Breastfeeding Support Group

hi giggler,
i just bought ameda electric pump from momsinmind on mon. i requested for urgent delivery n the pump was delivered to me on tue. no urgent delivery charge. so far so good...considered not too noisy.

hi helen,
lactaline pump is ameda pump right? have been using avent manual pump for the past few wks to express milk n my hands are really tired! no choice n resorted to get electric pump. will start work next wk n i cant take it using manual pump to express milk everyday in office. time consuming n tiring! have used ameda lactaline pump for the past 2days n it is not bad. think have to practice more to make perfect!

hi mel,
u just bought ameda pump too? how to create fast let-down? i got problem creating let-down. if not pumping can really b done v fast.

blessed
Thanks, I found the battery compartment, ya I prefer to use medela pump. I also find that drink a glass of water before pumping help with the flow. I cant do TBF because my girl refuse to latch on at 1 week time and because of lacking knowledge on bfg, I did not pump regularly to maintain the flow, since then my flow has reduced dramatically, cant meet my girl demand, hance have to supplement.

Quench
How often do you take the fish and papaya soup? have you heard of nursing tea? Or anyone who know about this nursing tea, please let me know. Thanks.

maro
I was recommended to take Fenugreek capsules, avail from GNC. You might wanna try. I am still taking but does not seem to be helping me much leh. The things we do for our bbs...sigh...

Stylobb
I am so stressed out this wk. My boy not only fuss in the evening, he fuss in the afternoon too. Cannot stand his cries. Now, his sleeping schedule has changed, it seems very difficult to get him to sleep now.
And now I am down with flu.

Haha, I am also taking the fenugreek capsule, no effect on me too, but since I bot them, might as well continue to take.

U are not going for the gathering? Then, I cannot meet u leh. I might hv to leave earlier tt day, afraid my boy will be fussy. I see his performance next wkday 1st.

Mini,
Can you be handsfree when you are pumping using the lactaline pump? How is it compared to Avent's manual pump?

Stylobb

Me in Punggol.

m_maro

If you are using Avent manual pump then cannot use tablet. It spoils the pump. But for medela pump it's all right. I am using the tablet method to sterilise my pump in office.

aloe
I also use Avent storage bags. These are the most common storage bags used I think... the Medela ones are more expensive.

desert
You on no-pay leave yes? Poor thing..did you get some rest? You tried everything and he is still fussing? Could it be tummy discomfort? Wants to be carried?? I understand cos I get really down if my boy cries and cries. This week he is kinda looking 'serious'...hehe... dun know why. This morning he turned till nearly perpendicular in the cot.
Fenugreek - I have 1.5 bottles left, still taking every nite. My mum also cooks fish for me, also no effect one...sigh...never mind lah, another 8 more weeks.. bb still feeding bm and ok, also taking formula. Growing well - no complaints.
Gathering - yah lor, not going. Need to rest and the place is too far.

AppleG
Also so far!!! You go to the KP at TPY?
Medela bags cost $21.00, crazy...

desert,

How many wks is your boy?
My 8 wk old girl recently also started fussing a lot nearing bed time..... have to keep carrying her and walking about to stop her from crying....
It gets v frustrating at times....

Hope you get well soon too

desert
What about bring bb out for a walk??

girl
I think they are learning to adjust from day to nite and learning to sleep. My hubby used to carry my boy in the wee hours of the morning cos he could not sleep for long. It is torturous no doubt but this will pass, dun worry. Thankfully now at four months, he can sleep at nite, dun need patting, he will fall asleep after his milk. My problem now is my boy does not sleep for long daytime when he is at my place.

stylobb
I think will try the Fenugreek capsules, hopefully it works on me.. sigh... btw, my gl is 7 wks now, she cant sleep long for day time also, like have to wake up every half an hour and cry a bit, sometimes I am confused whether she is crying for milk or she just wake up from nightmare? Anyway, does baby hv nightmare?

Apple
Thanks, din noe that Avent pump cannot use tablet, luckily you tell me...

My coming-to-3-month-old baby fusses 'punctually' between 6.30 to 7 p.m. daily. I think most babies fuss a lot in the evening. So I don't get to enjoy my dinner as she will be making noise. I usually leave her to fuss a bit in the bouncer while I talk to her and have a hurried dinner. At 7+ p.m., I will bathe her and she will smile and give me that pleased look. She may or may not fuss again after the bath. At 8+ p.m., I put her to bed after a feed.

Try bathing baby in the evening to help her relax and fall asleep better.

Hi blessed!

When I had my first one, I read up quite a lot on baby training. As I was a first-time mumand caring for baby myself, I thought reading helped to equip me with the much needed info to care for my baby. I also trained my first one, but the process took slightly longer. No doubt that with the second one now, it is a bit easier. Must train, or I will go crazy caring for the two... (I am a SAHM)

sarador
Thanx for sharing your bb's routine with us, really help us 'calm down' hehe... you have gals or 1 of each? How old is your first kid?

maro
Not sure, but there was once bb woke up crying quite badly, not the hunger type, so maybe he had dreams?? Quickly went to comfort him and he was ok.

styloBB

no problem. just some sharing from personal experience. we are all learning from one another, ya?

i have been blessed with two girls (about 2 years apart). first one is now 26 months old -- at the 'terrible two' phase!

sarador
You know, I used to have phobia every evening going home with my bb, I get really 'faan' when he starts fussing.

hi mimi
oh dear u have asked the wrong person. I am having problems with my milk produce not to say let down...

I don't even know what does it mean

maybe some other mothers using the ameda pump too can help you. So sorry

stylobb

ya, he will. different stages exhibit different traits...

hi stylobb,

yes i think they'll grow out of fussy sooner. hehe i used to FEAR night time everyday!!! but now, it's ok lah, coz pretty ok. I used to be convinced i do not want 2nd baby, coz i cant imagine the torture. but time flies, n soon they'll b more well behaved. now i m more willing to have a 2nd child
...i m hoping to hv another gal.

hi sarador,

i was like u, i bought books n read up on the internet.but i was pratically obssessed with it!! i tot my bb has a sleeping disorder coz she fusses so much n dont sleep well!! i was debating within myself if to let her cry it out, only that she got older around 4 mths then i was more comfortable to train her. Glad i did it, if not i wonder if she'll behave.

Stylobb
Yup, I am on No pay leave, else I dun think I can take it. only those mummies with experience with fussy babies know how we feel.
This wk, he not only cry in the evening, but in the afternoon as well. I ended up bringing him to PD yesterday coz he cried when he woke up fr afternoon nap, cry unitl very loudly tt kind. I just wanted to check tt nothing is wrong with him. PD says he is fine, just tt he is curious abt things and dun want to sleep, when he gets too tired, he fusses. He tells me the baby is ok, its the parents tt are distressed.
How true!
I tried bringing him down for a walk when he was fussing. It did not work. Maybe I shd bring him down b4 he starts to fuss. The only gd thing abt this whole thing is tt he does not wake up so often at nite, coz he does not sleep much in the day.

Girl
My boy is 13 wks now. He started acting like this when he was ard 10 wks.

desert/stylobb
my boy also don't know why, everytime wake up from sleep in daytime sure cry one.. ah ya.. very sian... Luckily his cries are short type, give him some water to drink and he's okay..

m_marco
Have answered your questions in the other thread.

stylobb
seems like your boy also want to join in your dating...

quench
Your office got any room for your to pump? your cubical partition is those short type?

m_marco
During my confinement, I use tablet to sterilise my Avent manual pump, after some use, the rubber parts which is transparent in colour has all become opaque white colour, and I find that it makes my pump feel sticky, morever, it got a chemical smell.

helen,
can b handsfree if the suction is strong. so far i did handsfree for a while n still hold on to it most of the time as am adjusting the pump to push it inner to get more milk.
the pumping time is reduced compared to using avent manual. as for amt wise, think should b the same. pumping can b done in 10min if can create let-down fast. but i do face problem creating letdown at times. so far i m happy with the pump n wont have aching hands....

mel,
have your supply increase? dun give up...your supply will be able to meet baby's demand soon. do eat well n rest well.

hi mini quench

haizz...milk supply only increased by 10ml. Still far from baby's demand.

Sometimes really dishearted, wanted to give up. Dun see much results. But I just make it a point to pump everyday lor.

Thanks Jas,
saw your reply in the other thread. I also think not so nice to pump in washroom, but my ofc quite open space and got limited rooms, and they all come with semi-transparent door... My partition is short somemore my male staff is sitting just beside me...so impposible to pump in ofc. I think i will just try few days to do it in washroom and see how. Sometimes wonder whether worth the effort or not since my supply so low.

hi blessed,
tried using the tablet to sterilise, but dont like the clorin smell. Are all brand of tablets like that?

Hi stylobb,
saw that you were on the other thread "WAys to stimulate bb", do you have the paper supplier contact? can e-mail to me at [email protected]?

hi mel and quench,
Jia you!! Just give wathever you can to baby...

any idea where i can get a nursing apron (not sure wtr this is the right term)? i've seen mums using this while breastfeeding their bbs outside. Went to a few places but was not able to find one. Thanks.

hi m_maro

i not sure about tablet coz i never use b4. I m thinking of using too, when i go overseas working trips. since u mention got smell, mayb i wont use it. i have a smaller sterilizer, using it in the ofc. mayb u wan to consider that?

hi lea,

I'v heard of nursing apron, but never seen it before. how does it look like huh?

I'm a new mummy of a 3-week old girl. I am currently using the Avent manual pump and the Avent steriliser. I am thinking of using the tablet to steriliser the Avent pump when I return to work until I read some of your postings above.

Apple G,
How does the table spolit the Avent pump? Do you have the same problem as JasTan? i.e. the rubber parts become opaque white in colour, pump feels sticky and got chemical smell?

Helena,
Any idea whether the Milton tablet is suitable for Avent manual pump? Where can I get the Milton tablet?

Anybody else has any idea how to sterilise Avent manual pump in office? Any suitable tablet to recommend? Plse share.

Maple,

My Avent pump is also sticky and opaque but I'm fine with it cos it is not causing harm to my bb. The pump can be sterilised in tablets. Just that the rubber parts become sticky. I have used Milton, Boots and Pureen tablets on my Avent pump. You can buy them from Kiddy Palace, pharmacies, supermarkets and medicinal halls.

Jas
My boy also used to cry once he wake up in the day time, but I just hv to pick him up and let him suckle my breast and he's ok. Now sometimes dun seem to work and he can cry for a very long time.

Mel
Why dun u latch on instead of pumping? I find tt latch on is much better for the demand = supply thing. I used to pump and latch on, dun get much fr pumping. So, I changed to totally latch on, so far even though my ss is not a lot, it has been enuff for bb's dd.

lea/Blessed
Mine is like a nursing bib. I got mine fr the 1st few years, its at united square, near novena. It looks somthing like a giant bib.

mini,
I bought the Ameda Lactaline pump on Sat. I have tried it twice already and am happy with the results. It is a gd recommendation. I also bought the cooler bag. I am thinking of bringing it to my workplace. However, I need batteries then. Have you ever used it with batteries? How often do you need to change the batteries?

hi mel,

how much are you getting? got letdown?

hi jas,

yup partition is low type. will give it a shot in the loo

yeah m_maro,
will give my best and all that i have yo baby

jas/desert/sarador and all
Wow so stressful last week, so busy at work... so demanding.

jas
How is your appetite? Mine has been quite bad...cannot eat much these days.. I think it's becos of work stress and lack of rest, that's why I am not pushing myself so much, I just express whatever I can and also latch on my boy at nite cos I wonder if I myself am getting enuf nutrients. He is also on fm and my mum said she will give him semi-solid end of this month.

quench/maro
Just do your best! Quite demoralising for pple like me who dun get enuf bm for bb but I give whatever I can. Can you imagine he can take 150ml and sometimes I can only express 90ml...mornings are better, can be 120ml but still not enuf leh. Xian, then work stress is making my ss worse.

desert
Have you made it a habit already... that now he expects to suckle whenever he wakes up? The PD did not suggest how you can calm him down?

maro
So sorry, I don't have the contact, try Hong at the New Mums thread. I didn't print anything so far.

hi stylobb,

im going back to work in 2 weeks' time. with my kind of ss, think won't be long before factory closes down

im also trying my best to let baby suckle whenever i can. let's hope it will increase the ss.

helen,
i have bough the cooler bag too but have yet to use it. i m only returning to work this wed. not sure how long the battery will last. i m thinking of pumping milk using power supply but must find a good place to pump. so far where u pump milk at work?

helena,
how much milk is your boy taking at how long interval? my boy takes 120-125ml at 3hrs interval. dunno is it considered too much for 8wks old baby? so fast n i m starting work this wed. going to miss my boy alot

blessed, ya it's like a giant bib. this can be used to cover yourself and bb while nursing in public. you can tie the top part around your neck and the rest of it looks like an apron.

mini,

dun worry, my boy is taking 120-130ml per feed. sometimes, he doesn't even finish that amount. bbs are like adults. their appetite varies. my boy spits out his milk too, but heoesn't ask for more

to those using avent pumps,
i just called the supplier to tell her that the rubber parts turn opaque and sticky after being submerged in water with sterilising tablets. she says it's normal and not harmful. also, they should be changed ever 3 months. i have just ordered some spare parts from her.

hi quench,

if u using medela, u may wan to consider getting the pigeon traveller sterilizer, about $49. it's juz nice to sterilise the pumps (but no space for the bottles though). wat i do is ster the pumps after each use int he ofc, n bring 6 bottles coz i dual pump 3x a day in ofc.

hi desert/lea,

thnks for the description...haha then i'll feel like a Big Baby when using it

Stylobb
Dun stress urself too much, especially since u are busy at work. My boy has just started to take bottle again on sun, so I think I will go back to one supplementary feed per day.
He used to calm down when sucking my breasts, but now sometimes dun work anymore leh. So I dun think its a habit for him. PD told me to carry him with his head over my shoudlers and walk ard. It works when he is just getting fussy, but if he is crying badly, does not work anymore, coz he refuse to open his eyes to look ard. Anyway, PD checked and says he is fine, he says normally its the parents tt are distress

desert
I dun understand..so if the parents are in destress, what should we do then?? Haha... cos meantime the bb is still crying. I think my boy is fussing less now, rather when he does it, besides wanting to be walked around (we try to minimise it by stretching the time), he is sleepy or wants his pampers changed...but still it is tiring for us lor, esp for a day's work.

hi helena, blessed,

tks for your advice.

last nite, my baby fussed the whole nite and didn't throughout. very very tired

her nostrils are blocked and she can't breathe properly causing her irritation.

any idea how to remove the blockage?

stylobb
my appetite is consider good, can eat. in fact my appetite is much better as compared to confinement. I am trying to eat better coz still giving BF, so cannot diet now..

You must rest well and eat well. Don't pressure yourself too much.

quench
I am also using medela pump, yes I do sterilise after use everytime.

jas
You busy too?? Never write in the New Mums thread...me very busy. Good that you can eat lor. I also dun know why my appetite went down, morning can't eat anything. Probably becos of fatigue and stress...every day is like non-stop rush..my weight has gone down further.

quench
Yah, have to sterilise each time. How come nose blocked?

Giggler
Forgot, have you given birth?