Cooking Tips & Recipe

Pinkbunny

Your soup surely sound yummy...you know how to make mushroom soup?

Oh yes, mummy here, are you particular about what plates to use for dinner...as in presentation?

pinkbunny,

wow!! another delicious dinner of yours. Yum yum.

me today no cook again. yeah! we eat out hahaha i went to spa this morning, very relax until abit tired. hahahah. Also shop for a egg mixter but din get any in the end.

Huskie, WWW is fun , well i think for bigger kids will be more fun as some fun cannot be play by toddler. Anyway he enjoyed and keep gog on the slide. I saw a baby abt 6mths there in the baby area. U shld bring sophie there sometime .

twinkle
what is an egg mixter? *blur face*

joy
i think cream of anything should be about the same ba.... replace potatoes with mushrooms? the white kind from market? not sure leh.

if you want chunkier soup then don't blend for too long.

for presentation, i was never particular, cos only me and hubby eating mostly. but lately i have taken a bit more effort into making the presentation look good. may be psychological but the food tastes better when it looks better!

for angmoh cooking, my plates are the square ones from ikea, or round ones with design, bought from tangs (now got sale!!!!). for chinese cooking, i like the typical old style kind. got fish or chicken kind hehe.

happy cooking, mummies. i'm off to enjoy another day of ML bliss!

Pinkbunny

thanks...am into presentation as lately dine too much into restaurant and was wondering what makes their food different from mine....so start to observe the cultery they used when I dine out...noticed mostly they like to use plain white plate that is with a depth....

Hubby is very particular about presentation, to the details of the colours of the food and the way the carrot is being cut....

pbunny,
The recipes look yummy!
Enjoy your ML now!

twinkle,
Where is WWW?

Joy,
My cutlery are all white... and different shapes like square, triangle and round.
Only some Chinese dishes are served in rectangular jade-green inside (black outside) Vietnamese sort of plates.

I read somewhere that using blue plates will make people eat lesser, and bright colors like yellow or clean colors like white is more appetising.

Huskie,

its Wild Wild Wet :p

hmm.. blue plate will tend to eat lesser huh, wow i must buy some so i can go on diet liao.

joy
nice presentation makes me feel nicer too
like yesterday i took special care to lay out the french beans nice nice, all kekenan lurus kind hahaha. once i can find out how to download the pics i will post to show you what i mean

president's cream is packet kind. find under dairy/cheese (fridge) section.

pinkbunny,]
your salmon and soup looks good! In fact I'm having salmon this 2 weeks.
Very sianz...I'm had too much of sweet stuff, now can say totally cut off. Last week having chocolate cake, nutella, chocolate, durian for, sweet drinks for the past few days and I guess my sugar level went up. Went to see gynae and tested that my glucose level is very high, so i need to do additional test to see whether I'm having any diabetes?? haiz.. gotta fast on thursday night and go down for the test the next morning. Is so troublseome, think gotta stay there from early morning till mid afternoon, gotta plan what to do with my kids. I'm too greedy, eat too much sweet stuff, serve me right!

huskie,
hey...rmr I told you I'm having dry cough, it recovered 2 days later after I took cordycep. But I will only take it when I rmr it. It's good huh.

joy,

I saw the cream at cold storage. Is in small packet form like those vitasoy packet for kids , at the butter, cheese, cream section.

annlee
i try to take alot of salmon (on top of DHA tablets... kiasu mummy). i always tell poppy 'it's for you ok? brain food!' hehe.

hehe me too, been trying to cut down on sweet stuff. gynae said 'up to you... cut down only if you don't want a sumo baby'.

take care ya? good luck for your GD test!

joy
there are ready made ones in pasta sections. i modify by buying the nestle small tin (i think it's called full cream) - i fry onions with chicken that's been seasoned with sesame oil, salt and pepper, then add the cream in with some herbs, then mix with cooked pasta. quick and easy!

Ann,
Hope that u will pass the GD test.
Maybe its just that before seeing the gynae, u took quite a lot of sugar stuff and did not drik much water.
So it shows?
sigh.. have been quite stressed at work recently.
and also also waking up to pee. last night was trying to get to sleep and woke up 4 times to pee before sleeping. then in the middle of the night another 3 toilet visit.
I don't eat beef, so am trying to eat more mutton now. Thanks for the tips on the lemon juice.

Pinkbunny.
u so cute! counting the no. of times u pee.
heee... enjoying yr ML now? u must have already lined up gots of recipe to try out during yr ML.
Hope u have fun cooking and post more pics to inspire us. ;)
Remember to let us know when u pop okie... and tell us yr birth story. its getting exciting now!

Huskie,
Glad to know that Soph is well and good now.

after reading yr post, decided to get the houning to try on my boy also.
Very poor thing to see him always coughing.
Tried giving him some of my cordyceps soup on sat. Notice not as bad coughing on sat night. (hee.. only need to get up twice to pat him). But still not fuly recovered.
Cordyceps is really expensive now... its almost triple the price of that in 2005

That is why forced myself to eat the cordyceps after drinking the soup
*on the grinding on cordycep into powder. I was doing that for a while. But recently heard fm 2 suorces (one eys sinseh, another is fm Fuhua) that it is not recommended to grind into powder. They believe that it is better to double boil and use heat to forced out all the goodness of the cordyceps.
Just sharing with u guys. so i am quite confused also on this

Choc,
Yr girls are so cute! they remember to bring their smelly pillows. didi have smelly pillow? Was wondering why my boy dun like to hold on anything to sleep except my elbow.
Is it a girls thing to have fav blanket or pillow only?

Twinkle,
since young have been speaking quite lot to him in adult languages.
So i really don't understand why is is still unwilling to talk yet. Lazy? or maybe just like the father who don't really like to talk.
Yr son so cute, can tell u what he wants to eat! and agree they definitely have a mind of their own. My boy can refused 6 t-shirts in a row that i pick out for him.

So now, before trying to put on for him. I will tell him the t-shirt is soooo nice, in order to convince him to wear.

Joy,
Think SK II advance signs treatment not bad. U have any recommendation for eye cream?
My mum says i have permanent dark eye cirles and lines now.

Sigh! Joy and cookie, I have dark circles too !

pbunny, your dishes look so pro and so much effort put in !You must be enjoying your ML now.I have been eating walnuts and almonds,read that it's brain food too, for my old brains..heehee

Hey joy, I have seen president's cream in a sq pack in the cheese/milk section in cold storage.

Huskie, thanks for sharing the milk info ! It's really helpful. Didn't ask if my friends that had br cancer whether they consumed too much meat and diary. But I know the one that passed on was choosy over her vege and during chemo, she was still eating the same kind of dishes as other family members.

Interestingly, i chanced upon the kind of diet woman should have affecting the gender of the bb being conceived.
More meat, salty food contribute to ova attracting y sperms, therefore male bb.
More calcium , less meat, more vege contributing to ova attracting x sperms, = female bb. Haha.. dunno how true! This has got to do with the PH in the vagina during conception.

Hey cookie, yah, my girls have their smelly pillows and my boy loves to cover himself with my blanket before he sleeps !Linus(in snoopy) holds a blanky wherever he goes too.. haha..
Do u sleep on your side ? Found that it's effective to curb going to pee in the middle of night.

Ann, all the best for your GD test. Had 1 episode aft consuming loads of durian before checkup too!Kena chided by gynea and st away, he knew I took durians ..

cookie
thanks! i'm in my 38th week liao. so just twiddling my thumbs psycho-ing poppy to come any time she wants

lately i've been putting a little more effort into presentation cos it makes me feel better and psychologically i think it also tastes better hehe

choc, joy, cookie
sigh. i also join you girls in the dark circles club
actually mine is dark EYELIDS. so funny lor

today's dinner! (photo from last time but this was the dish)
1508357.jpg

it's called chan chan maki, a dish my family and i had on holiday in hokkaido many years ago. then we learnt how to make it at some hokkaido fair. very easy to make.

fry salmon in butter then when almost cooked, add mixture of 3 tbsp butter+3tbsp mirin+1 tsp sugar+water (i used about 1 small cup, depends on how much gravy you want). then throw lettuce (the big long one) over salmon+gravy and cover until lettuce is softish.

just this and rice and it's a full meal liao!

Pinkbunny

Well done, another nice presentation...Hey, I have been painting the town red to look for nice plate.Saw some but stop as worried my maid may break it...so looks like have to go for less expensive one but no where to be found.....

You reminded me of those days when I was preggy with number two, I cook a lot...and the end result is MY BOY LOVES TO EAT....hahahah.Once he comes along, no time to cook but now as he is coming to 3, I picked up cooking again...

Oh yes, where are you staying?

I cooked babi pong teh,another perankan dish....

EYE MASK
AM still trying to hunt...thank zzzcookiemonster for info.

Vitamins
Lately, me picked up vitmin and starts to take as feeling tired most of the time....do you ladies take vitamin?

yawn... morning ladies. up since 7am cos poppy demanded breakfast
kao_dizzy.gif

about dark eye circles
do you ladies put on alot of make up, esp eye make up? i heard that if we use alot of force or strong eye make up removers, it can damage the capillaries around the eyes cos the skin there is so thin and sensitive, and that could play a part in causing the dark circles. not sure..

joy
wow babi pong teh! happening!!! tell you secret .... i have never eaten it before, i think! hehe.

do you know how long asam can tahan in the fridge? i have one pack that is months old (maybe even a year... blush). still can use or not ah? hehe. want to cook asam fish la!

btw i stay at tiong bahru

ah... if your experiment is right, poppy will be a foodie too hehe.

re plates - try ikea! or isetan? still got sale right? if you want the cheena kind, chinatown has alot.

re vitamins
i used to take multivitamins, but since preggie, switched to pre natal vitamins. maybe you need to sleep more
it really helps cos your body needs to rejuvenate mah

pink, choc, cookie,
Thanks!! I think can definitely pass the test, is definitely the sugar that I take. I put on ard 3 kg and I'm so shocked!! and lost 2kg after stopping all the sweet stuff completely. U see...the sugar can really make a person put on so fast.

pinkbunny,
I want to cook your salmon, is very easy to do it but alot of butter leh...hee...I shld get a bottle of mirin. Saw a few cooking show from taiwan they uses alot of mirin.

Joy,
In fact I love looking at nice plates. Some of them are very ex so since my kids is still young no point buying those, afraid they might break it. So I only allow the kids to use cornell plate or bowl for food.
Abt vitamins, I used to take q10, grapeseed extract, evening primrose for anti-aging, beauty purpose hee..but of course is benefit for health. Now only take DHA and multi vit for pregnancy.
check with you, is your dd going to school by school bus or you drive?

cookie,
try to relax... taking your maternity leave soon?

Pinkbunny

Poppy has a good start...wake up early and have good breakfast....

I think assam is still ok to use.My mil keep very long...

Plates
me do not like china plates, prefer more classy type. What types of plate is ikea selling, is it the plain type...

Annlee
Initially I will drive my gal to school, now my neighbour will send and pick for me unless her hubby want to use the car.However, every wed and fri ,I will pick myself cos my gal having CCA on friday and hers is on wednesday....

pinkbunny,
hee...I also wake up ard 7. Also think everyday I wake up that time bb want his breakfast...he's very on...will kick or move ard 7am everyday so I can wake up

Joy,
oh so you drive...was thinking for my son to take school bus but don't like it to be back so late. Driving is good idea too...

Joy,
I stayed ard bugis area. My son going to study Tao Nan next year, wanted to move to Marine Parade but unit there very limited, was thinking ard bedok or Eunos area so my son might take school bus. Now headache to get a place.

annlee,

I remember u mentioned Tao Nan to me b4.

hey i can look around my area for u if there is . actually my area quite hot and pretty fast sold off.

Cookiemonster,
i also use the same method as you. Before i dress him i will tell he has a nice clothe and can I wear it? he will response i want to wear. HAHAHA

annlee
hey i didn't use that much butter (maybe that's why the skin of the salmon stuck to the pan so much haha). only 1 tbsp. but it was low fat.... hehe, consoling myself

mirin is quite alcoholic so i should stop taking now i think. wait poppy come out mabok hehe

cookie and annlee
when is your EDD? sorry i know you mentioned before but i forgot! (blame it on the preg....)

annlee
just to share - i have lived in both bedok and eunos area and eunos traffic is TERRIBLE!!! bedok is a better bet. marine parade is lovely (i studied there... but not tao nan, i'm more of an average student hehe) but like twinkle say, very hot property! could also consider the other direction, kallang?

hello girls! Hmm... forum seemed to be down from evening onwards, and now so many posts

Choc,
I also heard about the meat/vege diet affecting gender of baby from other forum mummies

Hee, I tend to eat more veges and sweet stuff before conceiving Soph

annlee,
What's your diet like since you've got 2 boys and 1 more coming?

Also, Good luck for your GD test!
Yeah, sugar really makes one put on a lot of weight... I read that FM are very heavily artifically sweetened, so that's why some FM babies tend to be more chubby.

Congrats on your ds going to Tao Nan.... it's a really good school yeah?
Did you have to do any volunteer work or is your hubby or yourself ex-student?

Re. plates:
Joy, if you're looking for plain white ones, Corelle has them and they are unbreakable. But they don't come in triangle or square... only round. But they're really light, so I do have quite a few pieces of them.

Re. vits:
I also take mutli-vits... I find that they keep me energetic thru' the day.
I take mutli-vits, calcium and fish oil.
I also give Soph her mutlivits and if she is sick, then alternate days of grapeseed extract.

twinkle,
Which area do you stay in?

pbunny,
Your salmon dish looks yummy! Hee, I'm surprised you still take mirin during pregnancy. My hubby wouldn't allow me to take!

cookie,
How's your boy now?
Thanks for the info on cordyceps. But I just bought already, so no choice, have to finish them.
But I do find that the double-boiled soup with ground cordyceps didn't taste and smell as good as using the non-ground kind.

btw, how often do you give your boy cordyceps powder?
EYS told me half a tsp everyday... woah, everyday will OD or not?

Annlee
So your son will be in the afternoon session for two years.Taonan jam itself can be terrible in the evening, I had it for two years, as most parents drive kids.....

Bugis is quite a straightforward road to taonan, just via ecp, right?

Huskie
Taonan is good if the kid can adapt and stay in lane...if not , can be quite competitive if in the top class.Their streaming starts as young as p2(unofficially), with one top class, and one second best class...then stream again for the next few years...its quite commonn that a kid has got marathon tuitions....for p1 and p2, still ok, but from p3 onwards, if wanna maintain 90 and above for every subject, has to put in a bit of hard work.....To me,intelligent study quite impt or they will spend time doing assessment and ended up no childhood at a young age...quite poor thing....

Plates
Huskie, corelle is cheaper in australia, i got quite a few from there. I will buy more when am maidless....

Maid
Anyone has got maid at home?these days, maids are quite substandard...i look forward to maidless days and use part time maid.

Vitamin
I agreed, it gives one energy. I take, multivit, fish oil, b complex and collagen......all bought from the states, cheaper....

twinkle,
thanks...pls let me know if you happen to know one. I'm actually
looking near MRT, I know there's blk 9 and 11, do u know there's any
supermarket near MRT ...which block do u stay?

pinkbunny,
oh you reduce butter...thought the more butter will taste great. Pan
fried perch fish for my hb on weekend and he keep telling me must put
more butter, the more the better...but for me sure reduce it keke..
Abt kallang, my parent stay there but quite a distance to school,
aiyo....sianzz... gotta move end of the year.
My EDD 13 Aug.

joy,
ya...you're right, can go by ecp. Actually we wanted to shift also,
to a bigger place.
What's wrong with your maid? I will go crazy without maid esp now when I'm
pregnant. Very scare of changing maid, have read from the forum abt
maid and so horrible, at first thought the mommies are
exaggerating but indeed happened to my ex-maid before. My elder sis
maid is very fortunate,she allowed to open the fridge and take her
favourite drink, no need to clean the hse everyday, cook whatever she
like, heard her shouting at my nephew shut up. There's once my hb and
my maid told me the maid lying on my younger sis bed when making my
nephew sleep and sleep together, ridiculous!!!
What I mean is that how can she sleep on others bed.
I can't say much abt the maid since my sister really need someone to take care of her son.
For me, I really don't like her, same goes to my other siblings, they
called her a queen...
and also feel sorry for the maid future employer as I think she's spoil, hope my sister is not reading here kekeke

huskie
abt the meat/vege diet affecting gender of baby I have read somewhere too...I eat alot of veggie and my hb alot of meat so maybe affected from my hb side?
I used to study at Tao nan so need to do volunteer work. Joy has the answer abt the school.Is sap school... and if wan the kids to go to such school must prepare them to have such stress.
Abt corelle plate/bowl is breakable cos my ex-maid broke 1 before. But not as fragile as normal plate.
oh yes...what is FM?

Hi Annlee

Are you expecting the second child?
Maid was indispensable to me in the past as my boy was very young and I need help.I have just pm you....

For maid, I am prepared to change anytime as maid are very strange, once they are good in their job, attitude problem starts to surface....

How long has your maid been with you?

You study in taonan?

Joy,
I'm expecting my 3rd one

My maid has been with me for abt 11/2 yrs. She's hardworking and attitude quite ok.But of course she's not perfect, her cooking is soso although she knows how to cook alot of food, think is all abt skill. She's quite a messy person but sometime I just close 1 eye.

yes...I'm old gal from Tao Nan.

huskie
hehe my hubby has not banned me from any food! except coffee in the past month. but he still happily drinking

he's not local and where he's from, women are drinking wine every other day even when preggie so it's ok to him i guess!

annlee
ya more butter will taste better but my waist already 42 inches because of the little swimmer inside, i don't want it to stretch any further! haha

re maids
i think it's heng suay one. my parents had a really good one who stayed for a long time. got along well with everyone, hardworking, cooked well, cleaned well, generally a really nice lady. then got pregnant and went back. then her SIL came to take her place and SHE was a terror. tried to seduce my father! and some more not exactly the tall and slender kind you know? we also had one before that cooked 2 portions - 1 for herself, 1 for the rest of the family (at that time, 5 of us). and can you believe it? the portions were equal? i.e. hers and ours (5 people's share combined) were equal!

What are you girls cooking/eating for lunch today?
I'm lazy, just drinking my lotus root carrot soup, bread with butter and 2 half boiled eggs (my fav!)

Joy,
I know Corelle is cheap in USA cos made there, but didn't know they're cheap in Australia too.
Anyway, I've never been to Oz before... maybe should pay a visit to my hubby's cousins in Perth on of these days!

annlee,
Corelle - I think to break it means your maid must have knocked it many times liao... then got fine hairline cracks and finally gave way

Cos I dropped my bowls and plates on the floor before, and have never broken one before.

FM - formula milk
You intend to bf your baby too?

Hee, maybe for #4, you make your hubby eat more veggies!

Woah, your sis' maid is really a queen! That's why I'm so afraid to get a maid. But yes, it's a heng suay thing... think lyn's maid is pretty good.

Mommies, pls enlighten me about schools?
Pri school got SAP school? Thought it was only Sec Sch?
I'm now reading up on MOE webbie - need to find out more about these Phase 2ABC thing... always at a loss when friends talk about them!

pbunny,
Your hubby is French?

Annlee
Wow, you are good....when did you become a sahm?How many girl and boy you have ?

My maid used to be very messey, after three months, she is improving, after me nag and nag and am not surprised that she find me a fussy person.

Huskie
I bought mine sometime ago when I was holiday in perth.

SAP
Yes,there are sap in pri school. Taonan, kwong hwa, etc....

Made chicken stew with potatoes ,carrots and mushrooms to go with rice. Easy peasy.. just use worchester sauce, bit of salt and black pepper. One dish only..

Talking about corelle plates, I bought one set in Metro during a sale. Aft a yr, my dd1 dropped a bowl and it cracked into very very small fragments.. worse than breaking a porcelain bowl.

My hb said that maybe this was due to the old quality of the product, that's why it broke and cracked until so jia lat!

pbunny, wah! the maid who tried to seduce your father really "terok" ,so daring!

Huskie, the pri one reg also a headache! Aft been thru one, i still can't remember which phase is for what. Anyway, old girls/boys have priority, sch staff, and followed by parent volunteers. Most of the times, parent vols don't need to go thru balloting unless the sch is super popular.

So the rest will be balloting at phase 2C, depending on how near one stays away from the sch, eg. 1 km first, then 2 km and so on.
And parent volunteers got to start signing up 2 yrs b4 pri 0ne reg depending on the schools. So got to call them up to find out when they start recruiting.

huskie,
yes yess you're right...forgotten to mention to you that the corelle plate has drop a few times. There's no line cracks and my hb says it drop so many times and lost the effect hee...
ya...I intend to bf my baby.
Not going for #4, think I'm a selfish person, I love freedom...always tot will stop at #2 and want my freedom back if they're older so when having my 3rd preggy, I can't accept it at first.
Abt sap school, I have got this booklet from my son stated all the sap school, not sure whether moe website has it, if you wan to know your area let me know.

Tonight dinner is simple, chicken porriage and some vegetables

Joy,
No la...I'm not good... I think you ladies are good. Look at choc, I really salute her, she's my idol...can teach, cook, no maid and best of all expecting her #4.
I become sahm since '02, got 3 boys.
I did not receive your pm, think is slow...

choc,
my corelle bowl also break into v v small pieces, and yes...worst than a porcelain bowl. It shattered all over the dining area and some to the kitchen, powerful!

Choc, may I know if your chicken stew is suitable for toddlers? My son doesnt like porridge now, infact he's eating rice with soup for dinner. Thot of trying some recipe that is suitable for the whole family.

ann, abt your 3rd preg, how did you convince yourself in the end??? Regarding SAP sch, do you know which is the SAP sch in Jurong West area? You having 3 boys??? I really salute you, I alr very chuan taking care of one boy, cant imagine how you deal with 3. LOL.....

Hi Giggler,
Yah, the chicken stew is great for the whole family, including toddlers. My toddler is 22 months now. So i just cut up the chicken and the mushrooms and mesh the pots and carrots into his rice.
I ve tried with him months ago when he didn't have that much teeth, I reduced the amount of chicken and added more pots and carrots into his rice/ porridge. Can also add peas into the stew, it's yummy too.

I use one medium chicken to feed 4 of us. Cooked some brown rice cum normal rice.

You can also try yong tau foo soup to go with rice. Just add more "liao4" and vege , the whole family can eat. Little didi can have tau foo, vege with rice ;)
I barely coped with no. 1 when I had her too.. things may get easier when you have 2 or 3 .. or 4.. ;)They entertain one another, have company when they eat with one another and also squabble with one another.

Haha.. ann, you very funny..I should join singapore idol huh ! sometimes, i think i run the family like a military camp!
All mummies are great! That's why "shi shang zhi you MAMA hao"

Dunno why, this time round, I don't feel preggy, just felt fats all over my waist and hips, YUCKS ! When expecting no. 3, I had to wear maternity belt and had braxton hicks and felt so breathless everytime.
Thought post natal massage and a good confinement helped alot.
I just started drinking Raspberry tea , hope it helps in shortening the contraction. Will tell you all the verdict when I birth.

twinkle, what fish you use for stir frying ?

huskie
nope my hubby is french canadian
he's french the way we are 'from china'.

choc
your chicken stew sounds wonderful!!!!!!! you just throw evening in the pot and boil? for how long?

i also like to mix brown and white rice together
from what i heard from yoga teacher, raspberry leaf tea helps in softening cervix. hope it's true cos i'm very sian of the tastelessness liao! hehe.

twinkle
can share how to steam egg? mine always cannot make it so i have given up hehe.

updates.... at week 38... i am very tired liao. i cannot wait to push poppy out!!!

not cooking tonight. met my aunts for high tea so still very stuffed hehe. told hubby to gao dim his own dinner tonight!

Choc, can I have the recipe for the chicken stew pls? Maybe I'll try tonite. I usu cook YTF soup and steam fish to go with rice, very boring... You really very 'can' to have 4 kids, really salute you,
I'm still in the stage of convincing myself of having no. 3, think I'm still in self-denial stage now. Hahaha...

Choc,
it depends but mainly is cod fish or threadfin. he only takes these 2 type of fish so far. i will cook the fish and veg separately. then when the veg is almost ready, then dump the fish in it. Simple 1 dish.

Wow u really good man! no helper and managing kids and cooking by yrself.

yday i made fishball tofu soup for the little one. me down w flu and sore throat.

pbunny,

my steamed egg is no recipe, basically the water must be double than the egg mixture. Must sieve thru the beaten egg mixture so it will be smooth.
i will just steamed it for abt 15 mins. I used wok and i will put 2 chopstick on the wok parellel so that the cover and wok has a gap.

if prefer w ingredient , like fish , carrot or spinache, i will drop them in 5mins b4 the time up.

u can try it out

twinkle
chope, egg mixture + double the water then sieve? (see, i so blur haha). no need salt, pepper etc?

choc
i also say, you very ou xiang! hehe.

how about you try to throw spinach into your fish ball soup too? it's very nice

Choc
You really can.

I have a friend, who has four kids, no maid,three storey house,manage her own and all the kids turn out doing quite well in their studies...older one in anglican high, second one in victora, and two younger one are in p3.The price to pay is that this poor mum gone through alot and I can see all the sacrifice that she put in...

Annlee
With three boys, maybe they are better than one boy....as they are tamer...unlike my boy, super active

Yikes! The breaking of Corelle plates sounds scary! I better be real careful with them with kids around.

Went to my mum's for dinner - Soph drank 1.5 ricebowls of lotus root soup! And I ate up her whole pomfret, inclu tail, fins, bones and head!
Mommies are still the best!

Choc,
Thanks for the MOE brief! It's really helpful.

Hee, if you join Singapore Idol Mom, I'll vote for you!!!

annlee,
The list of SAP schools... are they the same as the GEP schools on MOE website? As in, they're labeled Gifted Education Programme (GEP)?

Thanks for offering to tell me the list, but think I won't need it... hahah, I won't have high hopes of putting my kids in these schools... , more like I cannot cope with the stress!

Thought of putting Soph into my old school... it'll be so nice to see her hair in ponytails and wearing the same uniform I wore 33 years ago!
But sigh, like you, I'll have move leh, sian. And it's to the west area!

That reminds me... hee, I'd better send in the form to join the alumni soon

i hv not thought of which sch to enrol him. wait till then we will hv to figure out. I live near SAP schools but i dun really want him to go there lor. Like Huskie i dun think i can take the stress.

pbunny, yup beat the egg then add double the amt of water, then sieve . i find this way it will be more smooth. to add pepper and salt is up to yr taste. if u add chicken stock instead of water then dun need salt liao.

for me i din add pepper and salt bcos the young one is ok w/o the seasoning , i added carrot and fish to it which already taste nice to him. So for me i will do w/o as well or i add veg gravy onto my egg while i eat. These days i cook more for him and for myself. So sad hor