Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi expecting_mum,
Can start building up your stock now before you return to work (as stand-by in case the amt pumped out is not enough).

Depending on how often and how much your bb drink...like maybe 2 or 3 hrly, so if 12 hrs not with you then you may have to give 4-6 bottles.

Initially i leave my boy(coming 4 mths) with nanny for half-days the week before i return to work. And i gauge the amt needed from there. He drinks abt 2+ hrly, 5oz each...i bring 5 bottles every morning to her place

Also, should introduce bb to bottle now else if no drink then got to train him

mini
like what giggler, the retrechment is a blessing in disguise after all.

wooof
welcome here. like what stylobb try to preserve and keep latching bb on to start the milk production. if you feel that bb is not sucking well due to short nipples, you can express instead. I also supplement FM to my boy initally when the milk is not enough, but once the ss is building up and establish, I stop the FM. Initally BF is tough, you need to press on if you are firm in BF your bb.

andeline
I don't get what you mean by how many bottles to prepare for express. I use storage bag to store EBM, didn't use milk bottles. I think it depends on the amount you express out.

you might need to express more frequent to get more ss coz the breasts need to get used to the pump as well.

Hi Mums,
WAnt to find out if there are alot of FTWM here still breastfeeding? How old's your bb?
Realised meeting the demand through pumping at work is really difficult

Hi piggy, you sound so tired. You must take enough rest so that you got enough milk for your bb leh.

Hi aimee, I'm FTWM and still tbf my bb who is 6mths old now. Agreed that it's tough meeting my gal's ss esp after my menses returned last mth. So I usu do tandem pumping when I reached home after work to make up the difference.

Masshiro
Look at it this way, beta that bb got no stomach upset from taking the ebm. Looks like your memory's really fading hehe....

wooof
Certainly understand how you feel, my mil/mum did not comment so much altho they made remarks like bm not enuf, I ignored them. Fortunately my confinement helper only comes for the day, so at nite when I struggled, least no one to harp at me. Hb was very encouraging.
The initial part is very tough but if you persist, you will get over the difficult part. So press on! You just started,so dun expect a pail of milk!!! It will take six weeks for things to stabilise. I know, very demoralising to see the little quantity but every drop helps. Hope you are able to latch the bb on well cos that helps in ensuring she is getting the bm.

littleprince
I had blocked ducts 2-3 times and each time it was my boy who 'saved' me...bless the child..hehe.

hi, piggy
i am similar to yr situation but my boy is less than 3mths old .. also struggling with sending bb to nanny's pl, go to work, fetch bb after work, go home and look after bb while doing hsewk etc .. always hoping hubby will finish work early for tt day so tt i can concentrate on doing my hsewk and sleep early .. me also failed at tbf, so can only pbf ..

stylobb
i wanted to latch my bb on last nite but really very painful, so concentrated on trying to massage it off during my shower .. just went to express my bm, got the usual qty but can still feel the lump ..

hmm .. what is FTWM?

aimee
yr boy drinks 5oz of milk at 2+hrs interval? .. tts alot, rite?

hi soya
no choice, my hubby works long hours...so i basically hv to manage everything on my own. I asked my LC why I have no milk, she said maybe I didn't have enough rest during the first few weeks
Anyway she always said a little breast milk better than none at all.

hi little prince,
i hv been reading but hardly got time to post. My boi's name is ryan, similar to ur rhyan
Read tat u hv blocked ducts, i thk thats a good sign, at least that mean ur supply increasing! For me I never hv engorgement or blocked ducts or leaking breasts... cos my supply never really came in
Guess I'm juz too tired n overworked. Every day I dash from one place to another like a mad woman.

piggy
my hubby also work long hours, can understand how u feel .. i eat my dinner near to 9pm or 10pm every day unless hubby comes home early .. i sleep at 11pm earliest and got to wake up by 5.30am to express bm .. thank god rhyan sleeps through the nite usually and if he do wakes up for milk, hubby will feed him so tt i can sleep .. we are really like racing against time rite? by my last pump at nite, i am literally falling asleep ..

block ducts mean ss increasing, really? i wld be glad .. i never had engorgement also but i do hv leaking breasts .. still rem' i asked my gynae at my last post delivery chkup how come i dun experience engorgement or blocked ducts like other mummies, and she replied me i shld be happy i dun experience all these coz engorgement doesn't necessarily mean got milk .. now i really kenna blocked ducts .. haiz ..

did u try those milk increasing food or supplements to boost milk ss? i am taking fenugreek and drinking papaya and fish soup once in a while .. dunno if it helps but at least i see my ss increasing ..

is it advisable to store EBM in glass bottles? wat if you freeze it?

for mummies who went back to work but continue EBM, is it really necessary to get a cooler bag for bringing the EBM home? assume your journey home is about 20 mins?

littleprince...
jus curious, how much of fenugreek do u take?

jen...
its best to use a cooler bag to bring ur EBM home. and oso, use an ice brick. and since u said the journey is abt 20mins, u can probably jus use a small ice brick.

hi piggy...
oh dear... who takes care of ur boi in the day? i oso dun experience engorgement, blocked ducts or leaking oso. :p

hi aimee and piggy,
yes, i'm a FTWM, and still bfg thru exclusive pumping... but partial... cos my ss not enuf for my boi, so i supplement him wif FM. nw my menses come back liao, ss drop even worse.

little prince,

we r so similar, i also eat dinner at 9pm, sleep at around 11pm earliest, but i wake up around midnite to bf ryan. My boi still doesn't sleep thru, he sleeps at 8pm, wakes up at 12 n 6 for feeds.

Blocked ducts mean u got supply but u didn't remove the milk effectively so the ducts kena blocked... i read that the best way is to latch bb on, bb is the best pump

During confinement I had Papaya fish soup everyday but it doesn't work for me. Fenugreek i'm afraid of side effects. Now i take milk, oats, fish daily... n drink lots of water, but supply still like tat... but i kan kai already, formula not as good as bm, but not poison lah, at least i'm not starving my boi.

soya,

me oso FTWM, my boi nanny is a relative who stays near me, but she not very experienced w bb, so every morning/evening i go there hv to wash bottles, sterilise, bathe my boi etc... so tat all she does is feed and change diapers... very tiring. my menses not back yet... if my supply drop any further nothing to bf liao.

piggy...
not bad leh... u still can latch ryan on... my boi simply refuses to latch... will cry everytime he come near my neh.
u cant teach ur nanny how to bath ur boi wash bottles etc?
how much ss do u get from pumping nw? i can hardly manage 400ml nw a day... super miserable.

soya,

ryan loves to latch on but he'll push my breast away when there's no milk... nanny eyesight failing, hands shaking, sometimes i quite scared leaving ryan in her care but i no choice
so i do almost everything lor. my pumping output even more miserable, i pump twice at work, at most 180ml in total, but i latch ryan on when i'm at home. Sometimes after latching he still hungry i will give a bit formula.

aimee
I used to be a FTWM breastfeeding my boy till he's 10mths old. I just stopped recently as was going overseas. Most of my collegaues BF till bb 6mths, there are some other thought BF till bb 1yr but not sure whether are they still continuing now. I agree it's tough and can be pretty tiring coz everyday seems like rushing about pumping and delivering EBM.

jenjen
yes you should get the cooler bag to transport cold EBM from one place to another. coz 20mins is enough for the cold EBM to thaw. Once cold EBM thaw, cannot re-fridge/freeze again. although my workplace from my mum's place is only 10-15mins walk, I still bring cooler box with ice block around to transport cold EBM.

hi jen...
i'm using coleman. u can find it at carrefour. or u can purchase them from momsinmind.
u can view www.momsinmind.com for a pix of the bag.

piggy...
i used to pump 2 times in ofc... but now wif menses and ss drop, i dare not take risk, so nt pumping 3 times in ofc. i oni get slightly more than u in ofc.
aiyoh... then isnt it dangerous for nanny to tk care of ryan as he gets older, heavier and more active?

oh jen...
4got to mention... on 2nd thots, u might wan to stock up on bigger ice bricks as well... cos if on some nights u r going out straight from work, u can do so. the ice bricks will be able to keep the EBM cool for a few hrs.

hee .. managed to guess what does FTWM stand for .. so i am also a FTWM but PBF ..

soyabean
one day can only take one capsule of fenugreek rite? tts the amt i take, can take more meh? hehe ..

me went to see LC at ESH just now, she chkd and said i hv managed to clear most of the ducts already so shld be resolved already .. then she chkd my medela pump by asking me to pump my bm there .. surprisingly, i can get 130ml using both pumps leh .. previously i tried at home and only got half of this qty so i cont'd to use my avent manual pump instead .. she says maybe coz i keep on hearing bbs crying coz we were in the nursery mah .. she says maybe i too stressed liao, so didn't relax enough during pumping .. well, i shall cont'd to try using the medela one and hope it continues to be as good coz i only took 15min at the hospital instead of a usual 45min, ending up with tired hands ..

hi hi mummies..

thanks for ur reply...

jastan
i mean the number of bottles to bring to work for expressing the milk.

mummies..
by the way...why that whenever i express the milk, the milk is very light in colour...almost transparent...is there the fore milk ?

littleprince
Do u latch on ur bb? Latch on easier to clear than pumping. Got to massage to solve the problem, I know, very painful!!!. Or maybe ur lc will use those hospital pump on u, tt want pumps really fast. Hope u solve ur problem soon.

Giggler
Yup, I'm used to it too if he wakes up 2-3 times, in fact, tt's gd enuff for me. But my boy can sometimes get cranky and wakes up more than tt, and hv problem getting back to sleep.

littleprince,
i read from internet and it was said that got to take at least 6g of fenugreek a day to see the effect. the bottle says oni 1 per day and each capsule oni 500mg, so i dun think there wld b any effect if u follow that dosage. anyway, i oso read dat dun need to take fenugreek permanently, once ss increase liao, can stop tkg it.

guess u reali hv to relax while pumping at home... dun keep thinking abt pumping and how much u wld get... if u can, divert ur attention away fr the pump, watch tv or somethg. wld help u to get letdown and clear faster.

me same as u FTWM and PBF...

eh... i hv a older avent pump whh i stopped using a mth ago... cos i went to buy a new one... but these few days, i hv been using the old pump as well at home... haha... so been pumping with both hands using avent...
hi adeline...
sounds like u r getting foremilk most of the time. try to relax during expressing, if not letdown wldnt come and wld be difficult to get hindmilk.
how many bottles to bring depends on how many times u wan to express while at work and oso how much u can express... u hv to base on how much u can express now and make a gauge i guess.

adeline
yes, that's the foremilk. You need to express slightly longer to get the hindmilk. How long you express each session?

Hi desert, this is what happened to me lastnite. My gal got cranky at abt 1am and I used 1hr to coax her back to sleep. Now, having running nose liao. Sigh

Hi soyabean & Jas, it seems that I got foremilk most of the time recently leh. Don't know how to relax to get the hindmilk leh.

giggler...
hehe... u know how i express in ofc nw? i go to a boss's room whh is now unoccupied... and i switch on the tv inside and watch while expressing. even if my eyes not on the screen, there is some noise diversion and makes the whole expressing less tense.

b4 my menses come and my ss drop, i oso got more foremilk than hindmilk. dat time too stressed, keep thinking abt ss drop ss drop every time i pump.

hi melody...
i cant go out for long periods of time nw. if i hv to, i make sure i express b4 i go out. hubby n i usu go out on fri nites. so most of time i will express b4 going out, and then express again once i reach home, usu abt 11pm.

soyabean, so it's like 5 hrs? i m thinking of doing some shopping plus running some errands on weekends w/o bringing my gal, leave her either to daddy or my mom, but headache the express part,

now not working n have a hard time to catch up with posting as each time can only surf net for a short while. unlike in office always at PC can always pop by this thread.

Jas,masshiro,stylobb,melody
Hokkaido is a beautiful n relaxing place. I been to hokkaido twice, once in winter n once in summer n i love the place! went during the snow festival n saw many beautiful ice scruptures. but was v cold at -6deg n usually heavy snowing. then went on F&E trip during summer. we go for those car rental n hotel stay package. that time i was still working in japan so booked the package from local agency. have a tough challenge booking the package in japanese n looking at all the jap brochers. Hubby drove ard. we can easily get to our destination as the car comes with GPS. we stayed in Hotspring hotel n every night enjoyed hotspring n nice dinner. loved the king crab alot. looking forward to go there again. but will be ex if go from spore n dun think can book their free n easy package here.

littleprince,
i used to be a FTWM until tue. been so used to expressing in office. has the LC helped u clear the blocked ducts?

Hi melody, I still haven encounter situation like this leh. Come to think of it, I also express abt 5-6hrs interval.

Hi soyabean, so nice that you can sit inside your boss' room to pump leh.

Hi mini, so you very occupied at home?

Giggler,
feel tat PIL has taken this chance as a time for them to do some of their own things n let me take care of bb. think they have been enduring. on wed FIL want to go out so have to help take care, ytr MIL n today MIL went out too so have to take care. next wed MIL going on tour for 11days hence leave me to take care. will bring bb to my mum's house to ask her for help. her house internet connection slow so harder to come in. initially want to take rest n run some errands this wk but no chance. good thing abt working is can always use work as an excuse n PIL wont will have to faithfully look after bb. but afterall should thank them for their time though quite angry with them for their strange thinking n introducing bad habits. my hubby n myself have been having disagreements. i complaint to him abt his parents way of upbringing n then he dun like my parents way of upbringing. so quite often at the end of the day both of us have black face. guess this break is a good time to "resolve" these family issues too.

soya,
me oso FTWM and PBF

hope i can make it to 6 mths... 1 more mth 2 go. After tat maybe give ryan formula 4 his midnite feed so tat he'll sleep thru e nite, but i scared supply will dip further

piggy...
yeah if u gv FM at nite ss will dip cos bb not latching liao... i oso hope to make it to 6 mths leh.... so nw trying to build up my ss again b4 my next round of menses... so dat ss dip wont be dat bad next round.

giggler...
aiyah... dun say liao... jus nw while expressing inside the room, halfway thru, suddenly got someone o/s the room knkg on furniture.... so loud and i keep lookg out whether the person will try to open the door or nt... though its locked but scared lor.... then cant get letdown liao.... jus wanted to quickly finish and get out. then when i open the door, the man so shocked to see me... i oso paiseh man.

<font color="0000ff">mini</font>
Sounds nice, cos I watch Japan Hour and they have the hot springs, then the yummy food!
So you will be on your own for 11 days with your bb. Yours is a boy right? Born in Mar..what's his name?
Sometimes my hb also questions like why my mum does this or that and I always tell him the best solution is I take care but since that is not possible, we have to close one eye. But my mum's ok lah, nothing's drastic. It's really not easy for old folks to look after bb. Think we will do it next time? I doubt. I already was telling hb what I wanna do next time...

<font color="0000ff">soyabean</font>
Must be so stressful.... I used to pump in my boss' room too, when he is overseas....

<font color="0000ff">piggy</font>
Dun give up!!

<font color="0000ff">jas</font>
For my case, no more means no more, even if I try, nothing comes out...hehe..

thanx soyabean for the advice... i will see if i really continue to BF after 1st month... if yes, then i'll get the cooler bag and ice bricks...

melody_03
there are a number of shopping centres with nursing rooms, you can express there.

once in a while it's okay to miss a pumping schedule, it won't affect ss much.

mini
wow sounds like Hokkaido is really a nice place to go.. me hope to have one such opportunity. But I don't think can go F&amp;E coz language is a problem.

stylobb
next time I don't think I will bb sit the grandchildren...

hi gals, sorry to tap on this thread! i hv some nursing wear (both brand new and almost new) as well as a nursing pillow (Breast friend - used twice only) which i would let to sell them away cheaply. pls email me if interested [email protected]

tks!

hi, I'm back... with sore nipples :p
Thks for all the advise.

Me and hubby went thru a discussion to see if we wanna fire CL. But in the end we think better not first... we just need to tahan her words lor, ahyah I try to ignore looor...and see how...
Still got 20++ days , sigh ...don know how to tahan.

aimee (aimee)
Hi, sorry, what is LC huh? me 'suai gu' :p

May I ask, it's me 4th day after BB's birth now.
I can only pump abt 30ml on bpth breast to store each time. It's consider lesser than normal, right?

When can we expect to have increase to a full ml if I continue to pump every 3hrs?

How many ml per feed to give BB soo that can last her for that 3 hrs?

Sigh.... I need to rest liao... got to try latching BB in 2 hrs time again... me starting to have fobia liao....

<font color="0000ff">piggy</font>
I did it for 6.5 months.. first time mum, think I did ok lah... next time should have more experience... cos initially so discouraged, like no milk, just direct latch on and on. Bb also had good weight gain, amazing!
My boi is 11months, slightly older than jas' boi..our boys are Jan bbs...

<font color="0000ff">wooof</font>
LC = Lactation Consultant.
Can't tell you how much I had cos last time I direct latched most of the time.
Think you'll need six weeks for the ss to stabilise.

<font color="0000ff">jas</font>
Yah lor, so tiring...

Mini
Sorry to hear about your job. But I guess it's a blessing in disguise since you intended to stop work soon.

Melody
Does Zoie reject the bottle? Wondering cos you always latch her on all the time right?

Angelia
Thanks for the list, v informative

Soyabean
Aiyoh, that's embarrasing.... no wonder no let down:p

QSG, i stay at 684B, the floor are dirty, guess cos it is very crowded, the cleaner jus sweep the leftovers from the table onto flr...yucks!

masshiro, ya..cold colc, then soak in osen...wow..heaven man...

mini, hokkaido nice huh, hows the working experience in jap? early this yr, got news says japan need more foreign "imports", very tempted, ask hubby to look for job there...but in the end, did not do anything...

angelie, thanks for the list

jas, oh ya, forget abt the nursing room...but me 1 lazy mommy, lazy to sterilise bottle/pump...

i really must salute you and all the FTWM who express..
on the contrary, it is okie to F&amp;E in japan, if u understand chinese, thou some word might ve diff meaning, but on the whole no prob, and the japanese r very helpful..

my first trip to jap, went with my boss(jap), but he came back earlier then me...then i ownself, anyhow walk, still got to take/transfer/change train/shinkasen to osaka airport...managed to do it when i dun know any jap tat time..
my fren F&amp;E hokkaido last aug...quite okie..

Girl, she dun really take bottle well, most likely to force-feed and usually cant fin all...

stylobb,
hee...told u abt my boy's name before.. he is Jonathan, borned in mar. yar will have to sort of full time take care of him for 11days. though my parents is helping they dunno his habit/routine well. most prob will re-start a routine for him.
yar Japan hour always make Japan so attractive. but staying in onsen hotel is not cheap at least $150 per person per night.

Jas, Melody,
it is not so tough to F&amp;E in Japan if know Chinese character n can read map well. in fact many japanese know english just tat no confidence to speak. F&amp;E in hokkaido is tougher as most places r not so accessible n the train schedule is rather bad.

Japan is a nice place to work with. the japanese are good team players n they r sincere in helping out. main problem is the language barrier n long working hours. luckily i m a girl n they dun expect me to work until too late. somemore they dun have the habit to surf net during office hours so sometimes can b quite boring. heehee..

Girl, Melody
always have a tough time feeding my boy bottle as he sure cry n fuss before he start to drink. have to hide myself somewhere when others is feeding him.

<font color="0000ff">mini</font>
Oh oh, so sorry, must meet you in person then I can register you and bb beta! Hehe..
Schedule - best to synchronise both sides so that bb won't have to keep adapting.
I'm waiting for jesse to wake up from his nap, wait and wait but he kept on sleeping, just now he was fussing before his nap, now in deep slumber..hiaz...hope he does not oversleep cos tonite got wedding dinner to attend.

Melody/Mini
Then how will you stop BF? I also have the same problem. Thankful that she takes bottle better now, but still have some difficulty if I'm the one doing the feeding.....

Planning to fully give EBM from end of this month, then start on FM soon. Hope she doesn't give too much trouble

Girl,
when MIL feed him he will b quite ok. will ask her to start on FM n i take over when he willing to drink. even at my mum's place he will fuss when she feed him. dunno is it becoz he knows i m there or is it becoz usually MIL is the one doing the feeding. my boy milk intake seem increase again n guess have to supplement with FM soon. but MIL is going tour this wk until 18dec, most prob will start him on FM after tat.

MIL now getting doubtful abt my ss. sometimes when she is feeling negative she will keep suspect bb drinks little when latch on. then keep mentioning abt giving FM. but so far din give yet. but i believe when bb latch on there is always milk for him despite the amt pump out is lesser. though i m not working now but i think would b better to start him on FM to let him get used to it since no matter wat wont bf forever n my target is to tbf for 9mths. then can also prevent MIL from suspecting.

melody,
when do u intend to bf bb until?

hi all, i'm new to this thread..... i just delivered on 1st dec and till today, my breasts dun seem to be producing anything! my baby gets very frustrated and will yell after trying to suckle a few times...... anyone encountered such a problem? i feel very discouraged and am sad tat i cant provide for my baby

hi girl...
yah lor... i reali panicked... was shocked to hear noise...

hi chantelle...
anyway, u got to let bb keep suckling... tis will stimulate the ss. they yell after a few times cos nothg has come out... keep coaxing bb to suckle... sometimes, milk ss oni comes in from day 4 or 5. b4 dat, all colostrum.
if bb refuse to suckle, do pump to stimulate ss...