Cooking Tips & Recipe

choc

my dialect grp is fuzhow....during my confinement...i eat dishes like stir fried kailan with pork, fried rice, hongzao chicken, panfried threadfin....all must be cooked with ginger n sesame oil...

huskie,
can msn me your HP? ya...I got 2 more weeks to go for delivery, same as cookie but I think cookies is slightly a few days earlier.

Just went to organic shop and they don't sell nutritional yeast at, shall go and look from another shop.

Ivena,
I like hongzao chicken...just now bought one organic hongzao for my confinemnet use and found out is expired and return back to them.

annlee,
Hee, I'm not "good" with bf lah... just very desperate that time cos no ss, and I wanted so badly to TBF - basically Soph was just sucking on a dry well, so no choice, have to do a lot of "research" on bf

The Indos eat drumstick leaves too? Let us know how your maid cooks it and how long she cooks it OK?

Have you been taking steamed red dates according to the peiling webbie? Cos it helps to neutralise the after-effects of anaesthestics yeah? You doing GA or epi C-sect this time?

HP: PM and MSN you liao!

Nutritional yeast: yep, many places don't have them. I think Nature Farm has, but in a big tin, and costs $20+... I think not worth it. I buy from Organic4Less for $3+ small pack, cos it lasts forever. But they also always run OOS.

Choc,
Thanks. But I don't dare to do any soups... cos I think when sick, not supposed to bu qi? Think the theory is that it'll cause the pathogens to be more active.
But yes, making a soup for her is a nice idea. I remember some lady talking about this thing called Hippocrates soup when I attended this New Life MLM "talk" with my friend. Wonder if I can find the recipe online.

Drumstick leaves nice with egg -> hee, I think I undercooked the leaves, so very raw tasting. I think we should wait for annlee's maid to make soem yummy dishes then she share the recipes with us
Annlee, OK?

Ai1 Ye4 - never heard of it, but will go find out from my mum. Thanks!

huskie,
got ur HP

you so funny...don't say until like that la...soph didn't suck on a dry well ok...her mummy so wonderful, do so many research to give her more mlik.

Have ask my maid abt drumstick leaves, she says most indos eat that to have more milk. We can cook in our own ways as what she mention abt how to cook is quite boring leh... She cook it for soup, stired fried shallot and garlic, add water, drumstick leaves and salt to taste. She also boil it with water to drink, just bring the water to boil and add the leaves, drink and eat together with the leaves. Stired fry , we can use our method to cook it liek cooking confinemnent veggies. She told me the leaves can be cooked pretty fast like how we cook our veggies, so it doesn't take long to cook. And the leaves don't taste good as what she says, she is forced to take it hee...
I will probably use my own cooking method like using sesame oil, ginger to stir fry the leaves or soup. To be honest, I don't trust my maid cooking, don't taste good leh... and she keep insisting I shld use my own way of cooking cos she say hers lousy too ...

Still haven't decide whether on GA or epi, gynae suggest GA. You're on epi right?

giggler,
I went thru 2 epi c sect too...

This round thinking of epi also but gynae suggest GA cos I have went thru twice and he afraid epi does not helps on me.

huskie,
my memory is very bad. Forgotten this and that, sometimes realize did not reply here...I even forgotten to take red dates tea, thanks for reminding me, will make it today. Also forgotten to pack my hospital bag in case emergency. But hor can remember to come in here and chat kekeke...

annlee,
Your previous C-sects were epi right? how come this time this haven't decided?
Yep, I took epi last time, but the anaesthesist saw that I was so kan chiong, then gave me something to knock me out for awhile. I asked him if it was GA, but he says no. Everything was a blur to me so I didn't really know what's going on, till I felt someone tugging my tummy, then I told the anaesthesist that, then he just bluffed me that it's his hand on my tummy... but actually gynae was pulling Soph out liao. Then suddenly became very wide awake when Soph was out, and held her in my arms. I think the anaesthesist did a very good job.

Re. drumstick leaves, I think I may attempt it again over the weekend, but this time maybe cook longer. Maybe do it like Crystal Jade kou kei vege style with stock and 3 types of eggs - fresh eggs, century eggs and salted eggs... altho, hee, think I'll skip the salted eggs.

huskie,
yep...mine is all epi.
How you kan chiong? Shivering? Or because is cold inside the theatre? I'm shivering when pushing in the theatre, no epi yet so shldn't be the side effect but I'm telling myself I'm ok, not afraid leh...but super cold so that anaethesist gg to inject on my spine had some nurses to hold on me tight to inject me. Then recently went to hospital tour and saw the delivery room, look scary to me..afraid might kan chiong, so was thinking might as well go for GA, zzzzz all the way..dunno anything but then will not see bb immediately.
Will probably go for GA since gynae suggest and says it might be anaethesist to decide even though If i op for epi now cos epi might not help on me

hey...abt drumstick leaves I rather you cook crystal Jade style, do let us know how is it

My maid also mentioned she took young papaya leaves to have more milk supply. Is very bitter but I will skip this because she says drumstick leaves is better.

hi girls
thanks for crab GONG whereabouts. no la don't want to eat now but next time lor. been wanting to eat for a long time liao

wah speaking about shivering, the moment after i pushed poppy out, i was shivering like crazy!!!!! i asked for blankets and even with 5-6 blankets on me, i was still very cold. i even asked them to keep the operation lights on for me for the heat!

aiyo pbunny,
You really know how to make people laugh with poppy!
She's so chubby now. How many days more to end of confinement? Aft that, can celebrate liao! I went to soup restaurant right aft my confinement.. they serve lots of gingery (wif msg) food. The kailan is fried with dang kwei.. something new,tried it at home, but didn't quite succeed..

I remembered shivering uncontrollably right aft birth too. Gyn says it's one of the side effects of epi.. another effect is nauseous and vomiting

Husk, yah read about the hippocrates soup before.. From the net, think one of the cancer support centres in chinatown teaches how to cook the soup and make juices for cancer patients.. sorry , can't remember the name of the centre.. Read from the free mag in guardian pharmacy

Re drumstick leaves,
thanks for the info.. will see if i can get hold of any.. My supply is always low aft 3 months..

Gig, the conf book by that I'm reading is really good.. some dishes i haven't come across . Like double boil frog legs with herbs.. mutton and also eel.. Multigrain rice with red dates and wolfberries.

Ivena, do you drink any bu soup right aft delivery ? Cos my mum, a cantonese, will always boil black chick with dang kwei for me aft delivery. I did that for a friend also.. but was told that she shouldn't drink it right aft delivery

Husk, I fried the sliced beef(the huntum korean style), wrap with kimchi and rice, it's really nice

ann, you drink papaya soup ? Find it quite effective also for bm.. But must drink alot

choc

I didnt drink any 'bu tang' after delivery...my mum jus cooked mee sua soup with ginger n sesame oil...then add egg with pork....usually will add slightly more water to have more gravy for those dishes tt i mentioned earlier...n will drink e gravy cos got ginger which will expel wind....

didnt drink those soup to increase bm cos im considered lucky to have quite a lot of supply...think by e first wk after delivery i can pump like abt 180 - 200ml every 3 hrs...n can still manager to store in e freezer....but have also been visiting e lactation consultant frequently like once a fortnight cos keep have blocked milk duct till i develop fever...

Annlee, got such thing that epi may not work anymore???

Huskie, your hb not by your side? I also scared lah but at least hb was there to give me support.

Choc, then it's diff cookbook liao, mine dun have frog leg and stuff.

Thanks to all, my boy is well liao. I missed him so much now and think positive i gog home on tmr first flight

pbunny, i went thru the thread and yr gal so pretty and cute. Hey u r photographer huh?? pics are taken very nice and creative leh.

oh girls, sorry i haven't been contributing much LIAO to this thread lately. so so tired la. and my nnp are so abused haha. pengsan...

some more this morning woke up in shock thinking CHAM AH! next week i will be alone with poppy!

no la twinkle i am not a photographer. just like taking photos and i think it's important to take many many pics of our babies mah ;) and they are funny cos my hubby and i are both jokers la hehe

annlee,
Yep, mine was epi. Not shivering from epi leh, but just very very kancheong even before epi was administered... hee, the anaesthesist probably saw from my blood pressure/heartbeat!
How come epi won't work on you?

Hey, I cooked drumstick leaves today. For lunch, I dumped them into my yong tau food soup, quite nice. For dinner, I cooked it Crystal Jade style, but only with normal egg, no century egg... also nice, but the soup style nicer.
I know why I haven't been eating it much, cos it's so leychey to pluck it out leaf by leaf! The last time I didn't pluck out leaf by leaf, but only by the smallest stem... woah, I feel like some panda munching on bamboo/twigs!

Choc,
Re. nauseous and vomitting from epi, I remember the nurse and doc told me not to sit up immed. If you do, then very high chance of vomitting. Also cannot drink lots of water immed.

Glad your kids like this new style of rice/meat wrapped in lettuce

Good way to eat raw veges other than salad style.

Gig,
My hubby was only with me quite late leh. When they were administering epi, they didn't let him in. Then when he came in, I think they were already cutting me up.

Ivena,
Very envious of your milk ss leh!

Joy,
Haven't seen you around these few days? Tired out from the BBQ?

Hey husk,

Where did you buy the leaves ? Or you pluck from some where ? hehe...

What stock you use to boil the leaves. crystal jade style ?

yah, I sat up a a bit to carry bb aft delivery, and was feeling so thirsty aft the whole process. Shivered in the delivery room, but vomited in the ward..

Hey pbunny, don't panic..aft CL leaves, steady steady.. bring poppy out for lunch if you can't prepare.. Most importantly, don't stress yourself out, k
Rest when poppy rests.

Ivena, I have blocked ducts too for all 3.. Didn;t go Lac consultant cos TMC too far.. Went to gp and gp gave antibiotics and advised me not to nurse, which I didn't feel quite right!

This time round, I think it'll come back again.. How huh ? If go Lac consultant, what will she do ?

huskie,
share the leaves soup recipe ok...and crystal jade style

My hb was also not allow to enter when they were administering epi, he and the rest was waiting for me at the operation room. And he suggest to gynae earlier to cut the umbilical cord and gynae was fine with that then on that day, the nurses or staff told my gynae that is very troublesome, messy blah blah to let my hb cut it so ended up the cord is cut and they placed on somewhere and ask my hb to cut it from where, is all disconnected from my bb, aiyo...like that might as well don't cut.

abt nauseous and vomitting from epi, I remember they inject some medi to stop and not to feel nauseous.

giggler, huskie,
actually not really epi don't work for me, is because is my third time and gynae afraid it might take very long and more dosage to work on me. I selected a certain time to cut me up so gynae think it will take very long to work on me lor...

Then my hb also want to go in with me if I having GA so gynae was telling him better not in case he will faint or ask alot of qns like why so many wires on me unlike epi. My hb insisted to go in and told gynae that he's not afraid n told him how I was cut up and gynae told him off...ha...gynae told my hb he's inside to accompany me give me support not to be a spectator kekeke...

Last week went for my check up and going to have lunch at that area, we were at united sq, so either Jack place's or vienna buffet, wanted to try hansang korea but hb don't want it so we had vienna buffet. And is a bad bad bad decision... the food is lousy...the teppanyaki beef only took a mouth and not that I want to waste food, is that I really don't want to swallow a big piece of rubber. Think the only food acceptable for me is the dessert. My hb worst...says only edible food is the sushi fish roes kekeke... And like what huskie descibe cutting throat...lotsa msg.

Joy,
ya lor...where are you?? Was wondering how is your BBQ chicken as I know nothing much abt BBQ.

cookie,
how's everything?? Didn't hear from you, have you pop? I'm getting very tired now and legs very swollen and bloated. It seems like if I use a needle to poke my leg it will burst like a balloon.

hi Ann,

hmm.. so vienna buffet no good huh. I hv not tried them b4 but already decided not to go there. It happen when i made a reservation and i tld them I need to hv a high chair as well. End up they give me a table right in front of the door fm the inside. I told them i dun wan bcos ple that take soups, hot stuff may accidentially slip or any incident it will be off to my boy's head etc.. And they told me no other table, take it or leave it . So we left and never gone back there again

Choc, I went GP but she didnt give me antibiotics...jus tell me e redness ard e breast area will go off on its own....who knows hrs later i develop fever...in e end call my lactation consultant n she ask me to see her at KK as i have given birth to my boy there....she help to clr e blocked ducts by massaging and squeezing hard at the aerola area as she say its blocked there....and immediately she cleared the blocked ducts within secs...but a word of advice from her is tt i must pop panadol an hr before seeing her cos its really painful...but actually it isnt so pain after all....

Choc,
I got the leaves from my Bishan wet market - only one stall sells it. I think Tampines should have, cos if got Indian and Malay community, sure will have someone selling.
Else, next time you stop an Indian auntie and ask her... they'll be more than happy to tell you. Just tell them drumstick leaves and tehy'll know.
Haha, I won't go into jungle and risk my life plucking a $1 bunch of leaves - but for sampa durian, maybe I will

OK OK, here's recipe... not really recipe, more like how I make it:
- Fry some garlic in a bit of oil
- Once fragrant, dump in leaves and chicken stock
- Once everything starts boiling, stir an egg into it. if you want century egg, should mas it and add it last.
Simple.... and yummy and nutritious too!

Try and pluck the leaves when your hands are dry. The first time I pluck it with wet hand, aiyoh, all the small leaves keep sticking to my hands... very annoying and very leychey to pluck.

Re. blocked ducts, what kind you have? The lumps in breasts kind? I got LC to come to my flat to help me, cos went to TMC at first, but pay $65 per hour and have to wait, then LC is shared amongst a few pple int he room, and everyone is just pumping topless in front of each other... very paiseh. So in the end I got an LC to come to my place for $80.
I also went to see GP. She used needle to "clear" my blocked nipple, but unsuccessfully, then it bled and she gave me antibiotics. But I didn't take it. Later on, I asked LC and LC says no need to take if no fever and yellow/green pus coming out when pumping.
Actually I think seeing LC better than GP, cos LC more specialised in this area.

annlee,
Yeah, my gynae also didn't allow hub to cut umbilical cord even though it's epi C-sect. He says hubby should not come so near that area cos supposed to be very sterile.

Yikes, I didn't know epi "may not" work on 3rd attempt?! But your gynae is quite fummy... hee, ask your hub not to be spectator! But true lah, you'll already be knocked out, won't know if he's next to you too, altho' it'll be nice lah.

Where is Vienna Buffet?

I'm quite happy with myself this weekend - cooked all 4 meals so didn't eat out. Hubby was also very happy cos he prefers homecooked food to outside food.

What are you girls cooking tonight?
Soph having fever - due to teething, I suspect. PD says her gums super red and swollen, and may become gingivitis...have to use mouthwash now. So she'll be eating porridge again cos the naughty girls refuses to drink water, then have to eat porridge for more hydration.

I'll be making a spaghetti tossed with arugula, cherry tomatoes, marinated capsicums, marinated mushrooms and topped with parmesan cheese.

btw, I read drumstick leave juice is supposed to be good for asthma/bronchitis and respiratory problems. I'll be trying to juice some soon.

cookie cookie,
Were you the one who said your RBC count may be low and need to eat iron-rich food?
Drumstick leaves is very high in iron... maybe you can try it?

ya...agree with huskie...LC provide better advice as they are more specialised.

huskie, vienna buffet is located at united sq...jus opp e foodcourt....dun like like e plc as i find it rather cramp...hence not kid friendly....

not cooking tonite as need to attend a dinner function with hubby.

Ivena and Husk,
Thanks for all that helpful info!

I had lumps, one about 20 cent coin, aft the 2nd week of delivery. Had slight fever too, woah.. and doc gave a a very strong kind of antibiotic for 5 days! 3 months later, the lumps, came back.. took panadol and kept on showering with hot water and massage, then it finally went off.

But few days aft I delivered, i also had small lumps, good thing the malay massage lady managed to clear them..

So husk, the trick is to keep on massaging and pumping is it ? I did that, until the lump was bruised!
, hoping it would get smaller, but it kept coming back

Thanks also for the drumstick leaves recipe!Will walk round the market to look for the leaves..
It'll be such a waste if you dont work as an LC!

Ann,
The last time when my CL was here, she said this kind of ginger is very good and powerful.. it's called wen2 dong1 jiang1, from malaysia, but found in some local markets.. Din't manage to find any tho

Haven't been cooking alot these few days. Just made huai shan porridge and kids love it.. Added soy beans, peanuts, pork ribs and some scallops.

Husk, what's arugula?
Have been eating cold mao shan wang durians too, very shiok

Twinkle and ann,
woah.. vienna that bad huh! Went to red star for dim sum last sat morn, the food's std like dropped a bit also

ok ok ladies...I had enough of all of you....I'm going to get my mao shan wang durian this week hee.... is the durian bitter type? Don't like bitter one leh...

twinkle and choc,
ya...vienna no good... don't waste $$, with that amount it cost better to go hotel buffet.

huskie,
I'm not sure whether is it a good suggestion, maybe you can try to put some glucose inside soph's water? My sons pd told me this method before but not to give too often as they might not want plain water and prefer something sweet in their water in future.

Thanks for the recipe! Will try it out.

Btw, you marinate your mushroom and capsicums?

choc,
ok, the ginger is good...thanks for your infor! Will look out whether my area has it or not.

heard abt red star, some say good some say standard drop so until now haven't try it yet.

Ivena,
wah.....your 'ren' gong very good... I mean when LC massaging you

Ivena,
Ok, I know which buffet the Vienna Buffet is! It always seems so crowded.

Choc,
Not sure about pumping to clear lumps leh. At TMC, that's what the LCs ask the ladies to do. But the private LC I hired to come to my place said the best method is actually for baby to latch to clear lumps. So I will take a hot shower and massage while in shower, then come out and latch the baby, making sure baby is real hungry so she will suck hard.
I also massaged till whole breast is bruised... LC told me not to massage so hard, that the correct technique is more important.

I also find Red Star dim sum standards dropped. But their pork trotter vinegar is pretty good... did you try that?

Your huai shan porridge sounds nutritious! Maybe I will make that tomorrow
How do you cook your soy beans? Need to soak overnight?

Arugula: It's Jamie Oliver's fav salad vege, cos I see him use it so often. It's also called rocket - it has a sharp, bitter (very slight only) taste that I like.
Looks like this: http://seeds.thompson-morgan.com/uk/en/product/570/2
I'm suddenly into Italian cuisine now cos the NTUC at Thomson Plaza just got converted into NTUC Finest.... lots of lovely stuff there like in Jasons, and lots of organic things too

Thanks for info on ginger... I'll ask my mum about that. But it's better in what sense, as in, can get rid of wind very effectively after birth?

annlee,
Hee, looks like you cannot tahan the temptation liao... go get your durians lah!

The last mao shan wang I had was only a little bitter, but more sweet.
Apparently my hubby says ang he is good, but I've never tried it cos very hard to find.

How much does the Vienna buffet cost?

Glucose: Soph doesn't really like sweet diluted water leh... I gave her Del Rosa mixed with water and she hated it. BUT she doesn't mind those sweet herbal medicine that PD gives *sigh*
I also noticed something... she tends to drink a fair bit of water after she latches. I wonder if it's cos I got not much milk left liao, so she is sucking air and getting thirsty?

I didn't marinate my mushroom and capscicums this time - bought the jar one. But I have seen Nigella Lawson done that before, so I'm going to see if I can find a recipe for that and do it myself this weekend

I din know u gals also like Red Star. that is my favourite dim sum place . Std dropped huh? so sad leh... i hv nice pork trotter vinegar and "hum shui guo" .

Today i cooked pan fried chicken Maryland and ABC soup. These days chicken has to marinated very long otherwise got that frozen chicken taste. How u gals marinate your chicken to get rid of tat smell?

Good morning girls,
What are you cooking today?
Hub not coming back for dinner tonight, so for lunch, Soph and I will share a huai shan minced pork porridge. Don't know how to handle peanuts and soybeans like how Choc does it, so I substituted cranberry beans and onions
and will add drumstick leaves just before serving.

Dinner - will be making a stewed spareribs with my new mini Thermos Shuttle Chef

twinkle,
You bought forzen chicken or you freeze it yourself?
I normally buy the Sakura chicken from NTUC and then pack into smaller portions and freeze them myself. No smell even after freezing for 3 weeks.

Will be cooking spaghetti carbonara tonight as my boy keep pestering me to cook pasta nowadays...

Seems like nowadays a lot of advertisement on this Sakura chicken....my mum went for the ndp preview n e goodie bag has got this booklet of coupons....n there are disc for buying sakura chicken from NTUC...got sakura eggs too....

huskie

I also watch e cooking show by both Jamie Oliver and Nigella...but nowadays seldom got their show o tv...just seen Nigella express think abt 2 wks back on a friday nite....they make cooking so simple n easy

huskie,
ya lor....cannot tahan liao...gg to get the durian hee...

I seen that argula leaves before. Normally will get those or those unique salad vege from salad counter and not lettuce cos argula vege only certain supermarket then can get it and expensive wor...

Abt durian, is there a durian call ang? I don't know much abt durian, very suaku...only know D24 which is outdated now hee...and mao shan wang recommended here... and someone mention phoenix, can'r remember.

Vienna buffet cost abt $70 for 2 for weekday lunch hor....so consider ex...yes, is located at united sq B1, next to food court.

oh...you know how to marinate those ang moh style mushroom. was wondering how to do it. I like to watch Nigella Lawson show but seldom cos always at the wrong timing, she's beautiful and notice she got big nnp hee....

Tonight I'm making Indonesia fry noodles and carrot chicken soup, I cooked the soup again hee...cos is my sons favourite and I'm using sakura chicken this time

Talking abt dimsum, last sunday went to Shang palace with my sister and mum, a treat from my sister hee... their dimsum comparable with Crystal Jade and ex even though after 30% disc. My sister ask the waitress for some recommendation and notice the food recommended by waitress is very ex. Same goes to Peach garden, those dishes recommended by them is very ex and not nice.

Just now almost knock down by a kangoo van when ready to cross the road. At that time is red light and green man, all the cars stopped and I've checked. Was holding my 2 boys left and right and this van just zoom bypass us and if I'm fast by a sec or 2 steps, we will gone. I'm shocked at that time and some aunties beside me is complaining abt the van. Told my hb abt it and going to make a police report. Told my sister abt it too...she says luckily I'm pregnant, so I'm clumsy and slow, if not can't imagine what will happen.

Aiyo, ann , better be careful when you cross the road.. I kena while crossing road before too.. reckless drivers !

The mao shan wang is more sweet than bitter.. ang hei( red prawn) is more bitter.. makes me sneeze while eating

Husk, I soak the peanuts and soy beans together for about an hr, then throw the pork ribs, and everything into the multi grain porridge..
I also like to add fresh white baits.. I'll normally order one big packet from the fish monger and pack them into smaller portions..

, think I've seen argula leaves

CL says the wen dong jiang more "powderful".. very spicy too..
Just now, went to market, malay stall, but didn't see any drumstick leaves.. but saw something that looks like Ai leaves, looks like small chrysanthemum leaves.. malay grocer said they use it during confinement..

Husk, how about making grape flavoured glucose for soph ? A friend told me that it's good for reducing fever, but not good when one's coughing. I guess the logic is that glucose gives body strength to fight germs and virus?

Yah, tried the vin pigs trotters, yah.. nice.. my hb loves the egg tarts..

How do you stew your spare ribs ?

Will surely consult you when I have mastitis the next time ;)( online consultation)

Twinkle, i like hum sui kok too

Realize got chicken smell when it is bought frozen.. So normally I'll use it for bbq..maybe you try ginger juice.
Like what husk says, buy sakura chicken and freeze them. I'll buy mine from wet market, and freeze them, no smell..

Wow ivena, spag cabonara .. Can share how you make the sauce ?

Fried bee hoon for lunch today..
Tomorrow will make huai shan soup with cranberry beans and red spinach and fried tau kwa with char siew for lunch
Can plan for tomorrow cos went market just now

Woah, annlee, that was a close shave!
Yes, there are lots of reckless drivers on the roads now.
My place is also like that - sometimes it turns green man and the drivers just don't stop to see if there's anyone crossing the road... just do their left turns. I also kenna once... luckily I had my stroller so was a slo a bit slow then never get knocked down.
If you managed to see that van's license plate, should complain, cos I think Traffic Police will probably keep a record of driver's complaints.

The Vienna buffet is so expensive! Think I will not bother with it anymore, although I used to "bio" it when I eat at the foodcourt. Oh, the foodcourt's Korean food is not bad... nothing fancy, but cheap and good food. I like the kimchi fried pork.

Re. durian, yep, it's the one the Choc mentioned... ang hei... heee, I probably spelled wrongly earlier. Didn't know it's bitter. You'd better stick to mao shan wang then!

Nigella Lawson: yes, I also think she is very beautiful... haha, and yes, big boobies. But hubby thinks she fat rather than voluptous. Anyway, I hardly watch her show now, cos she keeps licking her fingers in a very sexual way, and after awhile, I get tired of all those sexy poses and actions. I wanna see food, not poses

The other one I love to watch last time in US is Food 911 - this guy called Tyler Florence who will go to pple's house to help fix their dishes. His recipes are usually quite easy to follow. He's cute too

Think I've seen his show on Channel 5 on weekdays around 1130am or 12noon.

Choc,
Thanks for your instructions on the porridge. I'll try that next time!
I love fresh whitebaits, esp. fried with eggs, but somehow I have no luck with them... always end up with fishy smelling whitebaits.

How does ai leaves look like? Is it similar to drumstick but leaves are pointed type? I saw something like that at the stall, but auntie dunno what it's name is... just told me Indians also eat that besides drumstick leaves.

Grape flavoured glucose: Is there ready-made ones in tine form? The same glucose brand in the blue tin?
I'm trying to cut down Soph's sugar intake, cos PD says she may have gingivitis if we don't take care of her teeth. Actually we brush her teeth every morning and night, but her molars are now coming out, and somehow it affected the gums... very red and swollen and bleeds sometimes. So PD gave her mouthwash to spray to disinfect germs to reduce chances of gingivitis.

Stewed spareribs: hee, just anyhow make and dump into Thermos pot... I'm paiseh to even tell you what I put inside!

Mastitis: No lah, I'm not good enough to be your online LC! Think you should standby some LC's numbers...here's a link for you:
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/alternative-breastfeeding-help.html
I used Betty Lee that time.

Ivena,
I love carbonara! Can share your recipe?

Ann,
me have not pop yet.
edd 10aug. thinking if baby will be overdue.
all the walking, climbing, chasing after no.1 did not hasten labour leh.

are u all prepared for the big day?

i very jialuk hor... kept thinking of what to eat.
am eating nasi lemak, laska, curry etc now.
cos the first few months of breastfeeding must stay off coconut milk and spicy food.
so now eat with revenge first.

the wheels on the bus dvd not bad, teaches values like taking turns and making friends etc.
but think maybe yr no. 2 will not be keen, cos quite childish programme with puppets etc.
maybe u can get for no.3

thanks for the info on the different wine. think i will just use rice wine (get fm ntuc) and wincarnis for the confinement.
maybe when the confinement lady comes, will ask her also.

my legs and fingers also swell at times.
and also walking like a penguin now.
can imagine if i wear black and white now, will really look like one leh.

heee... enjoy yr durian feast.
i am eating durian almost daily now. at times even durian for dinner. frankly speaking now a bit scare of durians but will persist.
cos checkup yesterday shows baby gained abt 100-150grams in a week.

Choc,
really problem when children are heaty and yet they refused to drink water my boy also like that. must constantly ask him to drink, otherwise he will never volunteer to drink his water.

hahaha... i am anticipating the finger biting, scratching also now that my boy is in his terrible twos.

each baby have their own pattern hor.
my boy like yr didi, and this baby like yr dd1.
sometimes after work on the way home or before i sleep, i will suddenly recall that did not feel baby moving. that will try to poke, shake my tummy to feel baby movement.

hey, u went red star for dim sum already... so what u intend to eat before u go to hospital?
i was planning to eat laska before heading to hospital.

the confinement book says the first 42 days will be recovery time for our womb. so u intend to take confinement food for 42 days?

saw yr lunch was fried bee hoon... jia luk... make me craving for the canned pig trotter's with fried bee hoon leh.
now cannot find the canned pig trotter....

Huskie,
thanks for the detailed info recipes on the dumstick leaves.
must go market this weekend to find the leaves.

Like choc, i will do online consulation if got problems breastfeeding or engorged this time round okie.

there was this once, my breast was rock solid hard. then unable to pump out anything and was damn painful to the touch.
then had fever and vomitted so went tmc. the lc massaged and managed to get some milk out.
i brought the milk home.
but next day, my maid asked if she could feed baby the expressed breastmilk as there a layer of greenish looking stuff in the milk.
am crossing my fingers this time round, no such things will happen again.

Pinkbunny,
hahaha... yr poppy must be thinking what the cheeky parents are up to leh.
she is quite chubby now hor. how heavy is poppy now?

i was also shivering and puking in the delivery ward after the epi.

this time round, think i will not act heroine... will straight ask for 'hapi-dural' just in case another 18hours labour again.
when will yr home alone with poppy starts?

don't worry too much. try to take it slow. u sure can do it

cookie,
hope you can read this in time, faster go and get the yellow wine at Hock Lam Hang Medical Hall. Blk 152 Bukit Batok West Ave 6 #01-262 Tel: 65661618.
Must order in advance as they need to make the wine. Have check the different, yellow wine more for getting rid of the wind, warth the body, rice wine more for substitute for water, prevent water retention.

Not I heck care liao...still got 1 weeks plus to go...going to eat whatever I like hee...

Thanks for the feedback on the dvd!

huskie,
check with you, have you heard this brand called Ripple for goat goat milk? Thinking of getting the goat calcium tablets for my son. The promoter claim that is better than karihome as karihome added lotsa other ingreds but not much of calcium from goat inside. So not sure they're trying to push their prdts by saying that.

Recipe for spaghetti carbonara

Boil pasta in hot boiling water + salt + olive oil for about 15 minutes. Drain, rinse in cool tap water and toss with a dash of olive oil to prevent it from sticking together.

Heat up some olive oil and a tbsp of butter. Fry minced garlic, onions and chopped streaky bacon. Add in chopped fresh button mushroom. Put in the pasta and stir fry for about a minute. Add thickened cream, salt & black pepper to taste. When ready, switch off the stove and pour in 2 beaten eggs. Toss the mixture around so that the heat from the pasta will cook the eggs and the eggs will form a nice creamy coating on each strand of pasta. Bon appetit!

Saw somewhere tt says can add cheese too....but my boy dun quite like it...so i didnt add cheese....

Ivena, thanks for the recipe!

Husk,
The ai leaves look a bit like parsley leaves, but bigger.. the malay lady didn't know the name also..

Thanks for the bf link

Where do you get your whitebait ? I get mine from the fish monger, not much smell,I bought once from shop and save, it did have a fishy smell tho..
but if you cook it in porridge , it'll be better

The glucose is the glucolin brand ,in blue can

ann, haha.. u very funny.. now bo chap liao.. going to be lock up for a month hor !

Before i pop, I must go paramount hotel to eat the ala carte buffet, sq 2 for the korean food..hmm.. what else..

Hey thanks for the wine contact! Was also looking for yellow wine

cookie, now that you mention laksa! I think I'll gei hum too!
Think i'll observe 30 days strict confinement food and the rest with bu tang at night only..

yah.. i fried bee hoon with a can of pigs trotters I bought many moons ago

Got to constantly remind my three to drink water too.. no.2 has a 500 ml bottle, no.1 400 ml and no. 3 400 ml.. and I have a 1.2 lit

I opted for hapidural for 3, but the last one left me very scared! Could feel the tube or needle going up my spine and the needle felt so long.. excruciating! was breaking out in cold sweat!

Hey Choc, I bought the chicken fm wet market - kampong chix somemore. maybe not fresh hor.

Ann,
the yellow wine is to drink huh? will get rid of water retention or different with the one use to cook.

cookiem,
i hv to agree the wheel on the bus is good and the singing entertains the kids too.

fried bee hoon w pig trotters, yummy yummy . now still still hv canned pig trotters or not. look like we are craving for it liao.

choc,
ya lor... going to lock up for amonth.

Was thinking to have mala steamboat. Is Paramount hotel buffet under TungLok group?

Hey...I also got a can of pig trotters from last time, until now still haven eat it yet.

Abt the yellow wine, you can order now and keep it till delivery. Only found this place few days ago and gotta wait for the stock and not sure will get it in time for confinement, maybe abit late.

Ivena,
Thanks for the recipe! Do you think will be nice if I use macoroni?

twinkle,
the yellow wine is for cooking, not sure can drink or not. Normally use it for yellow wine chicken. Is more for getting rid the wind as I read leh...

But ladies...not sure the quality of the wine is good or not, got the infor from SMH thread. For me, last min and will just get it better than nothing hee...

Any recipe for using the yellow wine to cook?

cookie and twinkle,
where did you get the DVD?

Re: Canned pig trotters
It seems like we are keeping our canned pig trotter hee... we can't find them in supermarket any more right?

Ann,

i got it fm popular book store, the children DVD corner. I think there are 4 series.

as for the yellow wine, i m thinking is it the same as those home made rice wine type. Hee.. i told one of my friend to make it herself. if now there is a place that sell , she can buy more convenient .

morning all

ann

Think it should taste nice too....anyway i also didnt use spaghetti...i use macoroni cos its easier for the kid to eat it....

Just had fried bee hoon with canned pig trotter the other day....the last can tt i have...it taste yummy....ya...dun seem to find it on the shelvings in the supermkt....

wat DVD are u all referring to huh??

Ann,
thanks for the great lobang.
i just called the ms liang to reserve 2 bottles of yellow wine.
she says can collect after 15th aug, but must call to check first.
and no worries on the quality... 'no fish prawns also good'.

heee.. yes, eat to our hearts content for this last leg hor. u so funny... lock up for one month!
quickly plan what to eat first.

my sister says she got the dvd fm sembawang music.

ivena,
thanks for yr spaghetti carbonara recipe.

we are referring to the wheels on the bus dvd.

Choc,
heee.. yes, must gei hum. i also looking forward to eating char kuay tiao gei hum and load of chilli.
initial months of breastfeeding need to stay off chilli, my boy kena diarrhea the last time when i ate curry.

good idea to drink bu tang at night after the confinement period. cos was wondering if eat 42 days of confinement food will it be too heaty for our body in this hot weather.

i am drooling leh.... must ask my mum if she have any canned pig trotter hidden somewhere.

agree that hapidural is good, but the admistering part is scary.
for mine, kena scolding during the hapidural administration cos i jerk. but was damn painful.
also i could still pain on the right side after the effect kick in on the left side. in the end have got to pull the needles out by 1cm to balance.

Twinkle,
the last time we went malacca a few months back, we actually bought back a few cans. ;)
think its nowwhere in sight in singapore. my sister's wedding could not find any canned pig trotters also.

Huskie/annlee, I rem that my hb came in once after the epi was administered. But the gynae usu takes his time so waited for a while. Any of you deliver in TMC? Any anthetatist to recommend? My prev 2 c-sectio were at GlenE and I chose Dr Dicky Tay, he's really good.

Annlee, your gynae ok with you choosing timing? My prev gynae doesn’t like us to choose date/timing.

Huskie, drumstick leave gd for respiratory system??? Then I must try for Sherwin. Let me knoww if Sop ok to take the juice.

Choc, I fried mee hoon with pig trotters too, but seems like it cant be found nowadays.
So sad cos I dun know how to fry mee hoon without it.

Giggler,
I don't know any anaesthesist to recommend at TMC,my first time there and also want to know which is good but don't know who to ask. My 1st anaeathesist is also Dr Dicky Tay, 2nd preggie Dr Tay is on leave so not avail gotta chose another one , both are good.
Abt choosing the time, think not many gynae likes it, my previous gynae don't really want it so we gotta find another gynae. The reason I chose my current gynae is because he allowed us to chose the date and time and read he's quite good also.
Any idea which anaesthesist you're getting and why change your gynae?

Cookie and twinkle,
Thanks on the DVD!

cookie,
ya lor....must eat now...I'm also same like you, keep thinking of what to eat next.
Ha... I'm thinking the way I walk look like something and yes, you're right...walking like a penguin. In fact I'm trying to control, stop moving like penguin but now don't care lah...

Abt the yellow wine, they told you can get on 15th Aug? Think I better call and check too...the lady mention to me 1-2 weeks times, also ard the date that given to you. Shld be the same batch.

Ivena,
yah...we are referring to the wheels on the bus dvd.
I'm thinking of using macoroni as is much easier for the kids to eat. Last time I'm trying to bake lasagna using macoroni but failed.

Lunch I'm having Nasi Padang again...although saying is my last time but still get it hee... brought my own 5 grains rice mix with brown rice so they just put the stuffs on top of it.

Tonight making Crystal Jade style veges recommended huskie, not using drumstick leaves but spinach and stir fry pork with my left over mushroom, gotta get rid of it if not will turn bad.
And my hb is getting mao shan wang durian for me tonight, hmmm...I'm happy today.

I cant try any baking recipe as I have got no oven at home...so everytime see baking cakes n cookies...feel tempted to get an oven so can try out all those recipes.

Hmmm...during my confinement previously i only use hongZao jiu...my relatives made those wine on their own....didnt seem to use the yellow wine tt u all are talking abt.....

think its tough to ctrl moving like a penguin during pregnancy...at least we can balance ourselves better when walking like penguin....

Ann, you also use Dr Dicky Tay??? He's really gd hor? You also had your delivery at GlenE the prev times? Not sure which anaesthesist that my gynae will recommend yet. I change my gynae cos my prev gynae is very ex.

Any idea if there's any expiry date for the home-made rice wine?

Hey ladies,

Actually i use the canned pork rib to fry bee hoon. That day at sheng shong, i saw the promoters telling people "want to buy, quickly buy, no more on the shelf liao!" But I didn't dare to buy

Gig, yah.. it really tastes good with fried bee hoon!

I kept my rice wine for a couple of months and it changed to a darker col.. Think must keep in a very cool place

ann,
mala steamboat
talker.gif
.. Wow! I love it too.. but can't eat with kids! yah.. the paramount is under tung lok gp.. Eat and eat.. until stomach burst!

Think what you suggest has a strong influence on me .. haha..
now I WANT to eat what you are eating! NASI PADANG!

Had yellow wine chicken at Jusco( Tebrau city) JB, they cooked it with sliced ginger and black fungus.. very yummy and no msg.. or maybe my tongue spoil liao!

Dr Dicky tay is good ? For all 3 births, i had different ones.. dunno their names tho, but a particular lady was the best, 2 were male..

cookie,
ya lor.. the administering of the hapidurial is terrible.. must curl up like a prawn, aiyo.. stomach so big already , so difficult to curl up!

I also drank lots of coconut water and liang before delivery, hopefully, body will not be too heaty for the confinement food..

ann, cookie.
Do you drink soy bean milk these days? I haven't been drinking any milk, just popping calcium pills

Giggler,
My prev 2 preggies deliver at GlenE so also know Dr Dicky Tay. He's very popular, my 2nd anaesthesist also good, he knows my side effect of epi is nauseaous and earlier inject the medi on me so I don't feel any uncomfortable. My prev gynae also ex and also another reason why I change him.

choc,
Nasi Padang sedap huh...also like Indian food. My hb says maybe my previous life I'm a muslim or abu neh neh.
Think we all have close taste buds. Everytime you all mentioned about char kway teow add more hum or laksa more hum, I also like it but don't dare to eat now.

I'm drinking soya bean milk everyday, sometime just drink it when I feel thirsty hee... I'm taking nutrisoy no sugar type so no worries abt putting on weight from the sugar.

Dr Dicky Tay is from GlenE, cannot come over to TMC I think but he's really good. If you got friends deliver at GlenE and mention about Dr Tay, most probably they will know him.

Hey, you mentioned abt your hapidural that the needle going up ur spine and the needle felt so long sounds really scary... is my first time doing at TMC and makes me even want to op for GA leh...