Breastfeeding Support Group

mngo, the pads of my fingers and thumbs are numb... i mean can feel, but like in a "distance"... like when u put epi, can feel if you touch ur thighs but cannot feel pain? hope u know what i mean... last time i read somewhere abt the thumb having problems cos pple sms too much... i think i'm having something like that... i hope it's not permanent and will go off soon... cos when i carry my gal, it's dangerous when my hand got no strength to "feel" her...

Arieslim
I think its best to ignore such comments. I guess the older generations are bound to hv comments when we bf. For eg, my MIL always comment tt my boy has grown a lot and then proceed to ask whether I am still bf. When I say yes, she will still say my bm enuff for him or not, shd supplement. So, u see, even if bb is big size, there are also such comments. So the best thing to do is to keep quiet. If u really want to ans them, can say ur older one is on FM but also turn out skinny.

Mum05
No problem, can apply while bf.

QSG/Absolute
No problem, can take raw stuff while bf. Its when pregnant tt we shd avoid raw stuff. H/w, need to limit alcohol and caffeine intake while bf. Other than tt, unless ur bb shows allergy to certain fd in ur diet, u can consume anything u like.

Mini
Dun think its the milk taste. Coz when my boy rejected the bottle at 2 mths, I changed a no. of milk powder and teats, but he still rejected.

hi Arieslim,

Pls ignore remarks from these ignorant pp.

It all depend on the parents mah. Next time pp tell you that, then just say, my hubby & I skinny....if my children fat, then I probably carried wrong baby home.

No matter what, bf babies have more immunity than others. A lot of pp tell me that their FM children kena sick a lot - compared wif bf babies (some like your case one bf, one fm)

Keep it up. you are giving your love to baby (by way of milk)!!

Hi pebbles,

Could be that the fridge is not cold enuf? Or maybe you store other things in freezer (I non-cooking household)? I also had that problem. If the smell is really bad, may consider to throw away.

Consider to keep your milk in airtight container (eg ziplock bag to bag your milk bags)...not sure if it will help.

But if you supply sufficient, strongly encourage you to give bb only fresh milk. Cos frozen milk super hard to defrost; and it's always best to give bb the latest & bestest.

I threw away litres of milk (literally) cos stored too much. Really regret spending so much effort when I could give my son the fresher milk. whatever's excess - forget it.

Supply is there if you keep at it.

To rest: I using Avent manual pump. First 2 weeks, my hand wanted to die. Now one hand super strong.....got to train up lor. FYI, I have been pumping for 10mths plus now...morning, noon & night

Hi QHL,
Thank u for your reply. I think my fridge is cold enough but my MIL kept lotsa meat in the fridge lah. I usually keep each individual bottle in a plastic bag but still ve funny smell.
I think my milk is just enough for bb to latch on... even if i tandem pump, most oni 60ml but think she should be drinking 120ml liao. Also dunno how man.
Fresh EBM can oni be stored for 24hr right? Den if i go back to work i'm supposed to store a few days' worth of EBM so tat means i'll ve to freeze em ya. Sorry if i seem kinda ignorant ok. Just need advice from the experienced mummies here.

Hi Pebble

Fresh EBM can be stored for up to 48hr in the fridge. There were one or two occasions that I fed bb milk stored in the fridge for three days but I tasted first and it was alright. Least recommended storage method is freezing coz most of the antibodies will be gone. So if your ss is just nice, maybe you can feed bb whatever you pump the next day.

Hi Arieslim

I understand how you feel... think most of us go thru the same thing coz the older generation have the impression that FM is better and BM is for poor people in the past who couldn't afford FM. I'm been TBF my gal over 8 mths now and I still get the same comments from my MIL etc. It gets frustrating at times but I try to ignore it as much as I can. If I need an outlet to vent my frustration, I'll complain to my hubby or mom. Everytime she asks me to start on FM, it comes thru one ear and flies out the other ear. :eek:)

hi ladies... me, bf my 4 mths plus baby but noted the supply gets lesser even thot i bf her in e nite...day time is pumping.

she drinks only 100 - 120 ml...try to increase but not so successful..."sob"

try various method like sucks directly, pump 4 hourly, drinks lots of plain water...

Anywy...i ever saw one of the posting saying annum bf has got high calories, make bf mummy puts in weight...there is one brand which is not...any idea? me put on weight instead of lose...

Hi Pebble

I had frozen my BM before n after 2mths tried to bottle-feed her with EBM. After thawing, I smelled the EBM n it had a metallic kind of smell. I threw it away to be safe. I think all EBM after frozen will have a funny smell. I dont think it is spoilt, just were not used to it. Taste it to play safe. But BM is best when fresh or frozen for a week or two. Dont keep for too long.

Thank U mummies 4 all your replies.

When I gave FM to my elder girl, I was very stressed about the oz she drank. She was skinny and drank so little. I kind of forced her to drink whatever I gave her. I dreaded feeding her. Now with my younger one, Im not so stress. I didnt need to monitor her input. When shes hungry Ill just bf. Anyway BM is more digestible by the body.

Hi Absolut and Arieslim,
Thank u for your replies. Ok ll not keep my EBM in the freezer for too long. ll oso taste b4 giving my bb EBM just to play safe.

pebble, actually for me, i give my gal frozen EBM during the day and at night latch direct... my frozen EBM is 2 weeks ago... the frozen EBM does have a funny smell and taste is also different from fresh pump ones... but my gal took it well... so i guess it's ok... i have to stock up cos i'm going back to work as well...

Anyone infected with virus like me while breastfeeding? I mean virus inside busts.... Doc said sth like when sucking milk has to come out if not very highly contact virus. But I sterilizes my pump well or virus comes with baby's saliva then after certain reaction became virus.

Hi Missylan

What do you mean? You mean your milk can't get released? Is it due to clog ducts? Me been getting milk blisters and feel like my left side again abit clogged but haven't been able to clear it. Think that's causing me to have fever since last evening.

missylan
Do u mean doc says baby's saliva infect u with a virus? If so, it is still possible no matter how u sterlirize, coz sometimes bb will hv virus in the mouth and it might pass through ur breast while bf.

bbpooh
I took fenugreek b4, din hv any effect for me. But then, I only took one per day, I think someone mentioned here b4 must take a certain qty b4 there is effect.

Happymummy
Try taking hot papaya and fish soup b4 bf. Actually no need to take milk to produce milk, its just a source of calcium, if u dun like milk, try other sources of calcium

Hi absolut, you still having milk blisters? It has been a while leh. Did u see any doc abt it? Me going to stop bf real soon cos my milk getting lesser as my menses is here. Sigh.....

hopeac, thanks for your advice. Yup, think I've got mastitis coz had fever (above 38 degrees) for 3 days. Went to GP today to get antibiotics but after so much to find a female GP, she didn't seem experienced and look a bit uncomfortable when I told her abt my situation.

Giggler, still get milk blisters once in a while. Think I might have gotten mastitis coz I used the needle to break another blister and the open wound got infected. When the GP heard abt me using the needle, she was very shocked but didn't offer me any better advice. Any one knows of any GP who is familiar with bf? Me wanna stop the day feeds coz going for a biz trip soon and can't afford to keep pumping. But with all the clogged ducts and blisters, I'm very scared. wondering if I should just ask for medication to stop ss but that would mean that i won't be able to latch her on for her first and last feed. If you need to stop, you should still pat yourself on the back. You've done a wonderful job of feeding her 8.5 months. Even if you need to supplement now, also dun have to worry so much. has Vanessa started on 3 solids a day? wondering when we should start that. The western books recommended for 3 solids for babies from 6 months onwards.

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY NEW YEAR</font> all mommies n babies

Hi <font color="0000ff">desert</font>

I'v successfully trained my gal to sleep thru' the nite! Yippy!! actually i feel u dont have to wean ur boy off totally when u ret to work. If u enjoy bf'g, u can train him sleep thru the night. Then if u dont wan to pump during working hrs, intro FM to him. but u can cont to bf him in the day b4 going to work n at night when u ret from work.

I m still expressing at work, coz i enjoy bf'g my gal. but soon, i'll give her FM in the day n reduce my expressing from 2x to 1x.

hi <font color="119911">arieslim</font>

haha read ur "frustration"! its juz so typical of a bf mommy to get such stupid comments loh!!

when i was preg i decided i wan to do TBF for my gal. when she was a born, she was quite a cry baby...n her cries very loud n fierce one. then i get comments from my mum, she always ask "she dont have enough milk is it?". my mum try to sound subtle n nice, but still imply i dont hv enough milk loh. but after the initial 1st mth..my mum was convinced i hv enough n bf is very good, coz my gal was chubby. few mths later, she can even tell pp her granddau is bfed n bf'g is very good haha.

but my mil ALWAYS give the disapprove look. she dun like bf at all. everytime meet us will ask "u give her FM already? huh!! havent give?", "(talking to my baby) mummy milk enough for u meh?", " huh!!?? u still drinking mummy milk!!"... or she will ask me "enough meh?"...i get really frustrated loh. my gal very chubby one...so i replied "if not enough, then she so fat??!!!"...very angry loh. but as time passes, i immune to her rubbish n ignore her liao.

i dont hv much comments fr other relative when my gal was young coz she very chubby...infact, some of them thumbs up for me. but the prob came when she turns 1...all of them keep asking whn i want to wean her off. n that i shldnt cont to bf for so long. they claim she sticky to me coz i bf her...blah blah, they blame everything on bf.

worst, my hb has a niece 2 mths older then my gal... OMG she is huge! abt 4kg heavier then my gal. she is on total FM. n my mil will comment loh, that my gal is "so small"...she go around telling pp my gal very small. how i know? this CNY, i heard her relatives comments "she not small wat, very chubby mah"...so must b my mil keep telling them my gal is small. she is prejudice loh...n of coz compared to my hb niece (her other granddau), def smaller.

but nvrmind lah, we do wat we deem fit. my nx kid, def i m going to go TBF too!

n really happy for u, that u managed to bf ur younger gal! this is common... to fail for the 1st n succeed for 2nd coz got more experience. my good friend too... dun hv enough info on bf for her 1st kid...but 2nd kid she did so well that her son is 2 already, n she is still bf'g

Hi absolut, you want to try Dr WK Koo at Jurong Pt? She bf her children for quite some time and very pro-bf. I know I've already done my best for tbfg Vane for 8.5mths. But I really she bu de to let go lor. I haven start giving her 3 solids leh. Haven even intro meat to her. How abt you? So where u going for your biz trip?

Hi blessed, hahaha.... our situation are so similar. My mom and mil used to ask if I got enuf milk for my gal. But after the 1st mth, my gal turned so chubby that they agreed bm is good. Now, my mom even promote bm to everyone.
Do u have any deadline that you going to stop bfg your gal? I intend to stop at her 1st yr but now my ss drops as my menses just came. So not sure if I can tong till this mth or not. Btw, since your gal can sleep throughout the nite now, do u still wake up to pump milk in the middle of the nite?

Hi mommies and babies
A very happy new year to you all!

Hi blessed
Wow so good. How you trained your gal? So like what giggler said do you still pump at night to keep up with the supply>?So in the day, your gal drink EBM or formula? How is Leo? Is she still bfing? Never seen her here for a long time.

Moon

Hi Giggler

Ally has been eaten pork porridge since 6 months and also introduced chicken porridge at 7 months. She's also had fish porridge at 6 months. I'm only going to HK but will be away from her for 5 days before she joins me there. Not sure if i'm gonna be able to cope not being with her for so long. Gonna miss her like crazy esp since she's starting to stick to me. Hope she won't forget me after 5 days.

Wah... your doc very far leh. Me at the other end of Singapore (east). A bit tough unless I'm around the corner.

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,</font>
just threw away abt 55 bags of frozen EBM (abt 6~7 L) so "sim tiah"

then hor, my girl (4 mths 1 wk old) this few days drinking lesser and lesser.. dunno why leh. she's been drinking ~150ml every 3~4 hrs. but these few days drinking less and at longer interval!!!

what's wrong?!

Giggler
If ss drop, why not introduce some fm, but still continue with bf, just no need to tbf. I also bu she de to stop bf, but now my boy is over 1, everyone is asking me when I want to stop, even my own P. Hubby is the only one who still thinks I shd carry on for as long as Ivan wants to bf.

Blessed
Congrats.
Can update me with more details on ur sleep training?? Hv u seen wk tan yet.
My initial plan was to bf b4 going to wk and returning fr wk. H/w, from what I gathered, ss might not be enuff to do this if I dun pump at least once or twice in the day.
Same as u, a lot of pp hv been telling me to stop bf my boy, esp now he seems quite addicted to bf, even my P are telling me to wean him off.

Moon
Will u be going to the gathering at cla's place? Need some advice on pumping from u. Where do u express in school? Do u inform the P b4 hand? How do u slot in the pumping session, coz usually got so many things to do during teaching hrs.

hi mommies..
happy new year!

angelia,
so fast ur girl is 4mths already! so u have started working. any problem with finding a place to express n store bm at work? ur girl reject all frozen ebm or those older ones?

she is drinking lesser mayb becoz of teething? or becoz at this age she starts to get playful n gets more interested to play than to drink milk. just continue to observe n make sure she is putting on weight.

giggler,
long time no chat. u r still tbfg? fast hor Van is 8.5mths already. ur menese have been v regular? mine is irregular. we had our first cycle at the same time but till now i just had my 3rd cycle only. interval betw 1st n 2nd cycle was 6wks, then betw 2nd n 3rd cycle was 7wks. i am still tbfg. my boy is 11mths already n i plan to start him on 1yr old fm soon. waiting for samples. my boy reject similac n PD told me if i want to make him drink fm have to cold turkey dun give him bm at all. PD said all fm taste the same. kept offering fm n if he dun want to take let him hungry for a few days n he will take. i find it v cruel to do tat. hopefully my boy will accept the 1yr old fm better.

blessed,
so good ur gal can sleep thru the night. my boy been waking up 3-4times every night n i m v tired. sometimes i think is he really hungry or just a habit? sometimes he suck as if v hungry. i should train him to sleep thru the night soon but he sure cry till v terrible if cant find breasts. problem now is i have to make him take fm first before carrying out the sleep training.

giggler,
agreed on what desert have said. can supplement with fm if ss is not enough. i feel tat it is good to give 1-2 feed of fm to ensure Van is taking enough milk. i want my boy to take some fm but he rejected it. i hope he can take more milk but since he dun want fm just have to make do with my limited ss.

desert,
my boy also addicted to brs. dunno how he will take it if i want to wean him off. PD told me to make him drink fm have to stop giving him bm. let him have no choice even if hungry for a few days. PD said let him hungry n he will learn to take. i find this method cruel leh.. so good ur hubby still encourage u to bf. my hubby hope i can stop long ago. think right now everyone also hope i can stop bf but they dun really say mainly becoz my boy still reject fm. once he start taking fm everyone will encourage me to stop. i dun mind stopping since i feel v good to bf for 1yr. also dun wish soon to come i have to bf a toddler.

moon,
yar do share with me too how n where u pump milk in school. i will b starting to teach in term 2. at first i only plan to bf till my boy is 1yr old which is in mid mar. but till now he reject fm n dun think i can stop bf in a mth time. so may need to pump in sch. do ur boy wakes up often at night? if so dun u feel tired the next day?

Hi abslout, Vane also start to stick to me now. Sometimes quite 'fan' cos they very sticky hor? But sometimes very happy that she only want her mummy.
I think 5days is not very long lah. So your hubby will be bringing her to HK to meet up with you?

Hi angelia, wow. I heartache for you leh. Why do u have to throw so many bags of EBM at one go? I think your gal is getting more interested with her surroundings now so she less interested with her milk.

Hi desert, that's what I thot of doing now. My gal needs to have fm today as I didn't store enuf for her these few days. At least your hubby who is closest to you support u with bfg.
My mom kept questioning me on my deadline too.

Hi mini, I'm still tbfg Vane. My menses has been very regular, it has been coming every 2nd week of the month. Aiyo, the doc sounds cruel leh. I intro fm to Vane 2-3weeks ago and she's ok with it. Guess I'm lucky that Vane is quite easy to manage lah. My gal also wakes up 2-3times every nite leh. Not sure if it's becoming habit liao hor? So you planning to have any bday celebration for your boi next mth?

Hi Giggler, they are so cute when they stick to you at times right but super frustrating if you need a break. Now when people want to carry her while she's in my arms, she'll quickly lie her head on me and hold me with her 2 hands ... so cute like koala. When I'm trying to get her to sleep and she refuses, I'll get hubby to come and offer to carry her so she'll lean on me and hopefully be able to pat her to sleep faster. Yup hubby will be bringing her to HK to meet me. In laws are also coming along. Think they are as concerned as me whether her father can handle her on his own. hee hee! Wah... your period so regular already? Mine still not back leh. Happy for the convenience but on the other end, that means can't make bb yet.

Hi Angelia, know how heartache you feel coz me also sama sama ... been throwing away packs of frozen milk coz I know bf may be ending soon so try to give my girl the freshest milk possible. Just told my maid to clear the expired stock today. I try not to see the packs of milk thrown away so I'm dun feel so chiak lat.

BTW, happy valentine's day everyone!

Hi absolut, I like the feeling when Vane cling on me like Koala bear.
Your in-laws like to travel with you hor? I think they went to Japan with your family too rite? You thinking of making No. 2 now? Me got no such intention at all. Very contented to have just Vane at the moment. You intro fm to Ally already? I've been giving Vane enfapro on &amp; off for these few weeks.

<font color="aa00aa">mini,</font>
no place to express milk at work, so can only do it in the toilet. so sometimes gotta bear with the smell when someone doing big biz....

hmm.. she dun reject the frozen milk totally.. but take some (maybe half), then dun want alr. but these few days, even "fresh" milk she oso will leave abt 20~40ml (her normal is 150~160). btw, the frozen milk are at most 1 month old.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
aiya, no choice leh, need to make space for new stock. anyway, yesterday already 13th Feb, so need to throw those 14th Jan and older lor.
hubby oso "sim tiah". keep telling me "i heartache for u leh, all ur efforts into the bin". know what i replied him?? "i heartache the milk bags more leh, so costly!!" *LOL*

<font color="aa00aa">absolut,</font>
i'll prob stop bfg in 2 months time, when Shanice is 6 months old. hoping to get some personal time for myself &amp; hubby &amp; oso hope can spend more time wif Shanice. these few months I'm so tied up with expressing BM that i hardly have time for her.
another reason is we'll like to try for a #2 after June...

i do suspect that she's getting interested in the surrounding than her milk.. but then hor, how can she tahan 4~5 hr with only ~100ml when previously she cries for milk abt ~2.5-3 hrs after she finished ~150ml?

did try feeding her in the room, oso the same leh

another strange thing is... my ss increased a bit on eve &amp; 1st day of CNY. and i'm so happy, thot can pump shorter. i.e. usu need 40min to get 180ml, that 2 days took only 30mins. so i stopped after 30min.. then now hor, after 40mins, i can only get 150ml
*sob*

why?! why ?! why?!
(oh, me using manual pump)

Hi angelia, quite true that the storage bags are very ex. So you plan to have No. 2 when Shanice is abt 1-2yrs old? I also not sure why ss incr and then decr leh. Maybe you rest more or drink more water that 2 days?

Giggler,
so good Vane can adapt well to fm. at least u dun have to worry she din drink enough milk. read from the other thread that Vane still cant really crawl forward yet. not too worrying my boy also a late crawler. forgot when he started crawling though. nowadays he likes to stand against the table n also to walk around with adults holding to his hands. we hope he can walk soon as feel tired carrying him even though he is still less than 9kg. i was quite worried he will b a late walker since PIL always carry him n dun let him sit or crawl on the floor. during the period i am with him will let him explore as much as possible.

angelia,
u r a wei3 da4 mum despite cant find place in office to express bm! ur reward for bgf will show. no choice to have to throw away frozen ebm as how we know such thing will happen right. everyone tot need to stock up some milk before start work as afraid ss drop. so i believe right now u r storing lesser milk already? so fast want to try for 2nd one ah. during cny my aunts asked me when i wan a 2nd one but i just tell them dunno. infact dun feel like having a 2nd one but hubby wants leh.

mayb u eat n drink more during cny tat make ur ss increases?

Hi mini, maybe one of the reasons that Vane is late crawler is that my parents carry her alot leh. I'll tell my mom to let Vane down on the floor more often now. Both my hubby and myself dont feel like having No. 2 liao. So u going to try soon too?

Ladies... Happy CNY and Valentine's Day!!

My supply seem to be more since CNY... though I pump fewer times, but I manage to get 1L everyday leh... but then cos the time was stretched (around 6 hours), my breasts were quite hard when I started expressing... is this only short term or I can lessen my times of pumping?

Re: pumping at work
Can someone advice me how long each pumping session do you do? Also how many sessions during the working hours? Like not very nice keep disappearing to pump leh...

Giggler,
yar mayb not enough time for Vane to explore. PIL always carry Jon too. MIL always say floor v cold lar cannot let baby sit or crawl on it. only after cny she seem like more open minded let jon go to floor more often. coz i think during cny she too busy to look after jon so let him explore himself n she saw not too bad after all. i feel v hard to tell her straight. even hubby also cant coz old ppl have their funny set of thinking. she always try to reason out. no lar wont b trying yet. wait for a few yrs more then see how. hubby busy n we hope to spend more time with jon first. good tat ur mum taking care n it is easier to tell her off compared to telling MIL

Jen,
good tat ur ss increase. the other time my ss increases when my boy was ard 2.5mths old. last time i pumped 3times at work ard 10am, 1pm n 545pm. i m using ameda n each pumping session ard 15-20min. i will pre-sterilised the pump first. then after the first pump wait until lunch then wash n sterilise the pump with hot water. then go for 2nd session. after 2nd session washed n sterilised pump again before lunchtime ended so tat i can straight away pumped at 545.

with ur ss so good, i think it mayb ok if u just pump during lunch n before go back. mayb u can observe for a while if ur ss maintained with this kind of 5-6hrs interval pumping. i know of some ppl only pump at 6-7hrs interval n they can get good amt for mths.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler, mini,</font>
ya.. maybe those 2 days i juz sit, eat goodies &amp; drink packet drinks.. hahaha..

but now back to work cannot liao. hiaz.. make me happy only!!

<font color="aa00aa">mini,</font>
ya, hope my hard work will be rewarding.. but hor, my girl doesn't really "like" me leh, prefers my mum. that's why i think i'll want to stop bfg when she's 6 months old..

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
hehe.. i'm aiming for a doggy baby......
after that can close shop liao, regardless of boy or girl.. singapore too ex to have 3 kids lah...

hi moon

happy CNY! heee ...happened to have time to come in these few days and was reading the past postings when i saw my name. yes, me still bfg. my boy turned 2 last month. but i've been reducing his BM intake and now he takes FM twice a day when i'm at work. only feed him in the morning and at night. dunno when i can stop coz he will still ask to latch. but now he can talk more so he goes 'change sides. no more milk!!' all the time ... and then whole night keep changing sides coz i guess he just wants to latch on for comfort.

Hi Giggler

Haven't intro FM to Ally yet coz still got loads of frozen EBM in the freezer. Stopped pumping in office today. Stopped 2 weeks back but tried latching her on during the weekend and there was still ss so decided to continue latching her for her 1pm feed til after CNY. From today onwards, really must let body adjust to not pumping at 1pm and after that 7pm (now I'm latching for that feed) coz think it's time to intro 3rd solid feed soon. Gonna get maid to give her solids for 7pm feed when I'm away in HK. Hopefully Ally will take well to FM. Got 1 sample of Friso2 and Gold Mamil 2 waiting to be opened. Hoping to try for no. 2 soon but will have to wait for period to return first.

My in-laws like to travel with us coz of Ally. It's quite different now that they have a granddaughter. Never saw my FIL laugh and talk so much til she came along. They are afraid we can't cope and I'm glad that there are people to help carry stuff and hold her if I'm zonked out. But hubby prefers that we travel without his family. Strange hor... it should be me minding but it's him that mind. Now he wants to plan a trip to perth in June by ourselves so dun want to let his parents know.
Hi Angelia
It's so funny... we think alike. I'm not as heartpain abt the milk ... more heartpain abt the milkbags coz so ex. After all I comfort myself that at least Ally is getting the most nutrients with fresh BM.

hi mini,
I stop total breastfeeding my son when he turned 1, and went to partial breastfeeding ( meaning feed direct in the morning and night feeds, and formula during the day). You can slowly transit your son to formula. You will need someone else to feed your son formula. Some babies cannot get use to the taste of formula. You can help me adapt to the taste. First week, you give 1/4 bm mix with 3/4 fm, once he is ok with it, you continue with 1/2 1/2 each. Slowly, increase the portion of fm and decrease the portion of bm. After 2 to 3 weeks, he will be able to adapt to the taste of the fm.

Actually, feeding a toddler is not too bad. But my son always associates me with the breast, he last time only take formula given by someone else.

Mini/giggler
Like mini's bb, My boy rejects FM too, most of the time he refuse to drink at all, sometimes will take a few sips, so far nvr take more than 30 ml.

I must admit I am quite soft hearted, so all those cry it out mtd dun think I can tahan. So up to now, I hv not carried out the sleep training.
Initially it was my MIL who kept on asking when I am going to stop bf. Now tt my boy is past one, my P are nagging at me. My hubby dun mind me bf my boy, h/w he did asked me to check with gynae tt menses not back, what are the chances of conceiving 2nd one?

Hi jen, as you stretch your pumping time for so long, the incr in ss may only for short term leh. If you continue to pump every 6hrs from now on, your body may misinterpret as you dont need so much milk liao. I usu use abt 30mins to pump and wash up in office. Now, I pump 2 times, once before lunch and the other time before I knock off.

Hi mini, I understand the difficulty to tell mil the things you want them to do for bb. I usu put Vane on the floor to explore herself. But you got to be with her all the time lor. That's the troublesome part.

Hi angelia, I thot bfg will bring bb closer to you? How come you stopping bfg when your bb is closer to your mom? You plan to have doggy bb? That's good to have bb at one go hor? At least you only suffered these few years and that's it.

Hi absolut, don't bother with your menses lah. Just try for bb since you want to have one. Who knows you may get pregnant during this period too leh. Guess your hubby wants some personal time with his own family.
I agree that it's good to have your pils to help out during holidays.

Hi hopeac, do u still need to pump out milk during the day to make sure that you have sufficient ss for your son in the morning and nite feeds?

Hi desert, my gal is different leh. She rejected my EBM but prefer fm. Funny hor? Seems like most of you here trying for No. 2 soon. May I ask what makes you want to have 2nd one? I think I still dont know how to share my love if I have more than 1 kid leh.

hi hopeac,
thanks for your sharing. did u encounter problem when introduce fm to your boy? how old is your boy n r u still bfg? actually i dun feel comfortable mixing ebm n fm together. even the PD also say better not to due to hygenie. MIL is the one giving fm to my boy. anr problem i faced is he refused to drink from bottle when it contains milk. if water he will suck the bottle. so far everyday he will have 1 feed of ebm n MIL have to spoonfeed him. hubby suggested helping out in the sleep training by feeding my boy fm if he wakes up, but not possible at this moment since he dun want bottle n fm.

desert,
since Ivan reject fm, wont ur P n MIL be soft hearted to let u continue bfg else Ivan wont have milk to drink? u thinking of trying for 2nd one soon?

giggler,
yar troublesome to always have to keep close watch when they explore on their own. sometimes i hope can just watch tv but how to since still have to see what the "little monkey" is doing.

think what angelia meant is she has to spend time expressing bm at regular interval. end up most of the time used to express bm n not much time to interact with baby. if can direct latch is best since can create bonding n save time n trouble.

Angelia,
its normal for bb to b close to the main caregiver esp we have to work n see them only a few hours each day. can see my boy also close to my MIL. only now tat i m not working n he sleeps with us every night tat i see he gets closer to me. just try ur best to spend quality time with her.

Hi mini, I dont watch TV nowadays. I think this is good for both Vane and me lah.

Hi angelia, it's common that bb is closer to main caregiver but they'll can still recognise who their mummies are.

giggler, how much can you pump per session at work? currently i plan to pump at 9am, 1pm, 5pm, 9pm and one more time before i zzz... so i'll have to pump 3 times in the office... i dun plan to pump at night cos if bb wakes up i usually latch... but nowadays she's been able to last through the nite sometimes esp when we give her a late feed... can u advice if this is workable or i should pump at night too?

Mini
Your boy rejected FM ah? I'm going to start once my girl reaches 1, hope she doesn't reject too. But I think the 1 yr old milk tastes better, cos all of them have added sugar.

Blessed
Can share how you managed to get your bb to sleep through the night? I'm having probs having to latch on every time she wakes up, think not good for her sleep too, but just too soft hearted to let her cry it out.

Jen
I think can pump till you get let down then more or less emptied breasts. When I first went back to work, also pumped at those timings too. Now pump once at 11 then another at 4 plus. Planning to drop to just once at lunch soon.

Hi jen, I only manage to pump abt 3oz per pumping session nowadays. You shd be able to maintain your ss if you pump abt 3 times in office. I not sure if you still got to pump at nite leh. I'm still waiting for blessed's reply on this.