Breastfeeding Support Group

Stylobb
Yup, I am the one who said after reading the bks, I feel our bb not tt fussy. The bk baby really extreme case. Anyway, my boy was crying non stop during yesterday afternoon and evening. I carried him until he fell asleep crying. I dun know what's wrong with him, I gave him breast, bottle, play, bring him down, he still kept on crying.
Dun know whether it will happen again.

My boy is like urs, cannot fall asleep on his own, either he comfort sucks himself to sleep or we carry him to sleep. I will put him stomach down to sleep in the day, it helps him to sleep longer, with interval like 1-3 hrs. Everytime, he starts moving, I will hold down his head and pat his back, and normally he will go back to sleep.

Aloe
U must wake up ur bb for feeding at 2-3 hrs if bb does not wake up. That's for the day time. Interval for nite time can be longer.

desert
Mine also. Was fussing last nite, same thing, seems like wanted to be carried and walked about. Before the last feed, he cried so badly that his face turned all red and tears came down, told me that I am there for him and held him close, I really dun know what to do, my hubby was also at a loss, finally I shoved the pacifier into his mouth and he sorta relaxed.
He did not even finish his milk.

serene
finally back to work... welcome back to the working world again.. hee hee..
the milk has what type of smell.. is it like 'plastic' smell? My stock of about 1mth old has such smell too, initally scare that the milk is spoilt, so I tasted it first and it turns out okay just that it has a strong 'plastic' smell. I still give my boy the milk, but if he couldn't finish at one shot I will just throw reminding away instead of keeping it warm for an hour or two. Suggest you taste it first before giving to your boy.

I also don't have a proper place to pump at the office, so I just do it at my cubical lor... unlike stylobb she got a proper room.

stylobb
I also need to carry my boy and pat and walk him arond before he fall asleep, he seldom can fall asleep himself on the bed, unless he is really tired which is only once that he did so.

Moon
Then how? Your brs never become engorged?? How, did your boy take from the bottle while you were at work? So you give up b/feeding? Quite a waste leh.. you did so well.
My office has spare rooms so I usually use one and lock the door lor.

Jas/Desert
Looks like we are all in the same boat!! Hehe..I also dun know why our boys cannot guai guai fall asleep on their own. Jas, at least mine, for his last feed, it's ok, he will fall asleep..but between 9-10pm+ aiyoh, he will fuss, I dun know if he is trying to nap but get irritated cos he did not succeed or just wanna be carried. His crying is terrible, so terok, so much tears, cried till his head/hair all wet, I also heartpain. End up I feel so lousy, not to mention tired.

Wow Jastan
How to pump at cubicle?? That's impressive.... I can't imagine how to do that....

hmm... we also carry our baby to sleep... but usually for last feed, he'll "knock out" after nursing so just put him back to bed. In the day, he will start crying when he wants to sleep... carry him a while he'll sleep, or if it's time for milk, better, give him a bottle of milk and he'll drink and drift off to sleep.

Usually babies drink milk will be drowsy rite? Will be sleepy after tt....?

AppleG
I was about to ask Jas about the cubicle too...!
So your bb also like that?? Carried to sleep in the daytime? Ok, same, same. At nite he will also drift off to sleep...but the terok time is around 9-10pm...I dun know what he is fussing about.

AppleG/helena/desert/jas
So there is no solution for now about the carrying /fussing part?? Feel so xian man, esp after a day's work and he starts fussing. Hope and pray all this will pass as he gets older each day..

stylobb,

My mum puts a dummy into my bb's mouth to make him take his nap. It works. Actually I let him suckle to do so but she is against it cos I'll be going back to work soon and she'll have problems with that.

stylobb
seems like our boys have a lot of similarity.. his last feed around 11pm is okay, he will fall asleep while drinking. No wonder we scare to think of having 2nd one, I wanted a girl but if turns out boy again I faint..

during other time, my boy will fuss and struggle when trying to fall asleep, normally it's my hubby will try to help him to sleep by carrying and patting him.

Don't seems to have solution for it, maybe just have to bear and wait till the bb outgrows it themselves lor..

appleg
my cubical has tall partition, I will sit with back facing the opening of the cubical and I use nursing bibs to cover while expressing. Not so convenient but no choice, got no room mah. Morever, I am using medela dual mini electric, so the motor is noisy, I believe my colleagues definately can hear the sound while I am expressing. Initally was quite pai seh, but after a few times, don't care liao.. just express as I am uncomfortable with the hardened breast.

I don't think my boy will be drowsy when drinking milk. In fact I think most of the time he is pretty alert, he can still push away the bottle and turn he head around. Nowsdays feed him also very difficult, must coax him into finishing his feed and must feed him several times before he can finish drinking all the milk.

helena
what is a dummy?

jas
Ha,ha, we can really emphatise with each other!! Read about all the other mummies playing and enjoying their bb gals and it seems here I am struggling to pacify mine and then tiring out at the same time. He was crying so loudly. Felt so lousy last nite after his fussing that I told my hubby I give up, going to bed and gonna throw away the formula milk. Yah nowadays his hands all over the bottle and also pushing the bottle but usu. he finishes his milk at one go.

Very good of u to keep pumping even tho it's quite 'open space'.. jia you!

Hi styloBB & Desert ..

oh i just went for the first week check up for my BB and the dr said is perfectly fine if he only that one side and i should pump out the other side for storage ...

but sinec after i ask dr this question, my baby boy switch back to both side sucking...

so how old are yr baby ?? do yr baby got hiccup in between feed ???

thanks,

JasTan,
A dummy is a pacifier. We're just too lazy to articulate all 4 syllables. And "dummy" sounds cuter.

To all mummies,
How long did it take you to be able to wear your pre-pregnancy clothes? I was trying on some of them yesterday and they are still so tight. I can't even fit into some of them and I'm going back to work in 2 weeks' time. Feel so demoralised.

Has any of your bbs drunk half of what he/she is supposed to drink and then fall asleep and no matter how hard you try to wake him/her up, he/she can't be bothered. My bb is like that today. I'm at my wits' end.

Hi Helena
I also can't fit into some of my bottoms especially the smaller size ones after my ML. But now after 4 months. Most can fit in already. I think can lah slowly. But most of my tops can't already cos of the breast areas. So I got a few and plus dig out a few old ones and wear lor. No choice wait buy already waste money.
Hi stlyobb/Jas
I am still expressing . Just that no fix time and place lor. No good for supply right? Not sure how long I can last.
Ya Jas I not sure what smell but just got one smell very strong.

Hi Apple
You receive my email. I was asking you for the part time maid number. Can pass me her contact? Thank you.

Hi stlyobb/Jas/Desert/He;ena
My bb also like you all. Not sure why leh. My hub just told me his colleague gal so guai can play on her own, sleep through the night, sleep on her own. People say train them put them down and let them cry but he will cry so hard till face so red and tears kepy dropping right? How ah? Can start training?
Moon

aloe
My boy is 4 months. Me/Jas/Moon all have Jan babies.
Can't recall, like no hiccup between feeds. Only when he is not eating, he hiccups.

Helena
I went to buy new clothes before I went back to work but I could wear some of my pre-preggie pants. But I lost all my weight, now even those new tops now seems a bit loose. Suggest you get new clothes but dun buy so many.
One thing good about my boy is his appetite is good and consistent, he usu finishes all his milk, but I guess better when direct latch, then dun waste any ..hehe.

Moon
Yah, all our boys 'torture' us hor. Same, mine can cry until his face all red. This evening he is ok, I put his tummy lying on mine and he rested quite a bit So you still manage to express? That's good but if inconsistent timing, won't it affect supply?

Moon/Jas/Stylobb
Aiyoh, so our case the same hor, got fussy bb. My baby fuss time slightly different, if he dun fall asleep b4 7++ to 8, he starts to fuss real badly. And the cry is like the one u all mentioned, crying non stop very loudly with tears. I really cannot bear to hear him cry.
But Monday dun know why he also fuss in the afternoon.
Actually I read in the bks that there is no definite mtd for soothing bb. U just hv to keep trying until u find the rt one for ur bb.
My boy only fell asleep on his own once. We were at the V8 cafe in Bugis, he was looking at the lights and then he just close his eyes and slept. Other times, he has to be carried or nurse to sleep.

Aloe
My bb is 3mths ++. He hicupps a lot when he was newborn, now not so much. But PD says its ok lor, no need to feed them water, just let the hiccups go away by itself.

Blessed
Will this kay poh stage go away? Now, I hv started to nurse him using the bib, so far he seems to be more focuse on nursing, coz nothing to see and nobody to talk to. But when he is older, I am afraid he might use his hands to remove the bib.

helena
I cannot fit into my pre-preggie till now, my boy is 4mth old. I have upgrade my cloth size to XXL, so you can image how big size I am now.. I am still wearing some of my maternity tops.

my boy sometimes also like that, drink halfway fall asleep.

serene
I don't think I can train my boy, let him cry.. afraid he will get colic, then worst still. I think I will let him develop naturally lor..

Hi, mummies with fussy bb at nite,

I have same experience with my girl before, she become very fussy and crying non-stop at around 8-9pm daily, I suspected it was colic and brought her to PD, after taking the colic drop given by the PD, the condition seems improved. But the real magic was this gripe water, last week we stop the colic drop and gave her gripe water after her bath, since then she doesnt fuss again, and sometimes she just fall off to sleep by herself at 8-9pm.... I really find it a great relief...

But not sure how old is your babies, because heard that colic normally attack only baby under 3 months and its more common for bottle fed baby.

Hi Helena,

Yesterday whole day my girl also drank half of her bottle and fall asleep, I was so worried, but this morning she could finish her bottle again... My mom said bb are like that, sometimes they tends to drink less.....
I am also going abck to work soon, either next week or the week after but also couldnt fit in any of the pre-pregnancy clothes. You are so lucky that you can still wear them only feeling tight. For me, I could hardly pull up my skirts or pants. So i went to buy a few new pieces, hopefully i can slim down after resuming exercise later (I had c-section)...

Helena,

I also can't fit many of my prepregnancy clothes

Still have 4 kg to go... but think it'll take forever to lose cos it's been like that since the 1st wk after delivery.... sigh....

Will be going back to work next wk, but till now not had the time to buy new clothes

I think it's normal for bf babies not to finish their bottles all the time.... They will prob make it up at another feed

Stylobb
sounds like colic for your son.... if he cries without fail the same time every nite.

Dun worry, i am sure he'll outgrow it.

And the carry to sleep habit too... I am sure they'll outgrow it lah... babies need more comfort and assurance I guess... I always tell myself this wun be forever so treasure it.... instead of being too hard hearted and let them cry their lungs out, very poor thing also. It's not that difficult anyway, just carry and pat pat... he'll fall asleep then can put him down.

HI Moon
So sorry.... I do remember you wanted the part time cleaner's contact... keep forgetting to bring it out with me... will get it to you soon. She's quite good really.... wash my place v clean and she is not particular abt timing, sometimes over-shot a bit she wun charge. She can do ironing as well.

Girl, m_maro etc...
Sigh, my son is 7 months I still can't fit into old clothes ah!! Esp the tighter ones... I already bought a few new pieces.... yeah, if I can lose the 4-5kg it'll be great.... it's just so hard.... I console myself by saying give myself 1 year. It's depressing lah... and my mum keep nagging at me to do something abt my figure etc.

AppleG
But my boy is four months...I dun think it's colic. I also dun know why, like you say, I just try to carry him when he needs it.
I remember you told me before about the weight, so b/feeding did not work for you, cos it's supposed to help us lose weight. My weight is all gone, my friends even say I look slimmer than before, dun know if it's true.
Too bad I am not joining the gathering otherwise will get to see you and Desert.

Girl/maro
Dun buy too many new clothes cos body is still changing and you would be losing more weight in the coming months.

Jas/Desert
Yah lor, so far me/hubby just carry him cos we know his preferred position. But really testing my patience level.

Serene

Mmmm... I did not mean let baby cry and cry, until they have wind in the tummy!
(I use the pacifier so she does not cry continually.)

I started training my babies after the confinement month. My confinement lady carried her to sleep for the whole month. After she left, I tried to put baby down to sleep. Of course she protested. When she cried very hard, I carried her, assured her and calmed her down first. When she stopped crying, I put her down again. I always put her down while she was still awake (or at least semi conscious, not asleep). Or I patted her thighs (while she remained in the cot) to stop her crying and help her relax. But I did not pat her to sleep too.

If having done all these and she is still fussing (NOT crying hard), I let her fuss for a while. Then I assure her again and give pacifier. I let her cry only when she has been fed and is not sick. (so must learn to recognise your baby's cries -- hunger cry? colic cry? want-to-be-carried cry?...) Of course we must use discretion -- that if her cries are really loud and hard, must calm her down first.

If baby is crying because she wants to be carried to sleep, and if you want to train her to sleep on her own, then letting her cry a bit is ok. After a few attempts, the crying episodes will decrease.

The problem with carrying baby to sleep is that baby tends to wake easily once you put her down, not that I mind carrying her for that ten min or so. If babies learn to sleep on their own, they are able to fall asleep again when they rouse in the middle of the night. When they get more sleep in the night, they are happier in the day.

Gripe Water (Fei Tzai Tsui) is good. My boy takes it after his bath too. He also has Yu Yi Oil rubbed on his tummy. If anyone wishes to purchase Gripe Water, I think it is better to shop around. I got mine at a medicinal hall for $3.90 and the pharmacy at Thomson Medical Centre sells it for $6.10.

Anyone know whether is ok for nursing mum to apply slimming gel?

Apple,
I heard that bf mum will lose weight very fast, easier to go back to pre-pregnancy weight, so is it not true?

hee m_maro,

looks like breastfeeding din really work for me lor. I didn't lose much weight. Think I ate too well during my confinement (yummy sumptous food cooked by cf nanny) and now I still didn't really control my diet... *guilty* But I guess bfg probably did help a bit lah, or else my weight gain may even be more!

Stylobb
You can't make it for the gathering ah? But the dates are still changing rite? Wish really to meet you in person. hee.

maro
He cannot be colic lor, cos the moment we carry him, he stops crying and looks so contented..

AppleG
I am too tired to go leh...

Stylobb
haha...... so it's because you are tired?? Same reason as S@L's gathering the other time. Venue a bit far for you huh? Sunday got church some more rite? Our day starts early on a sunday... quite tiring also.

So I guess I must come round to TPY to look for you liao.....

You go to the Kiddy Palace often? It's a huge one there... good ah.

hi dessert,

i think as they grow older, sure more KPO!! but its ok lah, they can b realy cute n responsive. my gal sometimes will look at me n smile then continue drinking, like telling me mummy's milk is yummy haha

hi stylobb/jastan/moon

i hv gone thru the times when i hv to nurse or carry my gal to sleep for hours!!!! once i put her down she wakes up, its torturing!!! n i got so tired that i felt i was going to break down. so decided to train her abit... now i juz nurse her, then put her down awake on her bed n pat her. can sing also, it works!!! b4 i nvr tot this day would come, hehe coz i really tot its impossible for her to be pat to sleep on the bed. but i guess as they grow older, they become more "self sufficient".

initial 1-2 nights she did cry n wan to carry carry, but i hard hearted, let her cry till jialat. but after that, its worth it, coz she can go back to sleep on her own when she wakes up middle night. n easier for me now, juz nurse her, then put her down n pat awhile to sleep. but gradually, i'll train her to sleep totally on her own. guess if u bear to, can let bb cry for ome nights, then they'll learn.

abt the part on lying on bed n play...i used to think its impossible for my gal too...believe me, she used to be such attention seeker, must carry like 24hrs a day. but hey, now she can juz lie on the bed n talk to herself, sing to herself, quite easy lah (but of coz if she's tired, wont be so guai). i guess as they grow older, they become easier.

thank God!!

I am a new mummy and just given birth 2 days ago.
I tried to bf my baby but he just keeps sleeping. I'm beginning to worry that my baby won't nurse. Please give me some advise on this problem!!!

New Mummy

It's common for newborns to be very sleepy.

Just feed him whenever he demands for it, he sure will wake up and cry rite? Latch him on when he wakes up. Remember to latch him as often as you can to stimulate milk flow. Do NOT give him the bottle. Feed on demand. It may be tiring in the beginning but it will get better.

You can try to tickle his cheek... usually babies have a natural reflex to suck.

Hi mummies, anyone using the Ameda breastpumps? Any comments on it? Where can I get it? Doesn't seem to see this brand in shopping centers.

Read from other websites and some people recommend this as it's cheaper than Medela Pump In Style but works as good as PIS.

m_marco
For my case, it's not true lah.. I am BF but weight still the same, no slim at all and didn't go down. Maybe I do expressing and not direct latching.

giggler
You can buy it from the Moms in Minds website: www.momsinmind.com.sg. It cost $288.

blessed
Wow,thankfully my boy has no need to be nursed for hours!!

AppleG
Yah, that is the reason.. how come you know where I live? You read from the other thread is it? Yah, sunday go to church. Ok, once bb gets bigger, maybe I can meet you in TPY.

jas
Went out with hubby last nite, then went to fetch my boy after that, my mum said he looked very serious the whole nite, refused to smile, as if 'angry' with us ...hehe.

styloBB
good that your boy not having colic..

Jas
In the other thread you didnt answer my question on how you sterilise your brestpump in ofc? can freeze and reuse without washing? Thanks.

Dear ladies,
Anybody here using Lactaline Dual Electric Pump? Any comments? I am thinking of getting one though I own an ISIS Avent pump.

Hi AppleG,
The problem is my baby only sleeps.
What can I do to make him wakeup?

Hi blessed

i think we share similar thoughts on training baby to sleep!

like wat u said, 2 'evil' mums... ha ha

m_maro

Dun think can freeze breastpump lah.... you have to sterilise each time you use it.

New Mummy

Dun be too anxious yet... when baby hungry he shld wake up... meanwhile you can try to pump your milk? Did you tickle his cheek or something?

Stylobb
Yeah I remember reading before on where u live... and which church you go to.... somehow I remember lor... wah must wait till baby older then can meet you ah? hee, wait how long?

hi stylobb,

ya she used to love nursing day n night. but now older, day time very KPO, so nurse very fast, like 5-10mins. night now, i juz nurse her enough 15-30mins then put her down on the bed n pat her sleep.

hi sarador,

haha.... actually i can understand y u believe in letting bb cry abit, coz u got experience liao. tt's wat my GP told me too...she got 2, so she made all the mistakes for the first, 2nd one, she hard hearted n train, she say 2nd one more well behave coz got sleep training. and that though she TBF, her gal can sleep thru the night. this is one thing that i'v not master yet!!

hi new mummy,

its ok lah, let ur bb sleep. try tickle the chin or cheeks to wake bb up, if dun work, juz let sleep. when bb wakes up then latch. meanwhile can pump to stimulate flow

hi m_maro,

which pump u using? coz some pumps hv alot of parts (like Avent) so not easy to use sterilizer. i using PIS, very little parts, so i can use the traveller Pigeon sterilizer in ofc. if not u can try the tablet.

hi all mummies,

im a 5-week old mummy and still trying very hard to get my supply up..hai....
btw, my baby also like to fuss and similarly last nite, she didn't finish her milk. such a coincidence!

i'll be going back to work in abt 2 weeks. not sure how to express. wish my cubicle was like jas's.

anyway, anyone knows whether it's safe to perm and colour while still breastfeeding?

sarador/blessed
I never succeeded in patting my boy to sleep. The best is when we know he is sleepy, we carry him and after a short while, he closes his eyes and sleep. Day-time is still difficult cos he only naps a short while, very tough for us on weekends. Nite-time is ok.

AppleG
Where do you live ah? Yah suffering from sleep deficit..

blessed,
Yahor, I should have thought of using tablet...dont know why kept thinking of how to boil in ofc... I have both Advent and Medela pump, but as I can only express in lavatory, so can only use Avent, ya one thing bad about avent is there are so many parts to assemble and wash..anyway thanks a lot for your advice.

quench,
same here, trying very hard to increase supply, dont know why my supply drop dramatically since sunday... if you found any effective method, must share ok?

hi quench,

Personal grooming while breastfeeding: What are the effects of hair coloring and perms, tanning beds and nipple piercing?

According to the Breastfeeding Answer Book, published by La Leche League International, no evidence exists that the nursing mother's use of hair-care products, such as hair dyes and permanents, has any effect on her breastfeeding baby. When a mother uses hair-care products, some of the chemicals will be absorbed through her skin. If her scalp is healthy and intact, less will be absorbed than if the skin on her scalp is scratched or abraded.

http://www.lalecheleague.org/FAQ/hair.html

hope this will help ...

hi m_maro,

is ur Medela PIS? it comes w a battery adaptor, so u can still use in toilet. i feel its better to dual pump, get more milk and save time!

hi quench and m_maro,

are u TBF'g? i find tbf easier to catch up on supply. i'v been tbf'g for abt 4.5mths, normally i can express more than wat my gal need. not so good days will be enough for my gal's feed.

i try to drink more water, eat Quaker oats (need cooking type) for b'fast. Stress will definitely lower the day's ss. so try to relax. mayb eat more fish n if hungry try to eat something.
...hope everything goes well for u when u ret to work!

anyone using storage bag to store yr milk ? which brand is better .... ?? as i try to use bottle to store, however these bottle take up lots of space in my fridge

aloe
I know only one brand leh, Avent disposable bm bags...$7.05 (before discount) for 40 bags.
Jas and I use them.

hi blessed,

tks for ur advice.

hi m_maro,
im taking thhis soup that contains fish bones(fish neck) and unripe papaya. it seems to be working.

can drink coffee if bf?
anyone went for perm or colouring for hair when bf?