Breastfeeding Support Group

angelia, maybe you can arrange to deliver your bm to her once a week? I see. It's true that better to have early if you have caregiver to help.

Arieslim, my gal was like that for a while but my mom still continue to give her EBM lah. Or she mix my EBM with rice cereals to let Vane eat.

<font color="aa00aa">arieslim,</font>
aiyah, no choice leh, maybe i intro bottle too early (think abt 3rd wk when i start massage) so now gotta be hardworking lor

<font color="aa00aa">aimee,</font>
if i can hv 5oz in 15 mins at 3 hourly interval, i'll be soooooooooo happy!!

yup, 1st bb. i oso started to use bottles now. but still not enuff bottles cos everyday gotta delivery to my mums's place.. but if wanna freeze still need to use milk bags lor.

thanks for helping. really hope it can be put to good use than throw away again.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
i oso no car leh. can't be expecting me to take cab from yew tee to bedok to deliver the milk right? if that's the case, i rather throw away leh, can save cab fare.

Aimee, I also have some frozen EBM want to throw... but I doubt anyone wants to take... if you know who want also let me know... thanx...

Sigh... having problems expressing at work... really dun understand what the fuss is about... hiaz...

angelia, how abt asking that lady to pick up from you every week?

jen, what happened in office? It's also getting difficult for me to express in office liao. Too busy and cant afford to spend 20min in toilet to pump everyday.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
she say she no car, hubby overseas, n she's taking care of 2 bb. ask her to see if any fren can help to get a big icebox from her then come collect the FBM, she can't find. so she say she gotta give up getting the FBM from me lor.

unless there's someone here who's so KIND to go Bedok/Simei to collect the big icebox from her then come Yew Tee to ferry the 33 (increasing..) packs of FBM to Bedok/Simei.

giggler, i also dunno what is the problem... but it seems like my boss unhappy abt exp during work hours, even though i only spend 15 mins, cos i dun wash up anymore... and am sacrificing lunch... today heard from another colleague until so unhappy, my ss dip by at least 60ml during lunch...

Tks aimee.

Can I ask working mothers here who express during working hours, whether you latch your babies on when you go home? How many times do you latch your babies on at nights and whether you still express also?

How about weekends? Do you let your babies latch on completely or follow expressing timings like workdays? I find that somehow my ss dipped today (on Mon) when I latched him on over the long weekend. Why is this so?

thx aimee. oh no, i think i intro the bottle too early liao, cos he in his 2nd week and i already feeding him BM from bottle jus b4 he sleeps and middle of nite. then during the morning and daytime i latch him on.been doing this for the past few days, dunno if he will get confuse. but til now he stil can latch on lah.

sometimes he cant finish abt 1 or 2 oz throw away like quite a waste but think better throw cos din buy warmer.

but my boy if latch on will only drink for 10 min on 1 side then falls asleep but every nite last feed from bottle he can finish 4 oz. so really worried if he drinking enough if latch on. sigh...

may i ask all of u if u had the same prob as me with ur babies during the 1st few weeks? eating only 1 side for 10 min? wat did u do? i tried waking him but he jus sleep and sleep, haha...

boo_boo,
during my bb first month, she slept in the daytime n had 2 woke her up 2 bf every 3hrs. Then nighttime didn't want 2 sleep n want 2 feed every 1-2hrs. Did encountered yer situation. bb feed halfway n sleep, when put in the crib, she cried n want 2 sucked again. Sometimes no reaction. So think tat bb really drinks not enough, they'll let u know. So not 2 worry. But not 2 exceed 3hrs w/o a feed, max 4-5hrs per 24hrs w/o a feed can lor.

my girl used to sleep for 6 hrs stretch during her 1st 2 months!!!!! how to bf successfully like that huh? 3 adults took 1 hr, still can't wake her up!!!

giggler,
My bb sitter also mix cereals into my boi's milk to feed him. If not he dun drink formula!

Dunno if it's good to do so?

angelia,
why not express not so long everytime? by reducing the amt you get each time, you can start clearing your stash

i really very pei fu you

bo bian leh, for storage use bags loh. Then transporting use bottles. They're more environment friendly in the long run

How abt you ask the mum to pay for the cab fare to Bedok / Simei? Dun think it'll costs more than $15 for 30+ packs of FBM...ask her if she's willing...

jenjen,
Wah, the boss so "stingy"? 15min also not happy? Hm..so i supposed no one in your office do "big business"? *sorry hoh*
Find that these people are very horrible...
My office also not bfg friendly...also difficult to find time to express, so usually will MIA loh

LH,
i'll latch bb on when i reach home (usually for the last feed). Weekends, mostly i feed direct. However, i realised when i bring him back to bb sitter on Monday, he refuse to drink formula
kao_angry.gif

boo_boo,
my boy timing very punctual during the first month. 2 hrs feed without fail. But of cos there's a period when he got growth spurt and keep drinking non stop...
After the 1mth mark, supply should be established and drinking patterns should be more or less fixed

try to wake bb up by stroking his cheeks, or changing nappy?

hahaha.. now cannot reduce time, cos now i only pump 5x.. going to drop another session soon so that i can sleep for another 30mins.... *LOL* also, going to start her on solid soon.. maybe 3 more weeks down the road, after she's taken her last jab

think after i clear the freezer stash this round, will not have much to "clear" later alr cos now i only freezing like 1~2 feeds each day. after i drop session, will prob used them up.

<font color="0000ff">waking bb</font>
hahaha... we strip her naked she still sleep!!! *faint*

aimee, hiaz... it's like that one lah... cos i no power mah... bo bian... now i having engorgement leow... cos yesterday schedule all messed up... this morning also cannot clear... spent 30mins (using electric hor)... almost late for work...

angelia, i think i want to drop 1 session leow... cos when jean go home from bbsitter, she is so cranky, she doesn't want to drink bottle... pump so much in the end freeze until no place leow... dunno why bbsitter's place she so guai, drink 4 bottles and most of the time finish leh... hiaz... so last nite i latch until she sleep lor... tot can dun pump... that's why end up engorge this morning on one side... cos 5.30am she drink one side only...

jen, so you going to give up exp in ofc soon? So envy that you feel engorgement leh. I long time never have that feeling liao.

LH, I latch my gal on once I reach home after work. I think I latch her on for abt 6times during weekday. On weekends, it's entirely direct feed, I dont express at all. For me, my ss incr every Mon cos I think her sucklings help.

boo, I just let my gal have her sleep during her first few weeks. I dont wake her up for milk even if it's time for it.

aimee, think it's ok lah. Just remember to spoon-feed your bb with spoon when feeding cereal will do.

giggler, no... i'm not going to give up expressing... cos jean is still young... gotta persevere until she is at least 6 months... aiyo... envy my pain? where got fun? hiaz...
anyway, no engorgement means vane grow up leow mah!!

Hi giggler, you mean 6 times in total during weekdays right? And not 6 times each day? I'm just counting and wondering how it is possible to latch on 6 times each day when you work in the day.

I try to latch my boy on when I reach home but most of the time, he would have either just finish his feed or had his feed 30 min ago. Also don't know how to ask my MIL to adjust his feed. Worried if reduce his feed, he may be underfed in the day.

Dunno if it's bec. I worry that I may not be able to pump when I base myself at my client's office, so ss seems to have dropped. Is it true that worrying will cause ss to drop? Hiaz

hi aries,
ya my boy also sometimes like tat. drink til sleep then put him in his bed cry again, so gotta feed again. sigh... guess u r rite, if they dun have enough they'll not let u go haha...

angelia,
wah, u so patient. tried 1 hr to wake her up haha... i only tried for 10-15 min then sian liao, give up, wait for him to feel hungry.

giggler,
actually i also like u dun really wake him up for milk jus let him sleep but only at nite about 10 will wake him up cos if he cont to sleep then in the middle of nite he'll not go to sleep and will want pple to play with him. sigh... so gotta let him play at 10pm til last feed then let him sleep. if not sure disturb my hubby.

i only express my milk twice a day only enough for the last feed and the middle of nite feed. but sometimes in the middle of the nite, my breast feel so full till it feels painful, think they're engorge. do u express milk in the middle of the nite? but i feel so tired only want to sleep haha...
i also store the BM in storage bags, but i dun put in freezer only in the fridge. but izzit ok for the bags of BM to be kept beside packets of meat? i put my BM in a box without cap kind. dunno where to put liao cos no space in fridge so gotta put beside the meat.sorry i keep asking bo liao questions, but i really dunno alot of things, hopefully i will get better with all ur advices.
thx alot..

Jen, glad to hear that you got to perserve for the sake of Jean. Keep it up and you definitely can bf Jean exclusively for 6mths.

LH, I mean 6times each day during weekdays. My gal wants her milk almost every 2hrs and she still wake up in the nite for feed. That is I direct feed her from 7pm (once I reach home from ofc) till abt 6am the next morning. I think it has become a habit for my gal to bf once I reach home liao. I find that worrying will cause ss to drop leh.

boo, your boi able to sleep throughout the nite? I think you shd wake up to express in the middle of the night if your boi doesnt wake up for milk in order to keep your ss leh. I dun wake up to express cos my gal wakes up in the middle of the nite for milk. You shd keep your milk in freezer if you're not going to use them within 2-3days. If you put your bm in a box then it's fine to put that box beside meat. Dun worry abt asking qns, we're here to help and share mah.

Giggler, wow, how do you find time to sleep? I latch my boy on for his last feed (around 9plus or 10pm), at 2am and again at 6am, so that's only three times, and I want to konk out at work the next day already. But I do tandem pumping while my baby is feeding, so it helps me store milk for his feeds the next day.

I read in another thread that there's a mathematical formula to calculate how much milk your baby should be drinking depending on his age, but I forgot where I read it from. Anyone here knows? My baby boy is slightly past three months, but he's still only drinking 100ml on average for every feed, and at about 3-3.5 hour duration. Dunno if he's underfed. How much are your babies here drinking on average a day?

Sorry for the long message.

giggler, how old is vane leow?? my gal dun wake up so often leh... some more her last bottle feed is abt 7~8pm... then next latch at 11pm to sleep... wake up at 6am or sometimes dun wake up at all till 8+...

LH, I got used to it liao. Actually it's ok cos I just need to flip up my t-shirt to feed her as we co-sleep on my bed. My gal is drinking abt 7oz per milk feed and 2 solid feeds.

Jen, Vane just turns 10mths 2 days ago. She has been like this all along leh, keeps waking up every 2 hrs for milk. So envy you that you can sleep throughout the nite.

angelia,
why not share your pumping times? cos i think dropping session / stretching the interval between pumps will "indicate" to your body that you dun need that much milk?

Aiyo, better enjoy now when she sleeps...when she's crawling around and not sleeping that also faint!

jen,
For the morning, i'll go office earlier to pump loh...bo bian. Cos last time also like you :pump with electric in AM..then late. Then stress = low output. So in the end decide to come office earlier and do it leisurely.

LH,
why not ask your MIL to feed him later? Give more previous feed...or if know the timing then adjust a little?

Giggler,
wah, still 2hrly during the night on weekdays? How to sleep??! Is it comfort sucking or really drinking? Cos i know of bb who can sleep through (mine still wake up at 11+ &amp; 3am), so i really envy them

giggler, did u try to pat/put vane back to sleep when she wakes? cos although jean wakes up but sometimes pat or flip her from front to back/back to front, she will fall back to sleep... no need to feed... i read somewhere that it's common to wake up in the middle of sleep... even adults... jus to ensure bb that everything is still the same, then she will fall back to sleep...

aimee, i pump in office even more stress... cos pple oredi dun like that i pump... i rather wake early to pump at home, wash properly etc...

giggler,
my boy wakes up at nite to drink milk but i bottle feed him in the middle of the nite with BM. tat's y breast feels full. but now me trying to pump out before i go to bed so wun feel so full in the middle of nite. my boy drink his last feed ard 12 midnight, then wakes up ard 3 plus 4, then 7 plus, also gotta wake up with him, really deprive of sleep since he's here cos i'm not an early person, i'm not used to waking up so early. haha... now really can call me panda..

I've got two unopen boxes of tollyjoy breast pad selling @ $5 each box and two unopen boxes of tollyjoy premium grade brest pad selling @ $7 each box.

Kindly Leave down your email address here shld you be interested to buy.

aimee, how to tell if she's really drinking?

Jen, I tried patting her back to sleep and even offer pacifier but she just wont stop crying till I offer my breasts.

boo, why dont you feed him direct for the nite feed so that you wont feel so full?

My gal starts rejecting my breast for the past few days. She refused to latch on no matter how i coax her, she will scream and cry until I give her EBM using bottle. She is 4 mth+ now and dun have this problem since birth though she tend to reject bottle initially when i got back to work. Now she had got used to bottle and starts rejecting my breast. I'm really sad. I dun want to restore giving her only EBM as I sick of expressing and is tiring to express even when i get back from work and on weekends. Also it will be troublesome to bring EBM when we go out. Can anyone advise on how to win her back to breast? Also if no choice how do i bring EBM when we go out?

giggler,
ya thinking of doing that cos quite tiring to keep expressing BM. my hubby whenever he sees me using the pump he'll ask y i'm torturing my breast, isn't it better to feed direct? sigh... so think going back to feeding direct.

actually thinking of bringing my boy to see doc. cos these few days he's been spitting out a lot of milk, even thru the nose! was so scared when i saw it. thot something happened. but after tat he normal lei, din even cry. he din spit after every feed, mayb once or twice a day. anyone's baby had this before? i did burp him even let him sit fairly upright for awhile. wonder if my burping techinique is not rite cos alot of times he dun want to burp, does passing gas count as realeasing the gas out? cos sometimes, he does tat when i'm burping him. think i'm jus trying to make myself feel better sigh.... do u all think i shld bring him to the doc? really worried for him.and when i see him like tat, i keep blaming myslef for not being a good mum. think sooner or later i'll get post natal blues if this goes on....

jen,
My PIS is end of life already. The suction no good. Using my Avent Manual at work, but takes much longer. So stress now.

Yve
Maybe you can check if there's any problem with the white membrane,cos if there's a tear in the membrane, will cause suction to weaken. Can buy from Mums and Babes if needed

Have been using my PIS for over a year, and no problems yet, so prob it's spare parts that's causing your prob

currently am expressing at 5am, 815am, 1230pm, 530pm, 11pm. intending to drop 815am session then shift the 5am session to 550 or 6am

<font color="aa00aa">coco,</font>
how u transport EBM from office to home? juz do the same when u go out

feed before going out, so that u can bring 1 less feed on the road
if her next feed is AFTER ur next pump session, then don't need to bring EBM out, just feed her what u've juz expressed

as for hot water, can get from fast food restaurants or nursery rooms. i know the ones at Paragon #3, Taka B1 &amp; the other dunno level what has hot water.

just remember to bring TEATS n container for warming up EBM.

I managed to get near 7 oz using my Avent at 5pm. So cannot be my ss down lor.. Think is the pump lah.. Gng to lug the pump home to inspect.

Hi Ladies, I'm a mom-to-be in June and am planning to breastfeed. Am now looking around for breastpump but can't decide on which brand/type to buy. Kinda prefer the manual pump cos its cheaper and I think battery &amp; electric ones can be rather noisy. Hv shortlisted Pigeon Manual Pump &amp; Avent ISIS in my mind but still half-hearted. Hoping to make a decision and grab the pump before the Taka Baby Fair ends on this Sunday.

I think u gals here are the best judge!
Can anyone share yr views with me? Tks in advance!!!

<font color="aa00aa">mango,</font>
forget the Pigeon pump and go for ISIS, if u'r getting a manual pump. i've got 2 Avent ISIS at home!!! cos KS &amp; lazy to keep washing.. kekeke.. also, 1 for office use, 1 at home.

jen,
I pumped for about 20 to 30 mins.

mango,
no comments cos i only use the Avent ISIS. But Avent ISIS has always been a good backup for me.

angelia,
you are at the office already?

<font color="aa00aa">yve,</font>
came early to express milk.... ~8:15`8:20 before starting work at 9am, but i'm usu done ard 9:10am

hopefully when i start Shanice on solid 2 wks later, i can drop this session

boo, part of the reason that I cant stop bfg is the convenience of direct-feed. So get back to direct-feed lah, it's convenient and it's the best pump that you can get.

mango, get the Avent one, its alot better than the Pigeon.

Hi Giggler

Me same like you. It used to be convenient to bring Ally out. Anytime I wanna go out, we can go coz whenever she's hungry, we just have to latch on but now cannot already. Got solids and FM for 4pm feed.

BTW, did you realise you called your Vanessa Ally in your earlier post? hahaha!

yve,
agree with girl that it may really due to the spare parts. PIS is a heavy duty pump, unlikely it will just die so easily.
I'm using my PIS daily for close to a year, unless the batt is low, otherwise i do not have much prob.
But i agree, after your breast got used to the pump, one can up the rate n suction higher. I'm on the maximum suction power n increasing the rate to 4 or 5.

Hey all,
My PIS no problem leh.. I borrowed another one and it worked.. I switched back and it worked.. Think I am too gan cheong to see the milk coming out.. Guess I am not a machine, so cannot expect the same results every day..

B2B3M4,
I am already on max suction and speed 4. :p Sound like I am torturing myself..

Hi kejo, are the breast pads still for sale? If so, you can email at [email protected]

coco, could it be a nursing strike that your baby is going through? I've read about it and it usually happens when the baby is about 4-5months old. My lactation consultant also told me about it. It should pass. Don't worry.

hi giggler,
ya now going back to direct feeding at night. saves the trouble of making the stored BM warm.

hi mango,
forget the pigeon one. it's not very strong, the avent one is soooo much better.

got to ask u all for some advice. cos i'm not comfortable abt letting my boy latch on when we're out, i can only use bottle to feed him. but til now cos he still not 1 mth old so haven't bring him out yet but in another week's time will have to do so, but i'm not sure how to store the EBM when we go out. does it mean tat when we are going out i jus take the EBM out from fridge, put into bottle, dun need to warm? how long can i keep the EBM this way, without warming it? then when baby wants to eat, i jus get hot water to warm it and he can eat rite? but will the EBM turn bad this way? really clueless...
thx in advance....

boo, my boy also vomited milk from his mouth and nose once. It was scary and was like the merlion. We suspected it could be due to us having tummy time with him soon after his feed, and me overfeeding him and he guai guai drink. So the excess milk just came out quite violently. My lactation consultant said before that if it happens too frequently, then should see doc. She said that after all, adults don't vomit everytime we eat also wat.

My boy also pass out gas quite often. Yes, it can be considered as releasing gas. Btw, if you can't burp your baby and he/she is already sleeping, do not lie him down flat on his back. Let him sleep sideways on the right. If on the left, he's actually compressing his stomach. No good.

To all, can I ask where to get nice nursing wear? My boy is now three months plus, and I haven't got nursing wear! Difficult to take him outdoors for long without worrying that he wants to feed. I've seen a woman breastfeed before with a sarong thing covering her boy's head. Where to get it? Tks!

Angelia,
Thanks for your advice. I transport EBM using cooler bag, but the bag is slightly too big to bring out. so maybe will find a smaller one.

LH, I think is nursing strike too. I kept trying to latch her on for the past few days but still cannot. Think I will give her solely EBM from now, I dun want her to associate breastfeeding to crying. Anyway, is it good that she wean herself off the breast now, dun need to use other ways to wean her off next time. Is only that i have to be more discipline to express milk loh.

Hi Mango,

If you plan to breastfeed for longer period, I suggest you get dual electric pump. I'm using Ameda dual pump, really save time and not noisy. For manual one, suggest Avent ISIS, I use that as back up too. Really good in let down.