Breastfeeding Support Group

Girl/mini,
hiaz...i dun know when i wanna stop...initially wanted to bf till she is 1 yr-old..but feel very restricted lor...cant go out long hours w/o bringing zoie...and oso cos i am not prepared for expressing on the go...did not get necessary stuff...

hi soyabean,

me try to let her suckle whenever it's time for feeds..... i force her to suckle till she yells badly then i cup feed her with formula milk..... i dun even see colostrum coming out of my breasts! my delivery was induced..... does that affect milk supply in the sense that colostrum adn milk wil come later coz the delivery was induced?

Giggler & Melody,

I went pioneer mall again yesterday. Not really dirty yesterday and Giant is still not opened

Hi Melody,

Ya..love the onsen too. Went to one onsen hotel before, and they had the open air onsen and it was winter..very shiok. Can't remember where it was, maybe somewhere in Kyoto.

Hi Mini,
Hah..my experience with Jap company was different. Generally they are ok, but still got double standards lah...they treat their own people better. Very strange, they like to compete who work later, and many times, it's past midnight. They got report every month on the time they check in and out.

Hi Stylobb,
A lot of wedding dinners these 2 months. Another one next week. Dunno whether to bring baby along. The last time I brought he was a bit scared when people yum seng. I tried to cover his ears, but sometimes the yum seng comes quite sudden, no time.

Hi Giggler,
I started my boy on brown rice on weekend. Made him some carrot puree also. Didn't dare to give him too much of carrot. just try try first. It's not difficult preparing puree..much cheaper than getting those Heinz bottles. Think I'll try more variety over the weekends. Quite fun.

Hi Chantelle,
Congrats. What you're facing was a common problem among us too. Dun worry, things will get better when you get more experienced. You just need to get through this difficult part. Just keep pumping and let baby suckle. Dun give up.

Masshiro/Mini
was in a jap firm for 6 mths...same experience as Masshiro, wats worse is tat the locals oso stay very late as the jap counterpart, some even come back on weekends..cannot tahan even thou tried very hard too, so left b4 confirmation...

QSG, maybe now the cleaning co got more helpers there? waiting for the GIANT to open too..

masshiro, jus to inform, but u might ve know already la...too much carrot, bb skin colour ll reflect yellowish, nothing to be alarm, jus look more yellow-tone

stylobb/masshiro, i brought my gal to a wedding dinner in nov, the dinner got invite ppl to sing/dance...so she very entertained by the noise at first, but towards 10+, gets cranky but cannot sleep
the moment goes in car, sleep...

Hi Melody,
Thanks. That's why I didn't dare to feed too much carrot to my baby. Maybe I'll try broccoli this weekend.

Haha..your girl likes the performance, my boy likes the photo presentation. But he got a bit upset when he got passed around from relative to relative..I really headache how to make him sleep in car. Unlike Stylobb's Jesse who can doze off in car, my baby usually quite active. It's tough trying to entertain him in the car. I give him baby stuff to play and bite but he not interested. He only interested to bite my handbag, carseat, or the window screen. headache!!

melody_03/mini
thanks for the info of F&E in Japan.. sounds quite okay to F&E but I got no confident whether can I do it or not. Good to work with Japanese? I thought it's tough coz they demand quite high right?

chantelle_tay
whichever method of delivery, induced or not does not affect the ss. Once the bb is out, the hormones in the body will signal the brain to produce the colostrum and milk. Maybe why don't you try to let bb sucks when it's not her feed time, so that she will not get cranky even if not milk. Alternatively, you try to pump out.

masshiro
when I bring my boy to wedding dinner, I will faster carry him out of the banquet just before the yum seng start. so far it's okay coz he's outside can't hear the loud noise.

mini
thks, the blocked ducts are gone ..

desert
i didn't latch on tt nite when the blocked ducts were very jialat coz very painful, so let hubby settle bb while i go to shower and try clearing the ducts ..

soyabean
i also dunno abt the intake for fenugreek but this was the amt instructed by GNC .. dun dare to take more in case affect rhyan leh .. anyway, i stopped taking for a few days last wk coz too busy with work till i forgot .. then was on leave last Fri and then wkend, didn't hv time to pump as went out so only pump 3x for 3 days .. tdy ss dropped .. will hv to take fenugreek back again and hope to increase ss ..

Mini
Perhaps ss less when pumping cos harder to get let down? Find that I don't get let down all the time nowadays

Melody
I can imagine how tied down you feel.... I realised recently that I hardly have any time on my own anymore... That's why I'm kind of looking forward to ending BF

Chantelle
I think I may know you.... My girl is Elizabeth...
Your ss in yet? Can try to pump regularly if your girl is not suckling well. Every 2-3 hours try to pump for 3 cycles of 5 mins per side
Also try to eat lots of fish/ green papaya soup

Supplementing with FM is perfectly okay... Don't be too stressed up with BF, ok?

littleprince...
i didnt follow gnc's dosage.... i follow wat i read fr internet... i took for a few days... my ss went up.... but i think cld be due to other factors as well. cos my mum has been mkg me papaya-fishbone soup... and papaya-peanut soup... the fishbone soup is reali yucky...
and my DYM jus finish... so i think ss started going up again. but wat i'm thankful is my ss has gone back to the level b4 i had my last menses...

chantelle....
masshiro and girl is rite...
and yup.... dun b too stressed on bf... supplementing wif FM is not the end of the world.

chantelle,
my bb oso induced, and in the first month, when ss still not stable, i supplement with FM too..

Girl, ya lor...cos now she can be with my mom, no longer so "sticky" so got more freedom to go out, but if still bfg, kinda of troublesome...

girl
i agree with u, no time of our own coz all the time, we are always expressing bm etc .. haiz .. by the time i go to bed, my hubby and bb are in dreamland already ..

soyabean
then how many capsules did u take a day? any side effect on yr bb? i take the fish papaya soup 2x a mth, very yucky .. i drink at one shot without breathing coz cannot tahan the taste ..

littleprince...
i took 4 pills each time, 3 times a day. better to take after u pump cos boobs empty liao. no side effects on my boi. poo and all as per normal. well, my mum says she will cook the soup for me every week.... *faint*

chantelle
Were you the one who asked about short nipples? Cos I saw this chicco brand pump which is supposedly used to 'pull' the nipple out...

masshiro
The wedding dinner was ok, cos only 10 tables in the hotel...but we were afraid jesse will make noise since his voice can be quite loud and the setting was so cosy in the small room. Thankfully he was ok, got carried by some aunt too but we did not stay till the end cos he had refused to take his afternoon nap and we had planned to go before the last dish.

melody
Dun think of b/feeding as troublesome, think of it as a privilege you are giving to your gal...like my doc friend said, that is only six months - twelve months of worthy sacrifice you can give to your child. Even if you have money also cannot buy.

Chantelle
wooof here ...

Like I told u I also have difficulties latching because of short nipples, My BB was crying whenever she come near my breast on the first 2 days at home.

I have tried changing position which helps a little, cause whenever in same position BB cry even before latch.

soyabean
wow .. will 12 pills a day be too much? .. do u know of anyone else who hv tried the same method?

my ss really dropping, my last pump last nite only gave me 90ml instead of the usual at least 120ml .. had to wake up at 2am to pump again and got 100ml .. then this am at 5.30am, got abt 80ml only .. haiz .. now so shacked at work ..

Hi everyone! long time no see! My boy is almost 8 months now and i'm still breastfeeding. Initially the plan was 6 mths now eyeing 1 year. He's still not sleeping through the night. I think as long as I breastfeed the problem will persists. Sigh...anyway, just wanted to pop in to say hi to all mummies. And to new mummies who are tying to bf, persevere! The sacriface is worth it.

hi, mummies who are BF... what are the food to avoid (during and after confinement)?? can PM me to tell me pls... cos today very busy... gotta clear work before leaving for ML... thanks!! =P

littleprince...
no... i dun think 12 is alot... its recommended to take a dosage of 6g a day... each pill oni 500mg.
its easy to keep worrying abt ss low ss low when pumping... it'll even escalate these thoughts psychologically when u see not much ss.... so try to relax while pumping... watch tv or somethg while pumping... divert ur attention away fr the pump.

hi mya...
guess its like dat... once u start, u dun wanna stop? hehe....

Melody
U find it troublesome to bf? I like bf, coz I like the quiet moment with my boy. Its the only time my hyperactive boy will lie down quietly with me and its a gd way to get him to sleep. But the only minus pt is tt he still does not learn to sleep thro the nite on his own. But I dun know whether I shd stop after one yr, coz the nutritional aspect of bm is not so gd after one yr.

Soyabean/littleprince
Are u all refering to the GNC funugreek pills? Need to take 12 a day?? Aiyoh, quite expensive leh. I only take one per day, on top of my multivitamins and calcium pills. Actually I dunno whether got any effect, just take to be safe.

desert...
i oni took one bottle... after i finish, didnt replenish liao... cos i read fr the net dat once ss increase after tkg, can stop... dun need to continue liao.
for me, no side effects.

soyabean
do u recall how long it took for u to see the effect after starting on the huge qty?

i got this info fm this website (http://www.breastfeeding.com/reading_room/herbs.html)
--------------------------------------------------------------
Fenugreek probably has little effect on milk supply until a mother takes large amounts of (about three capsules, three times per day, but this varies from pill-to-pill) and her milk and urine begin to smell like maple syrup, though no clinical trials have been conducted to prove or disprove this relationship. When a mother takes large quantities of fenugreek, the baby begins to smell like maple syrup too, and some babies have been misdiagnosed as having "maple syrup urine disease," a serious metabolic disorder. Another danger associated with fenugreek is that the herb is related to peanuts, the food most likely to cause an allergy. The possibility of an allergic reaction in a baby is quite high, and many cases of colic, stomach upset, and diarrhea have been reported among babies whose mothers take fenugreek.
--------------------------------------------------------------

soyabean
thks .. just now went to express, amt only so-so leh .. haiz, looks like i got to work harder again and cannot slack anymore like 3 days in a row decrease pumping ..

soyabean
yalor, i tend to miss pumping sessions during wkends or when hubby and i are on leave coz we will bring bb out and no opportunity for me to pump unless we go MIL's place ..

i am going to be away fm office for 5 days next wk and looks like going to miss pumping sessions liao, maybe got to wake up at nite to pump in order to make up for it ..

Hi Jas, Stylobb,
Think will bring him to wedding dinner next week. The lesson I learnt is, must let him wear warm clothings cos can get quite cold. BTW, I just went over to the nepia office and got myself another 4 packs of nepia. Carried them back to office. People all looking at me, thinking got big promotion is it. Quite embarassing.

Hi Littleprince,
I think you shouldn't stress yourself and tire yourself too much. You shud get enuf rest also if not your supply will be affected.

Hi desert,
I also enjoy latching on, esp at night. More convenient. But I dun like the pumping, esp at work. Very troublesome. Another couple of days I'll be bf for 7 mths. Dunno how long more I'll last.

Hi Mya

No reason why bb can't sleep thru when bb is on tbf. My bb is also on total bf and she started sleeping thru since 2.5 months. Didn't train... she just started sleeping thru on her own.

Are you working? If you are, maybe you wanna consider training your little one to sleep thru so you can rest properly at nites.

I'm back from Japan. Went to Tokyo F&E for 8 days with my in-laws. Would have enjoyed it more if my whole family (hubby, bb and I) were not sick. Dun have much time to write now coz clearing work before going on coy retreat for the next 2 days. Will try and write more later.

Chantelle,

R u ok now? I was also induced.. Initially could only pumped out 10ml fm 2 breast together .. to think when i preg i have a lot of colostrum oozing out and i thot i'll have a lot of milk for my bb.. like a cow ..so sad tt time thinking y i no use..how come my sis got so much milk i dun have..

fm my experience so far, U need to have enugh rest and fluid and being relaxed for letdown..because no enought rest will greatly affect yr milk supply one and the gals r right, have to pump regularly even though no milk or yr bb is not sucking to stimulate demand.. sure will have ss eventually one

I also stimulate my nipples for faster letdown and it works! U may want to try tt too..

now I can get 5oz.. and I can guarantee u can too.. imagine I started wif only 10ml..

Hi cubbiebb,
U used to be active in the yr end dec mummies thread rite? Did u deliver in aug? Was worried abt u cos long time no hear from u leh. didn't update us after ur delivery. How r u?

masshiro
still stocking up on Nepia diapers... me just bought one pack of nepia diapers pants yesterday coz got promo. So good that your office is near to Nepia office, anytime can pop over..

absolut
take care and get well soon for yourself, your hubby and bb... nowsdays the weather is pretty bad and quite a lot of bbs also fall sick. my boy too is down with flu for days and still not well yet... sigh...

hi cubbiebb...
so long never hear from u! how r u? wow.... 5 oz is alot! i can oni manage dat kind of amt during my 1st pump of the day... the rest of the day, usu abt 3oz oni.

littleprince,
how come u need to be away fr ofc? is it poss for u to find time to pump? btw, personally, i was thkg abt ur situations, and i feel dat becos u find difficulty in finding time to pump, not in ofc to pump etc, u might wanna try learning manual expression. wif dat, 1st u wldnt need to lug ur pump ard and wash and stuff. 2nd, wif ur hands, u can express ur milk anytime u wan, jus need to find a appropriate place. wat u wld need is prob jus plenty of ice bricks and a cooler bag and dat wld help to cool ur bm thru-out the day. jus my 2cents suggestion.

jas...
where can u find nepia diapers... pple been telling me ntuc has it... but i dun find it at the ntuc at my place...

Absolut
YOu are back from holiday! That's nice. Sick?? O dear...write when you are free.

Masshiro
Hehe...you must look so funny...I also tend to 'hde' it..btw your MP is still with me...I forgot about it cos was on leave.
Wedding dinner...dun know, hope no more w.d. for now..
I also dun mind latching on at nite, also dislike the pumping during office hours...so laycheh.

Jas
Joel is not well? It was raining whole day, so scared when we brought jesse out, made sure he was well covered up. Wanted to drive down to Adam Rd with mil for dinner but she said beta go to covered place cos it was drizzling.

soyabean
The stock run out quite fast...the one at my place ..I am still waiting for them to re-stock the diapers...

soyabean
me will be on leave next wk mah, so away fm office lor .. find tt i am more disciplined to pump when in office, coz if at home either no time to pump or going out .. i will be going out with hubby for the few days and bb will not be with me .. most prob can only pump 3x a day again at most ..

chk with u, u mentioned u only get 3oz usually .. are u tbf or pbf? coz before my blocked ducts, i cld get at least 4oz each pump .. morning first pump can get 5oz+ leh .. now i only get 3oz which is not enough for a feed coz my bb now takes 5oz per feed .. so struggling to increase ss ..

i know abt the manual expression, usually use it after pumping to clear my breasts ..

oh ya, need to chk .. if i experience a let down and milk leakage quite frequently during the day, does it mean my milk ss is increasing? like last nite, i latched bb on for abt 45min in total and after my shower, still got bm leaking fm my right breasts ..

littleprince...
im oni on pbf... cos my ss nt enuf for my boi. i used to be able to get 4-5oz, then morning pump abt 7oz. but dat was the times when my menses hvnt returned to haunt me. my boi oso drinking abt 5oz nw...

oic... no wonder... me same as u... more disciplined to pump in ofc... during weekends, due to activities i can miss 1 or 2 pump sessions.

bb latching is a good way to get good letdowns.
and latching is a good way to increase ss. once i manage to latch my boi... he suckled for abt 40mins... and one hr after he latched, i tried to pump and i cld still get 3oz. so if u wan, try pumping abt an hr after u get bb to latch...

CubbieBB (cubbiebb)
so good to hear from u.
Ask u huh, 5oz alot wor, I can only pump abt 3oz when i pump abt 20mins each side...
how long did u pump to go to 5oz huh?
Is it that as ss improve, I will be able to go up to 5oz with the same timing?

I have just fired my CL today, cannot tahan liao, this morning saw her feeding BB with formular, and BB choking, she even told me BB not really hungry just fed 1plus hr ago!

so relieve now, today only left me and hubby. hopefully can cope.

soyabean
I got the nepia diapers from NTUC Tampines, I think only major NTUC outlets has it such as TPY. However, during promotion, their stocks runs out quite fast.

stylobb
yeah, he's down with flu for a few days liao... but he's still so active leh... these few days kept raining and weather is cooler, got to put extra clothing for him.

soyabean
wow, i only got 7oz once when i cleared my blocked duct .. sob! the rest is just 5 or 6oz but now only 4oz .. if my menses come, think i jialat ..

me latched on bb last nite for abt 45min, then pumped abt 2hrs later and only got 50ml ..

asked hubby last nite if i shld cont'd bfg after bb turns 3mths old (this x'mas eve) coz tt was the target i set myself .. he told me i looked so shack now, maybe shld really consider stopping? says if i ask him, he will tell me stop by last day of 2004 coz if i am too tired, i can't do other things well also .. hmm, he is encouraging but think he dun want me to collapse fm tiredness lor .. but i bu she de leh .. still considering if i want to stop ..

jas/soyabean
I called May/Nepia, she said they are waiting for NTUC to make the order. She said can also buy from her direct, $16.00.
Me running out of the L diapers at home... still have some stock at mum's place.

oh stylobb/jas...
thanks for the info...
btw, how many pieces do each pack of M and L has? in addition, how much is it when sold in ntuc? are there delivery charges if order fr them direct?

littleprince...
well, the decision to stop bf or nt will ultimately lies on u. no matter wat u decide, u'll hv my moral support.

but one thing i hv to warn u... if u reali going to stop, make sure u are totally mentally prepared for it. cos its very easy for u to start feeling guilty when u stop and then start to regret. u hv to be able to overcome ur own guilt and move on.
for me, i hv decided dat i will stop oni when i hv no more ss...

soyabean
thks ..

i know what u mean, i hv heard mummies blaming themselves for stopping bfg when bbs fall sick or constipate after drink tfm .. tts why i also worry i will regret etc .. haiz .. but i am dying to carry on with doing more stuff with bb instead of rushing to express bm all the time ..

So Long never come in to chit chat already. No time to really finish reading the postings, just scan through. Hope mommies are enjoying themselves with their bbs here. .

Hi mini
Just read that you going to be SAHM. If I can afford I would like to be staying at home too. Just take it as a blessing in disguise. so you can spend more time with bb.

Hi absolut
So good your bb can sleep through the night. How you train her. Mine still can't.

Hi desert
Like Ivan, my boy still can't sleep through the night, I need to nurse him so sleep. I am also contemplating whether to stop bfing at 1 year old or not. On one hand like you I really enjoy yht bonding when I bf him, or the other I am afraid that he is not able to sleep on his own and also having tooth decay.
One mommy here mention about the YP mag, I saw it too, wow they can bf bb till 6 years.
Are you still working? You leave extended successfully.

Hi stlyobb
How is Jesse/the new moms thread moving so fast no time to read. I miss the party on 4dec cos I was away. Did you attend? When are you going to KL?

Hi Jas
How is Joel? Is he better? My boy also sick after the trip. I pass it to him. He is now coughing.

Hi masshiro
How is your boy? Sossy I fogot his name. Is nepia really good? How much more exp?

moon

Hi littleprince
I know how you feel. Like want to stop bf so can do other things like play with baby right? Don't feel stress about this. Just think about it and once you make the decision just stick to it and be happy. Your gal wants a happy mommy right

moon

<font color="0000ff">littleprince/soyabean</font>
Hehe..guess what? Was just talking to colleague about b/feeding and saying that it's really no regret about tahaning more than 6 months for myself... the only thing I wish was I had more ss. I learnt the importance of perseverance during the first 6-8 weeks for milk ss to be established... so next time lor ...haha...
For all the 'trouble', I really felt it was worth it! Cos can see bb healthy and strong, and no allergies.
Do give it some thot: fm is always available but bm is not.
Nepia - M has 52, L has 41. $15.90 when on sale. I think if you order from them, have minimum order. But if you self-collect, I think it's $16.

<font color="0000ff">moon</font>
Hallooooo!! How are you? LH not well? Must be the weather too. You still b/feeding? That's very good.
I did not go cos I had to attend wedding dinner lata and I wanted him to nap, scully that day he was quite noti, refused to nap. The next gathering is 15 Jan...you wanna attend?
Jesse is fine. He can walk! He can stand for a long time too. Very busy exploring now...hehe...
You went on holiday? We are going to KL this weekend. Actually I feel tired just thinking about the packing... but thot it's good to have a break.

Hi Skyblue,
hee.. ya lor.. me delivered on 31st Aug .. was telling Angelia I gonna come back to 'complain' abt my labour ... in the end, was so shacked tt every day all I thinking was hoping to have a few more mins of sleeps..

now bb and myself more or less settled down wif our new lifestyles liao, I'm back to find my friends in this forum..

wow... soya,
7oz is fabulous.. i have never achieve this much yet leh..

Wooof,
Last time my ss really roller-coaster one.. can range fm 2oz to 4oz.. only recently my bb a bit constipated so I'm more on in pumping regularly and found tt latching him on actually stimulated more ss..

I used to take very long time to pump a miserable amt too.. some times 45mins u noe.. cause cannot letdown.. but i find the stimulation of nipple can expedite letdown..

k.. so in the end I tried a few things to maintain letdown.. i share wif u:-

1) stimulate nipples;
2) Have enough rest;
2) drink more water;
3) let bb latch on;
4) pumping regularly;
5) B relax when pumping breastmilk

even thinking of bb can help me letdown sometimes..

but actually i dun gauge by time one leh.. i just keep on pumping till i feel my breast is relatively clear then i stop

skyblue,
my labour ahh.. damn life experience.. here goes..

... aft I said bye bye to u guys tt day rite, landed in hospt 8+pm and have damn bad pain, then nurse come n tell me it's just the effect of the induction med and not even contraction.. piangzz (can't even stand properly liao, can't imagine watz the real contraction is going to b like then), nurse asked me want epidural of not, if yes then she had to quickly consult my gynae whether want to break my waterbag or not..say I wait .. act hero..

15mins later, pain until i want to faint so asked for epi, nurse quickly called gynae who said 'WAIT' ... so the waiting game arrived.. seemed like century to me.. thinking of my mum every time contractions come, wondering how come she can tahan and worrying abt bb, wondering if he feel strangled and stressed or not wif every contraction and many nurses came in to check many times .. still at 2.5cm dilated (for yr info, my gynae said I was aldy 3cm b4 I was induced)............ 8 hrs later, senior nurse came in n asked me,"R u ok or not? U look like in great pain.. how come so long haven't dilate yet?" then I told her it's still very painful and she said can't b cause i took epi.. aft checking, she found the nurse had turn on the cap too tight the epi WASN'T ADMINISTERED AT ALL... so I was in great pain for the whole damn EIGHT HRS for NOTHING!!!...aft she loosened the cap, life seemed a breeze to me immediately.. kekeke.. then me waited for another 10 hrs cause waterbag not broken to speed up labour.. morn gynae took his sweet time to come in .. waterbag broken... labour rocket sped up and bb was born just aft a few pushes..

me and hubby thot bb really kwai cause I only pushed a few times but my pain could have been lessen if all my gynae have to do was to ASK THE NURSE TO BREAK MY WATERBAG ... mayb bcause it was a night and HE WANTS HIS BEAUTY SLEEP.... and also the induction pain is much more painful than the actual contraction!!! How ironical!

hi hi mummies...

for those working mummies who on BF can share their pumping experience...

i am starting work on this coming monday, 13 dec...i am so scared on how to maintain supply..

1) how many times should i pump on day ?
my boy feed every 2 hr and around 4-5oz each
time

2) how to relax to get the letdown ? most likely i will be pumping in the toilet....

3) what did you use to transport the expressed BM ?

by the way...i tried to pump but everytime i get about 2oz of foremilk then the hindmilk...pls advise

stylobb/desert
thanks for the encouragement, ya..ll think of the little time i have to hold her iin my arms, before long, she ll be running and before we knew it, she ll be a big girl already...hiaz...

absolut,
wow...back from japan, so nice...take care..