Cooking Tips & Recipe

van,
my mum told me not to buy oven, she will give me one when we move hse. so mean time I use my MIL's toaster which no temp control one.

amelia,
thanks for sharing the recipe, I'm so tempted to try, hehe.

I love Ramly burger too, it's everywhere in Msia.

Pris,
we miss u too, u hv been busy for so long!

Amelia,
My block is across the field, the block with semi-circle balcony facing Lot 1.

Goodwood Park's high tea(buffet style) is one of our favourites!Another favourite is Marriot hotel's.

Any good hi-tea for weekday ? planning to go tomolo.

my taste bud change again, now i like italian food :p
even like the salad etc... that was once i can't take the raw vege.

i went to the Pasta Fresca at bukit timah. like the spaghetti and the Seafood Marinara, tomato base.
anyone know how to make the sauce? cos their sauce although is tomato base but it doesn't taste like those Prego type of tomato base leh...

LitteCat,
Goodwood Park's also available during weekday. Not sure about Marriot's though,as we always go during weekends.

Pan Pacific Hotel's also not bad.Carlton's and Orchard Hotel Okay. Hyatt has both local high tea and English high tea. Plaza by the park,Traders Hotel can give it a miss. Mandarin Hotel and Westin not much stuff.

Sorry for having MIA for soooooo long! Really miss talking to you guys! Thanks to those who asked about me and remembered me

I've been ordered to do bedrest for the last 4 weeks which was why I have not logged in at all. The next 3-4 weeks will be better... just homerest, meaning I can at least walk around the flat more and hang out at the computer to talk to you guys again.

Van,
The NUS TCM course looks interesting. It's conducted in Chinese yeah? Maybe I'll ask my mum if she wants to do it, but I think high chance she will say no, cos during that period, she'll be busy doing my sister's confinement for her. For myself, I would love to do it, but don't think I can handle it cos my written Chinese is quite bad

Amelia,
You have a cat at home? I'm a dog and cat lover too... have got 2 cats at home. Each time I see a stray, I want to bring it home, but hubby has to stop me each time, cos 2 cats at home are already giving us enough headache in terms of their fur!

Annelise,
Take care of yourself... you sound really tired out!

Lyn,
You baby looks really cute
He's got very nice and dark hair! Are you going to shave him at 1 mth old?

sp,
Woah, you're now an expert at baking with toaster oven! The orange cupcakes sound nice... maybe I'll try it when I am better and can move around more. I also love the Ramly Special Burger... somehow the ones in Malaysia are more yummy than the ones in SG pasar malam.

LittleCat,
Salmon belly is nice? I like the fats on the belly, but got funny fishy smell or not? Cos I bought from NTUC once, and cos got fishy smell, I gave them to my cats... guess what? The 2 picky cats wouldn't even touch it at all

Choc,
You still in Timbuctoo?

Pris,
Nice to see you drop by... haven't seen you for so long!

Hi Van, thanks for sharing
It's a good idea to offer her something sweet after each small sip - you are really patient! I'll try that later, although I'd have to offer her something savoury since she hasn't got a sweet tooth! Wish me luck! Now dd1 is also down with a fever
I just gave her paracetamol and sent her to bed. I'm coming down with it as well - hope I don't need antibiotics, I'm overdosed already from the past few months! Btw, which brand of vits do you give her? I've tried those that are like gummies but they don't really like them.

Hi LittleCat, I understand what you mean, my dd2 also super "cow strength", although she is very petite! Good to know that it gets better with age - it's good that he likes orange-flavoured meds, I think mine will take it only if it's flavoured like Twisties or Cheezels!

Have you tried Ragu pasta sauce? I prefer it to Prego. I haven't eaten seafood marinara at Pasta Fresca before but my hb's seafood pasta is quite nice
He usually puts a bit of butter to the olive oil when frying the ingredients and adds some white wine whilst frying the seafood before adding the pasta sauce. He doesn't add a lot of pasta sauce to the mixture, just enough to give it colour and taste so that the tomato taste is not overpowering.

Hi sp, yeah you've really mastered the art of baking in a toaster! Wah, your mum is so nice, buying you an oven when you move to your own place

Hi Soph, good to see you back here! The last we heard from you some weeks back was when you said you were on bedrest - good to know that you are a bit more mobile now
I was on bedrest too with my 2nd one - luckily my dd1 was an easy toddler and could play by herself with min supervision! Take care

Hi Pris, good to hear from you too. The SAHM thread has moved to (Temp Holding Place), I think. Have you tried any new recipes lately?

little cat,
yr little bb inside loves Italian food and healthy vege, kekeke...

annelise,
wah, yr hb knows how to cook delicious meals, u r so lucky!

sophie,
happy to see u back! how did u pass time for the past 4 weeks while on bed rest? can't imagine if I hv to be away from my computer for so long, sure suffer severe withdrawal symtoms... hehehe...

wah, yr cats also very "discerning" hor, salmon got smell refuse to eat, lol...

annelise,
my mum will "donate" one of her ovens to me, she got small medium large. I think I'll take her toaster oven since I used to small one already, hehehe...

re: buffet
last sat hb & I went to eat Japanese buffet. we more than 1 yr never eat buffet already, so I ate and ate and enjoyed stuffing myself... like a glutton... very fat now but still thinking of eating more buffet

Sophie, good to hear from u again!

yeah i miss the computer while i was on holiday, cos i miss this thread!
haha your cat got character hor ?
it does have some smell, but i can tong, remember i am a 'cat' too hehe..
but i think i will try Annlee's suggestion to put a bit of miso base it should cover the fishy smell.

van, u r really the hi-tea queen leh :D
btw i try to clean my electrical pot with the thing wow it is really so clean!!!
i was so happy every time when i boil water seeing the pot is so white and clean haha! thanks to your tips!

wonder is there a lots of hum at Timbuctoo? if not why my sister choc MIA for so long...

annelise, the vit C i gave my son is from Nature farm, the orange flavour one. cos he doesn't like gummy bear so i didn't get those. I tried to get the multi-vit for him, it is those blueberry, kind of berry taste, he eat 2x and said not nice one, that's it. now i got to eat
, if not wasted leh. i dun suggest the orange flavour liver cod, since eating is like feeding medicine, so sweets type is still better.
oh my now is #1? hope they get well soon.

recently lots of kids getting sick, one of my col, he got 3 sons, 1 & 3 got fever and sick, the #2 very cute go to his dad and ask for vit C to protect himself, smart boy!

prisc, how's thing with u? dun get too busy and forget us hor

annelise, yeah forgot your hb can cook well too
eh good leh one prepare main course one prepare dessert! yummy...
any idea how to make the source less tomato taste but still have the rich flavour? do they add milk or cream in there ? just wonder...

hi Annelise,
Your hubby's pasta sounds really good! I also don't like the overly tomato-ey kind of sauce, but his version with white wine sounds gourmet-like! Can't wait to finish my homerest and start cooking again! *drool* Now just crossing fingers everyday that everything will be OK, cos the last time, even with bedrest, the pregnancy could not be saved.

You drink lots of fluids so you don't catch those bacteria/virus from your dds. And maybe up your own dosage of Vit C too. I find that mummies sometimes are so concerned for their children that they neglect their own heath, like my mum. This is very noble, of course, but you must take care of yourself so you can take care of them properly, ok?

hi sp,
4 weeks bedrest is siong man! I think I lost whatever little bit of muscles I have in my legs, and now even just walking a few blocks downstairs makes me tired and panting. But no choice, better listen to doctor and not risk anything. I doze on and off after the medication, so time passes quite quickly. Other times, I just read whatever books I can get my hands on. In fact, I'm reading this quite heavy/boring book on Zheng He's voyages now, and can still find it interesting
Didn't know the Chinese were so advanced and powerful to have sailed almost the whole world even before Columbus!

oh LittleCat,
I take my hat off to you... you can tahan the salmon belly that my cats spurn!
Yeah, they quite picky, more so than me! I've been eating outside food for the last 4 weeks for both lunch & dinner, and never even complain. Feel like ordering tingkat food, but dunno if the food nice or not. Plus I cannot take beans, cabbage, and spicy stuff now, so quite troublesome.

btw, I read that we should try not to eat cod liver or liver cod vitamins, cos liver is where the fish processes the toxins, and hence contains the most toxins, so cod liver oil/vitamins are not recommended.

sophie, pardon me if i have miss out something, cos i didn't login often and sometime miss abit here and there, r u pregnant ? that's why u need to be bedrest?

LittleCat,
Nope, you haven't miss out anything, it's just that I didn't "announce" it "officially". Quite afraid to actually, cos the last time I announced it, I had a hard time explaining to friends who asked about it after the m/c. In fact, this time, I only told my immediate in-laws and my mum. Not even my dad nor my siblings know about it yet. I only plan to tell them once it's more stabilised. And only 2 friends know, cos I do a lot of activities with these friends, and it's difficult to hide from them. I'm not even in any of the MTB forum threads, cos I feel quite stressed just being in there at the moment. Call me silly, but after 4 weeks of bedrest, I now feel more comfortable "hinting" to you guys

Just praying hard that it will be OK this time, and not taking any chances with any activities even like cooking.

sp,

Try it!Kids will love this cake recipe!

Van,

Alright, I will stick to Goodwood then.You're the undisputed queen of high-tea
How's the spread at Hyatt?English high tea sounds enticing.

Sophie,

Oh you're pregnant!Cod liver oil contains high amounts of vitamin A and it's dangerous to the foetus.

Just order tingkat for both lunch and dinner.Tell them what kind of foods you want to exclude.Should be fine.

I have a big fat cat, an american DSH.She weighs about 8kg now and loves her teh-o, red bean bun and blueberry filling bread besides her usual cat food.Your cat food may be the reason why your cats are shedding that much.I heard Science Diet changed their formula and many cats(mine included) couldnt adapt to it and started shedding like crazy, so we switched to ANF and Iams adult ocean fish.
I started from Iams>Purina>Science Diet>ANF>Iams...one big merry-go-round.She seems to be doing very well on ANF and Iams but I am quite tempted for her to try Solid Gold.See how that goes...

Hi Amelia,
Wow, your cat is FAT!
Must be very soft and cuddly like a rug! Hehe, you feed your cats teh-O and all those yummy breads and buns? Cannot let my cats know... they'll be super jealous! My cats are fed strictly on cat food and fish treats, but definitely no human food for them. Maybe that's why they're constantly greedy/hungry and trying to steal my bread/biscuits/garbage bags, so I have to be real careful with storing my food. Mine are streetcats that I picked up, and cos of their strict diet, they're only about 4kg each, or maybe even lesser. Plus my hubby keeps them trim by playing football with them... he's the one who's afraid of them getting too fat!

hmm.. You guessed it, my cats are fed on Science Diet now. They used to eat Solid Gold, but they shed even more fur with that. Then I switched to Nutro, which was slightly better. I only switched them to Science Diet recently. Maybe I will try ANF or Iams next time.

Thanks... I'm trying to be more positive and just say my prayer of thanks everyday

Sophie,

I think you'll be fine.Your gynae will do all the necessary precautions knowing your medical history.Meanwhile, distract yourself with food, cats and books

I am fearful at times too.Imagine married for 4 years and nothing in sight and not even trying haha..mil and sil giving pressure but I simply "switch-off".Who is your gynae?Maybe I need a professional to knock some sense into me.

I prepare the Teh-O for myself but my cat will sneak a drink when I am busy with something.Alamak your hubby is the opposite of mine!My hub is the one feeding all those breads and he insists that Sally is not fat just big-boned and long.Give up!
We buy fish treats for her as well..no wonder she's fat!
What other brands of cat food have you tried?

Hello gals,
Yeah! This thread is alive again!

Sophie,
Welcome back.. Have been wondering where have you been too... "ni hao ma?" Try to take it easy ok?
I will not be shaving him at 1mth
cos "bu she de". I like his hair... :p
Try not to take too much salty food
I read from my book that salt will affect the quality of amniotic fluid...
My family did not know about my pregnancy till week 12
Only my hubby knew at that time. Just avoid the forums that you are not comfortable with
Very fast, it gonna be second trimester

Van,
The course looks very interesting... I have always been interested in health things, including TCM.. kekeke... but I dun think I can go... my hubby sure say I study so much waste money
eh.. if you going for it, can share share with me the tips? kekeke...

Annelise,
How are you recovering? Gotta take good care too
Hope your dd2 get better soon...

sp,
Which Jap buffet did you go? Can recommend? hee.. I haven't tasted Jap buffet before... only go Sakae most of the time... a bit bored already...

wah, so many postings today. So glad that most are back.

Sophie,

Glad to hear from you and the good news.

So my suspicion is right. Cos you mentioned about using the Endo thermal pot during confinement.... then MIA so I sort of suspected.

Relax and rest more.You will be fine!

Actually my written Chinese also getting quite bad.To the extent that I taught my dd one word wrongly,she didn't write one stroke correclty in her Chinese Ting Xie.After that incident,she discounted me as NOT-SO-GOOD mother,cos I taught her wrongly.

Annelise,

You take care of yourself too.

I am currently giving dd Vitasaurus Vitamins,gold from NTUC Healthcare pharmacy. The packaging is a dinoasur shape.

Littlecat
If salmon belly has fishy smell,don't think I can take it.I am rather sensitive to fishy smell.

I used to go high tea quite regulary Pre-SAHM days.Cos I have <font color="0000ff">3 different groups</font> of friends who enjoy food.Can you imagine the hotels I have tried with these 3 groups of friends?

lyn,
I wish I could go to the course.I email the link to hb, hinting to him I am very interested,but I just found out that he didn't read the email that I sent him.

If I go I will definitely share the info here. GOOD things must share mah....

Amelia,
The English high tea at Hyatt doesn't have wide spread.It's more for the ambience,the atmostphere. We actually went in there by mistake, cos we preferred local high tea more that that kind of English high tea.

There is piano,soft and relaxing couch,expensive tea set,English style lazy-susan....When you eat there you will feel like a tai-tai,ha ha!

<font color="0000ff">Amelia</font>,
I was also married for 4 years and didn't TTC. In fact, we tried hard with "natural" forms of contraception cos I was afraid of childbirth. Then one day, it dawned on me that I eventually want to have kids and since I am not young anymore, hubby and I decided that I should quit my job and we TTC actively. We also took awhile before succeeding the first round, although it didn't work out. Then I took a break of close to 5 mths to recover with TCM to "tiao" my body so I can be stronger for my next pregnancy. Hubby and I also took multi-vits faithfully everyday. My current gynae is super kiasu, which suits me and hubby. The food restriction is to prevent wind so I will not be too uncomfortable, cos even the slightest cramps/pains scares me after the bad experience last time. He's also more pro natural birth &amp; will do C-section only if necessary, which I am happy about. If you are interested in seeing him even for a simple pap smear/checkup to check for immunity like rubella etc (which I did before TTC), send me an email from the Yahoo Group and I'll give you the contact!

For wet food, I feed my cats "Snappy Tom" cos it's so convenient, 1 pack divided by 2 for both cats. Then there is another brand which is a Jap brand, very economical at $3.60 from the pet shop at Far East Shopping Centre. One can can feed about 8 to 10 meals, but maybe cos I feed my cats lesser than yours. But it's super yummy, with real tuna and ikan bilis inside. Does not smell like pet food at all... smells just like tuna. If you are interested, I can take a pic of the can tomorrow and post it up to show you. The small can called Merrick is also very yummy, with names like Thanksgiving Dinner &amp; Grammy Pot Pie, but a bit more expensive at $2.35. And I think this small can will only feed your cat one meal... if you split it up into 2 portions like what I do, your cat will probably think you're trying to starve her!

<font color="0000ff">hi lyn</font>,
I am well... trying to stay positive
My mum also "bu she de" shave my hair when young, and it turned out to be ok, as in, I didn't have very thin hair. In fact, I heard of a friend's story about her friend shaving her daughter's hair at 1 month, then it didn't grow back much, only in patches! Maybe it's the trauma of the shaving that scared the poor baby. So am glad to hear you didn't shave your baby's pretty dark hair!

Thanks for the advice on salt. Actually, if I eat homecooked food, I do not even use salt at all, but I guess during this first trimester, because of the homerest, I have no choice but to eat outside food which sure contains some MSG and salt. Just hope that I will be strong enough to cook in my 2nd trimester so I can avoid those unhealthy stuff.

<font color="0000ff">Van</font>,
Hehe, you are sharp! That Sunday I bought the thermal pot, it was actually the 2nd day after I found out the good news. But then I had some spotting the following week, that's why was confined to bedrest and then MIA-ed.

Eh, kids nowadays are very smart. They know who is good at what and will go to that person for those things. I taught my niece a wrong pronunciation before... told her the word was read as "xia" as in xia tian (autumn), and it turned out to be "kang" as in kang fu (recover). After that, she only asked me English/Maths/Science questions... never Chinese anymore!

Enjoy your outing at Globetrotters tomorrow! I hope to join you guys on such outings soon!

sophie,
congrats! so happy to hear yr good news...

van, sophie,
re: teaching wrong things to kids
oh, no, I'll be a lousy "teacher" as I was never good in my studies... or languages...

lyn,
the Japanese buffet we went to is in downtown KL, the variety is limited but the quality of the sushi and raw fish is good. The highlights of this place is the different raw fish slices/ sushi, Mini Monk Jump Over The Wall soup, cheese-baked oysters and the best part is, there is no limit to how many u can take. The downside is, u MUST reserve yr table or else u got to wait outside... it opens at 6.30pm for dinner but b4 that time already got ppl start going in to start eating already... must kiasu go early becoz we notice they didn't top up the Mini Monk Jump Over The Wall soup after it's all gone...

in s'pore, there's this place where we can have Japanese buffet ala-carte style! u sit down, order, they bring to u, after u finish, u order again, they bring to u that kind. I went with my friend years back, but I can't remember where is the place, we took cab there as it's not convenient to take MRT. it's abt S$30+ pp and it was good value for money. some small hotel somewhere near city centre... can't remember...

Anne, how's your kids now,getting better?

My elder sons just recovered and now is my younger one to fall sick haiz... never have a good sleep for one weeks already and now my poor boy turn,having fever.Give him profen and some leng yang hope it helps to recover faster

hi Sophie! i am really happy to hear the good news, stay positive, we are here for u

I know how u feel about not to tell people, i had a bad experience also... after that when I PG i keep telling myself my baby is going to be fine going to be a healthy baby etc...
u know for me have to do the aminocentesis test, during the waiting time it is really a torture, but i keep telling myself things will be ok ok ok!

My SIL just gave birth last December, she also has spotting at early stage, but everything is fine, so not to worry too much.

lyn, my son also, i didn't shave at first, cos he got lots of hair and his hair very funny not sure is due to the vacuum due delivery, his hair pointing up, like pile of grass. i dun want to shave although all the aunties said must.
later no choice cos his hair too much and may be due to wet weather his scalp got some infection, so at the end 'botak'! but hor after that the new hair grow out really nice leh!
he and his dad is the same, hairy people! his dad full of hair one even the toe!! can u believe it? now i can see my son got little hair on his arm... alamak..

i tried the buffet at Hanabi at King Arcade, bukit timah, $29+++ very good. ala-carte buffet. it was features on Straits times few weeks ago by 'wong Ah yoke'. worth the money!

Hi little cat! i oso read about Hanabi from Wong Ah Yoke's food review...i find that his reviews are pretty good and spot on...glad that u enjoyed urself

Sophie,Lyn,
Back from the gathering. We enjoyed ourselves.Hope you could join us the next round.We are likely to have another one when Pris come back Singapore in Sep.

<font color="ff0000">Hope the rest of you could also join our next gathering.</font>

Littlecat,
Did you use the de-scaler from DIY shop or the citric acid?

annlee,
It's always tough when kids fall sick one after another.Kids suffer,mummy also suffer. Can you imagine my hb ever told me,only kids suffer wat, adult what's there to suffer?!- So heartless of him!

How old is your younger son? Leng Yang cannot take too much,especially young kid.

Annelise,
How's your dd now?

Choc06
Are u back from timbucktoo already?

Thanks for the recommendation. I've just bought the books you recommended.

Sophie,
Are you ordering tingkat dinner now? There are some that claimed they don't add MSG to their dishes.Are you ordering from those?

Thanks for the words of encouragement. Will try to stay positive and count down to another 4 weeks, cos I heard that things get more stabilised after 1st tri

Van,
Glad to know you guys enjoyed yourselves. Is the food at Globetrotters any good?

I'm not ordering tingkat dinner yet, but I saw this wesbite called Natal Essentials from the forum which does not use MSG. Dinner menu also looks good: http://www.natalessentials.com/dinner_Normal.html

But I am under strict orders to not even touch wolfberries or dates in soups, so I think most dinner menus, no matter how yummy, is out. Gynae says better to avoid all herbs, even dates, cos heaty, and when the body is heaty, blood vessels dilate and may cause more bleeding. So now my hubby is doing all the hard work - he comes home during lunch and tabao lunch to eat with me; after work, he'll rush off to buy food and eat with me too. Anyway, not much appetite so I split my meals into 6 smaller portions a day. We tell ourselves we just have to tahan this till another few more weeks, then things should be fine.

MIL came over the other day and brought me food too. She baked a chicken using "Xue Di Zi" at 400 degrees C for 1 hour and it's really juicy! I didn't know that round appliance can go up to such high heat! She only used Woh Hup Abalone Sauce and pepper to marinate the chicken and stuffed onions and carrots into the cavity of the chicken...quite yummy

Hi Van,
Have just seen the little tods of the lunch gathering today, so cute , pls inform or invite me the next round hee...

My younger son is 13mths,the chinese medical shop told me to give leng yang only once per day,what do you think? Now my bb is getting better. pls advise!

Sophie,
The last few time I went, their food was still okay,not fantastic but alright.

Today I ordered the Indonesian/Malay? Fried Rice set, didn't taste good. The chicken siap-siap and tasteless,prawns rubbery.Fried rice....hmmm...I can do a better job...ha ha! Probably becos they are quite short-handed.Saw the boss going around to serve.

I like whole chicken and chicken wings roast/grilled with Xue Di Zi too. When I stayed with my aunt,I used to be the one in charged of using Xue Di Zi to roast chicken for her to use in praying. I only use soya sauce,sesame oil,pepper and honey.

annlee,
were you aware of this gathering before that? I did post the invites here and two other threads beside the SAHM thread.

If you have missed out the invites this time,next time I will use <font size="+2">EXTRA BIG</font> and BOLD and <font color="ff0000">COLOURED</font> fonts to announce...kekeke..

About the leng yang, I don't know the dosage, but people keep warning me not to give too much,if not too "liang" then will be "neng kar". Listen to the advice of Chinese Medical Shop should be alright. BTW, the chinese medical shop people taught me that there are two types of Leng Yang.One just need to pour in hot water and cover for a while, another type need to "boil" it.

Glad that your son is better now.

sophie, van,
yr roast chicken sounds yummy... wonder if it's possible for me to try to use toaster to cook it, kekeke...

annlee,
glad yr son is better! I'm the type must take leng yang if not fever won't subside esp if fever is high.

sp,
My hubby may try using our toaster oven to cook a roast chicken this weekend, but maybe not a whole chicken cos the height of little toaster oven I have may not be able to accomodate the chicken, so I may do half a chicken. Oh, looking at Van's marinate now, I remember my MIL also used honey so that the skin comes out nice and dark. If my hubby makes it this weekend, I'll let you know the result! He's now taken over the kitchen so he'll have the final say on what to cook

Van,
What else can a Xue Di Zi cook? I'm just wondering if it's below $50, is it worth investing in one. But maybe not, cos no space to put.... but so tempting

Hey kakis, never know that OG conduct cooking classes:

http://www.og.com.sg/promo1.htm

Sophie,
I remember 'Xue Di Zi cost more that $100.00 Can also bake cookies,cub cakes, not so good for bigger cakes though.But it's very good and easy to clean if you want to roast chicken/chicken wings.

If I can only choose one, I would definitely go for oven then Xue Di Zi.If you have space, then it's still alright to get.

sp,
Perhaps you can only roast chicken thigh/wings or half of a chicken? But might need to wrap up with aluminium foil first.

Sophie,

Can you email me yor gynae's contacts instead? [email protected]
I bought a box of folic acid about half a year ago, but haven't started on them.What kind of multi-vits are you taking?I worry about multi-vits and folic being too "heaty" then i end up feeling sick so still hesitating to try.

Re. Cat Food

Is the tuna/ikan billis wet food salty?I worry that my cat will shed excessively again especially since she just "recovered".I have been getting Iams canned wet food, sticking to what i think is safe.

I saw Merricks at the pet store.I think it's marketed as gourmet cat food and the packaging is quite superb.So good I felt like eating them myself!

Van,

I ate Swenson's for dinner last night.Can lah.. for the price.

Your roast chicken recipe is very similar to mine...
I will add a combination of light/dark soy sauce, sake and rosemary herbs on top of it...

What is a Xue Di Zi?Wah more new yummy appliances!

Amelia,
Xue Di Zi is somthing like this,the first generation ones used Big Stainless Steel Pot:

463869.jpg

I saw at least three Ramly stalls at the pasar malam yesterday.Have you tried?

Swensons set lunch is definitely better than Globetrotter's set lunch.I like their Crayfish Spahghetti!

Hi Van,
Wow, you got so many gadgets! Your Xue Di Zi looks very modern, can see the inside
I think those I have seen are the old statinless steel pot types. Didn't know it is so expensive
so will probably not get it, cos I don't have any more countertop space. I've actually got a big Indesit oven already, but I thought a Xue Di Zi seems quite impressive in that it can go up to 400 degrees C! Normal ovens max temp only 240 degrees C.

ooooh.... I love Ramly burgers... can't wait for the next pasar malam at my place!

The OG cooking classes look pretty good, but I wonder if they give out the recipes after the class? Or is it more of a stand-and-look demo?

Hi Amelia,
You've got mail!

I don't think folic acid is heaty; so far I have no problems with it. Just take 1 after breakfast everyday. I set a recurrent alarm on my phone to remind me to eat it everyday. If going to TTC, should start on it. As for multi-vits, I take the kind that hasn't got iron, so I will not be constipated. The brand I take is Usana (clarification: I am not a MLM dealer, but I think the multi-vits are quite good quality altho expensive, plus their Vit A is 100% beta-carotene). I also supplement with fish oil cos I find that it helps with my menstrual cramps. But now gynae says to STOP all vits and take only folic acid, cos the B-complex in the multi-vits may upset the gastro-intestinal system when pregnant. After 1st tri, I'll push my luck and ask him if I can continue with my multi-vits

Re. cat food, eh, I'm not sure if it's salty... I've not tasted it before. But I think if there's any flavour, it's probably from the natural salts occuring from the fish itself, like those cat fish treats. Here's how they look like. The shop at Far East Shopping Centre called Sundream sells it. Both the boss (Japanese) and another lady called Cheryl read Jap, so you can ask them if it contains salt. They do delivery for $50 and above, so I always order my kitty litter and dry food from them. If you order a large pack of dry food, can also ask them to re-pack and seal into a few smaller packs so it stays fresher longer.

463977.jpg

Hello dear ladies,

Miss yaking with you all !
Next few weeks will be lagi happening for me ! last wed just shifted my things to my new house, reno still on going, aft that shifting and then bb coming !

Soph, glad you are back.. is your condition more stabilised now ? Having any morning sickness ?Eat and rest well, k ? drink some milk at night.. you are right , tahan a few more weeks, and you can PIGOUT liao! Bu your body .. hehe..

I tingkat my dinner from natal essentials few months back , it's not conf food, the normal food, they delivered at 4 pm. Initially, we looked forward to the dishes, aft 5 days, jelat liao

Hey lyn, thanks for the soup tips.. during my last conf, my nanny didn't find much green papayas.. a variety will be better ..

Hey van, yah like what cat said, can make sweet soup from the sea coconut ?
Thanks for sharing the thermal pot chicken recipe.. you really expert huh ! By reading the recipe, I'm sure it is a yummy and pang dish !

My conf nanny is from a friend's neighbour's contact contact, complicated huh ! I just pray that she'll be experienced.. she'll be fetching my girls to sch too..

My sis bought an anodised wok from Tangs and it has a "xue di zhi" function that can bake and roast chicken. The chicken turned out quite nice. Her maid loves frying dishes in the new wok and uses little oil for deep frying..

Hey sp, you can try toasting chicken drum sticks and chicken wings in your toaster.. not too bad ..

Hey annlee, i also gave my no. 2 leng yang for her fever, but they say chinese med and west med must be 3 hrs apart from each other..

Hey Amelia, thanks for the fruity flan recipe, looks good and fruity, my gals like fruits.. you try liao boh ?

Yo cat, ho boh ? your appetite better liao huh ? I've been resting well and bb is growing !

Anne, how about rewarding dd2 with a little sweet aft the med ?

Hi Choc,
Haven't seen for your for long! You be careful when shifting all those things when pregnant ok? Just do the "directing" and get someone else to move.

My condition is more stable now, but still have to be confined to homerest. Yesterday hubby fed me alfafa sprouts for breakfast, and I could feel quite a bit of cervical mucus coming out... panicked and thought I was bleeding! Had to show hubby the tissue and asked him to confirm that there is no brown spots. Should stop myself from being so paranoid
Nauseousness at night was quite bad previously, but I read some of the threads from you guys about drinking ribena, so I did just that. Now manageable, and I put in a wedge of lemon in my water so it taste better, but still treat myself to 1 glass of ribena per day.

hi Lyn,
If you see this thread, can you let me know if there is any good book on "tai jiao"? Cos I remember from previous threads you were quite into this.

Hi Sophie,

I follow Shichida's method for "tai jiao". Now I read his other books on right brain development, also discuss about the importance of "tai jiao". Now I feel like I havent done enough... I find his book "jiu4 xin1 tai jiao" is very good. His chinese name is "qi1 tian1 zhen1"
. Can get from Popular. If they dun have it, can order. If not, go to "you lian" at bras basah to buy - fastest. hee... I got 9 of his books in my collection :p For newborns, I read from Glen Doman

For parenting, I am more towards William Sears. I read from Tracy Hogg, her method dun suit me... I am still looking around for books on different parenting methods...

Maybe you wanna read some books now... cos when baby comes, might not have time to read... Actually I still have time to read.. I can read while breastfeeding... :p But I dun read on cooking already...

Tip for you now from Shichida:
At this stage of pregnancy, talks to baby and both you and hubby be happy about the pregnancy. Thank the baby for coming, and ask baby to grow healthily
These are the two main things to tell baby...

Gals, sorry.. "detour" a bit :p

Hi lyn,
Thanks for the recommendation. I think the books are in Chinese? *headache* I cannot read Chinese very well... in fact, having problems just reading this website
http://www.taijiao.com.cn/

Sorry for sidetracking... and thanks for all your patience!

I'll be making the roast drumsticks with my little toaster oven later; if it turns out nice, will post up a pic

sp,
The roast chicken drumsticks using oven toaster is yummy! I didn't buy the Abalone Sauce, but used Van's recipe instead - soya sauce, sesame oil, pepper and honey. Placed the carrots on the base of the foil then chicken pieces on top, wrapped it up and bake in toaster oven for 20mins, then open up foil, glaze with another layer of honey and bake open for another 5-8mins. Both dh and I conclude that Van's recipe more yummy than my MIL's which uses Abalone Sauce. I also used the chicken drippings on my salad, which is so tasty that dh took extra helpings of alfafa sprouts just to wipe up the sauce.

This is the picture of my lunch - with the trademark from the Burn Queen (see the burn marks)
Guess I can save money on the Xue Di Zi now!

464300.jpg

Sophie,
You made me drool....
kao_drool.gif

BTW, I don't have the Xue Di Zi.I just "Plucked" the photo from the net. My aunt has the 1st generation one,bought 20years ago!

Wah Soph, your lunch looks so yummy and healthy ! Remember to wash your veg with salt water.. that day my sis' maid found a leech in the chinese lettuce ! I thought it was a worm and dismissed it..
Did you use any dressing for your salad? I love avocado too !

You should be at your 8-10 weeks liao is it ? Aft the 1st tri, condition will be more stabilised.

hey lyn, how many coconuts per week did you drink prior to delivery ? Nowadays i feel so hot that i can drink the coconut water everyday but scared will be too liang ..

Hi ladies. I was very sick yesterday - for the first time in 5 years, I was totally hands-off with the kids - my hb was totally exhausted and wondered how I could do it everyday! My fever was about 39.9 deg - almost went to the hospital cos' the panadol wasn't working. Luckily my sis asked me to drink some hot porridge water and go to the room to sweat it out. I'm still feverish today so am sitting in my studyroom now and trying to perspire some more - amazing how difficult it is to sweat on such a terribly hot day!

I bought leng yang too but did not drink cos' my sis said my body is weak and it may make the fever worse. I must say this virus is extremely virulent and persistent, I've never had such a terrible bout of flu before - no wonder my dd2 was so lethargic when she was sick.

Thanks Van, she is still coughing on and off and I'm a little worried cos' my hb spilled the entire bottle of antibiotics for her! I need to call the paed tomorrow to see if I ineed to get a replacement. There were 3 more doses to go!

Wah, Soph, your lunch looks yummilicious! And very healthy too! When I was spotting during my pg, I was also very paranoid - kept going to the loo every now and then to check my discharge. It's easier said than done to tell you not to worry, but I believe that a happy mummy = happy baby. I was very relaxed during my first pg and my dd1 was a very easy baby. With dd2 I was very stressed out and she was quite a fussy baby.

Hi lyn, wow, you're very well-read for early childhood development! I'm a big fan of Dr Sears too! Have you been to his website? I always go to his website when my kids are sick and I feel a wave of paranoia hitting me - and I always feel much better after reading his advice.

Hi annlee, great to hear that your son is getting better! Better take care of yourself too and get more rest at night!

Hi choc, welcome back! Sounds like you've got lots of things to do! You're really a supermum! Better go easy on the coconut water - my sis overdid it the last time and had to be confined to bedrest 2 months before delivery. Once or twice a week should be okay.

Gotta go lie down for a while, getting a bit tired. Sorry if my posting is a bit incoherent or if I've missed out anyone's post - feeling a bit woozy!

Finally have some time to read through the posts in details. Just got a new HP,was busy transferring data... HB fly off to China this afternoon, so more relaxed for me, ha ha!

<font color="0000ff">Annelise,</font>
Sorry to hear that you were so sick.Did you take any antibiotics? Probably got the virus from your dds? Luckily your hb is around to help out,and after this he would appreciate even more your hard time in taking care of the house and the girls alone!

When dd and I had fever, I usually do the opposite.Instead of sweating it out, I switch on the air-con whole day,including the living room's air-con, to keep the body cool.Heard from some friends about this method, have been doing it for some years.

You take care and force yourself to eat something even if no appetite.

<font color="119911">Choc,</font>
So you still come back to your own house during weekends? But your stuff all moved to the new house arleady? When is the "Official" date that you will be in the new house?

Glad to hear you have found a confinement nanny already.It's good that she's willing to send your girls to school for you.

My neighbour had one CN who didn't even help her to bring the boys downstairs to take school bus,and also very " Ngiao" about helping to take care of the elder one,even laundry for elder one and her husband also try to put aside,wait her the p-time maid to wash.

I remembered I didn't drink coconut water everyday,may be twice a week.But alternate day, I'll have something "liang" to drink, like barley,Yang Sen water,sugar-cane juice.

I also used my anodised wok to "roast" chicken a few times.Easier to clean then using oven.

<font color="aa00aa">Sophie,</font>
One of my friends also like your hb,come home during lunch and ta bao for wife everyday, but after that her father said that's too tiring and ask her go to her mum's place,the hb sent her there every morning and picked her up after dinner.

When I was immobile during pregnancy and arthritis attack, my hb just tabao breakfast for me,usually noddles, at the same time ta bao roti prata/nasi lemak/fried beehoon for my lunch,I just heat it up during lunch.

Frankly,I didn't eat well during pregancy,initially due to nausea and later due to arthritis. Probably becos of that, my dd has low birth weight of only 2.25kg.

Annelise,
Oh dear, your fever sounds BAD! 39.9 deg is very high! Your sis is right, sometimes fever does not mean heaty, especially if it is not accompanied by sore throat, so luckily never take the leng yang. Maybe take a cool bath, drink lots of fluids and use an ice compress to bring down the temp? If it doesn't get any better, I think you should go see a doctor or go to the hospital... maybe take a jab to bring it down? Take care!

After hearing what you said, I think I better try and relax more... maybe start meditating tomorrow to calm myself!

Heh Van,
No need to drool... it's your own recipe after all!
I thought you owned the Xue Di Zi and was about to crown you the Queen of Gadgets! But I think you can still hold the title, cos I don't know anyone who has 2 thermal pots so far!

I suggested to my hubby about going to my mum's place, but he didn't want that arrangement, cos not even my dad or my siblings know about it... only my mum knows. My stomach's very weak; the last time I heated up some leftover beehoon from lunch for my teabeak, my tummy cramped up and I was very uncomfortable for the rest of the day. My mum says leftover food got wind(?)... but it was only leftover for 3 hrs

Don't blame yourself for your dd's birthweight ok? Doctors say it's normally hereditary, like parents have small and light frames etc. Anyway, babies catch up on their weight very quickly in the first few months. In fact, my mum kept telling my sis not to eat too much cos big babies will be very difficult to give birth.

Hi Choc,
I think I am in my 8 weeks now. Actually, the doc hasn't even told me my EDD yet, cos I think he wants everything to stabilise first. He said next week can try to reduce the number of jabs to 1, and then 2 weeks later, try to wean me off the jabs.

Didn't know that must rinse vege with salt water to get rid of bugs... will note that. Now I can get rid of my 2-year-old salt
I love avocadoes too! Didn't use any dressing cos Van's marinate was so yummy that I just drizzle the drippings on my salad. After eating it like that, you won't want any creamy dressing anymore!

Thanks for the info on Natal Essentials. I was still thinking maybe can do confinement catering from them next time, but after your feedback about being tired of the food, if I really need to do the confinement catering next time, I may do a short 1 or 2 weeks only.

Hey Sophie,

I thought you have a Tiger 5.2+ Endo 1.8=7L.My Tiger 5.2 + La Gourmet 2.5=7.7L, about the same as you mah! ha ha !

I also soak certain vege in water+salt.Especially water cress,broccoli and baby kai lan... a lot of unexpected "guests".

I ordered tingkat dinner during last month of pregnancy.Same as the rest,after about two weeks,very sick liao.It's not too bad if eating while still hot.But by the time I came from from work,the smell became awful.

hmmm... still struggling with transferring of HP data, don't knw is it becos of non-3G SIM card/phone to 3G SIM card/phone causing it...

Van,
Heh, I forgot I got that mini Endo thermal pot! Cos it comes free, but it's really not as good as the Tiger. It's only as good as a thermal flask, the kind people use to bring food to hospital. And I seriously doubt it can cook porridge or braise anything properly.

My hubby doesn't mind doing the lunch tabao-ing, cos his workplace is quite near and he cycles to and from work everyday. But he takes a cab during lunch cos it's just too hot at noon time. Just have to keep telling ourselves it's probably another 4 more weeks to go then I'll be more mobile!

Woah, you bought a 3G phone? Apparently quite a cool gadget... my friend got one and it can do teleconferencing etc, but of course all her friends like us are tech-laggers without 3G phones yet, so end up she got no one to do all those cool things with anyway

Sophie,
Guess tonite I will hog on the PC to do the set up and data transfer.

Besides the 3G phone that I got using Singtel's voucher that my hp had, when I upgraded my plan to another 2 yr, they gave me another 3G Sony Ericsson 608i phone FREE.

So if any one of you has contract exipiring, it's good time to upgrade now.Free 3G phone and 3G SIM card at no extra cost. I also bargain for extra Nokia battery.

I think Endo's thermal pot is worse that La Gourmet.LG still can braise and cook through the meat/soup/porridge(tried!),but the temperature can't maintain for too long.

You and hb must be very slim and trim.Both very health concsious,eat heathily and exercise regularly.

I have another friend's hb also very "Wei Da". She went thru IVF, got a long list of food/ingredients that she couldn't eat,including soya sauce and any soy related stuff. To show his support, the hb also follow the list, whatever the wife can't eat, he won't eat,to experience what his wife has suffered.

Van,
Singtel can bargain one? haha... i didn't know that! I can't really do any real upgrade now cos I just got mine in Apr this year, plus mine is under Staff Rate cos my brother works there, so I think no vouchers/promos etc.

Woah, your friend's hubby also very nice huh? I did a 6-day juice fasting a few years ago cos I had bad hives (feng mo), and my hubby did it with me, which was already quite sweet. Now whenever he jokingly says my nauseousness is "in my mind", I tell him I'll make him drink saltwater to create nauseousness, eat beans to create gas, tie weight belts around his waist and ankles and clip his nipples with clothes pegs to get sore nipples... so he can experience what pregnant women go through
Actually, I watched Discouvery Channel and that was what a guy in Britain did, to understand what his wife was going through! Funny Brits...

Sophie,
It's not the Singtel Hello Shop,it's those smaller authorised retailers of Singtel.Usually can bargain for some free gift,especially if you are dealing with the boss.

It's really very sweet of your hb to go thru 6 days juice fasting with you.I can be sure that my hb will NEVER EVER do that.

I was really laughing out loud when I read your post! Especially the clothes peg...

My old neighbour's hb was quite bad.She suffered a lot when having #3 and #4,got to go hospital to drip glucose.The hb said, "why your pregnancy so difficult huh, my mum give birth to 10 children also no problem!" My neighbour was really upset when she heard that.