Cooking Tips & Recipe

Choc06
Same here,my girl just started Book 4. Which Yamaha your girl goes to? She is going to change her Music Teacher again this week,heard it's health reason, I suspect her teacher is pregnant, like her previous one, change suddenly becos of preg.

My niece is now at Grade 3 of Piano, she told me those who are from Yamaha has more difficulties switching from Do Re Mi ... to C D E F G...,so suggest you let you gal starts getting used to C D E F G from now onwards.

We have already bought her a piano, so it's kind of long term commitment already.

Van,
Must share more simple recipe for dummy like me..keke..

LittleCat,
I luv home cooked Mee Hoon Kueh with lots of fried ikan bilis & chilli padi!! *slurps

All the best Prisc !Take care too...
van,
My girl goes to Semb yamaha.. Mine is a male teacher, very good but demanding! Some mums were telling me that they don't need to go thru advance to do grade one. Advance is it call JXC ? Haven't bought a piano, cos it's quite ex and in case this girl doesn't want to continue,it'll be a waste..

One piano teacher said that the key board can still be used for gr 1-4, so see how first..

There's a theory book that's quite colourful and full of stickers from yamaha that teaches the kids to convert from DoReMi to CDE... did you buy it ? It's rec by the music teacher

Littlecat,
Yalor.. time flies... very soon my baby will be out... I will be going to look for my "shi fu" this Sunday to find a good date and time.
Hey, your son looks handsome... with very nice complexion...

Van,
Thanks for the website... Looks very good...

Where does your dd go for golf? Do you play golf too? How much is the charges?

Choc06,
My June06 will be confinement.. lol... Can take flight to Penang - 45minutes only

I calculate the "bazhi" myself, and seems like 5 June and 12 June has best "bazhi" for my baby
. If can, 12 June will be ideal, but that will be too close to my EDD, gotta ask my gynae about that... cos 5 June is good for baby, but "chong" me leh...

When did you start your gal's music lesson? At what age? I am thinking of teaching my son piano next time :p

Hi Sophie,
Thank you very much

Do you have the scanned images in .jpg? I have problems downloading them to view
Yap, my baby is a boy

Wah... You gals talking about making lunch... Making me salivate liao.. hahaha... I boiled green beans with sweet potato this morning. Thinking of boiling celery with potato soup later
I am craving for potatoes today... kekeke...

Van, choc,
Yamaha Junior teaches Do Re Mi? What is the minimum age for the lesson? How big is the class?

Hi lyn,
The scanned Baby Section page is in PDF. I have also scanned in the linen page & houseware page, but didn't want to spam you with so many files cos each page is about 600kb even after being compressed into PDF format, probably cos of the colored images.

Choc06
I bought two music theory books for my dd.Music Theory for Young Children by Ying Ying Ng, and My 1st/2nd Theory Book by Lina Ng. Her teachers never recommend any books.I saw them at Yamaha and thought it's interesting for dd.

It could be true that can skip Advance to go to Grade 1, but my cousin and some friends told me Yamaha gave them a stronger foundation in music.So I will let her continue with group
lessons as long as it's feasible,since she enjoys the company of other children.

Lyn,
My dd started Music Wonderland when she turns 3 1/2 years.
Maximum number is 12 in a class.

Which shi fu did you see for auspicious dates? I am accompanying my cousin to see Jin Zi Long at Geylang,but haven't fixed a date yet.

Kindergolf charge $190 for 4 lessons. Each lessons lasted 45mins.

I don't play golf, and I actually dislike it.

Wah lyn, your soup really healthy ,man ! My MIL will like you alot ! And she doesn't add salt to her soup... She made one celery, onion, carrot , corn with chicken feet soup, she says it's very tian !! Her son suggested to blend all these into juice.. hehe..
I like potatoes too, you make potato casserole ? Like shepeherd's pie ..
Your green bean with pot, is it a dessert ?

Thought of clavinova, but is the sound effect same as a piano ? dunno anything about choosing piano !

van, yah.. my girl is using the one by lina ng apart from the workbook. One thing good about yamaha is that they train their listening and this teacher tests them every week.
I am going to kui kun(cramp) now cos no. 2 wants to start JMC.. got to accompany them twice !!Or I'll get my ang to sit in.
Yours in which yamaha ?

hi Lyn, didn't expect u believe in this also..

i have a fren also she opt for cesearan and both her son and dd come out on selected date and time.

Whenever my son not well, my aunt remind me that my son's name no good, and ask me to change it but very funny to change now leh already calling him this name for so long. Then my hb is like a big "NO", he doesnt believe in this. Poor me

So my tihs coming one, i must go find a shi-fu to have a good name, so nobody will complain liao...

wow the piano class thing so chim leh...
yeah i have worry as choc06, what if they "3 minutes warm" after that a big piano stuck at home.. sigh. like i saw my aunt's house got one, the dd (already very big, 20+) said want to learnt at the end stuck there as 'table' to put deco... what a waste! hmmm may be i got excuse to send my son to piano lesson now.. hehe!

Eh cat, this music course not chim one lah.. I blur blur sotong also started from scratch with my girl.. you sure can one lah.. anyway, they teach you very very basic stuff first, like rhythm , etc.. As it gets chimer, you also get "cleverer"
Maybe you can ask your aunt to donate the whilte elephant to your ds later on

How was the mee hoon kuey ? I also chopped up chilli padi and garlic for my beehoon soup.. yummy !!

hi choc06,
Sure or not, but in my eye u not blur leh...
ok must go find out more info, lots of time talk and talk no action leh... then my hb said want to bring him to outdoor during weekend, another word dun want him to stay in air-cond too long... sigh...
hehe i think the aunt can't wait to pass the thing to somebody but is the dd lor, cos the white elephant was given by the ex-bf...

My mee hoon kuey not so nice leh.. either the ikan bilis no good or it's my taste bud got probelm lor... but the kueh itself quite hard cos i use less water so after u cook direct in the stock, it will turn milky.

here u go...
422468.jpg

correction: i mean it won't turn milky. If u put too much water in the flour while kneading, it is easy to knead, but when u cook the stock will become starchy.

Haha, Choc, don't laugh at your MIL for not using salt... I also don't use salt. In fact, I'ved moved into my flat for 2.5 years already, and have not replenished my salt before... still got 3/4 pack left!

These few days gastric problem, eat already so much burping and food cannot go down further than my mid-stomach... so been cooking plain stuff like mee sua and porridge. Tonight cooking chicken feet & black bean soup again, my favourite

wow sophie u so healthy one !
it is good not to consume too much salt...

eh i remember in the beginning of the thread someone mention sea salt etc.. where to get ? recently i bought the Pan-salt, is it good ? it cost 10x more then the normal salt ...

choc06, i used to cook the mee hoon and eat with chili and garlic, i like it too!
What i did last time i used the ikan bilis to boil the stock, some i keep for my son to cook porridge. some i cook bee hoon for me and hb.
So i put some fish slices, fish ball, or sometime some praws or sotong and cook with bee hoon or udon then go with chilli! yummy!

sophie, quite easy just put some water in the flour, if u want it nicely put some salt and 1egg.

eh if not how to get the mee hoon kueh? got sell ready make dough ?
if got i dun mind to buy leh. u know i like to eat but a bit lazy to knead, that was onec i saw this bread making machine can make the dough very fast (before it bake it) so i so silly thinking of getting that machine just to knead my dough

hi LittleCat,
Pan-Salt, SeaSalt... both are low in sodium. I think mine was Pan-salt... 2.5yrs already, cannot remember what brand I bought.

My MIL is a little more extreme. She cooks her soup earlier in the day, wait for it to cool down, puts the whole pot into the fridge/freezer. Once it's cold/hardened a little, she skims the top layer of oil away, then reheats it again! Then again, she doesn't cook very often, so I guess she doesn't mind the trouble.

van, really? u mean they have make the kueh then dry it like noodle ?
something like the shanghai 'nian-gao' kind of look? trying to imagine...
last time i bought one so call hand made noodle in ban-mian shape, not very nice....

Yes LittleCat, dry it like noodle. It's very thin,not as thick as those shanghai niangao.

Only saw it at small provision shops inside wet market.

sophie, think u can throw liao lor, open after 2.5 years kekeke...
wow is she those super slim and ai-swee type?

cos my auntie is like salt never enough and got oil she will little big only lah won't die...

LittleCat, salt cannot keep for more than 2.5 years? I keep it in a dry and cool place, and it doesn't seem spoilt.

My MIL is not totally slim, just small-built. She is a nurse, that's why I guess she is so healthy in her cooking.

Haha, guess what? My 82-year-old grandma just called me and asked if I am pregnant yet. I told her no, and she told me not to BD everyday because then the sperm is not strong... she says BD "once in a while", and only only odd days of the lunar calendar to get boys! Funny old lady

Last night hb came back late so no chance to bake
This morning go market, so didn't bake. Hopefully I'll get the chance to bake tonight!

Hi Choc

Putting initials is a great idea
b-i-y is opposite Newton Circus - the things look more upmarket than Phoon Huat - price also more "up"!

My fil keeps asking me to let my older girl learn piano. He even offered to buy the piano - but I'm worried she may quit halfway plus my place is really small. Do you intend to enrol them in the Yamaha at Tamp Mall after you shift?

Hi Van

Hey, I dislike golf too! My hb has cut down a lot on his golfing after I complained about him not spending his free time with the kids. I'm using your sweet and sour pork rib recipe to cook tonight

Hi LittleCat

Luckily you managed to dislodge the fishbone on your own! The last time I got one stuck in my throat, the GP dug and dug until I felt like puking and bled a lot - in the end had to see specialist to get it out. I have never taken Yu Pian soup from the hawker centre eversince!

Your boy looks sooooo sweet! You must tell your ang that half your son's genes came from you, so if his wife is not chio, son how to be so handsome

Hi Sophie

If I remember correctly, are you ttc-ing? Maybe your tummy feels queasy because you're pg? When I was expecting, I too kept burping a lot at the beginning.

Sophie, haha your grandma so cute!

eh for TTC try this method do it every 2days. As the sperm can stay there 72 hours, so got enough stock to last for the whole period... hehe your grandma is right dun waste the 'bullet' lor...
Another way is to check the eggwhite thing,anyway good luck!

wow nurse, is she still working?

van,
only ate apple during confinement becoz the rest of the fruits not sure can eat or not so dare not anyhow eat. but it's ok lah, I love apples, hee.

cat,
wah, yr ds so "pretty" love his complexion & long eyelashes.

yr mee hoon kuey makes me drool, yummy.

prisc,
can share yr chicken rice recipe?

sophie,
yr MIL's fridge so big ah can put the whole pot in? keke. but it's good to remove the oil lah, I also like less oily soup.

u all really healthy can eat less salt, I'm still trying to cut down, not easy.

Annelise,
I just got a BFN (Big Fat Negative) on the HPT this morning, cos period supposed to be due yesterday, so don't think I am pregnant this round. Plus I saw a streak of red in the cervical mucous last night and thought my period coming, but put on a pad for the whole night and got nothing. Today just more red streaks plus the BFN. But it's ok... I try and look on the bright side and tell myself I can go on a holiday then, maybe a short one to Bali/Penang

Hehe, LittleCat, my grandma's "once-in-awhile" does not mean every 2 days, she means every few mths! She "shared" her experience with me - my second youngest auntie and youngest uncle are 7 years apart. She says she and Grandpa did not do anything for a long time (which I take it to be at least 6 years), then one day my Grandpa "disturbed" her on the 15th of a lunar month, and out came my uncle

But yeah, I am doing the method of every 2 days around Ovulation time

sp,
I think my MIL cooks only small pot of soup, cos family small, just her, my FIL and BIL. For less oily soup, my mum bought me this super fine-mesh strainer which can skim away the top layer of oil without having to cool the soup. It's quite useful, cost only $5 at her wet market in Yishun. I saw the same one at Muji selling for $11.90.

haha.. soph, your granny so funny !! And you are so health conscious.
my ang will make noise if the dish is not salty enough and his mother will scold him ! Anyway, my ang's grandpa will dip cooked salty fish in soy sauce kind and he mati long time ago !

Yah.. I use sea-salt too, from cold storage. Eh cat, now with pg hormones, lagi sotong liao!I didn't eat lots of sotong just hum..but did cut down on kopi !!so not very alert .
Maybe your taste buds got problem like mine, I eat few chilli padi at one go also no problem.. If you add minced pork, egg, fried ikan bilis to yor MHK, it'll look like Qui Lian's ban mian ..Can set up stall liao.. I can see your chilli sauce and it looks delicious

van,
Also looking for fresh MHK, which stall sells ? The yong tau foo shop ? I think I saw the huang hua yu.. Will look for gui yu in NTUC

Shanghai nian guo also nice, but the dry version must soak few days.. I like that texture , good to fry it..

Making the apple pork chop now. Can anyone here run thru with me quickly. Apple mix with lemon juice and sugar only? I bake at 200C,just started.

Hi Van,
This is lyn's recipe - I just copied from the very useful Yahoo database and pasted for your info:
"Apple - mince (I used any apples. In angmo's recipe, Bramley apples is usually recommended for baking or cooking. But it's very expensive.) Add some sugar, salt and lemon for taste. To prevent oxidation of the apples, slightly heat ("stir fry) the mixture in the pan first... For the easiest alternative, go to Cold Storage and buy a bottle of Bramley apple sauce..."

Thanks Sophie, I missed out salt on the apple,but doesn't matter, will add it half way thru,guess it should be alright.Also used some baking soda to tenderize the pork chop.Shall see how it comes out.

Choc06
I only soak the white nian gao over night, but keep changing water,didn't soak for a few days, turns out alright,but must eat it while still hot.

Have not seen any fresh MHK on sale anywhere.

Don't think you can find Gui Yu/Gui Hua Yu in NTUC.

thanks gals, i think his complexion come from me, but the 'killing' eyelashes is definately from HIM! that's why he so proud! and when people take one look at him and the dad they just laugh cos like a mould!

annelise, this happen to me b4 leh went to see doctor and the doc dig and dig quite sometime, but luckily this doc is thsoe never say die one, really can take it out! and cos me $15 (at least 20 years ago) quite expensive at that time and everyone laugh at me the bone so expensive

yeah i was worry if got to go see GP and they dig and dig and now becos of PG very sensitive, i think i sure puke !

choc06. u mentioned about swallow the rice thing, actually we did that last time when we young and other method eg. drink veneger, use a bowl with some water draw a cat (i think) and drink it etc...
but the rice thing can be dangerous, cos it depends on how the bone got stuck, worst case is after u swallow the bone got stuck deeper...

so today i scare liao i go buy the can sardin and eat the bone so happily...!

annelise u must remember to take a good photo leh cos i keep seeing people ask about your cake hehe

Sophie, jia-you! yeah take a break is a good idea! when u more relax, less stress can conceive easier.

but hor, DUN FOLLOW YOUR GRANDMA method hor!!! haha she so cute will share such thing, me even my mother also dare not talk about this thing to me...

Baking soda can tenderize pork chop? Interesting... I'll put it into my list of useful things for baking soda.

I use baking soda to wash clothes that smell e.g. if dh comes back from a run and his T-shirt smells, then I soak T-shirt in hot water mixed with baking soda to get rid of smell before dumping into washing machine.

Choc06
i have not try the shanghai niao-gao, but see the looks remind me of MHK so now feel like trying hehe..
how u cook the shanghai-nian-gao?

I have that oil strainer too soph !
Relac, don't stress yourself too much.. going for a hol's a good idea

Finally anne, you are on line, all hungry eyes are waiting for your cheesecake...

That was my first thought initially when I enrolled my girl.. so I borrowed a key board from a friend. It's been 2 years in JMC now, and my girl is still doing. I try not to stress her to practice too much , if not it'll kill her interest.. I just put my key board on a little table at a corner and use a little chair for my girl.

The male teacher in sun plaza is quite good, we are thinking of either doing it for no.2 in Tamp mall or sun plaza. But no.1 will have to finish off this yr in sun plaza..

Saw the biy shop online, wah.. very nice man !! think the price also very "nice"

A tip for tender steam pork ribs:
Use baking soda to marinate for 1 hour. 1 1/2 tsp baking soda for every 1kg of meat.

Choc
My dd takes her JMC at CCK Lot1.We bought a keyboard for her too.She used for a year before we bought a piano for her.

LittleCat,
The same ingredients that I used for Suan Pan Zi can be used for Fried Shanghai Nian Gao. Though the original version usually use White Cabbage(Tian Jin Bai Cai).

My China neighbour once fried a plate for me.She used hay bee and white cabbage,pork strips.

Sophie,
Your grandma is really funny.Can't imagine grandma talking about all those things to granddaughter.

Shanghai niangao :

Heat oil first, add minced garlic, pork strips, prawns, ter kua and fry..season with oyster sauce, salt, pepper and huatiao jiu. Set aside.
Heat oil,fry big strips of cabbage and nian gao, add boiling water ..
Add the meat ingredients to the nian gao.
End product :Nian gao must be soft and chewy with some gravy. ( sorry no pic)
(must soak dried nian gao in water about 2 days, change water every day. boiling can't soften it )

sophie,
Maybe I will get my hubby to see how come I cannot download the file tonite...

Van,
The shifu I am going is at "shi ma lu". My husband's family always go there one.

Choc06,
hee... I have prepared the ingredients for my soup tonite
. Potato, onions, celery, black beans, soya beans, carrot. Sometimes I dun add salt or sugar to my soup if I am eating alone :p Tonite eating with dh, so gotta add salt... I am going to stir fry baby kailan and broccoli with oyster sauce and garlic.

Do you have recipe for potato casserole? I love potatoes now, but dunno how to cook it interestingly... :p

Clavinova is the closest to piano. The feel of the keys will be different. Anyway, different brands and models of piano has different feel of the keys... The sound will be a little bit different from the wooden piano, but clavinova has digital sound conversion option. Sounds transmitted through wood will definitely by unique.

Littlecat,
I gotta go for c-section cos I have high risk of uterine rupture. So, since I need to go through c-section anyway, I might as well go and find a good date and time.. lol...
Ya, I do believe in names. Actually you can use the same name for your son, but written in different ways. Look at the "bazhi" and see which element is missing, then find a similar sounding word with that element...

I bought organic sea-salt from NTUC. It cost me $2.50 for a pack. I cannot find sea-salt from the normal shelf. All are chemical salt. Now, I get sea salt from JB
It's not stated organic, so it's only RM0.50! Sea salt is unprocessed salt.

Sophie,
You have been drinking chicken soup daily rite? Is it overdose already? Last time during my mini confinement, I KS drink black chicken soup daily... till I was very bloated and LS...

Wah... really "peifu" your MIL! Is she a nurse or health care related? hahaha.. I typed this when I read your previous message... No wonder.. she's a nurse... lol...

Sophie,
Jia you! Your dreams will come true one day
Stress is not good...
hahaha.. your grandmother very funny...

Van,
Do you have the grill? I grilled the apple pork chop instead of bake... Add a bit of salt according to taste... Did you taste the apple mix? Some apples can be quite sour.. then gotta add more sugar and salt...

Hi sophie

That's a great idea for baking soda - I always ask hb to wash his army clothes at my mil's house whenever he goes for reservist cos' I scared the clothes will stink up my washing machine, haha!

Hi choc

Ya, the choc mould very ex - $7 for one. Bought one Easter bunny mould to try. I'll prob start my dd on the lessons when she's 6. Now she has ballet and English tuition on weekends. I'm thinking of starting her on swimming too. She wants to do art as well but really got no time, so I'm thinking of going to Spotlight to buy some art & craft materials to teach her during the hols.

Hi LittleCat

Luckily for us the bone can come out leh! My sis' colleague had to have an op to remove the bone when they were on holiday in HK! I gagged so badly that I had to use a throat gargle to numb my throat to stop me from puking!

Thanks for your advice to use plastic gloves to handle raw meat - today I got one box of Lacy's disposable plastic gloves - very handy to use
I used to buy the disposable latex ones to use for washing toilet - quite ex, now can use the plastic one also!

Aiyoh, I hope my cheesecake turns out well - feeling the pressure already!

LittleCat,
Agree with the rest that your son is sooo CHIO!

Cheesy Potato Bake

Ingredients:
2 medium potatoes (skinned, sliced thinly like potato chips)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 large white onion
2 eggs
150ml Thickened Cream
150ml milk
3 tbsp butter

Method:
1. In a sauce pot, add butter to saute onions till soft.
2. Then add potatoes to saute for 3 mins.
3. Pour onions, potatoes and melted butter into a deep casserole.
4. Sprinkle chedder cheese on top.
5. Beat eggs lightly in a bowl.
6. mix milk and cream to egg and stir to combine.
7. Pour cream over cheese.
8. Bake in preheated oven 200C for 30 mins

annelise,
You are very cute... hahaha... Now I gotta wash and iron my hubby's army uniform. But I will put lots of washing powder when washing... hahaha...

cat_tail,
Usually no need to use,if you steam long enough, or the pork ribs are not too OLD,but if you want really soft ones,then tenderize it.

The Pai Gu Wang sold outside usually are also tenderized.

Lyn,
What type of grill are you referring to? I used conventional oven,so bake and grill same knobs.
Just checked my pork chop just now,doesn't look crispy.
kao_confused.gif

lyn,
You may be right... all the chicken essence plus chicken soup three times a week probably making me bloated now. Actually, I even put on some weight cos I cannot wear some of my clothes now.

You cannot download the PDF? OK, here's a summary of that Baby Section page:
- QUINNY Buzz Stroller $999, now $799 (Members add'l $140 off)
- MAXI COSI Carseat $519, now $419 (Members add'l $60 off)
- GRACO Mosiac Travel System (stroller + car seat) $579, now $459 (Members add'l $60 off)
- GRACO Playpen $189, now $139 (Members add'l $40 off)
- MEDALA Breast Pump $899, now $739 (Members add'l $40 off) FREE Thermometer

Members: Additional 20% off Children's Wear (Except Petit Bateau, Life Baby, Osh Kosh, Pigeon Basic Wear, Blossom, Jelly Bean & That's Me)

Haha, LittleCat, I definitely cannot follow my grandma's method... after 6 years of "non-activity", dh will probably divorce me, not to mention if I get pregnant then, I'll be an old woman liao!

Van,
I usually use top grill. Bake is heat throughout the oven. Grill is the wire will heat up on top. I usually grill to golden brown...

Sophie,
Maybe the bloatedness will reduce by cutting down the chicken soup... Ever since my bloatedness and LS after chicken soup for confinement, now when I take black chicken soup, I will get bloatedness already...

Thank you very much for the summary
hmm... maybe I will go and have a look at the clothes... :p

Marinated my pork strips with soy just now, tomorrow then will add apple sauce to grill it, cos going swimming now.
van, tell me what's the outcome of the pork chop, cos, my oven also quite tricky..

anne,
Spotlight is my fav place too ! I can only do cross stitch !Used to go to the one in Tamp, got more varieties compared to plaza sing

Have you tried the cheesecake recipe on the philedelphia cheese pkt ?

Hey cat tail, thanks for the recipe on the cheesy bake pots.

thickened cream can be found in cold storage .. dairy section, one brand is paul's