Breastfeeding Support Group

oh oh, one more method to clear those stubborn lumps, try latching yur bb on using different positions, ie. football clutch, cradle hold and cross cradle (or whatever innovative positions u can think of!). each position creates varying suction force on different parts of the breast, so keep alternating the positions so that u can clear the lumps. n keep away fr those underwire bras!

Tuffy/sharon

i guess pump is really no good in clearing block ducts. i massage b4 pumping(until blue-black) but still cant avoid the problem. The lumps just keep increasing even until now when I give up bf the lumps still around (gynea said take time..). my conclusion is that i did not latch on in the past, hence had block ducts problem

sharon,

u mean u din even use a pump after each latch on session to empty breast ?

stumbled by,
if you see pus coming out, then it might be mastitis?thats why the fever? reddish round the breast right?

really, try calling the local LLL. there is good lactation consultation there i believe

lynnda,
actually, you dont have to clean the breast before or after latching. thing is bm provides certain anitseptic and 'cleansing' substance.so you do not actually have to clean before you latch on. the only time you might wanna consider cleaning is after you latch. coz of the saliva of bb. sometimes might lead to ....i forgot what...ok ok..something...will post when i recall.

also cleaning breast dries it and cleans off the good substances that has been secreted to protect your nipples...hope this is not too messy...heheh

stumbled by,

nope, din use pump after latching. when my bb was abt 1 to 2 months old, i did pump after latching, cause i wanted to store some supplies of ebm. after a few sessions, i find that the supply increase n i got engorgement. so i gradually stopped.

sharon,
I am super bad with positions other than the cradle hold.
Also, have problems juggling latching and trying to push the lump to the nipple (esp those on the underneath).. but it's good to know that there may be light at the end of the tunnel!

Anyone experience this?

My bb refuses solids even at 7mths plus. I mean, my CY is ok with morning cereal. Thats about all the solids he will take. I tried to feed him all sorts of food, pureed veggie, pureed fruits, porridge etc, you name it...he just doesnt take to it. He will take a few mouthfuls, then make the gagging action, and then really puke everything out. i have to feed him three scrapping spoonful (half a teaspoon) at a time, wait for fifteen minutes, feed another spoonful...

I mean, so many mommies can boast of their kiddoes eating half adult bowl of porridge. Seems that CY only takes to bm. he's coming to 8mths and shows no signs of wanting more solids.

How???

I know bbs can survive on bm for up to a year or more, but i also thought of relieving my pumping burden a little. if he can take more solids, i do not have to so conscientiously pump everytime loh...

He is also very very skinny. about 1 percentile. not veyr worried about that coz he takes after daddy. and his daddy is small built, was very very small as a bb too...also, not sure if taking more solids will boost their weight?

l'l CY,

u started off with a spoonful? maybe every day u feed him a spoonful per meal, that's all...dont rush into it, he may not ready so soon. u have to give him time to adjust his taste bud mah...every day 1 spoonful and c any improvement, if he can take and swallow fast for few days...u try 2 spoonfuls...dont rush into expecting to finish 1/2 bowl lah..

Also, mayb u would wana eat together with him, let him look at the way u eat. u can eat small bowl lah if not hungry..

if u wana lesser burden on pumping, u should start introduce 1 fm to ur boy...

gradually introduce more if u decide to wean off eventually..

l'l CY,

my emma is now coming to 10 months, and she still doesn't like her solids! the only thing she will take consistently are baby biscuits (and only one particular brand). when i first started with porridge, she will gag and throw up too, she will even throw up the next 2 feedings of BM, so it was really tough. now on good days she takes 10 little spoons of brown rice plus vege, bad days, none at all!

i would suggest the following:
1) vary consistency of solids, maybe too goo-ey, so make it more watery (or vice versa)
2) give solids before milk feed
3) keep trying different foods, emma throws up white porridge, but would take organic brown rice from healthy times!
4) change the spoon, maybe too shallow or too deep, emma liks plastic spoon, not metal ones, i let her play with the spoon so she's used to it in her mouth
5) make mealtimes fun, i would sing songs and play aeroplane with the spoon, but tv is a no no
6) sins u're on bm, yur bb may lik food similar to wat u take coz he can identify it with the taste in the bm

errr... that's all i can think of. if any other mummies can suggest anything else, i would really appreciate it too!

Hihi...
thanks for the suggestions!!

Lee Yan,
huh, dun really wanna introduce fm at this point, at least, not yet.guess im not very patient loh, hes been at two bb spoonful for so long already. im hoping he'd just move on.heh heh heh..impatient mom...

I tried what you suggested with him. that is, eat what he is eating. He seems very interested in what i was eating, so i put some in his mouth...he tasted it then shut his mouth real tight when the next spoonful came...

sharon,
yes, so far, i tried 2,3, 4, 5, 6...
2...it used to work on him, then think he knows now he will get milk after that, and doesnt eat that much anymore...
3...he tkes cereal with bm...but thats all he takes. ive gone through so much different types of food.thought its not good for him to take too much cereal since its processed food, but now no choice.
4..yes tv is no no here too...
6..yah loh. i read somewhere that the taste of sweet potatoes most resemble bm. tried on him b ut so far limited success.

but will try to vary the consistency of the porrige. make it more watery.

i also notice he doesnt like his cereal gruey. he will wait till the bm makes the cereal watery before he takes in everything.but at least he takes that.

sharon, hows emma's weight gain? ok so far?

l'lCY

remember I mentioned in the other thread, its the same. Dylan doesn't take much too, altho not as little as CY. And he too, doesn't like porr, brown rice is ok.

But he doesn't seems to be gaining as fast now, so I am observing.

Do u bf after his meal? u have not given fm? Dyl was on both when i got back to work cos not enuff bm for the time away, but since he started solids, we hv stop fm as bm is enuff.

haystack, tuffy, stumbled

mustn't give up... must persevere. I dun rem having major probs with block ducts. Ony 1 or 2 minor cases where like Sharon, I massages it twds the nipples while i bf.

different positions is defintely a good thing to do. I read from a handbook to do various position for the reasons Sharon mentioned. Its really good in emptying the breast completely. U may look silly but do it at home and dun bother so much. make no difference to bb, and it helps to eliminate block ducts. I can remember my mum's disbelief when she saw me sprawled on bed with my bb sucking from another direction... hehee..

Sharon,

what brand of biscuit u give to emma? I have not given any to Dylan before, wanna try.

cuddles,

this is the brand emma likes, i got it at the amk ntuc hypermart
http://www.kamedaseika.co.jp/shannai/cgi-bin/search2.cgi?id=037805

i was laughing when i read abt you sprawling on the bed bfeeding! hahaha... i used to do that for some time too, when emma kept puking up her bm rite after feeding, i read somewhere that maybe the bm was coming too fast so i should lie down to slow the milk flow. it was really wierd but i think it worked! :p

l'l CY,

emma is on the 25th percentile on the weight to age chart, quite a skinny baby! just 2 days ago, she started to eat her solids enthusiastically, as in, at least finish 2/3 of bb bottle food + brown rice! so dun worry, yur boy is going to surprise u one day!

also, timing is impt. how long do u wait from the last feeding before giving him his solids? i wun try giving emma solids until at least 3 hrs passed fr the last feeding. likewise, when u give him bm after solids, do u wait a while first? regardless of how much solids emma took (or whether she took none at all), i wun gv her bm straightaway, but will wait until she "asks" for it.

hi, so happy to see that there is a BF support group here!!

just delivered on 16 june.. and bb is now 4 days old. have been on TBF since her birth, but feel kinda discouraged and tempted to either supplement with FM or switch to FM completely. the reason for this is because i did not sleep the whole night yesterday as bb dunno why only wanted to latch on 5-10min each time. after that she will wake up in 15min time demanding for more milk!! this went on the whole night until 6am.. think she only stopped her nonsense out of fatigue! she was actually ok in the hosp.. fed at abt 3hrly intervals.. 15min each breast. dunno what happened last night. also tried to express milk but nothing came out. is it too early for the BM supply to come in? or cld i be latching bb wrongly? but i latch her on the same way i did in hospital leh..

today, she was slightly better.. fed at 2 hrly intervals, but feed for abt 1hr each time! is this normal?? or is she undergoing some growth spurt? hope some experienced mummies can help.. feel so lost now
hope tonight will be a peaceful night.

Jules,

congras to u! is pretty normal to feed abt 1 hour in the beginning caused your bm supply is yet to building up. furthermore, 1hour feeding if u observe most of the time bb may doze off then suckle doze off suckle..

though tiring but do continue. at this age, no growth spurt..usual is 3,6 9 mths.

u may wana visit http://wendywater.multiply.com on my blog topic : breastfeeding to get some ideas and plan down the road.

HI Jules,
COngrats!!!

Yes, its like that the first few days. B oth of you are just getting used to each other, and the bb also need to get used to bfg.

Avoid starting formula now. Its too early and may lead to nipple confusion as well as low ss. Then its difficult to get the ss back on track.

It's rather depressing at first, I totally understand. The fatigue from labour, the sleepless nights also made me nearly throw in the towel. But keep up the good work> It's all very very worth it at the end.

What you can do is to get other pple to help you do other things at this stage. Like changing the baby, bathing the bb, and even entertaining the bb. You rest and bf only at this stage. The when you are more confident, and the ss kicks in, you can assume other roles.

At this stage, you bb's stomach too small, so can hold very little milk. Also, the she is very very sleepy during the first week. So like what Lee Yan says, she'll fall asleep easily. try to keep her awake and let her finish a full feed each time might help. Like tickle her sole and such (bet they taught you a few tricks at the hospital)...O yah, they are always good at the hospital coz they are either too sleepy or the nurses feed them water or glucose to 'silent' them when they cry, until 3hr is up....

sharon

i bought similar biscuits but differnt brand and Dyl din like it. Maybe at that time he was not ready, but i was quite dubious abt the biscuits too, seems rather hard to me. I will go find the one u showed. thanks!

I too wait for 3 hrs interval after solids then feed Dyl again. But sometimes aft solids he will wanna sleep and start to fuss. So if i around I will nurse him to soothe him to sleep.

Jule

welcome welcome... I was happy to find this thread too cos can share our bfg experience and get some support.

you must PERSEVERE! jia you!!! usually milk flow come aft 1 week. But during this time, you just let bb suckle, thats to stimulate the production. and also there is the good ol colostrum. When i brought bb to PD for check up aft 1 week, he asked if I tbf, said yes and he congratulated me, said this 1st week is the most critical week, once pass, will get better.

the initial nites are like dat. Been there done that... my boy is 8 mths now, but i can still rem so vividly those gruelling nites... almost broke down. he keeps wakign up every 15 mins, cries and nurse for abt 10 mins, doze off and wakes up again. Wasn't like that in the hospital. during the day, i bf for i hr every 2 hrs interval, so u see my whole day spend in bed bfg! Was still thinking i could take the chance to go shopping during my maternity leave. haha! So ur bb is perfectly normal.

Things will get better, but be prepared to spend ur maternity days bfg him. Family, especially hb support is VERY IMPORTANT.

Mental readiness also important. U know u are giving the best to ur bb, this is a gift no money can buy, ony u can give. So with this, hope it'll help u cross the hurdles!

lee yan and l'l CY,

u're very right! my bb really spends more time falling asleep at the breast than suckling.. need to tickle her neck or shake her a bit to make her suck again. problem is that i keep falling asleep myself during feeds cos i'm just so darn tired.. when that happens, bb just happily snoozes along with me and ends up not getting a full feed!

for now, i am sort of timing her.. 20-25min each breast. will unlatch her once the time is up.. unless she is clinging on and still suckling, then i will let her continue.

cuddles,

thanks for sharing ur experience with ur boy.. i am also spending most time in bed cos bf at 2hrly intervals for 1 hr each time!! cant tell u how reassured i feel that what i am going thru is actually quite common!! thanks thanks thanks

oh i really hope its true that once i pull thru wk 1, it will be better!! at least there is something for me to look forward to..

bb is now jaundiced though.. but thankfully put on 100gm since discharge 2 days ago. pees/poos abt 7-8 times a day now- that means that she is receiving enough milk from me right?

I'm due to deliver twins next week by c-section and am wondering if there'll be a need to pump in hospital to stimulate flow? I heard that the babies will be very sleepy at first so should I ask for them to be woken up to feed or let them sleep and then I just try and pump. Extremely confused.

Jules,
dun worry. he's pu and pm sounds good leh. my bb also jaundiced in the first few days. bilirubin level hit 389 some more...scare me...

Hi EnJ
which hospital are you delivering in? ar eyou going under GA or local? If local, you can ask for the bbs to be put to skin once they are delivered. or just allow them to suckle right at the beginning. the best time to introduce them to the breast is the first 2 hours or so.

Dun worry if you cant.that didnt happen in my case. coz when i was delivering, the delivery ward was full and every case except mine was an emergency...so the nurses were too caught up to follow instructions...and i was too sick from the epidural to do anything anyway.

they will only get very sleepy after the first few hours. the nurses will naturally bring them to your room when they cry or you can ask to room in with the bbs. that is actually quite good idea..
hope this helps.

keep us updated. so exciting to have twins? girl or boy?

i have been breastfeeding my bb since his birth. Now he is 4mths plus. Its very hard for me to bf outside cos he likes to look around and refuse to drink. At home, i will nurse him on bed (lying position) and then he will drinks. if i were to use cradle, he will be looking around and playing. Becos of this, i am very scared to go out as he will refuse his milk and i am not in the mood to shop also. Always worrying about if he is hungry a not. Any advise??

I'l CY,
I'm delivering at Gleneagles and will likely be going through an epidural C-section. I will ask them to be in the room with me during the day but at night, maybe back to the nursery cos my husband's not staying over with me.

I guess I will bring the breast pump along. I don't know if the hospital will charge if I rent it from them.

We're keeping the sexes of the twins a secret till they're out. Primarily also because we're not sure.
So stay tuned.

Jules,

np. When i was going thru this, i was very down and wondered if its jus me and something that i have done wrong. It wud really console me to know its normal and others have gone thru the same things. Thus I thot my experience will help u in a small way.

Your confidence will boost up once u know the milk flow has started. Must think positive... then you and bb will start to learn together...

7-8 times is ok... Did you get cabagges to help with your engorgement?

My son also had slight jaundice. Nurse told me it happens for breasfeeding bbs. if its slight, you can sun bathe him..

Enj
i delivered my 1st one at Glens too. Anyway, the nurse will sure bring bb out to you during the day to bf. They will also have some bottled FM along. I din have any need for the pump tho..

My personal advise is to have bbs with you during the day (anyway u will want it la, cos once you see them, u wun wanna leave them), then nite, leave them at the nursery cos u will need the rest. These few nites will be the ony time you get peaceful nite rest and recovery.

Nice to know you expecting twins... Since secret, do keep us updated...

Lyna

hmm.. i encounter that prob when my boy is about 5-6 mths, he start to turn and kpo other things. Sometimes pulling my nipples as he turns! But he doesnt get distracted that much, thus not a big concern for me. Maybe other bfg mommies can advise...

Lynda
Yah yah yah...thats exactly what happened to my boy when he was around 4 -5 mths...

Ok, if you are good witrhthe sling, it might help. or a nursing cover. it blocks out the rest of the world from them. alternatively you can try a nursing necklace. its one fancy nbecklace to entertain them while you are bfg.

can google nursing necklace and check out what it loks like

liboymum, thanks.. will try and see if it works!
will update you ladies.. hmm.. he woke up already. need to go. sigh.. hardly has time to surf net!

Lyna,

As wat L'l CY mentioned, it's normal for curious infants to look around and explore their new surroundings. Perhaps you also need to review the feeding times, yur boy may not be hungry when u were trying to feed him. If he's hungry enuff, nothing would distract him fr food!

EnJ,

Congrats! twins r so cute!! if u're more reassured bringing yur breast pumps, by all means pack them in. however, dun worry if u have no time or r too tired to pump during the hospital stay, rest is more impt for u after the delivery. yur newborns will b sleepy but they would still suckle. u wun hv much milk to pump out at first, so i would suggest to save that milk for yur newborns to practise their suckling!

l'l CY

i wanna DIY a bfg shawl. I saw a lady use that to bf her bb openly. Thot its quite good n since i got so many shawls, i can just sew one up. I know the stores sell but quite ex.. so this cheapo mommy wanna DIY..

Cuddles
Huh bfg shawl? how does it look like? show show here? works the same way as sling?

EnJ,
Yup, think hospital charge for the pump. When i was there, they actually encourage me to pump. Just to see if my milk has come in, also to teach me how to use pumps loh. im very clueless one. But that was at NUH

Thanks for all the advice.

I think I shall bring the pump, just in case. And since it's the one I will be using at home (well, the manual version anyway), I might as well learn on that one rather than the hospital pump.

Getting rather nervous about the delivery. Strangely enough, I think I'd be less nervous if it was natural.

cuddles, i have just started FM supplementation for my bb as blood tests showed that she was dehydrated due to inadequate BM intake
this might have contributed to the sudden worsening fo the jaundice.. so for now, am expressing out and feedign via bottle to watch her intake properly. hope to slowly switch to pure BF once my ss kicks in lor.. for now, i can only pump abt 50ml (both sides) every 3 hrs.. does that mean my ss is in already? its definitely not enough for my hungry little bugger cos she is only sated with 90ml/feed (including FM!).. must work harder to build up ss lor.

l'l CY

erm.. stil figuring out which part to sew up. Will take a pic and post here once done..

actually have been thinking when should i stop bfg. Already into the 8 mth, hope to bf till 12 mths but scare he will become so dependent on it. Dunnno if its gonna be a nitemare to wean him..

hmm.. i gave birth at glens and TMC, both did not tell me abt pumps. But I managed to tbf during the intial months.

ENJ
since your is the manual pump, just bring along lo. I guess natural delivery would be more of anticipation. Planned delivery will be more of anxiety cos u know when its gonna happen. In any case, dun worry.. take it as it comes along... you know you are strong.

Jules,
o dear, hang in there ok. did the hospital or PD advise that?you just let the bb suckle as much as possible loh, even if it is for comfort. helps you ss to kick in.

hmm. just thought about this. dehydration hor, sometimes can be worsen by formula intake. think you heard that fm bbs need to be fed water? and bf bbs dun? that is becoz fm is very high in mineral content (which is suitable for the growth of calfs), but this is too excessive for human bbs. that is why the kidney needs to work harder to remove the extra mineral. therefore you need to give water fm bbs.

you ask your pd oredi? should give water?

Cuddles,
hmm,..was concerned about that initially. but think i'll let him self-wean. i dun think bfg will lead to over-dependence leh. think there has been sufficient research to show that bf bbs are more confident and secure, even in pre-school.

think hor, the only problem with nursing a toddler is the embarrassment when they ask for 'it' in public. so for me, think i shall stop bfg in public when CY learns to eat more solids. CY has recently learnt to hit my breast when he wants milk. very uncouth. was teaching him how to sign for 'milk' , ended up like that, dunno why...haiz..

l'l CY, the PD advised me to start FM lor.. confirmed with her that we shld not be giving bbs water esp since i wld be mainly giving her BM and supplementing with FM only when necessary. super ma fan to give FM lor.. TBF is so much more convenient. but nipples very very sore now, so will wait for them to recover b4 putting my girl back on the breast again

Jules

ya, hang in there... dun give up.. If its just supp with FM and mainly on BM its ok not to giove water.

Bear with the soreness as the nipple still not use to its new task. You can smear some BM on it and air dry as much as possible. I walked about in my room half naked to dry them. I also used Avent nipple cream to soothe and heal, its good..

I remember newborn takes about 90 ml. Thus you gotta let bb suckle as much as possible. And dun forget urself, drink lot of liquids to replenish. When I bf, i get hungry very easily too, probably all the energy to produce the ss.

Do take care!

l'lCY

you mean CY goes to u and hit you chest? kinda cute. Dyl will ony bang my chest when i bfg him. Anyway, i am very mixed lo, frankly, albeit all the ma fan, I really enjoyed bfg dyl and very proud of my achievement leh.

Like to find out from mummies here has anyone gave BF up and re-stimulate milk flow successfully? I have weaned bb 3 weeks ago when she was only 2 weeks old due to painful letdown and engorgement. But now would like to give BF another try. Any advice?

Does anyone know if the Lactation Consultant at Gleneagles work on Sat? Because if I deliver on Friday, I don't really want to wait till Monday to see her.

Hi hi...
Cuddles,
Yes...he does that now. I dont mind if it's at home, but not very becoming if we are outside. He used to lick my blouse in the area covering my breast when we are out. i thought i made a stop to that by teaching him how to sign...but not very successful...sigh...

These two days, he seems to learn something new, he will pull my blouse from the top when im carrying him, and peer in!!!!!! like some maniac case...

i totally understand what you are feeling. ma fan, but aiyoh, so so satisfying...

EnJ...
Think most LCs dont work over the weekends. but most nurses should also be trained to assist in breastfeeding, so can ask.

Flora,
tried calling BMSG? think they can help...63393558

Hi Enj and Flora

i think KK also got this hotline to call for help. Soli, forgot the number, but perhaps can call the mainline.

L'lCY

when i carry Dyl, he will always turn to my breast, and his preferred one, the left one, and use his face to snuggle lo. Sometimes will lick in attempt to suck. Embarrasing leh..

the peering in is so funny.. they are so cute hor. I will try to make him learn signs...

I relly scared one day we go out and he pull my blouse up..

Hi mummies, i would appreicate your advice, please. I am a first time mum due in july, should i bring my own medala pump to the hopsital? I was told we won't get our milk supply until the 3rd/4th day after delivery. Is it the same for c-sect as i am having c-sect. Also, do i have to clean and sterilise the pump and bottle? How do i do it? Thank you.

rainy,

i suggest u bring your own pump there. in case u dont know how to use, can ask the nurse there. or in case, like me that time...the nurse said no pump..i need to wait till next day discharged then pump..end up engorged..

i was 2x c-section, both bm comes around 2nd day, engorged on 3rd day...

u have a steriliser? sterilised ur pump and other accessories and pack in clean plastic bag. if there is a need to pump in hospital, ask ur hubi to use hot water to wash.

best is latch on once u are awake and comfortable to do so.

do visit my blog on breastfeeding sharing at http://wendywater.multiply.com

flora,

3 weeks still able to re-lactate, even up 1year...

but ur bb may not wana latch on, u can test water try try...if really bb doesnt want due to different suckle technique between nipple and teat, probably u start on a very routine disciplined pump schedule to achieve the bm.

of course if u have time, 2hourly is the best...if not 3-4 hourly but process may be slow..

another way u can do is use dual electric pump to stimulate...this may speed up the increase.

i have stopped pump since Mar this year...hehe when i pressed still have some transparent 'liquid'/'milk' now. so u should have no problem at all.

jia you!

Something to Share:

If your baby's teeth come in while you are still breastfeeding, you may be bit while nursing. This can happen for a number of reasons: if she's biting early in the feeding, she might be over-eager or frustrated, waiting for your milk to let down. If she bites late in the feeding, she may be sleepy and feeling her latch slip. Your baby's latch may also be affected if she has a cold or stuffy nose, and she may bite while adjusting. And, of course, your baby may just mistake your nipple for a teething ring and try to relieve her sore gums.

To stop your baby from biting while nursing, calmly and gently remove her from your breast and say "Don't bite Mommy" or "Don't hurt Mommy." Put her down gently or hand her to someone else, and wait a minute or two before you try to nurse again. This teaches her that when she bites, the milk goes away. Repeat this as often as necessary. However, always remain calm if bitten - never scream or yell. Startling or yelling at your baby may form a bad association with breastfeeding and she may refuse to feed altogether. Early and sudden weaning can be traumatic for you and your baby.

Rainy

you can bring the pump along.

To sterilise, buy a container with a cover that can hold all the parts. When there, just pour hot water and soak a while and rinse it. Cover back for next use.

Do remember that latching on is the best way to stimulate milk flow. You can do so as soon as you are ok. Anyway the nurses will guide u.

Lee Yan

you have stopped already?

cuddles,
Dyl is so affectionate. such a sweet sweet boy. CY is getting to be like some kopitiam uncle. the way he demands for food is to bang on the table or my breast. tried to teach him signs, but sigh....must teach him to be more gentlemanly...

hey, you guys know very pro-breastfeeding PD? am thinking of bringing CY to one for checkup. my PD too far at NUH. somewhere near central.

good idea from cuddles to bring alonga container but may be make sure the container can withstand high temp and not cheap type cos if hot water add in...lower grade plastic somehow the 'material may disperse some chemical' (sorri dont know how to use right word to describe)..and contaminate the pump and accessories.

cuddles,

yes...unwillingly stop on this Mar 21 '07 hehe will remember this date till die..haha...cos i purposey chose this date machiam like 3..2..1...stop..

flora..ur bb must be longing to latch on leh...hehe....finally her wish comes true hor...jia you jia you!!!

l'lCY

no ar, Dyl very kan cheong type and he hits at ppl rather hard too.

Flora

thats great. Now u can embark on your task! Do keep trying.

Lee Yan

u r rite. I meant the better plastic containers, not those from the food centre ta bao type.

How old is ur youngest? Do you feel bu she de when you decide to stop huh? I told myself to stop at 6 mths, but when the time come I totally ignored it. My mum reminded me 6 mths already, but i really cant bear to.. so until now lo.

ive been bfg my son for 9mths since his birth.

now tt he's on solids, his milk intake decreases.

i'd like to know how do i go abt weaning off smoothly?

currently...

morning - latch on
noon - pump for abt 45min
evening - pump for abt 45min
night - latch on

now tt i only nd to provide 2 x 100ml ebm for him when he's at my mom's plc, i slowly decreased the pumping duration.

however sometimes i do get engorgement. why hah?

cuddles...

of course cant bear to stop..latch on part i have no choice caused they self wean, but on pumping part i was so contented whenever i asked my elder girl, mama's milk yummy yummy? she said yummy yummy...hehe..

my elder girl is 3years3mths, my boy is 19mths+

edksd,

u get engorgement should be u used to pump more but now reduced..so those balanced supposed to be coming out all kana 'jam' inside lor..in fact, u should continue to reduce the duration..or say eg. from 150ml per session to 100ml..gradual your brain will know u dont need so much.

once u dont feel engorgement, next u will need to reduce one session completely..maybe the evening session. again, for a start, u may feel engorgement..gradual will get use to it..

then when no engorgment, reduce the noon session..

left with latch on..morning try to ask ur husband/mother to use bottle feed to replace ur direct feed...if no 'struggle' and success...once no engorgement....slowly go for the night..

the reason why i suggest latch on to be the last to cut off mainly is because latch on will give the best nutritions to your bb...

hi lee yan, thanks.

i had the engorgement for exactly 1 whole day starting fr tues night till yday (wed) night.

spent a lot of time massaging and latching on. so afraid it'll develop into mastisti.

i oso intend to leave latch on the last to cut off. and if possible just latch on until bb self wean fr breasts.

how do we tell bb is self weaning from breasts huh?

edksd..

for my 2 cases, my kids when as usual i wana latch on, they just turn and refused to be latched on...i tried and tried...for few days...till 1week...they still dont wana take...and even angrily look at me...hheehe..
so i reckon they self wean liao..