Breastfeeding Support Group

Please try to at least read recent posts (same page/1 archive before) for explanations of current discussion topics before asking your questions. Thank you.

Pinkcitron, explanation is given by mini again not long ago and on the same page...

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">WHAT IS TANDEM PUMP?</font></font>
<font color="0000ff">Tandem pumping is to pump one breast when baby drinking on the other at the same time.</font>

My edd is next month so would like to find out. For those moms who are on tbf, after breastfeeding the baby, i understand the breast may not be fully emptied. Do you try to pump out the balance milk from the same breast?

hi vivien, in the beginning I try not to so as not to overstimulate my breat. When I start working though, I had to do that in order to provide enough for my baby the next day

my boi is 3 weeks old &amp; i hv been latching him direct during daytime &amp; nitetime nanny will bottle-feed him wif EBM.

would like to know if he takes 15-20min to finish 60ml, does he take abt the same amt if i let him suckle for 15-20min? nanny commented dat amt taken will be lesser when bb suckle... is it true?

my boi will suckle on ave 15-20min at one breast &amp; usually fall asleep by then... if i unlatch him after 20min (if he's not quite asleep yet), he will refused to take another breast &amp; will sleep after a while.. shd i continue to let him suckle until he's completely asleep to let him take more milk?

so far, i hv not experience any let-down, mabbe dunno how to tell whether i am hvg any let-downs.. my fren told me let-downs will encourage more hindmilk for bb? how long will foremilk run out b4 hindmilk comes in? is there a time frame?

my boi poos abt 3-4 times (big) &amp; inbetween 3-4 times small lil' poos (based on 24hrs)...

sorrie for asking so many qns... hope to be enlightened soon...
Thks!!

tubby

Hi vivien,

I do empty out to stimulate more milk.

Agree fenugreek doesn't work for everyone, but most pple do see a bit of improvement.

Tubby, my baby sucks more/faster when latched on. Sometimes it's hard to wait for baby to completely fall asleep, I just wait till she's almost asleep. If baby is still hungry later he will let you know.

Dear ladies,

My boy is 7 mths already. I didn't latch him on because from the start he didn't want to suck from my breast, well coz i hv short nipple &amp; another inverted. He will scream from the top of his voice because he can't get milk and no patience. Even the lactation consultant give up helping me.

i am giving EBM. Just wondering if I can still try latching him on now since my nipple is already "seasoned" and sort of "pulled out" after so many months of expressing. Will he confuse with bottle teats?

He is on cereal and with 2 teeth coming out from below already. i decided to stop bf in a few months time. i am trying to reduce expressing from 3x to 2x, that means 12 hours apart, but i still experience engorgement and milk leaking. Does this means that it's still not time to reduce from 3x to 2x?

Finally can any1 enlighten me, how to stop the milk ss in a few months time?

Thank you..

tubby,

<font color="ff0000">if he takes 15-20min to finish 60ml, does he take abt the same amt if he suckle for 15-20min?</font>
<font color="0000ff">you will never know how much ur bb take when suckling... never judge by the time...</font>

<font color="ff0000">nanny commented dat amt taken will be lesser when bb suckle... is it true?</font>
<font color="0000ff">false... u will also not know whether he drink more or less...</font>

<font color="ff0000">shd i continue to let him suckle until he's completely asleep to let him take more milk?</font>
<font color="0000ff">no need... babies will know whether they have enough or not... even in his half asleep state, u cannot be assured that he is still continuing to drink... some bbs (like mine) just like the nipple in the mouth without drinking...</font>

<font color="ff0000">let-downs will encourage more hindmilk for bb? how long will foremilk run out b4 hindmilk comes in? is there a time frame?</font>
<font color="0000ff">let-downs are only an indication... some women dun experience them, doesn't mean they do not have hindmilk... there is no timeframe... you have a letdown when ur brs feel fuller and harder... and u can feel the milk flowing out... sometimes the other br will leak at the same time...</font>

<font color="ff0000">my boi poos abt 3-4 times (big) &amp; inbetween 3-4 times small lil' poos (based on 24hrs)...</font>
<font color="0000ff">a younger bb will intially poo many times a day... it will slowly decrease... but as long as there are 6~8 wet nappies a day (no need to be pooing), ur bb is taking enough milk... my 7-month bb now poos 0~2 times a day only...</font>

bitbit,

<font color="ff0000">can I try latching him on now since my nipple is already "seasoned" and sort of "pulled out" after so many months of expressing? Will he confuse with bottle teats?</font>
<font color="0000ff">you can try, but your boy may not want to latch anymore cos he obviously prefers the bottle and recognises the bottle as his food...</font>

<font color="ff0000">i am trying to reduce expressing from 3x to 2x, that means 12 hours apart, but i still experience engorgement and milk leaking. Does this means that it's still not time to reduce from 3x to 2x?</font>
<font color="0000ff">engorgement and leaking brs does not indicate when you should reduce express sessions... whether or not to drop a session, is up to you... ur brs will adjust accordingly to ur new schedule... but ur supply may reduce due to lesser "demand"...</font>

<font color="ff0000">how to stop the milk ss in a few months time?</font>
<font color="0000ff">I dunno... I've friends who stop express/feed at once and they told me the engorgement last a day or so, then no more milk... I've friends who gradually stop by decreasing express sessions... so it's really ur own decision...</font>

Check with you ladies, when you pump, do you pump out the milk from both breasts in the same bottle or do you separate 1 bottle for each breast?

raisintan, it doesn't matter... cos pple who use single pump will express into the same bottle, pple using dual will express into 2 bottles...

Dear Jen,

Thanks for your advise, I will try to follow. I think yes I am trying to reduce ss already because it's hectic for me to express daily. I want to if I m not workig but seems tat every day i m late for work and afternoon i hv to skip lunch. At night I hv to sleep late. My eyes look like panda already. Maybe if u ladies see walking panda on the road, that's me, sigh..

I cannot stop immediately else brs going to "explode". My lactation consultant said that I m group under the category of "high milk supply" group, so have to reduce gradually, else the engorgement will be terrible, hmm...

OK, it's lunch and i m gg to express again now. see u ladies later.

hi christmas &amp; Jen,

thks for answering my queries... especially Jen... i guess i'm used to seeing my lil' nieces &amp; nephews drinking specific amt &amp; at specific timing (they r on formula) dat i'm paranoid abt my bb's feeding patterns... will hv to take it easy &amp; let my bb tell me when he's hungry...

i am still waiting to experience let-downs thou.. hope i dun fall into category of women who dun hv let-downs... i massage &amp; squeeze my breasts quite hard while pumping and latching my bb... will dis affect let-down?

Is it necessary to ensure that the funnels and bottles are dry b4 i can start expressing? My CL sterilise the funnels and bottles for me and left it in a container so I always use it wet. Will it affect the quality of my bm?

After boiling the glass bottles in the stainless steel pot, my CL will leave all the glass bottles in the pot till the next morning for sterilisation again. Normally, i just pick a wet bottle from the pot and pour the ebm in then store it in freezer. Is it ok to store the ebm in wet glass bottles or I have to air dry the sterilised glass bottles before storage? Will it affect the quality and lifespan of my ebm?

Jen, what is "ftwm"?

mngo, i am not from from sembawang ladies club thread.

serrich, not sure how others'd doing, but I used to soak those funnel and bottle in the pot of water too and when i want to use it, I just take it out shake off the water and use it wet. Are you worry about the leftover water inside the funnel &amp; bottle? How about pouring some warm water to sort of "rinse" thru again before pouring in the ebm? After all babies on formula also drink powder made from warm boil water so it doesn;t matter the glass bottle containing ebm is wet right?

Other ladies out there, any advise?

serrich, you can use it wet cos basically, it's just water... so it will not harm ur bb... however, I usually shake off the water while the avent pump/bottles are still warm/hot... some droplets remain, it's ok... then I will cap the pump/bottles tightly so that it forms a "vacuum" and leave it on the table... however I do not cap medela bottles tightly cos the vacuum will cause the bottles to flatten... as for medela funnels, if possible, I air dry in a covered but not air tight container so that water does not get into the suction tubes...

bitbit, it means Full Time Working Mum... you can find a list of Common Abbreviations here...

Hi bitbit/MH/Jen,
Thanks for ur advice! I normally used it wet and sometimes i noticed a stale smell from the funnel's bottle if I store it in the container for too long after sterilised. I also try to shake off the water before using. I think next time better to use hot water to rinse the funnels and bottles again.

hi to all mummys all there..

i need advice urgently...
my sis is breastfeeding her baby but the baby can't be with her as she(the baby) got to stay in the hospital..(premature baby) thus got to express out to bottles.. and send it to hospital.

Two questions here..
1: she tries to increase her milk supply by expressing milk at shorter intervals like once in 2 hours. Problem is.. her breasts becomes very sore or swollen or probably what u all call it as engorgement? why is that so? is there any way of reducing it? she says her breasts feels full after a while she stopped expressing. but when she tries again.. she'll only get a few drops like 1-2ml. how to improve her milk supply? how to reduce sore nipple?

2: her milk supply expressed each time is very small like 10ml each time. can she transfer the milk expressed each time to one bottle that has been in the fridge already? eg.. she expressed milk and keeps the bottle in the fridge at 3pm, thereafter at 5 pm she expressed again, can she transfer the 5pm one to the 3pm one? i mean combine? can?

thanks.. will appreciate.. advice..

OBOS, no time to answer u today... but if ur sis going to the hospital to see her bb tonite, can ask her to fix an appointment with the lactation consultant to help clear her engorgement...

Hi on behalf of sister,

Question No. 1.
I suspect your sister has just delivered her baby. You are right to say that she may be experiencing engorgement, which is normal, I always have this problem even though I BF my sons directly. What I suggest here is that instead of 2 hour interval, extend to 3 hours. Massage her breast before expressing or stand in a warm shower, a good electric breastpump is a must. Tatic of expression? relaxation is very important to encourage let down reflex.

To increase milk supply, continue to express using the electric pump for say another 15 minutes, even if there is no milk so as to stimulate her breast and her body will take about 1 to 2 days to adjust to the demand.

Question No. 2
you mean 10 mls from both breast? BM can only be mixed together under the same temperature. What I suggest here is that she can put the 5pm milk in the fridge, let it cool down to the same temperature as the 3pm one, and then mix together. Try not to have too many mixtures, up to 3 would be fine and thereafter, BF must be used or freeze for future use. But I strongly suggest to minimize freezing cos it will destroy and natural antibodies found in the BM.

To add on,

Which hospital is she staying, I understand that there is a lactation consultant in every hospital and i believe that she can always approach them to assitance.

Hi mummies, my bb (2.5 mths) is starting to sleep long hours (6-8 hrs) over the night, is it ok that i stop getting up at night just to express milk? i scare supply will drop or get blocked ducts... what do you mummies of bbs who do not need middle-of-the-night feeds do?

mmm.. she was staying at sgh.. and by the way, whats a lactation consultant? am clueless.. and will the pain and swelling go away after a while? coz she said that its very painful to expressed.. all swell up plus painful..

mummy bs, thanks for ur advice!!

Hi obos,

A Lactation Consultant is someone who has good knowledges of BF, they are actually the best person to go to in terms of any BF problems. The pain and swelling will be here for a while, if it is really too painful, frozen cabbage can be use but must be VERY CAREFUL cos too frequent use of frozen cabbage can cause mummy's body to STOP producing milk! I can't remember but I think once in every 12 hours should be pretty safe.

Plenty of rest is very important. do tak care

Hi westbb,

I very envy you lei, all my babies never sleeps through the night, my youngest is coming to 8 months old and still wakes up for feed at least twice a night.

Having said the above, i do encounter times that i have engorgement. When my baby was younger, I simply express whatever excess I have and gave it to my older children, but now since he is already coming 8 months old, I will express, if there is any extra, and use it to make cereal for him. For your case, I think you can store them in the freezer for future use.

i am going back to work end of next month.. will only be able to express only once at work during lunch time or immediately after work.

when is the best time to gradually reduce feeding baby directly? tried feeding her with bottle but she rejected.

Hi Mummy Bs, thanks for sharing your experience. actually my bb will make alot of noise like dreaming during a certain time at night but not fully wake up to feed so i just give him pacifier and he can 'tong' until morning then eat :p looks like i still have to wake up just to express even though he does not require to eat at night... so tiring leh

Mmmm, so he takes pacifier huh, mine doesn't, tried to give but refuse. Actually, I think he is using me as his pacifier, hahaha.

I dun think you need to wake up in the middle of the night just to express, 6 to 8 hours is quite ok, give him your breast the first thing he rised and see how much he can take, then express whatever you have and store them if you want to.

But if you are really afraid that your supply will drop or block duct, you may want to clear your breast before you go to bed.

ladies.. i am gg biz trip to KL tomolo, luckily is gg 2b a day trip. But i m taking the earliest flight early in AM and back by evening. I have to pump ss out no matter what, but how i could do it? There is no hotel as it's a day trip and i don;t know the people there well as it's only my second trip.

can I rinse my funnel and bottle using the tap water in KL. Sorry I am not trying to imply anything, just that i wan to be safe in case the water cannot be drink without boiling might cause bb stomach problem..

bitbit, how can u ask last min and expect reply... at least give 1 day mah... anyway, hope u get to check this tonite...

My suggestion is express only 3 times:
1. at the sg/kl airport before/after flight (cos flight is too short to express on plane)...
2. during lunch time...
3. at the kl/sg airport after/before flight...

If you are worried about washing up in KL, you can:
1. discard the BM totally
2. dry the pump thoroughly before expressing so that BM got no "water"

Pls not that I do not recommend you to bring the BM back for bb AT ALL if you are unsure abt the cleanliness and sterilization... Option 2 will be ok if u do not mind consuming ur own BM as adults dun need the pump to be sterilized...

Have a smooth trip!

Dear Jen:

Ya, I too rush liao.. i was so busy preparing those documents that I had forgotten about myself and difficulty. Gosh what am I going to do with engorgement &amp; how to express milk?

I'm back. It turns out to be quite ok.

There is no way i could express it during "lunch" coz after everything, the vendor brought us to have lunch straight. Then back to work again.

It was during that after lunch spare little time that I actually slip away to a clean toilet. Anyway if those fellow can go to smoke, i could slip off to do something right? Let them wait a little while, who cares work, so ON meh..

I actually bring the clean pump and bring it over. I don't wash it with the water in KL &amp; start to pump into the clean bottle. Then I bring back the milk wihtout putting into fridge after pump. I am able to take the earlier flight back straight after the session is over. Thinking of baby leh...

By the way, fyi to all, I found out that KLIA has Nursury room. Not sure arriving hall has or not but while waiting for my queue, I went washroom and found that there is a separate room for changing diaper and feeding milk at the checkin hall.

ladies using PIS, recently i noticed my PIS when pumping, suddenly "stop" for 1 sec... then start again... anyone got such experience?

Jen,
i take this 'multi' vitamin for preggie and lactating mums. It's called Vital Natal. It contains calcium as well.

Jen,

mine is on electric too, but sometimes it sounds like battery run flat. also recently the suction is not that strong.

Funny, it happened twice again today... and the "interval" was longer than usual... abt 1.5~2 secs...
a bit worried... should i send it in for checking? how old is urs?

hi...talking about the breast pump, i am using the electric plus, the "stop interval" also happened to me before. twice already to be exact....and i agree with Funny that the suction seems weaker....not sure whether it is cos i can tanhan higher suction or wat. My breast pump is about 4 months old.

any recommendation of good pediatrician around Woodlands/Sembawang/Yishun/Ang Moi Kio or Toa Payoh.

A bit worry abt my bb cos she going to be 1yr old n she only weighing around 6kg. TBF. Looks like only 4-5mths old n very skinny. Also fall sick very easily. Her appetite is okay. Don't know whether feeding her the correct solids or not.

Her eating schedule:
1) 9-10am - BF
2) 12pm - Porridge + Few sips of water
3) 3-4pm - BF + Biscuits + Few sips of water
4) 5.30-6pm - Porridge + Few sips of water
5) 9-10pm - BF

Hi Arieslim,

what did her previous pd said? looks like she is underweight.

my son's pd is in the east and i think it is too far for you. my boy use to be skinny too but that was due to the fact that he has high BMR like me and very active. you can add more nutrients to his solid by boiling fish bone or ribs and use the soup to cook the porridge. add a variety of vegetables to her diet too to boost up her immunity.

I dun know if it is true but my mum told me that adding a little onion to cook the soup for the porridge will help to boost up the kid immunity and reduce the tendency to catching the flu. I am also TBF but I also give my son cod liver oil, was told by my doctor that it is suppose to strengthen the lungs so they dun get cough easily. it also helps to improve the kid's appetite.