Breastfeeding Support Group

Giggler/Jul/SAHM/Jas
There is no need to feed water if u only bf or even give formula. This is because the water content in bm and formula is enuff for bb. The formula of today is 95% water. So, u only need to give bb water when they start on semi solids.
H/w, like what Jas's confinement lady says, its better to give them some water, in case they reject it later. My boy is one such eg, I only started giving him water at ard 5 mths, now still hv a hard time to get him to drink water.

SAHM
I also tot thirsty, sure will drink, but its not really true. My boy also perspire a lot. Even after eating biscuits or screaming for some time, my boy will just take a few sips of water, sometimes only one sip. If u want to give him more, he will turn his head away or push away the cup.

Hi desert, my mom started giving Vane water liao but she doesn't really like it leh.

Hi sahm, looks like you're lucky that your boy likes to drink water.

Desert/giggler,
Ya lor....tat's exactly wat i read n know abt....so i just blur blur followed...........

Ang guess giggler is rite too....i am lucky too, tat my boy just like to drink since young.

Nvr fed n untrained, still like to drink water. Fed n trained, dun like to drink water......then dun feed n train lah!

absolute & Serene,
I have been bf for 8 months and still no menses in sight. I hope to plan for a second one when my boy turns one. My head says to stop bf but my heart is unwilling.

hi hi all the mummies...

i got things to ask you all again...

how do you train your baby to skip the night feed ? now my one month plus baby boy always wake up every 2-3 hrs at night for feeding...i hope to try to keep to one feed at least.....

any mummies slim down effectively while breastfeeding ...can share their experience...
i hope to lose weight so that I can fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes when i go back to work...but i cannot take pills as i am BF...hope any other ways ?

Hi Cat, realised you changed your nick. Your boi already 8mths!!! That's fast leh. Do you mean that you can only have bb after you stop bfg?

Hi Adeline, my gal already coming to 5mths still wake up every 2-3hr at nite for feeding leh. I just let her be and didn't do anything to it.

I have just given birth a baby girl on 20th oct. Now trying to bf her and at the same time gave her formula milk as my own milk in not sufficent. What can i do to increase the milk in my breast? and i'm doing confinement now, what are the thing which i must avoid eating during bf?
Thanks for advice!

giggler
yeah, Mdm Zu is not bad esp her binding skill, she so small size yet got strength.

sahm
yeah lor, it's been a while. What you busy with?
drinking water I mean not really training as in training them to drink, but just that got to give it to them at early stage so that they get used to drinking water since young so that they will less likely to reject when older and have tasted different kinds of stuff.

desert
what the book state is true on one end, but on the other end, that's a reality of water rejection. Headache hor....

adeline
I didn't really do any training on my boy to skip his night feed, I just let him develop on his own. So not able to advise you on this, however I do know that some mummies gave bb water instead of milk when bb cry for milk in the night.

as for the slimming while BF, I cannot offer any advise to you too as I put on weight instead of slim down... what I do is I got to buy big size clothes instead....

cindy
the best is to latch bb on as needed - feed on demand. Other ways is to drink plenty of water, papaya with fish soup. Some tried the supplement pills which suppose to helps increase ss, and some tried eating oats.

Hi Jas, she very strong hor? And she very friendly too.

Hi cindy, what I did was feed on demand. That is, feed bb once she cried.

Cindy, congrats!! Your baby is just 6 days old, your BM supply has not yet been established properly yet. Like Giggler and Jas say, feed your baby when she is hungry. Don't worry about not having enough milk. The more you feed, the more you will have. It takes a few weeks for the milk supply to stabilise and be fully established. Try to avoid giving formula if possible. Baby must learn to take all her nutrition from you and not depend on supplementary feeds. Remind yourself why you want to breastfeed. Hang in there and persevere!!

Adeline,
i lost quite alot of weight while breastfeeding. din diet n infact still eat more than usual. usually eat 5meals during normal working day as keep feeling hungry. no time to exerise too. so will eat moderate portion each meal. surprisingly weight keep decreasing. been bf for 7.5mths n my wt now is even lighter than during wedding. my pre-pregnacy bottoms are getting looser. then hubby complain i look so thin. so i think bf really uses alot of energy.

Hi Adeline & mini, I went back to my pre-preg wt quite fast after I give birth. But appetite has been very good recently and I think I put on some weight liao. So I guess it depends on individual abt weight loss.

Thanks for advice......can anyone tell me what food to avoid during the process of BF so that won't cause any bad to baby?

Cindy

Foods to avoid may differ with each bb. But generally, some foods to avoid may include cabbage, caffeine products, gassy drinks and raw sushi. Guess bottomline is, try to take more natural foods and less processed stuff too. Hope it helps!

hi, all

i am finally back home after confinement at mil's place, got my bb to latch on to me again tdy but hv a few things tt i need yr advice ..

i am currently taking care of bb alone for these 2 wks b4 my ML ends, had hoped to increase my milk ss coz after my dlvy, was down with bad headache and backache and so had to stop bfg for a wk and bb took fm .. then, after my massage sessions, i started pumping out milk twice a day to feed bb .. didn't latch him on direct as bb will make noise (think its bcoz bm slower flow compared to fm fm bottle) and mil will keep on commmenting my milk not enough and this drives me mad ..

now tt i am home alone, wanted to increase my ss by latching him on every 2-3hrs and top up with fm thereafter .. but, when i started tdy, realised he can drink n sleep fm one breast and cry when i keep my breast .. then, i gave him fm as he may still be hungry .. but, less than 2 hrs later, he starts crying again and i think he wants milk .. the thing is, how to count the no. of hrs since his last feed then if he drinks bm for more than an hr, then fm (he takes half hr to finish) .. seems like then, i will be feeding him every hr .. cld he be suckling for comfort only?

also, if i feed him like this, i am not able to eat or do any work already since he is quite an alert bb and dun sleep alot in the day .. when he refuses to sleep and i pat him, he seems to be looking for my breast but if i give him, he will just keep sucking and sleeping .. already very stressed with taking care of him alone tt i dun even hv time for my meals and now the feeding seems to be a problem too .. really can't help contemplating to stop partial bfg coz i am so tired .. bathe only ard 10pm at nite when hubby returns fm work and now just finish pumping milk ..

Hi littleprince,
First of all, don't put too much thought about your MIL's comment about BM not enough....think almost all of them have same comments. I got that too.

Can't recall how old is your bb, but when they are before 3mths, they usually feed every 2-3hrs. I usually just let Aelwen latch on whenever she wants when I was still on leave. She only starts to feed at regular intervals when we put her on total bottle-feeding as I started working.

Don't worry too much about housework cos you can do that with hb's help on weekends. Maybe to make you feel better, I only sleep for 4-5hrs daily - slept only at 11.30-12pm and have to wake up at 5.15am. All these because of bfg. Maybe that's why all moms are so great! We can sacrifice everything for bb.

Hi Sahm,
Saw your greetings on the other thread but too busy to reply. I've been very busy at work and not getting enough sleep makes me not very efficient...bad memory. Sometimes can doze off while pumping

Lyn,
My sis and mine bb are both of Friso. Her's on total fm so finish quite fast. I share with her when she orders cos Aelwen is on partial BM & FM.

littleprince, it is indeed difficult to look after baby by yourself. Who's going to look after when u get back to work? Why dun u get help earlier? Let someone do the cooking and washing... your priority should be baby and yourself. Newborns latch for long periods; that's expected. After a while, u get better at bf-ing and they get more efficient at suckling so the feeding time is shortened. Let your baby suckle as long as he wants... that's feeding on demand too. It will help maintain supply. when u bf, lean on something so u can catch 40 winks too. BM easily digested, so feeding time will be quite close. Don't compare with FM. It will only tempt u to stop bfd-ing. If u can't cope with expressing, then just feed directly first... leave the pumping for later, when u get back to work.

SAHM/Giggler/Jas
Yup, its true tt they dun need water, but no harm introducing some to them. I think bottle fed babies are more acceptable to drinking water.

Cindy
The main fd to avoid is alcohol and caffeine. Alcohol can be used in cooking though. All other fd are fine as long as u take them in moderation. If u suspect any fd is causing problem in ur bb, u can then try elimination.
Yup, best way is still to feed on demand.

Adeline
I think one mth is too young for them to skip the nite feed. For my case, I did not train my boy so he is still waking up at nite. As for losing wt, I still got like 4 kg more to lose...hiaz

Moon/Helen/absolute
U gals taking abt 2nd one? I also intend to try next yr initially, but thinking of putting on hold first. My boy coming to 9 mths and my menses also not back yet.

mon mon
Aelwen pooing??? Hope she is clearing her bowels...hehe.
Over weekend I fed my boy porridge and apple, after that put him in potty and he shitted..think I'm getting cleverer hah...know when he is due to do his business...

pringles
Did you say you are going to NZ? If you are going to Dunedin, may wanna visit Cadbury's Choc Factory, but gotta book in advance.

littleprince
Just ignore whatever comments the older folks make, when they see the benefits of bm for your kid, they will understand...
Try not to get too caught up in housework, if house is a bit dirty, let it be.

Hi littleprince your bb may be going thru 'growth spurt' at this moment. This means that your bb may want milk every hr so your situation now is normal. I didnt do any housework at all during my ML cos I was too busy bfg bb liao.

Hi desert, my gal still quite receptive with water. It's just that I always thot that there's no need to feed bfg bb with water mah.

Hi styloBB, you toilet-train Jesse now?

little prince, my baby also nurses for comfort- every half hr to 40 min when she is awake, so you can imagine how I have no time to do anything else. And so often, its obvious that she just want to nurse for comfort and not for food, and I tried many ways to correct this but in vain. Which is why now I'm not latching her anymore- I think its easier to kick the habit now that she is young, it'll be much harder to wean her off latching when she is older. Now I'm feeding EBM in the day and FM at night.

pringles, why cant eat raw fish when BF?

berry,
bb nursing for comfort is only a stage in their growth. for the first 2mths they will tend to nurse more frequent n for comfort. but when they r older they will be more interested to do other things than to nurse. i see no harm for them to nurse for comfort at this stage. my boy used to be like tat. but since he was 3-4mths he is more interested in playing n only latch on for 5-20min for a feed. i like the bonding when my boy direct latch.

BF can eat raw fish. i have eaten salmon sashimi quite a number of times already.

Giggler
For his big business, yes, cos my mum trained him mah... everyday after porridge, let him relax a bit, then put him on potty and he will do his business... his digestion's pretty good lor, he shits nearly everyday.. he hardly shits in his diapers.
Last nite we left him with mil cos we went out, scully he was teary-eyed the moment he went to her flat, cried from 8-8.45pm, refused to be put down to play, looked at our photos and looked so sad. When we fetched him, he looked at us with this serious look and refused to smile at us.. like blaming us. We never saw him so serious before..even my hb got a little scared..hehe..

berryw
How are you coping with Faye? I seldom post here anymore...

thks for the advice, i will cont'd trying first .. actually i m not doing much hsewk but still need to cook my lunch lor .. lets hope it will get easier soon ..

hi hi all mums...

thanks for the advice...look like BF can slim down is not true for all cases....sigh ..must think of other ways to silm down fast...

little prince
sigh same experience with my mil too when i visit her with my boy...she comment that my milk is not enough, how come so fast need to feed again and how come so long for one feed...somemore suggest us to give formula instead...
i dun understand why they so resist BF...i tot in the their times, everybody use BF to save cost..

all mummies...
need your advice
how come sometimes when i burp my boy after a feed,he will vomit milk but not little bit but a few mouthful...i quite concerned...

another thing...can share ur experience of bringing baby out...
everytime i bring my baby out, i am so scared whenever his feeding time cause i quite resist to nurse him in public...and not all shopping centres has nursing room...

jas
Yah, he sorta ignored us by turning his head away...only after we brought him home, let him warm up for a while, then he was back to normal. It's quite strange but funny cos he stared at us and we stared at him...

littleprince
You have slow cooker? Can throw in ingredients, then you just cook rice.. should not be too difficult. Last time I dun even have appetite even tho my mum came over everyday to cook for me.

Hi Berry, it's common that bb will tend to nurse for comfort for first 2 mths. And they'll outgrow it in no time.

Hi mini, me too I just latch my gal on during the first 2 mths. But as she grows, she'll only sucks for the most half an hour per session for her feed.

Hi styloBB, he's blaming both of u for neglecting him izzit? Jesse is so cute leh.

Hi lilttleprice, maybe you can get someone to get food for u at the moment?

Hi Adeline, it's quite common for bb to vomit milk leh. My gal even vomits from the nose sometimes. You can try to feed in the toilet? That's what I do if I can't nursing room.

Adeline,
our mums generation dun think many of them bf as they have not much knowledge of it. my mum n aunts din bf. my MIL n hubby's aunts bf. even my mil bf but she keep doubting if i have enough milk or not. think the older generation just like to make this comment. just be firm with ur stand n believed that u have enough milk for ur boy.

last time my boy also vomited a few mouthful after i unlatched him. think it is becoz he din swallow the milk well. it is not frequent so i m not worry. is ur boy frequent in vomitting milk?

Adeline,
our mums generation dun think many of them bf as they have not much knowledge of it. my mum n aunts din bf. my MIL n hubby's aunts bf. even my mil bf but she keep doubting if i have enough milk or not. think the older generation just like to make this comment. just be firm with ur stand n believed that u have enough milk for ur boy.

last time my boy also vomited a few mouthful after i unlatched him. think it is becoz he din swallow the milk well. it is not frequent so i m not worry. is ur boy frequent in vomitting milk?

Hi Adeline

yah ... just ignore what the older generation says abt bf. I had my share of that too til now. Everytime I direct latch now, my mom in law will say ... dunno whether bb drinks enough or not etc etc. Dun know why she's still not convinced ... after all I've stored more than enough milk in the freezer to show her. Sigh! Every time she starts on this, I just pretend not to hear otherwise get myself pek cheh for nothing.

Mommies...need your advice. My little girl just turned 5 months and I'm intending to start her on cereals in a month's time (or even earlier if I really can't resist ... still waiting for sample from Friso). She keeps moving her mouth like she wants to eat. The other day was really funny, she saw her cousin (who's 8 months) getting fed with mashed papaya and she kept staring and staring as if wondering why she has food and I don't.

Anyway, how do you start with cereals? How much to feed and how often? Does it replace one milk feed? Read somewhere that it's not safe to feed cereals with the bottle. Is that true?

adeline
I have no problem bringing my boy out as I am doing exclusive pumping and feeding him EBM in bottles. Some mummies I know will feed EBM when bringing their bb out as they like you shy to BF in public, while some just continue to nursing. Maybe you want to use nursing bibs to cover while nursing outside.

absolut,
from how ur girl behave she is telling u she is ready for solid. but so far can the milk feed last? if can then can still drag for anr mth. i started my boy on cereal when he is 5mths. just give him ard 1-2tablespoons each time. so to say cant replace milk feed yet. MIL will feed him some milk after tat. mayb for a start can give her abit to get use to eating from spoon n then slowly replaced milk feed when she is 6-7mths old. the ideal of giving cereal is to train them to swallow n take from spoon. so find it meaningless to add cereal in bottle.

absolut
I started off feeding cereal to my boy initally by adding it into EBM and feed through bottles (am still doing now). At the same time, feed him apple and bananas using spoon to let him get used to eating from spoon. After he is able to eat from spoon well enough, will make him porriage or cereals to start. I replace his lunch and dinner milk feed with porriage or cereal.

absolut,
from how ur girl behave she is telling u she is ready for solid. but so far can the milk feed last? if can then can still drag for anr mth. i started my boy on cereal when he is 5mths. just give him ard 1-2tablespoons each time. so to say cant replace milk feed yet. MIL will feed him some milk after tat. mayb for a start can give her abit to get use to eating from spoon n then slowly replaced milk feed when she is 6-7mths old. the ideal of giving cereal is to train them to swallow n take from spoon. so find it meaningless to add cereal in bottle.

Hi absolut, I gave in to my mom abt intro semi-solids liao. She started having rice cereals this afternoon. I asked my mom to give just one tsp with water to make it watery. Not to replace one milk feed but just to start her with solids, that's all.

Hi Jas, how u heat up your EBM when you go out huh?

Hi mothers,
Just wondering is there any food that we should avoid taking if breastfeeding ?
Also, can we take DOM during confinement and while breastfeeding ?

giggler,
how old is van? gave a little bit of cereal is fine. but u must be firm to stop ur mum from giving more food if u only insist to give when van is 6mths old. coz i believe shortly after this she will suggest to give porridge or some other stuffs. also since u have introduce cereal must give van some water everyday as cereal is heaty. i still remembered shortly after we give my boy cereal MIL kept saying to give porridge. but we told her straight tat better to give porridge at 6mths. no need to hurry.

kelly,
as desert has mentioned, best to avoid caffine n alcohol when bf. should be able to eat all other food. can drink DOM(or other alcohol) but just make sure u rest for a few hrs before bf/expressing. i did take DOM at night.

stylobb / giggler
my bb is 5 wks old ..

me hope to increase bm ss by eating fish, coz i need to find time to steam fish n cook rice .. my bb dun sleep alot n he wakes up when i put him down .. during the day, he sleeps with eyes half close like not willing to sleep, how can i do work? anyone's bb like mine?

i m using medela electric pump but thinkg of buying avent pump coz i can pump anywhere at home which is easier for me since bb is awake most of the time ..

adeline
my mil dun even like me to feed two consecutive feeds of bm which i pumped out, say why i let bb drink so much? every drop also precious to me n i can only hv enough ss of 2 bottles, she also not happy ..

styloBB, I'm coping better as time goes by.

kelly, avoid alcohol (unless they've evaporated during cooking), thats all I know. I take everything else.

absolut

my bb turns 5mths 1st Nov. Ive introduced her Heinz rice cereals on and off last 2 weeks already coz she seems eager. Initially gave only 1-2 tsp. Now, she can take more and she takes it very well....she loves it! I recommend Pigeon starter feeding spoon. It comes with a bottle and its gd because u just need to squeeze the bottle and the cereal flows out onto the small plastic spoon attached. Good for beginner. After starting on rice cereal, she also takes water from a spout willingly. It can't replace a milk feed currently...I don't intend to anyway till maybe approaching 6 mths.

Hi Mini, Jas and Pringles

Thanks for your advice. Wanted to wait til she's 6 months to feed her cereals but looking at her behaviour, was wondering if I should start earlier. BTW do you all mix water with cereal or EBM? Mini & Jas, which brand of cereal did you start with? My sis-in-law used Friso but read from feedback in this forum that Friso contains sugar?? So many mothers didn't want to start with it. Pringles, what made you choose Heinz?

Giggler, you also gave in already? So ciao, was thinking of starting soon then Vanessa also just started on cereal. Did she like it?? Was hoping to put off giving her cereal til after our jap trip which is just after she turns 6 months so it's more convenient but was wondering if I was too selfish.

Mini, currently feeding her 200ml every 3 hours (6 feeds a day). Milk can last her between 3-5 hours (5 hours if she's sleeping in the day). She sleeps thru from 9 plus to 7am.

Hi ruffy
Can I have the contact whereby you send your bb to learn how to swim?
Hi desert
So you planning to have later? I read that you are extending your no pay leave? Til when? Acutally how long can we apply for? Your hubby suportive of the idea. For me, one person work is not easy , can't save money. How long do you intend to bf?
Hi Helen
Me too can't bear to stop bf. But can't concive if no period right?

moon

absolut

I've heard good feedback on Heinz cereals for bb and read the contents on the back of the box...quite comfortable with it..so bought it. I also got a few boxes of Gerber cereals to try next. These were the ones that also indicated 4 mths onwards..so I felt safer for Alicia who was only 4 mth plus then. Mixed cereals with FM so far.

Moon
Hee...I am asking for one yr 2 mths, to start wk after june holidays. We can ask for 1 yr, so I dun think they will approve my case. Yup, my hubby is supportive coz he is the one who encouraged me to ask for no pay leave. I think after our holiday in Perth, he wants me to spend more time with our boy. Income wise, still ok at the moment, coz I just sold my hse, nowadays only spend on bb. U are rt, cannot save money, but only for short term.

Berry/giggler/mini
Dun worry abt the comfort sucking,like what giggler/mini mentioned, they will outgrow it. My boy used to comfort suck for hrs, but once he turns 2mths ++, 3 mths, he always nurse for a while. Now, I've to feed him in a quiet place, if not he will keep turning his head to look.

Adeline
For nursing in public, u can use the nursing bib. It works when bb is younger and is quite convenient. My boy starts to lift the cloth when he was ard 6 mths, so cannot use anymore. Now, I usually bf in car and nursing rm. I cannot use toilet, coz my boy always distracted by the flushing sound.

any bfg mummies who give their bbs pacifiers? May i know what is the reason for giving? as u all know, rhyan dun sleep very well especially during the day .. hubby was telling me he thinks it wld be good to give him the pacifier as a comfort so tt he can sleep better .. my aunt asked me before if i let bb sleep in sarong or give pacifier, i told her i dun want to make it a habit for him .. but she told me tt i shld give my bb a chance to choose for himself and not me making the decision tt he cannot take pacifier etc .. these words hv been hanging in my mind and i thought of trying .. just to give him when he is sleepy and remove it when he is asleep / awake ..

for those mummies who are pumping yr milk, may i know what is the brand of breast pump u would recommend? i am currently latching on rhyan more often before his feeds and top up with fm if not enough but wld like to also pump my breasts to increase ss .. currently using the medela electric dual pump but its very difficult to pump when rhyan dun sleep .. thinking of buying a manual pump so tt i can pump anywhere which may be easier .. thought of buying the avent manual pump, any advice? does anyone know where i can get it at a good price currently? Moms in Mind delivers to doorstep but the total amt is $92.00 incldg dlvy ..

thks!