Cooking Tips & Recipe

Starz,
You can post your photo here so we all can see mah!

Or you want to post it to our Yahoo Group SPMCTR also good.We have a database of all the recipes posted in this thread.

Annlee,
Already planned tonite's dinner huh! Hb coming back from China today, but I haven't thought of what to cook tonight.

kakis,
What's cooking today?

Yes Van, normally i will plan early cos my market is downstair and need to buy ingred in the morning hee...

Van, about the SPMCTR i have registered few days ago but no news and what should i do? Do i need any password?

LittleCat,
No prob about which restaurant. They're all around that area... I'll hunt them down!

Starz,
Thanks for the pic of the wok & your mum's secret... woah, but very siong, have to stand in front of the pan and fry so patiently!

For the chicken, I put in the veges raw. Cos the heat from the oven will cook it. You can cut some slits at the bottom of the chicken to let heat penetrate more easily so chicken will get cooked, esp. around the fatty thigh area.

There's another kind of stuffing I do, more like the angmoh turkey kind of stuffing if you like that style. I crush some Graham cream crackers, add in walnuts, raisins/dried cranberries, chopped apples, salt, pepper and lastly a little egg white to make it sticky. Mix these ingredients, then stuff them into the cavity of the chicken. There may be leftovers, so I will wrap them up like a sausage in foil and put them next to the chicken to bake. Then use toothpicks to seal up the cavity hole. For the carrots and onions, I'll lay them on the outside of the chicken in the tray.

Look forward to seeing your pic of roast chicken!

<font color="0000ff">annlee,</font>
For the SPMCTR, annelise's approval is needed to "approve" new member,think she just happened to set up that way. She was unwell few days ago, most probably she didn't log in at all.

<font color="aa00aa">Annelise,</font>
How are you now? Hope you are well now.

<font color="119911">Lyn,</font>
Busy moo-moo-ing huh?

<font color="ff0000">Choc,</font>
Guess you will only be back from timbucktoo on weekends,just to let you know we miss yaking with you!

sp,
I also believes in cancer cells grow very well in acidic body. In fact, many diseases is cos of acidic body. I used to read about that too
Acidic body can cause tiredness. Have you experienced before that even with lots of sleep, still feel tired?

van,
iron pills give constipation...
Congrats on your dd getting into your desired school...

Welcome Starz..

Ok gals.. I got no time to continue looking through the posts already... My eyes are closing very soon.. need to get toothpick liao.. kekeke... later... Still trying to adapt to a schedule...

Van,
Moo moo moo... hahaha... Today I am alone with baby again... dunno got panda eyes or not.. haha... maybe moo moo eyes...

yesterday newspaper on mind your body,there's ad on organic wheatgrass juice and says is the king of alkaline food. Maybe you mommies have already know this hee...

hmm...I dislike wheatgrass taste, like "Jia Cao".I vomitted when I took the Yogurt drink with wheatgrass.

My cousin brought her kids to a wheatgrass farm and tried the drinks there, on the way back, all of them vomitted.

oh no, i never tried fresh one before only those which must mix with water but taste quite nice maybe is sweet.

haha... I like the moo moo moo talk here... lyn, moo moo eyes very pretty, so don't you worry so much!

hmm... my hubby loves wheatgrass. He even bought a manual wheatgrass juicer and will juice his own wheatgrass juice. It is quite detoxifying, but cannot drink too much at one go if you are not used to it, cos too much toxins may be released into the bloodstream at one time. One of my mum's neighbours took too much at one go, and ended up with high fever. It's like you have to slowly phase it into your system. And also, for it to be effective, no food at least 15mins before and after drinking the juice.

One of my cats like to chew wheatgrass too
the other one prefers cooked black beans.

oh...wheatgrass juice cannot drink too much, im thinking if i like the taste i might buy alot and drink alot hee...very greedy, sophie thanks for the infor, will take it moderately

amelia, finally got a chance to view your lovely dd photo
this morning the site was down.
eh u know what when i first saw the picture and i think why got a model holding a cat ? is this an advertisement site? cos i saw the chain (is it call chain) .. haha
at the end i am not only busy looking at the cat also busy looking at the 'model' ! :D
you look very pretty there

wow can tell your cat must be a very 'xin fu' one..

lyn, u take care &amp; try to get more rest whenever possible.. understand how the 'panda life' like...

starz, wow your mom is really patience also becos of dd lah, guess we will be like that next time!
smart stay near but still not that near -like under one roof.

just now went lucky plaza for lunch, initially thot of eating the fish noodle, later saw the nasi lemak store no Q and the fried fish keep calling me, so at the end eat nasi lemak with the cripsy fish, yummy! should have order extra fish... i eat till no bone left!

starz, pressure lai liao.. remember we want to see photo of your roast chicken next monday.. kekeke...

hmm... I heard Lucky Plaza Nasi Lemak is very good... the one at basement right? But each time I go, the Q is so long, never got to try it, and ended up eating the yong tau foo on the 6th flr.

Me had laksa with hum for lunch just now... been dreaming and smelling hums since last night!

<font color="ff0000">Sophie,Littlecat,</font>
Lucky Plaza Nasi Lemak good? In the food court or snack bar? Am going Orchard tomorrow,may be I could drop by and try.

<font color="0000ff">Littlecat,</font>
When are you going to KL? Driving or taking flight? Bringing your boy along? You take care huh,if driving,can be very tiring for you.

Sophie, eh thot u should eat something healthier ? ;) bad influence from us kekeke...
yes that is the one at the basement.
The YTF at 6fh floor also good, esp the fried meat ball!

van, at basement near the 4D. not really like food court, cos they have one Asean foodcourt near the Tang entrance. This one is near the Mount E entrance. Try the fish very cripsy and nice.

btw i heard Taka Basement got toy fair, selling like $3,$5 onward type.

Thanks van, will ask my hb to make more stop along the way.
Going on Saturday and coming back on Sunday.
i want to bring my son although is tiring, but i will miss him leh. Also i find he is so big liao, dun want to rely on the auntie too much...

Van,
Yep, like what LittleCat says, the Nasi Lemak is very good... hehe, can see from the Q. And the yong tau foo on 6th floor too... I also like the fried meatballs, and veges are fresh, soup very sweet too!

LittleCat,
Laksa not healthy? Thought you guys say hum "bu" blood? I didn't take the full bowl though, only half the noodles but all the hums, cos was going to see gynae after lunch, scared wait puke laksa on him

Good that you bringing your son along. It's more tiring, but very poor thing for him to be left at home. My mum used to take only my sisters to KL and leave me at home cos she says journey too tiring for me (then 5 yrs old), and I'd cry for a few hours and hide in the cupboard cos I thought she doesn't love me. Once you reach KL, it won't be so tiring cos then your hubby can take over entertaining your son.

Sophie, Little Cat and Van,

She has been creating problems for some of us so we're avoiding her.The cat incident is actually considered very mild.Her knack is prying personal information of one then telling it to someone else, with a lot of salt and spices thrown in.
Think I will stop talking about her...else spoil my mood for the whole day.I am looking forward to a nice dinner with the husband

Sophie,

Sally is pretty dark.Maybe because of the camera flash, her fur appears lighter.I think she's a lovely cat too but she has no bf leh!My neighbour's female cat has a male cat visiting her daily.Very sweet.Sally's size and temper probably scare potential suitors away

Little Cat,

How come you going KL?Pregnant must rest more.Give birth then go lah.

Thanks but I am not model material haha!Married liao become yellow-faced.
You can click on the individual pictures to maximise it...the small size ones distort the images.

hehe.. reli under pressure to grill a nice looking chicken.. but my hubby sure blur one, how come must take photograph of my grill chicken.. hahahaha..... i can imagine his confusion already...

thanks lyn for the welcome.. take care n rest whenever baby is napping.. i not yet reach that "stage" but can empathise how u muz be feeling liaoz..

littlecat, i was at lucky plaza too... the shark fin shop.. hehehe.... "so close yet so far" hor...

other than good food at lucky plaza, those who buy 4D n toto can buy from that shop opposite the coffee shop... i read from papers that shop very "lucky".. already got record number of toto winners... (just abit of side gossip.. dont mind hor...
kao_embarrassed.gif

amelia, can i see the photos too????

Amelia,
Heh, your neighbour's cat very happening! haha, got bf visiting her every day? My cats are sterilised, so I guess no more sexual urge and so no need for bfs. They just behave like sisters to each other... not sure if they exhibit lesbian-like cat behaviour though

As for your "friend", just have as little contact with such "friends" as possible... my philosophy is - if she cannot control what she says, then why should I waste my time with her and risk getting upset by her? Already so much suffering in this world, why create more for others or for ourselves?

What are you ladies cooking tonight? Now that I am confined to the flat, I dream of recipes although I think when I am more energetic, I may lose the focus. Last night, was thinking of making prawns with mango salsa served with butter rice and pinenuts.

Amelia, i don't want to travel too, but cos my dad is quite ill, he is 87 this year.. i also scare... so must go see him.

sophie, last time if my mom didn't bring me together i will be very sad too... cos i am the youngest most of the time she will bring me

the hum if not cooked thoroughly no good... the Hep A thing.. also if you dun have Morning Sicknes is ok, if not like u say later puke hor very jia-lard one...
but for me initial period also can't take too bland food, want something more tasty...
how is the check up?

LittleCat,
Sorry to hear that your dad is ill, but you still must remember to take care of yourself and not get dehydrated as the heat during the journey can be torturous. Plus, I think your dad would be glad to see his grandson too.

I am immune against Hep A, and today I told the auntie to cook the hum thoroughly, so should be OK.
Got Morning Sickness, but more like evening sickness... they really come quite bad after dinner, even though I eat very little for dinner.
I like stronger-tasting food too, but gynae says spices will make my gastric &amp; wind problem worse, so today's half bowl of laksa was a real treat for me.

Checkup is ok; doc says I'm in 9th week now and baby is growing fine. After today's jab, he doesn't want to jab me next week. Hopefully nothing goes wrong and then I will go back to see him in 11th week again. I asked him about OSCAR and he says he doesn't believe in doing it. He will do some Triple Test at 15th week for me. I trust him, so will just listen to him

Sophie, good to hear everything is fine!

stay happy and chat with us more ;)

so what is the diff between OSCAR and Triple Test?
for me above 35, aminocentesis is the most accurate.
me too, more like evening sicknes. breakfast &amp; lunch ok to take, although doesn't taste good to me. but dinner time is a torture.
luckily it goes away after 3rd month

Sophie,

I emailed u earlier.

Tonight I gonna eat out or tabao.

My neighbour's cat is spay-ed too but still manages to find bfs.Your cats are both female!I thought one of them is male since they look so loving!

Good to hear your checkup went very well!
I agree with Little Cat on chatting here with us to keep yourself happy and occupied.

I was telling "the friend" I am having an ocd problem(diagnosed in feb) in confidence then she blah(with lots of exaggeration on her part) to some other people(i feel bad enough having ocd).I just blocked her on msn yesterday and will ignore all her calls.

Little Cat,

Sorry leh..didn't know your dad is ill.he'll be happy seeing you and his grandson.Ask your ang to drive slowly hor.
Eat more delicious m'sia food for us!
I heard milk powders in m'sia is cheap..you can buy them in bulk.

Amelia,
You've got mail!
Yeah, that's a good start to avoiding unnecessary stress

Don't worry about your ocd problem or any other problem for that matter. I believe that as long as you can recognise any problem, you are already one step closer to solving/tackling it!

LittleCat,
I'm not exactly sure about the tests, but this is what I read:
OSCAR - "performed during 11-14 weeks of gestation, and consists of the measurements of Nuchal Translucency, maternal serum level of Pregnancy Associated Plasma Protein-A (PAPP-A), and free beta-human Chorionic Gonadotropin (free beta-hCG)." So I think it consists of both blood tests and scan. Most of my friends did this test at 12th week.
taken from http://www.fetalmedicine.hk/en/oscardetails.asp

Triple Test - "The triple screen test is a maternal blood screening test that looks for three specific substances: AFP, hCG, and Estriol." Gynae says to do this at 15th week.
taken from http://www.americanpregnancy.org/prenataltesting/tripletest.html

According to my gynae, taking OSCAR create unnecessary anxiety cos if nothing is wrong, then OK. But if results are no good, then have to wait a few weeks before doing amnio, and that few weeks can be too stressful for the mother. So he says just do Triple Test and move on from there.

Then I kept bugging him about the "detailed scan" that my friends did during OSCAR, and he just told me that's all hoohah... there's no such thing as "detailed scan" and that whatever there is, I can see from his machine
He probably thinks this girl very silly!

hmm... seems like most pple get evening sickness rather than morning sickness.

Heh, coming into this thread does make me very happy, especially when I see pictures of food *drool* and hear of good recommendations of places to eat

Sophie,Littlecat,
Thanks for the info.Will go and try the Nasi Lemak early tomorrow,to beat the lunch time crowd since both of you said it's always long Q.

Starz,
After reading what you said about the 4D booth,die die must go and buy TOTO! Wish me Good Luck!

Sophie,
Glad to hear that your baby is growing fine! Continue to stay relax and happy.....by chatting with us!

I still remembered the 1st 3mths I don't have morning sickness or evening sickness, but I actually had <u>ALL-DAY</u> sickness.

I can only take limited food and drinks.Tea Kosong with self-brought lemon slice,sea food beehoon soup,tau sar pau,lemon puff biscuit,satay beehoon and curry fish head,so pathetic.-No wonder my dd is a fussy eater now!

Littlecat,
Though on the way to KL got lots of nice food, don't eat too full since you are driving up,may not be too comfortable for long hour drive. When you reach there then eat more!

little cat,
hv a good trip up to KL, yr dad will be so happy to see u &amp; his grandson, hee.

sophie,
yr posting abt how u were left behind &amp; u cried... so poor thing
I must remember not to do that to my son, hehe.

Van,
all day sickness? that sounds really terrible, if me sure I phobia dare not preggie again...

amelia,
u r right abt milk powder in Msia, u know, yesterday I just noticed an old brand introducing new pdts - FM for 0-6m and 6-12m. selling super cheap, can u believe, 1.1kg softpack of FM only RM20.90? hmm, no wonder bf is not popular, bf is so tough while FM so easy and convenient and cheap some more. imagine PIS here is RM1500 can buy how many kgs of FM...

starz,
waiting for yr yummy roast chicken pic, hehehe...

annlee,
do u like wheatgrass? I think I tasted before last time but didn't like it... healthy things just don't taste too good to me, oops.

lyn,
oh, so high acid body will feel tired even if sleep a lot, sounds like me.
so what should I do now, how to change to alkaline?

sp, i never try fresh wheatgrass juice before, only those wheatgrass which must mix with water and is sweet. In the paper says wheatgrass is king of alkaline food.

<font color="0000ff">annlee,</font>
Fresh wheatgrass juice taste just like concentrated chlorophyll. It's an acquired taste, so just psycho yourself that it's good for your body and drink it. Remember not to gulp it, but sip it slowly by swirling around your mouth in sips, cos I read somewhere it reacts with the enzymes in our saliva. I like it, but now don't dare to drink it now cos scared too liang. Here's some info:
http://www.happyjuicer.com/wheatgrass/how-much-wheatgrass.asp

Eh, for those thinking of juicing it yourself, it will not work on our usual kind of centrifugal fruit juicer as it is grass, and our juicer will just cut the grass up without producing any juice. You need a wheatgrass extractor like this http://www.happyjuicer.com/green-star-juicer-review.asp

<font color="0000ff">sp,</font>
Don't worry, I think modern mummies nowadays are more sensitive and won't do such things to their kids
Come to think of it, my mum is not that insensitive actually, but I think she really cannot handle so many kids at one go!

Heh, sp, I agree... deep-fried chicken definitely taste better than wheatgrass juice!

<font color="0000ff">Van,</font>
All-day sickness sounds bad! OK, now I am more thankful for my mostly-evening sickness

Hope you'll like the nasi lemak, and good luck on your 4D! Happy shopping too! *envy*

Food completes me.Can't imagine if I have all day sickness.I'll be very miserable.

Sophie,

Thanks I should overcome it with time.

I went to the The Joyous Vet yesterday and attending doctor Ng Shu Ying was very gentle to Sally.She did massages on Sally which made her completely relaxed.I swear my little brat was enjoying herself!

This is the clinic's website.The vets are great with cats.
http://www.tjv.com.sg/homepage.htm

Replying your email now.

Van,

There's a well-known Nasi Lemak store at Yew Tee food court, always a queue.Not too bad but most of the food items are fried.They have some kind of award which they proudly display infront of their stall.

I tabao-ed dinner from Kopitiam at Sunshine Place last night and wow, the food is average.Worse than Lot1 and Yew Tee food courts.

What did you eventually cook for your hubby's homecoming?He got gan dong until biao(1) lei(4) or not hehe?!

sp,

BF is very popular in s'pore leh if you read this forum.Formula milk babies are in the minority.But I agree it's so tempting to buy formula milk since it's so convenient and cheap.

I don't know if i will breastfeed when my time comes.I probably would only do it for 6 months but i were to breastfeed then switch to formula.

Amelia,
This vet looks interesting... sounds like a very holistic approach. But too far for me leh, cos I stay in Bishan. I normally take my cats to the Animal Recovery Clinic at Balestier.

Eh, I'm a bit suaku after staying home for so long. Is CCK anywhere anywhere near Bukit Panjang? Cos my MIL stays in Bukit Panjang, and I love the Chinese restaurant at Ten Mile Junction (the one with Sheng Siong). Not a very high-class restaurant, but more like a zhi-char in aircon environment. Very yummy food and friendly boss. Cannot remember the name though.

I am back! Tried the Nasi Lemak.It's nice! Fish very crispy,I asked for all fish instead of chicken wings or otar. The rice taste "light".I was worried that the rice will make me feel bloated from the coconut milk,and wanted to order tea kosong,but didn't becos of long q.Surprisingly,I didn't feel bloated after eating the rice.

Amelia,
I go to Yew Tee Food Court very often.But seldom buy nasi lemak from that stall,usually ordered Fried Beehoon with crispy Ikan Kuning.

The char kway teow at Sunshine Place is quite alright,did you try?

I cooked sweet potato porrdige,my dd's favourite.Jiang1 Cong1 Yu2 Pian4,stir fried honey peas with XO sauce(my hb's favourite sauce),fu yong egg and braised peanuts last night,very simple meals, so don't think he will Gan Dong.

Sophie,
CCK is quite near to Bt Panjang,there is LRT from CCK to Bt Panjang, besides taking bus.

What are the nice dishes in that Zhi-Char restaurant you mentioned?

I didn't go Orchard for shopping, went for a free Foot Spa treatment at True Spa with a friend. They called me and offer free foot spa/eye treatment/back massage. Initially I refused to go, didn't want to face the hard selling,but they assure me that they won't and even allow me to bring a friend.So I went there with my friend who work in Taka.

The treatment is good,the staff who did the treatment for us are very friendly,but the price is not cheap.

Though the other service staff didn't push us to sign up, but both my friend and I feel that she is not sincere,put on a VERY fake smile, when we said we are not signing up anything yet.

hi kaki

I have posted " Cancer - Useful Information" at the yahoo. cos quite a long one, but i find the info is very useful.

Just some highlight:
- Every person has cancer cells in the body. These cancer cells do not show up in the standard tests until they have multiplied to a few billion.
- When the person's immune system is strong the cancer cells will be destroyed and prevented from multiplying and forming tumours.
CANCER CELLS FEED ON:
- Sugar is a cancer-feeder
- Milk causes the body to produce mucus, especially in the gastro-intestinal tract. Cancer feeds on mucus.
- Cancer cells thrive in an acid environment.
- A diet made of 80% fresh vegetables and juice, whole grains, seeds, nuts and a little fruits help put the body into an alkaline environment.

moo moo moo... Here I come again gals... hahaha... Baby now sleeping
Today much better... Yesterday, carried whole afternoon from 2.30pm to 6pm. Cry and cry... Then went out, need to feed and feed... hahaha... then my hubby carry and carry whole nite till he slept...

Wah.. you gals talking about wheatgrass... It's very good. Another alternative is Alfafa sprouts which you put in salad

Sophie,
Your hubby also so healthy ah.. I am sure you will have a healthy baby
I am happy for you that your baby is growing well...
Be positive...

littlecat,
hahaha... you eat the fish till no bone left...

starz,
stress ah.. hahaha... nice nice roast chicken...

Van,
Strike toto got treat bor? kekeke... :p

sp,
Healthy food are usually not as delicious... hahaha... cos we are used to the not so healthy food already. When you change your palate, the not so healthy food not delicious anymore...
To have a more alkaline body, not too alkaline, eat more fruits and vegetables. Eat very little seafood.

welcome back moo moo!! wow yesterday was a tough day for u huh? never mind weekend coming, hope got more helper

gals, i am not going up KL this weekend.
After so much thinking and considering... and kena nagging...

i had a bad experience last year, i am just so scare the history will repeat... although the gynae said it wasn't due to that ...

van wow nice dinner leh, i can feel it is FULL OF LOVE!! :D
Glad u like the nasi lemak too! next to it got the fish meehoon, also very long Q.

sophie/sp, sometime i dun know if my son feel happier with the auntie. cos he will get what he want. With us we will be more straight to him.. skali if i dun go with him, he is like 'hooray'!!
alamak..

amelia/sp, yeah the milk powder in malaysia is cheaper, but hor the 'ingredient' is slightly diff. one of my fren went to compare haha u won't believe it but she DID! then she tell me it is not the same..

also heard hor some drinks sell to Malaysia is less hygeien i bet they will do the same for other food stuffs...
But now my son can drink any milk so not so particular of certain brand liao

littlecat,
Yalor... yesterday very tiring day... I looked so tired at nite... shower also got no energy.. lol.. today ok liao
baby sleep and sleep

hmm.. better have more rest...

Sophie,

I am not sure if the vets in Joyous Vet practice holistically but they have a way of handling nervous cats.You can tell they genuinely care for your pets and the service is personalised.We stayed in the clinic for an hour chatting with the vet and doing detailed checks, and we never felt rushed.They also issued Sally her very own super cute IC.If you're dropping by Bukit Panjang, you can bring your cats there.

I want to eat the Zhi char at Ten-Mile Junction too!What are the recommended dishes?

Van,

Haven't tried the char kway teow since yesterday was my first visit to the place.Will eat it when I go there again.

I love your simple teochew-style dinner!
kao_drool.gif
What's in your egg fu yong?Sounds very delicious.Your dd and hub got kou-fu.
kao_drool.gif

Little Cat and sp,

I am using this Clean and Clear Daily Pore Cleanser which is made in M'sia, and I compared the ingredients with the made in US one.I found that the M'sia one has better non-pore clogging ingredients.

Maybe sp can tell us more about the milk powder and drinks

Lyn,

Sounds very hectic!You try to rest more!

hey lyn,
Welcome back, mooo mooo! Shower also got no energy? Must be super shagged! Luckily it's weekend now, recover and rest well!

Van,
Nasi lemak is nice? Urgh... next time I must go early to try it *drool* I also feel pressured going for these free trial facials and spas, cos they always hard-sell. It's a good idea to go with a friend.

LittleCat,
Just as well that you will not be doing the long trip, esp. when you mentioned you had a bad experience before. Even if the trip is not over tiring, it could be mentally stressful for you. Hope your dad gets better and soon he'll get to see your new baby too!

Don't hu si luan xiang about your son. Of course your son is close to you. My niece is also close to my mum cos she gets doted by grandparents. But as she grew older and got into Pri. Sch, she knows my sis loves her even though my sis is super fierce with her. Somehow the love for a mum is different from the love for a grandparent/relative, so don't worry so much!

Thanks for the info on the cancer cells... it's very useful. I also believe in the acidic and mucus thingy, that's why I don't drink milk at all. Heh, I confess a disgusting thing - when I did my fasting 3 yrs ago, we kept our pee (before fasting) in a bottle and let it sit for a week. After 1 week, we saw stringy mucus-like stuff in it. Goes to show how unhealthy our before-detox diet was! After the detox, the body felt spring-cleaned and super-charged that we turned vegetarians for awhile. Then after my m/c, kenna nagged by parents and in-laws for not eating meat, so now eat abit more meat. But the wheatgrass juice every once a week is a good and less radical way to detox than fasting. But dunno if pregnant can still drink wheatgrass, so better wait till having given birth then try if you want to.

Van, Amelia,
The restaurant at 10-mile junction is called "something Taste", not the "something-wok" halal place which has no business at all. What we tried:
- Curry Fishhead (my MIL likes it, I find it so-so)
- Thai-style fried beancurd is not bad
- Claypot beanburd which I like... maybe cos I am a tofu person
- Stir-fried veges are usually nice and not oily... sambal kangkong not bad
- Jiang Cong Yu Pian not bad, no fishy smell (but maybe Van's one is better
- Sweet &amp; Sour spareribs not bad
- Yam basket is always out of stock, so I never got to try it altho I am a big fan of that

I think DBS card got 10% discount at this restaurant - dunno if promo still valid though.

Lyn,
poor moo moo,so tired from carrying the bb (Oh no, now everyone started calling you moo moo now), you have to carry the baby from 2.30pm to 6pm,is it because he kept crying? Is it due to colic/stomach wind? Does your mother/MIL come over on weekend to help out,so that you could have more rest?

Only bought $3 TOTO at that recommended Lucky Plaza Store, hope it's really Lucky for me,then buy you gals lunch,ha ha!

Amelia,
I added onion and prawns to the egg fu yong.Went to the market late, so didn't get char siew.

Sophie,
Now I have one more place to go during weekends,so many nice dishes there,hopefully can go and try out this weekend.Thanks!

There is another place I like to go when it's raining,or on a cold day.The Yu2 Tou2 Lu2 at Bt Timah,opposite Bt Timah shopping centre,at the end nearer to Courts. I think it's called Tian1 Wai4 Tian1.

I usually order Red Garouper slices pot,so don't have to worry about fish bones.Their San1 Bei1 Ji1(3 cups chicken also very good,even my fussy dd likes it).

After eating at that shop, I always commented to my hb I feel very satisifying and "healthy" eating there!

sp,
Though I had All-day sickness 1st 3mths, and immobile due to arthritis for the last 3 mths, I don't have phobia of having #2,right after delivery.

It's only when dd started to walk, lots of conflicts and stress from my super paranoid hb then I started to have phobia of having #2.

Sophie,

Husband asked me this morning whether i wanted to go Ten-Mile Junction today haha but I feel like staying in to watch Growing Up Wild on Animal Planet.If I am not too lazy later, I may go to the Zhi Char.

Van,

I thought egg fu yong has gravy on it?Or am I mistaken?Mine is omelette style also and without gravy.

I am thinking of having one kid then close shop...kids nowadays quite expensive leh but my hub wants 2.Hopefully my kid is a girl then I can do up her hair, dress her in nice cotton floral dresses and bring her shopping.

Your hub so cute..normally is the wife that is paranoid...

Hi Van,
There is Yu Tou Lu at Bt Timah? I love Yu Tou Lu; always go to the "Whampoa" one which has opened a shop at Balestier, but it's sooooo crowded. I think my MIL will like it cos so healthy... may bring her to the Bt Timah one next time. I've had San Bei Ji at BottleTree Sembawang before; it's like a kind of braised chicken in dark sauce yeah? Why do they call it "3 cups chicken"?

So you're gonna stop at one kid? Actually Amelia has a point; kids are so expensive nowadays, not just in monetary terms, but also in emotional terms. Don't know how my mother got the guts to have 5 kids!

Amelia,
Go try the zhi-char tonight for dinner and let us know your verdict. I may have an easier tastebud so your review will be useful too

Here's a picture of my lunch today. Sick and tired of outside food, and thought of lyn's apple pork chops so decided to try it... yummy

469259.jpg

Tonight my mum and uncles doing a major cookout at a chalet in Changi, so I'm gonna step out of my flat for the first time in 4 weeks
I feel so excited, like some primary schoolkid going for her long-awaited excursion!

Amelia,
I may be going Ten Mile Junction later as well, after reading Sophie's recommendations!

My egg fu yong is also omelette style,and my dd likes the egg cooked until crispy at the sides.

Hey my hb so "cute"? ha ha! if you were me, you definitely won't feel that way.

May be when you after you have no. 1, you will change your mind and go for No.2, or even No.3.!

Sophie,
It's called San Bei Ji becos the orginal,Taiwanese version calls for 1 cup of wine,1 cup of sesame oil and 1 cup of soya sauce.

You always present your meals to look so appetising and yummy,drooling....
kao_drool.gif
and how come my apple pork char didn't look as crispy and golden brown huh?

Enjoy your "excursion"tonight! If I am confined at home for 4 weeks, think I will also be as excited, can't wait to go out!

back to my mum's house.. my reno in new house still ongoing

Wah.. miss reading so many of your posts !Thanks for the info about cancer.. I always tell my friends, straight away mati never mind, but if must spend lots of money still no cure, very terok !

Eh cat, have a safe trip up to KL, wah.. can't help but think of the good food there like fried pigs intestines porridge and the chee cheong fun !
You looking for Conf nanny, is it ? If this one bagus, will sure recommend her to you ..
BTw, I also booked one massage lady from Harem ( from July Simply Her mag)..can feel my bladder macham dropping.. will tell you ladies if its good too..

hey van, glad that your dd got in SV, mine got to wait till phase 2C, ha.. left 64 vacacies only.. stress liao !
what nasi lemak you ate ? from where ?

Hey soph, glad that you are up and about , cooking a big storm too, your apple pork chop def looks better than mine, you gei liao boh? Mine was a a little tough tho the seasoning was good..
yours 9 weeks , should be stabilised by now ?

Thanks for the tips on detox, besides wheatgrass, what other drinks can detox ? Heard that the green lemon also helps, but diff to squeeze.

Yo Moo moo lyn, how's bb ? drinking and sleeping well?
mine this time round aft 2 weeks, bb grew 100 gms only, as compared to previous 4 months 1kg increase ! hee.. doc was not very pleased with the results..
So what's your diet now ? Still conf food boh ?

Hey amelia, about your cake that your mom baked on your 7th bday, must be very nice ah and memorable..

That day we had steamboat dinner at 7th storey hotel , the hums were very fresh.. but the place a bit panas !

Have a terrific weekend ladies!

Van,
Thanks for info on the San Bei Ji! My curiosity is finally satisfied. My sis first introduced me to this dish at BottleTree, then when I asked her why it's got such a funny name, my pig of a sis just answered "Aiyah, just eat lah. Don't ask so much!"
Typical "sisterly" answer!

Van, Choc,
You both are quite sharp huh? How you know I use a different method and also "gei liao"?

What I did for apple pork chops:
Marinate for pork chops - I use the simple "Van" method of soy sauce, pepper and sesame oil plus honey at the last 5 mins. But I use much lesser and lighter soy sauce as I don't want the soy sauce and apples taste to clash. Grill the pork chops as per normal in the oven. The applesauce are piled on top of the pork chops only upon serving.

Applesauce - Cook the peeled &amp; chopped apples in a saucepan together with some raisins and unsweetened apple juice (if you don't like it too sweet, you can use water and a bit of sugar). If you find it not sweet enough, you can add just a pinch of sugar which will help bring out the sweetness in the apples. (Optional: When the apples are soft, throw in a pinch of cinnamon powder or allspice). When the apples are soft and juice thickened, you can use a masher or fork to roughly mash up only some of the apples so the sauce has a pulpy texture yet contains some lumpy apples. Serve over pork chops which should be cooked by now.

Total cooking time: 20-25mins (As you are grilling pork chops, you cook applesauce, so it's not so time-consuming).

Note: I forgot to mash up half the apples... maybe too hungry, just pile everything on top and got too lazy to re-do it, so apples in photo are all in pieces. If you like it this way, you can skip the mashing part too.

Sneaking out to eat breakfast now... will come back and update you guys on the chalet cookout with 2 interesting dishes

At Bt Timah hawker ctr nw,connect 2 Web while waiting 4 food.

Sophie,
Had Yu Tou Lu last nite.the name is Bu Ye Tian,not Tian Wai Tian.must hv seen 2 much of TWT's advert.
if u r going,ask ur hb 2 drop u off at the shop 1st,so u could ask for a table n place order 1st.by the time ur hb parked the car n walk back,timing will b just right.

Woah, Van, 3G phone very cool... can check forums/emails and still type a decently long message! Thanks for the name and tips on Yu Tou Lu. Looking forward to it when I can get out of my flat and visit my MIL next time round

Choc,
Although I'm off the jabs now, gynae says still must be confined to homerest for the next 2 weeks, even though I complained I needed to do some serious shopping for bigger undies for my ballooning hips! He says wear my hubby clothes and boxers, and save money for the baby!
Yesterday's chalet outing was actually me sneaking out on my part - mostly sat around and walked to BBQpit and kitchen to steal food only, but still very tired when I came home. Must really build up my leg muscles again in 2nd tri, else dunno how to tahan the full weight next time.

Choc, when are you due exactly? How many months are you now and how heavy is your baby? Maybe it's all the moving around that's why you haven't been putting on weight?

Hi kakis,
During my family chalet cookout yesterday, other than the usual prawn and pepper crab dishes, one of my health-conscious uncle made 2 interesting dishes - thought of sharing with you guys. But forgot to take pics cos I was too busy eating
Not very sure of the exact ingredient amount so need to do some trial &amp; error, or you guys may have some input.

1. Steamed egg alla chawanmushi style
Mash some beancurd (non-sweetened tau huay) thru a sieve. Add in beaten egg thru the sieve too. Then add in sliced shitake, finely chopped carrots and spring oinions and chicken stock. Mix all together and steam them in a shallow casserole dish.
Note: Do not beat egg/mixture too vigorously or the steam egg will have lots of bubbles. You can use silken tofu instead of tau huay, but final texture will be firmer and not so soft.

2. "Buddha-hand gourd fried in milky chilli
Fry some minced dried prawns (hae-bee) in oil. Add minced chilli and fry till fragrant. Add sliced gourd and fresh milk. Simmer covered in wok till gourd is cooked.

Choc,

Which school is your dd going to? Phase 2C very very stressful.If not because of hb's old school connection, I would have to "fight" with others for the 58 vacancies at SV during Phase 2C.

My friend taught me about the Green Lemon thing, but she said it's for slimming,didn't tell me about detox,may be it's detox to slim? She would squeeze out the juice all at one ago, then freeze it.Every morning, just add 1 cube to a glass of water.

I went to Lucky Plaza,near 4D booth for Nasi Lemah......recommended by LittleCat and Sophie.

<font color="0000ff">Today's Sunday Times has an interview,recommended Ayam Penyet at Lucky Plaza.Anyone tried?

Also, yesterday's Weekend Today recommended Peranankan Food at Joo Chiat Road,'named Peramakan.Also feel like trying,but it's closed on Sunday. They said their beef rendang,chap chye and fish maw soup are the best.</font>

Sophie,
Now I can read forums and emails on the go while waiting for my dd to finish her class,not so boring.The email is really on-the-go, and will alert me when new msgs come in....cool! But the web connection is still not as good as PDA type of HP.

Wanted to go Ten Mile Junction last night, but hb not convinved that Ten Mile Junc.is no longer a ghost town,and he missed Yu Tou Lu,so I gave in since he's going to fly Bangkok tomorrow.

Have you tried the 5-star Zi-Char at Bt Timah? Business seems to be really good that they are taking up 2 shop space. I tried there many years ago,food is good, not sure about the standard now.

How about shopping online and have them delivered to your door step? Your gynae is really funny, even suggested you wearing hb's clothes.

Amelia,
Did you go Ten Mile Junction last night?

Went to Si Ma Lu today.Bought dried goods.

<font color="119911">Dried Conch/Xiang Luo Gan,as seen in Hong Kong's Cookbook:</font>
470014.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Xiang Luo Pian,also called Bao (as in abalone) Pian by some Chinese Medical Hall</font>

470015.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">Dried Sea-Coconut/Fei Zhou Hai Di Ye</font>
470016.jpg

Choc, Van,
What is green lemon? Is it just an unripe lemon? Don't think I've ever seen it at NTUC before. Saw a green lime-lemon looking fruit before that's the size between a lemon &amp; lime, but the label was "honey lime". Not the same yeah?

Van,
Thanks for pics. The one Fu Hua &amp; ZTP selling is the Xiang Luo Pian in the 2nd pic. They don't have the kind in the first pic.

Never tried the 5-star zi-char at Bt Timah before. In fact, I am not very familiar with Bt Timah area. if you try it, let me know if it's any good.

Eh, I also saw the reviews on the peranakan place and ayam penyet! Love peranakan food, so may pop by that place to try it one day. As for ayam penyet, if Najip Ali's Indonesian friends say it's authentic, it must be good huh? Before I saw this review, I actually wanted to try the one in Beach Road recommended by the Chinese variety show (http://ch8.mediacorptv.com/shows/variety/episodes/744/1/3/.html). Michelle Xie's verdict on this Beach Road one was that overall it is the dry authentic Indonesian type, tender on the inside, crispy on the outside without the flour kind of batter. And it's got a good helping of "crispies" made from flour sprinkled on top of the chicken which makes the chicken very good, and sambal also good.

Also want to try the Warung Nasir place in Kiliney Road that Najip Ali was talking about today. I love nasi padang! *drool* So far my favourite nasi padang is the one at River Vally Road opposite Great World City, the one where they keep their recipes in a safe! The style is a little more javanese rather than pure malay, cos some of the veges are sourish, which is quite tantalising for the tastebuds. Sambal belachan is to die for too! Aiyoh... talk about food, I can go on &amp; on

Yep, was thinking of doing online shopping for lots of things from CDs, books to clothes, but a bit worried about clothes sizing!