i also scare of stranger in my house but finally decided to use a CL. I got it from agency and quite lucky that the auntie was okie.
Not only cook and take care of baby, she also do light housework.
You have to consider things like...
- do you have other family members who will help you during that month? Need to bring bb for checkup, someone to watch over bb when you bath / poo / pee...etc etc
- Natural delivery versus C-sec recovery is different.
- who to do day and night duty?
- If you are those who follow confinement rules strictly (cannot touch water), it probably even tougher w/o a CL
- Do you need someone to take care of your other child?
No need to worry that the baby will stick to the CL and follow her habits lah...Only for 1 month and most impt is you recover than will have energy to take care of the baby later on.
Many ppl says new mom can not touch water, otherwise your hands will pain; can not sleep in Aircon room, otherwise your whole body pain. Is that true?Hi.. I went through all 3 deliveries without CL.. But I did order confinement food which deliver lunch and dinner to my house.. They have soups and drink to help me with my breast milk.. Also, I don't need to worry about food... I don't like any stranger to stay in my house and tell me how to take care of my bb..I m the mother and I should be the best person to take care of the bb.. the 1st time is Abit stressful but it will get better.. Read some stuffs over Internet.. Check with your pd... Mother instinct..
![]()
Many ppl says new mom can not touch water, otherwise your hands will pain; can not sleep in Aircon room, otherwise your whole body pain. Is that true?
I will not hire CL definitely. But abit worried about those taboos.
You bath the baby yourself from day one?
I'm thinking of letting my CL go although we have paid her a $200 deposit. There is really nothing wrong with her. However, she's gonna charge $3,000 for the 3 weeks just before CNY, and I need to pay more if I want her to work during CNY. It's going to be a huge financial expenditure, esp since I'm giving birth in a private hosp and the charges will be exorbitant if the bb needs NICU.
Also, I'm going to sleep train bb from the start and I'm afraid she may not approve of sleep training. I don't have a maid and I'm not expecting parents or in-laws to stay with me during confinement. For confinement food, I can order tingkat delivery and my hubby can cook during the weekends. If I need to take bb out for doc check-up, I can ask my MIL to come along to help as she lives just 5 min away.
What do you think?
Hi dear, thank you so much! Pheww... What a big relief. I think I can do it myself too.Hi..I did not know about these taboos at all... Sorry.. Lol.. I did not follow any rules, tho my mum did chide me for not following.. But I reckon that when I grow old, I will have some sickness, or pain here and there anyway.. Not necessary due to not following the confinement rules, u know what I mean??even my mum who did follow the rules prevly have some joint pains, back pain now etc.. So, I just do what I feel comfortable for myself to be able to take care of myself and my bb..
the rest, I will handle when the time comes.. Lol..
Eh.. I still touch water.. How to avoid?? After go toilet, have to wash.. Have to clean and wash dishes, clothes, and bath bb..I don't feel pain leh.. Do they say now or future??
I also sleep in aircon room and bath.. I can't stand not bath.. Very smell and awkward leh.. Then bb breast feed, can't bear to let bb smell or feel my dirty body.. Lol.. Also hubby must have aircon to sleep.. And when the temperature is high, you will appreciate aircon.. My body ok leh.. Tho when I have 3rd preggy, i had Abit more back pain.. But then, I m not young.. And gynae said its normal, after a few preggy.. And I m not that young, bound to have some pain here and there..
As for bathing bb.. Actually, you don't need to bath bb every day.. And also no need too long.. Yes, I bath my bb.. But the pd said bb don't sweat as much as we do.. So, don't need to bath everyday.. Once every few days ok Liao.. And no need too long.. Just a few mins.. Make sure all areas are wash and dry properly.. Also, I don't know abt other kids, for mine, they don't like to bath in the beginning.. They cried a lot.. So, I just bath as fast as possible..![]()
Hi dear, thank you so much! Pheww... What a big relief. I think I can do it myself too.
You are very right, all things you said are make sense to me. I"ll follow your steps.....
Who did the cooking for you ? Any special confinement food?![]()
Hi Lostinsg, I just saw your last message about the delivery confinement food. Hehe, pls ignore my previous question.
So, you are a stay-home mummy?
Do you think it's ok to deliver bb at KKH under subsidized patient? I am thinking to save some money. But all my friends warn me that KKH's C ward has rude nurse and only Medical Officer (no real doctor there) ; those medical students will use C wards patients to practice their skill...like one student stitch my tummy then take out the thread to let another student to stitch again, etc. Sounds so scary....![]()
Hi all thank you so much for your stories. Really helps me figure stuff out.
I'm planning not to hire a CL anymore. My mandarin is poor and I don't really want to eat confinement food all the time or follow the rules. I guess my main concern was getting enough sleep at night because I want to go for C section. I guess, I'll just have my husband do some shifts as well. He's super supportive so there's no problem there. I'll just have to suck it up and get less sleep.
I'll hire a postnatal home service for a few days to teach me all the right modern methods, then handle it myself from there on. My MIL will also be around, but I feel bad if she has to do housework and cook and look after me. Must be so tiring. So maybe I'll order tin kat service (confinement food) for a few days a week and increase my part time maid's service to 2 times a week or something.
My mum has a job and a car so she can drive me to check ups etc.
You all think workable?
@StacyHF as long as you are comfortable with the arrangement and have family support. Have CL got pros and cons....like hiring a maid, it is all about luck.
I didn't like confinement food too but i survived the whole month ( the amount of liver i ate that month, win the whole life of liver i ate loh)
C-sec, the tougheset part is probably the first week? After that, shd be better. Never underestimate the power of a mum....you will realise that you become much stronger after delivery.
@MTB-2015 my experience with KK was quite alright (i didn't deliver there though). My friend signed up as subsized patient initially to save on the consultation charges than change to private at the end. So far, no heard nasty feedback on KK
Hi Stacy.. Just a small point, initially I did not order confinement food.. Hubby was gung-ho and wanted to cook soup for me.. Got some recipes, tried but not that nice.. Lol.. And a lot of work too.. He knows that and that's why in the end, we order.. To save our energy and put onto bb instead.. Then we don't need to worry about the food.. the confinement food catering I took is really flexible.. I can postpone any meal if you want but have to give advance notice.. And u can choose if you want weekday only or both weekend and weekday.. You can also choose to exclude some food.. For me, I don't eat intestine, so I asked them to exclude liver, kidney etc..
I went thru natural birth for all my bb.. So I can't say much abt c-section.. If this is your 1st bb, don't worry that u have to take night shifts cos during the day, if ur bb sleeps, you can catch some sleep as well cos bb sleep a lot.. And since you said your hubby is supportive, I think you will make it..![]()
Ya..I think your arrangement is feasible.. Don't worry abt the plans.. It can always change when the time comes.. We all trial and error.. Most impt, don't be stress, relax.. Rest more.. And things will b good..go for it.. You can make it..
![]()
Hi Stacy, we jiayou together.
I am vegetarian, so confinement is more challenge for me. But I think I can survive without a CL.![]()
@Lostinsg, which food delivery company did u order? Can share ? I need to call them see they have vegetarian confinement food or not. TIA.
Yes we do it together! Scary but as my friend says being a mum gives you super strength.
x
Hi.. I used http://www.natalessentials.com
I just went to the website.. Does not seem to have vegetarian..nevertheless, can call to check.. I used their trial period 1st.. Then I like it and I cont for the 3 preggy.. They have an early bird discount.. And since I took them for 3 preggy, they have additional discount..
![]()
Thank you dear! Looking forward to it xTotally!! Being a mum is the best thing I ever have in my life (on top of marrying my hubby.. Lol).. And after going through 3 preggy and went thru hyperemesis gravidarum, I can tell you that being a mum really give you all the strength you never thought you have..![]()
You can do it!!!
I too do not have a CL for both deliveries. Everything done by myself. Hb can't help as he got to work long hours. My elder was 5 yrs old when I had #2 n I still have to bring her to kindergarten. Life is as normal, just with an additional member. Now my elderis in P1, I still bring her to sch along with the little sister. I can't afford to spend so much money and get pissed by a stranger. Nobody to help also means everything do at yr own pace, yr own way. I do marketing, laundry, cook, basically everything myself. Believe in yrself, n u can do it.
lol.. Don't know if u r directing your qn to anyone in particular.. In my opinion, it's totally feasible..is this your 1st child, if I may ask? Why do u think your bb need NICU??
Omg!! The CL cost is really expensive!!! Well, if you think you can do without, go ahead.. I actually don't believe in CL and the added value that she brings.. Sorry if I offend anyone by saying that.. I did not get a CL cos I don't trust anyone to handle my bb, also, they r expensive.. I paid for confinement food to be delivered to my house for about 1200 or so.. And it's lunch and dinner n for 20 days (weekend included if u want).. So I don't need to worry abt food.. I requested only weekday cos I would like to hv a break from confinement food for weekend, n also, I can go eat whatever I want w my hubby.. esp those food that I could not eat during my pregnancy..
Whatever I say now applies to all my preggy...I hv no CL and no maid.. My mum n PIL also did not stay w me during confinement for the 1st kid.. The 2nd n the 3rd one, my PIL stayed w us abt 1 month.. To help w the elder kid.. I delivered in TMC n requested epidural cos I can't tahan the pain.. Lol.. That one is a whole other story..so, the hospital fee already quite ex.. But that one I can't really control.. So I decide to save on CL... N in the end, I feel I did not lose out by taking care of my bb myself.. I bf all my kids which also include night shifts..
All my bb sleep in their own cot since day 1 and separate room from us.. They r pretty independent if I may say... I guess that's what they say by training..even during the day, I don't carry them much.. I let them get used to the cot and sleep.. Also for my sanity.. Lol.. it's especially useful when the 2nd and 2rd one comes along...
For the check up, I made it a point to book apptm on sat so that my hubby can come along.. In the event he can't.. I did myself.. Once a while, my mum is free, she join but I know she has other commitments, so I did myself..
So, whatever u r thinking, I did all.. And I have no regrets and I still think this arrangement is better for me.. So I believe u can do it too if you want it..
True enough, you can save quite a lot on the CL.. U have to be prepare to handle things yourself.. If ur parents or PIL can come during the day to help out, that would be nice.. At least you can have a breather (depending if your parents or PIL will not nag or give too many opinions).. That's y I always prefer to do alone..as I want it.. But my mum n PIL did come and help.. But mostly just carry the bb cos they love to carry bb... Other than that, they don't interfere with my ways of handling my bb (like the sleep train and the bathing and the breast feeding etc).. My mum thinks the bb should sleep in our room but both my hubby and I don't want... So we decide and she just take it.. Lol..
Also, u need to have your hubby support.. That's most impt.. Both physically and mentally.. It's a partnership..I always ask my hubby to co-help (tho most of the things I do myself but at least he tried a few times to experience what I m going thru).. The bathing, the night duties.. The carrying bb when I tired.. (Tho almost all disappear when I have 2nd n 3rd - guess he thinks I m experience enough not needing his help.. Lol)..
So it's totally feasible..it's not as difficult lah...
Hi.. I used http://www.natalessentials.com
I just went to the website.. Does not seem to have vegetarian..nevertheless, can call to check.. I used their trial period 1st.. Then I like it and I cont for the 3 preggy.. They have an early bird discount.. And since I took them for 3 preggy, they have additional discount..
![]()
A lot of ladies' mums and MILs, esp those from Malaysia, do work as CLs, maybe coz of the lucrative pay? Earn S$ and spend RM! But it's tough work lag and only certain characters can tahan, coz mummies' expectations are high and babies are so precious. Don't think my mum can do it as she's too careless and forgetful, even though the pay is so much better than her current job, sure will kena "fired". My MIL is too pampered to do such hard work, lol!
@Lostinsg Sorry for my slow reply and thank you so much for your detailed sharing. I directed my question to anyone who would care to answer so thanks for that! I shared your experiences with DH and he has decided to let go of the CL to save costs. This is my first child. My pregnancy is not high risk, but I was told that IVF babies have higher chance of being in NICU, so I'm imagining the financial outlays in the worst case scenario.
I asked DH to take leave (paternity leave 1 week + shared parental leave 1 week) immediately after the delivery to help out. Then after that, I suppose my MIL can hop over to help whenever needed. I'm more comfortable with doing things on my own or within the family, which is the more independent "ang moh" approach.![]()
W ur hubby help, n ur mil, u can make it.. N like betc said, not all CL nice.. So, better to take care ur self.. To save money and also save the hassle of having another stranger to do things which u might not like..u can make it..
it's not as difficult as u think..
things will only get easier..
![]()
Hi, I am also vegetarian. My baby is 40 days old now.