Cooking Tips & Recipe

HAHA ! huskie, if you didn't tell me the difference between male and female chickens, I think I'll ask the chicken seller the next time also.. and get a scolding too..

Dunno if the chicken from the supermarket is fresh or not! When I was in Shanghai, I chose a live black chicken from the market, and they slaughtered right in front of me, de-feathering and de-gutting leaving the heart palpitating in the poor chicken! i asked them why they did that, they said 'like that then it's bu!" Wow ! I think if we have this kind of chicken to double boil, no need to take other kind of bu liao !
Esp when cordeceps so ex now !

Pbunny, Tell us how your yong tau foo and prawn noodles turn out huh !

cookie,
don't know why this time preggy I don't like chocolate or any bitter stuff, a little bit also cannot. I had some mango pomelo dessert that day and stop after 2 spoons, can taste the bitter of the pomelo.

pinkbunny,
yah...first child always very excited. I remember anyhow buy baby stuffs when first time preggy, think spend abt 5k but now my 3rd one only spend abt $500 kekeke...

I cook luncheon meat with ketchup and potato once in a while for my sons. My ds1 love panfried luncheon meat with bread but only allow him once in a blue moon hee....

I'm making yong tau foo soup too...and also fried kway teow and noodle for tonight dinner.

choc,
I double boil cordecep with chicken too... that chinese herbal shop aunti recommmended me one kind of ginseng and says is very good for baby and says I can tell the health between my baby and both of my sons if I consume it. Is not gao li sheng, she's not telling me, so secretive, think she's afraid that I will get it somewhere else.

Cordyceps very ex...more than 50% of the price that I bought 2 yrs ago.

I don't take birdnest. My ds1 I took it and he got mild asthma. My ds2 I did not and he's fine so birdnest is nono to me. But then again...not all is the same.

My MIL told me before the dripping chicken essence chicken must tok tok until very small or even almost mince then we can really get the good stuff from bone and meat.

soph,
Thanks for the website!
I also heard that we must take hen because of the hormone.NTUC did not sell female chicken always male. Later take more we will become macho kekeke...joking huh...
hee...also bought NTUC soy milk for my hb weetbix. He quite like the green tea flavour, sometimes he will prefer pomergrate form marigold.

Joy,
yes...I'm on msn, how about you?

Re. cordyceps,
Yeah, they're really expensive now! I'm thinking of buy those broken ones from EYS just to make simple daily soups. I know they're probably not as effective, but I gather it won't be too bad since dd, dh and I are not drinking for a specific purpose e.g. asthma... but more for general well-being.

Choc,
Woah, I cannot bear to eat the chicken if it was killed in front of me leh... esp. if the heart was still palpitating!
Actually, I am thinking how to turn vegetarian... but very difficult cos I like my bulgolgi meat

pbunny, annlee,
Yeah, the NTUC housebrand soymilk is surprisingly good. I was quite apprehensive to buy it at first, but Mairgold was sold out on one of the days, so I thought can buy a pack and try. And best thing is, their calcium level is even higher than Marigold's!

cookie,
I went to Beauty World again to buy the rice cake from the Korean lady just now. She recognised me and I ended up buying some soybean sauce from her too, and she gave me 2 packs of their rice cake desserts FOC!
Hee, she also kept asking me to make another baby so Soph will have a companion

Wanted to eat at the Peranakan restaurant actually, but was there at about 5:50pm, and they were closed. I thought they were closed for the day so moved on to a Korean/Jap cafe to makan, then after makan, saw the Peranakan restaurant opened! They said they only open at 6pm! *sigh* Wanted to badly to try it cos I heard a lot of reviews about it.
Have you tried it before?

huskie,
U goes beauty world pretty often?? Which floor is the korean lady located? The perankan rest opens late or dun open at all, really wonder how they earn. better to call before you go.

cookie,
The korean lady is at Well-Being Food at #03-02, Beauty World Centre, one floor down from the Peranakan restaurant, near the escalator and a Chinese medicine shop.

I don't really go there that often, but every Fri I get the car to send Soph for class, so I will go pick up hubby from work then we eat in the West area.

Hee, my hubby went into the Peranakan restaurant after it opened and "griped" to them in a friendly way... they were apologetic and told him they only open from 6pm onwards on weekdays... kept asking us to go back again! Business must be so good that they don't bother to open for lunch at all!

huskie
thanks! what is cordyceps in chinese/hokkien ah? alamak black chicken must specify male/female one ah? i always just say black chicken. and now i make my hubby tok the black chicken for me cos squatting and tokking is very xin ku for me now!!!

hey that peranakan restaurant at beauty world - i like! hehe. their bakwan kepeteng is good

updates!
yong tao foo was so so. ikan bilis + soy bean stock with a few pieces of fried TEE POH (some dried fish). then just throw in all the YTF liao. think maybe what was sold at market was not very fresh. tasted a bit sour, so i didn't really enjoy.

annlee, how did yours go?

the prawn mee, if i may say so myself (so not shy) really got standard leh! so here you go, for those of you who don't mind a few pots to wash (for a one dish meal, it's alot of washing!)

For 4 people, you'll need:

1/2 kg prawns
Pork ribs (I don't know how much it is in weight, but it was $4 worth at the market)
1 long piece of fish cake, sliced
Dao gay (20 cents worth at market)
Kang kong
Lean meat, about 200g
400g yellow noodles
400g bee hoon
2 tbsp dark soy sauce
Rock sugar to taste
Salt to taste
Oil for frying
Garlic, chopped

How to do it
1. Fry garlic in oil
2. Add prawn shells and fry till cooked. Set aside
3. Bring water to boil in pot (about 5 bowls worth - bowl size, same as the bowls you will use to serve)
4. Blanch pork ribs in hot water
5. Add in prawns and remove when cooked. In same pot, add in cooked prawn shells and pork ribs
6. Simmer in low heat for 1.5 hours
7. Add in pork lean meat, boil in stock for a further 30 minutes
8. Strain soup into separate pot
9. Return pork ribs to pot, set lean meat aside to cool
10. Add in dark soy sauce, rock sugar and salt to taste
11. In another pot, bring water to boil. Add in batches and cook first dao gay then dish up and set aside, then repeat for fish cake, kang kong and finally bee hoon then noodles (all done separately if you are going to present nicely. If it's just for eating at home, all can be done together)
12. Slice lean meat thinly
13. Place noodles in bowl and arrange ingredients on top then pour hot soup over and serve with pepper and fried shallots

Good morning ladies...

Hey...I love peranakan food too but beauty world abit far from my place.
Yesterday my hb finally agreed to eat curry fish head with me at The Banana Leaf Apollo at little India for lunch. We ordered the fish head curry, my eyes is greedy so order 1 portion of Masala chicken, did not finish it and super full, so did not had dinner yesterday. My hb is very picky in food, he prefer the curry fish head opposite safra chalet at tanah merah.

Pinkbunny,
my YTF soup base is very simple. Normally only add ikan bilis, onion and ginger but this time add in some left over radish, sometimes will also add some red dates to make the soup sweeter. Also add some fried shallot when serving.
Thanks for your Prawn noodle receipe!!
2 days ago was watching Anthony Bourdain Travel eating show and he went to this famous photographer home in sg and they cooked prawn noodle for him. It look so good and I'mcraving for some hee...
oh yes...what is tee poh fish?

annlee
i think it's cos the YTF stuff was not fresh
other than that it was ok. oh you add onions too? ok next time i try! now i try not to take red dates. gynae advise not to.

hope you will enjoy the prawn noodles! quite easy but alot of pots to wash ler.

tee poh is dried fish. buy from dried provisions shop, the people who sell rock sugar and onions. they will know what is tee poh
then you just fry it and keep in fridge until you need to use. it must be fried before you throw into the soup. but i've only used it for seafood kind of soup stock (like for fish soup or hai xian tang or YTF)

pinkbunny,
sometimes my YTF is not fresh too...bought from my place wet market. So sometimes I rather buy from dodo YTF from cold storage.
Abt tee poh, so i just mention to provision shop auntie tee poh dried fish and they will get it right? Will check it out with them when going to make hai xian tang.
ha...you're right...alot of pots or dish to wash, even sometimes cook simple dish also need to wash lotsa pots and pans, plates and bowls.

Cordyceps = 虫草 or 冬虫夏草

huskie,
my wet market don't sell female chicken leh... I gotta say that my wet market is very lousy, don't have this and that. Think must special order female chicken and my area market foods are not cheap too...

pinkbunny,
Your prawn mee sounds so good leh! But so much work.... think I cannot do it man. I'll just do the Prima Pack hee.

Yep, annlee answered your question on cordyceps. But they're sooooo expensive!

Will definitely order the bakwan kepeting if I go to Beauty World this Fri!

annlee,
How was the fishhead curry then?
I find The Banana Leaf Apollo standards has dropped a lot over the years. one time I went with my friends, the fish head was smelly!

Hmm... yours is a funny wet market... no female chickens? I thought most wet markets will have. I think your wet market is not cheap cos location is so central.

annlee - where is your wet market? thanks for the translation of coryceps
very ex ah? :S yup just tell the auntie you want tee poh can already. remember to fry it first hor.

huskie - ohhhh enjoy yourself this friday! i also had the assam fish the last time and it tasted a bit chao chor. chap chye was nice also. curry chicken was not bad but the best was still the bakwan kepeteng. we ordered 3 bowls! but there were around 8 of us
beef rendang came a bit undercooked in my opinion

fish head curry - heard that gayatri one is nice!

huskie,
my fishhead curry soso only...yes...got alittle smell, no wonder my picky hb don't like it. Is my 2nd time there and first time trying the fish head cos every wed will passby there to pick up my son from school and everytime there's customer at the restaurant ard 4pm. So wanted to give it a try and was really pack yesterday, mostly tourist, think local will only go to best place to eat hee....

ya lor...I also thought most wet market shld have female chicken, will check with them again.

pinkbunny,
ok, will remember to fry the tee poh first. Tee poh is it to make the soup taste sweet or pang (nice fragrant)?
yes... cordyceps is very ex compare to few yrs back. You go and check with chines herbal shop and they will show it to you, alittle bit and cost a few hundreds.
My wet market is near Bugis Junction. Lousy one don't come.

Where is gayatri?

Wow, so much about perankan food....My hubby is a peranakan and his tastebud is super fussy.,..By the way, there is this peranakn book by Mrs leong, not too bad....

Peranakan food is rich in taste but not spicy actually...I used to cook but lazy liao.....

Fish head curry actually can cook ourself, not too difficult...

Yesterday, I cook lotong curry...i never like this dish and thus not very good....Hubby critised but still pass...

pinkbunny,
Yeah, Gayatri fishhead curry is better. Restaurant decor is classier too

annlee,
Gayatri is just a few doors away from Apollo.
yeah, Appollo now mostly tourists

Joy,
I've got The New Mrs Lee cookbook, but too lazy to cook, cos have to pound so many things!

Good morning all !

Wow! it's been ages since i had paranakan food, only went to ivins and pao sing a few times.

Last sat , we brought our kids to the bollywood veggie farm and goats farm. The kids enjoyed the trip so much! At the bollywood cafe, they served banana curry(bananas from their own plot), sambal four angled beans, sweet potato leaves.. etc. Very yummy

Hey pinkbunny, thanks for the prawn noodle recipe. Sounds delicious ! Do you have to keep lots of prawn shells before you cooking prawn noodles ?

I have bought live prawns from shing shong to make herbal wine prawns, verdict : EXCELLENT!(sounds like seetoh)All because the prawns were still alive when we cooked them. We boiled the water with tang kwei, wolfberries and some yu zhu, some salt to taste , then throw in the live "mabuk" prawns(marinated with xo and whiskers still on)

Today not cooking, ta powing black sauce wan ton mee for everyone .

Good morning gals!

Woah, last night so tiring... Soph refused to sleep... dunno is it the teething pain? She's got lots of bumps on her gums, and keep sticking her hand into her mouth. Normally I'll put her down in her cot and she'll go to sleep by herself, but last night she cried the minute I put her down... what's going on?
If this goes on, think I might really just stop at 1!

Choc,
I wanted to go Hays Dairies followed by Bollywood last weekend too, but Soph needed her morning nap, then no time, so we ended up going to The Animal Resort at Seletar Farmway in the afternoon.
Wow, you had so many dishes! I heard Bollywood's curry is good!
I'll try to make it there this weekend

Pinkbunny,
Yr prawn noodles sounds so delicious. But hee… too tedious for me to make now.
Hey… ely july coming real soon, and yr instinct telling u baby will arrive ely. So u must be feeling vey excited now.

Choc,
Thanks for the pointers on spending time with the children when at home.
This boring mum here not creative at all in home play. Will need to learn more fm u. ;)
Did yr children enjoy feeding the goats? Always need to drag my boy home cos he likes feeding the goat. U can also try the Qian Fu fish farm, can bring children see the fish and also catch the small little long gao fish. Also the vegetable farm. There’s one opposite the Kok Farm vegetable farm, where u can pluck yr own vegetables. Think children will like it.

Annlee,
Can ask u if any difference in yr 2 sons complexion? Cos u took birdbest for no.1 and did not for no. 2. Wondering if birdnest really makes a difference.
Heee…. Seems like yr no. 3 only like sweet stuff.

Huskie,
Thanks for the korean shop address.
Cordyceps are really expensive now. So I will eat the cordycep after drinking the soup.
We used to buy cordycep and pao seng fm the medicine hall, then they will roast and grind into powder. After that u can mix with a bit of warm water to drink. I drank that for awhile to ‘tiao’ my body. Maybe u can try that also.
I have not tried the Peranakan place at beauty world before. But seems quite crowded always during dinner. Also did not know they so ‘ya-ya’. Only open for dinner.
What class is soph attending now?
There are quite a no. of small eating places opposite beauty world, have u tried any?
If u like satay beehoon, there’s a good one at bukit timah hawker center further down the road… but u need to make a turn at bukit timah plaza into the hawker center.
Reckon little Soph must be teething hence uncomfortable. Bear with it for a little. It will just get better.

Joy,
Yr dad is peranakan. U must be a good cook. ;)

Tried this dessert last weekend.
-Whole winter melon (dong gua).
-Wash and scrub the outerskin clean.
-Cut top part of the melon(act as a lid/cover).
-Dig out the seeds in the melon.
-Add hot water to into the melon (almost full, fun add to the brim, cos melon will produce water while cooking).
-Place bowl on wire rack and put melon inside bowl.
-Steam/double boil for 3 hours
-half an hour before eating, put in rock sugar to taste.
-can stir in eggs before serving.
*said to relieve water retention, nourish the complexion.
the soup tastes not bad, but my husband says the melon taste too strong and he dun really like it...

heee...
saw in the book store another recipe for eggs with water and rock sugar (steam like chiwamushi, but sweet instead of salty) and good for complexion as well.

annlee
umm teepoh will make the soup pang, and giam. so don`t put too much!! gayatri i think there is one around raffles place and if i dont remember wrongly, race course road also got

huskie and joy
i also have mrs lee cookbook! i find it quite easy to follow
last time i really go and pound all the stuff but now i lazy, just use grinder hehe. i`m pernakan too! but dad doesnt cook and grandma passed away before i was old enough to learn all the recipes so now just trial and error

choc
the prawn mee recipe was half kilo of prawns (for 4 pax) and i used those prawn err bodies and prawn heads+shells lor. didnt need more

cookiemonster
the dessert sounds nice!!! yes yes i am very excited to see poppy! but today at gynae visit he said actually she will be on time, not early. ahh.... we will see. his intuition or my motherly instinct is more accurate hehe

Hi zzzcookiemonster ,pinkbunny

My dad and me not peranakan, but my hubby , fil and mil are true blue peranakan...tell you all something, peranakan women are super fussy...thank goodness am not one.....

I only like bro kuola, fish maw soup, chillie chicken,curry fish head ...I learn what I like to eat...except one, ayam sio, cannot tahan the smell....achar, too much work, so me forgo....

joy
you know how to make garam assam?! teach teach ok if you know!!! haha ya true blue bibiks are very fussy
me watered down version!

cookie,
Your winter melon dessert sounds nice! And not too difficult to make too
Will try it one of these days.

I didn't know cordyceps can be ground into powder. Will try that next time. I really need to tiao my body if I wanna try for #2.

Soph is attending Shichida class now. Just started her first term.

Yeah, I think I know which hawker centre satay beehoon you're referring to.... my hubby likes it

pinkbunny,
Poppy? Is the the name of your baby?

Hee, yes, blender is easier, but somehow the smell doesn't come out as well as compared to hand-pounding it!

Woah, what is garam assam? I also wanna learn

hey pinkbunny,
Just saw that you did some shoots at Studio Loft!
I also did mine with baby and hubby there about 2 weeks ago

You did Bloom? How is it? I'm wondering if preggers again, wanna do Bloom shots?

joy
haha you called me pinkPUNNY! super funny!!! hehe. garam assam is like assam fish but no ladys finger. i remember my grandma used to do it with batang fish and the gravy is murky orange in colour (haha it doesn't sound too appealing! but it is really the best thing ever). the closest recipe i've managed to replicate is the assam fish one in mrs lee's cookbook.

huskie
yes i did my shots yesterday!! i found the session to be ok, not rushed. maryann was very professional, she knew what worked best so she just said 'ok mummy stand here, ok daddy stand there'. i found that to be practical but my hubby felt it was a bit too technical. to each his own i guess.

i felt very comfortable because she was a lady, and a mother, so i did the semi nude ones *blush*. but with the cloth la, so never expose neh neh. i urge you to go! cos professional shots really differ from our own camera shots and i think the preggie body is beautiful. it should be shown off, not hidden!
we went for the memories la.

hehe poppy is her nickname la. and easier to refer to her by a name than 'my bb' through forum. hand-pounding.... walau now squatting is an olympic event in itself so i've given up! plus if chilli, i very scared fly all over the place, esp my bak chew!!! hehe.

pinkbunny,
I give her Dentinox.

Hee, yep, maryann may sound a bit technical in giving directions, but the end results i.e. the angles and poses are good and natural!
I love those shots she did for us taht I bought the whole CD!

Yeah, a bit regret not doing preggie shots the last time... and my hubby is not a good photographer... i kept giving him directions, but effect just not there! End up I have to fix camera myself and run to pose, but out of place lah, cos I cannot see angle properly.

Hee, I thought you gonna name her Poppy! Actually Poppy is a nice name... lots of Brits name their dds Poppy

hehe yes poppy is a cute name. we actually set up an email account for her with that name so all friends and relatives can start writing to her now hehe

i will definately bring her back to studio loft for LBS shots!! how old is your baby?

hehe it's ok la. just funny
you know that dish? cool!!!!!!!! but it could be known as another name. cos no other peranakan person i know has heard of garam assam! could be an 'invented' term by the family

pinkbunny,
I just flipped thru' my New Mrs Lee cookbook... got garam assam leh. It's on Page 40... says it's a dish of prawns or fish served in a tangy sour sauce.
Is yours the same cook? The pink one?

My dd is 15mths now

huskie,
didn't know Gayatri is so near to apollo, walk pass there a few times and saw a few restaurant with nice decor. There's one with buffet at $9+, is cheap but dunno nice or not hee...
Can I have the address of the restaurant you recommended before at seletar, thanks!

cookie,
my sons complexion is the same only that my elder one has eczema. Not sure whether bird nest causes eczema as I took quite abit of bird nest before and after preggie and also add some to my ds1 porriage before.
In fact I had alot of sweet stuff during all my pregnancy hee... but my 3rd preggy more into ang mo food, craving for steak, burger ad sandwich but I control it kekeke... how abt you? prefer sweet stuff? I think so too...as I see you mention all the yummy cakes.

Re: garam assam
can share the recipe? Anything with assam is delicious.

Joy,
how's your dd exam? Is over right?
oh your hb is peranakan....no wonder your ds look so handsome, at first I thought either you or your hb is eurasian.

pinkbunny,
where is studio loft? You took picture abit like demi moore?? wow....nice leh...

choc,
my ds1 likes wanton mee with black sauce but not with ketchup, maybe taste better huh

about cravings... i'm digging straight into nutella jars these days. terrible. until my husband have to take it away from me cos he says it's disgustingly unhealthy haha.

oooo garam assam IS very delish!!!

studio loft is at pagoda street. chinatown area. i'm thinking of organising a BP for them cos a few of us at the jul MTBs thread also keen
pic like demi moore? haha no i not so daring. got cloth, not just using my hands/arms to cover vital parts hehe.

annlee

Thanks for asking.

All band 1,90 plus for all except for math in 85 range.Will work her harder for next sa.
Her class average is way higher than level average.

Assam is nice.mil everything put assam

Joy,
I think your dd marks are very good, are you bringing them for holiday? Ask you something, did you reward (not cash) your dd if she score good marks, if so, will you tell them inadvance?

pinkbunny,
aiyo....you will make me go and get a jar of nutella ha...
Abt the photo shoot, actally I don't mind taking picture only using hands to cover upper part but now my nnp not nice anymore after all the breastfeeding, yah...I'm lazy don't do exercise hee....

annlee
Thanks.Do not think she put her utmost effort.I think she did better last year. We reward her japan trip last year. I do not think the rewards thing work for her but constantly monitoring work better...hahahaha

annlee
I overhead my gal conversation with her classmates just now..quite scary...two math tuition, two english tuition, two chinese tuition and two sci tuition....and my gal was like telling her, I only go for my berries lesson once a week....

I was calculating her tuition fees, should be in a range of at least more than one k as math and english are in learning lab

annlee
nnp! super funny!!! haha. i borrow your phrase!

actually when i signed up for the package i thought ok must work on my arms a bit more so will look more toned, not like chicken wing. then after that lazy and forgot haha.

joy
oh my gosh you are scaring me.... really, all the tuition fees are so ex? what is berries lesson? sorry ah, blur...

mummies, this weekend, on the menu is mui fan!!

pinkbunny (pinkbunny)

Not to scare you...no tuition is alien for the kids in my gal class....everyone has maraton tuition....just check, one learning lab session is 60 dollars.

Berries is everywhere around singapore.where you stay?good to start around 4plus years old and not so effective for p3, for her....but just to let her rest and relax there...cos I teach myself at home....

Can share with us how you cook your mui fan...starch , cha cha cha?

re tuition - gulp. umm my baby is still kicking inside me so maybe now is a tad bit early to think about berries

re MUI FAN. yes of course can share! my pleasure

for 2 people:
rice
oil
garlic, chopped
prawns
sotong (cut into rings)
chye sim
1 tbsp fish sauce
2 tbsp corn flour
3 cups chicken stock (i usually use those that i make myself but you can also use the KNORR liquid kind)
salt, pepper, sugar (to taste)
2 eggs, lightly beaten

1. fry garlic in oil then add in prawns and sotong till prawns turn pink
2. add chye sim. cha cha for a while then set aside
3. stir together: fish sauce, corn flour, stock, salt pepper, sugar. pour into wok and cook until mixture boils
4. stir eggs slightly and pour through fork's 'teeth' into boiling stock mixture
5. add in veg, prawns and squit and finally pour everything over rice

very easy. cooks in about 15 mins!

and while i'm at it, and since the topic of the season is peranakan food, CHAP CHYE:
nice but alot of things to buy and honestly, most cannot buy in small quantities so you have to make sure you cook either alot, or alot of times to make it worth it. but making it is relatively easy

ingredients A
50g lily bands (kim chiam)
50g dried bean curd skin (tau kee)
20g black fungus (bok jee)
30g tang hoon
50g chinese mushroom (hio koh)

ingredients B
200g bamboo shoots
200g cabbage
120g small prawns (heh bee)
60g ground soy bean paste (tau jio)
50g ground garlic
900ml water
3 tbsp oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tbsp think black soya sauce (tau yew)

1. soak all from "ingredients A" for about half an hour
2. cut "ingredients B" into slices and after "ingredients A" has been soaked, slice them too
3. heat oil and fry garlic then tau jio. when garlic is pang, add prawns
4. add water, dark soy sauce and salt
5. add in all ingredients, stir and simmer on low heat for 15 mins

Pinkbunny

Thanks for sharing...

I think my mil always add fat fat pork..think its call san chen lou....I dare not cook this dish as a bit out only, hubby will start to critise...somehow I do not have flair in cooking cabbage tho its not hard to cook...the taste not the type he is used to....

annlee,
Here it is.... note that they don't open for lunch on Sats!
http://www.makansutra.com/Makanzine/sep01/seletarhill.html

Eh, my boobs not that nice anymore, after all the months of bf... jialat! think if i do those preggie shots next time, won't be nice too.

Joy,
Congrats on your dd's good results! I think very good already leh

I also heard Berries is good... my friend gonna check out the Thomson branch.

pinkbunny,
My hubby likes mui ee fan, but I don't, cos I think it's not very appetising... like pig's food... forgive me for saying that! ;)
Maybe it's cos he mixes everything up hee.

Haha, eh, it's really too early for you to think about Berries! Even for Soph at 15mths, it's quite early.
How about Glenn Doman or Shichida? I think those are not too early!

Good morning gals !

Went for detailed scan on Wed, it's ... another GAL ! haha.. My house is full of gals, my 2 girls plus my 2 nieces.. I always bring the troop out with only the little boy. Poor boy got no one to kick soccer with!

annlee, are you expecting a boy or gal this time round ? I checked the gender prediction chart for this bb just for fun, buay zhun leh !
haha.. my dd2 loves black black wan ton mee and all kinds of food black.

Check with you, have you heard about red raspberry tealeaves ? Have read a blog about a lady with 6 children drinking this tea during 2nd and 3rd trimester and it helped speed up her contractions. Her births are always fast and easy. Think "mums in mind" sells them. You opting for natural birth this time round ?

Hey joy, wow, your dd's sch is real competitive ! It's great that your dd can maintain 90 plus marks for pri 3.. She'll do very well. Those learning lab and tuition centres really very ex, it seems that all my dd's classmates have tuition too. My dd also got b 1 for all, but slackened a bit, the teacher said !

Thanks pinkbunny, for the easy recipes !

hey huskie, what you cooking today? Me not cooking today.
Going to melbourne and tasmania tonight for 2 weeks before bb pops.Hb got 2 free tickets from his krisflyer points. Bought 3 children's tickets only. Last night while packing all the winter clothes, realized got SO MUCH to bring, but I made dd1 and 2 share panties and clothes..

choc
i bought raspberry tea leaves! from vitakids at forum. my yoga instructor says it's good for softening the cervix and recommends we take it from week 34 onwards. i'm at 33, but i tried one pack liao. alright la the taste. quite light. it's $9.90 for i don't remember... 15 or 20 sachets

wow enjoy your trip!!

huskie
haha ya it does look like pig swill hor? but i'm the kind who loves to mix hor fun and char png at tze char stalls so it doesn't bother me :D

Joy,
oh no is crazy for the tuitions. 1 of each still exceptable but double, faintz...
Now the only things I reward my ds1 is ice cream when he got no single mistake for spelling.
I'm thinking of bringing them to disneyland when my ds1 is in p2 or 3 or when my number 3 is ready to go.

pinkbunny,
thanks for recipe! will do a muifun for my sons.

huskie,
ha...you're so funny..pig's food! There's another food makes me think of doggy food whenever I eat them, bimbibab hee... my hb will say yee.... It look abit soggy and messy but taste quite good hor..
Thanks for the link! Just shown the address to my hb, abit far and out of my place but I'm thinking of trying.

Any recommendation of good restaurant for about 12 person? Going to have bb's full month celebration only among my family.

choc,
wow baby gal huh... I want also don't have.. I'm expecting another boy hee...
Have also try the chart, 1st and 3rd one is zhun but not on my 2nd boy.
Abt the raspberry tea, I have heard before but din really follow up as I'm going for c-sect. But then again, don't take too much, only to be taken during last trimester right?

wow again...you going for holiday!! So envy..I also wanna go hee...joking... everytime when my siblings telling me they're gg hoilday I will say that. You know the place well?? Any farm stay? Enjoy your trip and take care!

hey pinkbunny, are you drinking rr tea leaves often? Thought of trying for this time round.
Scan says bb's face oval and head not as big as ds, so maybe this time, I'll opt for no epidurial! Trying to be gungho and scream my head off.

Ann, I know how you feel.. Let's do an exchange.. haha..
when i had my boy, we were surprised and very happy. Now got to part with boy's clothes, which is a break away from the normal frocks and girlie pinks.. I find the boy's clothes so cute, like a miniature of big men's clothes.
So , you want to try for a bb gal again? heehee.. maybe must do "tat" before ovulation. And try a variety of methods, shettles, gender prediction and diet..

How many months are you now ? Go for a short break before no. 3? I went to Bintan when I expecting no. 3 , was quite relaxing.
Bunking in my sis' friend's house in Mel and staying in guesthouse in tas. Hb will be visiting his customer in tas. The last time we went to perth, we went on a farm stay. Very interesting and nice too!

choc,

Exchange huh...good idea!! kekeke...

I don't find boy's clothes nice leh... limited design, almost look the same, some look like uncle kekeke... I really like girl's clothes, so nice...like those cardigan, pong pong dress. during my 1st trim, almost wanted to get a nice Jap dress for bb cos got feeling it might be a girl but luckily did not or else the dress will be hanging there collecting dust. Not trying for number 4, close shop liao.. cannot afford lah and I tried for a gal twice already, don't want to try it anymore. I'm coming to my 7th month.
Was thinking of going bintan, will check with my gynae next week. Hey...I'm thinking of going to perth too...wanted to let the boys experience farm stay but that will definitely be a few yrs later.

Choc,
Just made Korean rice cakes with the spicy sauce for lunch... not cooking dinner... hoping very hard that Soph will nap well this afternoon, then wake up good mood and I go pick up hubby then eat Peranakan food at Beauty World.

Wow, your holiday plans sounds so good! I'm yearning to go on such trips, but Soph always cannot sleep in strange places, so holidays are always very siong for me

Can imagine the amount of stuff to bring, esp. with 3 kids! With Soph and a short trip to Penang, I already has a big suitcase *faintz*
I heard Tasmania is beautiful... must update us and show us some pics when you're back!

Congrats on your baby gal!!! Hee, girls can also kick football nowadays!

Enjoy your trip too!

annlee,
I also like Bibimbap, but I don't find it like pig food, cos it's nicely arranged on the top of the rice. Hee, I don't mix them to eat, but section them out nicely. My hubby likes to mix everything up.

Yeah, the Seletar Hills restaurant is a bit ulu, but food is good and no service charge if I'm not wrong.
Hmm... not sure where else is good for 12 pax leh. The last time I had such a big thing was at Peach Garden at Thomson Plaza. Food is quite good.

btw, for those who like "instant" noodles without the MSG, you can get the korean doenjang (non-spicy one) and make into a simple stock then add in kimchi and noodles plus egg (optional).... you'll get kimchi noodles!

I did that with my kimchi for the last 2 nights supper and hubby likes it

Choc,
Just read that you're going no epidural? Admire your courage lah! and Good luck!
I think can be done... after all, our parents all did it.... haha, but I'm too chicken!