Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi mini, very discouraging to hear of comments like "you no bm for bb, is it?" I got these comments from hubby when I fell ill last 2 weeks. It really made me feel like giving up bfg. But I still persevere till today lah.

Hi jen, I think my milk ss comes back cos I tandem pump during the period when I fell sick and got menses.

giggler
indeed its so discouraging when u hear ppl make such comments .. another comment i dun like is: "bb will not be full after drinking bm (ren nai chi bu bao)" .. i prefer to correct this comment with: "bm is easily digestable so need to feed bb at shorter intervals"

my MIL always make the first comment ..
.. nowadays, she dun dare to say my bm not enough liao coz there was once when she saw me preparing bb's 5oz of EBM and she presumed its accumulated from a few sessions of pumping (see me no up) .. i proudly told her its from a session and i hv been pumping enough or even more for bb per session now .. hehe ..

anyway, i realised she has also been telling ppl tt her grandson is still drinking bm and his meat is so firm .. she actually says now tt bm is good .. *hahaha*

i made it past the 3 mths liao, thanks to all of you ..
.. but, think i will be stopping at 4th mth lah coz i wun be able to pump during CNY and latching on is difficult at MIL's place and it will be very crowded with relatives and kids .. hmm, me satisfied tt i made it past 3mths but if my ss drop by 4th mth, i wun salvage it already .. but, i will definitely do better for my second bb ..

Hi littleprince,similar thing happened to me too. Initially, my mom and mil kept making the comments that bm not enuf for bb. So I educated them that bm is easily digestible and also bb goes thru a stage called growth spurt. And after one mth, they changed their minds and decided that bm is good for bb cos my gal doubled her weight in the first mth. Think she's so ba and grow so big in size that helped me to convince her grandma that bm is good afterall.

Congrats to you that you've made it for the past 3 mths!!!

Giggler
I also din dare to do anything to my hair until I read the article. But personally, I still wun do rebonding/coloring when I am pregnant, even if gynae says its safe, just to be on the safe side.
I had my rebonding done at a neighbourhood salon at aljunied. Had it done there coz its at my P's shop, more convenient for me to leave Ivan there with them.
B4 tt, I used to do it at a salon at tampines, tt one is much better.

Mini
I usually latch my boy on when he wants to sleep, or when he ask for "nen nen". My boy is ok if I latch him on at hm, in the rm, with doors closed. At other times, he can be quite restless, he will latch on/off to look ard.

Mini/giggler/littleprince
My MIL std qns everytime we visit her is "Wow, bb hv grown so much. U still got enuff bm for him meh?" I am kinda of used to her qns, though still quite unhappy when she ask. I think once I ans her if not enuff bm, how come u say he has grown a lot. She smiled back at me, but she still continue to make the same comment.
For me, after I got past the initial 6 wks, bf hv been a lot easier. Wanted to give up in the initial wks, it was hubby who told me to press on and I am glad I did.

Giggler
Even though my boy big in size, my MIL still continue to make the same comment tt my bm is not enuff. Sometimes, she will go on and says she used to hv a lot of bm, got engorgment all the time. I used to be quite affected by her comments, since my ss not really a lot.

Hi desert, I took half-day leave to do my rebonding cos my mom is looking after my gal at that time. My hubby got different views as yours. He not very encouraging after my milk dipped last few weeks. Sigh. For my case, both my mil and mom didn't bf their kids so they really ignorance with regards to this aspect. Luckily, I read up on my own during my preggie days. At least, I know the facts of bfg so I won't be affected by their remarks. And I even educate them on bfg.

seems like everyone's MIL make the same comment. My MIL initially did not think that BM is good and commented that FM is also as good. Only until she saw my fren's boy and saw on TV the benefit of BM , then she ask me to feed more.

Anyone on TBF? For first two weeks, do u wake up in the middle of the night to feed? Or do you have enough to express for few feeds at night?
Do you engorge every 2 hours, just in time to feed the bb? if so, when you are not engorged, how to pump milk out?

Hi all, after 8+ mths of expressing .. i think i am going to stop expressing after 31Dec2004 ...

However, i wish to continue to let my boy latch on during morning and before he sleeps or even middle of the night ..

currently i am still expressing once a day @ 1pm, i am not sure if i stop this pumping session will this affect my current supply ??

HI aloe,

i think it will affect ur supply. coz recent few weeks i m terribly busy...so i stop expressing in the day. only latch on my gal morning night n night feds...wah my supply drop tremendously. so last few days i try to express 1x in the afternoon. nx week onwards, i will express 2x again

hi <font color="0000ff">desert</font>,

hehe my MIL too!! std qn everytime we meet her "Huh!! she still drink BM??!! how come dont give her FM? when then give her FM?"...sian man, everytime must say the same thing. i used to be very bothered, now i pretend i nvr hear. got once she met my mum n make the same comments, so my mum reply "aiyo, got too much BM leh" hehehe

hi <font color="0077aa">melody</font>,

my gal is 1yr old liao, few mths back her intake drop alot...in the day while i m at work she drink abt 300ml in total only.

hi <font color="ff6000">moon</font>

i m very interested in the qn u ask in a new thread. abt preggie mum still bf'g. my gal is 1 yr old already n i m considering trying for 2nd kid in few mths time... but i dun wish to wean her too.... wonder how.

actually i still cant decide, wld like to hv 2nd kid faster, on other hand terrified of the preg/labour process

blessed
for me, I am not terrified of preg/labour process, in fact I enjoy my preg/labour time. I am not thinking of having 2nd kid at the moment as I am more terrified of confinement, sleepless night, BF babies etc... maybe I am not so motherly so the thought of having to go through again all the things with arrival of newborn bb puts me off. More importantly, I have problem of getting a caregiver to look after the newborn and the older kid.

Hi mngo, I'm tbfg my bb. I wake up in the middle of the nite to feed bb until now. I didn't express during the first 2 weeks. I don't get engorged every 2 hrs leh. I just feed when my bb cries.

Hi aloe, I guess it'll affect your ss cos it's an indication that you don't need that much milk to your body mah.

Hi blessed, hahaha. I like your mom's reply. I think you still can bf even when you preggie rite?

Hi Jas, same as you. I not afraid of preg/labour time. I'm terrified of Confinement! Don't think I got the guts to go thru that one mth again.

thanx giggler and mini... i think i will continue to tandem pump during 2 feeds of the day... can pump about 100ml each time... is it too little? cos the other breast let down really very fast and a lot of BM is wasted if i dun pump or collect... but i find it veli mah fan to sterilize the pump everytime i use leh...

jen,
how long is the interval between each feed? 100ml is indeed alot. last time i only get ard 60ml for 3hrs interval when tandem pump. u r fortunate to have so much milk.

aloe,
y u decided to stop expressing? when do u intend to stop bf? so ur boy ok with drinking fm from bottle? my boy reject drinking milk from bottle. so now v hard to intro fm to him.

giggler, blessed,
think ss will b affected greatly if pregnant since there will b some hormones change. heard of ppl say once they get pregnant milk will decrease to v little. or mayb it is dependent on ppl?

desert,
have to play with my boy to distract him when drink milk in the day. just now he drank abit n want to crawl away. then played with him n he still take in more. MIL always commented he seem to forget abt milk liao.

Jen and junior
what pump are u using? I am using the NUK electric pump, everytime pump out very little, hope not because i have not enough milk. I latch on my baby 24 hrs..every 2 hrs or so..

mini, interval between each feed is about 1.5 to 2 hours... i will leak quite badly if i dun feed her on time or if she oversleep and dun feed... previously i had to change clothes about 3 times everyday...

emma, i'm using avent isis manual currently... still thinking whether or not to get an electric pump when i go back to work... i keep a record whenever i latch her on and for how long... average she latches about 10 times a day... sometimes less, sometimes more... i get very tired cos almost all the time she wants to latch... but i'm happy she is sucking well...

hi blessed
now my supply also drop tremendously, due to laziness i only pump 1/day instead of 2X/day since last week.

hi mini,

now my boy getting better on drinking from bottle ... at least sometimes he is willing to drink from bottle without force especially when i feed him.

When i feed him with bottle he will cry, but i just have to ignore and continue to put the teat into his mouth ..(like fighting with him). After a while, he will realise that he can only take milk from the bottle and he will start to drink .. he will normally drink 80-100 ml and he will start to put the teat away. So i will stop feeding and keep the FM warm, wait for 15 to 20 mins later to feed again .. normally he will drink another 60-90 ml. But if he scream, i normally will give in and BF him ..

I think babies are OK with the taste of FM, as i do not mix FM with EBM to feed him ... I feel heart pain if he did not finish that bottle of EBM/FM milk ...

i feel like stop expressing as i sometimes feel very tired of bring all the "equipment" with me ... but i do not wish to stop bf .. that's why i will still want to continue bf him @ nite/morning/mid-nite

just now i was talking to one of my colleague .. i suddenly feel vy heart pain on the ideal of stop expressing ...

Hi jen, 100ml per session is considered quite a lot leh. I only managed to express the max 60ml each time. You really got good ss. Keep it up and don't give up!

Hi mini, I also only managed to get max 60ml last time. But there's pple who managed to continue bfg though preggie rite? You boi getting "hong sim"?

Hi Emma, I'm using Ameda dual pump. I think pump plays an impt part in pumping leh.

emma
I used to use Avent ISIS manual and Medela mini dual electric pump.

aloe
It's a matter of time either sooner or later to stop BF. So it's up to you ultimately, however once you have decided, don't look back and move on.

Hi <font color="ff0000">Jastan</font>

ya i think alot of pp enjoy preg but not the look after part when bb arrive. i suffer almost 9mths MS so super trrified of preg loh. i can understand the caregiving part... very headache! my mum looking after my gal..so my options r
1)send her to school/childcare if i hv 2nd n my mum look after the 2nd.
2) get a maid to help my mum with hsework n stuff n my mum look after the 2 kids...my dad is retired so can help too
3) be a SAHM

i m quite sure i want to hv 2 kids, so thinking faster, so can close shop haha.

hi <font color="119911">giggler</font>

ya the 1 mth is terrible. i had mine at my in laws' n my mum come everyday to help look after my bb n cook for me. she will go home around 5pm+ then 7pm+ my hb will rush home to help me with bb.
hse work done by my mil maid. i also think confinement is a torture, but i very "1 kind", will insist my way. but if i hv 2nd, will b at my own home... more freedom to do wat i like. ooh n i already found out from a chinese physician that confinement can bath lah, dun even need the herbs, juz use warm water. told my mum liao...so nx confinement will be easier...n without my MIL hahaha.

hi <font color="0000ff">mini</font>

u r right preg ss will decrease alot n milk taste funny...i hv a friend preg n bf'g... everything is fine for her

hi <font color="0077aa">emma</font>

i m using medela PIS...really a good pump loh. i used to use Avent ISIS during 1st mth, cannot b compared to PIS lah. PIS is abt $599, i know mum&amp;babes got 20% sometimes, if u interested, can call them to ask. i got collegues using medela mini elect (dou pump)..heard quite good too, abit noisy. ooh but my good friend uses Avent ISIS for 2 yrs liao n she is happy with it!

giggler, i pump at the same time bfg her mah... that's why a lot... isn't it? tot tandem pump sure more than usual? if i solely pump, dunno if can get 60ml or not leh... =P

when using electric pump, any discomfort?

Giggler, your ameda pump is it the lactactine(not sure spelling). how much and when did u get it?

giggler,
yar lor my boy v "hong sim". he started to get hong sim when 4mths old. just tat sometimes it will get better but sometimes just get worse. when i look at him i feel he is thin thin leh. but dunno how can fatten him esp so hong sim to eat n drink.

emma,
i m also using tat ameda pump the one u mentioned. i also feel good pump is impt. somemore we have limited time to express milk in office so will want to use one tat is efficient. cant imagine the whole lunch time burnt to express milk. when using electric pump only need 15min.

jen,
u only tandem pump from 1 br at each feed right? yar i only got 60ml max.

Hi Jen,

Usual advise is don't pull baby away until he has enough and let go the breast himself. However this could sometimes mean leting baby latch on for half hour or more and can be very tiring for mom. So for practical reason, once baby stop sucking you can slowly pull him away. Hold the baby for 5-10 minutes before putting him on the cot.

The trick to put baby on the cot without waking him up, while holding the baby, press your own chest against the baby's body while you put him down slowly. To calm baby down you can place your hand on his chest with a little pressure.

You are the lucky one that can experience the let-down, the aching pain, this is very natural and no cause for alarm.

Tandem pumping is good to up your milk supply. The body is tricked to think that you are feeding a twin and thus produce more milk to meet the demand. If you are comfortable to let your baby feed from one breast each time, you can continue doing so.

mom2004

Hi mngo,

Congrat for taking the decision to total breast feed your baby. Not many is able to do so.

TBF need a lot of hardwork in the begining. Baby will demand to latch on all the time and you have to also feed baby at night. Day feed may come to a routine (eg 2-3hourly) when baby gets older. For night feed usually 2 - 3 times. You can try last feeding your baby at 10pm and the night feed will begin 1am, 4am and the next one will be around 7am.

If you are thinking of expressing out milk in daytime to supply for night feed then how are you going to clear your breast at night? You will then need to pump it out. Why then not let baby have fresh milk?

Just a small information. The nutrients in the breast milk is 100% when baby get directly from the breast. Nutrients decreases when you pump out and leave it in the fridge. The longer you leave it out there, the more nutrients are lost.

Milk replenishes all the time even when baby is sucking. This means that at any time you are able to pump out milk, it is a matter of more or less.

As i said that TBF needs alot of hardwork in the begining, this will definitely get easier after awhile and i assure you that it is a very satisfying experience both for mom and baby.

Always think of your baby when you are tired and thinking of giving up.

mom2004

my bb is not on TBF, hope to give her more BM
i latch her on directly every morning &amp; evening to hv some BM ... or even sometimes when she dun seem to be full with her FM
i saw her sucking and she falls asleep aft 5-10mins..
so far the only one time whereby she dun drink FM immediately is after latching on my 2 breasts for 1 hr in total..

am juz wondering if bbs will stop suckling if there's isnt any milk for them or will they cont' to suckle for comfort?

btw, when i pump now, i only get 20ml leh
so realli wonder when bb drinks directly, will she get more than 20ml?

another thing, how long to latch bb on 1 breast?

Blessed/Jas
I think I am the opp, dun like pregnancy, giving birth but I like looking after. But provided the 2nd one is a gal, cannot imagine hving 2 boys at hm.

Blessed
haha...seems like all of us got MIL problem on bf. Ya..I think I only replied her once, the other times, I just kept quiet and pretend I nvr hear.
My initial plan was to try for 2nd one when Ivan is one. Now, put on hold, coz I dun want to wean him off because I am pregnant. I want him to wean off b4 I get pregnant.
Ya..can bf when u are pregnant, I read the bk on tandem nursing b4. But a lot depends on ur body, some pp, the milk ss will reduce a lot when pregnant, so not feasible.

Giggler
Maybe I nvr express out, so hubby nothing to see, so he told me to continue. haha..I think the main reason my hubby is supportive is because he himself was bf until 3 and Mrs Wong told him a lot of benefits of bf during the antenatal class. I still remembered he was full of qns on bf for Mrs Wong just b4 my discharge from hospital.

Blessed/Giggler
My MIL did bf her children, but she is still ignorant, coz she always says she got a lot of milk, always get engorgement, tt's why her bbs will be full after taking bm. She used to say she thinks I dun hv enuff bm, so bb will be hungry after taking my bm. So fed up with her tt time, felt like saying if I dun hv enuff milk for him, then how come he has grown? I used to be quite affected by her, coz my ss all along not a lot. Now, I just tell myself as long as my ss is enuff for my boy's dd, dun hv to bother whether got a lot or not.
And though she bf b4, she dun think bm is beneficial, she thinks fm is better, keep on telling me to feed him formula.

Mini
When u feed ur boy, are u talking abt feeding EBM thro the bottle or direct latch??
I will stop feeding my boy if he latch on/off.

Gd morning mummies...

MIL
aiyo...my MIL also negative towards Breastfeeding ..the worse is all her children is formula fed ...dat why she dun noe what is the benefits of BM...keep asking me to give Forumla.
I dread to go there every weekend to listen her comments on this and that.....
somemore whenver Ryan cry, both in laws first reaction is Ryan is hungry...so irriating

I really wish to ask my husband to bring Ryan there while I go shopping...but me "fan xin bu xia" to leave Ryan there with my husband and in laws cause i dun think they can handle him ...

hi <font color="0000ff">desert</font>,

yes i m like u, dun enjoy preg but prefer the taking care part. actually its good if we try for 2nd when 1st child is 1yr old. but its difficult for them to auto wean off leh, tt's y i contemplating tandem nursing coz i dun want to wean my gal prematurely, yet thinking of hving 2nd one closer in age.....aiyo, scratch head haha.

haha cannot confirm 2nd one will b gal lah, got to "gamble" abit hehe. is ur hb in favour of hving 2nd kid? my hb is!! infact if i m willing, he wants more than 2, but i want to stop at 2.

hi <font color="0000ff">desert</font>/ <font color="119911">adeline</font>

ya loh, dun know wat's with our MILs...my hb say coz during their generation, they r made to believe BF is for the poor, the more well to do can afford FM, which is deemed as superior to BM. my MIL too, always ask when going to give my gal FM. my hb say if he hears it again, he will ask her is it she wants to sponsor hahaha

thanx mom2004... i think i will only tandem pump once everyday... cos i find that i will leak quite a lot if bb dun wake up in time for feed... gets very uncomfortable, sticky and wet for me... so maybe dun pump so much... yesterday i pump 3 times... at night when bb din wake up in time, i feel quite engorge... sian... so maybe dun stimulate breasts too much now...

chihiro,
how many weeks is your baby? if the bb suckles, there will be milk coming out. If you pump , i guess pump suction is different from the baby sucking, thus , less milk. Guess you have to latch your baby more often.

I am also on PBF, though i wish to be on TBF but sometimes circumstances dun permit. That's why. And my supply not very enough also.

Anyone using manual pump? it takes me 30 mins to 45 mins to pump and empty my breast, and supply is still not much. Does it mean the longer we pump, the more milk we have?

if we express the milk on diff days can we mix the milk together to feed the baby? I put the milk in the freezer.
I collect milk from the other breast while feeding my baby. wonder can i still use the same container with the previous milk in the day and store the milk?

Emma,
for my case, i do mix the milk, but is from the same day, just different timing. and my milk is normally stored at lower compartment.

Hi mom2004
Thank you. I will take note. At least now I am better.

Hi mini/desert
My boy also sometimes yours. Always look around when I bf him. He is ok in his own house or familiar place. When unfamiliar, he will look here and there unless he is really very tired and hungry.

hi mini
Your bb still rejects the bottle? you are not working right?

Hi blessed
You are planning for second one already. Wonder have your period come back? Mine no where to be seen. So even plan for second one also cannot. I also crack head, if wait for him to wean himself off I think got to wait very long. I think bf through preg is not going to be easy.

Hi desert
You are waiting Ivan to wean himself off. I was thinking about that too but not sure when will this happen as he is so attached to the breast. Does Ivan drink from bottle? When are you going back to work?

moon

Adeline
Aiyoh, MIL problem I can go on and on. Somehow got generation gap and communication gap with her. So, most of the time, I choose to keep quiet. Tt time she kept on wanting to feed my boy fried fd, says the fd I give him no seasoning, he wun like. Really glad she's not the one looking after him. Yup, my MIL also always tell me he is hungry whenever he cries. H/w, she is wrong loh, coz my boy is those kind who wun cry when he is hungry, only cry when he is sleepy.

Blessed
Yup, My MIL says she bf tt time coz no money to buy formula. Tt's why she thinks formula is more superior. No pt educatiing her, coz she thinks she knows everyting abt taking care of children.

Yup, difficult to auto wean, so I will drop some day feeds when he turns 14-15 mths, and continue with the rest of the feeds for as long as he wants or when there is ss.
Does Lea still pump in the day or she only bf morning and nite??
I dun think I want to try tandem nursing, maybe keep tt as a last resort. My current plan is to try for 2nd one when my boy is ard 1.5 to 2 yrs old. Dunno whether I will change my mind again. Ur hubby likes kids ah?? My hubby only wants 2, he says 1 is too little, 3 too many.
Moon
I am going back to wk after june hols. My menses also not here yet. H/w, menses not here still can try for 2nd one, just tt the chances not tt high. I am going to start some formula when my boy turns one. I intend to drop the day feeds when my boy is ard 14-15 mths, then if my ss is still enuff for morning and nite feeds, and my boy still wants, I will continue. If not, maybe will stop bf.
My boy still dun take the bottle, hv to feed by cup.

<font color="ff6000">mngo</font>,

i used to use avent isis for 1mth, yes i must say u must pump for longer time. after the first let down, continue pumping even if no milk comes out, u'll stimulate another let down...so dun give up if u dun see milk, continue pumping.

<font color="ff0000">moon</font> &amp; <font color="0000ff">desert</font>

haha i talk too soon leh, juz couple weeks ago tell the mummies here i enjoying period free days, then on my gal 1st bday party my menses return! quite upset loh, coz i think hving menses so troublesome!

so i juz had my 1st menses. like i say i 1/2 hearted loh try for 2nd... got pros n con...so now see which can convince me more haa. i read average menses will ret 14-16mths...sometimes even longer.

my col intro her boy FM around 10-12mths while she's at work. with the drop in bf, her menses ret...then immed she got preg (planned for)!!

i suspected my menses going to ret coz lately i was very very busy...so pump less, thus ss drop alot... so i had a feeling my menses will ret with the decrease in ss (dun know got logic or not? haha)

yah Lea still pump in the ofc. she started her boy on 1 FM feed when he is abt 18mths... now he is on 2 FM feed, 1 in the day n 1 night time. she mention she going to stop pumping soon. also her boy showing signs of weaning.

ya my hb likes more...hmm i not sure if he loves kids so much!

wah desert, u take so long no pay leave... nice to look after bb ownself! who is going to look after ur boy when u ret to work?

Hi desert and blessed
It seems that we all are about in the same boat. Desert, your menses came back. You can plan for second one already. Does your gal drink from bottle? Lea's son showing signs of weaning. How to see these signs?

Desert
You mean no menses come back also can get preg? I thought won't cos no ovulation? You feed your boy with cup or spoon? Very troublesome. Very slow also, sometimes will blow out. He doesn't drink a lot of water too. How about your boy, does he drink a lot of wtaer.
Blessed , how about your gal , does she like water?
Desert
Are you the one who mentioned in the moms' thread that you feed your boy with the food that you all are eating? What do you cook for him?

moon

hey gals, i was wondering if there were any problems getting bb to take the bottle after 1 month of latching? currently, my gal is on TBF, no bottles, strictly latching only... kind of worried she rejects the bottle later on... i'm planning to intro the bottle to her after her first month... pls advice...

also, i realised after my gal finish and release the nipple after she drink (can range from 10 - 20 mins), she will doze for a while... maybe after 5 mins she wake up, will cry again... when i try to latch her again, she will fuss around the nipple and cry... fuss around nipple means she will suck a bit and let go for a few times and make some buay song noises (moving, panting and wailing)... unless i force her to stay at the breast with my hand... and she's quite strong so sometimes i force, she wails too... i dunno what to do...

thirdly, sometimes after she comes off the nipple, she sleeps well... but she only latch like 10 mins on one breast? i feel so full that i have to pump out... else i will leak quite badly... and when i pump, i can get 100ml from both sides!! now my freezer is almost full wif EBM leow and she haven't started on bottle!! i wonder if she's drinking enough?

lastly, i realise that when pumping, one side of my breast flows quite well and can pump about 80 -100ml but the other, after pumping a while, there seems to be no more milk? i'm wondering if i am emptying that breast sufficiently?

jen

if you intend to intro her bottle after 1 month, will you still be latching your gal? this is cos some bb after exposed to bottle cant latch well, or rather do not want to latch, unless the bb is agreeable to both methods, without getting confused.

Try to wake your baby up when she's asleep. i normally let my boy latch for quite sometime, abt half an hour and ensure he's soundly asleep before unlatching him. Dont worry about your gal not having enough milk, so long as she's progressing and putting on weight well.

for the breast which "has no milk", try to massage it, you will see the flow. and also try to latch the baby to the breast that has less milk.

Hi jen, I got more if I tandem pump too. I used this method to help me to incr my milk ss. I started intro milk bottle to my gal when she was abt 3weeks old. Luckily, shes ok with both bottle and my breasts. I heard of stories that if you start intro bottle too late, your bb may not get used leh. Maybe you shd wake her up if she let go of your breast after she sucks for only 10min? I think you can stop tandem pumping now since you already got so much milk ss.

Hi Emma, I got the Ameda dual pump at $260, got it from the dealer. My fren just got from him last mth but she paid for $280. Cos the Euro has appreciated.

Hi mini, my gal also very hong sim recently. She doesnt want to drink milk if someone is talking nearby. I also used only 15min each pumping session.

Hi mom2004, are u also tbfg your bb? How old is your bb now?

Hi chihiro, how old is your bb now? I usu let my gal sucks abt 15min per breast each time.

Hi desert, I guess all mils are the same lah. So youll wean Ivan off before you try for No.2? You set any target to wean him off?

Hi Adeline, you only got to see your in-laws once a week, you really cant tahan? Im facing my mil 24hrs a day leh. And imagine she made this comment everytime bb cried during my confinement. Im surprised that I didnt get depression during that period.

Hi blessed, so good that your hubby is supportive of u and even help you to think of solution to tackle your mil. My hubby also join in their force and keeps asking me when Im going to give Vane fm. Sigh My menses ret when my gal was 5mths leh. A lot earlier than you.

Hi mngo, what pump you using?

Hi Emma, I dont mix the milk from different days in one bottle. I usu label the bottles according to dates so that I can keep track the expiry date of the milk if I got extra.

Hi Jen,
i intro avent bottle to my boy when he was 5wks old. he cried n fussed n refused to drink. my MIL also tried to make him drink n he just refused. cried for quite long(15-30min) n finally drank. then we stop giving bottle for 1-2wks. when re-introduce bottle to him he again fussed n cried. after a few days he just got used to bottle. then got one stage he reject bottle so i tot he reject avent teat. bot NUK one to let him try. who knows he just cry n cry n refused to drink coz it is different. so we changed back to avent again. so it really depends. some babies are ok with brs or bottle but some just have special preference for one.

Hi mngo, I'm using Avent manual pump too. I'll put the Ameda pump in ofc and use the manual pump at home. I think the plastic that is placed on the funnel of the manual pump help in achieving let-down. Do u think so?

Hi mini, I guess Vane is quite chin chai one. She quite ok with anything. Me now starts to worry that my ss will dip again next week when menses is here. Now, trying to store up milk but only managed to store 3 bottles which is only enuf for one day's feed. Sigh........

Blessed
Its true tt if ur ss decrease, menses might rtn. I've read tt menses usually rtn when bb starts on solids, coz they will decrease their milk intake. Hmm, maybe its a sign tt u shd try for 2nd one. Haha.

I dun want to pump when I rtn to work. So, I intend to drop off the day feeds and if my ss is ok and Ivan still wants the morning and nite feeds, I will continue.
When I rtn to wk, I intend to put him in half day playgp. My mum will look after him when he is back from playgp.

Moon
Not me lah, blessed's menses rtn. So far, my menses still not back yet. No menses, still got ovulation, if I nvr remember wrongly.
Yup, cup feed quite troublesome and he does not drink much. My boy will push the cup away or refuse to swallow when he dun want.

Dun think its me who mentioned I am feeding my boy with the fd I am eating. I am feeding him white/brown rice for dinner now, with meat and veg. We still dun put any seasoning into his fd. For outside fd, we just started to give him some pasta, tofu, noodles. We usually put some water into the small bowl to wash away the sauce 1st.

Giggler
I hope to wean him off b4 I start no. 2. Yup, I intend to drop the day feeds when he is ard 14-15 mths. Then, if there is still ss and he still wants, maybe will continue with morning and nite feeds. I dun intend to pump when I rtn to wk, so hopefully he can wean off b4 that.

Hi desert
how are you going to feed your boy with formuala then? Is like so hard right? Have you started giving him formula? What brand are you giving him?

moon