Breastfeeding Support Group

Hullo
Would like to check with mummies if you've experienced this:

1. My daughter is 6 weeks old. When breastfeeding, she uses her tongue to thrust my nipple out and then gets really upset and cries. When I latch her back on, she suckles a few times and thrusts my nipple out and cries again. The cycle can continue and she can be quite inconsolable. I tried burping but she still cries. I'm not sure what to do. This happens on average once a day, generally at nights.

My daughter is 12 weeks old. She's on total breastfeed. She's been having about 4 large watery and seedy stools a day, with some little poo poos in between (about 6 times). Is it normal to have these little poo poos?

Hi bf mummies,

anyone here has problem with the baby suckling to sleep? My boy, coming 5 months loves to do that. In the past, he use to sleep thru the night with at most 1 wake. But now, he can wake up 5 times a night just to suckle. Sometimes, less than 5 sucks and he's off to dreamland.

Would like to see if any other mummies have such exp. want to stop this habit but at the same time want to continue bf lah. sigh, now in a fix. forgot to mention, he hates the pacifier and will onyl take his thumb when I'm not around. How? Everyday go to work like zombie leh...

hi mommies

i am wondering if avent bottles can fit onto the ameda pump? If it doesn't fit, are there any alternatives? Thanks

hi angel,
avent bottle cannot fit in ameda pump. ameda pump comes with 2 milk bottles. so what i do is pump into the ameda bottles n then transferred to avent bottle for storage.

thanks mini

when do u think I should buy ameda breast pump? Should I buy now or wait till I know I have good milk supply. I am afraid that after spending so much $$, I have no milk then the $$ will be wasted.

Urgently need advise.

I have to go on business trip in mid june for 4 days, 3 nights. (No way to avoid!)

All the while, my bb has been on EBM & FM during daytime. I latch him when I get home from work as well as all the subsequent feeds until the next day 7am when I send him to his nanny.

With this travel, I am worry it will affect my ss (already quite pathetic). Pumping is already a problem, let alone frequent pumping especially in overseas office working.

Anyone has similar experience & can give advise how you overcome this?

I do not wish to stop bf just because of this & very worry what will happen when I come back. Will my boy get confuse, etc..?

I was searching the net yesterday on breastfeeding and realised that I am having flat nipples. So I'm now rather worried that flat nipples will have problems for breastfeeding.

Any gals having the same problem as me? Do you have any workable remedy for flat nipples? I am now in week 32. I wanted to try for total breastfeeding for my bb... or at least partial breatfeeding.

Thank you very much.
miao2
287909.gif

All mummies

I am new in this thread will be definitely be very active in posting after I deliver my bb in July. Hee!

My friend juz called me that she really have difficulty in switching from breastfeeding to bottle feeding for her bb. Her bb just refuse to drink from bottle. Do you all have any advice so that I let her know?

My bb is coming to 5 months and I've been direct feeding her since I'm currently not working. As I'm going back to work sometime mid July, I would like to find out how to start expressing bm. I've got all the equipment needed and know how to use them. How can I go abt my expressing schedule when I've got to feed my bb at the same time? My bb now feeds on the average 2-3 hourly. Hope someone can help to advise.

wah, i see u all so cham, no one answer so i try to answer as best as i know ok??

babyblues, dun have this problem... maybe can ask the lactation consultant at the hospital u delivered... bring ur baby along to show the LC...

mango, it is normal to have yellow seedy poo... and 6 wet diapers a day (not necessary must poo) means bb got enuff milk...

blanche, maybe can ignore if ur bb wakes up in the middle of the night to see if he will fall back to sleep... sometimes my bb wakes up also and falls back to sleep... so no need to always offer brs in case become habit...

angel, better to start with manual pump like avent until ur supply is established then can start to consider electric pumps if u decide to continue bf after going back to work...

raindrops, never took feenugurk, no advice...

lbs, try to pump whenever possible lor... though u gotta throw away the milk anyway cos cannot keep for so long to bring back... 4 days wun affect too much and bb should not "forget" u...

miao2, think there is some avent nipple thing to help inverted nipples... can try??

tomatoes, if ur fren has been tbf for a long time, it is normal for bb to have some sort of bottle rejection... this is good cos bb recognise mummy oredi... and bb thinks that food only comes from mummy... but then, bb now has to learn that bottle is also food (ebm)... so the best way (at least my method) to train is to force bb to drink (cold turkey) strictly bottle as many times as possible... only at night then i latch... within 1 week, bb should be able to take both... *normal case hor*...

dewberries, 5 months should have established ur supply... usually pple go back to work 2~3 months and supply still not establish so will pump every 3~4 hourly... for me, i had no choice and pump only 2x at work... now i pump every 5~7 hourly if possible... sometimes irregular also... but u should try to feed bb bottle (in case bottle rejection) and pump at home for at least 1 week, as though u going back to work, to determine ur own schedule... cos what is convenient time for me may not be convenient for urself... a std guide, around 4~6 hourly is good enuff IF you can get around 2 feeds per pump session...

hi jen
thks for answering my questions. But with no frequent pumping, will my ss drop dramatically? Will it establish back when I come back?

lbs, a few days should not affect a lot... in fact sometimes i lazy, only pump 2x a day... wahaha... can get abt 600 only... but the next day or when i resume my normal pumping (4x a day), i still get back abt 800~1L... as long as bb suckles after u are back should be ok, i think...

hi jen,
thks so much for replying. I'll keep a look out in the motherhood fair @ S'pore Expo for that product then.

I never knew that I was having flat nipple until I read about it. Then start to worry..
Hope the product can help.

Rgds,
miao2

wow, pump twice can get 600ml!!thats alot..envy-envy..
I can only get arnd 300ml for pump 3 times.

I really hope my ss will not be affected much & my bb is ok thereafter this trip..now trying to store up my EBM as much as possible.sianz~

miao2, found this for you.
can buy anywhere, kiddy palace, robinsons, john little, etc... but read that you in week 32. they recommend to use only first 6 months of pregnancy cos after that, anything that stimulates ur brs or nipples may induce labour... so i guess u check with ur gynae if it's safe for u to use? or maybe can ask if u can use from 37 weeks so even if induce labour, bb will still be mature enuff to be born...

lbs, depends on the type of pump u are using mah... i use electric one leh...

For those interested in MIM booth in Motherhood Fair... $5 coupon

Hi Jen

Thanks for your advice. Will let me friend know. She said when she see her bb cry until so terrible, she become soft-hearted again.

hi jen,
Thk u so much!
I never know that stimulating our breast/ nipple may induce labour.. good that you highlighted to me. So I'll check with my gynae in my next visit.

Rgds,
miao2

hi angel,
when is ur baby due? will b better to buy the pump after giving birth after establising breastfeeding. just need a day to buy n get the pump from MIM so not a problem. infact u can go without any pump first since can get the manual n electric pump easily.

lbs,
do u have a fixed lunch time during the business trip? will it b easy to find a place to pump? i went japan for a wk a yr ago when my boy was 3mths old. he was on frozen ebm during the week. in the day i pump during lunch time and after work. during lunch i pump in the meeting room though i m afraid anyone will open the door. after work will go back to the hotel to pump. try to find chance to pump in the day as if din pump for too long ss will decrease. ss will decrease after 2-3days of new long pumping interval as body will adapt to new schedule n tot dun have to produce so much milk. think try not to go beyond 6hrs not pumping to ensure ss remain.

during tat wk my ss did drop by abit. before tat my ss actually increases abit but due to the trip dropped back again. my ss din increase after tat. i was happy my boy din have nipple confusion. still able to latch on well when i came back. but during tat period i miss my baby terribly. its not easy somemore have to wake up in the middle of the night to pump milk to ensure ss maintain.

dewberries,
i din not have any practice on pumping schedule before tat. infact on my first day back i only pump at lunch time n after work to see if i can cope. after tat then i try to see if i can re-adjust my pumping schedule n i managed to slot anr schedule. before tat my boy will take abt 1-2feeds of ebm to let him get used to taking from bottle. dun worry ur baby will be able to adjust to the new schedule n bottlefeed/direct latch when u start work.

Hi Jen,
What does it mean when you say milk supply has established? If I were to pump at least 1 week before I start work to determine my pumping schedule, does it mean that my bb will not have any bm, at least for the first day? I'm thinking of pumping at 8.00am, 12 noon, 3.30pm (maybe) and 6.00pm. For the rest of the feeds at night, I will direct feed when I reach home.

Hi mini,
I'm worried that I may not be able to pump enough for my bb when I go back to work bec last time when I pump when bb was around 2 months, my milk supply was v little. I only managed to pump abt 30-40ml per session. Interval between each session is 2.5 hours. You mean you pump twice only and you have enough for your bb to drink? Wow, you must have plenty of milk!
I'm planning to pump 4 times while at work but not sure if I can achieve those timings bec of meetings. What do you do if you have to skip one pumping bec a meeting took longer than expected?

Btw, how do I know how much I should pump in a day for my bb? As my bb is direct fed now, I don't know how much she's taking.

dewberries, what i mean is ur supply should be quite constant (per day) when ur baby is around 3~4 months... if u dunno how much ur baby is taking, maybe it's time to actually start bottle feeding NOW to determine how much per feed... and when bb drinking from bottle, u pump rather than direct feed... so does not mean that u feed oredi THEN pump then like that sure pump very little lah!!

hi jen, how come can get soo much in 2 session huh? 600ml can be for 5 feeds for my daughter leh.
My ss depleting just after 3 wks of starting work. Used to be able to get 160-180ml per session now the best i can get is 90ml!
Heellp! What did u do to get your ss sky high?
I am trying to resume my papaya soup regime again.
But so hard to find time to make it

dewberries,
u will know how much ur baby is drinking after try bottlefeed him a few times. well i feel tat whether i pump 3-4times a day the amt i get will b almost the same as this depends on the rate milk is produced. i dun have alot of milk for my baby, i just managed to get enough mainly becoz my baby dun drink alot of milk. what pump are using? it is impt to use a good pump so tat can extract out all the milk in a short time. else will b v time consuming. for me last time if i pump at 3hrs interval i will get abt 110ml of milk, if pump at 4hrs will get abt 150ml. so make not much diff as the milk produdtion per hr is the same. so for longer interval should b able to get more milk but the total amt of the day should b more or less constant.

woah... hold ur horses ladies... let me clarify in case u think i got pamela anderson size so more milk... i never do anything "special"...

what i mean by "established milk supply" means that REGARDLESS how many times i pump in a day whether is 5x or 4x, i will get about the same TOTAL amount per day which range abt 900ml~1L... this means that the amount of milk is "spread out" and i will get less per session...

IF i miss one of my pump time and have to skip one session, i.e. 3x, i will "time" it such that it's between 2 of the previous sessions (if possible)... for eg if normally i get 600ml for 3 sessions, i will get ard 200ml per session every 4 hourly... if i miss the second timing, will be pumping at 6 hourly and oni 2 sessions, so will get ard 300ml per session... understand?

there was once i could only pump after 10 hours of the first pump so that day only pump twice in 24 hours using manual... so 600ml is not a lot for my 2 sessions... i will get more if brs are very full and hard cos no time to "clear out" the milk... NOT recommended cos might signal brs there's less demand...

also another point, i use electric dual hor... squeeze until dry also 250ml max per session... if ask me to use manual single, i pump until hand break also cannot reach 300ml per session unless brs very very very full... i.e. milk just "waiting to come out" only... i know a fren whose supply is like that lor... REALLY SOLID... she can use manual single pump 10 mins oredi 300ml... very fast... i use electric dual also cannot win her... wahaha...

hi mini
I am not sure abt the schedule yet.

I use to pump thrice in the office, one arnd 11, 2 & 5. But I dun think I can maintain this schedule during my trip. The most perhaps twice during office hrs. Somemore, to save costs, company wants us to share rooms. sianz~

btw, how did you overcome engorgement during the journey? Err, u see, my flight is at 11am, reaching HKG abt 3pm. My boy last feed before going off to his nanny is usually arnd 7~730am. Since I have to be in the airport arnd 9am+, dun think I have time to do any pumping liao. Which mean, I will have no pumping at all for nearly ten hrs until I reach the hotel!!! I am thinking to pump & throw on the flight ler.

btw, did you keep any of the milk you pump or you throw all of them?

Hi Jen
I use Avent Manual pump. Tried the electric type once in the hospital, a bit painful lor.

lbs,
when sharing room the colleague is also a female right? can u decide who to stay with? if can try to choose some colleague that u go well with n she will b more understanding. even with someone u dunno well i think she will b understanding u r expressing milk. think she should b fine with u expressing milk. if not can ask her go to shop or go anr colleague's room. as for pumping in middle of night, can do it in the toilet as not so nice to on the lights right?

i went to japan n the flight journey is even longer. i was using avent manual in the flight n have to visit the toilet in the flight to pump out milk. din tell the air stewardress before tat. i just aim for the not so popular timing to go toilet. then each time can only express one breast as not nice to hide inside toilet for too long. it wasnt a good experience but i am happy i make do with it. i threw away the milk expressed in plane. as for other times i drank the milk as find it wasteful to throw away. imagine drinking 900ml of ebm daily. luckily taste quite good. at first want to bring the last day milk back but find din as i cant sterilise the bottles properly. somemore from departing hotel to reach my home will need 10hrs n not sure if the ice pack will b cold enough to last 10hrs or not. n heard tat still have frozen milk left so no pt for me to store so much milk. fyi while in japan i am using ameda as dual pump is faster. cant use ameda in flight as there is no electric socket.

miao2, re: your flat nipple. I have an inverted nipple, so breastfeeding initially was very tough and almost impossible. I tried using the Avent Nipplette to pull out my nipple while I was still pregnant but not very helpful. Can still try though, but not when you are about 36 weeks onwards, cos I heard it may induce labour.

Subsequently, when my baby was born, I expressed my milk out, and after about two months, I started to let my boy latch on, and he was able to suck out the inverted nipple. Reason is that the nipple is now "seasoned" after some time of constant pumping everyday and that my baby is now "stronger" to suck out the inverted nipple.

All the best!

hi mini
thks for your advise. I think I will do that as well on the flight.

As for drinking the milk..err, not sure I will do that or not..hahaha..but one thing for sure, i wont bring them back lor cos I dont think I can sterilise properly during my trip...again, really wasted lar..

Hi Jen and mini,
If I were to start bottlefeeding ebm to my bb now, does it mean that I'll have to pump out and then bottlefeed her the amt I've just pumped? I've got no excess stored at home. How do I know how long to pump? Also, I'm not sure how far before her feeding time I should start pumping bec she feeds on demand.
I'm currently using the Medela electric plus (dual pump) which a friend lent me. Not sure if I shld get one as I'm not sure if my milk ss will sustain when I go back to work. Btw, what pumps are you using?

hi gals, i'm new to this thread. just like to know if any of you talk and sing to your baby while breastfeeding. Or do you juz keep quiet so as not to disturb your feeding baby?

Hi Liz, I try to talk and sing to my baby when I'm bf him. Initially, I didn't do so, and one of my gf commented that bf is not just bringing the baby to the breast but must be more interactive.

To all bf mommies, when do your babies grow out of the biting phase? My baby now is biting and yanking at my nipple once he's done, and my nipple is starting to get a little sore. I try to talk to him in a stern tone, but he just turn to stare at me in an innocent manner and go back to suckling. Hope he will grow out of it soon before his teeth come in... =(

<font color="aa00aa">dewberries,</font>

in fact u can call BMSG counselling hotline 63393558 or drop an email to BMSG counsellors at [email protected]. usually the emails are answered within 24 or max 48 hrs.

the volunteers are all bfg mums (who've gone thru bfg conselling course), so definitely are able to help
oh, not forgetting to mention they're helpful pple too

dewberries,
tat time what i did was i try to determine how much my baby will drink for a feed, then gave him that amt. he was taking 120ml at 6weeks old. so usu what i do is i will tandem pump for say 2-3feeds to get 120ml. i will pump ard 40-60ml each time n then store the milk together for him to take in the later part of the day. then when he is taking bottle milk i will pump out tat feed to either freeze or store for next day use. i am using Ameda dual electric pump. so usu will pump until the brs feel quite empty after achieveing let down. usu takes 10min. have u tried tandem pumping before? tandem pump is to pump one br when baby drinking the other. this helps to increase ss as it is signalling to body to produce more milk since baby will suck longer due to lesser milk (since pumped out).

LH,
my boy usu dun bite me. only if i make him latch on when he is full. that was when he just started teething. he no longer bite me. think u have to signal/tell him tat he should not bite u. some mummies slap their babies to tell them cant bite. some will just stop latching on when the baby bite to tell him that if he bite he cant have the milk.

Hi ladies, I need help.

My 2nd child will be due by mid-July. I BF my 1st child in 2002 but only did it for 2wks coz I experienced cracked &amp; sore nipples. He sucked hard, probably the latching was poor from the start.

My dilemma now is whether to insist on full BF upon delivery or opt for mixed feed. What's your advice? I find the nurses @ Mt A (which I delivered my 1st child &amp; will also deliver the 2nd one there) were not very good, which made BF experience unpleasant. My nipples are fine just that the right breast has small bumps near the nipple making it less protruding for bb to suckle. Hence I remembered my 1st born sucked alot on my left.

Hi mummies, I reli need advice.

My ss hv been very little for the since last wk due to my busy schedule.. rember reading something abt taking med to increase ss.. did any mummies try taking medication b4? Gd? Does it reli increase ss cos bb on partial bfg due to my miserable ss.. cnt reli latch him on during wkends cos he will hv trouble adjusting to bottle when i go back to wk the next day.. Thinking of seeing a lactation consultant.. does it reli helps?

Appreciate ur reply.. TIA

bichon angel, you shd insist on Full BF upon delivery cos dd=ss. If you mix feed with fm, then your body may get the wrong signal that you dun need so much milk and ss wil drop eventually.

glad, sorry cant help cos I didnt take any medication to incr ss. To me, tandem pumping helps to incr my milk ss.

Have a few questions to check with you gals :-

1)I have been nursing by baby for 45 mins per sessions cos i dun know how to gauge how much she actually took. what would be the appropriate time for each breast?

2)Have given birth for five days but still no leakage yet. does it mean that i dun have enough milk for my baby?

3) my baby keep asking for milk even at 1 hr interval. is it normal?

Hi bichon,
still TBF my 2nd child. Initially experienced sore nipple on left side. Aft 1mth of bfg, nipples toughen n get the hang of bfg then ok. My method is bef bfg, i squeeze out a bit of milk to coat nipple n aerola then feed. Aft bfg, do the same and air dry the nipples. Always start the feed on the side that is less sore. Cos baby hungry suck very hard.

Found this article on the web. Hope it's help.

Sore nipples are usually due to one or both of two causes. Either the baby is not positioned and latched properly, or the baby is not suckling properly, or both. However, babies learn to suck properly by getting milk from the breast when they are latched on well. (They learn by doing). Thus, suck problems are often caused by poor latching on. Fungal infection (due to Candida albicans) may also cause sore nipples. The soreness caused by poor latching and ineffective suckling hurts most as you latch the baby on and usually improves as the baby nurses. The pain from the fungal infection goes on throughout the feed and may continue even after the feed is over. Women describe knifelike pain from the first two causes.

If u want more information, u can go to www.kellymom.com

Hi Jasmine,
1)Don't need to time the feeding seesion, just let the dd nurses. If dd has not enough, they would let u know. They cried. Wake them up if they do not feed for 3 hours.

2)i had no leakage until aft 7days cos my mature milk came in on the 7th day. The first 2days, i squeezed nipples nothing came out. Aft 3rd day, squeezed, got something. So don't worry.

3)It's okay. My dd aft nursing put her in cot n cried so feed again. Sometimes aft 1/2 hr. Sometimes 3hrs. Sometimes nurse n nurse over a few hrs.

Hi bichon,
this was what i do in the hospital. I used the mask for pain relief only. Although aft giving birth, felt a bit blur but insisted to let dd nurse. If dd didn't want then tried later again.
Tell the nurse u want TBF. Tried to let dd to room-in with u as much as possible. If the nurse take your dd for test, aft some time go n get dd back or it's time to feed.
DD cried u latch or aft every 3-4hrs wake dd up to nurse. Try to nurse as much as possible so as to stimulate the milk flow. Under TBF, bb usually will not pass urine during your stay at hospital. When u are going to discharge, the nurse will feed dd some sugar water to ensure dd has no prob passing urine.
If dd got blister on the lip, it's okay. Don't worry.
Think the nurse will record down when u feed the dd, what they feed the dd. Don't need to supplement with fm or water. U will produce enough milk if u let dd nurse on cue.

I noticed that the frozen EBM smells weird after defrost and my 7 mth old baby doesn't seems to like it and tend to puke after drinking. I try mixing with fresh EBM and is still the same. If i gave her all fresh EBM she will happily finish the whole bottle.
The problem right now is that i have about 1 1/2 mths supply of frozen EBM, total about 40 packs (6 oz each), if throw away really heart pain. Have u gals experience this?

hi coco,
frozen ebm tat has been kept for too long will smell funny. may taste funny too tats y ur bb reject. my boy also reject frozen ebm when he was 6mths+. what u can do is try to offer her frozen ebm tat is 2-3wks old to see if she still reject? if she does then give her frozen ebm tat is 1-2wks old. those ebm tat is 1-2wks old usu taste better n normal. then what i did with some of the older stock i used to make cereal. sometimes he can still taste the weird taste n try to vomit out the cereal. so in the end i throw away quite many packs of frozen ebm esp those older than 1mth. felt heartpain but then the quality of milk really not so good so no chioce. from then on i try not to freeze ebm.

Hi ladies, thanks so much for all your advice. I will insist on TBF then, and hopefuly this time I will succeed.

Does it mean that no matter how our nipples are formed, we can still BF successfully?

Hi mini,

My frozen EBM is more than 2 months old, the newest one is about 3 weeks. Guess it really taste funny. Sometime think our bb poor thing have to drink such unpleasant milk. I used to freeze those left over fresh EBM, now i try not to freeze and let her finish as much as possible.
Think have to throw out those old stock, really no choice. Regret freezing so much last time.
Thanks for your advice!

coco,
think more than 2mths old frozen ebm is really old. so far my stock is less than 1.5mths. have u tasted the frozen ebm to see if have funny taste? so far ur ss able to meet dd? if so then dun have to worry throwing away frozen ebm since there is no pt keep using frozen ebm n then freeze new ones to make the cycle never ending. just think for bb's health sake n u wont be so heartpain to throw away.

Hi Arieslim

Thanks for your advise..

will still continue to bf hopefully will succeed. today only pump out milk for my girl cos really painful if she latch on..

only manage to pump out 30 to 45 ml after an hour

Bichon Angel,
my left was less protruding than my right. I think that why my left was sore back then. If the nipples are not inverted then bfg should not be a big problem.
Btw if u latch dd on the less sore side n dd doesn't latch on the sore side, pump out to maintain ss even a little bit of bm is fine.

Jasmine,
if u are TBF, that amount is fine. Try not to bottle feed your dd cos if she get used to bottle, she will fuss at the breast cos of the flow. Only bottle feed my dd ebm 2x during confinement.
During confinement, only managed to pump 20-30ml when engorge. Pump out too much afraid not enough for dd to drink. Cos i insisted on bfg n not supplement with fm or ebm.

Hi mini,

When my gal abt 5 mths+, i stopped freezing fresh ebm as daily ss able to meet dd. Only freeze those left over ebm (abt 6oz /day). Those old stock is freezed when she's abt 3-4 mths+, that time there's over ss as my gal dun drink much.
Now my ss not able to meet dd, short of abt 1 feed (5oz). At 1st intend to use old emb to supplement, but my gal really hate drinking it. So no choice i started her with formula for last feed 2 days ago.
For those old stock really have to throw out, i didn't dare to try it, just smell make me want to puke too, the smell is really funny.
Ya, agree with u that just think for bb's health sake not so heart pain.

How abt u? your ss able to meet dd? How old is your bb?