sweet black Vinegar(can be found in Sheng Song)
300ml black vinegar
50g rock sugar

<u>Method:</u>

1.Cut trotter into smaller pieces, rinse and blanch into boiling water for 10 minutes.Dish up, rinse under running cool wter,drained and put aside.

2. Preheat dry wok.Put in old ginger and stir-fry til fragrant,remove.Place the trotter pieces into preheated dry wok,stry fry until aromatic or slightly dry.Dish up.Keep them aside.

3. Pour Sweet vinegar,black vinegar,water and rock sugar in a deep pot.Bring to boil, then add trotter pieces,old ginger and young ginger.Simmer for approximately 2hrs, or until the trotter pieces are tender.

last nite slept too early at 9+pm so didn't cut up the veges etc. this morning hb &amp; I got up b4 6 to start work... took us > 1 hr to get everything done, we are so slow, oops. accidentally put way too much black pepper &amp; the spaghetti was super hot, my hb said he eat until his ears hot, hahaha!
overall the taste is ok. this is what we used:

500g spaghetti
water and 1 tsp salt for cooking

olive oil
1 big onion, cubed
garlic, minced
6 red chillies, thick slices
1 carrot, sliced
2 cans of button mushrooms, sliced
1 can luncheon meat, sliced
1 can Campbell tomato pasta sauce
1 can Campbell Cream of Mushroom soup
4oz milk

mixed herbs
black pepper

it's definately UNhealthy spaghetti since we used luncheon meat, soups, pasta sauce, total 5 cans!!!
next time better cook healthier version, kekeke.

starz,
thanks for sharing the recipe for salad version of pasta. ya, prepare at nite will be better, morning no need to rush.

van,
really ah, if more than 2 hours blackout must throw out everything in the fridge? Freezer also? throw is so wasted. My mum will just check whether it's thawed, if yes, will cook a feast. If not, will just leave it in the freezer. We just try not to open the fridge and freezer doors when no electricity.

thanks for the pig trotters recipe, that's my hb's favourite dish, kekeke.

Amelia,
Corelle is so beautiful and light, I like it too.

Sophie,
I'm very lazy one lah, hardly make breakfast, much rather sleep till last min, hehehe.

thanks for your potato recipe, very interesting way of cooking potato and the dip is healthy too.

Van,

I bought my thermo pot partly because of the zhu jiao chu cos when doing confinement it take so long to cook the pig trotter, also to save electricity. Should be ok using it the thermo pot cos my thermo pot include a list stated the cooking time and pig trotter is included.
This is the recipe of my zhu jiao chu, quite similar to yours.

Pig trotter
hard boiled egg ( optional )
old ginger with skin on and flattened
black vinegar ( i use the double dog brand)
black sugar
sesame oil

The method is the same as yours, but i use sesame oil instead of normal oil to fry the ginger and put the black sugar when trotter is half cook. For the egg i add in when trotter is cooked.

sp, thanks for the recipe, looks yummy. Think i will use sausage instead of luncheon meat and so many cans of soup, will it turn out to be spaghetti soup and im thinking it will still be very delicious.

Good morning ladies!
It's Friday... weekend is here! What will you ladies be doing?

sp,
Where got lazy if you woke up before 6? Woah, how do you tahan through the day at work? I'll never be able to do that! Your hubby very sweet - woke up with you to fix the breakfast together

Your Campbell spaghetti recipe looks good... I like Campbell soup, but hubby is picky about eating processed and frozen food so I cook these stuff only once in a while

Amelia,
I forgot about Corelle when I was in US, cos I went crazy over Crate &amp; Barrel crockery instead, and didn't realise that the porcelain crockery are nice, but not very practical cos they're heavy! Have since changed lots of my glass containers into plastic ones too, just so it's easier to handle.

Van,
Thanks for the idea on potato salad... heh, potato salad is also one of my favourites!

I have a zhu jiao chu recipe in my Confinement Recipe book. Let me type it out so you can compare them.

This recipe is taken from "Recipes for Pregnancy and Confinement" by Patsie Cheong. Seems more "gingery" than yours though.

Ginger in Vinegar Sauce
The bones are rich in calcium. Calcium dissolves easily in vinegar so this dish is good for women after giving birth. Brown sugar helps to expel wind

Ingredients:
(A)

1 whole pork trotter
1kg mature ginger
1 1/2 tbsps sesame oil
10 hard boiled eggs, shelled

(B)
750ml black rice vinegar
750ml water
800g brown sugar

Method:
1. Cut trotter into pieces. Boil in water for 15mins. Rinse with cold water.

2. Wash ginger with peel on. Cut into thick slices. Boil for 15mins. Drain.

3. Heat sesame oil in pot. Stir fry ginger until fragrant. Add (B) and eggs. Cook for 1 hour.

4. Add in trotter. Bring to the boil, then reduce ot low heat. Simmer until trotter is tender.

This website http://www.natalessentials.com also used to have a pig trotter recipe, but now they seem to have taken the whole recipe section away.

Van,
For the effects of vinegar on teeth, check out this webpage, Point Number (5) in italics:
http://frugalliving.about.com/cs/tips/a/blvinmed_2.htm

Extracted here:
Any time you take vinegar internally, be sure to rinse your mouth with plain water. Acid remaining on teeth will, over time, dissolve your teeth, as it does with calcium deposits around the sink."

Apparently eggshells can also be dissolved by vinegar... I cannot imagine what it does to the enamel on our teeth.

sophie,
Thanks for the recipe and info.

hmm...sounds scary leh...

Should I cook the unhealthy Kong Bak then....

sp,
I used to prepare spaghetti and the sauce separately at night and chill it.Then heat it up in our office's microwave and taken for lunch.So don't need to wake up early to cook...

I am an Owl...can sleep very late, but very hard to drag me out of bed so early in the morning.

Van,
Not scary at all!
Just have to take care to rinse our teeth well after eating vinegar. Plus, we don't eat that everyday so it should be ok. But dilemma, cos Kong Bak also nice... my MIL was just commenting how expensive those Westlake cart sells them... I think $2 for a small piece.

Remember to take pictures and show us whichever dish you are making!

Thanks for the shopping websites! Some of the capris in them are very nice, especially the ones with trimmings on the hems.

sorry was busy got time to read quickly no time to post.

annlee, i went lucky plaza for chicken rice, 2nd level - Lucky Chicken Rice.
So after meal i pop by to check the address for the malay rice store
promised u liao must check:
Cipta Rasa Cafe #01-108
THey have nasi briyani every friday.
Quite crowded.
Went for check up just now, gynae said baby grow well above average. ie. i am 25 weeks now, but he measurement show 27 weeks.
I ask him if durian will really help baby grow fat, he said yes, cos of the sugar etc...
So is my hb lah everyday temp me want to eat 'ang hay' i thot he refer to real prawn, but actually is the durian... but he never buy those good one lah...

Sophie,
Lot 1 is having a food fair,Westlake is there.ya $2 a piece, and the meat mostly fats.hee..can't resist and bought two days ago.

Tempted to buy from those sites or not? Even though sometimes they didn't say anything about overseas order,or in some yahoo auctions they said don't accept oversesas shipment,but when emailed them,they will still sell.

Littlecat,
I like Ang Hay too! The flavour is so rich and sweet! Nowadays Ang Hay not so expensive liao.

hi, little cat,
bb growing well is good mah, hehehe. say yes lah, let yr hb buy the good durian for u to eat, since gonna eat a bit only might as well eat the best...

sophie,
thanks for the recipe and the precaution we shld take after eating it.

yalor, my hb very sweet and understanding, he knows if he doesn't help me sure I cannot make it and we'll have to eat outside food for breakfast as usual, hehehe.

van,
actually I wanted to cut up and prepare the ingredients at nite b4 sleep but I fell asleep &amp; hb didn't wake me, so no choice got to do it in the morning.

annlee,
actually there's no extra sauce leh, the one can of tomato pasta sauce + 1 can of condensed cream of mushroom soup + 4oz milk is just nice to coat all the spaghetti. sausages will be a good idea, my hb's fav, hehe.

hello ladies...

again another halfday wasted in meetings.. *haiz*.. i agree with the notion that meetings r a complete waste of time..

sp,
i reli hats off to u, can wake up before 6am to cook breakfast... n it looks delish too!!! i reli cannot make it, even if i wake up 5mins before alarm goes off, i will "go back to sleep" n only wake up maybe after pressing the "snooze" button 5times...

littlecat,
glad to hear ur boy growing well too.. wah, measuring 2 weeks "extra".. so will be a tall boy next time lah...
my checkup only next fri.. think i also 25 weeks tis week...

can preggie MTBs take the zhu jiao chu already??
my mum mentioned to me, the zhu jiao chu for confinement period, have to prepare 1 month in advance... so the recipes that are posted here, is it for immediate consumption or after cooking we store it for 1 mth???

littlecat, thanks for the address.

On my 1st preggie i eat alot of durian, my bb is quite chubby when give birth, weigh 3.225 and i give birth almost 3 weeks earlier before delivery date.
My MIL says durian is very bu, will make bb grow. But don't take too much, later not only your bb is chubby and goes to you too, kekeke

Oh no sophie.... recently i bought a bottle of japanese apple vinegar,is actually for beauty and health. It must dilute with water and drink it and of course i didn't rinse with water after drinking...oh...oh... will do so after reading your infor. Thanks!

sp,
your boy boy turning 1 on 30 July? Happy Birthday to Hock Hin! (I peeped at the Jul05 thread to admire the lovely birthday cakes, then saw your name)

474111.gif

474112.gif

starz, i agree with u totally the meetings r a complete waste of time..
better let us off to do some "ACTION"!
my everyday target is to leave at 6pm sharp!

sophie i heard u put your panties to 'expand' it i want to laugh.. but hor my that auntie doing the same leh.. sometime u see my boy's pants, sometime is her bra... in the hall...
and the accident thing.. i thot me so crazy will thikn of that, eh u also haha..
i remember one old show by carol cheng (do-do), she was kena rob or something then she and one of the guy was ask to remove the pants so left panties.. imagine those scene where u were wearing those pasar malam panties ...

sp u r really amazing ! wake up early in the morning to cook spagathie!! u r even better than those italian mama...! cos they like fresh pasta so only cook when about to eat etc..
hat's off, and body down till wu-ti-tou-di ! and u and your hb so loving one, cook breakfast together..

annelise!!! now i know why all the cake you bake rise so high! 34DD ? oh my never in my life not even during engorgement!
hmm.. just have to console myself, A is better, imaging so many students want to get A ? ok tis A is not that A...

van, tell me where got ang hay now leh must ketuk him kuat-kuat this time.. we used to go Jurong West, but recenlty like not many left liao..
U guys are right since eating little bit might as well eat the best hor?
but i also scare the 'chubby' thing stay on me..
today went check up another 2 kg! so about 4 weeks 2 kg..
Starz, how many kg liao? i ask the hiccup thing also the gynae said it is ok not to worry.

anyone know how to cook the the steam egg dessert? Hong konger fav 'tung-dan' ?

wah.... steam egg dessert sounds good.... any mommies know the recipe?
I always go to ah chew at liang seah st to eat their steam egg but dunno how to make it.

let's go search the web see got or not

i have some HL milk left, dun want to let my son drink cos he easily got phelgm.
any other suggestion to get rid of it? like cooking dessert or curry?

LittleCat,
I'm happy to hear your bb is growing so well. Heh, next time must remember your durian tips! Maybe can ask Choc to eat durians too!

Eh, so me like your auntie... hehe, save money so use furniture to expand our undies! haha, the Carol Cheng show, woah, damned suay leh... imagine if it happens to me, then so uncool hor, wearing those granny panties
I remember a friend who told me she wore her undies till got holes and we were in our 20s then, not even pregnant... then I ask her how to feel sexy in that? Then if petting with bf, he sees the "holey" panties, woah, then how? Her reply was that she and her bf so many years liao, he doesn't care at all!

I got the recipe for "tung-dan"... later I type it in for you.

Van,
Yeah, it must the same Lot 1 store that my MIL went to, cos she mentioned some "fair". Actually my FIL wants to eat it (he is typical Hokkien), then they bought 1 piece and MIL didn't allow him to eat on the spot. Brought the piece home and she used scissors to cut off all the fats and gave it to him. His reaction was "Huh? That's all there is for $2?"

Yeah, tempted to shop leh... also very tempted to shop those cosmetics and organic skincare sites! But must control... hehe, save money for baby! Both my packages from motherhood.com and Amazon shipped out already; so I am now eagerly waiting for them

starz,
Zhu jiao chu must be prepared one mth in advance? Woah... I think the vinegar dissolved all the bones already... no wonder so nutritious!

annlee,
Apple vinegar... issit like apple cider vinegar? Yeah, better just rinse mouth properly cos I always get nightmares of toothaches and teeth dropping off... so am more careful with my teeth.

sp,
Happy birthday to your little boy!

sophie your FIL and MIL story so funny...!
i thot your MIL dun want him to eat on the spot cos like some people dun like to walk and eat. but is becos of the fat... oh mama-mia!
ok wait for your version of steam-egg. then i can ask u question mah...
hehe!

sp, happy birthday to your boy!!
wat is boy-boy's birthday wish ? to have a sibling..:p

This is the recipe. I've made it with my niece before. Very nice and she likes it too. Not too "eggy" smell. annlee, I love Chews at Liang Seah Street too! My sis who claims to be a "dung-dan connoiseur" thinks the famous dessert store at Temple Street better, but I tried that and even hubby thinks it's too "eggy".

This recipe taken from Recipes for Pregnancy &amp; Confinement by Patsie Cheong.

Steamed Egg Custard
This dessert helps to whiten the skin of both the mother and baby. Suitable from Week 13 to Week 40

Ingredients
(A)

80g rock sugar
200ml water

(B)
250ml fresh milk

(C)
4 eggs

Method
1. Bring (A) to the boil. Cook until sugar has dissolved. Leave until cool.
2. Beat eggs lightly. Mix together with (A) &amp; (B).
3. Sieve into stewing pot. Cover and put in double boiler. Cook for 30mins.

I use little rice bowls or chawanmushi bowls with covers. Very yummy... make me feel like eating it this weekend too!

LittleCat,
The stall at Balestier Road, infront of Chinese temple usually have Ang Hay during Durian season.

Jurong West and Clementi sometimes have it too.

Woah, so many dung dan recipes

My HK friends tell me rock sugar better than "sha tang" which I assume is normal sugar? They all swear by rock sugar to "run(4)" their complexions.

littlecat, why don't you drink the milk or do you eat oatmeal, i always put alot of milk in it and skip condense milk. Also can use steam egg recipe to make steam milk without the egg.

sophie, is not like apple cider vinegar, taste more like apple juice,is sour and sweet. Nice to drink too.

littlecat, you see.... so many steam egg recipe, can make use of your milk liao but dunno taste good if use HL milk

All these talk about durians also making me drool... Ang Hay is a type of durian? Issit like D24 or less strong or more strong?

annlee,
I see... you bought the vinegar from those organic shops too? What effect has it on beauty?

Sophie
Ang Hay(Hong2 Xia1) is a bit pinkish/light red/orangey in color,smaller fruits,taste very rich/ "thick" and sweet,sometimes the seeds are very small,"Jiu Ji".

thanks van, thanks sophie!!!

wow like that mummy and baby both fair fair very good...
annlee, somehow i dun like the milk taste leh if drink like that..
but hor i like to eat cheese leh...funny..

sophie, yes ang hay is a type of durian, they have what wild-cat also... don't know which one nice..

van, sophie, little cat,
my son says thanks for yr birthday wishes! huh, sibling? don't scare me leh, until now he still not sleeping thru, I'm still waiting for good sleep. last nite he very strange, wake up at 1+am, he want to sleep back but cannot, threaten to cry, make milk for him don't want, don't know what he wants...

thanks for the steamed egg recipes.

Van,
Thanks for the description of ang hay. Maybe can get hubby to drop by Balestier to find it once of these days, just that he is restricting my durian intake cos he says too heaty, and I am having the standard light constipation problem associated with pregnancy.

That day we bought the D24 durian pancakes from Primadeli, also very yummy, but he only allowed me to eat half a slice! The pancakes are soft and melts in your mouth with the durian filling, so it's really good. The durian puffs are not so good cos the puff pastry is a little hard.

sophie, actually i wanted to buy apple cider vinegar and happened that i saw this and bought it blindly and tot is the same. Is not organic, is from japan and all written in japanese don't understand and roughly read the words,think is a health drink for health and beauty, hee........
I will check more details and let you know.

Hi everyone. Yeah, I'm so thankful the weekend is here - at least can let my hb handle the kids whilst I take a break! Felt woozy this morning, prob becos' I'm having my AF and nosebleeds from the sinusitis - a double whammy for an anaemic! I downed a can of ice cold Coke and feel more energised - must be the elevated blood sugar levels!

No lah, not 34DD anymore - I was probably overdosed on the papaya soup, haha!

Hi LittleCat, haha! I didn't use breast milk to bake leh! A is the norm for Asians cos' Asian women are nice &amp; petite. I'm ang moh size at 1.72m so it's very hard to buy clothes here! I remember someone posted a recipe for "Steam sweet egg", is it what you're referring to? 4 weeks 2 kg is good! I had a tough time putting on weight when I was pg due to my 9-mth morning sickness!

Hi Van, I'm sure your dd had lots of fun at the Kids Kampung! Yeah, the stable is a nice cosy simple setup with about 10+ ponies. My dd1 was complaining about the stench of the horse poo, though! I was blissfully unaware due to my not-functioning nose!

Hi Soph, yeah my 2 kids are typical city kids - they couldn't walk back to the car after our stroll along the beach - complaining of the heat and the blisters forming on their feet! My poor dad had to piggy-back my dd1 on our way back!Need to get them out of their air-con comfort more often!

Ooops, my dd1 is awake already - gotta go and entertain her - have a great weekend everybody!

LittleCat,
Cannot see the pic leh?

Btw, I saw in another thread you said brown rice water is good for water retention? My sis is HUGE at 32 weeks now, and her feet is very swollen, so thought of asking you more about it. So you just fry the brown rice, add hot water, then drink the water but throw away the rice? The rice is not really fried till cooked yeah and need to fry with oil?