Cooking Tips & Recipe

Cecelia, yes, I made the bak kwa. Planning to make more for the mid-autumn festival when we are having a Singaporean get together here.

Gals...
Anyone of you ever do snowskin durian mooncake? I try to make some during weekend but unsuccessful ... the moon cake is so.... soft. What is the secret recipe involve?

Pris,
Woah, you made bak gwa?
How to make it? Use thin pork slices? Then must BBQ for how long before it turns hard and jerky-like?

Cecelia,
Wow, you're another adventurous one, mooncakes!

Sophie's mom,
No lar in fact i've been deceived by the shifus of variety rest when i visited the taka mid autumn fest. Look like v easy but when i made .... woah......

Hello gals...
I dun think I can commit to organise the gathering. I scared later last minute kena bedrest gonna cancel very paiseh... Anyone else wanna organise?

priscilla,
Ready.... Loads of baby dusts to you!

Your bak gwa looks very mouth watering. Wipe wipe... kekeke...

cecilia,
Wah... home-made mooncakes... Did you cut down the sugar? Sugar is very important for mooncakes textures.

sophie mom,
Thank you for the well wishes

Cecelia,
Should still have taken some pics to show us!

lyn,
I'm so happy for you... and you are very brave to not take the jabs.
I'm super kiasi after the m/c... will take any jabs to have my baby!
I know the progesterone pills makes one feel nauseous - I had that feeling too, so I just sleep most of the time.
So do you know if they're boys or girls? or 1 boy 1 girl? Hope it's a loong feng tai for you!

My baby is down with bronchiolitis

So sad... dunno why, probably got infected by other kids or by some guy coughing in church 2 weekends ago *sigh*
Today she merlioned sooooo much milk + phlegm out, like an uncontrollable tap! Got so scared I went to see the doc for the 3rd time!
Hope she gets better!

LittleCat,
So sorry I think I cannot meet you to pass you blank flashcards this week too. Don't wanna pass anything to your family!

As for gathering, can do at my place, but the function room is a bit small if you guys don't mind.
But eh.... heee, must be a bit more confirmed cos leychey to cancel cos of the payment.

You guys see if still interested? If yes, then maybe we can come up with a few different dates in terms of priority, cos weekends always fully booked, so I have to fight with other aunties to book ahead!

sophie mom,
hee... last pregnancy I also rejected the jabs. I dun really believe in hormones into our body
In my last pregnancy, I believe in if without the jabs and pills, baby cannot survive, it means not healthy. And I prefer a healthy baby. Quite a crazy thought
My heart is telling me not to take the hormones pills, so now not taking them
Really gotta cool down and think to make the decision. I am hoping for "long feng tai"

HOpe your baby will get well soon. If you look at alternative point of view, vomiting out milk and phlegm is good for getting rid of the toxins from the body. OUr body is smart, and will purge out the toxins. Like when we are coughing, we feel better after the phlegm are out rite? But it's worrying cos it's our precious

Any of you have a dryer? Or recommendation for a dryer? I am looking for one that is compact. I need to cut down time spent in doing the laundry

lyn,
Yep, PD also said it's the body purging out the phlegm, but we're still worried cos he said there's a serious stomach flu bug going around.
This morning she vomitted again, but then she smiled and played after vomitting, so I hope it's really body expelling toxins.
But PD said if today vomit another time, better bring her in to check if it's stomach flu!

Re. Dryer, I use a Bosch. So far, no complains... it's good and dries up even my comforter

Mine doesn't take up much space cos my washing machine is also a Bosch, so the dryer is stacked on top of the washer.
But I think for different brands, cannot stack.

sophie mom,
Dun worry too much if she's still active and happy
If it's stomach flu, I would imagine baby will be very lethargic and cranky cos it's not comfy.

hmm... I have a Thomson washing machine. That time when we bought the washing machine, I thought there's no need for a dryer. Now, sometimes dun even have time to put the clothes into the washing machine, let alone hang them and keep them.

lyn,
Yeah, with your 2 more babies coming, makes sense to get a dryer... not to mention the constantly wet weather at year end.
Can dry those "daily" wear kind of clothes.
But bear in mind that cotton clothes tend to shrink when put into dryer, so that means you'll have to buy clothes that are slightly larger from now on!

Lyn and Sophie, yes I make the bak kwa, I also make the traditional mooncakes but mini version but due to a couple of ingredients are not available here the mooncake is not as dark as those sold in the store.

Lyn, can I have your blog address. And congratulations for having twins.

Sophie, hope your bb is well now. Did the dr who your bb meutralizer?

Cecelia, sugar is very important in the snowskin mooncake. I am hoping to make some these weekend as the snowskin one cannot last as long as the traditional one.

Lyn,
Congrats!! so happy for you...I used to wish to have a twins and if 1 boy and 1 girl, can close shop liao... don't know how it feel like having twins, must be more careful and how is your appetite?

sophie's mom,
how's sophie now? Getting better?

pris,
Nice food you made! I like your pooh snow moon cake very much, is it difficult to make them?

Anne, it is pretty easy to make. But mooncakes are easily available in Singapore and also the snowskin ones. Unlike where I am, there is no snowskin mooncakes here.

My computer crashed! *sigh* Hope the guys at the service center can save some of my files!
So now only accessing the forum at night with my hubby's work laptop!

Pris,
Wow, the thread seems more alive again with the yummy pictures!
The mooncakes look really good *drool* although I am not a fan of mooncakes.

No the doc didn't give the nebuliser, cos he said Sophie is basically past the peak of the illness and is recovering, so just gave her some ventolin to clear her airways so she can sleep better.

ann,
Today Sophie looks like she 's almost recovered. Choked on water when I was feeding her and she coughed, but I didn't hear any phlegm.
I also brought her to the baby tui na near Kembangan to clear the phlegm... I think Joy brings her kids there too?

Eh, any mommies here got baby poop problem? Sophie hasn't pooped since Friday *sigh* She was pooping regularly daily till she fell sick, then her poop schedule went haywire.
She's taking a bit of porridge now... tomorrow gonna introduce beetroot to her to see if it can help her poop.

Nancy,
You still reading this thread?
I remember you are vegetarian and you were cooking beans/lentils for your kids yeah?
Can check with you if lentils will cause a lot of gas?

Sophie mom

Hope your little daring has recovered....Yap, brought my son there weekly for tuina....when did you go there?

Oh yes, tuina can help in poo too....

Lyn
Congrats and do take care....

Pris
Did you receive my mail sent quite sometime back?

Mooncake
Anyone has bought any moon cake yet?Which brand is good?

priscilla,
http://lnung.blogspot.com
Your home made mooncakes are very cute...

anne,
Thank you. My appetite is very good
Whenever I feel nausea, I gotta eat
When i keep eating, no nausea for the day.

sophie mom,
How's your gal?
I am giving red lentils to Yu
So far ok.

joy,

This year, we never buy mooncake. Must refrain from eating mooncakes cos got too much sugar.

no time din log in, how's everyone doing?

Sophie's mum,
is sophie better now?

Joy,
for snow skin mooncake, think raffles the plaza is not bad. if i did not remember wrongly, marriot traditional mooncake is not bad too. just my 2cents worth ;)

lyn,
saw in the june thread, there will be a xmas bash. will u be going?

Lyn...I am feeling so excited for you. I am ttcing for 2008 baby too, hope my wish will come through too for Kai to have a sibling.

Joy...I did not received anything.

zzzcookiemonster
thanks for sharing...I heard many tried raffes the plaza and find that its nice....but, a friend told me find that their champaign mooncake tastes a bit artificial....not sure how true....

Pris

Really....hmmm...I wrote you a very long email....will write again.good luck and hope to hear good news from you...hmmm...heard many friends took bei foong wang from eu yan san and all managed to conceive...you may want to give it a try...

zzzcookie,
I am not sure if I am going for the xmas bash.

Priscilla,
Lots of baby dusts to you
Hope your wish come true

Joy,
"Bai feng wan" cannot anyhow take one. Last time I had fibroids and endo problems, and my gynae said cannot take.

Lyn

Really?I took and some friends took and we all conceived....maybe chinese and western doctors have got different set of view.....

Joy, I am not in Singapore...very far away indeed. Haahaa...so no bei foong wang from eu yan san. May be when I am back from holidays.

Priscilla

That is very far...when are you coming back for good...hmmm..am really looking forward to my boy turns four too....a nice and fun age to play with...at least they can understand most of the thing...

hi girls,
This is Sophie's Mom

Joy,
Yeah, I heard a lot about the tui na, so brought Soph there. Went there the weekend before last, on a Sat morning... so crowded at 9am!

But I don't like the medicine packs they give leh - I put it on my baby's tummy, then dunno how she roll and pull at night, it broke, and went into her diaper.... poor thing, like having sand in her diaper! Then have to change her in the middle of the night which made her so angry cos she is sleepy!

cookie, Joy,
Yep, Soph is better now, after expelling all the phlegm out.
But once in a while still cough a bit, but no phlegm or mucous... get me so worried lah.

Last week she fell from the bed - dunno how she managed to kick a very heavy pillow on the floor and fell onto the floor like a ragdoll... poor thing!
I checked her and she seemed ok, but 2 days later, hubby saw a dried blood scab at the back of her head.
Then the next day she vomitted a bit of water + milk, scared me big time!
Called PD, but PD said head injury vomitting is quite a constant, not a one-time thing, asked me to monitor for a week.
This week she seems better, so cross fingers everything is OK.

huskie,
You gonna change to this nick?
Last time Yu also fell from the bed. It really caught me off-guard. Thought had put all the pillows around, but still can fall. Just monitor. If vomit a lot and a few times, better go to see doc.

Hope little soph is better now....children always caught us off guard...

Steamer for food
Anyone can advice me what type of pot as in steamer is good to use to steam rice. I have a 30cm steamer stack pot but it takes one hour to steam the rice...anyone can tell me why so long...I do not want to use the traditional stainless steel on wok cos always find the stand rusty and may not be so good for the steam food...

huskie,
Sophie is a nice nick, y the change? Poor Sophie, I rem when my DD fell off my bed, I felt so guilty. I was in the next room and I saw her falling(eveything was in slow motion) and froze. My helper said I gave a very loud shriek which I dont recall. Lucky she was ok, no vomit or anything. But she cried so loud. Still can remember that scene. Like wat lyn said, just monitor and any sign of change in behaviour (listlessness, constant crying etc) better bring to doctor since they cant vocalise.

After that incident my family now sleeps on the floor and I places ABC mat all over the floor.

Just a suggestion.

hi Queen,

Here's a Chawan mushi (steamed eggs) recipe contributed by Annelise & Van & Choc06 last time. If you're doing the simple shui dan, I think just omit the ingredients and if you're not fussy about taste or in a hurry, don't have to use stock, can just use water and some seasoning.

Ingredients:
egg
chicken stock
chicken
prawn
japanese fishcake

One beaten egg in each chawan mushi cup
Fill up with chicken stock till 3/4 full
Stir to mix Add a piece of chicken, prawn, japanese fishcake
Steam over very low heat (put the eggs in BEFORE water is boiling)
Takes about 15 to 20 mins.Heat must be low or else the egg will not be smooth - it will look spongy with lots of holes.

*For steam egg or Shui Dan(water egg), Tip from Van: strain the beaten egg 1st before adding other ingredients supposed to give a smoother texture.
**Tip from Choc06: A friend told me covering the egg mixture when steaming can also give a smooth texture.

lyn, muffin,
Yeah, change to this nick lah... Sophie's Mom makes me feel so old. Plus people look at the name within the brackets and call me Sophie when actually Sophie is my dd... haha, a bit weird!

lyn, cupcake, Joy,
I think Soph shd be OK cos it's now officially one week, no further vomitting and listlessness.

cupcake,
My hubby has already dismantled my bed and the cot. All the mattresses are on the floor in my bedroom now... my whole flat is a mess!

hey girls,
Check with you - any of your kids wake up at 2am and keep wanting to latch for the sake of suckling?
Soph has this habit leh, now I'm trying to cut out her night feed, have been letting her cry or grumble it out for the last 2 nights, from 3am to 5am, but still waking up leh?

Sophie's mum, only during the first month and slowly Kai did not wake up at all think by then should be about 3months after his last feed at 11pm and he woke up at 6am for another feed and sleep.

Hope Sophie is well now. It is important to make sure they do not throw out and have to observe them after they fell.

Hi Huskie,
My ds only starting to do without nightfeed abt a week ago. He is coming to 16months now. actually it came as a surprise, as we let him take his time and he do without the nightfeed himself.
But i remembered a few months back, there was a period of time he will demand to latch 2-4times in the middle of the night. will cry or fuss if i refused.
Now am trying to wean him off breastmilk totally.
Hope will be successfuly soon.

Joy,
which mooncake u got?
hmmm... think the standard of raffles mooncake drop this year...or maybe its the others offering better mooncakes now.

Today is children's day.
Wishing all our dd and ds happ children's day.

Any ideas what to do for my ds for children's day?

cookie,
I find that when my baby latches in the night, she doesn't really drink leh, more like just comfort suckling. And this is made worse when she was sharing the bed with us, cos she knows that everytime she turns her head to my breast, she'll get her "pacifier".
So I've decided to put her in her own cot in her own room now.

Let me know how you're going to wean him off. I may need the tips in a few months' time!

How did you celebrate Children's Day?

Pris,
Soph is OK now... no more throwing up

Just that now a bit phlegmy cos a friend carried her and coughed onto her head and face! And it's the phlegmy kind of cough. Didn't know coughs pass so fast!

Now her last feed is around 10pm and she wakes up at around 530am for another feed. But she doesn't want to go back to sleep, cos she wants to kaypoh around while dh gets dressed and ready for work

So she goes back to sleep around 8am after her morning bath.

Huskie,
Hope little Sophie's cough is gone by now.
when will u start to wean little sophie?

heee... think sy, sp and lyn are better examples.
since abt 2months plus, i did not have enough milk for tbf. so supplmenting in the afternoon.
then after i got back to work, i will pump in the morning and latch at in the evening and night.
at abt 5months, i stopped pumping totally only latching in the evening and night.
now its still the same. i tried sy method of staying away fm the baby. i tried hiding in the other room but gave up when i heard his non stop breathless type of crying.

our thread is very quiet nowadays.
where has everyone gone to?

cookie,
Sophie's cough is gone, thanks

I'm thinking of weaning Sophie around 12mths, as in partial bf, then hopefully totally off bf by 14-16mths so I can TTC for 2nd one

Heee, getting old liao, need to TTC fast.
But not sure about weaning leh, cos Soph rejects bottle vehemently, even if it contains my bm... she'll rather go to sleep hungry than drink from a silicon nipple *sigh*
So I'm hoping that once she can drink from the cup by 12mths, I can intro FM to her.

Yeah, the old kakis no longer comes in
even the founder

sy, sp, lyn,
If you girls happen to read this thread, share how you wean off your babies?

Hi Mummies here,
What can we cook for 18 months old baby? especially when planning to go out, what type of food can we prepare?

Hi Prisc and all

Need some advice from mummy here...

Am bringing my two year old to japan next month, hoping to go disneyland, hakone,mt fuji....anyone can suggest a convenient hotel to stay?

Joy747, Japan is very child friendly. We did not stay in Disney Hotel Resort but at a suburban of Tokyo. Can't quite remember the area but there was a train station that we can access easily and it is much cheaper than the Disney Hotel Resort. You can check out the internet. Do bring along warm clothing and maybe winter wear, it can be quite cold for your child is s/he has not expose to winter condition. When we were there last year, we had our winter wear. Take note that there are many rides in Disneyland required a limited height to take the ride.

Huskies, glad to know that Sophie is well now.

Here's some of my sharing, been too busy.
Ondeh Ondeh
1026734.jpg

Moist Chocolate Cake
1026735.jpg

1026736.jpg

Swedish Meatballs -
Child's size
1026737.jpg

Adult's size
1026738.jpg

Hi Pris

Lovely dishes you have got there.....

Thanks for info.I may just settle in shinjuku hilton , will confirm once my air ticket today is firmed.I hope this location is easy for me to move around as in to disneyland, ueno, harajuku and others....

Thanks for adv on the weather condition. Worried more for the younger one cos the older one is a season traveller....Any tips for keeping a two year old still in the aircraft?thanks again

Joy, my boy started traveling when he was less than 1. Just bring some toys, his favourite book and stuff. He should be able to remain in his seat.

Here's my apple strudel.

1029544.jpg

1029545.jpg

1029546.jpg