Breastfeeding Support Group

ic, in that case, my suggestion is:
1. fully latch ur bb for at least 1 month before intro bottle, so that bb recognise ur breast...
2. always express after feeding if u still feel there's milk, if not it will lead to engorgement... this regular emptying of breast will encourage milk production... u can freeze these excess milk for use during the 3 weeks in m'sia... teach ur mum how to defrost the milk...
3. intro bottle at least 2 weeks before letting bb go to m'sia for 3 weeks... so that to ensure no bottle rejection... usually let others feed bottle rather than urself cos bb will smell u and recognise ur breast instead... express when someone else is feeding bb from bottle and store the milk for next feed/freeze...
4. when bb is not with u, try to express every 3~4 hourly and fix a schedule to ensure that u maintain the supply... mums whose bbs refused to latch on have managed to provide TEBM for their babies by faithfully sticking to their schedule, expressing up to 7 times a day...

Bitbit, when storing EBM, when u said that we can request hospital to give us the glass bottles.

Does it mean that we need many bottles then?? and can we use platic bottle for milk freezing instead of glass bottle?

Jen, thank you so much for the understanding, your advices are indeed very useful, may or maynot be going for BF, I will keep your advices as a reference.

Also, the disposable storage milkbag is not meant for recycle, right?

by the way, what is letdown, hindmilk & foremilk?

susan, the glass bottles from hospitals will not come with caps cos their caps are made of metal and may rust... u can buy caps from hospital pharmacies, i got mine from mt alvernia at 75cts per piece... also the glass bottles can only contain 90ml~120ml depending on size... i prefer to use avent milk bags (cannot recycle) to freeze as i usually pack 180ml per bag... i tie them with rubberband and tag the date and amt instead of using the avent clips...

Found this for u...

<font size="+1">What is Hindmilk/Foremilk &amp; Letdown</font>

help. medela pump spoil

i think my medela electric pump spoil.. though theres current n suction but the suction power isn't strong (though i set it to max)
does anyone knows where can i get it repaired?

Jen, thanks for the informative link. So, for thawing, do you soak the bag in a warm water, can the milk be transferred to bottle after that and how do u make it warm then before feeding BB?

lach, forgot to tell u that u can bring the pump to Mums &amp; Babes (United Square or Plaza Sing) for a FOC test... the ladies can help u test the spare parts one by one to determine if it is spare parts problem...

susan, i soak the bag in a cup, filled with room temp water (i usually use normal tap water)... then i will put the bag-in-cup in the fridge... it usually thaws in a couple of hours... if u need it quick, change the water again, but do not use warm/hot water... note: some mums prefer to use cool boiled water instead...

after thawing, will transfer to bottle and leave in fridge to await consumption... i put the bottle in a cup of hot water to warm it just before the feed, i.e. the "traditional" method...
note: some experts say using the "traditional" method will deteriorate the quality of the EBM, so they recommend using a warmer...

hi, i need some advice. My 5 week old boy has been nursing for 1/2 hr each feed, until few days ago when he would just go to sleep after 10-15 min. tried to wake him up but either he refuses to wake up, or refuses to continue nursing after waking up. My breasts are not emptied as before, and i worry that he's not getting/getting enough hindmilk. any advice? Bcos of this, he's nursing more frequently and sleeping less, thus getting more cranky..

i am deciding which pump to buy. what's your expericne on:
1) medela PIS
2) ameda

also, for medela PIS, what's the diff b/w the original pack and traveller pack?

need advice.. if i am using the avent manual pump at work.. say if i am to pump twice in office.. i have sterilised it at home before the 1st pump in office.. then after that.. should i soak it in hot water for the 2nd pump or dun wash it and use for 2nd pump? pl advice

thanks mummies
i have 2 sets of the medela pump so did a test to narrow down the problem.
problem not with the valve. but with the motor.
will bring it to mums &amp; babes..

Hi Tulip,

I a using sterilising tablet for office usage. I get the sterilised pump from home and after use wash it and put it in sterilising solution until next usage hope this will help

tulip, u have to wash after using... if not, the milk will cultivate bacteria... i dun like to use sterilising tablets lor... dun like the idea of bb drinking the sterilising solution... so i soak in hot water after wash... agree that i can't sterilise completely in the office, so i make sure i wash until very clean before soaking in hot water... so far, my bb no adverse effect after drinking the milk from second pump...

tingting, it's a common problem... u have no choice but to try to wake bb up... if cannot, then latch more frequently so that the milk is more "hindmilk"... read the link above for susan, it explains very well... as long as there are 6 wet diapers a day, ur bb should be getting enuff milk... another suggestion is u express the milk and feed via bottle... this is to ensure u dun suffer engorgement...

sunny, i dunno the diff btwn the 2 medela pis... u search the web... as for ameda, i heard it can't really withstand daily transporting... otherwise, it works fine for sahm...

jen
hmmm.... seems the PIS is value for money though it's really exp...

which brand did you buy for the pump?

hi jen, thanks for the link. my baby has plenty of wet diapers.. hehe.. i dun have engorgement problems now, cos his feeding is more frequent now that his feeding time is shorter. so according to the article he shld be getting sufficient hindmilk... his weight gain is also healthy, so i'll just continue to monitor again... thanks!

Sunny
Used ameda and brought it to / fro work daily. Definitely like it better than avent manual though find it a tad heavy and bulky but I think it's comparable to PIS. Can't remember how the medela PIS looks but think bottles etc may be matt plastic? The ameda plastic resembles more of milk bottles (like avent milk bottle). Seems quite hardy to me. From research in the past, both seem quite comparable so it's really price difference. If you're willing to pay for PIS, then go ahead. It was way too ex for my budget. In fact, also felt ameda was bursting my budget.
(

hi absolut
thanks for the advice. probably i will need to go to the shop and have a look and feel of the 2 machines before i make decision on which one to invest. 'cos both are not cheap to me.

If U wanna try out the ameda pump, can get trial set from www.momsinmind.com. I tried the trial set before buying. think medela PIS easier to find at shops?

Hv you given birth? My friend gave birth at TMC and bought the PIS there. Was told that if she returns it within 6 months, half the cost will be refunded to her.

tingting, u are welcome... btw, i read somewhere (can't remember where) that if u express after every feed to empty brs even though no engorgement, u will encourage more milk production... if u plan to express in future, maybe u can try it cos some mummies have problems with ss after switching totally to expressing at work...

absolute, acherly i use normal milk bottles like pigeon, tollyjoy, etc with the PIS leh... not necessary must use their bottles mah... cos standard size rite? can ameda bottles fit in those normal teat caps or bigger ones like avent?

hi absolut
i am due in jan next year. so, doing research on what need to buy, and what's optional and meanwhile also compare the price...

ya, PIS is easier to find in the market than ameda...

sunny: I brought the ameda machine to and fro office for 1 year and it is still working fine.

Jen: ameda bottles can fit in those normal teat caps.

so, any bottles can fit in PIS and Ameda pump?
is the express milk storage bag re-usable?

for storage of milk, how long can it last? say in the freezer, fridge and at room temperature...

Sunny: Avent and pigeon peristalitic bottles cannot fit into the two pumps.

milk storage bag is not re-usable

for me:
freezer-2 to 3 months
fridge-48-72hours
room-refrigerate back immediately

u an take a look at www.breastfeeeding.org.sg/info corner, their guidelines are more strict though

Dear SusanY,

I am sorry I am back so late. Was on-leave on and off coz need to take care baby. No time to check email at home also coz everyday so busy, panda eyes liao...

You were asking me regarding the storing EBM right? You can request hospital to give you the glass bottles for as many as you can, but guess they can give you if only they have enough isn;t it?

Jen, SusanY, without the plastic cap then use the plastic wrap (bao xian zi) and rubber band lor.

According to my experience, SusanY, better dun use plastic bottle to freeze because you know lah, when the liquid become solid (freezed ice), the particles tend to expand and might break your plastic bottle! Actually I have experience that the glass bottle also break if over-freeze, maybe you don't try to fill up full else after freezing the milk will pop out of the bottle.

You can use those milk plastic bag to store instead. remember to make label to mark date &amp; time you express.

As for the transporting of milk from office to house, usually i pump at my office place then put in fridge. before going home i just take and go home quickly and put into fridge. For your case you may want to quickily put into freezer to freeze.

PUMP -> FRIDGE -> TRANSPORT -> FREEZER (OK)

If you put in freezer, when you transport it back, i hope it wouldn't melt!!! Think melt a little still ok, but totally thawed liao cannot put back to freezer.

PUMP -> FRIDGE -> TRANSPORT -> MELT &amp; THAW
(Cannot Freeze)

PUMP -> FREEZER -> TRANSPORT -> FREEZER (OK)
(Maybe melt a little? Buy a Cooler bag if possible)

As for "fresh" milk, if you pump into sterilsed equipment, shouldn;t be a problem to leave it at room temperature. i heard you can leave it for 6 hours at room temperature. But better quickily put into freezer after return home.

PUMP -> TRANSPORT -> FREEZER (OK, do it asap before 6 hours, milk MUST be in steriled equipments)

Anyway for me, i try to put into fridge asap after pumping. If I hv enuf in the fridge for my baby one day comsumption, i will freeze say a bottle or 2. Then after baby finish some of the stock in the fridge, i will pump at my next scheduled time and put in fridge again. In short, extra in freezer (as milk storage) and let baby drink those just enuf for his one day feed.

jenjen: ameda parts can be bought from momsinmind and the distributor or BMSG or other online resellers. I think Medela parts can be bought from BMSG and Mums and Babes in Novena Square. the shop is owned by the distributor of Medela pumps. If u got friend in US, they can get it much cheaper there.

hallo ladies,
what's the best way to get rid of blocked ducts? I tried massaging while using the pump - it seems to go away for a while but the lump comes back shortly after... could any of you help pls?

hi jen,
thanks! the lumps are horrible - so painful... Managed to knead them away yesterday. hope they don't come back soon... is daily massage the only way to prevent them from coming back?

BitBit, thanks for the useful advices. Will print it out as reference. what pump r u using?

I have a lot of tau-hueh microwaveble containers, wondering if they can use for storage after sterilizing them?

As for usage of cabbage - how do we use it for reducing the engorgement?

hi SusanY

I think you storing them in the tau-hueh microwavable container should be no problem if the container itself is clean. Actually i also not so "strict" in "sterilzing" containers because I believe BF baby is strong enough to withstand some germs, just make sure they are dry and clean properly. Use water to boiled them then dried on rack then cover them in a clean container should be more than enough!

I heard you can put the cabbage in the fridge to chill it. Peel out a leaf or 2 put inside bra which will cover up your whole breast after each expression. (This method will reduce supply of your milk, so if you dun intend to reduce milk, dun use too often). Of course you feel chill and cold with it on lah, but it will relief some engorgement. My nurse says leave it there for 1 hour, but some says after not cold liao take out and throw. In fact the cold cabbage method doesn;t work much on me, I had too much milk lor &amp; engorgement is terrible till I had to visit GP who claim i had infection liao. Side of breast so red and so pain even when wearing loose bra. Took antibiotic and keep expressing lor and rest for 3 days leh! For me i took out the milk as close as 2 or 3 hours last time when the supply is alot (now can only pump 3 times a day at most and each time get most 150ml only).

Hi bitbit,
I think i am having the same problem you had leh..i am in my confinement month now, and i've already had breast infection twice liao. First time was about 12 days after giving birth. Too much milk, frequent engorgement. Then had Red patch on right breast, had fever about 38.6 degrees and cough. Gynae said breast infection, so gave me antibiotics.

Now, about 12 days later, i'm having engoregment problems again, with fever (39.8 degrees) and breast pain. Breast infection again.

I'm very dishearted now leh..uncomfortable and in pain, and my mother and MIL all see me so xin ku, everyday nagging at me to stop BF. Now i'm very tempted, thinking of giving up breastfeeding. Looking for ways to gradually reduce BM supply without taking medication from the gynae (heard will shrink and shrivel the breast??). Do you think i can use the cold cabbage method to slowly reduce BM supply?

Hi mummytobe,

Saw you at the "Express Breast Milk" thread. I strongly encourage you not to give up BFg so easily. Your baby is still so young and your BM is definately going to benefit him/her for the rest of his/her life in terms of better health.

As you also read at the other thread, i am not able to latch on my baby, I spend even more time than you just to EBM itself, scarifying my sleep and going out time. I even scarify my lunch time juz to EBM at work and i had been doing it for 9 months liao! I have this determination all in all just one purpose, for my baby long term health.

If you can I really hope you continue to feed BM, that is the best gift for your baby!

Yup same as you, those time i had fever and feeling very terrible. My husband even have to drive me to the GP even though it's just a few blocks away! Worst my stupid workplace keep digging into what infection I have to be on 2 days MC! I don;t mind telling them but seems like they are making a fun out of my medical condition! So mean!

By the way I hope you don;t take medicine to decrease/stop your milk! i heard that there is side effect and is not good to the body also.

I believe that cold cabbage method can help to slowly reduce the BM supply. All you have to do is to take a few leave and put it on your breast after you expressed your milk. It should work. You try!

Hi bitbit,

oh hee hee, i didn't realise i was 'talking' to the same person in both threads. I just left you a reply in the other thread. Anyways, how much milk are you expressing nowadays after the breast infection? what about before the breast infection? how did you manage to stretch the pumping time in between until you need only pump 3 times a day, or is it because of the breast infection?

hi mummytobe:

My lactation nurse ever told me that after infection, usually the BM come out much lesser. It's along time from now since i recovered, so my milk is constant. My milk supply reduction is on purpose, I dun think it has got anything to do with the infection. I want to reduce no. of time for expressing each day (in 24 hours), so the brain got my message and reduce producing volume of milk lor.

Before i can pump as much as 240ml per session, There was once I can have 2 bottles of 240ml from each breast! But that was on rare occassion where I slept through the night. (My situation is same as the other member (her nick: alittlemircle), both she &amp; me got very very similar situation. gradually I have only 240ml from both breasts. Now, 150ml from both breast (per session). This is the situation for the past 9 months.

As for how to stretch the pump time. You have to do it by slowly reducing one session away.

Eg: 8am -> 2pm -> 8pm -> 2am

Say you want to take away 2am. Each night you will hv to reduce 10 to 20ml from each breast until that if 2am session is miss, you will not get engorgement in the next morning at 8am session. U got to try it for few days till a week to adjust this schedule.

After you succeed the milk reduction, your time is 8am -> 2pm -> 8pm

Between 8pm to 8 am, this is 12 hours different, so you have to gradually change your schedule to almost 8 hours apart, maybe you try:

Eg: 8am -> 4pm -> 12midnight

For time stretch, do it gradually 1 hour by 1 hour delay, soon your body will be able to adjust to the new time schedule one!

Use the cold cabbage concurrently!

Hope you will success and dun give up BFg yet, think of your little baby still sticking tongue waiting for your milk, dun you want to give him/her the best? U wan to give up now?

Hi mummytobe,
in order to prevent breast infection, u had to express when bb couldn't empty yer bm. That way u won't have enorgement. If u kept having engorgement n didn't clear it for a long time, u'll had blocked ducts. It would then lead to breast infection.

To quickly cleared blocked ducts, used yer thumb to apply pressure on the hard lump n moved towards the nipple when bb was feeding. Do this for a few times until hard lump became soft. Feed bb on the affected side first n expressed the good side if bb can't finished. Aft 1x, 2x or 3x the blocked ducts would be cleared.

Hope this helped cos it worked for me.

Hi ladies, I'm currently still total breastfeeding my close-to 9 month old baby (he eats two meals of solids currently, going to introduce three meals of solids soon). I latch him on in the mrng and at night, and I pump every 6 hourly. My period has yet to return. Is that normal? When will the periods typically return if I continue my pattern of pumping and feeding? I know it sounds dumb but does it affect fertility if my period doesn't return till much later? Thanks!

I latch him on for the feed before he sleeps at around 10pm, but because he eats quite a lot of porridge plus fruit at around 8pm, he usually doesn't drink a lot before he sleeps. But somehow, he gets hungry at around 11plus - 12am and he wakes up for milk and I latch him on again. He usually sleeps thru after that, though strangely, last night he woke up at 3am again to drink and I latch him on again. It seems that he's hungry cos he usually pushes me away if he's not hungry/thirsty for milk.

I heard usually menses come back when there is a longer time between the feeds at night...Mine came when I have a 4-5 hr interval in the night feeds.

Hi all I am new to this thread facing a lot of problem generating milk flow...

My BB is big 4.08kg when birth, nurse advise he need to take formula as if I go for TBF, he will be too weak as my milk supply will only build up after 3 days... And due to C section I didn't give him regular BM on the 3 days stay...

I face the real problem when I reach home on the 4th day. I develop sore nipple and I am having a bit of blue when I see a piece of blood cord coming out from my BB's mouth. Due to that I stop direct BF and choose to pump out the milk to feed him. But by then he is taking 60 to 75ml which my supply never will cope with his demand. I am so stress that when ever I see my BB I start sobbing. Telling him sorry that I can't provide the thing that I should be givig him. And I feel more depress when I see the milk supply that I express out is so miserable about 10 to 20ml each expression. So I start listen to all advise to improve my milk flow and even print out a table to trek on my milk supply so that from there I can know roughly how much I being expressing and how often my BB is latching direct. Today is my 10 days after BB birth and my milk supply haven't reach his demand yet. Thinking whether is it my nipple is too big for the pump or what, how come I can only express about ave 50ml in total for every 2 to 3 hours interval? I am using ameda dual pump and each session takes me about 15 to 25min. I will not stop if I see still got a few drop coming to the bottle...

Can anyone advise me or give me more inform? I have gone through the blue and do not want it to come again...

I heard that frozen bm will lose its antibodies properties so its not as nourished. The best is to feed bb with freshly pumped and refrigerated bm and only give the frozen ones if the ss runs out. Is this true?? I have been storing ebm since my 2nd mth. Now that i am back at work, i pump 3x a day. But my gal feeds on the frozen ebm on the first in first out basis. When i am home, i latch her on.

Arieslim,
I also use that mtd to clear my blocked ducts. It seems to work quite well for me at e moment.

<font color="0000ff">LH</font>, u very lucky leh!! mine returned when bb was 2.5 months... but bb is still on TBF/TEBM...

<font color="0000ff">Justen Mum</font>, relax!! Ur bb is still young and ur milk flow is still not established... bb will have growth spurt at 3~4wks and another time at 6~8wk... during these times if u keep latching the bb, ur supply will slowly increase... u cannot expect milk to come in immediately like 3 days after birth... wah... 1L!!

To reassure you, on my 4th day I kanna very bad engorgement... I can't even pump out 5ml... at least u have gone through that stage... advice is now just concentrate on latching ur bb till abt 1mth before intro ANY bottle (water/milk)... bb suckling will stimulate brs to produce more milk... dun worry abt bb drink blood... it's ok...

<font color="0000ff">serrich</font>, yes it is true... initially that was what i did too... until my fren say it's the "wrong concept" of BF... now, I try to give all fresh ones... to keep ur "stocks" moving, can defrost 1 or 2 feeds... the rest give fresh... and freeze anothe 1 or 2 feeds a day...

Hi Jen thanks for your words,
I do not have engorgement and let down symptom, which make me very worry that I will like my sis who try BF but failed...
I can't latch on to Justen when ever I want as my CL feel that I am pampering him and she feel that I got no milk what for let him latch so long. She feel that is a waste of effort, I am tired of explaining to her that I will got more supply with Justen's help but she feel that she can judge more accurately if I pump out for him. So I can only latch him on when she is bz with other stuff (CL is my In Law's frenz, so I prevent argue with her) I feel that my flow is more when he is direct feeding but he will dose off after awhile and cry for food after less than half an hour. But I still hope that he can have total breast milk before 1yr old. I hope that my supply can cope with his demand soon...

Justen mum, even though ur CL is ur IL's fren, i feel that u should insist on things doing ur own way... ultimately, after the C month, u will be the one with the bb... ur CL will not be ard... so why must follow what she say leh? not that i encourage u to argue back... u dun have to argue, just ignore... older folks like to give unwanted advice... if u stop listening to them, ultimately they will stop giving advice... cheer up!

Hi Jen
I try to convince her that my supply will increase more when he latch on, but she got her point as she feel that like that difficult to est. like just now I told her I will feed him direct she also fine with it just that she feel that Justen is not getting enough after my feed and true enough 1 hour later he is yawling for food again. So I need to remind myself to tell her I want to feed him direct then she will bring my son to me or I do so before she realise he is hungry... Sound stressful right, but I am ok lah, nothing is more hurting than my son don't know or refuse to direct latch on initially. Right now I just hope that my supply will increase by next week. Else I will look for LC to confirm on my pump is it too small for me... Or is there any blockage...